Thorp House Inn & Cottages Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
79 Reviews

Write A Review

Atradition of summer vacationing at the Thorp House

4.4 on August 27, 2012

The Thorp House has been our family's summer vacation home for more than twenty years. Three generations of our family have experienced the Thorp House experience. The staff and properitors are always there to serve and make our vacations relaxing and comfortable. They also provide an affordable two week vacation for us. I highly recommend the Thorp House Inn and Cottages to anyone. Allen Vogt


3 Days in the Door.

4.2 on August 23, 2012

The location, staff and house were wonderful. Everyone was very helpful and kind during our stay. The breakfast was not very good...actually really kind of disappointing. On our last day we refrained from eating it, and ate breakfast down the road.


Anniversary trip

3.6 on July 09, 2012

Wonderful location, very beautiful room. The whirlpool was wonderful to relax and enjoy a glass of wine. lack of hot water in morning routine. Would have enjoyed a little more substantial breakfast (pancakes, omelet, anytype of breakfast meat) instead of fruit, muffin, boiled egg and a artichoke strata. Staff seemed friendly, didn't spend much visiting time with us. Also had let them know it was a Anniversary Trip and thought they may leave a surprise in our room. (heard the Thorp Inn had done this in the past) Overrall would recommend to others.


Girls' Weekend

3.6 on May 20, 2012

The location could not be better, the shops and restaurants of Fish Creek are right outside your door. The pictures online didn't do our cottage justice. That is something I worry about when I see pictures online, that they will be better then the real thing. No worries here. The cottage was adorable, comfortable, and the dining nook was larger then it appeared online. I was annoyed that a place, clearly designed for more then 2 people, had a per person fee. It had 3 beds in two bedrooms, yet you have to pay $20/night for each person over 2. They do tell you this up front, so it isn't a surprise. But it makes me question the value, especially in the off season. They don't clean daily, and you are expected to do your dishes and remove your trash when you leave. I am not sure what extra cost there is to them to justify charging me $40 a night extra for 4 people instead of 2. As far as the service, the room was spotless. However our DVD player didn't function. When we asked about it, we basically got blew us off by saying she didn't know anything about how to set it up so she could take a look but it wouldn't be much use. So we decided to figure it out ourselves. Eventually we realized something was broken, so we called back to see if we could get a new one. The innkeeper told us she was off site, so it would be a bit before she could get there. We eventually get a new DVD player, which we were very appreciative of but I do feel like the situation should have been handled more professionally and that we shouldn't have been made to feel like we were inconveniencing them. There is no breakfast included for cottages, so I can't speak to the food. Over all. Location was great. Cottage was adorable and clean. Value was okay. Service so-so. I would consider staying there again, but they haven't earned my loyalty and on my next trip I will probably give somewhere else a shot.


Great Place

4.8 on February 09, 2012

Great rooms, great bathrooms, and even better service. Fantastic breakfast.


Winter at Thorpe House Inn

4.6 on January 27, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Thorpe House. We loved the eclectic library collection, fireplace and cozy accommodations. Our hostess, Lelah was outstanding-very warm, welcoming and helpful. We will visit again!


Progressive Supper - Jan 2012

4.4 on January 11, 2012

The food presented during the progressive suppper was not as expected given the circumstances.. Otherwise, the stay at the THI was exceptional.


The Quail Cabin

3.4 on January 05, 2012

In addition to the main building B&B, Thorp House has several small cabins on the property. We stayed at the Quail cabin. It was a quaint site in a quaint town (Fish Creek), nicely decorated in country style, with two bedrooms (larger than expected), a living area with fireplace, breakfast nook, small but fully equipped kitchen, and bath with a jacuzzi tub. All in all well worth the really rather modest price. I will stay there again.


Perfect Getaway

5 on January 03, 2012

Great hosts and great facilities. Very quaint getaway and the perfect diversion from the big city.


