Pinehurst Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
102 Reviews

Write A Review

Best of Bayfield

4.6 on September 07, 2014

Our escape to Bayfield was made complete with our stay at the Pinehurst. The peace and quiet matched the pace of Bayfield. We had a quaint room with a luxurious whirlpool to relax in after a day of kayaking, biking or hiking. Each morning we were able to relax and recharge with a delicious breakfast. I highly recommend the Pinehurst to anyone who is planning a trip to Bayfield. I know it is the only place I will stay when I return!


Loved it!

5 on August 06, 2014

We felt right at home at Pinehurst. Lovely strolls around the gardens, delicious healthy meals, and a great appreciation for the Inn's dedication to being green. The oversized soaking tub was super delightful.


Ice Caves, Dog Sledding and Sled Dog Races

4.8 on February 07, 2014

We came up from Chicago at the end of January to see the amazing Lake Superior ice caves, learn to dog sled with Wolfsong Adventures in Mushing and volunteer in the Sled Dog races. This was the best two day vacation ever! We packed it in. The Whispering Pines room was very comfortable and offered a view of the sunrise over Lake Superior. Pinehurst's hosts offered a hearty, tasty and healthy breakfast that started our days with great conversation and good vibes. We also enjoyed sharing dog sledding experiences with other guests in the meeting room of the Garden House. We loved that the bed and breakfast owners are environmentally conscience and shared their experiences and knowledge freely. Thanks for all the effort to detail to make our stay very enjoyable and comfortable. Lynora and Vic


Dog Sledding

4.4 on January 04, 2014

Our stay at the Pinehurst was wonderful. We stayed in the Whispering Pines room; we selected Pinehurst because we went dogsledding. It was very cold outside but both Pinehurst and Wolfsong exceeded our expectations. We have bragged and told many of our friends they need to experience this. The fireplace in the room was perfect and helped to set a relaxed and pampered atmosphere. The sauna was great and coming out each night to a clear sky full of stars is just something beyond my words. The food was wonderful and we felt very pampered. I didn't use the spa but I want to the next time we stay. Steve and Nancy were very helpful with places to eat but there was also lots of local literature about what to see and do in the room. Highly recommend!


Eco friendly nice getaway

5 on November 15, 2013

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. it was very off season in bayfield but the innkeepers were very helpful in telling us what was open and giving us maps. It is about a five minute drive away from town, which was very nice. great rooms for a great price and a delicious breakfast every morning. No complaints.


Fabulous!

4.8 on October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Pinehurst Inn as part of a weekend getaway. I also ran the WhistleStop Half-Marathon that weekend, and being able to come back to this property was a luxury indeed! I took full advantage of the jacuzzi tub in our room. Also, the bed and linens were amazingly soft and cozy. Just what I needed after a long run. My husband said he slept better here than in our own bed! The breakfast was delicious, and we were very pleased with the early morning breakfast accommodations on the morning of the race. The only thing I wish I would have done was scheduled a massage! We will definitely be back to Pinehurst.


Great B&B

4.0 on October 01, 2013

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We were very happy with our stay here it is a gerat place, beautiful house the beds and sheets are so comfortable. Steve gave us great reccommendations for eating and things to see. We really enjoyed our time in Bayfield and can't wait to return!


Wonderful experience

4.4 on June 05, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Holly's room for our anniversary. Steve and Nancy were extremely kind and helpful answering questions on what to do in Bayfield. The area was beautiful amd quiet. The breakfast was so delicious and they even made a gluten free meal for my wife. I would strongly recommend the Pinehurst Inn.


Anniversary Getaway

5 on May 24, 2013

Everything was wonderful. The rooms were so nice and comfortable! The breakfasts were delicious! The Innkeepers gave us lots of great information and recommendations on the area that made our trip fantastic!


Would definitely recommend Pinehurst Inn!

