The Morris Harvey House Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
148 Reviews

Write A Review

Week night get away

4.0 on July 11, 2014

Staff was able to adjust to our travel times and changes with ease. Knowledgeable about the area and provided us with any information we required. Room was gorgeous and something I would visit again with no hesitation.


Great place to stay in this cool small town

4.6 on July 06, 2014

We came into town to do the Bridge Walk and go whitewater rafting. We didn't realize that Bernie could have made the reservations for the excursions for us. Had we known, it would have saved us from trying to remember times and outfitter companies' names. All in all, we had a great stay, and the B&B was very convenient, well kept, and comfortable.


Great host, very clean, needs something more.

3.4 on July 02, 2014

This is a special house, a great location, good value and a fun little town. If you are used to staying in B&Bs, this might fall a bit short if you expect special/gourmet food, and extra special touches or period decor. The decor was a bit dated and the food wasn't gourmet, but very tasty. The tub in our shared bathroom had chipping paint on the bottom which was a bit unnerving. Overall, a solid B&B for the money in a special town where options are limited.


Very charming B&B

4.4 on June 25, 2014

This was our second stay in two years. We could definitely stay again and recommend it to our friends and family.


wonderful- will return!!!

5 on June 16, 2014

Bernie was a wonderful host, gave us great meals, good conversation and awesome advice on things to do in the area. We can't wait to return!


Sweet and Charming!

5 on June 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for a night while visiting in West Va. Bernie is absolutely fantastic! He was a big help in finding activities to do and even went as far as setting the date and time up for us! Fayetteville is such charming little town, everything is within walking distance and you will find so many things to do! It is also a plus that the New River Gorge Bridge is right around the corner! Definitely the place to stay in WV!


terrific place to stay in fayetville

4.2 on May 24, 2014

great breakfast and great host in Bernie


Passing through

5 on May 18, 2014

I enjoyed staying here on my way through to Fayetteville, NC! I love B and B's because I enjoy the comfort of a home and visiting with new people. This did not disappoint. The host was very accommodating. I felt at home. Thank you so much for your hospitality! Julie


What a find!

5 on May 03, 2014

We planned a last-minute spring break trip to West Virginia and are so happy Fayetteville and Morris Harvey B&B made the list of places to visit and stay! We had the 2 bedroom top floor suite with private bath that was perfect for the 3 of us. The house is just beautiful and the breakfasts were mini feasts each morning. What made it most memorable though was the owner Bernie and his son Cameron (though my daughter might say it was the lemonade and chocolate/peanut butter cookies out each afternoon). They went out of their way to make us feel so at home and helped with activities, dining options (your mind and mouth will be blown) and info on the area. I highly recommend and definitely kid friendly.


Peaceful and Comfortable

5 on April 22, 2014

We stayed one night in The Loft room and wish we could have stayed longer. We also had to leave early and missed the breakfast which was cooking and smelled wonderful. I found nothing that would discourage me from recommending this B&B to anyone. Plenty of parking. The house was full and there were still spaces to park. Good and quiet location. We did not dine there but this website did not let me finish my review without a dining rating so based on Bernie, the host and the dining room cleanliness when we explored the home and the dellicious smell I would be very satisfied and rated it as such.


Very Nice Place.

4.4 on April 09, 2014

Just one night there, but would go back.


Great place!

5 on April 04, 2014

Perfect place to stay during my recent business trip in Fayetteville. Great service, delicious breakfasts, & friendly atmosphere (made me feel like I was at home).


Another wonderful visit

4.8 on March 19, 2014

My wife and I occasionally stay at the Morris Harvey House and we are always pleased with the visit. Bernie is the consummate inn keeper and Fayetteville is a wonderful small town. Sitting on the large Victorian front porch at sunset with a bottle of wine is a terrific prelude for visiting one of the town's marvelous restaurants.


Delightful accomodations!

5 on February 13, 2014

The house was warm and inviting and clean. Owner helped us find good dinner & provided delicious, pretty breakfast. We normally stay in hotels, but no well-rated ones in area so decided to try this as little adventure. Would definitely return!


Nice guy. Nice place. Will try to stay there again.

3.6 on January 01, 2014

Definitely would recommend


Our Stay

5 on December 09, 2013

Bernie is an excellent host.


First class

5 on December 04, 2013

Extraordinary hospitalty, very cool little town, and a region of beaty beyond words.


Everything you would want in a B&B

4.2 on December 04, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Morris Harvey House. The host was very polite, punctual and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.


A Step Back in Time

4.6 on November 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the historic Morris Harvey House. It was like staying in a mini-museum, but we felt comfortable enough to make ourselves at home. It was a bonus to have a private bathroom. The clawfoot tub was a little tricky to negotiate, but pulling a chair over for stability when getting in and out did the trick. The breakfasts were out of this world. Bernie sure knows how to put out a spread! This B&B coupled with the quaint, "throw-back" town of Fayetteville makes for a perfect weekend getaway.


Amazing!

5 on November 15, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay! The house in general is gorgeous, inside and out. The room was so nice, and the bed was so comfortable. We enjoyed just relaxing in our room. The owner is very friendly and fixes an amazing breakfast! We will definitely be going back for another stay. It was such a relaxing time!


