Kinni Creek Lodge and Outfitters Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent

5 on May 17, 2014

Everything was excellent. Place is very cozy. We will definitely be back!


A nice stay for a get-a-way

4.4 on October 21, 2013

It should be noted that this is a B&B type of stay. There are 3 separate bedrooms (with separate baths) but the rest of the 'lodge' is communal. There is a shared entry, living room, kitchen, deck and hot tub. Since we traveled with friends this was a great feature because we were all able to sit around the living room / kitchen and play cards etc...but the shared space should be considered if traveling only as a couple. We also really enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast with plenty of options to choose from. The kayak float proved to be an exciting, fast moving float along some very scenic stretches of the Kinnikinnic. Overall this was a great stay and we plan to return next fall for another kayak float.


great set up!!

5 on October 20, 2013

stayed for a kayak trip. service was great, owner is very friendly!


Belated Anniversary Surprise!

4.6 on August 20, 2013

We had a great time at Kinni Creek! My husband is in the Army and was away for training over our first wedding anniversary. This was quite depressing but when I found the Groupon for the kayaking trip, I jumped at the chance to surprise him with a belated gift. We haven't had a honeymoon either (again, at the will of the US Army) and having two children makes it hard to get away. Kinni Creek allowed us to reconnect with each other in a relaxing and fun way not too far from home! The lodge was peaceful and comfortable and the activities offered on the river were what we have always loved doing together. Paige was so hospitable and Elliot was great to chat with as well. We plan on heading back there in a few year when our kids are older and can enjoy it with us.


August visit to Kinni Creek Lodge and Outfitters

4.2 on August 17, 2013

We stayed one night at the Kinni Creek Lodge in August, 2013. The grounds are surprisingly picturesque considering the lodge is right off main street in River Falls. The rooms overlook the Kinni Creek and feature a lovely patio area with hot tub. Our room was clean and spacious. We did not take advantage of any of the fishing or kayaking services.


Kinni Creek Lodge is an excellent base for exploring the Kinni

4.0 on August 11, 2013

Kinni Creek Lodge is an excellent base for exploring the Kinnickinnic River near River Falls. The flyfishing shop and kayak rental and shuttle service are both excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The "Kinni" is an outstanding trout stream within about half an hour of the Twin Cities, and River Falls is quaint and charming with some nice touches (good coffee, organic food). The bed and breakfast section where I stayed is clean, well-organized, and a great value. I recommend it very highly to anyone who would enjoy the river and a small rivertown in SW Wisconsin.


Lovely Getaway

4.6 on July 04, 2013

The location above the river made for a tranquil ambiance while still being within walking distance of good dining and a lively business district. The house and our suite were immaculate and tastefully but simply decorated. The self-service continental breakfast was organized, well-stocked, and healthy. Loved having the coffee ready when we got up in the morning! Everything was labeled clearly with instructions and where to put used tableware. It was helpful and made for a quick check-in so our time and the innkeeper's were not wasted with too many directions. We look forward to a future visit.


Cozy Place to Stay

3.8 on June 21, 2013

Quaint and cozy place to stay in River Falls. Walking distance to area restaurants, enjoyed our continental breakfast in the back yard over looking the Kinni. We would be happy to go back.


refresh and renew

5 on May 27, 2013

i have been to the Kinni Creek Lodge several times with friends and family. Everytime i leave, i wish i had one more day to stay! the lodge is located on the river, so you have beautiful views, with tranquil sounds of wildlife and the flowing kinni. the proprieter of Kinni Creek Lodge is so warm and welcoming! she makes sure everything is perfect for your stay, from the comfortable beds to the delicious breakfast in the morning. Love this place and will go back again and again!


Kinni Creek Lodge

4.2 on May 19, 2013

Thoughtful service, nice personal touches throughout the lodge. Great stay!


RFBGF

4.4 on April 10, 2013

Great place, like to return when the weather is better for fishing.


Kinni Creek Lodge and Outfitters

5 on October 08, 2012

The owner was a sweetheart and the establishment was awesome! I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend anyone come enjoy this establishment!