4.8 on May 07, 2013

My husband and I and another couple booked Pinehurst for the first weekend in May for a long weekend to get away and spend some time together. We were expecting the weather to be warm and to be able to explore the Apostle Islands a bit, but unfortunately we were met with an unexpected early-May snowstorm! With the weather not being conducive to being outside, we ended up spending a lot of time at Pinehurst, curled up by the fire in the common room drinking wine and playing games. And we LOVED every second of it. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and welcome. Breakfast both mornings was fantastic - delicious, homemade, and balanced. Our rooms were clean, cozy and comfortable. We had everything we needed. Since the weather was too chilly to really explore the area, we are excited to return in the Summer - and after having such a great time at Pinehurst, we know our stay will be even better the next time around! We simply can't recommend it enough!


Wonderful northwoods escape!

5 on April 01, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Pinehurst Inn for a quick mini-honeymoon. Breakfast was excellent, and they easily accommodated my gluten-free dietary restrictions. The room we stayed in was immaculate, very comfortable beds, and super soft sheets! Nothing too luxurious or over the top, but well-thought and relaxing. We will definitely be back!


Great Value

4.8 on March 14, 2013

We stayed in the Green House and it was terrific. The room was wonderful, the food was great & our hosts were very helpful & friendly.


The perfect getaway B&B

4.8 on March 04, 2013

Pinehurst Inn is the perfect getaway spot. My husband and I wanted some time together without the kids to relax and do some skiing. Pinehurst is perfectly situated to dining and the ski mountain, yet we felt like we were in the middle on nowhere. We loved our room (Brownstone) with the fireplace, guest robes and luxurious linen. The breakfast was organic and delicious and the perfect way to start the day. We especially love that Pinehurst is geared towards sustainability, Organic and Green living. Claudia and Mattias


Relax On a Snowflake!

5 on February 14, 2013

The snow was painting every single branch in every direction. The wind was coursing and swirling as mobile crystal sculptures grew and dissipated. The innkeepers created the perfect dwelling for guests amidst the storm. Warmth from the fireplace! Soft candlelight! Pristine and understated decor! Fabulous bed clothes, including a kitten-soft burgundy wool blanket! A meticulously clean whirlpool for two ... steaming, caressing and sending soft steam coated in sweetly fragrant bath salts! Each of our days began with top shelf breakfast fare, hot eggies, local fruit compotes, amazing muffins, and hearty coffee, along with cool healthy juices. How does it get better than all that. The innkeepers have recognized all the amenities and have designed an ambience that we've never experienced in any other B & B to the degree we did at Pinehurst in Bayfield, Wisconsin. Our innkeepers also helped us firm up hiking and dining plans with a most complete knowledge of the area. There are no words to say thank you for all the planning and creativity that these good people coordinated and then shared with us. Pinehurst is a gem and summer offers a sequel; only the painting changes to lush green and flowers galore with Lake Superior air in your head. With fond memories, Lee and Kathleen


Garden House - Birches

4.4 on February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at in the Birches in the Garden House. The room was very cozy and relaxing. The mini fireplace was so nice to turn on after walking in the cold to the ice caves outside of Bayfield. We had never been to an inn or a bed and breakfast before, and this was a great first experience. The owners are genuinely friendly, but not pushy. The next morning we had a great conversation with another couple from Chicago over breakfast.The fresh fruit, juice, and muffins were a wonderful departure from a typical hotel breakfast of fruit loops and frozen bagels. We plan to stay again, sometime during the summer months!


Outstanding!

4.6 on October 22, 2012

The Sandstroms were wonderful, very kind and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, and they accommodated some dietary restrictions. I would recommend it to anyone!


Best Choice B&B

4.8 on September 23, 2012

We felt like family from the moment we stepped through the door. Our stay at Pinehurst Inn contributed to the overall enjoyment of our vacation to Bayfield. Roger & Laura Barnes, La Crosse, WI


Week end getaway

4.2 on September 06, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Pinehurst Inn. Beautiful B&B and great attention to details. My husband and I plan to stay here again. Possibly in the winter.


A True Treasure

5 on September 01, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at a B & B ... it was the most amazing experience we have ever had. Nancy and Steve are so welcoming and very friendly people, not to mention awesome cooks. Our breakfast each morning was unbelievable delicious! Our room was very clean and I love their "green" thinking. I would highly recommend this B & B if you are in the Bayfield area. Nancy and Steve have amazing stories to share and know alot about the area.


Wonderful B&B!

