Prevailing Winds Lodge Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining5.0

Score Breakdown based on
63 Reviews

Write A Review

The perfect celebration

5 on July 07, 2014

A friend and I went to prevailing winds to celebrate graduation, and I couldn't have asked for a nicer way to celebrate and relax. I have stayed at several b&b's, and this is easily one of my favorites. They had every amenity that I could have asked for. The decor was beautiful but comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing. The bed was so comfortable that my boyfriend wanted to buy a mattress like the one there. I definitely recommend staying here.- Jen


Prevailing Winds Lodge

5 on June 21, 2014

Beautiful setting in rolling hills of S.W.Wisc. Very good rooms ,great service and excellant food.Nice hiking trail with a good view of blue Mounds state park in the distance. Lots of deer and critters running around.


Beyond Amazing.....Again!

5 on June 07, 2014

Words are not enough to describe what a wonderful stay we had....again! We had another anniversary stay and they exceeded our already high expectations from last year. We were treated beyond compare and everything, I mean everything, was perfect - the bed, the lodge, the grounds, the atmosphere, the company, and of course the wonderfully delectable food!!


LuvB+Bs

5 on March 19, 2014

Our recent stay at Prevailing Winds Lodge was beyond our expectations. This bed and breakfast offers peace, beauty and time to relax. The breakfast was outstanding and host Jennifer a true delight. We will recommend this to all our friends.


Romantic anniversary

4.6 on March 15, 2014

I decided to surprise my wife by taking her someplace new for our 5 year anniversary. I got the romance package added (Rose pedals on the floor and bed, flowers, a bottle of wine, cake and chocolate) and we were amazed at the quality of the room, detail they went to make our trip special. Jen, Steve and Wyatt are all welcoming and friendly. Steve is a great cook and the scenery is breathtaking. Icing on the cake was not only was the strawberry cheesecake I requested homemade and delicious! They provided a container for us to take the entire cake home! My wife and I have been looking for a BandB we could go to annually and this is the place we have been hoping for!!


Lovely lodge and hospitality

5 on February 28, 2014

My husband & I stayed a night at this beautiful lodge with amazing scenery. We were able to go for a walk with their snow shoes and played board games & cards for hours by the wood fire place. We will definitely be back! -Jessie & Josh


Amazing, getaway!

5 on February 22, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at this tucked away retreat! We have always loved Southwestern Wisconsin and love to explore, and we loved the friendly yet private atmosphere of Prevailing Winds. We cannot wait to come back sometime when the season allows us to enjoy the outside, but the warmth of the great room and fireplace, the great service and the luxury of our accommodations was enough to make the winter cold disappear! Well Done! Laura and Mark


Wonderful Christmas Escape

5 on February 12, 2014

Wonderful time, great food, and comfortable sheets and bed (we will be buying the same sheets for our home). Very relaxing (came for one day and stayed for two). We look forward to returning in the summer.


What a wonderful gem!

5 on February 08, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a getaway and we couldn't have been happier. Steve and Jen are fabulous hosts with a 5 star eye for everything they offered. The Mountain Pine Room we stayed in was so wonderful with a king sized bed we didn't want to get out of. The breakfast was amazing, they are truly talented cooks that serve up a delightful spread!!! We can't wait for our next stay there


Epic Surprise

4.8 on January 14, 2014

I needed a place to stay while attending Epic's User Group Meeting and decided to search BedandBreakfast.com. I chose a room and prayed there it would be available. I was absolutely delighted when I arrived and viewed the property and lodge! It was a short but wonderful experience. Jen and Steve were very accommodating and have provided a warm and cozy environment that gives you that at home feeling with a view. I strongly recommend this B&B and hope to return in the future.


Incredible Bed and Breakfast

5 on January 02, 2014

I have to be honest that all 5 Outstandings that we are giving are well deserved. From the ambiance and quality of the home to the service and attention to details by the owners, our expectations were exceeded across the board. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We will be back and we will let all of our friends know about this lodge.


