Chanticleer Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
74 Reviews

Write A Review

simply the BEST!

5 on August 27, 2012

From the most serene setting to the best in service from the staff I cannot stop telling poeple how wonderful the expereince was at Chanticleer. I have stayed in many B&Bs and Chanticleer would rate among the very best I have found. I will stay nowhere else when visiting in Door County. Give yourself (and a loved one) a wonderful treat and book a suite here soon!


wonderful spot to relax with someone special

4.2 on August 19, 2011

Spent five nights for our honeymoon. Great price and wonderful people at the chanticleer. We always felt very cosy and taken care of in our cute room. Definitely recommend it!


Beautiful and relaxing

3.4 on August 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Chanticleer Guest House. We stayed in a barn suite. The room was huge, and everything was very clean. The grounds are just beautiful and very quiet, there were even bikes to ride! Check in/out was easy. A few slight things: the dimmer on the lights flickered and didn't stay set to the setting we had them on. The gas fireplace turned on with a timer and the sound of the timer ticking was distracting. The bathroom sink was slow. The air conditioner and fridge were kind of noisy also. But all of these things were very minor. We enjoyed our stay and would come back again and suggest it to others.


A great place to relax

5 on August 01, 2011

We had a wonderful time.. The room was much larger than we expected. Very clean. The breakfast was simple but amazing. This is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all.


A wonderful getaway

4.4 on July 20, 2011

While the cabins aren't all that far removed from each other, they are private enough to provide a romantic atmosphere, w/ state of the art amenities and all around comfort/cleanliness. The location is great, just outside of Sturgeon Bay, and the service was very friendly and helpful. The only noticeable downside were the breakfasts, which were tasty (though a bit sugary), but slightly smaller than we would've preferred. All around though, this was a very nice place to splurge, a wonderful week.


Stay in the Rose Room

4.2 on July 09, 2011

Grounds were awesome; has pool, bikes, and nice jacuzzis. Breakfast was decent - the OJ wasn't very good, but the fruit and muffins were tasty. We also loved the chocolate chip cookies awaiting us when we checked in.


A wonderful experience!

4.6 on June 25, 2011

My husband and I actually stayed there for our honeymoon. It felt totally private and secluded. Very romantic with a lot of charm. The owners were extremely generous. The location was great for exploring the rest of Door County. Just watch out for deer! My husband and I have recommended the Chanticleer and we plan on going back for a weekend for an anniversary!


Oustanding Cabins, Outstanding Stay!

5 on June 06, 2011

If you are looking to have a cozy getaway, I highly recommend Chanticleer Guest Houses. My wife and I got a cabin for 4 days for our honeymoon, and everything was absolutely perfect. Cabin was meticulously clean and stocked with extra soap or towels. Wonderful view of the secluded property from the porch. Sturgeon Bay is easily accessible. Breakfasts were prepared and put in a picnic basket to take back to the cabin, and each breakfast was amazing! We look forward to coming back in the future! Thanks for such an awesome and memorable stay!


Honeymoon stay

5 on May 30, 2011

Darrin and Brian's hospitality was WONDERFUL! When we arrived the Chanticleer Bed and Breakfast and the guest house were very very clean and beautiful. We stayed in the Evergreen Cabin it was better than the online site. Once you get there it is quiet, secluded, CLEAN, beautiful just what we needed. Breakfast was made every morning for us just alittle drive to pick it up from the Guesthouse LOVED IT! Just a beautiful beginning for our new life. WE WILL BE BACK AND TELL EVERYONE WE KNOW. Thanks Darrin and Brian!


10 Year Anniversary!!!

5 on May 18, 2011

As always the Chanticleer was FABULOUS!!! We got married 10 years ago in Door County and stayed at the Chanticleer. We tried to visit as much as we could each year on our Anniversary. We have not been in 3 years since our son was born and we were so happy we were able to make it back for our 10 Year Anniversary! Thank you for a WONDERFUL time!! Can't wait to come back! :)


Worth the trip

5 on April 28, 2011

The room and service was terrific. Very pleased with everything.


wkdy custormer

3.2 on April 06, 2011

not particulaurly satisfied with the breakfast; no choices and continental in nature which is atypical of a bed and breakfast. for the cost of the stay the amenities were very nice but disappointed in the breakfast. and nothing stated continental breakfast only on the website. environment was very relaxing and comfortable.