4.8 on August 22, 2012

Everything was amazing, our room was nicely decorated, beautiful view out the balcony. The garden house was well put together and very comfortable. I felt like I was right at home and having a worlpool tub right in out room was a real treat! The breakfast that was prepared for us both mornings was absolutely amazing! All fresh foods, all delicious and made just minutes before coming in to eat!! Having a spa in the same building, VERY nice! Talk about relaxing!! Great massages enjoyed by myself and my husband!! Thanks to Nancy and Steve!!


Bayfield Experience

4.6 on August 05, 2012

Great time, very accommodating even when the power went out. Would recommend to friends and family.


Reliably excellent

5 on August 02, 2012

My wife and I come back year after year because this is one of the most comfortable B&Bs we have ever stayed at. Steve and Nancy, the innkeepers, make wonderful breakfasts featuring great local ingredients.


Comfy, Cosy B&B

4.4 on July 30, 2012

We stayed in the Salmo room and enjoyed it quite a lot. The room was very clean, comfortable, updated, and had access to the rooftop for a nice view. The surrounding area was quiet and peaceful with lots to do. Nancy and Steve were both welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was filling and delicious. I wish we had had the time to enjoy the house itself more-there are large gardens, a hammock, patio chairs, a fountain, and even a creek just down the revine. I definitely recommend staying here.


Excellent B&B

4.6 on July 27, 2012

We have stayed here twice, and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. Steve and Nancy are exceptional hosts; the rooms are very comfortable, the beds and linens are excellent; the grounds are gorgeous; breakfast is always good. I highly recommend Pinehurst Inn.


Superb B&B in charming Bayfield

5 on July 23, 2012

The Pinehurst Inn is one of our most favorite places to stay anywhere. The owners do a wonderful job of combining local history, tasteful accommodations, and delicious breakfasts to give an overall wonderful experience for their guests. We love the Pinehurst Inn and plan on returning every year for a visit.


Bats in the Belfry?

2.8 on July 23, 2012

The rooms furnishings, quietness, and amenities were all as expected but the smell was horrific. we understand this home is old, but at one time or another bats lived in the attic. and we know (that) smell. it was putrid.

Innkeeper Response
We are so sorry that you had a negative experience while staying at Pinehurst. While old houses are a challenge, we work hard to create a climate of comfort. Know that if we had been informed of your concerns, this would have given us the opportunity to address them right on. Please feel free to contact us directly if comfortable doing so. Thank you!


Pinehurst Inn Always Creates Great Memories

4.8 on July 18, 2012

Beth and I have stayed with Nancy and Steve in the past, and this trip was excellent as expected. Pinehurst Inn provides consistency - always warm and welcoming - always spotlessly clean - always every detail taken care of. Love the environmentally concerned attitude, the soft as a whisper bed sheets, and the personal attention. Quiet, comfy, delightful.


Perfect Bayfield Spot

4.8 on July 08, 2012

Pinehurst Inn was a relaxing, quality and wonderful place to stay. The grounds are gorgeous, the front porch swing was a perfect place to relax, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. They add so many extras in the room, including wonderful lotion and soft soap. The bed was very comfortable. Nancy and Steve go out of their way to be helpful with recommendations for the area. The food is delicious--generous portions without being wasteful. The food is made from local farmers and you can truly taste the difference. The Spa onsite is another great bonus. We highly recommend Pinehurst Inn.


Pinehurst Inn - Bayfield, WI

3.0 on June 13, 2012

Very nice, quaint B&B nestled off the road just before you get to Bayfield. Hosts are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is unique and very good. Other guests seem to be people who have been there before, which speaks for the rooms and service.


comfortable, relaxing Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 11, 2012

nice and relaxing. Best breakfast ever! Having the Spa on the property was nice.


Wonderful B&B

5 on May 22, 2012

Absolute wonderful place to stay - accommodations so inviting - the best night sleep we've had in a very long time - peaceful. Breakfast outstanding. Hosts Nancy and Steve were very gracious in sharing their home with their guests.


Pinehurst Inn was amazing.

