Recent Reviews in Williamstown, Massachusetts

A great place to stay at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on July 12, 2016

Our host was wonderful: gave us the choice of a room other than the one we had booked a while back; made a wonderful early departure light breakfast for us; and was very warm and capable. Room was clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was modern, spotless and roomy. Located a one minute drive from Williams.

View more reviews for this inn


Good value. Great town. at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on December 12, 2015

Comfortable, clean rooms, great location. Breakfast has everything from fruit to cereal, coffee in a help yourself style, All you can eat

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable Fall Getaway at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on October 26, 2015

I enjoy the off the beaten path motels on the by-ways of the northeast and this one was quite wonderful both in terms of the setting and the quality of the property. From the babbling brook to the quaint rooms with the nice new bath, and a great on-site restaurant...it was perfect...a wonderful value! I'll return next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B Off the Beaten Path at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2015

We had an reserved an upgraded suite and it DID NOT DISAPPOINT. Very nice. Great food in the morning. Only problem was that cell coverage was almost non-existent. I have Verizon. My wife has Sprint. Neither worked at this location. The Berkshires are lovely but this is not a working vacation area. That could be good or bad depending on what you want. FYI

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2015

Great experience and reasonable price considering we visited during the peak of the foliage season. Donna and Tim are very nice and welcoming. Food is vegetarian. I knew this going in based on reviews prior to making a reservation. So the food exceeded my expectations because my expectations were low. Very good vegetarian breakfasts. We stayed for two days and had a good variety. Highly recommend

View more reviews for this inn


very pleasant stay in Williamstown at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on October 07, 2015

I graduated from Williams College and come back from time to time to visit my alma mater and the Berkshires. I had not stayed in The House on Main Street before and decided to give it a try, in part because it has resident cats (I love cats!) The house is lovely--a charming house that is well maintained: clean, tidy, nicely furnished, and very comfortable. Our room was cozy without being cramped and the bed was awesome--visually and in terms of comfort. The hosts have perfected the art of being friendly, helpful, and making one feel at home all without being intrusive, brusque, or demanding. IMO they are the ideal B&B owners. And their cats are charming. The House on Main Street is marvelously well sited to explore Williamstown on foot (close but not in the middle of things). And being right near the junction of Rt 7 and Rt 2 without being right on the highway makes it great for exploring the region as well. I would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B, and I look forward to staying there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Would Not Recommend at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

1.2 reviewed on October 06, 2015

The moment we opened the door to the Pondside room, we were greeted with a moldy, musty smell. The room's heater was not working properly, so we were roasting through the night, even when we had the thermostat set at 58 degrees. The complimentary breakfast was sub-par, and the water that came out of the hot water pitcher was dirty. About the only thing nice that I can say for the place is that they had plenty of towels. By the way, the staff lock up before the 9:30pm time that is posted on the reception door.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice place to stay. at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on September 11, 2015

I visited the 1896 Country Inn with 3 of my friends for a birthday get-away weekend. Our focus was on being out and about and not paying too much for a hotel. We chose the room with 2 full size beds. The beds were firm (no rolling into the middle) and there were adequate blankets to suit all needs. The room was clean but not with an up to date decor. The bath was adequate and the shower provided hot water for all of us. It is in a lovely setting, a bit back from a busy road. You'd hardly know the road was there. Very quiet sleeping at night. The breakfast, included with our room, had waffles, eggs, bacon, bagels, yogurt and more. The loveliest thing was that the kitchen made non-dairy eggs for one of my friends who is lactose intolerant. They could only do this one morning of our stay, however, as someone was not available the second morning. We did mention to the front desk the need for non-dairy options (and vegetarian). All in all, we were pleased with our stay and would return. Not a place if you need spacious, up to date accommodations, but very nice and comfortable for the lower cost room we had.