Very relaxing

5 on September 24, 2012

My stay at Kinni Lodge was very relaxing. I was in town on business and found the lodge more than satisfactory to my needs. I would recommend this lodge.


Great Stay by the "Kinni"

3.8 on September 06, 2012

This B&B has a lot of character. It is right next to the Kinnikinnic River and is great after a day of Kayaking! It is also convenient to dining, shopping and a host of other activities in River Falls. Paige, our hostess, was very accommodating and left a fabulous, healthy, continental breakfast for us. It was a cozy and relaxing stay and we would highly recommend it.


Nice Holiday Weekend

5 on September 02, 2012

Went up for a family wedding - and stayed in the side house (so didnt sample any of the cooking - so that rating is a little disingenous). Fantastic value - beautiful grounds. The house was ridiculously comfortable and private and quiet. Great place for a group of 4-6 people without a doubt. Will definitely stay again when we visit the Twin Cities. Stay at alot of very nice hotels...this was as comfortable as the best of them. Cannot recommend high enough. In addition - the true bonus is - if you want to bring your partner and teach them how to fly fish - in a low pressure environment with a forgiving river - cant think of a better place.!


Total relaxtion

4.4 on August 10, 2012

Kinni lodge was a great find , I will definetly be back. A little piece of heaven, I enjoyed all it had to offer, plus near by parks, and food. all just minutes from home.


Great cabin - we really enjoyed ourselves!

4.4 on August 04, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I spent the 4th of July at Kinni Creek and had a great stay. We found the cabin very clean and cozy. Although our room has a little small (we all 3 shared 1 room), the cabin was wonderfully welcoming - with a real 'north woods' feel with lots of character. We had a nice float down the river in our kayaks, then visited a local restaurant for dinner and then settled in to the cabin for the night. Paige left our breakfast for us in the evening, all set out (except for cold items in the fridge), and the coffee brewed automatically in the morning. We enjoyed our nice continental breakfast on OUR schedule. It was a really nice stay, and we will definitely be back.


Two nights at Kinni Creek Lodge

3.4 on August 03, 2012

Great Location- Great Fishing River- Nice lodge & high quality fly shop. Over all we had alot of fun here. Daniel Jones.


Fish and Bike Trip at Kinni Creek - Review

5 on August 01, 2012

We found the Kinni Creek Lodge to be a lovely place to stay. Paige was a wonderful host making awesome breakfasts for us and giving us great ideas for our bike rides and fly fishing the Kinni. We look forward to going back sometime. Jeff Pearl


Fly fishing Trip

3.8 on June 19, 2012

Kinni Creek Lodge is a surprise hideaway within River Falls. The lodge is a quaint old 1800's house that Paige has turned into a B&B and sets alongside the Kinnickinnic River. Order the breakfast as Paige puts on an excellent feast! This is an excellent river to fly fish as well as enjoy nature's beauty.


A very pleasant stay

4.4 on June 18, 2012

I had a very nice stay at Kinni Creek Lodge. I went there mid-week for a little R&R. I was able to relax and enjoy the lodge. Even though I think most guests go there for either the kayaking or fishing, and I didn't intend to do either. I just thought the accommodations looked nice and were reasonably priced so I decided to try it. It was very peaceful and quiet, and the river provided some nice scenery. The lodge is basically a three bedroom house. The three guest rooms (Rocky Branch, Pete's Creek, Lower Dam) are the three bedrooms in the house. I opted to pay a little more for the Rocky Branch because of the river view. I was glad I did, not because of the view, but because of the very spacious bathroom with the claw foot tub! It is great that each bedroom has it's own private bathroom, but the bathroom connected to the Rocky Branch room is MUCH bigger than the bathrooms of the other two rooms. There was a nice deck off of the kitchen, with a hot tub in the back. I didn't use the hot tub, but it looked clean and well-maintained. The whole place was very clean and very well cared for, which is important to me. The lodge/house itself is quite old, and the staircase to the two upstairs rooms (River Rock and Pete's Creek) is one of the steepest and narrowest staircases I have ever seen! (Beware of large suitcases - truthfully, you may not be able to get them up the stairs!) The owner, Paige, has obviously taken care to find some really quaint decor items and has created a very homey atmosphere in the lodge. A few things are a bit dated (e.g., the dishwasher), but it has a great cabin-like feel and it's clear that place is very well cared for. Also, there is free wifi, and the bedrooms have decent-size flat screen TVs. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to my friends. (Note: I didn't see the inside of the Vacation Cottage at all. I was strictly in the lodge.)