5 on May 21, 2012

We came to Pinehurst to get away and celebrate our 20-years of marriage. Our hosts were wonderfully welcoming - the breakfast offered was tops, amazing food - local and organic. The rooms were beautiful as was the entire property. We enjoyed our stay immensely. I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone. We fully intend on making this our place to celebrate our future anniversaries.


Pinehurt Inn May Stay

5 on May 15, 2012

What a wonderful weekend getaway. Rooms were beautiful, hosts were pleasant and the food was great. We stay the first weekend in May which was a little early in the season so we didn't get to enjoy all of the wonders of spring/summer have to offer but would definitely return later in the season or in the Fall for the color changes.


Peaceful, relaxing, and quiet, just what the Doctor ordered!

5 on April 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the new carriage house and it was wonderful. Great job with the craftsmanship, duplicating some of the historical attributes of the existing house. A lot of thought went into this building, and they have to be proud how it turned out. It was quite and very peaceful, the innkeepers where very laid back which made our experience even more relaxing. If you like history about the area and the property your staying at, they have it. Great stories of past times and you can feel a connection to the property. The only negative thing that my wife and I could think of is, we wish we had more time to enjoy it more.


Relaxation

5 on March 27, 2012

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Bayfield, WI. We came upon Pinehurst Inn through searching internet lodging sites. We were looking for a quite place to get away and relax from our daily lives. This place definitely did that. We stayed in the Brownstone Room in the Garden house. The room looked just like in the photos. Very clean, and Steve and Nancy were very nice and helpful with travel plans and local/nearby sites. The breakfasts were plentiful and very delicious. I'm already missing the yogurt fruit cups! Since we went in late March... when there should have been snow, the gardens were not in bloom, however I do wish to stay here again in the summer to late summer to see the gardens. Even though we went when the gardens weren't in bloom the natural landscape of the tall pine trees takes you back to the northern woods you remember and enjoy through the sound of the pines swaying in the wind to that fresh clean woodsy scent. Thank you again Nancy and Steve for your hospitality. I look forward to coming back again soon. - Jenna and Jason H.


the best place in bayfield!

4.6 on February 20, 2012

We love Pinehurst Inn. This was our second stay, and it was just as wonderful as it was in the fall. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at Pinehurst.


The Birches

2.8 on October 16, 2011

Steve & Nancy are wonderful hosts and Pinehurst is a beautiful B&B. The food is delicious, the rooms are spacious, and the grounds are gorgeous. This is our second time staying at Pinehurst, so our expectations were met in every area, with the exception of the cleanness of the room. (There were uncleaned spots on the carpet, the plant in the corner was pretty dusty, and there is mildew in the shower.) We had a peaceful and restful weekend at Pinehurst for the second time, and we love it there!


The best the area has to offer!

5 on October 14, 2011

My husband & I stayed here over Applefest weekend this past weekend. We are both positive that this is the best the area has to offer! We stayed in the garden house over the living area & it was clean, private & quiet. The room & private bathroom were lovely & spacious. We loved the setting, close proximity to town & the orchards. The owners were so hospitable & informative. The breakfasts were wonderful! While it was fun to see the beautiful homes in town including some of the other area B&Bs, we both agreed that we had the best spot away from the town traffic & people. Even though Pinehurst is located on a main highway, the position & surrounding wooded area feels very private. We would definitely choose this one again for a vacation in the area.


elegant bed and breakfast

4.4 on September 30, 2011

We had an outstanding stay. One little quark with a tap other then that we really enjoyed it. We can't wait to go back!


Pinehurst Inn, Bayfield.. wonderful!

4.6 on September 08, 2011

This place feels like home! The garden house is so cozy and welcoming you won't want to leave. I'd recommend Pinehurst to my closest friends and family and will think fondly forever of my time in Bayfield in great part to the warm feeling of the Pinehurst Inn.


Wonderful

4.8 on August 29, 2011

Very well maintained home with beautiful rooms.Elegant and luxurious. Owners are very accomodating and will graciously provide a lactose free menu. Everything was delightful. I strongly recommend this 'home away from home'.


Pinehurst Inn, Bayfield, WI

4.4 on August 01, 2011

We enjoyed a fabulous 5-day stay at Pinehurst Inn. Everything was beautifully managed. Our room was spacious and comfortable - the bed was perfect. We especially enjoyed all the special pampering - whirlpool tub, private deck, robes, on-site spa service. And the breakfasts each morning were amazing! Steve and Nancy were gracious hosts who made us feel welcome and comfortable.


