Chestnut Ridge Country Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
51 Reviews

Write A Review

Cozy and Friendly Country Charm!

5 on October 21, 2014

A wonderful bed & breakfast in a gorgeous country setting! We truly enjoyed our stay here! Paula and Larry are such warm, welcoming hosts. Our room was very clean and cozy! The house is a very charming, country farmhouse. The breakfasts were delicious too. We enjoyed homemade pumpkin pancakes and fantastic omelettes! If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing place to just be, you've found it!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the positive comments. We always appreciate it when guests are pleased enough to bother to write a review. But we are always trying to make things better here in our little corner of paradise.


Mountain Retreat

5 on August 16, 2014

Peace and quiet at its best. Quaint, no frills, and very pleasant.


If you want simplicity, peace and great company, come here!!

4.0 on August 12, 2014

Larry and Paula's lovely home is a great base if you want calm, tranquility and a lovely place to stay. If you crave wholesomeness, cleanliness and have a yearn for a simple life, you couldn't find a nicer place. Great hosts, unobtrusive but friendly, accommodating and helpful. Lovely fellow guests. A firepit in the garden at dusk. What more could a visiting Brit want. a great base for the Greenbrier Valley attractions. Great food in Snowshoe!! Thank you. Michele and Tim

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the comments. We are proud that we can serve guests from abroad and they feel we make it a home away from home.


Family Stay

5 on April 15, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Ridge. An easy place to be with family in a beautiful area of VA. What a wonderful breakfast.


ski vaca with the best lodging

5 on February 13, 2014

we absolutely loved staying here. it was our first bed n breakfast. we will be looking into this type of lodging from now on when we travel based on this great experience!!!!


Great value and warm hospitality

3.8 on January 10, 2014

Great value and warm hospitality, definately recommended


10 Year Anniversary

5 on January 09, 2014

My wife and I came here on our ten year. We had a pleasant time and it was extremely quite. It was away from all the tourist traps but close enough by driving. The host and hostess were extremely accommodating and pleasant and served great breakfast.


Great stay, great hosts!

4.8 on November 22, 2013

Larry & Paula were great hosts. This quiet B&B has a beautiful country setting. We stayed in the cottage which is a private building from the house. The room was beautiful & spotless. Breakfast was delicious.


Relaxing and lovely stay at Chestnut Ridge Country Inn

5 on October 28, 2013

Lovely rural setting, very convenient to Cass RR. Larry's and Paula's hospitality made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Rooms are clean and reasonably priced. Very nicely furnished. When we return we plan to bring our motorcycles!

Innkeeper Response
We are pleased that we can offer special accommodations to motorcycle guests. This area has proven to be a great place to tour.


return trip

5 on October 22, 2013

Our second trip to CRCI was just as wonderful as the first. Hospitality, friendliness, meeting new people and enjoying the peace and quite. Always enjoy seeing Larry and Paula again and look forward to next years reunion.


Chestnut Ridge Country Inn

5 on October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Chestnut Ridge Country Inn. It was a peaceful, country get-a-way! Paula and Larry were wonderful. They made us feel right at home as soon as we got there. The food was wonderful and everything was nice and clean. Thank you Larry and Paula for making our Anniversary trip extra special!


Home away from home

5 on October 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay! The hospitality was everything you could ask for. We felt like we were staying with family and friends. This was our first trip to a b & b, and if they are all like this, it's the only way to travel.


Lovely B&b

4.8 on October 06, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Chestnut Ridge Country Inn. We had planned our trip to the Road Kill Festival many months ago and were lucky enough to find Chestnut Ridge online. Larry and Paula were wonderful hosts and were extremely helpful with dinner suggestions, directions, incredible breakfasts and anything else we needed. I would highly recommend the Inn for a relaxing and pleasant visit.


Home away from home.

