Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
66 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful

4.8 on September 30, 2013

Walking Iron was charming. Beautifully decorated and clean with modern amenities. Karissa, the owner, was friendly and inviting and makes a delicious home-cooked breakfast.


Wonderful, historic B&B, fantastic getaway!

4.6 on July 10, 2013

Lovely home with a very romantic setting. Breakfast was very good and the hosts were wonderful! Highly reccommend!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! So glad that you enjoyed your stay!


Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway

5 on June 10, 2013

Just a short ride from Madison and Spring Green and it feels home. Karis presents a beautiful brakfast and relaxed conversation. Relaxing, settling next to a trout stream!


Walking Iron walking

4.0 on April 03, 2013

We loved our quiet, relaxing stay here, from the beautiful accommodations to 3 walks in town in 1 day (!) to the sauna to the welcoming other guests and host to the general ambience of quiet. We'll come back.


Fabulous getaway!

5 on February 01, 2013

What a beautiful home filled with ambiance, antiques and plenty of interesting artifacts! Every bit about our stay was exceptional. The pictures on the web are true. The rooms are adorable and very welcoming. Very clean and breakfast was awesome. We will do this again.


Excellent in all respects!

5 on November 17, 2012

The rennovation of this historic home has resulted in a perfect Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room (Doctor's Study ) was comfortable and unique. Breakfast was superior. It is close to the Frank Lloyd Wright house and House on the Rock, and also Madison. Walk to the Old Feed Mill for dinner. It is also great.


Relaxing Saturday afternoon and evening

4.8 on November 17, 2012

I had hoped that we could spend the weekend, but it turned out to be only 16 hours from 3 pm Saturday afternoon until 7 am Sunday morning. But, it was the most relaxing 16 hours that my wife and I had since July 4th (another b&b outing). Everything ~yes everything~ at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast was perfect. Need I say more?


Wonderful in every way!

5 on November 16, 2012

We spent an anniversary weekend in this beautiful part of Wisconsin, topped off by this elegant, warm, and welcoming B&B. The owners are engaging, yet respectful of the privacy of guests. Lovely having coffee on the wrap around porch accessible from the patio doors in our room prior to the delicious breakfast. We would definitely recommend Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast.


This is an amazing place. Very clean and breakfast was great.

5 on November 16, 2012

This is an amazing place. Very clean and breakfast was great.


A must stay!

4.6 on November 15, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and WOW, what a great first experience! Gorgeous property. Awesome! I will definitely ask my hubby to plan another surprise getaway at this B&B!! Hospitality was A+! Lots to do around the area. No pressure. Lots of romance. A+


Great Stay

4.8 on September 11, 2012

Beautiful inn, convenient location. Owner/staff helpful and accommodating.


Relaxing & Great Breakfasts

4.2 on September 10, 2012

We have been coming here for over 10 years. The owners are great people who take pride in their B&B & the history. Great whirlpools & rooms are decorated to period & comfortable.


Walking Iron B&B

4.4 on August 10, 2012

Beautiful home. Food was outstanding. Hostess was very nice & helpful.


The Best!

5 on April 16, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Walking Iron several times and have never been disappointed by anything. We have stayed in many BnB's all around the country and we have not found one that compares in value, comfort and quality. The best place for a romantic get away hands down!


Lovely place, great food

4.2 on August 30, 2011

This is the most beautifully restored B&B we have stayed at. The attention to period detail is amazing, with quality antiques, wallpaper, etc. But the bathrooms are state of the art! Ours (the Doctor's Study) had a double walk in shower with body spray plus a double whirlpool. Cushy bathrobes are also provided. The beds were a bit too soft for me, but this is a matter of personal preference. Breakfast was also the best we have had at a B&B. Some other places go over the top with gooey sweet heavy brunch dishes. But here, though there was plenty of food, the emphasis was on freshness and taste. This one had a large, perfectly baked muffin, delicious bacon, an egg in a potato nest, and fresh fruit. Coffee available all the time is another nice touch. Our only quibble was that the owners were not on hand to greet us when we arrived. A note was left on the door directing us to our room. We did not meet the owner until the next morning at breakfast. We felt a bit shortchanged, as others had written in the guestbook about how helpful she had been with suggestions for what to do and where to eat in the area, etc. Also, others had written about the library of DVDs, which we never managed to find. We know that unexpected things come up and owners can't always be on hand, but we were a bit surprised that no mention was made of it, no "I hope you were able to find everything," etc.