Our first B & B experience

4.8 on November 15, 2013

Fayetteville, WV is definitely taking a step into the past. This house is only 2-3 blocks from the middle of this small town that looks like it got stuck somewhere in the 1950's or 1960's. It's great to step out of the house an walk through this small town. Of course, the main attraction to the area is the New River Gorge Bridge and National Park which is only a mile or so from the house. Also, the area has a rich coal mining history. We visited in November, so it was quiet. However, we understood during the summer the area is full of hikers, kayakers, and mountain bikers. The town is only 20 miles from Beckley, where the hotel prices seemed high, which motivated us to try the Morris Harvey House. We were not disappointed. The owner welcomed us when we arrived and told us about area restaurants and things to do. As it turned out, he is also a great cook. Breakfast on both days we were there was amazing. Now, my wife and I usually have our laptops out, and the rooms weren't fitted with office desks and chairs, but the house had great WIFI, so we made ourselves at home in the dining room when we needed the check our email. Also, the rooms do not have TV, but the living room has a nice LG TV and is comfortable, and the WIFI was good enough that we could easily stream Neflix or HULU Plus on our laptops for video on the room. We stayed in Rosa's Suite, the only downstairs room, so at night we felt like the house was ours. We were lucky that everyone there seemed to respect the fact that our room was just off the living room, so we had all of the peace and quiet we needed. For area restaurants, we would recommend Pies & Pints for some fantastic pizza, and the Secret Sandwich Society, where every ingredient for their trendy gourmet sandwiches is homemade at very reasonable prices. We stepped back in time for our first B & B experience, and the Morris Harvey house gave us a great one.


cozy stopover in West Virginia

4.4 on November 07, 2013

We would be arriving later than expected, but were able to contact Bernie and work out details. He coached us on directions which was good, since this was our first stay in West Virginia. We would stay there again. There were comfortable sitting rooms, guests quiet, and coffee was excellent.


Overnight to New River Gorge

4.8 on November 04, 2013

Accommodations were very comfortable. We felt right at home. It was nice to be so close to the Visitors' Center. We also enjoyed the shops and restaurants in Fayetteville.


B&B

3.0 on November 01, 2013

Stay was satisfactory. Accommodations were average


Loved the Royal Red of the Grand Suite!

3.6 on October 27, 2013

We were very lucky to arrive on a Tuesday when the guest house was occupied only by ourselves and one other couple. The Grand Suite was beautifully appointment in shades of luxurious deep red, adding to the feeling of 'old world' grandeur. The bedroom is spacious and comfortable but the bathroom proved a little 'tight' with the shower positioned very low - difficult to use if you are taller than 5' 3. The upside-down pineapple French toast creation was a scrumptiously delicious surprise at breakfast time and well worth a second helping! PS...a word of warning...do not attempt to walk to Dirty Ernie's!! :-)


Beautiful B&B

5 on October 25, 2013

Everything was beautiful! We loved the style & feel of the house. The food & company was also wonderful! Bernie is great!


reservation mixup

3.8 on October 20, 2013

due to a reservation mix up we ended up on the third floor "suite". You need a helmet to walk around up there unless you are less than 5 feet tall. Stairs are steep and difficult when carrying a bag. Innkeeper was great and breakfast was above average. House is beautiful except our room . Great location, I would go back


West Virginia Hospitality

4.2 on October 08, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the lovely Morris Harvey House in Fayetteville. Our host Bernie was most welcoming and friendly, and he offered us excellent dining recommendations. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable, and had a perfect night's sleep. Bernie's excellent breakfast was a feast of flavor and variety, and we certainly recommend this B&B as an excellent place to stay!


Romantic Getaway

3.6 on October 04, 2013

Found this B&B online and booked it for our anniversary. The only criticism I have is that it was put through on my Visa immediately, instead of when we actually arrived and used the room.


Review of Morris Harvey Houls

4.8 on September 29, 2013

We had a very good experience


First Timers

4.0 on September 23, 2013

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We we're sure what to expect, but we had a very enjoyable experience at the Morris Harvey House. The breakfasts were outstanding!! We met some nice people and got good recommendations for activities and dining at night. Our stay made us want to try it again!!


Short stay

3.6 on September 18, 2013

Mattress and pillows need replaced. The pillows were lumpy, and the mattress had a valley in the middle. The room overall was very clean


Lovely place to stay!

4.4 on September 12, 2013

The Morris Harvey house is beautiful, comfortable and clean. Bernie (the owner) was always helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Located in the heart of downtown Fayetteville, it is within walking distance of several very good restaurants. Will definitely be staying there again.


August 2013

4.4 on September 10, 2013

Lovely B&B in totally cool town -- great restaurants near by -- friendly owner.


Had A Good Visit

4.6 on September 06, 2013

We chose the Morris Harvey House because it was close to one of the main visitor centers at New River Gorge National River and it had many excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. Bernie is an excellent host and a good cook besides. Breakfast was good and filling both of the days we stayed. Our room (the Library) shared a hallway bathroom with another room, but it was not an issue, other than the floor creaking as we walked to and from the bathroom in the middle of the night - hopefully we did not wake anyone... In a house this old, I would be suspicious if the floors and stairs did not creak. All in all, we would recommend the historic Morris Harvey House for anyone that wants to spend a few days in the area - it's a good base of operations for the many activities that are available to you.


Lovely place

4.2 on September 06, 2013

It was a lovely place to stay, Bernie was very nice and accommodating. We will be going back soon!!


A nice place to stay in a great little town

4.0 on September 04, 2013

We stayed here during our recent tour of WV. Had a lovely stay. Breakfasts were wonderful. Always a hot casserole of some sort, scrambled eggs, juices, fruits, cereals, and good coffee. Room was very comfortable, but we have a couple of suggestions: provide a reading lamp on BOTH sides of the bed, and get a new soap and shampoo holder for the otherwise beautiful claw-foot tub and shower. Everything we put in there fell out or through into the tub.