Wonderful hospitality

4.6 on March 23, 2011

We stayed for our 1st anniversary - 2 days - wonderful time! DELICIOUS HOMEMADE breakfast delivered to your room - you choose what time. Homemade cookies set out to enjoy all day. 70 acres with numerous walking trails - great scenery!


Romantic Spring Break

5 on March 20, 2011

Great room, romantic wood-burning fireplace, king bed and delicious breakfasts brought to the room -- all made for a restful, romantic spring break.


The Only Place to Stay in Door County

5 on March 11, 2011

We happened to find this place several years ago by chance and it has become our only place to stay when in Door County. The cabins, the breakfast, the setting and the owners are all top notch. You will not be disappointed with a stay at this property.


Chanticleer getaway

4.8 on March 08, 2011

Always a relaxing and enjoyable experience in a wonderful setting!


Lovely and Relaxing

4.2 on March 02, 2011

My husband and I decided we needed a weekend get away, and hadn't been on once since before our son was born (he will be 1 in March). We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast, but thought we would give it a try. It was the most relaxing and enjoyable get away we have ever had! The room was cozy and immaculate, and just the thing to help us recharge and reconnect. The breakfasts were amazing -- far mor than we could have anticipated. We enjoyed the quietness of the house, the privacy and the location. We will definately be back.


You'll want to return. Soon.

5 on February 23, 2011

My husband and I pride ourselves on traveling to different parts of the country and finding new places; yet this was our fourth visit to Chanticleer in six years. It's the most romantic, peaceful, beautiful, and well-run B&B we've ever stayed at. No detail is overlooked - down to the decor of each room/cabin to fresh-baked cookies at check-in! We loved it so much we got married here 5 years ago. We just got back from celebrating our belated 5-year anniversary - at Chanticleer. Hopefully we'll be back before our 10th!


great place, but definitely seemed like the offseason

4.0 on February 12, 2011

The room and scenery wowed us and we definitely got what we were expecting and paid for, a quiet, romantic escape from our children. From reading reviews by other customers, we were expecting to be wowed more by the breakfast portion, but this was understandable considering it was the off-season and we were the only ones staying there (not to mention with an off-season discount). Definitely the best B&B we have stayed at and will definitely be back. The only negative (and a very small one at that) was the hum of the mini-fridge interrupting quiet conversation. This was easily ignorable once you got used to it though.


tamarack

4.8 on February 10, 2011

our stay at the chanticleer guest house was everything amd more than what we expected it to be. a very nice place to stay and very romantic also. the cottages are very nice for a romantic getaway. will be going back again.


Our 30th Wedding Anniversary Get Away

4.6 on February 06, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Chanticleer during a bitterly cold weekend in January. It was a real treat, despite the weather. We stayed in the Meadows Suite which is the entire top floor of the barn. It was beautifully decorated while still keeping many of the details of the barn authentic. A delicious breakfast was brought to us both mornings. We both truly enjoyed that as it made for a nice relaxing morning in our beautiful room. The Chanticleer is located just far enough out of Sturgeon Bay to be surrounded by woods and meadows and be very peaceful, yet close enough that a quick drive gets you into the city. Our stay at The Chanticleer was one of the very best experiences we've had in our many travels, and we look forward to another visit.


a winter weekend in door county

3.4 on February 02, 2011

A wintery weekend in Door County - nice atmosphere. Food was good and room was very nice!


Weekend Getaway

3.4 on February 01, 2011

The service was awesome and the collection of antiques was amazing! However, we stayed in the Garden Suite (2nd floor of the main guest house), and the bathroom is in dire need of a renovation. Also, the water pressure was extremely low. I would go back if we could stay in a newer renovated room perhaps in the Barn guest house or cabin.