Lovely stay at the Pinehurst

4.0 on July 10, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Pinehurst. The rooms were nicely appointed and ours had a whirlpool bath large enough for two! Breakfast was always a delight and the Innkeepers were gracious enough to provide gluten-free items for my husband. On top of that, we received a package in the mail shortly after our stay, containing an important electrical cord we left behind. The grounds were lovely and I enjoyed walking around in the morning, taking some photos.


Serene Surroundings

5 on July 09, 2011

Peaceful, beautiful place on the outskirts of Bayfield. Couldn't ask for a more relaxing area. Innkeepers and staff are gracious and very accomodating. Would highly recommend and revisit in the future.


Would definitely stay at Pinehurst Inn again

5 on June 26, 2011

My husband and I had such a wonderful experience at the Pinehurst Inn for our honeymoon. It was our first B&B experience. Steve and Nancy are so pleasant and accommodating. Each morning we were greeted with friendly smiles and a delicious breakfast. We would definitely stay at Pinehurst again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Bayfield, WI.


A Wonderful Way to See Lake Superior

4.6 on June 26, 2011

Our stay at Pinehurst Inn was wonderful! The room and house was very comfortable and quaint. The food was to die for and Nancy and Steve make us feel like old friends. Bayfield is a precious town - so full of places to explore and shop. We hope to be back some day!


Refreshed in Bayfield

4.2 on June 20, 2011

The comfort, earth-friendliness, WONDERFUL breakfasts, warmth, service and fabulous spa treatments within their in-house spa facility (Enso) was amazing. Highly recommend. My husband and I feel really refreshed. Bring with you running/walking shoes...great area to just pop-out the front door and stroll around.


Must Stay!

5 on June 06, 2011

The Pinehurst Inn at Pikes Creek is the perfect place to stay for quiet relaxation. Steve & Nancy are very hospitable and have the best recomendations for food & events in town. The addition of the Enso Spa is the perfect way to wind down and tune into the beautiful scenery/environment. If only this were a luxury to enjoy more often! My favorite place to stay...hands down.


Business Trip

5 on February 03, 2011

I had to attend a meeting in Red Cliff. The Pinehurst provided the government rate so I could enjoy their wonderful accomodations instead of some chain hotel. It was a wonderful and relaxing evening before a long meeting the following day. I would recommend this B&B to anyone seeking lodging for any kind of trip.


Comfort in the North

5 on November 29, 2010

We stay in a lot of B & Bs. This one was the most comfortable. In addition to the super-soft sheets, the quilts were handmade. The breakfasts included a variety of muffins, in addition to the main dishes and fruit, and local ciders. We'll definitely stay again.


Wonderful getaway

4.4 on November 14, 2010

We took a chance with this one, having never been to Bayfield before, and had a great time. The service is great, rooms very nice, there is a spa right on the property and the food is truly amazing. I would recommend the Pinehurst in to anyone.


Wonderful retreat

5 on November 08, 2010

Nancy and Steve have a wonderful Inn and are exceptional Inkeepers. I would highly reccomend this establishment. The Breakfast's were superb and the ambiance incredible. A must visit location. Bob Cheesman and Bonnie Paczkowski


Fall Weekend at Pinehurst Inn

4.0 on November 04, 2010

My wife Julie and I recently spent a weekend at the Pinehurst Inn at Pike's Creek in Bayfield Wisconsin. This was our first B&B experience. We were immediately charmed by the scene of the inn, a beautiful victorian up on a hillside with a view of Lake Superior through the mostly bare trees. We continued to be impressed and excited after being immediately greeted as we walked in, and shown to our room, Elisha's Room, directly above the front porch. We stayed for two nights, and explored the public rooms and enjoyed two excellent breakfasts and found that the inn was fitted out to the smallest detail with choices that were engagingly in keeping with its time and place, and with a view to minimizing usage of non-renewable resources of any description. The owners and other staff were available when needed, and extremely helpful with needed advice and items needed but forgotten. They were also not hovering about watching over guests, activities during most of the day and evening. The setting is beautiful and near a wide range of activities both indoors and out, and many suggestions and much history is detailed in a binder in each room. I would recommend a stay at this beautiful inn to anyone looking for a guest experience that leads to relaxation at whatever degree of engagement or activity one might choose.