First time at a B&B Thorp House Inn

4.8 on December 24, 2011

This was our first time staying at a B&B. The Thorp House was very romantic and enchanting! The decor of the house was absolutely beautiful in every detail. All bedding arrangements were comfortable. Our room and community quarters were exceptionally clean. The owner and Innkeeper were friendly, hospitable, and gracious. They made our first time memorable and enjoyable. We visited over the Christmas holiday season and were able to enjoy various activities at the state park and local towns. The community of Fish Creek, WI made us feel welcomed. I highly recommend visiting at the Thorp House Inn & cottages. We plan on staying again in the future.


Great experience at Thorp House.

4.0 on November 14, 2011

Our stay at the Thorp house was a very pleasant experience. Staff was very friendly and met all our needs. The room was very clean and neat. We would stay there again!


Glad I Chose The Thorp House!

4.8 on November 11, 2011

Very warm and inviting with a touch of mystery. Beautiful interior. Excellent service. Nice, simple and well made breakfast. A highlight of our trip.


Cottage away form home

4.8 on November 03, 2011

We loved the Thorp House Inn and will come back many many times!! The only reason I give the rooms a 4 star rating is that the beds in the cottages are painfully uncomfortable. That is my absolute only complaint. I loved everything about the Inn... except for the beds! Other than that, the cottages are adorable and well appointed. Perfect for a little getaway!! We will go back but just hope the mattresses are different!!


Review of Cottages

4.0 on October 26, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages for our honeymoon. We had a great time and the cottage was very well equiped. It had all the essentials in the kitchen so we were able to prepare a lot of our meals in the cottage. The owner of the Bed & Breakfast was also very helpful when it came to dining recommendations. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay! We have vacationed in Door County and stayed at the Thorp Inn for the past 2 years and we will probably stay there again next year!


THorpe House

3.2 on October 13, 2011

It would've been nice to have some hot breakfast including eggs or pancakes instead of just coffee cake, yogurt, boiled eggs..


Perfect stay in Teal Cottage!

4.0 on October 08, 2011

Everything was perfect for our Fall getaway. Wonderful location in the heart of town but very quiet. We were able to bike to breakfast and to cruise around town. Great restaurants all within a block or two. We recommend a cottage stay at Thorp House.


Wren cottage

4.2 on October 04, 2011

Wonderful location, wonderful staff, wonderful cozy cottage..


An unfortunate experience made better

3.0 on October 04, 2011

We had planned to stay here for 2 nights for a mini honeymoon after our wedding, but had to cut our stay short. The building and room were quite beautifully decorated and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, due to a lack of hot water and an uncomfortable bed we ended up leaving a night early. We were assured this was not a regular complaint and that they would do what they could to rectify the situation and make sure this didn't happen to another guest. The owner of the establishment was very understanding an apologetic and gave us a full refund for our stay.


review of dove cottage

3.2 on September 30, 2011

cottage was clean and was decorated nicely. had all the extras that are needed our stay was a special getaway and the cottage helped make it special. would defenitaly return.


Early Fall in Door County

4.8 on September 26, 2011

We just returned home from a road trip circling Lake Michigan. One of our favorite stops was Thorp House Inn. We stayed three nights in the "Maria" Room. The home is lovely, innkeeper welcoming, and Door county area delightful. Ordered the reprinted "Bittersweet" by LaVyrle Spence before we went and enjoyed staying in the inn that inspired the novel. Area favorites, Fish Boil at White Gull Restaurant, Light houses, Cave Point, Peninsula State Park and sitting on the wide Veranda of Thorp House.


Return to Door County

3.2 on September 26, 2011

Enjoyed staying in a bit of Door County history and out of the traffic zones of the busy streets! Would have liked to be a bit closer to the water. Price competition is increasing in the market and would like to see more special promotions.


Thorp House in September

4.4 on September 23, 2011

The room and staff were excellent. Leila was very nice and helpful! The breakfast was ok, just pastries and fruit. The inn should consider hot cooked breakfast.


Goldilocks Cottage

3.6 on September 18, 2011

Dinning was not included which was perfect for us since we could prepare meals when we wished instead. Our cottage was noisy at times because of the road traffic , but inside was everything that we expected from a cottage. The only problem we encountered was that it took awhile to get the hot water to turn hot but once it did each time it was fine. This was a perfect place for a base to sight see from. I would certainly use it again.The people at the main inn were very accommodating and friendly when we needed anything.


