The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Hinton, West Virginia

4.6 on July 22, 2014

We stayed in the Kenneth Suite. It has a large bathroom with laundry facilities. The couch is a sleeper, so four people fit comfortable. The place is exceptionally clean. Our suite has a separate entrance from the rest of the house. The living and dining rooms are spacious and accessible. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need for self-service. It is stocked with breakfast cereals, milk, juice and fruit. There is no breakfast service. My daughter stayed in the Rosemary Suite, above ours. Her sitting area was lovely, and her bathroom includes a jacuzzi. The housekeeping staff is thorough and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay very much,


Beautiful town and house

3.6 on July 07, 2014

Awesome place, but not your average bed and breakfast. I missed the interaction with the owners. Breakfast was a quiche in the fridge, and I never met anyone that ran the place. I was given codes to get in the house and room. However-- the house was BEAUTIFUL, the room was luxurious, and the extra things (like a Keureg in the room) made it a place I would love to return to!


Wonderful!

4.8 on June 29, 2014

Great house in a beautiful town. Would definitely visit again.


Wonderful B&B

5 on May 23, 2014

Such a lovely house, wonderfully restored. You not only have a large suite, but the run of the house, with a refrigerator stocked with water & beverages, and fruit. They offered quiche for breakfast, asked what sort I wanted, and the next morning I found a whole pie with my name on it!


A quick stop.

4.4 on May 22, 2014

My daughter and I went to pick up our dog in West Virginia. I wanted to stay in a an&about close to the breeder. I was happy to find this location. The room was beautiful. I would only suggest a shade on the door to block the bright porch light. I was surprised at the serve yourself breakfast. Cereal juice coffee and a muffin. I would recommend this location to other visitors to this area.


I won't stay anywhere else in Hinton, WV

5 on February 25, 2014

The renovated homes are awesome. Very nice beds. Kitchen was completely updated. Entire property was clean. Staff was excellent. No issues other than cable television was limited, however wi-fi was great. I was in town for business, I will be bringing my family next time.


Great B&B in Southern WV

4.8 on November 14, 2013

I booked a last minute room at The Guest House to come into town for a funeral. The hosts were great to work me in. I was in the Rosemary Suite and it is terrific. Very well appointed and kept. I will definitely be back under happier circumstances to enjoy the place more. The only knock on the entire visit was breakfast. It was a set out/serve yourself continental (which isn't bad in itself) but it was very sparse and was set the night before without coffee even being made. I did have fruit and cereal and it was fine, but it didn't hit the mark like the rest of the stay.


Beautiful and relaxing B&B

5 on September 11, 2013

My visit was very relaxing, the country side is very beautiful and full of family history. Was able to obtain a copy of my grandmother's birth certificate also, a copy of my grandparents marriage certificate.


Awesome place!

5 on September 04, 2013

The Guest House is a wonderful place to stay. The people are sooo helpful and nice. The rooms are exceptional clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Being able to use the kitchen/dining room/living room and outside space made it seem like we were staying at home! We can't wait to go back! This is the BEST place we have ever stayed at.


Wonderful place!

5 on August 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Guest House for the first time, but it certainly won't be the last! Everything was tasteful, convenient, impeccably clean and fresh. What a hidden jewel!


Wanted to Move In Permanently

5 on August 27, 2013

We stayed in the Timberlake Room which has a private entrance. The room was impeccably clean, decorated, and chilled for a wonderful summer's night sleep. Although we had a small frig in the room, guests have access to the main house which has a beautifully appointed kitchen with top notch appliances and cooking utensils. Fresh muffins from The Market (3 doors down) were in the kitchen every morning, as well as fresh fruit, juices, and coffee. We were only there 3 nights but I was ready to move in... hope to be back soon!


Outstanding

5 on August 25, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend our 50th. Very nicely decorated. Knowledgeable and warm staff. Went out of her way to make us feel at home. Would definitely come again.