Door County Get away

5 on January 30, 2011

The best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. Bryon & Darrin made our stay very relaxing!


Chanticleer Guest House is the BEST!!

5 on January 30, 2011

We spent two days there and it was one of the best places we ever stayed at! The room was awesome and the property was beautiful! The friendly service of the owners and staff was not to be matched! You could tell that the owners truly loved what they were doing and went above and beyond to make their guest's stay as perfect as possible! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!


Tamarak Cabin - Chanticleer Guest House

4.2 on January 28, 2011

Charming and cozy cabin, with comfortable bed and sheets, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and secluded feel. Breakfast was delicious.


Evergreen Cabin

4.6 on January 27, 2011

The Chanticleer is by far the best b&b in Door County. I love the decorations....not too frilly or plain and I love the extra details (like the Vera Wang towels, lavender dish soap, and Door County coffee). My boyfriend and I have spent evenings in the Hemlock Cabin and the Evergreen Cabin. The Hemlock has a nice porch with a sliding door in the bedroom so that you can hear the woodland sounds at night and the Evergreen has a wonderful hot tub in the bedroom w/a cozy fireplace and a oversized rain shower head in the bathroom (rain shower head was my favorite amenity by far!). I would definitely recommend the Chanticleer to any couple who needs some rest and relaxation as well as some romantic and personal time together.


Great place to relax.

4.2 on January 07, 2011

Chanticleer was great. Suite was very clean and orderly. Breakfast was tasteful and homemade. Only slight disappoint was one of the "innkeepers" was not clear on instruction on how a bed and breakfast works (breakfasts/chekcout) or overly friendly. But that did not ruin our expirence at all. Plan on going back this summer or in Fall.


Excellent B&B

5 on January 01, 2011

We celebrated our 25th here and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is excellent and the rooms are spotless and comfortable. We will go back!


Honeymoon

5 on December 23, 2010

Great, relaxing place to spend our honeymoon! Room was lovely, service was excellent, breakfast was delicious!


Greatest get away

5 on December 12, 2010

Have been vacationing at the Chanticleer for 15 years. The most wonderful thing, is being made to feel family. The location is very quiet - no sirens or airplanes over head. Door County can be as active as you want it. There lots to do and wonderful places to eat. Or you can just sun yourself by the pool with a good book


Sweet

4.4 on December 01, 2010

My wife and I shared our second wedding anniversary here. It was a great stay. The room was large and we had plenty of room. It was great to get our own breakfast delivered. I would recommend trying this place!


very relaxing

4.2 on November 30, 2010

The room was very beautiful and they had a christmas in the room. felt like being home


Much needed retreat!

5 on November 24, 2010

Our stay at the Chanticleer was perfect. The property was fantastic with its appearance and setting. The breakfasts were deliciously simple and filling - a great way to start the day! Quiet and laid back, it was just what we needed. We will most definitely return.


Amazing!!

5 on November 19, 2010

The room was absolutely amazing! The Grand Suite is just that, GRAND! The woodburning fireplace was a romantic touch and the hot tub was a nice bonus! The room was exceptionally clean with plush towels. A hot, delicious breakfast was delivered right to our door in the mornings. Will will definitely be going back next year for our anniversary again!!


Third floor of the Barn!

4.6 on November 12, 2010

These are very lovely suites! Spacious, yet cozy. Very comfortable and relaxing. Warm chocolate chip cookies when we arrived, delicious light breakfast delivered to our door in the morning. Loved watching the sheep and walking the trail through the woods. Property is lovingly cared for. Worth the trip!


Awesome!

4.4 on November 08, 2010

The Rose Room was beautiful, the attention to detail in the design of the room is amazing. The antiques, the woodwork, the floors, just gorgeous. I can hardly wait to check out some of the other suites and/or cabins.