Mini Honeymoon

5 on December 29, 2013

The scenery along the driveway told us how relaxing the stay was going to be. Upon arrival we were greeted by Steve that had warm homemade cookies and infused water waiting for us. We instantly felt at home after a quick tour of the lodge and all it had to offer. We stayed during the winter so we hung out around the lodge most of the time. I was hoping for more snow to go snowshoeing. The property looked amazing. My husband and I went to Blue Mounds for fish at Hooterville Inn which is always good. We hung out with Steve and Wyatt, who was a delight to play with. We stayed in the Mountain Pine Room that had homemade peanut butter chocolate covered truffles for us to enjoy. You melt in the bed! The soaking tub was fantastic too! The breakfast was to die for including really good coffee and tea to make at our leisure. Jen, Steve, and Wyatt were extremely nice and easy to talk to that love what they do and put those extra touches in throughout your stay. We are looking forward to going back!


"Peaceful Oasis" ~ close to Home!

5 on November 16, 2013

Such an amazing B&B! My husband and I were looking for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing getaway for a bit of much needed R&R. We wanted to take in the fall folliage of beautiful Wisconsin and experience something new. When we arrived we were just amazed at the beautiful surroundings and the "quiet" we found. We arrived on a Wednesday and we were able to have the B&B all to ourselves. Steve and Jen were such great hosts and we felt like we were home...and by end of the week, we didn't want to leave our "oasis" in southern Wisconsin. We were spoiled by the richness of the food and the hospitality. Steve is such a great cook and his breakfasts are wonderful! We just loved his homemade cranberry white chocolate scones among all the other delicious breakfast delights! I don't want to giveaway anything else, because the special surprises really add to your experience. We were able to do a bit of sight seeing to some near-by locations and than get to spend a few hours daily having our relaxing "Hammock" time under the two oak trees. We laughed so much and we really took in the whole experience. One of which was having pizza and wine up in the field watching the sunset...and doing a bit of the star gazing ~ just an incredible sight to see! If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway close to home or not, this is the Oasis to make sure to visit. Thank you Jen and Steve and Lil' Wyatt for making our stay so enjoyable. See you soon for sure! ~ Peggy&Dan -- Des Moines, Iowa


last summer - and next!

5 on November 06, 2013

Others' reviews detail the many kinds of perfection to be found at Prevailing Winds, so while I could try to similarly recount all the exquisite touches and heartfelt kindnesses that made our summer 2013 stay so lovely and memorable, I will simply say that as soon as we knew our daughter's summer 2014 wedding would take place in southwestern Wisconsin we knew - even before we knew the exact wedding venue - that Prevailing Winds was the only place our wedding party could stay for such a meaningful event in the life our family. Steve and Jen (and Wyatt!) are so warm and so gracious, and their generosity in caring for their guests is unmatched at any of the places we've stayed over many years of vacationing in the Dodgeville/Spring Green area. There is a special spirit in this place, and in this family, that will add an extra measure of joy to our wedding celebration next year. Thank you, Prevailing Winds - we look forward to our next stay!


Fabulous Lodge

4.8 on October 25, 2013

What a fun place. Felt like we were staying at a lodge in Yellowstone Park. Sooooo relaxing, terrific hosts, and scrumptious breakfasts!


Amazing B&B/Great People

4.8 on October 23, 2013

My GF and I had planned to stay in Madison, but all hotels were sold out. And we are so thankful that they were!!! We are very happy to have stayed at Prevailing Winds Lodge. The B&B was clean, organized, and nestled away from the highway to give the lodge a nature-like, quiet feel. The room was cozy, spacious, and had nice accommodations like a balcony and Iphone alarm clock. Coffee, tea, soft drinks, and water were available 24/7. And breakfast was amazing! Steve made blueberry muffin french toast with a blueberry compote that was to die for. There was plenty of seating throughout the lodge (both inside and outside), so you are welcome to socialize with other guests or find a quiet nook for you and your significant other (which is what we opted for). Steve and Jen were amazing hosts and I have no doubt that there lodge will continue in its success! I would highly recommend Prevailing Winds Lodge! And as an aside, this is the first time I have ever written a review for a hotel, but I just felt that strongly and positively about the experience that I felt Jen and Steve deserved the recognition and praise!