An oasis during a stressful time!

5 on August 04, 2013

I was in Hinton to attend my mother's funeral. The Guest House was our home away from home for a couple of days and was just beautiful. The 2 room suite we had was more than adequate for the 5 of us who stayed. The large well furnished kitchen was a great gathering place for us and other family members in the area. I have been to Hinton several times and am so glad there is finally a great place to stay. The historic home was updated to be modern yet very charming. Loved the house and the hospitality!


Loved It!!!

4.4 on August 03, 2013

We were in town for our nieces wedding. The Parker House, where we stayed was within walking distance of the church! We totally enjoyed our stay from the minute we arrived! The home was very inviting & smelled yummy! We loved how the home still had that "back in the day" charm with its green tile in the kitchen and the pink bathroom with the black and white checkered floor! My husband said, "I could totally live in this house!" I only wish we could of stayed longer!


Coming Home

4.6 on July 30, 2013

I totally enjoyed my stay at The Guest House Inn! The rooms exceeded my expectations and the kitchen/eating area was gorgeous. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate me. I will definitely make reservations for next year. My only disappointment was the lack of a more upscale restaurant for dinner. However, the Dairy Queen was fabulous and did not disappoint me on any visit, but the service/quality of food at Pizza Hut left a lot to be desired. D.Wright - Overland Park, KS


Review

4.2 on July 28, 2013

Our stay was pleasant, our only negative would be the lack of temp control within the room. We found it a bit inconvenient to call for the a/c to be adjusted. We did not use the dining services.


Incredible Bed and Breakfast !

5 on July 17, 2013

We have stayed at The Guest House many times over the last few years. We have even driven 170 miles from our home just to stay here and visit Hinton. The staff is outstanding, the house and all rooms are immaculate, the kitchen is "to die for," and the ambiance is incredible. We feel very much at "home" when we enter "our" house.


Beautiful Place

4.4 on July 17, 2013

Room had nice queen-size bed and excellent mattress. Very clean with handsome wooden furniture. As advertised, breakfast was cold cereal, muffins and some fruit. More would have been nice but I knew what to expect when I booked. Room had huge bathroom with a washer and dryer in it, and use of a bottle of laundry detergent already there. That was a nice touch and kept me from running to the store when I wanted to relax. Town is past its prime but is full of interesting architecture and mountains that are large and very close. I would stay at the Guest House again. It's a clean, spacious, well-decorated accommodation with a helpful staff.


Beautiful B&B in Hinton

4.4 on July 04, 2013

Beautiful B&B located in Historic Hinton WV. Our suite was beautiful, fully equipped. We arrived on Thursday, where six fresh muffins were out for our continental breakfast, along with fruit and cereal for Friday morning. Delicious muffins, as we ate 2 on Friday morning. But there were never any more muffins made available, and the occupants moved from the two of us to another suite full and still the muffins were not replaced nor increased in number. They were a bit rubbery on Saturday morning. Not a big deal, we ate cereal and fruit, but just seemed a bit odd, since everything else was picture perfect!


Great stay

4.8 on June 24, 2013

The best part of the stay was the staff. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast.


Very nice plce

4.2 on June 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Guest House. Had the whole house to ourselves the first night. The fully equipped kitchen is great. The continental breakfast with fruits, muffins, bagels was fine.


Clean getaway!

4.8 on May 30, 2013

This is a non-hosted B&B which made it seem like we had the place to ourselves! We were 3 miles from Bluestone, 10 from Pipestem, 3 from Sandstone Falls & maybe 20 from the Grandview at New River Gorge. Judy & JoAnn were stellar! The entire house was very clean & beautifally decorated. We stayed in the Rosemary suite with Jacuzzi tub but got a peek at all the rooms & we have enjoyed any of them! The Market was 3 doors down & serves great sandwiches. We will be back!


Excellent stay!

5 on March 25, 2013

Beautiful home and friendly staff...A+!!!!