Quiet Honeymoon Getaway

5 on November 05, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chanticleer Bed and Breakfast for a little getaway after our wedding. We stayed in the Stables Suite, which was beautiful and full of antiques. We really enjoyed the sheep farm, the walking trails, and the quiet, rustic atmosphere of the place. We definitely didn't want to leave and will go back every year.


Again, An Absolutely Great Stay!!

5 on November 04, 2010

This was our 7th time staying at the Chanticleer. Again, we had an absolutely wonderful time! Breakfast was delicious and we love having it delivered to our suite. We can't imagine staying any where else in Door County and can't wait until our next visit. Thank you Bryon and Darrin (and staff) for making our trip to Door County so special!


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on November 02, 2010

We highly recommend the Chanticleer. It was quiet, away from the noise of the northern peninsula, and close to the conveniences and charm of Sturgeon Bay. Breakfast was delightful. Only complaints are that the rooms are not soundproof and water pressure was light in the main house (we stayed in the Garden Suite). However, the room was larger than it looked online and the whirlpool tub was huge. The grounds are amazing and the sheep are peaceful to watch.


Romantic & Relaxing!

5 on October 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chanticleer Guest House for our Anniversary, We loved it there! Our cabin was like a home away from home. It was so cozy and romantic. It's a great place to escape from the everyday craziness and just take a deep breath of fresh country air. We highly recommend it to any couple that wants to getaway and spend some quality time together.


Chanticleer getaway

4.2 on October 19, 2010

We made our reservation at the Chanticleer in hopes of a peaceful getaway. Our experience there really exceeded our expectations. The whole property was picture perfect and the service better than expected. We stayed in a cabin with trees and a pond surrounding us. There were other cabins about 150 feet away but you barely new they were there. We were able to sit out on the deck and our view was a beautiful woods and pond. We saw a fox and several birds and squirrels around the cabin.


Relaxing & memorable stay1

4.6 on October 17, 2010

I took my husband for his 65th birthday, and stayed in the top floor of the barn! Was amazing! Warm, comfortable, and very reminiscing of our earlier days as farmers! The walking paths were beautiful through the woods with the beautiful fall colors, and the experience was great! Thank you for a special time! We will be back.


Unique and Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on October 11, 2010

First stay at Chanticleer, their hospitality and level of service greatly exceeded my expectations. We will be happy to return.


LOVED The Chanticleer!!

4.8 on October 11, 2010

We went there for our honeymoon and stayed in the Rose Room. It was meticulously maintained, and adorned with beautiful antiques. Fresh cookies upon arrival. Bryon explained the whereabouts of dining and other fun options for us to do. But it wasn't information overload. He led us to our room and gave us our privacy just like we wanted. Each morning at our desired time; The breakfast was brought to our room in a basket which was so nice because we didn't want to have to interact with all the guests first thing in the morning. The hiking trails were so beautiful and the sheep were fun to watch too. This location was so perfect because we wanted to be close to the shops and restaurants but wanted peace and quiet with a country vibe. This was a perfect medium. Romantic, classy, and charming! We plan to come back again~


A Great Weekend Getaway!

4.6 on October 01, 2010

We did a lot of homework on where to stay in DC and kept coming back to the Chanticleer website. We ended up choosing Chanticleer and after staying there, I can't imagine choosing another B&B. The entire experience was wonderful... relaxing, romantic, peaceful. We are looking forward to coming back and are spreading the word on this wonderful place for others to go and enjoy. Thanks to Darrin and Bryon for their wonderful hospitality.


Chanticleer Stay

4.0 on September 22, 2010

It is a wonderful place. They were above our expectations. We would go back anytime and recommend it to our friends.


Wonderful Place To Stay

4.6 on September 14, 2010

This is a very nice place to stay, the rooms are very clean and having the continental breakfast brought to your room each day is a really nice touch. Very relaxing and quiet place, would definately stay here again.


Can't wait to go back...