Best B&B in Fish Creek!

4.4 on September 17, 2011

We had an amazing time at the Thorp House. The owner was friendly, the rooms were spectacular and the breakfast was great. We would definitely return to the Thorp House and recommend it to our friends!


Would recommend

4.2 on September 15, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing. The owner made us feel right at home and was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were gorgeous!!


Great Spot

4.8 on September 11, 2011

We stayed in the main house for four nights and found the room to exceed our expectations. It is less than a block to the main street in Fish Creek yet the Thorpe House was away from the noise and activity and therefore very quiet and restful. The owner was helpful in making dining and entertainment activities. The breakfasts were always quite good with excellent presentation of the table and food. We would absolutely not hesitate in returning to the Thorpe House again and again.


Quail Cottage

3.8 on September 09, 2011

We had a fantastic stay in the Quail cottage and can't wait to return.


excellent choice

5 on September 05, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our late August day stay. The Thorp House is a clean, delightful B & B and when we return to Fish Creek we will definately stay here again. It is a great location from which to visit the north and central parts of Door County. Washington Island is within easy reach from here. The breakfast was totally adequate, served with care.


Our Anniversary Getaway

5 on September 02, 2011

We prefer Bed & Breakfast Inns because of the relaxing atomsphere, privacy, historical site, antiques, better breakfast food, social time, and walking distance to downtown. The Thorpe House has all of these and we recommend couples to stay for two nights or more because of the home feeling the Innkeeper offers. We enjoyed the small town of Fish Creek and would tell anyone to try the slow pace. Wonderful!


I guess we were hungry

4.0 on September 01, 2011

Well, we may not be the most experienced B&B stayers but have stayed at several over the years. I guess we were expecting a little more for the breakfast part of the "B". I was more of a continental with scones, fruit and a hard boiled egg. I would say that this was the first time it was not some sort of egg bake or skillet so we ended up looking for breakfast elsewhere so that added to our expense on the trip. Other then that the place is beautiful, great service, very nice hostess and very clean. Everything we have come to expect from the rate we paid for the Bed part. Just a little shy on the breakfast.


Sisters Getaway Weekend

3.2 on August 31, 2011

My sister and I spent three days in the Teal Cottage nestled in the woods behind the main building. This was our fourth trip to the Door County Peninsula and our third stay at Thorp House. We found the cottage very clean and comfortable with a convenient floor plan. Though small, the kitchen area is open to the main living space and made it easy to access the cooking equipment. The nights were quiet and peaceful. The bed linens and mattresses very appealing and comfortable. We provided our own food and did our own meal preparations so the "Dining" category rating is irrelevant. We certainly plan to return to Thorp House in the future.


Perfect summer celebration destination

4.4 on August 29, 2011

We were greeted warmly at the door and after being shown the hospitality center (warm and cold water, tea bags (etc), mugs, a refrigerator for guest use) we were shown upstairs to our beautiful guest room. We enjoyed the nice linens, ceiling fan, roomy shower, jacuzzi tub with a skylight(!) and lovely decor of the room called "Emma". It was a beautiful sanctuary to return to after enjoying all the fun Fish Creek and the surrounding area has to offer. The lovely wicker furniture filled front porch and the inviting library were also special spots we enjoyed during our stay. We enjoyed yummy baked coffee cake and muffins and fresh fruit for breakfast along with hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola and plenty of fresh coffee. We sometimes prefer a freshly cooked egg dish. We noticed in the guest book that many couples come here on their honeymoon or to celebrate an anniversary, which was true for us also. It was our first visit to Door County and this Inn helped make our visit very enjoyable and memorable.