Great Stay at Kinni Lodge

4.8 on June 15, 2012

We stayed two days on a fly fishing vacation. We had a great time. The Lodge is an excellent place to stay, for fly fishers and others. Paige is a great host. The location is close to ideal. The local restaurants were very good. And, the fishing was great!


Excellent; really enjoyed our stay!

4.8 on March 07, 2012

A beautiful cabin on a pretty river. Friendly service. A good value; the only caution is that a full breakfast is not included - it is an extra $24 for two people which adds to the total price. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. There are lots of fish for fishing. Kayaking is another option. Also lots of hiking and skiing options in town and at nearby state parks. We will be back to stay at this place again!

Innkeeper Response
We have Lowered our b&b rates for those who don't want a full breakfast! We have found that many people do not like eating a huge meal first thing in the morning but would rather get out and play! In an effort to be more GREEN and not waste food a Continental breakfast is NOW included in the LOWER rate for those who wish to get going quickly on your days activities! For those who have more time or don't need to watch your weight (lucky you!), a full and scrumptious breakfast awaits you in the morning, for an additional $13 per person including coffee, tea, juice, milk, cereal, yogurt, muffins and a hot entrée – “Chef’s Choice”. Favorites include beer-batter pancakes with maple syrup made locally, biscuits and gravy, eggs benedict, French toast, and a variety of omelets. All served with hash browns, muffins or toast, a breakfast meat and the fresh fruit of the season. The breakfast cost is based on $11 per person plus gratuity. The previous room rates were $145 and only had a full breakfast option. Note that the Full Cabin Rental does not include a breakfast or housekeeping plan but rather the use of the fully furnished kitchen & outdoor gas grill.


Thankful!!!

5 on September 26, 2011

Little did we know our trip (a gift from our kids) would turn into a trip to the emergency room in River Falls and then to United in St. Paul. Jim had a heart attack. I called Paige the next day and she was willing to pack and ship our belongings home (Duluth) for us. My son was able to pick them up. She only charged us for one night since we weren't there the second night. So thoughtful and very much appreciated.


Theresa and Jason Mault

5 on August 21, 2011

We thought this was an excellent deal given the accommodations!


I would like to return for kayaking.

5 on August 17, 2011

My daughter and I really enjoyed our overnight stay. Our room (king size bed) was very comfortable and we enjoyed the huge bathroom The continental breakfast was very good with plenty of selections. This would be a wonderful place to meet a group of friends or to have a family reunion. The kayaking looks like it would be a lot of fun. I feel the innkeeper, Paige, has really thought of everything. Thank you for a great stay!


kinni creek stay

3.8 on August 17, 2011

Beautiful cabin, clean, well kept. Had a wonderful time kayaking the next morning. We had never done it before but now plan on coming back!!


Kinni Creek overnight

3.6 on August 08, 2011

In and out for one night and a couple of days of fishing. Had a ball as we always do.


Stay at Kinni

3.6 on May 11, 2011

Room was nice, clean but small. A bit overpriced but very quaint. Nice breakfast in a cute kitchen area. I would stay again.