Wonderful stay

4.8 on August 24, 2013

Very enjoyable stay in a beautiful house. Superb breakfasts.


Great stay!

4.6 on August 19, 2013

Loved the breakfast and getting to know new people. Had a great time there.


Friendly B&B

4.8 on August 18, 2013

The owner and other guests were very friendly. They provided helpful suggestions on where to eat (Pie and Pints was a block down the road) and fun things to do. The Library room was nice for two nights (two people in the room). The floors and bed are a little squeaky. The hairdryer in the shared bathroom is stuck on the low setting... it would be faster to air dry from the little value it provided. Breakfast is delicious. We would stay again.


Quaint room, beautiful house & yummy breakfast

4.0 on July 17, 2013

Fayetteville is a cute town. Enjoyed shopping at the antique mall across from B&B and eating at Pies and Pints. Breakfast at the M. H. House was delicious and Bernie was a great and interesting host. The bed was comfortable and room was spacious. Would have liked a change of towels/extra hand towels during our 3 night stay. The rubber ducky was a quirky touch that made me smile.


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on July 01, 2013

Stayed at the Morris Harvey House and had a fantastic time. Bernie is a great cook and even better host. The house is lovely and the rooms are a nice size. I loved Fayetteville and the Adventures on the Gorge for white water rafting, rock climbing and zip lining. Perfect vacation. Thank you.


Lovely Place to stay

5 on June 21, 2013

I selected the B&B to stay at to get ready for my wedding weekend. Bernie was so helpful with everything. He allowed me and my bridal party to use another party of the house to get ready and to take photos The entire house is gorgeous. We stayed in the Loft area, which is fantastic if you want a more private place. Our second night my new husband and I stayed there, and we really enjoyed the breakfast the next morning. Bernie makes everything so easy and he really makes your stay something we'll always remember.


You should check out this B&B

4.4 on June 21, 2013

Charming turn of the century home with an excellent location in town. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was a good way to start your day right. We would not hesitate to stay again, and again.


Morris Harvey House

5 on June 20, 2013

Absolutely superb. Bernie is a incredible host. I'm 6'2" and the 3rd floor is a little tight but you get used to it and Bernie warns you ahead of time.


Trip north

4.0 on June 13, 2013

It was a pleasant change from our usual inter-state motels. A very congenial group stayed at the B&B which made breakfast most enjoyable. Would definitely stay at this B&B again.


Relax

4.0 on June 13, 2013

I had a great weekend stay at Morris Harvey House B&B. Bernie was very friendly & accommodating. Most things are within walking distance (restaurants & shops). Breakfast was yummy & all the guests understood B&B culture & made it like a family meal. The only thing I would caution is that it is not very handicap friendly. Bernie goes out of his way to do what he can, but it is an older house & no matter what, there are going to be a couple stairs to climb (even to just get in the house). But, it is very peaceful & comfortable. I am very glad we chose to stay here. We will be coming back :o)


Nice for New River Gorge layover

3.2 on May 13, 2013

Met expectations; very nice breakfast and strolling distance to several restaurants. Do try Pints and Pies- better than it's first impression.


Great B&B by the New River Gorge

4.4 on May 10, 2013

Great place. Nice rooms. Good breakfast.


Morris Harvey House visit

4.4 on May 10, 2013

The house is very nice and all the people we met were exstemely friendly. The New River Gorge area is a beautiful place to visit. We enjoyed ourselves emmensly


Great spot for a stopover

4.6 on May 07, 2013

My husband and I were travelling on a 25th wedding anniversary trip and were on the last leg of our trip back home and stopped in Fayetteville and stayed at the Morris Harvey House. This was a delightful, well appointed and very clean home. Bernie, our host, was gracious and welcoming and very laid back. The location is perfect to spend some time at the Three River Gorge, which we did the next day. Bernie had a ton of information available about the area, with hiking guides and even a CD to listen to while taking a scenic drive. This was a perfect way to see some of the area, learn about some of the history and be able to do it over a short period of time, we totally enjoyed it and are thrilled that all the information was available right at the B & B. This is a beautiful place and we hope to come back when we can visit longer. I would certainly recommend this property and would love to stay here again. Finally the breakfast was wonderful - served on the buffet in the dining room, there was plenty of variety to please any palette, and the food was delicious. I must say that we were coming from at 4 star accommodation down in Savannah, and this breakfast blew the breakfast at the previous location away. We met some fun and interesting people at the B&B and would recommend it highly.


A wonderful place in New River Gorge

5 on April 21, 2013

The Morris Harvey House was a wonderful retreat from our busy days in the Fayetteville/New River Gorge area. Bernie, the innkeeper, was lovely. He had many suggestions on the area and what to do and his breakfast was OUTSTANDING!!!! I would return just for the breakfast alone, but the inn was lovely as well, very comfortable and quiet. We sat on the porch in the evening to look at the photos we took during the day. There are many good restaurants close by. I highly recommend staying here. We are already planning our next trip back and will absolutely stay at the Morris Harvey House again.


Delightful Stay

4.8 on April 21, 2013

Beautiful house and rooms. Bernie was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room had a fireplace, comfortable bed and antique furniture. We felt like we had stepped back in time.


Great Stay!

4.8 on April 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Morris Harvey House. The Innkeeper, Bernie, was very helpful and informative. He also cooks a wonderful breakfast! The room was comfortable and clean. The house itself has a lot of character and interesting history. The outside of the house does need some attention (painting of siding especially). Overall, very satisfied and would enjoy coming back!


April stay

4.2 on April 18, 2013

Other than the very small bathroom this was a nice place to stay and the breakfast was very good. The host was cordial and helpful.


great place

4.6 on April 15, 2013

Great location. Close to many places. Eating places were in walking distance.