Nice night in Hinton

4.6 on November 02, 2012

need more towel racks in bathroom. only ones were behind the jacuzzi. no breakfast provided


NOT just lodging

5 on October 28, 2012

After making last minute accomodations at The Guest House on Court House Square in Hinton, we were provided with a gracious welcoming, beautiful & clean room full of amenities AND information pertaining to the area that was specialized to our needs. We had a wonderful stay and will not hesitate to reserve our room when we travel to the Hinton Area.


Wonderful getaway spot!

4.6 on October 17, 2012

We had the Kenneth Suite (a private entrance) on the first floor. The Room was large, meticulously clean and gorgeous. This home was restored with loving care. It's not "down home" comfy... but more of a "clean line" comfy. We loved the attention to detail. The large over-sized windows throughout, made for nice town views in the fall season. The main house(decorated in the same style) was open to us for creature comforts. Nancy was warm and inviting. She shared with us the highlights we needed for our short stay in this quaint little town. Dining is minimal... but we kind of figured that because it's a small town. We were directed to "The Market" on the corner. It was a tasty sandwich and beer style place. Just a reminder... this is an Inn, not a B&B. No breakfast included. If we were in this area again... we would stay here. Dan & Amy


Labor Day Getaway

4.4 on September 07, 2012

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Guest House Inn. The house is lovely and our accommodations were great. The courtyard area out back is really pretty and would be great for a large party/celebration. There is a restaurant within walking distance called The Market. They have great sandwiches and lots of neat things that would serve well as souvenirs. There is also a local pool and waterslide nearby. We had our 2 small children with us the 2nd night of our stay and loved the pool (but not so much the waterslide, unlike my husband and I!). The guests are also provided with muffins and fruit and orange juice. Otherwise, you have to bring food and beverages or eat at The Market. The only thing I was really disappointed in was the mattress in the Kenneth Suite. It was way too soft for my liking (but that's just me--I like a firm mattress). And if you're looking for lots to do, you're out of luck unless you're really into nature. Bluestone Marina is nearby, as well as Sandstone Falls and 2 State Parks.


Wow, better than expected!

4.4 on September 07, 2012

We arrived on Sunday before Labor Day. The hostess was not on the premises but was immediately available after we realized our instructions included her request that we call in advance of our arrival. We called as we were instructed and she came immediately. She was very gracious in explaining the use of the house and made a special trip to the grocery store to be sure we had enough breakfast food for our stay. We were very pleasantly surprised to find the interior of the house so well updated with high end bathroom and kitchen remodeling along with very tasteful period decoration and furniture. The location is in the middle of town with many historic places to visit within walking distance. We made a trip to see Sandstone Falls and the New River valley under the giant bridge on US highway 19. The scenery was great and we were able to watch kayakers and white water rafters floating down the river and across some of the rapids. We highly recommend staying at the Guest House Inn. It is great for a couple or for multiple families -especially family reunions. The kitchen and dining tables will accommodate 14-16 individuals and a large patio with outdoor furniture will seat at least as many in addition. The service and dining ratings we give this B&B are not outstanding because the hostess does not reside or stay at the house and allows guests to help themselves to the included continental breakfast foods and kitchen. Any other dining is on your own at local restaurants or by use of the kitchen.


Great!

5 on August 09, 2012

My family like The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square very much, and felt just stay at home, very confortable, Nacy is very nice, we will be back! Thanks!


Guest House Stay

4.4 on July 26, 2012

the stay was a half way point for my girlfriend and I. We had an amazing time. The suite was beautiful. The furniture, linens, everything. We plan on staying again and brining food to cook in the amazing kitchen.


definitely recommend

4.4 on July 26, 2012

this place was great and we really enjoyed our stay!! bring food with you to use their fabulous kitchen!


Beautiful Inn!

