The Speckled Hen Inn B&B Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

A great stay.

4.8 on November 30, 2013

My husband and I had a wondeful time. We love the room that we chose and most especially the privacy. The food was great and love their hospitality. We are already thinking of going back here.


Wonderful Experience

5 on July 17, 2013

The Speckled Hen Bed and Breakfast came highly recommended by every travel site I checked and from friends/family. If you are looking for a quality Bed and Breakfast in Madison PLEASE stay here. You will definitely enjoy it. Booking directly through their website took about ten minutes from start to finish and we received a reminder a few days before our reservation via email explaining policies, etc. Upon arriving we were checked in right away and given a tour of the facilities: ~ Our Room (Lakes) ~ - Steam Shower (Had never used one before, major highlight of our stay) - Rain Water Shower (Out of commission during our stay) - Two person tub with water jets (I want one of these in MY house now) - Very large bed with multiple king-sized pillows. - Satellite Television (We didn't use it at all, but it's there) ~ Common Area ~ - Multiple board games (Chess, Checkers, etc) - Nice selection of wines. - Complimentary sodas and a few snacks (pretzels, etc) - Quite a few couches and chairs to lounge in. ~ Outdoors ~ - Large fenced area for 10 (ish) sheep and (at least) one llama. - Multiple sitting areas both directly in-front of the house and down by the sheep. - Scenic walking routes throughout the property (we didn't use most of them as there were TONS of bugs when we were there) We spent our evening lounging in the room, taking walks on the property, sweating in the steam shower, soaking in the two-person bath-tub, watching the sunset (everything is perfectly positioned to watch the sunset), and then falling asleep contented in the excessively comfortable bed. We woke up, took another walk, ate a home-made breakfast which consisted of eggs from the property's hens and artichokes which I believe were from the property as well. After this we checked out, paying via card, and were on our way back to life.


stay in token creek room

4.4 on April 29, 2013

loved our stay. as residents of Madison we love finding a place in town to get away to and at the Speckled Hen Inn it was hard to believe we hadn't traveled miles and miles away, it was so easy to leave our work and business behind and unplug.


The best of both: countryside and city

4.8 on August 16, 2012

We stayed at Speckled Hen Inn in July 2011, and promised to write a review - so sorry to be a year later! We loved this inn - the location was ideal for us as it is so close to the city for exploring Madison and well-situated for the drive to Taliesin, but feels absolutely as though it is in the country with a view of the lamb pasture and hen house. Delightful! Breakfast with home-made bacon was delicious and we enjoyed the innkeepers' hospitality. We found it a quiet, relaxing stay - even found the slight hum of the hghway soothing!


Home away from Home

5 on June 23, 2012

My husband and I recently spent the first two days of our honeymoon here and had a wonderful time. The accommodations were perfect down to every last detail: fresh water in the rooms, a private bathroom with a roomy shower and clawfoot tub, complimentary soda and coffee in the communal kitchen, a great selection of literature in the room, wine galore to charge to the tab, board games in the living room, a plush bed, and fresh-baked cookies from the assistant. The wooded property is beautiful, with a lane that winds around the llama / sheep pasture. As mentioned in another review, it is fairly close to the interstate, but I found that I didn't notice any noise. We stayed on a Sunday / Monday, so we barely had any contact with other guests. The stay was private and quiet. The owners are friendly, but leave you to your own devices. The breakfasts were hands-down the best we had on our honeymoon; the owners should open a restaurant! My husband is vegetarian and I am an ovo-vegetarian, and our dietary needs were more than accommodated. We got oatmeal-blueberry pancakes the first day, an omelet with eggs from their own hens the second day, and fresh fruit with every meal. I'm still writing odes to the blueberry tart that I had for dessert the second day. Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.


Gorgeous place to send your vacation!

4.8 on June 03, 2012

The food here was amazing!the Rhubarb tart is to die for. Bob and Pat were so welcoming. This was my first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast but they made me feel at ease from the moment I stepped foot on their property. Happy, the Goldendoodle, just made my day. I felt like it was a little piece of heaven. My fiance and I had a wonderful time we will be sure to return to enjoy these amenities again.


Delightful experience

4.0 on August 29, 2011

I just stayed just for one night but it was so comfortable. And Pat and Bob served an amazing breakfast. I shall go back to stay longer.


Wonderful weekend!

4.8 on March 21, 2011

My husband and I were traveling for a wedding and stayed in the Haywood Hardy suite...so plush, so relaxing. The in room fireplace, and the in room jacuzzi were wonderful! Bob and Pat are very friendly and terrific cooks, and the Goldendoodle, Happy, brightens everyone's day. We will definitely be back the next time we are up this way!


Wonderful, relaxing country inn sooo... close to the city

4.4 on January 04, 2011

We have stayed at this inn 4 times, twice this year alone. It's best when you can stay awhile and enjoy this scenic and peaceful property while doing all the many things Madison has to offer. Pat & Bob really provide a great country inn experience (only 15 minutes from the Capitol). One of our top two favorite inns in WI.