Excellent, as always!

5 on March 28, 2013

Bernie is nature's quintessential host. Excellent place to stay and great restaurants within walking distance. We come here at least twice a year from Morgantown.


Cross-country traveler

5 on March 22, 2013

We arrived in a very cold and wintry spring day and had a very warm reception. In addition to a very clean and comfortable room, we enjoyed the fireplace in the main livingroom. It was a very pleasant stay for the whole time and the breakfast was spectacular. We also enjoyed driving through New River Gorge while we were in the area. The views were spectacular and it was a lovely drive.


A quick and lovely evening

4.4 on December 06, 2012

It was a short stay but we really loved the place and was sent off with a hearty home cooked breakfast


Lovely Stay

5 on November 26, 2012

Our third stay at this B & B. Everything was super, as usual. We will return.


A charming and peaceful get-away!

4.2 on November 19, 2012

Really enjoyed our weekend get-away ... the proprietor was gracious and provided excellent service. Everything was peaceful and relaxed and just what we needed!


A really nice place

4.6 on October 27, 2012

A very nice B&B and Bernie is a delightful host---and a good cook!! He directed us, and the other guests that evening, to Pies & Pints, a fabulous pizzeria four doors down the street. We all compared notes over a delicious breakfast the next morning and agreed it's some of the best pizza we've ever eaten.


Lovely Victorian

4.8 on October 23, 2012

We found the Harvey Room to be clean, spacious, nicely decorated with very comfortable bed. The attached half bath was modern and clean. Full bath was adjacent just a few feet down the hall. Overall a very pleasant stay in a grand old Victorian home. Bernie is a great host .


B&B Feels Like Home

4.4 on October 21, 2012

The Morris Harvey is a great location for experiencing WV and the New Gorge area. Everything we did was within a 30 min drive. And the little town of Fayetteville is charming- makes you wish all the towns in US were like it. There were 4 restaturants within walking distance (under 5 minutes) and all were fantastic. Bernie is a great host and the breakfasts were very good. My lowest rating was for the bed (mattress); not as much support as I'm use to, but that did not disrupt my sleep. Bernie, thanks for good WV experience.


A great place to stay in Fayetteville

5 on October 13, 2012

I was just passing through and arrived late (2am) but getting up for breakfast was very worth it. And a later checkout let me nap after breakfast. A very nice place. Fayetteville the town has an awesome coffee shop/cafe. Take time to enjoy the Cathedral Cafe!


Pleasant stay in Fayetteville

3.2 on October 11, 2012

We stayed in the Harvey Room. While the room was very nice, it did not have a dresser, which prohibited us from unpacking from the suitcase. This would make a stay any longer than a weekend a bit of a challenge with managing ones clothing. The house overall was immaculate, however, the upstairs hallway bathroom's clawfoot tub needed to be reglazed and cleaned, and also leveled, as the tub wobbled when one stood in it to shower. Dining was fine, service of the innkeeper was acceptable, and the overall value of the entire stay was good.


Enjoyed our stay.

3.4 on October 08, 2012

Nice town and nice B&B. Just a bit loud at night across the street from the post office. But Bernie did a nice job with the breakfasts and with helping us to decide what to do in the area. Would go back.


It was OK, but not great

2.6 on October 08, 2012

The host was pleasant and the place was fine - but it needs some improvement. Facilities are getting a bit long in the tooth. Breakfast was fine too, but compared with a similarly priced B&B we stayed at in Asheville, NC, this place was no comparison. Bed was uncomfortable. I would look elsewhere.


THE best breakfast!!!

4.4 on September 09, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 24th anniversary. The house was beautiful, clean, and we felt right at home there. Bernie made peaches and cream french toast for breakfast, and it was to die for!


Excellent B&B / Location

4.8 on September 08, 2012

The breakfasts were amazing, location perfect, and host was exceptional. Can't wait to return on our next visit to WV.


Relaxing

5 on September 01, 2012

We were only there for one night but hope to return. Bernie was a delightful host.


Charming Stay!

4.0 on August 30, 2012

Beautiful home! Lovely decor and atmosphere in all the rooms. The host was especially engaging, friendly and helpful!


Our visit

3.2 on August 19, 2012

The house was a beautiful old building that we had seen a number of times before and wanted to stay. So we booked it and are happy we did. The Loft was actually a separate suite that was remodeled from what looked like it was the attic at one time. But it was funky and fun and all three of us enjoyed that. The bath was an odd arrangement and we found using the shower on the lower floor was more comfortable. A couple of things would have made the experience better - a wine get together in the evening and a wider choice of items for the breakfast. The Secret Sandwich Society restaurant was 10 min walk away and the bets place for good food. You could see that the owner was working very hard to make this a very comfortable place to stay; he also was cordial and interested in our backgrounds which made us right at home. But over all, it was a fun experience and will consider going back next time we are in the area for hiking or other activities.


Perfect two-night stay

4.0 on August 15, 2012

My wife and I and another couple spent two nights in the two bedroom loft. It was plenty of room for the time we actually spent in the room. We took advantage of the front porch for cheese, crackers and wine both nights. The unique french toast, scrambled eggs and fruit for breakfast was excellent. We walked to a corner restaurant a block a way for dinner one night. It could not have been a better place for our adventure weekend that included rafting and zip line.


Nice visit to Fayetteville

3.2 on August 11, 2012

Had a nice visit to a quaint b&b. Bernie was a sweet man and we had a nice visit with him


Serene and Beautiful...