4.6 on October 06, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Chestnut Ridge Country Inn in Dunmore WV. This was our first B & B experience and exceeded our expectations. Home cooked breakfast was outstanding, Accommodations were much more than expected. Cass Scenic Railroad is very close by as is Snowshoe. If you are looking for a comfy relaxing way to spend a weekend without all of the hype of commercial hotels, this is the place.


Relaxing and Beautiful Weekend

4.2 on August 26, 2013

We had a relaxing and beautiful weekend in the country. We took the Bald Knob train tour which was outstanding. Larry and Paula gave us excellent tips (get boxed lunch at depot and sit facing the parking lot when leaving). Also, the observatory is a must see. The view at the top was fantastic. While eating our delicious breakfast, we could see deer running in the yard. If you want something to eat for dinner later in the evening, you can go to Durbin to Als Upper Inn Club since there is not much else open. Great trip and excellent hosts.


Chestnut Ridge was everything I was hoping it would be.

5 on July 31, 2013

Paula and Larry were perfect host. We were on a four day 1100 mile motorcycle ride through our home state of West Virginia and wanted to experience something more than a motel. We stayed at the Hewitt House in Bramwell the first night, Chestnut Ridge the second night and the Glen Ferris Inn the third night. My riding partner of 40 years,2UGLy agreed these were all home runs.


Family Reunion

4.0 on July 17, 2013

It was my Fiancée’s first trip to this area with me, and the weekend stay at Chestnut Ridge couldn’t have been any better. We truly enjoyed the place and look forward to staying here again next year. The hospitality was warm and friendly, and Larry and Paula took great care of us. See you next year! Mark and René


Great Country Charm and Location

4.0 on June 27, 2013

Had a great overnight stay and company in this restored 19th century farmhouse. The floors and bed creaked, but that was expected. Great location for bird-watching, hiking, scenery and visiting Cass Railroad State Park.


chestnut review

4.2 on June 18, 2013

loved the room and the antique furniture. wonderful mattresses, great selection of drinks for keurig.


Always a treat to stay at Chestnut Ridge

4.0 on April 22, 2013

A night or two at Chestnut Ridge has become an annual event when we visit family in the area. Larry and Paula make us welcome and comfortable even when the wind is howling and the snow is blowing. Their hearty, hot breakfasts feature local specialties, and the coffee and hot tea is bottomless. We like one room in particular with its two big reading chairs. This is the place to stay when you visit Pocahontas County, WV.


Cass Mountain Train Adventure

5 on November 28, 2012

Mary and I throughly enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Ridge County Inn. Larry and Paula are natural innkeepers and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. When I made the reservation with Larry on the phone two months before our arrival, I could tell in his voice that he loved what he was doing operating a B&B. Our evening conversation with them gave us insight on how dedicated they were to providing the very best accomodations to all of their guests. Larry and Paula's valuable information, insight and advice on the local activities made the trip especially memorable. We look forward to returning next year for perhaps another train trip.


Great B&b

5 on November 23, 2012

Enjoyed our stay! Paula was wonderful. Stayed in the cabin, private & clean. Breakfast was ontime & great! Would love to stay again!


Welcomed and Well-fed!

4.8 on October 28, 2012

Hi Larry and Paula! Everything was fine at Dunmore and Chestnut Ridge - Don appreciated the fishing/dark decor in our room as compared to pink/roses at other B&B's. Bed was comfortable, we were warm enough, and we slept well. You managed to make us feel welcome and share info and feed us plenty! Our Cass ride was great and Don's highlight out of 4 trains ridden "back East" - yes, there is a car with bus-type seats added as the couple from PA were explaining. Love those switchbacks and the puffer-billy black smoke. The narrator was knowledgeable and friendly. We even met the 3-generation family of does at Bald Knob - Myrtle, Shay and Summer. I shared my apple core with them and Noelle made us all laugh when she tried to throw her apple from lunch - and it hit the window divider and bounced right back into the train! It was pleasantly warm at the Bald Knob terminus and not windy at the top so we didn't need our jackets at all. Good day for training! What fun it must be to campout in the caboose at Whittaker or Bald Knob! The ride back out to Staunton was easier than the ride in - we knew there WAS an end to the upsie-downsies! It was a treat to drive thru part of the Shenandoah NP for a last look at the foliage. When we got to Baltimore, it was 80 degrees and we had a balmy dinner on the patio right at the USS Constitution on the Inner Harbor. A neat finish to a great adventure! THANKS for being there for us! Nancy and Don 10/22-23/12