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 21, 2013

Jen and Steve were outstanding hosts. If there was anything we needed they supplied it. The breakfasts were to die for! I even requested recipes and they shared them. I would stay there again, most definitely! Thanks again Jen and Steve and you too Wyatt!


Top-Drawer B&B

5 on October 20, 2013

We booked the weekend with a group of friends, and we couldn't be more pleased with every respect of our stay. Service, warmth, comfort -- all outstanding. A very unique environment amidst a beautiful landscape. We'll be back.


Great getaway!

5 on October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 day stay with Steve, Jennifer & Wyatt. They went out of there way sure we had everything we needed. We were there for my daughter's wedding at Tryrol Basin, so with our busy schedule it was like an oasis of peace. All of my friends had a great time and would love to come back! Thanks again for a amazing weekend! Carol & Pete


Steve and Jen and PWL was the best

5 on October 09, 2013

fantastic B&B with great things to do and see. We will be back soon!


Perfect Weekend Stay

4.8 on October 01, 2013

We spent two nights at the lodge while traveling in between several surrounding destinations. Steve and Jennifer were extremely welcoming and accommodating for our plans. Our room was pristine and so comfortable; it was hard to get up and hit the road in the morning. They really had thought of all the details that make a guest feel special and at ease. Steve is also quite the chef- don't pass by the treats at the front door and ask if blueberry stuffed french toast will be on the menu for breakfast!


After a long journey it is like returning home

5 on September 23, 2013

We have stayed in B & B's in Europe and the US. The Prevailing Winds Lodge was one of the best experiences we have had. The service was attentive without being intrusive. The food was well prepared and delicious. The environment was restful, calm and well appointed in an appropriate upscale rustic manner. When we arrived we were tired and a bit stressed out. By the time we left, three days later, we were refreshed and relaxed. Our only regret was that we had not planned a longer stay. You must experience this lodge yourself. It is a true treasure. Our best to the owners, may you have continued success.


"Like Going Home"

5 on September 19, 2013

Absolutely the best! It is difficult to find enough kind words to adequately describe the stay my wife and I had with Steve and Jen at Prevailing Winds Lodge. We stayed four nights, and, after each day exploring the surrounding area, it felt like returning home. In addition, we took advantage of the Badger football package, and Steve had everything organized from reserved parking to great seating. Go Badgers! Whether it was the beautiful lodge set in the countryside, all of the amenities provided, our cozy room, or Steve's "over-the-top" freshly prepared breakfasts, our stay was as remarkable as any bed and breakfast we have frequented in the world.


Loved Prevailing Winds Lodge!

4.8 on September 18, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast experience, and it was awesome! I don't think we will go anywhere else for fear of it being not nearly as nice. The people we met there said they had been to many b&bs and none of them were as nice as Prevailing Winds was. We believe them! We had a great time staying here. We really enjoyed walking on the trails on their beautiful property, and loved sitting by the big windows reading in their wonderful leather couches enjoying the view. The lodge is beautiful and our room was impeccable. The attention to detail and little amenities like Keurig coffee makers, caramel bars and raspberry lemon water available whenever we needed it made our stay extra comfortable. It was also very quiet, which we really appreciated as this was a night away from our one and three year old girls. Everything about our stay was great, and we would highly recommend Prevailing Winds Lodge - and would love to go back ourselves!


Best of the best!!

5 on September 10, 2013

We stay in a lot of bed and breakfasts, and I would give Prevailing Winds Lodge a 10 if we could! The food was scrumptious, the bedding luxurious, the attention to detail perfect, the hospitality warm, the views beautiful, and the whole experience absolutely wonderful! We will go back!!


Magical experience

4.8 on September 10, 2013

We arrived with friends and were greeted by Steve, who showed us our wonderful rooms. Impeccable detail everywhere and hosts who go the extra mile. As we gathered on the back deck to admire the evening breeze and view, Steve brought us real glasses for our wine along with cheese, crackers and nuts. The mornings breakfast was stellar including fabulous blueberry muffin French toast! We will return to enjoy great hospitality and another magical weekend. Definitely plan to take walks on the property.


Wonderful Wedding Weekend Stay!