View more reviews for this inn


The Place to Stay in the Berkshires at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on August 25, 2015

The House on Main Street is the place to stay in the Berkshires. The conversations with the guests and the hosts are worth the price alone! It is walking distance to many fine restaurants. The Clark Museum is nearby as is the Williams College Museum of Art. I highly recommend the House on Main Street!

View more reviews for this inn


Typical motel at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on August 22, 2015

Stayed here just one night and was slightly disappointed. We did not arrive until 4:00 pm. The desk clerk on duty was charming and very helpful. We were directed to our room which was across the street only to find our room had not been cleaned, I returned to the Office and the young woman spoke to the Manager who was there but never came out top speak to me. We left our number and went out to explore the town. An hour and half later we still had not heard from them. We went back only to be called as we drove into the parking lot. Did not get the warm and fuzzy feeling every one raved about on the reviews. There is a Restaurant and Pub attached to the property we did not go, would have thought for the inconvenience of our room not ready they might have offered up a free drink. Included breakfast was only okay.

View more reviews for this inn


Could be better at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

2.8 reviewed on August 11, 2015

Great location near the theater and campus. Mostly quiet except for the motorcyclist next door who liked to gun his engine early and late, but not the fault of the innkeepers. However as veterans of B&B's, we noticed a few things that could be a lot better. I think the food is number one. The breakfasts were aggressively vegetarian with little interest or panache. Soggy oatmeal with raisins was the main and only course one morning and another breakfast consisted of pancakes with orange and pecans in them. There was milk and orange juice, dried cereal if you want, but I am used to more food and more spectacular food at the B&B's I've stayed in before. Usually there is some sort of welcoming snack, a plate of cookies or cheese and crackers, a bottle of inexpensive local wine, something that says we are thinking you as you arrive or after you come in from the theater. Not here. There is a whole sun porch with comfortable wicker seats and old decrepit cushions. A perfect place for a cool afternoon glass of wine or a cup of coffee before breakfast. But not a side table to put the refreshment on so they end up inconveniently on the floor. Lastly, we learned from a former guest who had stayed at the Inn twenty years before that the Inn had been Woodrow Wilson's summer White House pre World War I. Most B&B's have some sort of interesting history that the advertise that make the stay a little more interesting. Some of these caveats may seem a bit picky but the whole idea is that the owners could have done much better without any significant outlay in time or money. Strikes me as being a bit careless, lazy or maybe just a bit ignorant. If you want a comfortable place to sleep for not a whole lot of money, this is the place. Just do not expect too much more.

View more reviews for this inn


College Town B&B at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on August 08, 2015

The House on Main Street is a very comfortable place to stay in quiet little corner of Williamstown. The big draw is the innkeeper, Timothy, who manages to make a group of strangers sitting around his breakfast table feel as if they were participating in a stimulating seminar at the nearby Williams College. The difference is that Timothy and Donna's cooking is much better.

View more reviews for this inn


A charming, comfortable overnight at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on August 06, 2015

We stayed in one of the motel units and found it very comfortable and relaxing. The setting, along a woodsy stream and set back from the road, was delightful. The breakfast buffet was appreciated; it was adequate, nothing fancy. Supper at the pub restaurant was so-so at best. We liked the convenience of not having to get in the car and head back out for supper, but there are plenty of other, much better dining options in Williamstown.

View more reviews for this inn


Breakfast Was Lacking at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

2.8 reviewed on July 11, 2015

Admittedly, I have only stayed at two other B&Bs but I found the breakfast lacking. It was a tasty bowl of seasoned oats but quite frankly I expected another course. There was bread for toasting, bananas and sliced pineapple but some baked goods or eggs would have added greatly. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom a bit outdated but not unexpected in an older house. The Innkeepers were pleasant.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm, welcoming, and wonderful at The Birches at Steep Acres Farm (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on July 06, 2015

This was my second stay at this very special inn. The location and setting can't be beat. The inn is lovely with so many unique touches (a tree in the middle of the living room!), and the gardens and grounds are lush and beautiful. Dan is a warm and welcoming host, offering great advice on where to eat and what to do. His breakfasts can't be beat. So nice! So relaxing! We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great one night getaway at 1896 House Country Inn (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on July 06, 2015

Great room, the pub tavern was very charming and the outdoor fire patio was perfect for an after dinner drink.

