The Rochester Inn, A Historic Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
31 Reviews

Write A Review

Sheboygan Falls Getaway

4.4 on November 15, 2014

We loved the charm and service and delicious breakfasts. The Rochester Inn is in a historic district along a rushing river. Kohler is just minutes away for food and entertainment and Sheboygan, a little further, has a few outstanding restaurants and great museum. The only disappointment was that there were no toiletries except a bar of soap and I had to go to a pharmacy to buy those items.


Wonderful stay at the The Rochester Inn, A Historic Hotel

3.8 on June 18, 2014

The building is amazing and we stayed in a great suite with a living room on the lower floor and the bedroom on the higher floor. It was really comfortable. The owner if very friendly and accommodating. It was a wonderful stay. Moreover Sheboygan Falls is a pretty little town and you can go out for a walk. We will come back. Thank you very much! Laura and Chirs


Great hotel

5 on February 23, 2014

Super hotel; great room; excellent breakfast. Will be back.


Our Favorite B&B

5 on January 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Rochester Inn several times and have always left feeling relaxed and ready to face the challenges of everyday life! The two story suites with double whirlpool baths have brought us back again and again! The bountiful breakfast brought to the room each morning is a wonderful way to start each dayof your stay. We highly recommend the Rochester Inn for a romantic weekend away!


Absolutely Perfect!

5 on October 07, 2012

The Rochester Inn and Sheboygan Falls is the perfect getaway. Jackie is so warm and welcoming and so helpful in planning your stay and things to do in the area. The rooms are lovely. It was so peaceful and quiet. Our breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed chatting with Jackie and exploring the town, as well as, several of the area golf courses.


Great alternative to Kohler hotels

4.6 on July 26, 2012

We were booking a weekend in Kohler and the rooms at the American Club were very pricey and the Inn on Woodlake was booked. I looked around the web and found the Rochester Inn on this site and based on the reviews we booked it. I like staying near downtowns/walkable neighborhoods so this was the perfect fit. It is just across the river from the Sheboygan Falls downtown area. Making the reservation was a breeze. They even accomodated our Saturday-only stay as I agreed to be flexible in what room we got. When we arrived they were very friendly and informative - gave us some tips on where to eat, etc. The room was incredible. The photos don't do them justice. They are large, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. They were also very clean. Its the kind of room you feel like you should just hang out in. The breakfast was really good. We had some eggs with cream cheese, tasty bacon, and lots of fresh fruit and some OJ. My only complaint is the coffee. It was just food-service grade stuff. Not horrible but an Inn of this quality should be serving some better stuff like Alterra or Stone Creek. I know Torke is located in Sheboygan, but their coffee isn't good. That is just nitpicking anyways. Everything else was awesome. Anytime we return to this area, we will stay here.


great

5 on June 24, 2012

Only downside person at desk could not help with directions to get there.


Step back in time . . .

5 on May 22, 2012

One step into this B&B and you will feel like you have traveled back in time with luxuries of modern times. Very clean room with huge deep soaking Kohler whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The sink is outside the bathroom bringing back memories of a time when people used bowls and pitchers for washing. The 2 story suite has a beautiful triangular window. Four post bed and electric candlelight lighting fixtures add a nice touch. Staff is super nice and very accommodating.


Can't wait to go back!

5 on December 10, 2011

We have been going to the Inn for over 12 years. This time, we were celebrating out 20th anniversary. Jacci, the Inn-keeper, contacted us in advance to confirm and to let us know we could check in early and offered to upgrade us if a room was available on check in. We viewed two of the other rooms, but decided to stay with our favorite #6. The room is very quiet, tastefully decorated and clean! We always have had an excellent stay and are always treated to a wonderful breakfast in the morning, served right our room. This is a great value and a must try for anyone looking for a romantic getaway. We can't wait to go back!


Fabulous weekend getaway!