5 on September 09, 2013

We were so fortunate to book the entire Prevailing Winds Lodge for my family and fiance & I! We had stayed there before and had the best experience and couldn't wait to share it with my Missouri family for the first time. They were ecstatic walking into the beautiful bed & breakfast. The rooms were perfect for everyone along with the space to host our rehearsal BBQ outside for the rest of our family and friends to join. Steve & Jen are always a pleasure to have around with a helping hand or just a lovely conversation over coffee. The kids loved playing with their 2 dogs and their adorable son, Wyatt :) The Prevailing Winds Lodge was the perfect place for wedding photos, fire pit gatherings with friends, and overall a special place for my family and us to be together during the whole wedding process. We can't wait to come back! Thank you so much for the experience and for making our wedding so special. xoxo ~Kristen & Brock Havens


AMAZING bed & breakfast!

5 on August 28, 2013

We stayed at PWL for my sisters bridal shower and bachelorette party and we were definitely impressed with the lodge and the great care we received. The lodge and land are both absolutely beautiful and we felt comfortable and at ease. Jennifer and Steve (along with their cute little son Wyatt) are wonderful and took great care of us. Not to mention, the breakfast was delightful! We loved it there and we're sure to go back sometime in the future!


Seasoned Frequenter of B & B's Blown Away!

5 on August 28, 2013

Let me preface my remarks by saying that I have stayed in many B & B's both in the US and abroad. I can't think of a better B & B experience than the one Prevailing Winds offers. Breathtaking scenery, the most gracious of hosts, stunning attention to detail in everything from the decor to the gorgeous breakfasts and snacks offered. I was also impressed by the concern for the environment that was shown in the operation of all aspects of the Lodge. A traveler simply could not do better than Prevailing Winds Lodge!


Stunning

4.4 on August 27, 2013

Everyone in our group couldn't stop gushing about this place. It's a gorgeous lodge, with beautiful details everywhere you looked. The setting was also unbelievably beautiful, with trails and prairies and chickens and bonfires. Jen and Steve's hospitality and amazing cooking just added to the charm. And baby Wyatt is simply adorable. I would absolutely recommend Prevailing Winds to everyone who needs to recharge in a bucolic getaway.


A Wonder of Central Wisconsin

5 on August 22, 2013

If you want peace, quiet, and charm, great food, scenery, and hospitality--This is the place to choose!


Rustic luxury!

4.8 on August 19, 2013

We had a lovely weekend get away at PWL for our anniversary. Steve & Jen made us feel so comfortable-we truly felt "at home" in their home. The lodge is beautiful-rustic, yet elegant. The food was amazing and all made from scratch. We enjoyed biking and hiking nearby, as well as just relaxing in this beautiful lodge and having bonfires outside under the stars. We will be back for sure! Our favorite B & B so far-no doubt!


A day and night in Wisconsin's Driftless Uplands area

5 on August 15, 2013

They could not have thought of more details to make the perfect stay. It was perfect. We will return, and stay longer next time. The hospitality that Steve and Jen so naturally offer is obviously genuine and heartfelt. It was an escape that will be remembered!


A surprise visit!

5 on August 15, 2013

Loved the property and the food was amazing. Favorite part was the walking trails. Owners are amazing and very welcoming. We loved it


We had such a pleasant stay.

5 on August 13, 2013

We had such a pleasant stay. We will definitely be back! Wonderful rooms, ambience, hospitality...and the best pancakes ever! Mary and Brian


PWL --- a GREAT lodge

5 on August 03, 2013

Food was superb and plentiful. Magnificent site in nature! And our host was most welcoming. Made feel at home! On a 5 star rating, gets a 6! Dick & Louise


An awesome overnight stay at a very beautiful B & B!!!

4.8 on August 02, 2013

We had a very wonderful stay at Prevailing Winds Lodge B and B!!! We will have to go back because we were there only overnight! It was super clean and quiet and very relaxing! Breakfast was awesome and they were very accommodating!!!!


Did not want to leave!

5 on July 29, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary here, and it was such a wonderful experience! The lodge is stunning, (it actually looks even better than the pictures- so beautiful and so clean!) the grounds are so peaceful, and the owners are so friendly! Steve and Jen truly have a gift for hospitality. Don't plan anything early in the morning, because you will want to linger over the divine breakfast cooked by Steve. Seriously. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!