View more reviews for this inn


A real home on Main Street at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2015

The proprietor was very helpful in taking an outstanding photo of our group.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean & comfortable with friendly host at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

2.8 reviewed on April 24, 2015

Right on edge of Williams College, it is clean & comfortable. The breakfast was good & creative, but not special. Overall, it was somewhat spartan in character in a safe but tired neighborhood - meeting our needs for a one night layover to visit The Clark. The host was quite charming & joined us for a pleasant breakfast discussion.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Spot in the Heart of Williamstown at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on April 20, 2015

This is the second time that I have stayed at the House on Main Street. It's a lovely place, comfortable rooms, excellent food and the host, Timothy, is a wonderful, friendly, helpful man. I love my breakfast chats with him. Wholeheartedly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant and convenient to art museums and hiking trails. at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.0 reviewed on October 20, 2014

Felt obliged to make conversation with owner who joined me at the breakfast table.

View more reviews for this inn


Difficult to spot from the road, we needed better directions to find it at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on October 09, 2014

Very friendly owner.

View more reviews for this inn


Labor Day in the Berkshires at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on September 14, 2014

We arrived to a note on the door and so we found our room. It was a bit weird that the house was empty and unlocked but apparently it is okay; we left our stuff in the rooms and never felt unsafe, but it is a unique feeling! The room (Rose room, second floor) was charming, our bath just next door was nice. My only complaint was the situation of the angle of the ceiling; I turned my head after looking out the window on my side (right) of the bed and whomped my head nicely! Breakfast time was nice to meet the other guests. I found the 2 breakfasts (pecan pancakes one morning, frittata the second) a bit on the dry side, but perhaps because the host and hostess are gluten free and vegan? Not sure but the spicy bean salad on the second morning with the frittata was tasty! All in all, a pleasant experience. Tim the host was very congenial.

View more reviews for this inn


An Outstanding Bed and Breakfast! at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on September 03, 2014

The House on Main Street it a fantastic place to stay. It is within walking distance of everything in Williamstown. Breakfasts are served at a big table and it is fun to meet all the other guests. The rooms are very comfortable. Timothy and Donna are gracious hosts. It is definitely the best place to stay in the Berkshires!

View more reviews for this inn


short but great stay at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Timothy's house and his company very much. Volker and Elisabeth fro Switzerand

View more reviews for this inn


A Williamstown Gem at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on August 18, 2014

This lovely Inn is within walking distance to the Clark Museum, Williams College and the Williamstown Theater Festival. The King Bedroom with the private bath is very comfortable and downstairs there is a front and back porch where you can read and relax. The freshly made buckwheat, blueberry pancakes were delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


College Visit at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2014

The location is wonderful and the innkeepers were extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend it. Because they had a number of guests, it was a little difficult to get bathroom time in the a.m., so you will want to plan accordingly.

View more reviews for this inn


Good location at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.4 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Nice place and a good location

View more reviews for this inn


Worth a stay at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on July 30, 2014

Exceeded my expectations, very good value for location, quality, service.

View more reviews for this inn


Mother-Daughter Museum Trip at The Birches at Steep Acres Farm (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on July 27, 2014

This home was the perfect place for our overnight trip from Long Island to The Clark Institute. The host was warm and inviting and made us feel perfectly welcome to relax inside and explore the beautiful property outside. We felt like we were at a family member's house! The dogs are darling and just as hospitable. Breakfast was wholesome, delicious and filling. We didn't want to leave.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay in Williamstown MA at House On Main Street (Williamstown, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2014

Our host was very friendly and accommodating to our family's needs. Our breakfast of pancakes was particularly delicious. The location is fantastic and quiet and very green. I love the history of the building and the information about the history of the town was available on site.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}