Brass Pineapple Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
83 Reviews

Write A Review

Thanks, Lisa, for a fantastic time!

5 on July 12, 2014

Loved the delicious afternoon tea with great snacks on your beautiful front porch also enjoyed your really tasty healthy breakfasts......thanks for taking time to let us know about great sights to see within walking distance.....and showing us all the other wonderful rooms you have to choose from.....will try others next time we visit!!!!


What a gem!

4.8 on May 15, 2014

We had the most unexpectedly delightful stay for one night at the Inn. Wish we could have stayed longer! It is more than an Inn - it is a beautiful home that welcomes you in. The bed was very comfortable also and the Innkeeper, Lisa, very gracious. Every detail has been thoughtfully addressed. tomi and walt, durango, colorado


A Writer's Retreat in the Heart of the City

5 on April 10, 2014

As a writer who is also a mom and wife with a full-time job, I try to schedule mini writing retreats whenever possible. The Brass Pineapple is my favorite destination to hole up and write when I visit Charleston. The Inn is near the Capitol Complex, the Cultural Art Center, the Kanawha River, and the Capitol Market. The rooms are tasteful and soothing, the breakfasts are scrumptious, and Lisa goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome and warm. I recommend this B&B to everyone, but especially to my artistic friends.


Brass Pineapple Review

5 on February 25, 2014

I come "home" when I walk thru the doors of this wonderful B&B. Lisa could not be more welcoming.


Great Wedding Receiption, Great Stay

5 on December 13, 2013

We had a wonderful, memorable stay at the Brass Pineapple. Private luxurious rooms, warm hospitality, and incredible food. I'm sold on B&B's now!


My only Bed & Breakfast in Charleston

4.8 on May 22, 2013

Whenever I visit Charleston, I always stay at The Brass Pineapple Bed & Breakfast Inn. Lisa and Marcia are the greatest hosts. All of the rooms are charming and comfortable. The inn is very quiet and relaxing. Breakfasts are always wonderful. The inn still has most of its original architecture, beautiful, dark wood, with the original stained-glass windows. It is a great location, and the price is very reasonable. I always love my stay there. Ann from Ohio


A Delightful Visit!

5 on April 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston, WVA and it couldn't have been more delightful! From the moment we arrived, we felt absolutely comfortable. The afternoon refreshments that awaited us were delicious and so timely after a long drive. We very much appreciated the exhaustive list of restaurant recommendations and the directions that accompanied it. We chose the State Suite because we wanted plenty of room and it was just perfect with possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! In the morning, Lisa invited us to chat with her in the kitchen as well as with the other guests in the dining room. Breakfast was plentiful, delicious and healthy! She and Barb made a gracious and capable team. We loved our stay at Brass Pineapple - just wish it could have been longer!


Wonderful Weekend

4.8 on February 11, 2013

Staying at The Brass Pineapple was such a wonderful experience. Lisa treat s her guests like family. It's like stepping back to a time when customers were treated as valuable. The food was fantastic. Our room was lovely. It was truly what I hoped for and look forward to staying here again.


Staying at the Brass Pineapple is like going back in time...

5 on November 25, 2012

I've been coming to stay at the Brass Pineapple for many years. Charleston holds a special and personal significance for me, and staying at the Brass Pineapple just adds to that ambiance. Lisa is a wonderful innkeeper who takes excellent care of all of her guests. I've come to regard her as a friend. Everyone should stay at the Brass Pineapple when they visit Charleston!


My Secret Location

4.4 on July 23, 2012

Found the Brass pineapple while looking for a room. Location is perfect for when I am doing business in Charleston. Would recommend you stay.


Experience Another Time in Charleston

5 on May 30, 2012

Brass Pineapple is a very comfortable and inviting B&B in the lovely Capital neighborhood. Lisa and her staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome and comfortable from the moment you arrive. My husband and I really appreciate the fact that they have a room set aside for pets. We often travel with our dog and he was able to stay in our room with us and with a great neighborhood location it was easy to get in good walks. The evening treats are wonderful and the hot breakfast very satisfying... Lisa uses locally sourced products for many of her offerings. We will certainly stay here again if we return to Charleston.