Stayed at Walking Iron in June 2011

4.8 on June 24, 2011

Wow! We were so very impressed with the level of care and detail that went not only into the restoration of this home, but the level of comfort and overall experience! The whirlpool tub and sauna were amazing and the bed that we slept on was probably the best sleep either of us have had in a long time. The food was exceptional too. All from scratch and gourmet to boot. We have stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts and this place by far is one of the best we have ever had the joy of staying at. The location and scenery were quaint and the small tv in the room afforded us the opportunity to watch a movie from bed and fall right to sleep. This place is a gem and what bed and breakfasts are all about.


SO RELAXING

4.4 on June 10, 2011

We stayed here for our 2nd anniversary, we can't wait to go back :)! The house is just beautiful the historic pictures make you feel connected with the past. The bed in our room was like sleeping on a cloud!! We loved the double head shower and 2 person whirlpool. It was very romantic. Karisa and David have done an amazing job on restoring this house! We will be back!


Relaxing & Charming!

4.4 on January 06, 2011

From your first step into this charming home, you will be delighted to find the attention to historical details coupled with modern conveniences. It is a warm, relaxing atmosphere, from the attic library to the wrap-around veranda. Karisa was a wonderful hostess & breakfast was both and ascetically pleasing and plentiful. You will not be disappointed here!


Another Great Getaway

5 on December 30, 2010

We stayed for three nights in Clara's Veranda (a plush, oh-so-comfortable room). This was our fifth visit to the Walking Iron, and we were once again met with beautiful accomodations, gracious innkeepers, and delicious breakfasts. Looking forward to our next getaway here!


Favorite get away!

5 on December 18, 2010

This is a favorite get away for us. David and Karissa are great and their B & B is beautiful, comfortable and quiet! Lots of Fun books to explore in the studies and the rooms are beautiful. We think it is an outstanding value. There is a great restaurant within walking distance for an evening meal and the Walking Iron Breakfasts are amazing.


outstanding B & B!

4.6 on December 14, 2010

The home was gorgeous...bery nicely appointed, and the amentities...simply indulgent! We have a modest home, so to be able to stay in a room (Doctor's Study) with a doubel whirlpool, double shower with body sprays...who could ask for more! We will definitely stay there again!


All I want in a B&B , and more

4.0 on December 11, 2010

My wife and I have an ongoing competition of who can book the best B&B My wife found Walking Iron and she won hands down. The service was impeccable; our room (The Doctor's Study) was comfortable and quiet; the "party shower" and the hot tub were perfect! The lounge area and wrap around porch were ideal for relaxing. The gardens were well kept. Breakfast was both delicious and ample and Karisa easily managed to suit breakfast to our dietary restrictions. The location for us was ideal as we were on a "Frank Lloyd Wright" pilgrimage and Taliesin was only a short drive away


Loved it!!

5 on December 05, 2010

We stayed here January 2010. It is located about 2 and a half hours from our house. It was well worth the drive!! The town is so adorable. The Walking Iron is even more adorable. We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent!! Karisa and Dave are so nice. We really enjoyed meeting them and hope to return soon!! Thanks, Christy and Matthew Cote


An Adventure . . . .

5 on December 04, 2010

Acting on a whim, my husband and I were able to reserve The Doctor's Study at the Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast. The room included a wonderful combination of historical authenticity, luxury, and modern amenities. Warm, cozy, and just like home. Breakfast, made by Karisa and served promptly at 9, was a meal not to be missed! The baked french toast with pecans and fresh fruit were exquisite and delicious--the presentation was beautiful! Great location and beautiful grounds. We can't wait to return . . . . . .


Home away from Home

4.0 on December 04, 2010

I grew up in Mazomanie and having this wonderful place available to me when I return for visits has been a treat. The breakfasts are outstanding....you won't need to eat again until dinner! I look forward to returning to Walking Iron B & B after a busy or stressful day....peaceful and relaxing.