Finch Cottage

4.4 on August 28, 2011

Our stay in Finch Cottage was great. The cottage was extremely tidy upon arrival, and we loved that we could utilize our stone patio each even with a cookout. We want a bit more privacy than the Inn maybe allowed, which was the reason for choosing a cottage stay. We were a bit surprised at the close proximity between the cottages and Inn, but it was not anything that put a damper on our stay. The closeness to the shops and water was definitely a plus. Overall, we highly recommend the Thorp House Inn and Cottages to anyone looking for a quaint, friendly, and clean stay in the lovely Door County. We will be returning in years to come.


Nice Cottage

3.8 on August 24, 2011

Cottages do not get breakfast so I cannot speak about the food. Our cabin was well represented by the photos on the web site. We had a nice stay and would recommend the cottages. It is also a great location, walking distance to everything in Fish Creek. We will be returning to the area next year but it sounds like it may not be possible to get a reservation for a cottage during the month of July (we stayed in August) and there is a minimum one week stay in July.


door county weekend

5 on August 17, 2011

Good food, however no hot breakfast. Lots of fruit, granola. and delicious pastry. Leila was a joyful person to talk to. The bed was very comfortable .Looking forward to our next visit!


Great time

4.6 on August 14, 2011

We had a great time while there. The owner and staff were very helpful. Our room was great.


Truly Wonderful Hotel on my Honeymoon

5 on August 13, 2011

Several weeks ago we spent 3 days of our honeymoon at the Thorp Inn in Fish Creek. I cannot recommend it enough! Not only is the place itself beautifully decorated down to the tiniest details but the amenities and service are second to none. The staff treat you as if you're their own personal house guest. The breakfast was delicious and varied everyday. The location couldn't be better as you can walk everywhere in Fish Creek and I just couldn't believe the value. I will absolutely stay at the Thorp every time I return to Fish Creek. I grew up spending summers at my grandparents' house on Cottage Row so hopefully I'll be returning often! Thank you again, Camille and Mark


Door Cty get away

4.6 on August 11, 2011

Thorp House Inn & Cottages was an outstanding place to stay. Quit and relaxing. Just a block away from downtown.


excellent cottage

4.4 on August 09, 2011

The cottage was fine for 2 people. Clean when we arrived. All the basics that are needed for vacation, so we didnt have to pack the house and bring it with us. Nights were quiet. Location great, only a block off the main street. Innkeeper was available at all times.


Nothing is perfect

3.2 on July 28, 2011

The great location in fish creek and ambiance might make up for what is lacking in the "breakfast" portion of B&B. One block off main street makes for a quiet but accessible stay, and every room of the house is meticulous in cleanliness and style, really relaxing and a time warp back to the early 1900's when the inn was built. But for the steep prices, I expected a better breakfast to start the day and add to the feeling of a vacation. Breakfast was in the kitchen (a beautiful one, I will say), and consisted mostly of muffins and coffee. There was some fruit and juice, but as someone who values a savory, warm, and full breakfast, this part of the stay was by far my biggest disappointment. I have had continental breakfasts at low-rate hotels that were more dynamic and offered more choices. When I pay for a B&B, I expect the breakfast to be top notch. Other places in Door County definitely deliver this. The good news is there are a handful of other places that offer great breakfasts just a short walk on Main Street. If breakfast is not your thing, or if scones and muffins hit the spot for you in the morning, don't hesitate to stay here - the rooms are fabulous and the management is lovely. But if you're looking for that fresh omlette or even a piece of toast, best to stay somewhere else or make a breakfast reservation in town.


Perfect stay for our wedding weekend!!!

4.6 on July 27, 2011

We stayed at Thorp House Inn for our wedding weekend and it was absolutely wonderful. The Maria Room was cozy and romantic. The service was exceptional! We will definitely plan another stay at this beautiful B & B!


Beyond beautiful!

5 on July 27, 2011

We stayed three nights. It was romantic, beautiful, quiet, and right near everything in Fish Creek you could walk to. The breakfasts were all great with lots of choices of fresh fruit, scones, breakfast cakes, yogurt, etc. We will go back next summer for sure!! Best B & B we've been to since moving to the Midwest from California 14 years ago! Jim and Cindy Jayes


Great BB to stay at

4.4 on July 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Thorp House. The house, rooms, front porch, food and staff were wonderful. We will recommend this to our friends.