Wonderful farm house, great hosts

4.8 on September 14, 2012

We stayed at Chestnut Ridege in late August and it was in the center of all that we had planned to do on our vacation to West Virginia. 3 days in, we hit a big challenge, when I slipped on a trail and broke my leg and tore a ligaent in my ankle. Being confined to a wheelchair since I don't have great balance and was non-weightbearing on the leg turned me into a difficult guest. They were super! They found me a wheelchair, and were able to make it easy for me to get in and out of the house, and made sure I was comfortable and had all I needed. Paula and Larry are super hosts, and we want to go back when we can finish the hiking we had planned to do the first time!


A very peaceful and relaxing stay

5 on August 28, 2012

I stayed at the Chestnut Ridge in for a week during a recent business trip. The accommodations were very comfortable and clean. The home made breakfasts (usually made with local ingredients) were excellent, down to the finest details (like warm coffee mugs). Highly recommend.


Lovely place with great service for a getaway in the beautiful West Virginia

4.8 on July 02, 2012

The Chestnut Ridge Country Inn offers the ultimate quite paradise away from the city buzz. The beautiful house and the most welcoming hosts Paula and Larry provided the most pleasant stay in this beautiful part of West Virginia. It felt like home! Thank you. Eli & Dragan


Location Location

4.6 on June 25, 2012

We were visiting Cass Railroad and Green Bank Telescope/Observatory. This is a short drive to either place. We enjoyed the deck and grounds behind the Inn. Great quiet get away. Our host was very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic.


Great find!!!

4.6 on June 25, 2012

We were celebrating my hubby's birthday and needed a place near the Cass RR. After reading many reviews, I decided this was the place to stay. Was NOT the least big disappointed. Larry and Paula were friendly and accommodating.....even trying desperately to find us a special place for dinner for my husband's birthday. Our room was lovely (Snow Ridge). It was warm and cozy with a HUGE bathroom!! Everything was SPOTLESS!! Breakfasts were really good....not gourmet, but very tasty and hearty. Rooms are reasonably priced, but what really makes it a great value is the second night is half price!!! One bonus: I was fortunate to have a once-in-a-lifetime experience.......I was just yards away from the "end of the rainbow." Most amazing experience!! How many people can say that? I would definitely recommend this inn for anyone staying in the area.


Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

5 on May 28, 2012

We needed a place to stay overnight, and this was perfect. Larry & Paula are great people, too!


Simply the best

4.8 on May 25, 2012

We have traveled a lot of places had some good hotels and some bad. But never had a stay like this one with Larry and Paula they pay great attention to detail. Before you leave you will feel like family. They also had all the info. on attractions in the area. And nothing better than ended your day with a fire and a wonderful view of some amazing mountains.


Friendly and Fun B&B experience

4.0 on November 07, 2011

The house is a century old beauty, filled with antiques and warmth. We visited during the July 2011 heat wave and the Garretsons did everything possible to make us comfortable, including running out to get extra fans. Our comfort was their main priority. We felt very much at home and have described to friends our stay with the Garretsons and their guests as one of the highlights of our ten day vacation. We'll go back and stay with the Garretsons again. Brian


Charming Respite!

5 on October 09, 2011

The innkeepers were warm and friendly and their plush landscape provided a most idyllic setting for two crispy visitors from Arizona. Thanks so much!


WV Tour of Pocahontas County

5 on October 02, 2011

When we returned to the Chestnut Ridge Country Inn this year, it was like "coming home!" Paula and Larry have true servants' hearts. They are considerate innkeepers who treat their guests as family. The scenery, food, unique tours, and kindness of everyone made our five night vacation with them rewarding, relaxing, and refreshing. Doug and Diane-Bland, VA.