Perfect getaway!

5 on July 24, 2013

We had a lovely mini getaway there....the service was outstanding and the grounds are stunning. Our room was very nice and everything was so relaxing......we will certsinly be back!


Loved Every Minute

5 on July 23, 2013

From the time my husband and I walked in the door of this beautiful bed and breakfast, to the time we left, we loved every minute. Jennifer and Steve are warm, caring, and considerate (as well as being very helpful hosts). The breakfasts were outstanding and there was so much food, that we didn't have to eat lunch! The home and the bedrooms are so welcoming, that we didn't want to leave. It was nice to sit in the 2nd floor sitting area and read, relax and just enjoy the view. The property surrounding the home is just beautiful with green all around and a lot of "quiet". We took a walk to the back of the property, and enjoyed the beautiful views all around us. We were so content with the peacefulness and comfort of the home that we didn't even turn on the television that was in our room. I hope we can return soon because this is an experience we won't forget soon.


Wonderful

5 on July 22, 2013

Our children gave us the gift of an evening at Prevailing Winds Lodge and we loved every minute of our stay! The lodge was beautiful and the service and hospitality was wonderful. We will definitely be staying there again, hopefully with our family next time!


!0 year anniversary stay

5 on July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary. We felt extremely pleased with the accommodations and service. There was nothing that I could say that could of made our stay better other than staying longer. Steve's cooking abilities surpass restaurant quality and look forward to another Breakfast there soon. I would strongly suggest Prevailing Winds Lodge to anyone and plan on staying there again in the near future. Ricardo Viera


Fantastic getaway in beautiful location.

4.6 on July 20, 2013

My husband and I met up with friends at Prevailing Winds Lodge on their opening weekend. We honestly don't know what to expect--but our expectations were exceeded in every way! You will be delighted by the experience. The owners/ hosts are gracious and the location is beautiful!


Fantastic weekend

5 on July 17, 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed for the first time at the Prevailing Winds Lodge this past weekend. The first word that comes to mind is "WOW"! Having stayed at a number of B&Bs in the past, this one ranks in the top tier. As my wife stated, the term "log cabin" does not do this place justice...it is a "luxury getaway". Everything is squeaky clean. The rooms are not huge, but have more than enough space, and are well appointed. The room balcony's are extra cool, and what a view!! The property is 40+ acres, and is truly beautiful. Steve and Jen are so personable...they do a lot of little things that make you feel special (I won't spoil the surprises), while going out of their way to accommodate your every need. Steve's breakfast was unreal, including healthy granola/other...almost everything organic from local farms that he has visited, and fresh-squeezed orange juice, with eggs from his own chickens. The area is not that populated...a lot of farms and rolling hills, so just great for a relaxing get away. There are hiking trails on the property, as well as the Mountain Ridge bike trail within 1.5 miles, and a state park within a few miles with a swimming pool, hiking, biking, etc. The bathrooms are on the small side, and you should try to get a room that has one to itself, but this is no big deal in the total scheme of things. We will be heading back to Prevailing Winds, and hopefully soon!!


5 Stars No Problem

5 on July 15, 2013

We were all so comfortable at Prevailing Winds Lodge. It's a B & B with great Hospitality, Comfort, Beauty, Peace and Quiet, so I'd call it a B&B&H&C&P&Q.I have no problem assigning them 5 stars all around. What a great place!


Great Place. Best B & B ever! You'll Love It!!

5 on July 14, 2013

We occupied the entire house with family members from various parts of Wisconsin. Everyone adored the place and had a great time. The B & B is impeccable! Clean. Gorgeous! Spacious. Loads of windows. Great views! Private balconies. Great Food. On 44 or 45 acres - beautiful setting, very private and quiet. Close to wineries and State Park. Very scenic. Two story stone fireplace is awesome. Great furnishings and lighting fixtures. Don't miss this all log amazing house!!


We can't wait to come back!