Speckled Hen Inn Madison WI

4.4 on November 19, 2010

We recently stayed at this bed and breakfast for a weekend get away. It is a comfortable inn, and the hosts, Pat and Bob are wonderful. It was our second stay there. The room was large, the inn is quiet, and the food was delicious. They have a super "house dog" named Happy. We had a very enjoyable time, and would certainly stay here again.


Great Location, Rooms, Food, and Owners!

5 on October 20, 2010

This was our first vacation together and our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. If all Bed and Breakfast's are as good as this one we can honestly say we will never stay in another hotel again. The food was delicious, the Madison Lakes room was super cozy, and the location was superb. The animals added to our experience and Happy, the Golden Doodle, was the best tour guide we could ask for! Would stay again!


Fantastic B&B!

4.8 on September 22, 2010

Very nice rooms, wonderful breakfast, very nice hosts. We really enjoyed our stay here.


3rd Wedding Anniversity

5 on August 18, 2010

Our stay at the Speckled Hen Inn was wonderful! I would recommend this B + B anyday. The food was phenominal and the owners were very extremely gracious. It was a very restful and relaxing stay and I can't wait to go back again!


Madison 1

4.0 on August 17, 2010

The inn is lovely, the food was delicious and the innkeepers were very welcoming.


Speckled Inn

3.6 on August 12, 2010

Innkeepers responded quickly to reservation request and check-in was worry free. Pat was a great hostess and prepared a delectable breakfast. Room was well appointed and clean. Amenities included bathrobes,wine glasses and evening cheeses. Rates are slightly high. While the setting is rural, there is some highway noise.


A terrific getaway

5 on May 18, 2010

Excellent attention to detail, excellent breakfast, set up is very private, beds are comfortable and innkeepers are accomodating. Definately a jewel in the rough. A taste of the country yet only 15 minutes from Madison. Highly reccommended.


A perfect getaway

5 on October 20, 2009

I spent my anniversary at the Speckled Hen Inn and had an amazing experience. We had the house to ourselves at night, using the home theater to curl up and have a nice, private evening. The rooms were outstanding, with enormous bathrooms. In the morning we played with the couple's dog, Sunny, and had the most amazing breakfast together. We can't wait to go back again this year.


Romantic & Relaxing

4.6 on August 17, 2009

Beautiful & relaxing Inn--made our anniversary weekend so special! Extremely clean and very accommodating---the water, soda's, coffee & tea, popcorn & movies, computer, etc...wonderful! Pat and Bob are fabulous hosts and the breakfasts were out of this world! We very much enjoyed Madison and your restaurant suggestions were right on. Thank you for a wonderful stay --- we'll be back! Deb & Randy


Wonderful!

4.0 on August 13, 2009

The innkeepers are super nice and accomodating. The place is a gem. Its a wonderful getaway. Better than any B&B I have ever visited.


What an amazing escape!

5 on July 12, 2009

We drove up to the inn wanting to drop off our suitcase and explore the area. Once we arrived however...we wanted to just stay and relax...what a beautiful setting. The gazebo, the grounds, the common area with games, movies, piano, delicious snacks , wine and cheese. So we just hung out until it was time for dinner in a great local spot recommended by our hosts. The house is decorated beautifully and you can feel the love the innkeepers have for what they are doing in all corners. The guests rooms are roomy, cozy and romantic, as are the bath rooms. Satin sheets added to a great nights sleep. Our breakfast was made with fresh local ingredients and was superb. Pat and Bob are gracious hosts. We have been to many, many B&B's across the country and the Speckled Hen is now at the top of the list. We will return and recommend you check it out! So close to Madison and all the campus activities. Donna and Mitchell Yates


Feel like you are in the country, so close to Madison!

4.2 on May 14, 2009

We stayed here last summer for a night on our way to Chicago, and it was perfect! The room was clean, the bed was super comfy (Token Creek Room), and the breakfast was divine!! The owners were super friendly without being intrusive. We definitely want to stay here again!


What a wonderful getaway!

5 on November 26, 2008

We've gone to this Bed & Breakfast twice & both times we had a wonderful time. The house & the surroundings are just beautiful.. The breakfast was exceptionally delicious.. Our room was very comfortable, clean & relaxing.. We couldn't ask for a better getaway from our busy lives!


Best Bed and Breakfast, we always come back!

5 on November 03, 2008

Both Bob & Pat make us feel at home. The rooms are beautiful & the beds are increadibly comfy. The breakfasts are to die for. You can see they have a passion for cooking and a passion for making you feel welcome. We stay in the Token Creek room every time we stay. We plan to come back every year on our wedding anniversary, and more often when we can. It is our new vacation spot! ~ The Williams


Wonderful Place!!

5 on September 25, 2008

We recently stayed at the Speckled Hen Inn for our wedding night. It was the absolute perfect place! The room was beautiful, the breakfast excellent. Thank you for a very special place to spend a very special night.


Really the best, try it!

5 on June 12, 2008

Laura and Luca from Italy


The Speckled Hen Inn B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $240
  • Reviews (25) 4.7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (608) 244-9368

Visit Website »

View details

Top