5 on November 04, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Rochester Inn in Sheboygan Falls two times and both times we have been thoroughly impressed. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a downstairs sitting-room and an upstairs bedroom and there is a whirlpool bathtub in the bathroom and kohler fixtures too. Breakfast is delightful and we love their french toast - so much so that two months before our second weekend getaway at the Rochester Inn, we talked about the French toast and how we hoped they would serve it and we were happy to see breakfast the first day was indeed their famous french toast and it was equally delicious the second time! Jacci and her staff are friendly and very accomodating. We will definitely be back to enjoy the Rochester Inn again and we highly recommend this B&B for a fabulous weekend getaway - or for anytime you want to getaway.


A little constructive criticism

3.6 on September 09, 2011

Overall, first let me say we had a very nice stay at the Rochester. Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the two story suite. It's centrally located ,yet quiet and private. I do have a few suggestions for the inn. Removing the dated box televisions and cabinets on the lower level of the suite and replacing it with a small round table with two chairs would be lovely and FAIR to all guests. If you would do away with the very limited "dining area", which accomodates 4 people maximum, and STRICTLY deliver breakfast only to the rooms, all guests could have a more intimate, enjoyable and elegant in-room dining experience instead of eating from the coffee table. During our visit , the inadequate "dining area", which also happens to be the reception area, was commandeered by a group of 3 demanding guests both mornings, who unfortunately happened to be the people we changed rooms for when asked by Jacci prior to our visit. We had no problems with changing rooms, but then front desk proceeded to inform us we could not eat in the "dining area" because they had booked it first. I felt somewhat sorry for the unexperienced young girl at the front desk who was obviously being taken advantage of by the insistent couple and their daughter. I would like to stay here again but will most likely look elsewhere because i feel the breakfast set-up is inadequate.


Business Trip

5 on September 01, 2011

Normally when traveling on business I am forced to stay in boring business class hotels. What a pleasant surprise I had when I learned I would be staying in a bed and breakfast. I must say The Rochester Inn surpassed what I imagined my stay would be. The rooms are spacious, clean, and elegantly decorated. The bed and pillows were EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE! Normally I wake up with an aching back, but each day I woke up rested and ready to go! Breakfast was great! And go for the Hummingbird Bread, I highly recommend it! The level of service we received made it hard to leave! The innkeeper really made us feel at home and like a part of the family. When you are traveling through this part of Wisconsin, set your GPS to The Rochester Inn!


Birthday Celebration

5 on March 12, 2011

Our five days at the Inn were awesome. The suite we had was wonderful and we plan to visit again during another season. It was cold and snowy outside but we had boots, sweaters, books and lots of wine so we made it fine! The innkeeper, Jacci exceeded our expectation every morning with a wonderful full breakfast. We celebrated the birthday and cannot wait to return. The Inn is only 2 & 1/2 hours from home in Illinois, so we will be back.


Great Stay and Value

5 on February 20, 2011

Great value. Cozy place to spend a get away weekend. Great location not very far from good places to eat and visit. Will plan on visiting again! Highly recommend.


Perfect for the Business Traveler!

5 on January 13, 2011

Whenever I have to travel to Sheboygan county for work I stay at The Rochester Inn. The rooms are beautiful, private, two story suites with the softest of linens. Every time I stay there I am so impressed with the cleanliness! The corporate rates are very competitive and the breakfasts are delicious. Jacci, the innkeeper, is always ready with a smile and willing to help with any question or concern I may have. It definitely feels like a home away from home. As a woman I feel very safe here traveling alone. You just can't beat The Rochester Inn whether away for business or pleasure. I feel very good recommending it to anyone.


Great B&B

4.8 on October 12, 2010

This is a great historic B&B. We stayed for two nights and traveled the area as part of a week vacation. The room had minor issues with wireless internet reception on the second level, first level worked fine. Asked for in room breakfast service, it was on time and outstanding. Innkeeper Jacci O'Dwanny is knows the area and freely shares that information with gests.


Do not miss this small-town gem

4.4 on August 11, 2010

Beautifully updated historic building within walking distance to dining and shopping in charming Sheboygan Falls. Jacci took great care of us, serving us a delicious breakfast in the downstairs parlor of our two-story suite. The room was spacious and well-appointed. Would gladly stay here again the next time we are in the area.