60th anniversary

4.0 on July 20, 2011

Our kids bought this for us as a gift and didn't know what to expect but we can tell you it was a great gift and a wonderful BB and can't wait to go back.


Great time. Relaxing and Enjoyable

3.6 on July 15, 2011

Had a great time at the Thorp House. Nice historical feel and the breakfast food was fresh.


Thorp Cottages

3.4 on July 12, 2011

If you're looking for a nice, quiet, location but close to the action, this is the perfect spot. My family stayed in the Lark Cottage which was warm and cozy and very comfortable.


Low key, quiet, relaxing perfect location

3.0 on July 12, 2011

We had a very tiny (by choice) cabin but it was more than sufficient. Nothing fancy but really quiet and close to everything at once. Clean and well run although parking is a problem and they need to assign spots so that you always have one when you come in late. Dining was not included so I can't rate that.


Do not stay in the downstairs room...unless you are an early riser.

2.6 on June 20, 2011

The place was gorgeous, and the owner kind. We stayed in the downstairs room and were woken up every am when she made breakfast in the kitchen. For the price, pay the extra $$ and stay in an upstairs room.


Great Door County Choice

4.6 on May 27, 2011

Wonderful B & B stay with gracious host and heart healthy breakfast. Within couple of blocks to downtown. This B & B has quaint "1950 style" cabins and main house rooms with TV and wireless Internet. Would stay here again!


Beach House - West View

4.8 on May 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Thorp House Beach in Fish Creek, WI in early May. Although the weather was typical for Door County, the week was very relaxing and our stay at the Beach House was most pleasant. The fireplace and view of the bay made each day feel like a true vacation, free from the troubles we all experience in our normally busy days.


Beautiful room

5 on May 12, 2011

Fantastic room! The Everil room has it all - open, airy, balcony, fireplace, whirlpool. I highly recommend this place and this room. Breakfast scones are yummy. Close to shops (1 block) and restaurants. Very helpful innkeeper and owner.


Cozy Inn in a Great Location

4.8 on April 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Thorp House for a few days at the end of Door County's quiet season. We loved staying in the Maria Room and enjoyed sitting by the fire downstairs in the evenings and having the owner's delicious scones and muffins for breakfast at the big farm table in the kitchen each morning. The inn was clean, comfortable and convenient--less than a block from shops, good restaurants, and the harbor in Fish Creek. In the summer, one could easily walk to the beach from the inn as well. We'll recommend it to our friends and would stay again.


Excellent stay

4.8 on April 13, 2011

The hospitality was excellent, they welcomed us with open arms, we felt right at home. It was very clean and well maintained, we would definitely go back and recommend it to our friends.


Very Good Stay

5 on March 20, 2011

My fiance and I wanted to get away. We looked for a romantic, yet affordable place. The Thorp House Inn was exactly what we were looking for. It was great service and they treated us wonderful. I would highly suggest staying at the Thorp House if you need a nice getaway.


Weekend Getaway

4.0 on March 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Dove Cottage. Very clean and cozy cottage. We had a wonderful time curled up watching the wood burning fire. Can walk to downtown.


A Dream Engagement

5 on March 09, 2011

My now Fiance and I stayed at Thorp House after we read the book "Bittersweet". Not only did it live up to it's reputation for romance and enchanting experience, but I was so swept away with it all, that I proposed to my sweetheart. We could not have asked for a better experience. Thank you Leila and Christine, Sincerely, Tim & April


restful retreat

4.0 on February 25, 2011

We were in dire need of r & r and this little cottage provided just the quiet seclusion and intimacy we needed. Great little fireplace, comfortable rooms and furnishings - classic rustic lake cabin located within walking distance of everything in the lovely town of Fish Creek.


This was our third time at the Thorpe House and we love it!

5 on February 23, 2011

The house is cozy, the people are very friendly, just as good as home.


What a nice weekend !!