Friendly, quiet & comfortable

4.0 on September 25, 2011

We had a wonderful time here while visiting attractions in the area. The Inn was charming and the room very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and there was ample hot water. Larry and Paula are quite friendly and helpful. We'll definitely visit them again


Thank you!

4.2 on September 19, 2011

This was our first time ever at a bed and breakfast. We felt like we were guests in someone's home - and they made us feel like family. Made sure we had whatever we needed, and gave us tips to enjoy our excursions even more. From this experience, we will no longer be shy about trying bed and breakfast type accommodations!


A lovely home away from home

4.0 on August 24, 2011

We were celebrating a significant wedding anniversary and were treated to a weekend at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. We found the situation to be very relaxing.. we wished we could stay longer to enjoy the quiet and peacefulness of our surroundings. Paula and Larry are very attentive innkeepers. The facility is clean. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We highly recommend this facility and give it 5 stars!


They give B & B's a good name!

4.2 on August 22, 2011

Larry and Paula have a lovely place to stay. A wonderful atmosphere is provided in the surroundings and their hospitality. This was our 2nd stay with them and we will return the next time we want to ride the Greenbrier River Trail!


Wonderful place to stay!

5 on August 21, 2011

As this was our first stay at a B&B, we weren't sure what to expect. The atmosphere, the food, and the service from Larry and Paula made it so this won't be our last! They went above and beyond our expectations to make sure it was a wonderful experience. The food is all home cooked and absolutely delicious. Since one member of our party was a diabetic, Paula made sure to provide meals that fit into his eating plan. We definitely will stay there again, if/when we return to the area. Thanks Larry and Paula for such a wonderful experience! John & Stella Randall Columbus, Ohio


Chestnut Ridge Country Inn

4.0 on August 18, 2011

This was such a peaceful and quiet atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was very good.


Great hospitality, beautiful country scenery!

4.8 on July 06, 2011

This B&B is at a convenient location to reach many attractions around the area. The country farm scenery from the property is beautiful and relaxing. The night sky is dark and breathtaking. We stayed there for 4 nights. Had a lot of fun chatting with the hosts and other guests during the stay. Breakfasts are home-style cooking-- simple but delicious. Its website is a good source of information about the Inn and the area. I can sense that this B&B is not just a business to the hosts. They really put their hearts and love in it!


Great couple, great location, great breakfast

5 on February 09, 2011

Larry and Paula are a very nice couple and staying there my girlfriend and I felt like family. Breakfast for both mornings was delicious - french omlet the first day and really good oatmeal the second. Located about 20-25 mins from the slopes and a nice ride up the mtn. I higly recommend this B&B to make your ski vacation that much nicer.


Great visit

4.8 on February 01, 2011

My girlfreind and I stayed there over a holiday weekend. Our stay was quite pleasant. Food and service was Spectacular. The Smoke house was nice and cozy! We had some issues with the water but are probably taken care of already! I would not hesitate to stay there again! Thank you for a great weekend Larry and Paula !!!


A quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle

3.6 on January 18, 2011

My wife and I spent three blissful nights at Paula and Larry's wonderful B&B, about a 5 hour drive from our house north of Washington DC. We decided to stay here while skiing at Snowshoe because of its proximity to the resort while offering a quiet place to get away from the crowds. Paula and Larry greeted us warmly on arrival and were very helpful in telling us about the area. They offer the option of dinner for an additional charge, which was a welcome additional feature after a long drive to an unfamiliar area. Breakfast was filling and delicious every morning, getting us ready for the slopes. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few days with a welcoming host, this is the place for you. Note that Pocohantas County is a "damp" county (only beer is sold), so bring provisions if you want wine or other drinks to hand.