The only place to stay in Charleston

5 on March 30, 2012

Exceptional value. The rooms are so clean and comfortable, and it's a peaceful setting. So much better than a cold, impersonal hotel. The owners are outstanding people who are kind and professional, and very helpful. Within a three-minute walk of the Capitol, and a few minutes walk or drive from all the downtown restaurants. Lobbyists--this is where you should be. You could rent the whole house, have parking & private meeting space, and walk to the Capitol. Best kept secret in Charleston.


5 Star Quality B&B

4.8 on March 12, 2012

My fiance and I live just over an hour away and needed a "stay-cation" for the weekend to get out of the house and enjoy each other's company. The Brass Pineapple could not have been better! We were greeted with smiles and a 24/7 hot tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and goodies bar (with yummy snacks all night long). We were awaken every morning with a homemade delicious and healthy meal (ie eggs, sausage, toast, fresh fruit, hash browns, and fresh juices). The beds were feather pillow tops with amazing down comforters and a warm home-like feeling. Absolutely something that we are going to do again, and would recommend to anybody stopping by in the Charleston area.


Beautiful place; great location

4.2 on February 26, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay here. We are a young couple who just wanted to get away for a night so we came here from Lexington, Ky to relax and enjoy the small town of Charleston. While they very rather picky about what time we were getting in town (which was hard for us to pinpoint for sure), the innkeeper was very kind and helpful to us once there, drawing us maps and directions as needed. During the evening, we had the whole place to ourselves and enjoyed their puzzles, snacks, and wine in front of a beautiful Christmas tree in the main living room. Cheaper than area hotels probably - definitely a great bargain! We would return!


Night at the Brass Pineapple

5 on October 27, 2011

We arrived early Sunday evening and we were greeted by the very friendly innkeeper. Room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. We had a wonderful breakfast of an assortment of fresh fruit and juices, whole-wheat pumpkin waffles and sausage patty.


When I Am in Need of Respite

4.8 on October 26, 2011

Whenever I travel to Charleston alone--sans family, friends or co-workers--I stay at the Brass Pineapple. Tranquility, elegance, and comfort lay the foundation for a wonderful overnight visit. Kudos.


Future wedding site

4.8 on August 08, 2011

We loved the house so much that we are having our wedding here.


Brass Pineapple

4.6 on August 02, 2011

Perfect location, friendly, warm, & welcoming staff. Rooms clean & cozy with comfortable bed! Amazing breakfast in an amazing dining room! Loved all the fine touches!


Brass Pinapple

4.0 on August 02, 2011

Well, I don't usually write any reviews; but in this case I want anyone who is intrested in hearing what I feel was a wonderful place to stay. The Victorian home was well keep, very clean and carefully decorated. Our room was spotless and waiting for our arival. The Inn Keeper Laura greated us with such a friendly and welcomming greeting, we felt conftable as soon as we entered. Laura went that extra mile and asked questions concerning our breakfast, I am a diabetic and just requested meat and eggs and to my surprise that evening when usually you get some sweets and vegtables with dip and crackers, I had a note on a plate of brownies that were sugar free and for me. That let me know that laura was rally listen to me when she asked about breakfast. That was so nice that she really cared. I really can't say anymore but if you are like us and stay in upscale lodging, you will never go back to themif you get to experience this B&B. Now when I travel I look for B&B. Best of all the price was much cheaper the the Marriott in Charleston. Beard's from Baltimore, MD


Outstanding

5 on June 16, 2011

We wanted a place with Southern charm when visiting Charleston recently, and this B&B has it in spades! From the spotless rooms to the wonderful, ample breakfasts and homemade goodies, The Brass Pineapple really exceeded our expectations. Carol and Dennis, Phoenix, Arizona


Had a great time

3.2 on June 08, 2011

Everything worked out great, from reservation to check-out. Nothing to complain about, room was clean, quiet. Breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay here again. Also loved the Bluegrass Kitchen, a short walk from the B&B.