5 on July 10, 2013

We had the most incredible experience staying at the Prevailing Winds Lodge B&B! The first thing we couldn't wait to explore was the beautiful scenery full of outdoor seating, fire pits, and adventurous trails. Inside, we enjoyed a cozy home away from home feeling. From the beautiful detail in the decor to the freshly squeezed orange juice and everything in between, the Prevailing Winds Lodge far exceeded our expectations. We are returning in a month to spend our pre wedding weekend there with our families! Words cannot express how beautiful and comforting this place is. From the amazing food and great conversations, Jen and Steve are wonderful hosts. Highly recommend staying here! Brock & Kristen


Absolutely Sensational Place!!!

5 on July 09, 2013

Even the photos don't do the place justice. Outstanding in every way. Attention to details all over. Gorgeous setting. Amazing log home. Spacious rooms and common areas. Wonderful furnishings. Super delicious food. I will go back!! We had a family reunion there and also celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there. Everyone loved the place!! We ALL want to return again next year!! The great room is awesome with a two story stone fireplace!! Loads of windows for natural lighting and views from all the windows. Great place to relax. Ladies! You will love the soft monogrammed towels. Guys! Wonderful showers; great front porch plus sun room plus back porch; lovely bedding; well, too much to tell. You gotta go and see for yourself. Best B & B I've ever been to!!


Awesome Log Lodge / Friendly Owners / Relaxed Atmosphere

5 on July 03, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Prevailing Winds Lodge for one night in late June 2013. Steve met us at the door and was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in the Mountain Pine Room. The room was exceedingly clean, spacious, and attention to detail was evident throughout. Turndown service, night table chocolates, and a little message welcoming us to the lodge were all unexpected surprises. The bed was ultra-comfy, towels were plush, and the bathroom has a nice shower and a huge soaking tub. My wife has a food allergy and Steve graciously made sure her breakfast did not include any items that may have caused her problems. Speaking of food, the breakfast was very good, the scones were out of this world, and the carmelitas made my eyeballs spin! They were fantastic! My wife asked for the recipe and Steve did not hesitate to share. When we returned home, we had an email from Steve with the recipe for the carmelitas and a thank-you for staying at the lodge. Highly recommended!


AMAZING!

5 on July 02, 2013

PWL truly exceeded my expectations. The lodge was gorgeous and the landscaping and walking trails were fantastic. Everyone was extremely nice and our stay could not have been better. The beds are so comfortable! Our first night in the area was at house on the rock inn, and our second night at PWL. PWL was so much nicer, we wish we had spent both days there! I cannot recommend this b&b enough!


Come on over!

5 on June 25, 2013

If you're on the fence about a bed and breakfast, come on over and give this place a try. First impressions are everything, and this place will not disappoint. The insides are just as beautiful as the outsides, and the bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever laid my head in. To say that the lodge is outstanding is an understatement, but Steve and Jen are the real gems. They are warm and inviting, and make you feel welcome to be in their home. Steve's breakfasts are amazing, and country girl that I am, I can respect any person that has a cowboy hat instead of a chef's ensemble. The bed is cozy; the breakfast is better. If I could give this more than 5 stars, I absolutely would. You won't be disappointed.


Shhhh--

5 on June 20, 2013

Stayed with a friend for my 2nd visit in 2 months. Already planning a trip back...wanting the world to know how wonderful this place is, but also wanting to keep it secret so that I can get a room! PWL is the standard by which all B&Bs should be measured. Food, cleanliness, decor, value, service.. you won't be disappointed.


Could not be better

5 on June 20, 2013

I hate to say just how great this place is as we do not want to have to share it. But, it would be an injustice to Steve and Jennifer to not say how much we liked this place. The rooms are beautiful, the house is immaculate (even to our rather picky standards), the food was great and ample, and the hosts were warm and accommodating. The setting is secluded and the grounds are lovely for a walk across the hills or a late night stay at the fire pit. We would most happily stay here again with family or a weekend with friends.


Fabulous Stay

5 on June 20, 2013

Steve and Jen were fantastic hosts at their beautiful and immaculate lodge. We stayed with them over the weekend for the Horrible Hilly Hundred bike ride and they could not have been more accommodating to our needs. The breakfast was incredible: homemade granola (out of this world delicious), yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins) and this was all before 5:30 am! We will definitely return soon and enjoy the full homemade breakfast. The sheets on the beds were soooo soft. It was luxurious and warm. We highly recommend the Prevailing Winds Lodge.