5 on August 19, 2010

Staying at the Chanticleer was the most relaxing 2 days we have had in very long time. From the minute we arrived we felt so welcome by the hosts and the buildings, grounds, gardens were beautiful and peaceful. The breakfast's delivered to our door each morning were different and delicious each day. The chocolate chip cookies left out for the guest....mmmmm.


Chanticleer B&B Sturgeon Bay

4.8 on June 30, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B and loved it. It is in a beautiful setting that includes, green fields, sheep, manicured gardens and wonderful food. We would definitely stay there again.


Heaven!

5 on April 15, 2010

We appreciated the combinatin of seclusion and privacy of the cabins along with the warm and friendly TLC of Bryon and Darrin's attention to detail. Home cooked baskets of muffins, fruit, eggs and yogurt, plus warm chocolate chip cookies pampered us each day. We loved the porch swing and hot tub, winding paths and QUIET!


The perfect Weekend

4.8 on March 28, 2010

The Chanticleer is a wonderful place to relax! The rooms are very private and quiet. Breakfast is delivered to your room in a large basket each morning and it is outstanding!!! The cookies baked fresh every afternoon are the best I've ever had - they alone are reason to go back! There are trails to enjoy some fresh air and take in the beautiful scenery, and you can even watch the baby lambs play! Definetly a place we will return to again and again!


New Year's

4.8 on February 22, 2010

We really enjoyed ringing in the New Year at the Chanticleer. The room was beautiful and relaxing!


Chanticleer Guest House

5 on October 21, 2009

hands down this is the best B&B in Wisconsin. The service is outstanding. From the rooms at the inn to their cabins, everything is just right.


Great Place for a get away

5 on August 20, 2009

The inn keepers are great! The grounds are wonderful and the rooms and cabins are fantastic.


Heaven found at Chanticleer

5 on July 30, 2009

We stayed in the Tamarack Cabin. A 30ftx24ft quality built building and fabulous furnishings. A private wooded location across the street from the main building area. Easy check-in and check-out, great breakfast and friendly hosts. We would stay again. This would be a good place to stay in Winter for snow-shoeing and warming up by the fireplace.


Pastoral & Peaceful

3.6 on July 29, 2009

A refreshing and welcome departure from the standard B&B's "get-to-know-strangers-for-breakfast" means coffee, sweet breads and local fresh fruit or yogurt delivered to your door. The quiet factor is a respite for city dwellers. Watch out for the owners and their pals who may take over the pool on sunny summer sundays!


Chanting Clear for the Chanticleer

5 on April 13, 2009

Quaint clean rooms with wonderful ammenities and extraordinary hospitality on 70 beautiful acres of quiet partially wooded property. Stay after stay, we never get enough!


A tranquil oasis...

5 on January 28, 2009

The Chanticleer has been our choice vacation spot for the past 11 years. The personal touches make it special and the location is perfect!


peace and quiet

4.8 on January 28, 2009

What a beautiful getaway in a quiet setting- peace and quiet as far as you could see! So relaxing and energizing


Details matter and this place proves it

4.2 on December 26, 2008

Very nice place located away from the hussle and bussle of towns or cities. Super quiet country location, they even have horses! Rooms were beautiful and decorated with a theme that was carried on throughout the whole place even right down to the breakfast dishes. Breakfast was delicious. Cookies and candy greated us at the door to our room. Fabulous detail and a nice staff. Our room had a nice whirl pool tub, but the water appeared to have a soapy residue.


thanks!

4.6 on October 30, 2008

Being a guest of my children, I couldn't ask for much more so again, thank you to my daughter and son-in-law, a dream come true.


Cabin Fever

5 on October 24, 2008

The cabins at the Chanticleer are great. Located in the woods and only a short walk to the main house. If you are looking for a getaway from your daily life, this is the place!


The rooster crows for the Chanticleer

5 on October 24, 2008

The setting and accomodations are remarkable. You can ask for nothing more - every need is met and more. However, Darrin and Bryon, the innkeepers, make the Chanticleer the special place that is among bed and breakfast inns! ;)


Country Charm

4.4 on September 30, 2008

Chanticleer B&B provides a wonderful getaway in the quiet country, yet is close to all we wanted to see & do in Door County. Our hosts provided excellent service, the room, grounds, and garden were all beautiful.


