Recent Reviews in York, Pennsylvania

Gettysburg at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2016

We stayed at the Lightner Bed & Breakfast. The farmhouse was so full of charm and history. We had a private entrance to our room. The room was very inviting as we're the common areas. The Hoover family was warm and gracious as well as very knowledgeable. The food was delicious and filling. It is a little outside of downtown and back off the road. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a lovely getaway. Thank you for a marvelous time!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hosts at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on July 14, 2016

We spent a delightful stay here. The room was clean and comfortable. The owners were very hospitable and friendly. It's a quiet spot away from town but easy to get to the sights.

View more reviews for this inn


So charming! at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on July 02, 2016

The Lightner is absolutely beautiful and well kept. The Hoover’s are lovely people, very welcoming. We stayed in the Cedar Room which was very comfortable and clean. They even had 2 plush bathrobes for our use in the bathroom. Jason made us an awesome breakfast of crunchy French toast which was so delicious. Coffee, tea and cookies are available all day. They also have a brief but thorough history of the Lightner family and the house. Wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Mom and daughter getaway at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on June 30, 2016

Lovely oasis in the city of Harrisburg. Mike is friendly and attentive.

View more reviews for this inn


Large, comffortable rooms in a greay facility. Excellent service. Will go again at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2016

A beautiful and stately old home

View more reviews for this inn


History at the Lightner Farmhouse B&B at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 23, 2016

We were prepared to stay at a hotel in the area until we came across glowing reviews of the Lightner Farmhouse B&B. This property has so much history associated with it and we decided that staying here would enhance our first trip to Gettysburg. The stay surpassed our expectations. The hosts -- Eileen, Dennis and Jason -- are very gracious and freely shared their knowledge of the town's history and sights to see in the area. Breakfasts were delicious and the cookies a nice treat to come home to after a day of touring. Our trip just would not have been as memorable if we stayed elsewhere. What a great way to experience a part of Gettysburg history!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful Historic Retreat Within 5 Minutes of Downtown Gettsyburg at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My husband and I visited the Lightner Farmhouse for an anniversary trip hoping to have a relaxing & cozy place to call home between sightseeing in Gettysburg. From the moment we entered the farmhouse until we checked out, we were treated with incredible graciousness and superb hosting. We stayed in the Cedar Room and loved the personal touches and amenities, private entryway, and fantastic porch with rocking chairs. The farmhouse, even with multiple guests, was exceptionally quiet, truly a place that beckons you to come rest and relax. The breakfasts were outstanding-pecan waffles, egg & cheese strata, and many other delicious touches.We loved the super convenient proximity to the Gettysburg Visitor Center and downtown Gettysburg and so appreciated the hosts' recommendations for activities. We will definitely be returning!

View more reviews for this inn


wondeful at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on June 11, 2016

Beautiful surrounding, great food and friendly. All things that make a wonderful experience. Thanks,

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on June 05, 2016

Enjoyed our stay Very welcoming and helpful Food was fantastic

View more reviews for this inn


Lighter Farmhouse at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2016

What a wonderful find! Breakfast was delicious and so much history in the house itself! Dennis and Eileen were very gracious and accommodating hosts! Loved the porches too! Gettysburg was simply fascinating and humbling. Even did a great ghost tour!

View more reviews for this inn


An awesome visit! at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

Total submerged in the Civil War history, this Inn is a great find! The breakfast, prepared by Jason, was superb as was the hospitality. Gracious porches for just sitting back and relaxing or the use of the "cellar" tv room - part of the original house before the Civil War. Close to everything - Our innkeepers Eileen and Dennis were the most gracious and we so enjoyed their stories and help in making our visit the best! Don't miss this jewel!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wow! at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

Wow--The Manor on Front exceeded expectations. Warm, attentive, personal service. Scrumptious breakfasts. Gracious rooms. Beautiful views of the river. Loved it! We look forward to returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Surprise for hubby!! at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2016

Just a wonderful bed and breakfast we will be back next year for the car show. They were so amazing keeping it a secret from my husband that my in laws were there. He was so surpised!!! Breakfast was amazing as well and loved the history!! A must stay for any person. Thanks The Snowdens

View more reviews for this inn


Wow at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2016

So comfortable Eileen and Dennis were so helpful The Saturday morning talk was very informative

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2016

Spent 6 nights here. Dennis, Eileen, and Jason could not have been more accommodating. From handling our special dietary needs to providing helpful tips on the area, they really made our vacation something special. If you're coming to Gettysburg, this is the place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2016

We had a wonderful stay in the Walnut Cottage. The room was as described and the Hosts were very nice. Will mostly likely visit this place again.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed our short 2-day stay at the Bear House B&B at Bear House B&B (Dover, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on April 24, 2016

We enjoyed our short 2-day visit to the Bear House B&B earlier this month. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, different each day and so filling that we didn’t need to eat lunch on those days. George and Bonnie are wonderful hosts. We look forward to visiting again in the fall and seeing the changing colors of the foliage on their beautiful grounds. Bill & Rosemary

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B stay ever at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Had the best time here at Lightner Farmhouse. Very friendly innkeepers, clean rooms and wonderful hospitality and food. Will definitely come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay!! at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on March 23, 2016

We had a wonderful weekend. Everyone is so very friendly and totally awesome! Want to go again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet historical getaway at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2016

We were warmly welcomed by the innkeepers to this very historic civil war house and had a comfortable stay with great food. The special Battlefield Tour given by author J.D. Petruzzi was exceptional and kept us captivated!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on January 25, 2016

Fantastic service at the Inn... the innkeeper was fantastic and even met me in the parking lot to lead me into the house since it was dark outside. Breakfast was exceptional both days!