Wonderful weekend stay

5 on June 19, 2013

We felt so fortunate to find this B&B while looking for a place to stay near Blue Mounds for the Horribly Hilly bike ride. So relaxing and peaceful - we loved it! Steve and Jennifer were incredible hosts - took great care of us, had an amazing breakfast spread - even at 5:30 am on the day of the bike ride! We are definitely coming back. Highly recommended. Michelle McConnell & Dwight Stickrod


The Bestest Ever

5 on June 10, 2013

If you want to just Getaway, Escape, Hide, Relax and Chill..... This is the place for you. Never mind the comfy bed, The warm fireside pit or the stone fireplace. Never mind the gorgeous Lodge or the beautiful surroundings.... go for the FOOD.... Let Steve give you stomach cramps because you ate to much....I mean you wanna stop but hey what's one more bite...Its that good, I'm here to tell you, and don't stay for 1 night or 2 do like we did 5 nights and it was oh so worth it..... I'm going to do it again.....shame on you if you don't. Wonderful hospitality, atmosphere. you will go away wishing you could stay... Steve Jen and Wyatt make you feel at home.


Perfect stay

5 on June 09, 2013

Prevailing Winds has been open a short time, but you would never know it: Steve and Jen are total pros, serving local wines and cheeses at happy hour, cooking up a delicious breakfast and making every guest feel completely welcome. The beds and rooms were extremely comfortable, and very well decorated. We were also grateful that Jen and Steve had set up a crib in our room for our infant. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay more than one night!


The best BNB I've ever been in!!

5 on June 06, 2013

The perfect balance between the elegance of a classy hotel and the love and comfort of being home with family!! Everything, from the delicious meals to the cozy rooms to the intelligent and personable staff was both extravagant and heartwarming. We had the most wonderful stay and highly recommend it to everyone!!


awesome place to stay

5 on June 05, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary and i'm recommending this place to everyone!! So homey and very friendly! Awesome breakfast, way more than we expected, very clean! Loved the feel of the linens and pillows!! Beautiful place to get away and relax!


A great getaway from the city

5 on June 05, 2013

This is a great place to get away and have a relaxing few days away from the big city. The lodge is immaculate and the rooms are very well done. The owners are pleasant and happy to share their knowledge of the area and the lodge.


Wonderful stay

5 on June 02, 2013

Prevailing Winds Lodge is perfection plus -- from the velvety sheets to the sumptuous gourmet breakfast to the warm hospitality of the owners, Jen and Steve (and baby Wyatt). The place was gorgeous, spotless, and cozy. We were there for two nights, borrowed our hosts' bikes for a ride in the country, dined at fun local restaurants that Jen and Steve recommended, and wished we didn't ever have to leave.


The Great Escape

5 on June 01, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast! The view is breath taking when you first arrive. The hiking trails were well kept allowed you to enjoy the prairie, the forest and a little stream. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our private balcony and watched a beautiful sunset over the tree line. Our room was a perfect combination of modern and rustic. The bed was incredibly comfortable. We were able to enjoy a bonfire out front and get to know the owners Jen and Steve a little bit. They were super friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast Steve cooked was phenomenal! There was fresh fruit, coffee, unbelievable raspberry scones two types of delicious bacon and perfectly fluffy fresh blueberry pancakes! We couldn't have had a more pleasant experience anywhere else. It was the perfect getaway! We will definitely be coming back soon! ~Alysha & Nick


Cabin in the Woods

5 on May 01, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our in-laws for a family event in the area and it was AMAZING! The rooms were cozy and chic (a combo you don't find everywhere!), everything was clean, and the house was spectacular. Jen and Steve made our stay wonderful! Steve is one of the best breakfast chef's I have ever met and he was more than happy to cater to any special requests we had. Jen is sweet, kind and made us feel like one of the gang. They were so kind, I left my contact solution and toothpaste and they were kind enough to help a girl out! Will go back and is a must-stay if you are in the area. I can't say enough about how great this place is - by far our favorite B&B!


Prevailing Winds Lodge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6084372195

Visit Website »

View details

Top