A wonderful first night in the States

4.6 on April 25, 2010

The overnight at the Rochester was a gift from a friend. And a wonderful surprise! The room is clean, cozy, warm, comfortable and so beautiful! The whirpool worked perfectly and was the best way to relax after a very long flight. The breakfast is generous and delicious. Moreover, even though it's very calm there, it's right across the bridge from the main streets,where stores are, and within walking distance from the River Park. I definitely recommend it!!!


Beautiful Inn!

5 on April 02, 2010

Wonderful place to stay! We'll definitely be back! We highly recommend the Rochester Inn.


excellent!

5 on August 06, 2009

Would do it again


cozy inn

4.0 on February 18, 2009

What a great place. Our hostess was fabulous! The only things missing were robes and slippers.


Best in WI

5 on February 17, 2009

The two story suites are spacious and comfortable. The hosts were a fun couple to talk to, and always available when you needed them. The off season discount was tremendous! Extremely clean and great big breakfasts!


Great Winter Getaway

4.8 on February 09, 2009

We would highly recommend the Rochester Inn. Amy was absolutely great. She made sure that everything was just perfect for our winter getaway. The room was beautiful and really felt like we were getting away from it all. We will definitely tell our friends about it.


wonderful, restful alternative to the highway hotel

4.6 on November 03, 2008

Friendly, helpful staff (Amy!) I will certainly be back with friends!


Rochester Inn

4.4 on October 07, 2008

We came for a quiet Birthday getaway and got just that. The rooms were very comfortable, loved the whirlpool bath, host was very friendly and helpful. What a nice treat to have a delicious breakfast delivered to your door.


Charm and Hospitality!

5 on August 26, 2008

Accommodations and hospitality exceeded our expectations. Beautiful garden patio, wet bar stocked, delicious breakfast served in our room! Extra amenities at every turn were a pleasant surprise!


Perfect Stay

5 on August 21, 2008

I couldn't think of a better place; we found our new desination for a getaway! The midweek rate we got was phenominal! The breakfasts were more than we could eat, and exquisite! I've never seen a place so clean - I couldn't even find dust if I tried! Just amazing, there's nothing else to say.


The Rochester Inn

4.6 on June 05, 2008

We just love it here at the Rochester Inn. This is our 5th year returning. It's so comfortable that I told my husband I'm going to retire here, right in Room #2! See you next year!


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on May 24, 2008

The Rochester Inn was just the place for me and my wife to spend our weekend away from the kids. Amy prepared an entire evening full of fun and enjoyment. From the Dinner at 52 Stafford to the in room breakfast and massage, not to mention the carriage ride through downtown Kohler. What an amazing place. The room were big and clean. The decor was very fitting for the historic old home we stayed. Amy was so willing to make our evening special. A completely great place to stay. We would stay at the Rochester inn again in a second!


Great Weekend Getaway

4.6 on April 01, 2008

My husband and I stayed here after the rush of the holiday season to relax and rejuvenate. We left the room only to dine at the local tasty restaurants, The Bread and Bean Eatery being our favorite, which was two blocks away. We both enjoyed a one hour massage, where the therapist came to our room! Breakfast was outstanding, just short of gourmet and kept us full well past lunch. Amy was a great hostess, she couldn't have made our stay any more comfortable. Thanks Rochester Inn! We will be back!


The Rochester Inn

4.2 on February 04, 2008

This is a restored historic hotel in Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin and one of the "Classic Inns of Wisconsin" owned by Harp & Eagle, Ltd. Unlike other Harp & Eagle properties in whihc we've stayed, the Rochester Inn has no pub or dining facilites, although a wonderful breakfast is served to guests in the small atrium or in your room. There are several pubs and nice boutique restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. The downtown area is small but very interesting, almopst as though you stepped back several decades in time. The two story suite is smartly appointed with the four-poster bed and two-person whirlpool bath that Harp & Eagle properties are known for. A unique feature is the availability of an in-room massage, which is perfect for an overnight birthday celebration "get-away". All in all it was a great surprise for my wife. Both of us are looking forward for the next excuse to return!


The Rochester Inn, A Historic Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $170
  • Reviews (31) 4.7
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9204673123
  • Toll free 1-8664673122

Visit Website »

View details

Top