Wonderful anniversay getaway

4.6 on December 01, 2010

My husband and I are from Madison and last October decided to celebrate our anniversary at a Bed and Breakfast. We picked Walking Iron because it was close enough to be a short drive, but still felt like getting away. We stayed in Lenora's Garden View, and it was AMAZING. The furnishings (especially the lovely bathroom and hot tub) were beautiful and perfect for relaxing together, and we made good use of the sauna. The breakfasts were sumptuous and so huge we couldn't finish them. We loved the complimentary hot cocoa. The whole place really felt like 'home'. Mazomanie itself isn't that exciting - although we do recommend the Old Feed Mill and have eaten there multiple times - but there are tons of things in the area to do; state parks, other towns and attractions, wineries, etc. Or, you can just lounge around in your room, soak up in the whirlpool tub and watch movies from your canopied bed. We loved it so much we came back for our second anniversary.


We'll be back ...

5 on November 28, 2010

This was our 2nd stay at Walking Iron B&B and we are already talking about our next visit. One night is not enough to enjoy all there is to offer both at Walking Iron and the surrounding area. Food is fabulous, decor and rooms outstanding. This is what B&B's should be like ... always fun to meet others that are staying and visit with them and what they did when in the area.


A Worthy Escape

5 on October 18, 2010

A most pleasant and enjoyable Bed and Breakfast. Spectacular breakfast, immaculate, decorative, comfortable rooms. An extremely fine place to "escape" the everyday.


Warmth and Elegance in a Gorgeous Setting

5 on June 18, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at this enchanting historic home to celebrate our 17th anniversary, and we were overwhelmed with the warmth of the welcome and the beauty of our surroundings. We arrived to find our room (Lenora's Garden View) waiting for us, immaculate and beautifully decorated, with light music playing in the background. The house was charming, packed with fascinating antiques (the two pump organs and the victrola were my favorites). The innkeeper (Karisa Friske) was friendly, and shared some fascinating details of the history of the house and town with us over an amazing breakfast. And for where I am in life currently, the best thing of all was that I felt like we were welcomed into this amazing home and given the freedom to do precisely what we wanted to do -- to read for hours on the porch, enjoying the singing of the birds and the pattering rain one day, and to stroll around the grounds and through the town the next, enjoying the beautiful natural setting of the house and the delightful quaintness of Mezomanie. Overall, we have no regrets (except for choosing to eat at "Grandma Mary's" the first night there -- yipes! -- but there are plenty of better options available!), and we would do it all again in a heartbeat.


Wonderful Weekend

5 on May 03, 2010

My husband surprised me with a mini getaway night! Lenora's room was beautifully done and romantic. The CD playing was a great welcome. Breakfast was truly worthy of picture taking!


A Gem of a B&B!

4.8 on February 19, 2010

Luxurious accomodations, in an elegant, historical surrounding. Thoughtful amenities, gourmet breakfast, quaint and charming town!


Great stop in the middle of nowhere

4.4 on November 08, 2009

Spotless, eclectic decor, with Carisa as a very welcoming host. Walked to dinner in town, Wall Street Rest, for incredible martinis and freshly made pasta. Who knew you could get whole wheat pasta fresh in the middle of Wisconsin? We would definitely go back!


An awesome experience

4.0 on November 03, 2009

A perfect situation -- a home away from home with more ambience and flair.


We'll be Back

4.4 on November 02, 2009

This was our first stay at the Walking Iron and we'll definitely be going back. The Williams Thomas room was beautiful with the best bathroom I've experienced at a B&B. The house is lovely and the hospitality was outstanding. My favorite part of the day was breakfast. It was a nice relaxing get away for my husband and I before the birth of our second child. I would recommend a massage by Adrian. It was my husbands first time and she did a great job making us both feel comfortable and relaxed. It was a great way to start our weekend.


walking iron escape

4.4 on October 30, 2009

had a wonderful summer stay at the walking iron. Met by Karisa the owner who told us the history of the house. We loved the small town and were attending a play in Spring Green. Quiet and very comfortable. Highly Recommend. Beautiful and very clean.


Cozy and comforting

4.0 on October 30, 2009

Our stay at this property was very nice. The room was cozy and inviting. The bathroom was wonderful. The service was very nice. Did not get a chance to take advantage of the spa services. Good breakfast. I would love to return for a romantic weekend.