View more reviews for this inn


Finest Hospitality Experieince...ever! at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2016

Impressive architecture, stylish decor, abundant lounging areas, picturesque setting, pleasing amenities, charming service, delightful breakfast. The friendly staff created a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. I am certain to return.

View more reviews for this inn


The Manor is Amazing! at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2016

The Manor is amazing! We stayed in the Hull Suite. Our room was very spacious and beautifully furnished with an excellent view of the Susquehanna River. The breakfast, served in the formal dining room was incredible, consisting of a fresh fruit parfait, baked egg souflee, French toast with real maple syrup, and sausage. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. You can tell every detail in the Manor has been well thought out, and the hospitality was awesome. Mike and Sally Wilson go out of their way to make their guests feel special. We would highly recommend The Manor on Front whether you are visiting Harrisburg for business or just looking for a special getaway. Book your stay today. You will not be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Stay at the Lightner at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2015

My wife and I celebrated 15 years of marriage at the Lightner this past November. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Eileen, Dennis and Jason are extremely knowledgeable of the area and were great conversationalists during the amazing breakfast meals. Eileen even invited us to church on Sunday morning making us feel so welcomed. We felt like family the entire time. We highly recommend people take some time to visit this wonderful place. Mike and Cyndi McClintock (Medina, OH)

View more reviews for this inn


An Inn with a view to remember! at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 04, 2015

We decided to stay at a B and B in Harrisburg on our way to a relative's for Thanksgiving after picking our son up from the bus depot on his way from grad school at Carnegie Mellon. We enjoy staying at B and Bs on our trips. I must say that this is one of the finest. We met Mike Wilson the proprietor and had a tour of the main home. The decor and furniture has been selected to be of the period of the home and as the first reviewer mentioned is reminiscent of Downton Abby. The fabrics selected for the upholstery are exquisite and the craftmanship remarkable. The view of the Shenandoah from the Hull suite is soothing. Breakfast was at the time we wanted and nicely prepared. I would definitely stay again and am recommending it to friends.

View more reviews for this inn


WOW! at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2015

Wow, what an extraordinary stay! This is my new favorite B&B in Pennsylvania. I felt like royalty as soon as I arrived. The property is spectacular -- a fairytale mansion with beautiful views of the river, huge comfortable beds, "Downton Abbey"-quality antique decor throughout, and even a classic wood-paneled library. The service was extraordinary, with the friendliest of management, the most delicious of gourmet breakfasts, and the most efficient of checkin/checkout. Great location, great details. And the price was very reasonable for all that you get. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


First Guests Were Inpressed at The Manor on Front (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2015

My wife and I made our first visit ever to Harrisburg, PA on Columbus Day 2015 weekend to meet our future daughter-in-law's family and begin scoping out venues for different wedding events. Having grown up "back East," my wife wanted to stay in a local B&B instead of a local hotel. After doing some on line research and checking availability of B&B's for the dates of our stay, my wife found a site for The Manor on Front. Since there was no reservation site on line as of that time (July 2015), we emailed the owners (the Wilsons) directly. The Manor was not yet ready for guests at that time, but after a phone conversation with Sally, we decided to take a chance and make a reservation for Columbus Day weekend when we were assured all would be ready. WE ARE SO GLAD WE DID! The house is beautiful, the beds are warm and comfortable, the rooms are spacious, and the customer service could not have been better. Turns out we were some of the very first guests to stay at The Manor on Front after its official opening, but we certainly would not have known it but for our asking point blank when they opened. There are still a couple of minor things to be done to the main part of the house, but nothing that negatively impacted our stay or the comfort of the rooms. The effort to preserve the two houses on the property from the wrecking ball and return the homes from the disrepair which was described to us should win the Wilsons some type of award from the City of Harrisburg. The wedding is next year, and we plan to be back! And assuming our son and new wife will be making their home in the Harrisburg area after the wedding, we believe we now have a regular place to stay when we come visit. We strongly recommend adding The Manor on Front as a place to consider when visiting Harrisburg, or if you live in Harrisburg, a place to go for a special night just to get out of the house for a "staycation".

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant and comfortable stay at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on October 18, 2015

We enjoyed the Lightner Farmhouse, conveniently near the Gettysburg batttlefield we had come to visit. Our room Cedar has its owni entrance and is convenient on the first floor. Very comfortable. Conversations were quite audible; however, it quieted later in the evening. Eileen is very informative with the interesting history, dining spots and local points of interest.

View more reviews for this inn


Great choice! at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2015

We would choose this B and B again and again! Fabulous from beginning to end!

View more reviews for this inn


B & B Review at Lightner Farmhouse B&B (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2015

We always enjoy our stay at the Lightner Farnhouse B&B. Will not stay anywhere else when we are in Gettysburg.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}