4.4 on July 31, 2012

Our stay at Morris Harvey was short. But me and my family thoroughly enjoyed it. And you cant find a better host than Bernie, who goes out of his way. In fact, he helped us schedule our visit as well... to include rafting and zip lining on short notice. He was very patient and also made alternate arrangements since we arrived late in the nite to make sure that we could hit the bed straight. The bedrooms in the loft were awesome, although the sitting area was a bit tight... Early mornings outside on the porch are superb! Would highly recommend staying at this B&B.


An unexpected great find

5 on July 25, 2012

My husband and I loved this place. The owner is incredibly friendly and generous, and he willingly accommodated my dietary restrictions. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the house itself is beautiful (and not over-decorated as some b&bs are). We'll definitely be back!


An absolutely lovely place to stay!

4.6 on July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over a weekend trip to a wedding. Bernie, who runs the Morris Harvey House, is an absolute delight. Breakfast both days was wonderfully delicious, and he was extremely helpful in organizing activities for us. The town of Fayetteville is quite quaint, and has some great little restaurants. The only bad thing, which we didn't find to be an issue, is that not every room has an en suite bathroom, so we had to share with another couple.But like I said, it didn't pose a problem for us during our stay. Overall, we loved it and will definitely be back!


Charming B&B in quaint Fayetteville, WV

4.6 on July 16, 2012

My family of five stayed in 'The Loft', which had two roomy bedrooms with comfortable beds and a nice little parlour. We had our own bathroom, which had a hand-held shower attachment in the tub, making it somewhat difficult to take a standing shower. This did not distract in any way from our enjoyment. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. Bernie is a thoughtful innkeeper without being obtrusive, plus he makes a good breakfast. Coffee could be stronger and hotter, but that's a personal thing for us. The Morris Harvey House is a great place to stay to explore the area of Fayetteville.


very nice stay

4.4 on July 11, 2012

We just stayed one night....was a very nice atmosphere. The innkeeper was very nice and attentive. Breakfast was exquisite! Would recommend to anyone!


Anniversary Paradise

4.0 on July 11, 2012

We were surprised to find no one at the Inn when we arrived, but there was a phone number on the door and the host assured us we were welcome to make ourselves at home. Fayetteville is a marvellous little town to while away the time with outdoor adventures (we went horseback riding with Equestrian Adventures on the suggestion of the host and other guests and that was fantastic). We were very pleased with everything and breakfast was truly scrumptious. The only thing that didn't meet my expectations was the checkout time. We had to check out by 10 AM. It wasn't a problem, both because we are early risers and because our host made us very comfortable and we took our time reading on the porch before heading off for our activities for the day, but for later risers, the time might pose an issue. All in all a wonderful experience!


Convenient Location

3.2 on June 29, 2012

Adequate, clean accomodations that could use a few finishing touches and updates. The location is excellent - within walking distance of the historic town and several restaurants.


A great time

4.6 on June 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a trip across the country. We had a fantastic experience. Bernie is a great host, and made an absolutely delicious breakfast. We will definitely return in the future.


Vacation break

5 on June 19, 2012

After 2 weeks of traveling around the mid eastern states on a touring motorcycle I enjoyed a few relaxing nights in this wonderful B&B. It was a nice break from my vacation.


Overnight stay

4.2 on June 18, 2012

Beautiful place to stay in downtown Fayeteville. We only stayed one night, but the accomodations were wonderful. Rooms were very clean and had everything we needed.


Quiet and pleasant stay

4.0 on May 31, 2012

It was quiet and very pleasant. Nice stop along the way from Pittsburgh to Asheville.


review

4.4 on May 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time and met some very interesting people. Bernie is always very warm and welcoming. See you next year!


Outstanding Service!!

5 on May 15, 2012

We stayed at this B&B when we were passing through the area only briefly. We arrived much later than we had anticipated and Bernie, the owner, was very accomodating and friendly. Bernie also knew quite a bit about the area and was able to give us alot of recommendations on where to go, what to see, etc. If I could give Bernie more than stars on service, I would. He also makes a mean breakfast...the pineapple french toast was to die for!


Wonderful stay

5 on May 05, 2012

Bernie, the owner, was a gracious and friendly host. We loved the room. We would definitely stay here again.


passing through West Virginia

3.2 on April 15, 2012

We had two pleasant days and enjoyed meeting Bernie and the other guests.


Great Weekend Stay! Bernie is great.

5 on February 08, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend stay - Bernie was very helpful and the friendliest bed and breakfast owner I have met. The pineapple upside down cake french toast was superb! Will definitely be back.


Welcoming and Cozy!

4.0 on January 23, 2012

Bernie greeted us on a dreary day with a friendly smile and a warm, cozy house! We were sitting downstairs later at night and he turned on the fire for us...what a nice touch! Comfortable accomodations and the breakfast was yummy! He was quite the host! We very much enjoyed our time and hope to be back sometime!


Will definitely be back.

5 on January 09, 2012

The Morris Harvey House is an excellent Bed & Breakfast. This stately home, built in 1902, is kept in fantastic condition by the proprietor, Bernie, who is as nice and welcoming as can be. Despite raging winds and 20 degree weather, the house was very warm and comfortable. Our room was decorated with early 20th century amenities, and the bed was even more comfortable than expected. The breakfast Bernie served was delicious, consisting of blueberry french toast and baked grapefruit. We will definitely stay there again.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

4.6 on November 28, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend here on our way down South. It was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was delicious every day (big fan of the baked grapefruit!) and Bernie was the most helpful host. The house is beautiful and the rooms are well kept. When there was a small issue, Bernie was quick to get it fixed. We felt at home here and would recommend this Morris Harvey to anyone wanting to spend a weekend in Fayetteville. On that note, if you are looking for an area to stay, we also highly recommend Fayetteville! There is so much to do and many wonderful places to eat.


ok

2.6 on October 22, 2011

comfortable beds and good nite's rest; but felt a little unwelcome and not as accomodating as I thought it should be.