First class B&B

4.0 on November 01, 2010

Lovely property and hosts. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.


Wasn't "wowed" but very satisfactory

3.6 on October 26, 2010

Very clean, very comfortable beds, a beautiful home in a very nice wooded setting. The hosts were very friendly. I would have preferred less bread/carbs at breakfast and more protein (the juice,lemon poppyseed bread and and apple/french toast dish were fine, but I need eggs or yogurt or cheese - some protein - to really get going in the morning:))


Nice, quiet stay

4.2 on October 20, 2010

We are first time B&B-ers and very much enjoyed this experience. The breakfast was AMAZING and unique...yum! Our innkeepers were fabulous and always asked if everything was ok. We were also surprised at how quite it was given the rooms are so close, it was a great bonus.


Lovely house, grounds, and room

3.6 on October 16, 2010

Lovely room, plenty of light, beautiful views out windows.


A place to stay close to Bayfield

3.0 on October 09, 2010

The tub/shower (jacuzzi) in our room was great! We also enjoyed hooking up our ipod to the rooms alarm clock and listening to our own music all night. The balcony we had, I would not consider 'private' by any means, but I still went out on it to take a look at the yard and all the spots to lounge and activities they have around the yard. We were dissapointed in the size of the bed (I think we had a dworf queen size?) and the breakfast. Not that the food was poorly done, we just didn't like it, except for the local fruit and juice which were great. We did appreciate the effort they've put into being ecologically conservative, and encouraging the rest of their industry to follow.


Beautiful Pinehurst Inn

4.8 on October 06, 2010

The Innkeepers, Nancy and Steve do everything to make your stay enjoyable. They have fabulose homemade breakfast made with local ingredients. Nancy and Steve are extremely knowledgable about the area and can always help you find something to do, even when it's raining.


First stay

5 on September 30, 2010

We loved our first stay at Pinehurst from start to finish. When we arrived the house smelled AMAZING. The innkeepers were making grape jam from grapes that they had grown on the property. The house is so cozy and inviting. We stayed in the R.D. Pike room and it was perfect for us. Very clean and eco-friendly. We were even provided with aluminum water bottles to use to cut down on plastic. Breakfast was made by utilizing local products and it was absolutely delicious! I wish I was able to eat like that every day! I would recommend Pinehurst to anyone traveling to Bayfield. I can't wait to go return.


Loved it!

4.2 on September 14, 2010

I really can't say enough positive things about the Pinehurst Inn in beautiful Bayfield. The accommodations were comfortable, especially the king-sized bed. We very much enjoyed the eco-friendly aspects of the inn. The innkeepers clearly care very much about sustainability and protecting the environment. Steve and Nancy went out of their way to accommodate our ever need and request. Both were friendly and knowledgeable, and their expertise definitely enhanced our trip. You won't be disappointed in this B&B.


Anniversary

4.6 on September 10, 2010

We found Pinehurst online and thought their Garden House was perfect for our taste. We like a little more modern feel to our B & B. We stayed in the Brownstone room which had a three-sided fireplace and large whirlpool tub. Loved it! We would have appreciated a tv/dvd player in our room for movies rather then the shared tv/dvd player, but we came prepared with our laptop so we could watch a movie in our room. Not a big deal. The Pinehurst staff was great. Breakfast was wonderful every day. Next time we will do the spa. Bayfield had tons to offer. Can't wait to go back.


Pinehurst Inn

4.4 on September 04, 2010

Nancy and Steve were very accomodating to guest requests and schedules. The bed was comfortable, the food was great and the grounds were impressive. I particularly enjoyed reading of the history of the house and learning of the ties to the innkeeper's ancestors.


A wonderful weekend

5 on September 01, 2010

Me and my husband had the most wonderful time alone at Pinehurst. We are both disabled and they were so helpful and met both are mobility issues, and the massage that I got was a wonderful experience. If you are disabled and worried about staying at a B&B because so many of them have stairs this one is completly handicap friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful every morning!