4.6 on June 13, 2012

What a pleasant surprise this Inn was! Absolutely beautiful and charming! Nancy was so pleasant and a warm welcome! Hinton is a charming little town in the middle of beautiful scenery. If you want a place to relax and read on the porch, dine at the only little cafe in town and shop at a quaint little antique store...this is the place!


Two spanish in Hinton

4.2 on June 06, 2012

We had a great time in The Guest House Inn. The personal is very friendly and kind. The house is terrific. Besides, Hinton is a great spot to do outdoor activities. We didn't have dinner at the property.


A mountain town's treasure

4.4 on April 07, 2012

We have stayed at the Guest House many times and continue to return because of the value and hospitality we receive is superior. Ou expectations are always met or exceeded. I can think of no aspect of the Guest House that has ever failed to meet or exceed our expectations. We are especially impressed by the warmth and helpfulness that Nancy Richmond always provides. We always feel at home there and look forward to many return visits in the future.


Weekend Trip

5 on February 29, 2012

this was a wonderful and unexpected suprise. The house is lovely, well decorated and Nancy was very accomodating. Would recommend to anyone.


Great Hospitality

4.8 on September 25, 2011

I would highly recommend the Guest House. The staff was amazingly courteous and helpful. The room was so clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the comfortable bed , complete with top grade linens. Hinton, WV is a great small town. Don't miss a walk around the town before you leave.


Diamond in the Coal country

4.8 on August 27, 2011

As my wife and I drove off of I-64 down toward Hinton, She was starting to get concerned... But once we arrived I was thankful that I trusted my gut. The house has been completely upgraded and the photos on the website don't do it justice! We had a wonderful Anniversary and we’re happy to have had the pleasure of staying in such a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. My wife and I had delicious sandwiches (a Ruben and a Panini) at the "Market" which is also owned and operated by the folks that own the Guest House. They don’t serve breakfast for you; however you can go to the Market or make your own in a first class kitchen second to none. Nancy and the staff treated us like family. (The only drawback is there aren’t any complimentary restaurants other than the Market in town, but I’m sure the owners are in the process of changing that as well.)


High-class lodging but not much around ...

4.4 on August 15, 2011

My husband and I came here last weekend and were pleasantly surprised with how impressive the rooms were with flat-screen tvs, wireless Internet, and classy furnishings. The town leaves much to be desired beyond the Pipestem State Park (don't waste your time at Bluestone). We did rent kayaks at the marina and explored the shoreline of Bluestone Lake, which was the highlight of our trip. Dining options are few and far between and this place doesn't provide breakfast beyond a fruit basket, coffee and muffins from the grocery store. Unfortunately they don't accept the B&B gift cards, which was the reason why we came in the first place. However, even though we had to pay all-in-all it was worth the price.


Wonderful stay, beautiful accomodations

5 on August 11, 2011

The Guest House Inn is an absolutely gorgeous property! Nancy goes above and beyond to provide the guests with a wonderful stay! The entire Guest House is beautiful along with our room, Rosemary Suite. I can't say enough good things about The Guest House. I will definitely stay there again when in Hinton. The Market on Courthouse Square is a great place to grab a bite to eat!


Truly lovely

4.8 on April 11, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. Elegant, comfortable and welcoming.


A superb blend of historic charm with quality accommodations

4.6 on March 12, 2011

The Guest House Inn is without question one of the most comfortable and welcoming bed and breakfasts that my family has experienced. Although the ambience in this restored historic residence is matchless, the stay is more enhanced by the innkeeper who goes to great lengths to make sure that everything the guest needs is perfect. We very much look forward to our next stay at the Guest House and highly recommend it for anyone who seeks a quiet, restful, well furnished, and convenient haven in Hinton. Fred and Barbara Webb


The Guest House Inn on Courthouse Square

Details

  • Nightly Rate $107 - $190
  • Reviews (41) 4.7
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 877-8542828
  • Phone 304-4668100
  • Fax 304-6596786
Top