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on October 18, 2011

Really enjoyed our time. Breakfast was delicious and Bernie was an excellent innkeeper. We would thoroughly recommend it.


Very pleasant

5 on October 07, 2011

This was my first bed and breakfast experience. Bernie made it a very pleasant experience. It felt like a family visit ( I have a great family ). Loved the pancakes, Bernie. We'll be going back.


Great b&b!!

5 on October 01, 2011

We were delighted with this b&b. We were traveling to NC and this was the perfect halfway point. Bernie is a great host, giving you lots of info about the town and area. His food recommendations were spot on and it was nice to be able to walk to dinner. A delicious breakfast of baked apple pie French toast was served in the morning with stimulating conversation around the table. Our only regret was we couldn't stay longer. We will definitely return to explore the area and stay at the Morris House.


Our weekend motorcycle getaway

4.4 on September 20, 2011

We spent three nights at the Morris Harvey House renting the loft. As there were three of us it worked out perfect.


allergic reaction

3.4 on September 14, 2011

While the room looked & smelt fine except for some mold in teh bathroom, one of us had an allergic reaction to something- we suspect mold or mildew based on their allergy history. This resulted is such loud snoring that the otehr slept in the car. Do not go if you have any kind of reactions to molds / mildew. We did not stay the second night to avaoid a repeat.


Outstanding stay at the Morris Harvey House

5 on September 11, 2011

We had a great time during our stay. Bernie is a good cook and excellent host.


Lovely B&B

4.4 on September 09, 2011

My fiance and I stayed there for 3 days and were happy with services. The house is clean and lovely. We will go back there again!


wonderful place! Highly recommended

5 on September 06, 2011

great rooms; reasonable price; friendly; great breakfast!


Exceeded our expectations!

4.0 on September 03, 2011

We had a fabulous stay. First time staying in a bed and breakfast and Bernie was a super host and cook. We met some amazing people. Looking forward to our next stay there or in an another bed and breakfast in a different city.


Very comfortable stay after day of rafting

4.0 on August 29, 2011

Excellent overall B&B in a charming town. Only stayed one night after a rafting trip, but would definitely consider this property for a longer stay in the future.


WONDERFUL EXPEREINCE

5 on August 21, 2011

Bernie was so nice and accomodating! He has excellent customer service skills and is such a pleasure!! Outstanding breakfasts, we will be back!


Morris Harvey House

3.4 on August 18, 2011

We spent one night at the inn. Bernie was hospitable and we had a great night at the inn.


Great WV Getaway

5 on August 11, 2011

Wonderful place to stay in West Virginia. The breakfasts,company and hospitality are second to none. This is our 3rd year returning. Bernie is always a pleasure to chat with. The stay always seem too short.


Great place to stay while in town.

4.2 on August 01, 2011

I love the old world charm of the house. The host is very friendly and shares great tidbits of information about the town; he really makes his guests feel welcome during their stay. We will definitely stay here again when we travel.


Good stopover for whitewater rafting.

3.0 on July 28, 2011

We've stayed at several B&B's, and The Morris Harvey House did not disappoint. Meeting expectations is a good thing. Beautifully kept home in a quaint town, very courteous and friendly owner.


July Rafting

3.8 on July 22, 2011

Bernie does a great job of taking care of his guests! He set up our activities and will answer all your questions. The house is great too and we really enjoyed reading on the front porch in the evening.


Don't stay anywhere else!

5 on July 13, 2011

We spent our 19th anniversary at The Morris Harvey House and it was one of the best anniversaries in many years. I loved everything about the house, our innkeeper (Bernie) and the little town of Fayetteville. The house is simply beautiful and immaculately kept... not a speck of dust or dirt to be found. Bernie is the most accommodating host... it felt like we were old friends. He is also an amazing cook... breakfast was so delicious. If you stay anywhere else... you are missing a real treasure at The Morris Harvey House!!


Afternnoon tea at the porch.

5 on June 17, 2011

Dear Bernie. Thanks for a pleasant stay at your facilities in the very end of May, 2011. We have been travelling half way around the world ( from Denmark, Scandinavia ) to get the opportunity to experience some authentic southern atmospheare, and our, unfortunately much to short, stay with you fulfilled our expectations completely. We had great fun with you and the afternoon at the porch was excactly what we were seeking. Thanks a lot. It was great. Birte and Per


Could not have been better!!

5 on May 22, 2011

We stayed here for our wedding (which was at the Gorge), and both Bernie and the House are everything wonderful and delightful about B&B's. He was so accommodating and gracious, it calmed us down and helped us enjoy our big day! I have a hard time staying in many B&B's because of a perfume/potpourri allergy, but I didn't have any problems staying here at all. And the house is charming without being stuffy or over the top. We didn't get to do everything we wanted to in the area, so we are already planning our next getaway back!


Our Engagement Getaway!

5 on May 19, 2011

My new fience and I booked a weekend getaway at the Morris Harvey House this past weekend. We stayed in the Harvey room, and it was wonderful. It only had a half bath, but I actually liked having to use the main hall bathroom shower. It was very neat, the old claw tub was awsome. The house is beautiful! The vintage furniture fit perfectly into the time period of the home. The food was amazing and Bernie was so nice. We actually got engaged at a near by waterfall, and celebrated with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries which Bernie had made! The other guests were wonderful and we talked over breakfast for hours. I felt at home there, it was warm and comfortable. I felt like I was staying at a family members home. I would recommend everyone to visit this bed and breakfast!!! Loved it!!!