Brass Pinapple

4.2 on May 27, 2011

Second time for us. We stay here during the high school track meet. My daughters are in 10 th grade, so we will stay two more time times. Very nice


Will be back

4.6 on May 25, 2011

Just a wonderful experience, made so by the owners/staff in their attention to our comfort and satisfaction. Will return.


Great first experience at a B&B

4.6 on May 23, 2011

Over a 100 year old house perfectly kept with a great staff and owner, great experience, only a 5 minute car drive from all the attractions downtown. Excellent breakfast, clean rooms, great overall experience!


Not Disappointed

4.0 on May 09, 2011

Normally we can't stay at this level of B&B because we are usually travelling with children, but we got a special deal this time and the kids were staying home, so we went for it. All the positive reviews were right. Right after checking in, we went down for the tea and snacks and got into a very enjoyable conversation with an English couple also staying there. It's something that would never have happened at a normal hotel. We did not have any interaction with the B&B owners, just the young girl who checked us in; but that was OK. We were just there for a quick overnight stay and had to leave immediately after breakfast. Breakfast was tasty and reasonable (not huge) in quantity.


Victorian Charm in Charleston

4.6 on April 19, 2011

The Brass Pineapple, a short walk away from the Capital Building in Charleston, was a lovely place to spend a night. The innkeepers were friendly and solicitous, the food delicious, and the neighborhood was quiet, and nice for a walk.The house itself was well-appointed, tastefully decorated, and our room was comfortable and charming!


First class at Brass Pineapple

4.4 on March 24, 2011

This was my first time to ever stay at a B&B. From now on this is the way to go. Everything was perfect. Felt right at home. The Brass Pineapple is the place to stay in Charleston, WV.


A Perfect Honeymoon Getaway

4.4 on March 07, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our honeymoon stay in late 2001 and we have been back many times since. We booked a local getaway because of car trouble, and we were lucky we did or we would have missed this local treasure! Every room is unique and beautiful and we have seen or stayed in every room or suite. With the exception of one room, they all have private bathrooms, a must for any honeymoon. My only minor complaint is the early 9am checkout, but it is a B&B after all, some make you get up before the sun! The new management in 2002 has maintained the same quality and cleanliness we came to expect, and there is a general feeling of being in a large home and not a hotel. Be sure to sign and read the guest book, you never know, you may be neighbors with someone from England like we were. Whether you live here or come from far away I recommend you give this little place a try, you won't be disappointed!


Beautiful

5 on March 05, 2011

First, the staff was wonderful. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. The structure of the bed and breakfast was beautiful and the rooms superb. The food they provided was awesome, and the array of choices of drinks and teas. It was so comforting to us. I took my cousin to stay the night here when she flew in from Australia. It was perfect, she was able to rest peacefully after a long flight. I will definitely go again, and recommend to others.


Great place to stay.

4.0 on February 14, 2011

Great get a way. Clean, great food, inn keepers were great. A great place for a weekend get a way. would highly recommend.


Best deal in Charleston

5 on February 09, 2011

The inkeeper was warm and friendly and provided and excellent list of local restaurants, many in walking distance. The room was even nicer than it looked in photos. I highly recommend visiting their website before booking. Wish I could have stayed longer. Couldn't ask for more.


nice breakfast

3.0 on October 28, 2010

nice b+b,outskirts of downtown.Did not bargain on having the bathroom accross the landing. Asked for a taxi which did not arrive, nobody at the b+b to check back. Breakfast was very good though.


Wonderful stay at the Brass Pineapple

4.4 on October 06, 2010

While in Charleston for a wedding, we were fortunate to enjoy ourselves as much at the Brass Pineapple as we did at the wedding. The home is so warm and inviting that it welcomes one with the smells of baking, friendly people and great conversations in a beautiful home. We felt exceptionally welcome and spoiled during our stay. (The pancakes are amazing) Brenda & Steve Holden Beach NC


Great B&B in Charleston

4.8 on October 01, 2010

Great experience in Charleston at the Brass Pineapple! Great communication from confirming our stay to preparing gluten-free meals. Excellent accommodation and the food was great. Wonderful location in a nice historical neighborhood 1 block from the Capitol building and a block or two from the scenic Kanawha River. Highly recommend!