5 on February 13, 2011

I had stayed somewhere on the Thorp House property another 4 times over the years and my guest experience has always exceeded my expectations ! I had no feeling that it was going to be any different this time. Aside from that, it's pretty hard to mess up a weekend in Door County. We stayed in one of the cabins directly adjacent to the main Inn for which the wood-burning fireplace was the main attraction - gas fireplaces are for sissies ! We arrived late on a Thursday nite to be greeted by lights and heat on as the "Welcome" in welcome mat. The cabin was well-stocked with all the kitchen appliances and utensils we needed and happy to say, we used most of them. Lots of hot (softened) water for dishes and showers. The icing on the cake was Innkeeper, Leila who was so comfortable taking the time to engage us both in some casual and fun conversation the next morning when we officially "checked-in." She had hospitality written all over her and perfect for this position. Snow was quickly cleared from our deck and front walk after a light and picture-esque snowfall the following morning. We were on our own for meals, and there were several places within walking distance which were a good fit for the weekend. We wouldn't hesitate for a moment to make another reservation at The Thorp House Inn. The continuity of a quality guest experience must be their mission statement. - Conrad Tausend Milwaukee, WI


winter festival

5 on February 09, 2011

We've stayed in the Thorp House cottages in the past...but nothing prepared us for staying at their Inn. It was truly a wonderful experience. From the moment we checked in we felt welcomed and enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts are amazing, pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, scones all fresh....so good. Not to mention our room - it was small, but off the library, so perfectly done - not overly victorian and stifling - but tasteful and comfortable. No tv and no phone, which meant no distractions from each other.


Great Relaxing Winter Getaway

4.2 on January 20, 2011

Comfortable, knowledgeable innkeepers and great location to spend time away. You don't need to travel far for great food, wineries, outdoor adventures even in the winter! Great place to stay with very accommodating people!


Thorpe Cottage

3.4 on January 15, 2011

I will be back again and I have recommended the Thorpe Inn to my friends. I wanted to get away and have some privacy. I feel like I got that. But I also felt like if I needed anything, help was readily available. The cottage was cute and comfy and I had a lot of fun staying there.


Charming and relaxing as always!

5 on January 14, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Thorp House several times and we always have a delightful experience. We always stay in the cottages (our favorites are #3 and #4). The cottages are super cozy and all the Fish Creek shops & restaurants are within 1-2 blocks from your front door. Also, their rates are affordable - especially off season and weekdays. The owners are very nice and are always willing to recommend restaurants, trails to hike, etc. Thank you, Christine and Sverre!!!


Thorp House & Progressive Dinner

3.6 on January 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the Thorp House cottages as part of the Christmas/New Years progressive dinner package. The cottages were built in the 1930s and you won't mistake them for 5-star luxury suites. Although they are rustic, ours had a wood-burning fireplace and cable TV with a DVD player if those things are important to you. The innkeepers were very friendly and the entire progressive dinner seemed well-planned and was executed with class. Overall, I felt it was well worth our time and money.


Thorp House Dove Cottage

5 on January 09, 2011

It was just amazing how warm and inviting the cabins were! It felt like we were staying at our own property. Extremely well done in decorating, in being supplied, and the all around cleanliness. I would highly recommended to anyone who wants to get away for a while.


Had A Great Time at Thorp House Inn & Cottages!!

5 on December 01, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Inn over the Thanksgiving weekend. We loved our room, common areas of the Inn, our host - Sverre and the very excellent breakfast. Great place from which to enjoy Fish Creek and all that Door County has to offer. Can't give enough positive feedback about Sverre's friendly and attentive service during out stay. Perfect!


Beautiful Victorian Room

3.4 on November 13, 2010

We went to this B&B during the off season and stayed in the "Jessies" room. It was clean, very comfortable, and had a gas fireplace with a remote control and thermostat. The hot-tub in the room was a nice touch, too. The staff were very friendly and considerate. Breakfast was tasty, with homemade scones and muffins, fruit, coffee, boiled eggs, and orange juice. Definitely more of a continental breakfast, but we had enough to eat, and they gave us extras to take with us during the day. Nice touches: they have a main fire place in a common area, had a fire going when we arrived, and told us we were welcome to start a fire ourselves if we wanted to. They have a pantry with drinks and cookies that you can access whenever you want. We were very happy with our stay, and will definitely recommend the place, and consider staying there again.