Charming

4.0 on May 17, 2011

House is in a great location and all attractions we wished to see were with in 20 min of the house.


Initial Taste of Southern Hospitality

5 on April 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Morris Harvey House on Wednesday, March 30th. It was our first stop on a ten-day southern trip. We had the house to ourselves that night. This was good because we had plenty of time to chat with Bernie. But it was bad because there was no one else with whom to talk. That is the only downside to our stay. Bernie is a fine host and a fine cook. Breakfast was excellent and was more than sufficient to fuel us for the next leg of our trip - a drive from fayette to Aiken SC. Bernie told us about Tamarack. We stopped there and can honestly say it is a place not to be missed. Also, even though the weather was cold and wet, we visited the New River Gorge Park. This too is not to be missed. All in all, we gave Bernie the highest marks! Hugh & Marsha Guillaume, Amherst NY


Lovely

5 on April 07, 2011

A beautiful property with a truly warm and gracious host. Highly recommended.


Historic and Warm

4.4 on March 31, 2011

Our stay was absolutely delightful! This beautiful and historic home was as interesting and beautiful as they come. The room was spacious and warm as was the proprietor, Bernie. If you are looking to get away and just relax or to see the beautiful town of Fayetteville and the Gorge then this place is for you! You won't be disappointed.


A great inn

4.6 on March 28, 2011

Bernie is a great host. We have stayed here several times and it is always a pleasure


Fayetteville Gem

5 on March 18, 2011

Beautiful house. Very clean. Bernie was extremely friendly and helpful and he's a good cook too. You can't beat the location. Right in the heart of downtown Fayetteville. Short walk to restaurants and shops. We'll definitely be staying there again.


the whole house to ourselves

5 on February 19, 2011

This was a wonderful visit--a Valentine's Day celebration on the way from Lexington, VA to Lexington, KY. I was simply delighted by the pleasures of the fascinating Victorian home and the warmth of the owner, Bernie. Bernie animated the home with his passion for the place and his enthusiasm for visitors. Since it was very much the off season, we also had the run of the whole house which was an unexpected treat. Fayetteville is a cool town as well.


A wonderful place close to much

5 on December 01, 2010

We stayed in the Grand Suite; it was really beautiful. The owner, Bernie, is highly personable and the entire house is well-appointed in a 'turn of the century' fashion. Mapquest shows this B&B to be farther away from town than it is. In fact, it's is only one short block from the center, which makes it ideal for recreation and shopping. With family situated close by, we will stay there again and we look forward to it.


Awesome place to say

5 on November 22, 2010

This is a really awesome B and B. The innkeeper was a great guy and really knew the area. My only complaints were the beds were a little firmer than I'd like and the toilets are old fashioned which is fine but they are loud and will scare the Hell out of you at night. Overall great experience


Can't Wait To Go Back!!!

5 on October 26, 2010

Our stay at the MH House was just wonderful. We stayed in the loft as we had 4 people in our party. The rooms were spotless. Bernie the innkeeper was so friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better breakfast. It included his fantastic pineapple french toast, scrambled eggs and baked grapefruit. I hated to leave and can't wait to go back!


Morris Harvey

3.6 on October 12, 2010

Bernie was a delight. We'd definitely go here again; He knew everything about the area. Great Conceirge


Quiet Place to stay when rafting

4.4 on September 16, 2010

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and had a great time. We stayed in the Grand Suite that was very spacious and clean. Bernie was very personable and made us feel at home immediately. He adjusted the breakfast time on our last day to accommodate our travel needs. We will definitely recommend this to anyone looking for the comforts of home while on vacation.


nice but not top of my list

3.0 on August 08, 2010

I would say this inn had average food and room and outstanding and personable staff. Breakfast was a buffet and nice. Dining room was a bit crowded, as the house was full and there were not enough seats for everyone to sit and eat at once. I did not feel I could linger over a second cup of tea or coffee. The AC unit in the bedroom could not quite cool the room, and the common rooms had no AC and smelled a bit skunky. Just basic handsoap/bar soap was offered, no shampoo. The innkeeper and assistant were super friendly and outgoing, and they were the highlight of the trip.


Quiet, Friendly place to stay

4.8 on July 21, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Historic Morris Harvey House. Berni and Gi Gi were extremely helpful and made me feel very welcome upon my arrival. I like the fireplaces in each room and the charming decor. The breakfast buffet was delicious, especially the pineapple french toast. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Wow!

4.6 on May 21, 2010

Bernie is so helpful about the area! The food is amazing! The architecture and furnishings are beautiful!


Bernie should teach the course!

4.8 on April 19, 2010

Have stayed twice at Morris Harvey House - Dec. '08 and June '09. Bernie should be teaching the course in running a B&B! He's a wonderful host, a great cook, and takes excellent care of the property. It's the only place I'll stay in Fayette County.


Excellent Value, Beautiful Setting

4.6 on December 28, 2009

We stayed during the very off-season in town, but had the greatest time - gorgeous rooms, delicious & ample breakfasts, and a warm and welcoming host! Bernie gave us great tips for hikes in the area, knew lots about local places to eat & grocery shop, allowed us to use his kitchen to cook, and was just the nicest, most gracious host we could have asked for. We will certainly be coming back in the warmer weather to re-visit Fayetteville and the beautiful surrounding areas!


Can't wait to visit again!