Innkeeper Response
The prices at our b&b are actually the least expensive of all of the b&b's in the entire St. Croix Valley Region. Unfortunately we cannot cater to cater to every budget. We do offer a full service stream-side lodge with river access, a cozy living room lounge to relax in and luxurious amenities including: Spa Services available by reservation ~ on site or 2 blocks distance at the spa. Hot tub outdoors overlooking the river. DVD & VCR movie selection. Cable TV & VCR & DVD's in guest rooms. WiFi Fireplaces in guest rooms. Cards, board games, puzzles. Massage by appointment. Bath Robes, slippers, & hair dryers. Popcorn, tea, cocoa, apple cider, and coffee (b&b plan) ice maker Fly fishing guides by appointment. Swimming Pool at Glen Park 8 blocks walk, or dip right here in the river! Kayak rentals on site! River Falls Public Library across the street 50 yards. River access right out the door for Class 1 Trout stream fishing! Fly Shop & Gifts on site. Flies, leader, tippet, rods, rental waders, books, cards, t-shirts, gifts, kayak accessories, vests, packs, fly boxes, complimentary coffee too and more....


Freedom!

4.8 on August 07, 2008

At last we found a place that we could do our own thing! Very laid back, more like a resort. We were not forced to have a full breakfast like at all of the other b&b's we've stayed at. They explained to us that they actually LOWERED their prices so those who choose not to have a full breakfast didn't have to pay for it. Plus we had the option of serving ourselves a nice and quick continental breakfast when we chose not when we were told! AND it was just enough, yogurt, fruit, hot and cold cereal, english muffins, bagels, sweet muffins, coffee, tea, cocoa, hot cider, juice and milk. We really appreciate that they cater to those with active lifestyles who wish to get out the door to their activities asap! When the Trout are biting we want to be on the water, not at the table eating breakfast! Thanks a million Paige and Dave you made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. We will definately make this an annual trip for our friends and family!


Just average--if you don't want breakfast

3.0 on August 05, 2008

This is a good place if you're interested in fly fishing or kayaking. There's a trout stream right out back. We knew that our room would be small and it was very small--actually no place to set anything, and a bunk over our queen-size so that you had to remember not to sit up and hit your head. We knew that a hot, hearty breakfast was not included in the reservation unless we paid $12 per person extra for it. So we were warned up front and I'm not complaining about that. It just seems odd for a B&B not to include a good hot breakfast. The "Continental Breakfast" that was included with the room was yogurt, cold muffins in the frig, instant oatmeal, cereal, etc., juice, and coffee. You wouldn't starve on that, but it's not wonderful. This place isn't really bad--it's decorated cute and the scenery is nice; it's just not terrific. I wouldn't stay there again. (There aren't many other B&B's in this area.) Most innkeepers fall all over themselves to make sure you're happy and enjoying yourself. The Kinni Creek has more a feeling of laissez faire. The lodge is convenient to downtown River Falls, a neat little town with nice shops. Also, if you need fishing gear or a license or have forgotten some piece of equipment, the lodge sells fishing and kayaking equipment right at the lodge. There are several nice restaurants in River Falls.

Innkeeper Response
We Lowered our rates for those who don't want a full breakfast! We have found that many folks do not like eating a huge meal first thing in the morning but would rather get out and play! In an effort to be more GREEN and not waste food a Continental breakfast is NOW included in the LOWER rate for those who wish to get going quickly on your days activities! For those who have more time or don't need to watch your weight (lucky you!), a full and scrumptious breakfast awaits you in the morning, for an additional $12 per person including coffee, tea, juice, and a hot entrée – “Chef’s Choice”. Favorites include beer-batter pancakes with maple syrup made locally, biscuits and gravy, and a variety of omelets. All served with hash browns, muffins or toast, a breakfast meat and the fresh fruit of the season.


Great, Comfortable Place

4.0 on May 19, 2008

I stayed here in 2000 with my husband and then again in 2007 with my girl friend. If you want a relaxed, no-fuss, feel-welcome place to stay, this is it. Paige works very hard to take care of her guests and to make sure they are comfortable. It's within walking distance of the downtown and the KC Chiefs training camp. Who needs a hotel room when a room at Kinni Creek is available?


Kinni Creek Lodge and Outfitters

Details

  • Nightly Rate $109 - $129
  • Reviews (32) 4.4
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7154257378

Visit Website »

View details

Top