Lark Cottage at Thorp House Inn

3.0 on November 07, 2010

The cottage was quaint. It was a bit cold, especially at night for late October and the fireplace draft sometimes drew the smoke into the living space and set off the smoke detectors. Overall it was a nice place to stay, but I wouldn't want to stay there in the winter as I expect it would be quite cold.


First time stay in Door County...

5 on October 24, 2010

My husband and I decided to get away to Door County after many of our friends raved about its beauty. We were glad that we chose to stay at Thorp House Inn! We didn't realize that Fish Creek was THE town to be in. Most everything was within walking distance. The breakfast was a highlight every morning - DELICIOUS home made scones and wonderful conversations. Both Sverre and Chris gave great recommendations of things to do, scenic drives, and places to eat. We stayed in "Jessie" and had one of the most relaxing stays that we can remember. We miss the fireplace and hope to get back soon!


A Great Place to Stay in Door County

4.8 on September 23, 2010

Warm and friendly innkeepers. Light but sufficient breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, home-made muffins and scones, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk and water available. Svere always keeps your cups and glasses full. Great conversation with Svere and the oter guests staying at the inn. The rooms are exquisitily decorated with time period furnishings. The bed was wonderful. Never had a better nights' sleep. The in-room whirlpool was perfect after a long day in Door County. We would definately stay there again.


Beautiful historic home, very comfortable stay

4.2 on August 24, 2010

Beautiful historic home, very comfortable rooms. Innkeepers are knowledgeable and friendly. Excellent location - walking distance to restaurants, nice state park, and good swimming beach for kids. Right in town, but still quiet. Definitely recommend this B&B.


Door County Getaway

5 on August 18, 2010

The room was lovely and well appointed. The owner, Sverre Pedersen, was a terrific host and morning companion. The Staff was helpful in planning daily activities and dining plans.


Need a break, stay here

4.6 on October 15, 2009

Very relaxing in a beautiful setting. Great service, very comfortable. Thanks.


Wonderful location

4.4 on September 05, 2008

This was the first time we stayed in Fish creek we usually go to Gills Rock. The staff and hte accomdations were wonderful. and we will will return again


Simply Exceptional

5 on August 29, 2008

We stayed at the Thorp House Inn and Cottages for four nights in August, 2008. Every aspect of our stay was outstanding, from our surroundings, to the delightful breakfasts with phenomenal food and even better conversation with both inkeepers and other guests, to the knowledgeable information provided about what to do in the area. The attention to detail for the comfort and pleasure of guests was unsurpassed in our experience staying in other B and Bs. We viewed each of the rooms at the Inn, and found each to be better-than-true to the images found on the Inn's website. Our room was not only physically beautiful, but was cool and comfortable day and night despite having warm weather each day. Our room, the Emma, included a double-soaker whirlpool bath set underneath a large east-facing skylight, perfect for sunny mornings and ambient light in the evening. The Inn is located within easy walking distance of most shops and restaurants in Fish Creek. We will be returning - again and again!


Thorp House Inn & Cottages

5 on August 20, 2008

Perfect in every aspect!!


Norwegian flair in door country

5 on August 18, 2008

My secound visit to Thorp house was as wonderful as my memories of the first. I even practiced my norwegian with the inn keeper. Delicious homemeade breakfast


We will definately be back!

5 on June 08, 2008

Beautiful rooms, great location and the innkeeper and staff were so fwelcoming and accomodating. Conversation over the wonderful breakfast was warm and friendly. This was our first stay and we felt right at home as soon as we walked in.


Quintessential B&B

4.8 on January 17, 2007

Quiet, secluded location, yet close to everything you want to see and do. Wonderful balance of historic charm, genuine hospitality, and modern comfort.


Thorp House Inn & Cottages

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $235
  • Reviews (79) 4.3
  • Rooms 11
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9208682444

Visit Website »

View details

Top