Peaceful, Cozy and Supercalifragilisticexpealadocious

4.8 on November 04, 2010

We are Justin and Nancy and we stayed at Chestnut Ridge Country Inn for three days during the last week of October. This was our first B&B and we found the experience to be delightful. Larry and Paula are supurb Host and Hostess and were perfect for our first time. Our room was large, very large with plenty of room to move about in. The bed was from yesteryear and very comfortable. Adjoining the bedroom was a large bathroom with a walk-in dual head shower, sink, commode, and again, plenty of room to move about. Back to the bedroom. It was well appointed with two comfortable wingback chairs, light and endtable, and a large dresser. As stated earlier, very comfortable and quite accomodating. The common area (sitting room with fireplace and kitchen with two large tables) was very comfortable, homey and overall, just a nice place to sit with other guests and socialize. Breakfast was good, very tasty, but a bit to "European"/ gourmet for our taste. Now, most probably would like this type of fare (fruit creatively presented, (omlets, oatmeal and rasins, baked frenchtoast with granola), bisquits, and sausage. Since this was a country farmhouse we would have perfered family serving style with loads of Virginia ham, sausage, bacon, eggs (cooked to order), grits and/or home fried potatoes accompanied with a basket full of bisquits or toast. Yup, high cholesterol for sure, and definately not gourmet, but a country breakfast for sure. We do not demean the breakfast served. All three were great...just our preference was something else even if it cost a couple of bucks more. With all said and done this was a great experience and we are planning another visit to Chestnut Ridge and Larry and Paula this Spring.


The most welcoming and lovely stay!

5 on October 12, 2010

It was absolutely perfect! Paula and Larry are amazing hosts, and their home is as spacious and comfortable and relaxing as you can imagine. I can't say enough about this Inn and I would be thrilled to come back.


Chestnut Ridge B & B review

3.6 on August 22, 2010

Larry and Paula were very welcoming and friendly. The inn was well kept, clean, and had a lot of character. We were only there for a short period of time, but we enjoyed our visit.


Great B&B near Cass

4.6 on August 17, 2010

We much enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Ridge. The location is scenic – you can watch the cows come home while sitting on the porch. The food is good – Paula’s home-cooked supper is a better choice than searching for a nearby restaurant (although if you happen to be at a WV state resort park like Blackwater Falls or Watoga, they have surprisingly good restaurants). Larry and Paula are also very good sources of sightseeing information.


A jewel by green pastures that will restore your soul!

4.8 on August 11, 2010

Our weekend here was perfect! This lovely gem looks out on soothing pastoral scenes and sits in a quiet hamlet near the Greenbriar River Trail, the NRAO at Green Bank, and a number of other interesting sites. The home has been lovingly renovated with lots of care and thoughtful touches. The innkeepers made us feel like old friends, were very attentive and gracious.


A Great Place to Stay

5 on August 09, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Chestnut Ridge! Larry and Paula were very friendly and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Snow Ridge Room and loved it. On our first morning, we woke up to Paula's melt-in-the mouth homemade stuffed french toast, fruit, and sausage. On our second morning, we enjoyed Larry's made-to-order omelets and biscuits. The next time we are in the area, we will once again stay at Chestnut Ridge!


STAY HERE! NO KIDDING!

5 on July 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed with Larry and Paula for three days recently in July, 2010. All I can say is that we loved it! Them charm and ambiance of the 1890s farmhouse brought back so many wonderful memories of my grandmother's farmhouse in Kansas. The view down the valley from the deck is, alone, is worth the stay. The food we had was homestyle wonderful: stuffed green peppers the first night, blueberry pancakes (made with fresh local blueberries) for breakfast, local jams and preserves . . . all second-to-none. Oh, and Larry's omelets were pretty good, too . . . :-) Highly recommended rural, laid-back charm!


Great Experience..!

5 on July 10, 2010

We've stayed in quite a few B&B's. Larry & Paula have done a marvelous job. They work very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Where else do you get sheets that have been washed and dried outside on the line and a campfire at night to roast marshmallows and just chat, listen to the wildlife or look at the stars?


Chestnut Ridge Country Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $120
  • Reviews (51) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3044564280
Top