Fantastic atmosphere and service

4.2 on August 08, 2010

This is a great place to stay. Room was quiet, nicely furnished and house has warm and cozy feeling. Cake, veggie tray and tea is available to guests in afternoon and evening. I like the touches of plentiful bath towels, robes, and soap/shampoos that are upgraded from the basic stuff you usually find. Breakfast was tasty, with lots of tea options. The front porch has lots of spaces to sit and relax.


Great Location!

3.2 on July 17, 2010

This B&B is in a great location with easy on and off access to highway 64. We enjoyed a movie in our room. The evening snacks were great.


Nice change from a hotel

4.0 on July 07, 2010

A nice old fashioned B&B close to the Capital, walking distance to great restaurants and the river. House cat was a charming addition and kept me company on the beautiful front porch.


Gem of a B & B Right Under Our Nose

4.6 on June 24, 2010

We live near this B & B but just recently found about it. Stayed there for our 24th anniversary. Superb staff. We really enjoyed our stay. Accomodations were excellent as was the food. We will stay there again.


Southern Hospitality

4.2 on April 15, 2010

Beautiful house in a historic district, great hospitality, good healthy food!


Wonderful Surprise

5 on January 13, 2010

Room, food, service - all spectacular! We chose the Brass Pineapple because it was midway on our trip - what great luck. We'll stay there again and use this website again.


Brass Ring in the Middle of the Capital District

4.2 on January 13, 2010

Awesome stay. Room was remarkable. The host, Lisa, was charming. Famly atmosphere, warm.


BP is the best B&B

4.6 on January 11, 2010

The Brass Pineapple is THE place to stay in Charleston, and the best B&B in the state of WV. The beds are soooo comfy, the snacks are incredible, and there is a full suite of cable channels!


Cold Night warmed with a great stay at Brass Pineapple

5 on January 10, 2010

On a recent for the holidays trip to visit family in New York, we had the pleasure of staying at the Brass Pineapple. After a long day of traveling we were very tired and couldnt wait to relax and boy did the staff meet and exceeded our expectation. I would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay and the great breakfast prepared by Brian and Barbara. Loved chattin with Brian while he cooked our breakfast he made a feel if we were family. Its not many places you can go to and get a great meal as well as wonderful conversation. I have already told so many people about the wonderful service and good conversation we had at The Brass Pineapple. Bravo Lisa on having a staff that cares for you and goes above and beyond to make your stay wonderful.....


Comfortable and Cozy

4.4 on October 30, 2009

Staying in the English Gentleman my wife and I count the Brass Pineapple as one of the best Inn's we stayed at during our honeymoon. The innkeepers offered terriffic hospitality, the room was clean and cozy, and the home very welcoming.


Diamond in the Rough

5 on October 24, 2009

My stay here was wonderful to say the least. The warm homey feeling by the staff and excellent food was fantastic. The beauty and charm of the buildking and rooms was completely unexpected. If you are looking for a charming beautiful bed and breakfast with superb food this is the place to go.


An absolute gem

4.8 on July 21, 2009

The slightly plain exterior of this inn does not do it justice. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable - elegant but not overbearing. The porch and common areas were inviting and relaxing. The meals were incredible, and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and every interaction with the staff was greeted with a beautiful smile. A great place for a romantic getaway or a relaxing weekend.


Brass Pineapple, June 2009

4.8 on June 19, 2009

Wow, what a great inn! It's clean, the rooms and decor are beautiful, and the food is top-notch. They've done a wonderful job turning this 100+ year old house into a nice place to stay.


great stay

5 on May 19, 2009

Another wonderful time at the Brass Pineapple. Enjoyed Miss Pineapple, the cat, and great breakfasts!


5 Star B&B

5 on May 14, 2009

Very comfortable beds, exceptionally clean, wireless was free and worked great, food was wonderful and some the best we've ever had at a B&B. We travel more than 250 nights a year for work and this is one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed. The staff are very attentive to detail and friendly. We'll go back. Good Morning America was filming a show on a local person while we were there and Lisa did a great job managing everything and keeping everyone comfortable. The food is great and the wine is good too. We look forward to our next stay.