Summer respite

5 on October 29, 2009

This was our fourth stay at the Walking Iron, but the first in the summer. (Our other three stays have been in October). We enjoyed the visit with David and Karisa, the delicious food, cozy & comfortable accomodations, and time just sitting on the porch listening to the fountain. It was a beautiful way to spend a summer weekend. We will return again, of course.


An Elegant Experience

4.8 on October 22, 2009

The home is lovely and the decorations and furnishings appear to have been chosen lovingly and appropriate for the spot they have been placed. Our breakfast was attractively served - plated which was a special treat and also delicious. Our William Thomson room was inviting, cozy and comfortable.


The Greatest

5 on October 21, 2009

We have stayed at many places around the world and none were any nicer than Walkingiron. If your in the area you can't go wrong in staying here. We Loved it.


wonderful weekend

4.0 on October 20, 2009

Our stay at the Walking Iron BB was absolutely wonderful. The house has been beautifully restored, but with great amenities. The breakfast was certainly tops and we were lucky enough to have 2 meals.


Great Evening

4.8 on October 19, 2009

My wife and I spent a Sunday Evening at the Walking Iron Inn. The Doctor's Study was a great room, with a great shower. The breakfast the following morning was out of this world, and we could not have asked for a better hostess than Karisa. It was the start of our trip to Minnesota, and it certainly got us off on the right foot. Great Place!


Long Time Guests

5 on October 18, 2009

We have stayed at Walking Iron many times over the past decade. We love come here and find it a delightful escape from the everyday.


Wonderful!

4.6 on October 15, 2009

Couldn't be happier with food, room & hosts.


peaceful environment - delicious food

5 on October 14, 2009

Our stay couldn't have been better. The inkeepers were friendly and available, but we still felt like we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast was outstanding. Our room was cozy and relaxing. Next time, I want to stay longer.


Best Bed and Breakfast

3.8 on October 14, 2009

We wanted a special place for our wedding night and were given a gift $ to the Walking Iron B&B as a wedding gift. We chose the Clara's varanda room. It is a beautiful room. David and Karisa made us feel so welcome. The view from the room is beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. My husband still remembers the French toast and we were recently talking about spending our first anniversary at Walking Iron. We had the romance package with champagne and chocolates. We took pictures outside in the beautiful landscape. We bought two coffee cups from the Walking Iron B&B and are happily reminded of how great our experience with this B&B was! Excellent place to stay. Highly recommended


Great Weekend

4.4 on October 11, 2009

David and Karisa were a wonderful team running their bed and breakfast - most times working hand in hand. They obviously put a lot of work into the renovation of this B&B to make it warm and inviting to all their guests. Thank you David and Karisa for creating this wonderful retreat for all of us! Dawn and Jason


Walking Iron is a Gem

5 on October 11, 2009

We have been regular guests at Walking Iron for nearly 10 years and always look forward to our annual visits. This year's October visit was no exception. The home is meticulously restored and the rooms elegant and comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding - lovely presentation and always tasty and filling. We love packing wine and snacks to enjoy on the veranda. And we cannot say enough good things about the owners - David and Karisa. They are gracious hosts, who don't hesitate to go the extra mile - including helping us to change a flat car tire! The locale is quiet and relaxing. We enjoy visiting the many quaint shops in Mazo, Spring Green, and nearby Mineral Point. There is great golfing to be had nearby at the House on the Rock Resort. And the APT is not to be missed. In our many travels we have stayed at dozens of B&Bs over the years - and Walking Iron consistently remains at the top of our 'favorites' list.


A Wonderful Stay

4.4 on October 11, 2009

We were totally delighted with our 2 night stay. The room and bathroom was wonderful and the breakfasts were extraordinary. They featured an egg dish along with a waffle or french toast. We also appreciated the single brew coffee maker which allowed coffee to be available all day. This was our first visit and we plan to return.


Oh What a Beautiful Morning

5 on October 09, 2009

We spent two beautiful days at the Walking Iron. Everything was perfect. Interesting area to explore, lovely house, great food and Shakespeare at night under the stars. We will return.


Amazing!