4.8 on December 23, 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend here over a year ago and I can't stop dreaming about this place! I can't wait to go back! Bernie is so friendly and informative, the BEST innkeeper! The food at the house is outstanding, and the restaurants close by are DEFINITELY worth the visit! There is so much to do within the area and everyone is so helpful in planning your adventures. The whole house is cozy and comfortable. I'm anxious to try the suite on the top floor with my family for our next visit! Thank you for such a memorable experience!


ETSWGTSMD

4.8 on December 17, 2009

The Harvey House is a lovely and well maintained property. But it is the host that makes this bed and breakfast memorable.Looking forward to our next stay.


Christmas is great at MHH !!!

5 on December 16, 2009

Just finished our weekend stay at the B&B. It was Fayetteville's XMAS weekend. The inn was beautifully decorated for the holiday, inside & out. Even had a small party for the guests & some friends...great surroundings, great food and great hot apple pie drink. :) Perfect Weekend!!!


Nice basic B&B- Not your honeymoooner haven!

3.0 on August 25, 2009

The rooms were ok, Innskeeper was friendly, very clean though...nothing over the top - not your ace of spades for the romanics button, but could be a nice place if you are planning a river run!


Great Place to get away

4.4 on July 23, 2009

We visited 19-22 July 2009. We had the Grand Suite. We were very happy with everything. Its a very nice facility. Bernie is outstanding host and always very helpful. If you stay at this house you must visit Smokey's on the Gorge! I would recommend this facility to all of my friends and family.


it has been a year and I am booking as a gift for a friend, realized that I had not left feedback last year. It was fantastic!

5 on May 19, 2009

Bernie is an A++ innkeeper. We enjoyed our stay tremendously!


Charming place

3.8 on January 12, 2009

We recently had a very pleasant stay at this bed and breakfast. It was my first time staying in a B&B, as I usually camp or stay somewhere really cheap. I feel that this stay was worth the money. We called at the last minute and were accomodated, in fact we had the whole place to ourselves and were given a nice room. The breakfast was good and wholesome, nothing too fancy and the place was really clean and quaint. The innkeeper was friendly and knowledgable about the area and gave us a great hiking trail recommendation, The Kaymoor Coal Mine trail. This B&B is located just steps from an excellent pizza place, Pies and Pints. Try the Mushroom Herb pizza, it was delish. We fell in love with Fayetteville, such a beautiful little place with nice folks almost smack dab in the middle of a national park (New River) and 10 miles from another (Gauley River). If we can find jobs here, maybe we will become new residents, it made such a great impression on us. Please find out about the destruction of the Gauley Mountain! It is being ravaged for coal by mountaintop removal mining. Please get involved and help stop these actions. Innovative ideas about jobs or non environmentally destructive industry is much neede here. Go see for yourself how beautiful this place is and you will understand that we cannot let it be destroyed.


Perfect in every way

5 on January 12, 2009

We just had one of the best weekends ever at the Morris Harvey House. We will be back soon; Bernie should win the host of the year contest. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms have just the amount of privacy you need. We felt like we were on our honeymoon. Sandra and David


Outstanding Stay

5 on October 09, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at The Morris Harvey House. We are already wanting to go back!


Comfortable and Relaxing

4.8 on July 30, 2008

A friend and I stayed for two nights in the Grand Suite and appreciated the hospitality of the innkeeper, Bernie. He was gracious and made himself accessible to the guests. The home is well maintained and Bernie keeps the rooms and common areas very clean. Since the Inn attracts people who are rafting or hiking around the New River Gorge, shared interests and a common experience helps to make the breakfast gathering relaxing. Bernie prepares a delicious breakfast and joins the gathering with stories and historical fun facts of the area he calls home.


Great Stay!

5 on June 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 2-night stay in the Grand Suite at the Morris Harvey House. Bernie is an excellent host and cook - he sent us off each day with a wonderful and varied breakfast. The house is beautiful - very quiet and relaxing. The location is an ideal base point for whitewater rafting and other outdoor adventures, and at the end of the day we relaxed on the front porch. We had a wonderful time, and we plan to return.


Stupendous 3 days

5 on June 07, 2008

The Morris Harvey House was a wonderful place to stay worry free. My husband and I had a great time with our host, Bernie. Bernie is very knowledgeable about the area and secured dinner reservations for us. We would go back in a heart beat.


The Morris Harvey House.

4.6 on June 06, 2008

Delicious food, clean and charming accomodations. Friendly and courtesou Innkeeper.


CJ's review - Morris Harvey B&B

5 on May 27, 2008

This is my third time at the Morris Harvey House B&B since 2007 and I consider it my home away from home. I have stayed in B&Bs in the US, UK and Canada and this is among the finest. Bernie Kania is always gracious, hospitable, polite and accomodating. He also prepares a great breakfast. He truly treats his guests like family. If you are in the New River Gorge area of West Virginia and need a place to stay, this is it. CJ


Fabulous experience!

5 on March 15, 2008

I loved the atmosphere of this beautiful house. The rooms were clean and well kept and the breakfast was outstanding. Bernie is a really great host and puts his heart and soul into making your stay a memorable one!


Excellent Accommodation!

5 on February 08, 2008

The host Bernie was very hospitable and helpful with tips of what to see and do in the area. Very clean and well-maintained older home. We had a great sleep on a very comfortable bed. Enjoyed our stay and were sent off with a full breakfast. Very tasty! Thank you!


The Morris Harvey House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $85 - $150
  • Reviews (148) 4.4
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3042507090
  • Phone 1-3045741902
  • Toll free 1-8772530784

Visit Website »

View details

Top