Brass Pineapple

5 on May 12, 2009

I have stayed in several B&Bs over the year and everall the Brass Pineapple was the best I ever stayed at.


Peaceful, Cozy, and Beautiful

4.8 on May 07, 2009

We stumbled on the Brass Pineapple after a recommendation from Taylor Books, and what a gem it is! The room was wonderful and the bed so comfortable. We've stayed in several B&Bs and the hospitality and special touches here exceeded all of them. The only minus was that we had only one night! We'll definitely be back. N&J Cain, Phoenix AZ


Now I want to go

5 on April 14, 2009

I arranged a business trip, for my brother. I decided to knock off two birds with one stone and look for a place really sweet and a bit extra special, so he could take his partner on a little mini get-away, after the business needs for our company were taken care of. Upon their return, I was elated with their ravings of this place. They both loved it and for days after, she would tell me how wonderful this place is. They both loved the attention to detail; the great food; the friendliest people there making everything perfect for their stay…The only thing left..now I need to find some spare time, so I can go there for my own mini retreat!


Our Find of the Century

5 on March 01, 2009

This is the best place to stay in West Virginia. We stayed from Wednesday until Saturday and wish we didn't have to leave. We loved it so much we will be back in 2 weeks. The Victorian Room was so beautiful and comfortable that my husband with back problems slept as well as he does at home in our bed. Actually it was probably better. We also spent a night in the Grandmother's room and it was an absolute delight. The breakfast and baked goods were so delicous and no wake up call is needed as the smell of breakfast is sure to get you up and going. Lisa and Marsha are both so sweet and the hospitality abounds within these walls. We rescued a stray while we were down there and they helped accomodate us so that we could bring her back until we came home yesterday. The home is so beautiful and the furnishings bring you back to a slower more peaceful time. I cannot wait for the two weeks to pass so we can come back.


wonderful stay!

3.8 on February 27, 2009

We loved the wine and cheese and the staff was extremely friendly!


I loved the place!

4.8 on February 20, 2009

Decor was beautiful, staff was very friendly, food was great. I will definitely go back there!


Wonderful Getaway with my Wife

4.4 on February 10, 2009

We arrived on a cold, snowy January day, but we warmed up quickly after being greeted and enjoying afternoon tea. The room we stayed in was very charming, and the breakfast was delicious. The owner and staff were so friendly that we felt like they were old friends. I would highly recommend a stay at the Brass Pineapple to anyone.


Vearrier's at Brass Pineapple

5 on January 23, 2009

We stayed our first night in a B&B and were impressed with everything. We particularly enjoyed meeting new people at tea in the afternoon and breakfast the following morning. I will go back to the Brass Pineapple and try one of the other rooms for a change.


Excellent

4.8 on December 18, 2008

I've traveled for business 8 out of the last 12 weeks, and have stayed in a couple of different B&B's. Wonderful, gourmet breakfast, internet, clean, all I need!!


Healthy and Delicious

4.6 on October 29, 2008

Who knew Vegan Snickerdoodles could taste so wonderful? Accommodations for dietary requests is just a start to the exceptional service we received! Lisa went above and beyond to make sure our weekend was perfect. Her restaurant suggestions were just what we wanted and her "from the front door" directions allowed us to walk to dinner! The home's history and the stained glass were awesome and our smaller room was the cleanest I've experienced! Try the healthy whole wheat raisin pancakes, they are delicious!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on October 21, 2008

I stayed at the B&B, the English Gentleman Room, before the bar swearing in ceremony at the Capitol Building. The rooms were clean and uniquely decorated. The breakfast was great and the location cannot be beat. It is easily within walking distance of the Capitol.


Magnificent!

4.0 on August 05, 2008

This B&B was awesome. With original details such as stained glass windows, wood molding and antiques, its location in the historic district was perfect. The beds were comfortable, food was fantastic and the hostesses were great. Loved it!


The Best!

4.0 on August 05, 2008

The B&B was more than we expected. Beautiful, quiet, peaceful, and the food and service were excellent. Would love to go back again!