Will be back

4.8 on September 18, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Hemlock and were blown away. Great service beautiful location. I would highly recommend this inn, our trip was just as we imagined it would be. Well almost I broke my collar bone and ended up having to leave a day early but the guys stepped up and made sure my wife was taken care of so she could take care of me. We will make this an annual trip.


Vacation Perfection

5 on August 13, 2008

The homemade breakfast delivered to your room, the beautiful flowers and gardens (with a hammock), the sheep grazing alongside Milly (the horse), all helped to make our vacation perfect. The comfy rooms, whirlpools, fireplaces and pool all are wonderful to enjoy. And the warm chocolate chip cookies aren't bad either!


Beautiful

4.6 on July 24, 2008

The oak cabin was beautiful - very peaceful - the perfect getaway.


Serene Sanctuary

5 on July 18, 2008

Chanticleer Guest House is not only a beautifully romantic B & B...it is a serene sanctuary that embodies a deep sense of stewardship for the earth and its people. We felt nourished and nurtured, as well as privileged to share this very special place created by visionary care takers.


Best Stay in Sturgeon Bay

5 on June 05, 2008

I have stayed at the Chanticleer at least thirty times in the past 10 years. I would stay no place else in Door County, Wisconsin.


Out in the country!

4.6 on March 10, 2008

Stayed only one night and wished we'd of stayed more. We celebrated our Anniversary and the Innkeeper was helpful suggesting restaurants for dinner. They took the time to show us the room and facility. The room was awesome, loved the balcony overlooking the sheep pasture. Loved the decor. Breakfast was delivered in a basket to our room in the morning and we loved it. Would go back next time we're in that area.


WONDERFUL GETAWAY!

5 on January 11, 2008

MY HUSBAND & I CELEBRATED OUR 5 YEARS OF MARRIAGE WITH A WEEKEND STAY AT THE CHANTICLEER. IT WAS HEAVEN IN JUST ONE WORD. FROM BREAKFAST BEING SERVED TO YOUR DOOR EACH MORNING, TO THE PURE RELAXATION, THIS WAS JUST WHAT WE NEEDED. THE DOULBE WHIRLPOOL TUB IS LARGE ENOUGH FOR 2 PEOPLE TO FIT COMFORTABLE. THE BATHROOM WAS BIGGER THAN WE EXPECTED. MY HUSBAND WASN'T TOO THRILLED ABOUT GOING TO A B&B FOR THE WEEKEND, BUT HE ACTUALLY SAID "THIS IS THE LIFE!!" WE WOULD REC. THE CHANTICLEER TO ALL OUR FAMILY & FRIENDS. WE HOPE TO BE BACK VERY SOON!!!


Solitude, comfort, and relaxation

4.8 on July 24, 2007

My partner and I have not had much time together with the amount of time I've put into the office. But, I got the best birthday surprise I've every had. This place is total heaven. The comfort, quiet, and tranquility are what we needed. Darrin and Bryon welcomed us when we arrived and made us feel welcome. I'm a city girl, but never once felt out of place, uncomfortable, or not welcomed. The area is beautiful, well kept, and warm. Best selling point for me, no dogs (though we are parents to a beautiful puppy) and no children. Anyone who needs to shake the pressures of business, the office, traffic, and their blackberry, should head to Sturgeon Bay and visit The Chanticleer.


very romantic!

5 on July 03, 2007

We have now been to the Chanticleer 3 times. Winter, Fall, and Spring. Quiet, clean, romantic, beautiful. Even my husband loved it, because although the rooms are beautiful, they are not "phoofy". The breakfast and coffee were wonderful.


Chanticleer Guest House

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9207460334
  • Fax 1-9207461368
  • Toll free 1-8666820384

Visit Website »

View details

Top