4.8 on October 08, 2009

The Walking Iron B&B was absolutely wonderful! The rooms were great and service was wonderful! Comfortable & cozy -- a great time!


Wonderful stay

5 on October 07, 2009

We had a wonderful, romantic couple of days at this beautiful B&B. We would highly recommend it to all!


Absolutely fabulous

4.8 on October 07, 2009

This was our first stay at a B&B. Dave & Karisa were so gracious. Our room was charming, private & quiet. We loved the whirlpool in our room and the veranda expanded our room for total relaxation. The breakfasts were beautifully presented, delicious, and we really enjoyed our visit with the other guests. Every minute of our two night stay was absolutely fabulous. Can't wait until we can make a return visit.


Absolutely Fantastic

4.8 on October 07, 2009

We've been coming for the past 3 years to celebrate our anniversary in August and will continue to come over and over again. Karisa's breakfasts are absolutely phenomenal and a delight just to look at. We always stay in Lenora's Garden View room. The bathroom is huge and has a very large whirlpool. The Inn is a wonderful romantic get away for us. Thanks for always making our stay just terrific. Tony & Nancy, Milwaukee


Wonderful two days

4.8 on October 07, 2009

This beautiful bed and breakfast is one that we will return to. The rooms have been meticulously redone by David himself-and it shows. We especially liked the beautiful babbling creek running along side the house. Host were friendly and sincere.


Lovely inn, great village exerience

5 on September 30, 2009

I looked online for nearly an hour for a central Wisconsin B&B that was both a pre-1900 vintage AND had a whirlpool available. Walking Inn fit the bill completely. I plan to return on my own some day for my special treat.


This Was A Wonderful Experience

5 on September 25, 2009

The staff make you feel like you're visiting family. I would recommend this B&B for its friendliness and accomodating. What a great experience.


Simply Lovely!

4.0 on September 24, 2009

What a coz and historic inn to stay at. We emjoyed our room with romantic music and fuzzy bath dress. Swinging by the creek was so relaxing. To top it off breakfast was simsply great! We loved it!


Historically elegant

5 on August 25, 2009

The Walking Iron B&B was a lovely getaway for the two of us. We loved the house, decor, food, and the owners werefriendly and fun to talk to. We're definitely going back!


Great Wisconsin Inn

5 on July 12, 2009

We stayed at this lovely inn and had a wonderful time. The room (The Doctor's Study) was spacious and comfortable with a great bathroom. Overall, the inn was very quiet. The innkeepers were accomodating but unobtrusive. We would not hesitate to recommend this inn and look forward to our next visit.


Tough to beat

5 on June 03, 2009

The Walking Iron was a wonderful B&B: absolutely charming, historic, and romantic. We loved the size of the rooms and the huge whirlpool tub in the elegant bathroom. We are already planning our next visit and don't think any other B&B can live up to the Walking Iron!


The best of Mazo-

5 on January 13, 2009

This place is very special. Peaceful and restful. Wonderful owners. It has made my visits back to my hometown something to look forward to-even in the winter!


Luxurious comfort

5 on October 08, 2008

David and Karisa are so personable. From the moment you walk in the door to the invitation to return as you leave, you are in the company of friends. This was our third visit, and we've already scheduled our next one. The food is plentiful and delicious. The entire house is decorated beautifully -- and yet is completely comfortable and "live-able". David and Karisa have made so much of the history of the home available as well, which just adds to the experience.


had a great stay

3.8 on August 03, 2008

wonderful amenities


Lovely weekend getaway

4.8 on November 18, 2007

The inn is beautiful and David and Karisa made us feel right at home the moment we arrived. Each morning we had a filling, delicious and unique breakfast. The whirlpool tub in our room was the pinnacle of relaxation for us. Having our first b&b stay at Walking Iron was wonderful, and we would recommend this inn to anyone looking for relaxation, friendly innkeepers and a quaint friendly town to explore.


Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 19, 2007

We have stayed at many b&b's. This one is the most elegant and beautiful of all!


Small Town Greatness!

4.0 on September 19, 2007

My favorite place to stay when I visit my family. Probably the best thing that happened to Mazomanie.


Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $160
  • Reviews (66) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Toll free 1-8775729877

Visit Website »

View details

Top