WV Charms

3.4 on August 05, 2008

Tyhe B.P. was lovely and I enjoyed walking to the capitol around the historic district. The staff were wonderful folks!


"Wonderful"

5 on August 01, 2008

This was a wonderful experience, the house, the rooms, the service, the personal attention, just wonderful.


I felt like family

5 on July 25, 2008

NOt only was it beautiful with antique appointments through out, but it was so clean and smelled like cooking in the oven. The innkeepers were so friendly and helpful that they made our stay.


Perfect!

5 on July 21, 2008

Incredible food...kind & helpful hospitality...beautiful antiques & architecture...couldn't ask for more!


Charm & hospitality

5 on July 09, 2008

Marsha makes this place The Best. She greets you with genuine kindness & hospitality. The house feels of the time it was built, but is clean & elegant like it isn't old. Great Place.


Charming

4.6 on July 02, 2008

What a nice surprise. The staff was wonderful. The room was charming & very comfortable. I'll come back.


hidden jewel

4.2 on June 08, 2008

We stayed here on a girls trip for one night. Very clean, friendly and comfprtable home. We arrived late to a veggie/cheese tray waiting for us in the fridge. That was nice after a long trip. Beautiful furnishings, but also comfortable. You can make yourself at home. Walk outside and look down the street and you will see the beautiful gold topped capitol gleaming in the evening. Quiet, safe area.


Review of Brass Pineapple

5 on June 03, 2008

This was our first visit to Charleston West Virginia. Even thought it was a cold rainy day, the wonderful smells coming from the kitchen and the warmth and friendliness of our hostess made our stay a very enjoyable one. The breakfast was gourmet, the environment of the B&B was friendly and inviting.


The Best B&B Stay!

5 on February 01, 2008

We travel quite a bit and this is a great place to stay. Very quiet, excellent menu and food, professional friendly staff, very close to downtown and felt very safe. Makes our business in Charleston a great pleasure!


Very Lovely

4.6 on October 19, 2007

Made you feel at home. The food was delicious. Looking forward to another visit.


Brass Pineapple

4.4 on October 18, 2007

A great stay. Terrific staff. Excellent service.


Brass Pineapple

4.2 on October 17, 2007

The food in this B&B was exceptional. From marvelous breakfast to afternoon tea and evening cakes & cookies this beautiful old house with stained glass windows had a lot to offer a visitor to West Virgina. The room on the third floor was a bit snug for the three of us (our 16 year old daughter was with us). The beds were comfortable and the 3rd story was cool and clean. Sharing the bathroom with two of the third floor guests was a challenge in the morning and at night. The close proximately to sights like the capital building, river and downtown made it worthwhile.


Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

5 on October 17, 2007

The facility is beautiful. Lisa, Gretchen and Marsha were professional, warm and anticipated my needs. Will definitely be returning.


Absouutly wonderful!

5 on October 17, 2007

The staff was amazing, especially Marcia. She took great care of us and we had a wonderful time.


Wonderful Getaway.

4.4 on October 08, 2007

Very pleasant atmosphere. Outstanding accomodations. Wonderful service and food.


Brass Pineapple.

5 on October 08, 2007

Excellent b&b. We'll be back.


Brass Pineapple.

5 on September 19, 2007

This is a very nice and elegantly restored property. The location could not have been better, and the hospitality of the staff is outstanding.


Brass Pineapple.

3.4 on September 19, 2007

Nice location, very friendly staff, victorian home with lots of antique furnishings. Food was good - but there wasn't enough!


Nice place!

4.6 on September 16, 2007

The best thing about this place (for me) was the breakfast. Everyone was really nice and the rooms were fab. I liked the free wireless, too.


Great place to stay in Charleston

4.6 on August 12, 2007

The food was delicious and the location is perfect for downtown Charleston.


a must stay

5 on May 29, 2007

They do hospitality well. Really enjoyed the stay. Very clean, well appointed and super friendly staff. Breakfast, tea and hors doeuvres were great.


Brass Pineapple Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $249
  • Reviews (83) 4.6
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3043440748
  • Fax 1-3043440755
  • Toll free 1-8663440748

Visit Website »

View details

Top