Highly recommended!

4.8 on August 26, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Pinehurst Inn. The room was airy and open, the towels and linens were sumptuous, and everything was scrupulously clean and fresh. It's a quick drive from Pinehurst Inn to Bayfield, so it's easy to go back and forth. The best part of our stay was the breakfasts. My wife is on a vegetarian, gluten-free diet, and Pinehurst Inn had no problems accommodating her. She never felt like her food was of lesser quality or that she had to "make do"--her food was delicious and plentiful even though it was prepared separately. Steve and Nancy are pleasant and easy-going, and very knowledgeable about the area. They were able to give us driving directions that saved us lots of time and frustration, and able to recommend specific places to go to meet our interests. It was a very enjoyable stay! We would stay there again.


Paradise in Bayfield

5 on July 21, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Pinehurst Inn. Nancy and Steve are gracious and extremely hospitable. The house and the setting are absolutely beautiful! If you go there, treat yourself to a massage. Eson, the spa next door, features one of the best massage therapists we've ever encountered. In addition, of course, all the charms of Bayfield and Lake Superior are there for you to enjoy.


A lovely spot to stay; close to the Big Top venue

4.0 on July 11, 2010

We came to Bayfield to hear the Avett Brothers in concert at the Big Top Chatauqua and loved the Pinehurst Inn. Charming with great history and a spa on the property. Our hosts were very nice and we will stay again when we return to Bayfield.


exceeded expectations

5 on July 10, 2010

this was our first bed & breakfast experience and far exceeded our expectations. the owners/innkeepers were so very friendly and helpful, and provided us with gorgeous lodging and an amazing breakfast. we will return to the bayfield area and most definitely plan our stay at the pinehurst inn.


Great Place to pamper yourself

3.8 on June 30, 2010

We stayed in the Brownstone Room and it is as pictured from the website. We were lucky enough to have the whole house to ourselves. The room and the grounds surrounding the house are lovely. Loved all the windows in the room, until it came time to shower or enjoy the hot tub. Anyone from the main house would be able to see quite clearly. The breakfast was good (fruit parfaits and French toast). The Inn Keeper seemed very business-like and didn't linger to socialize when we checked in or at breakfast.


Eco-luxury in the Northwoods

5 on June 29, 2010

I cannot write enough about the Pinehurst Inn. What an amazing B&B. The grounds are beautiful with flowers and gardens everywhere. The air smells so sweet. There is a small river that runs along the side of the property and seating areas and a hammock are conveniently set up to enjoy this view. We were made to feel at home immediately. Steve shared some great stories about Pinehurst in the early days. After chatting with him over breakfast we soon felt like we had known him forever. And oh! the breakfast! Fresh, local strawberrys with a yogurt honey sauce, an amazing crustless spinach quiche, terrific coffee and two kinds of fresh juice. Now the rooms. A bed to die for...that is...when you sleep in these beds you are dead to the world in seconds flat. Not only is the bed super comfortable, the sheets are like sleeping on silk. The room is comfortably appointed. I loved the fact that our room had a living plant! The bathroom was great with wonderful smelling hand soap and a luxurious whirlpool tub. The towels were soft and fluffy too. Amazing, amazing place. Don't miss this one! All of the above while considering their impact on the environment-incredible!


Highly recommended

4.4 on June 24, 2010

The grounds are stunning and the house is unbelievable. We are definitely going back.


A weekend getaway!

3.6 on June 14, 2010

We had a great time at the Pinehurst Inn ,we found the home to be charming and restful,Nancy and Steve were cordial and helpful,we will stay there again should we return to the area.


Great Weekend!

4.4 on May 04, 2010

We really had a fabulous time at the Pinehurst. The room was very clean and well maintained, the features in the room like the quietness of the whirlpool, NICE hand soaps and other amenities, extra blankets etc. was awesome. The food was refreshingly very good and we enjoyed our chat with the other couples but I think might have preferred an option for a more intimate setting for breakfast (might have been an option and we didn't ask)...either way, we enjoyed chatting with others and the experience. Loved the woodwork and care taken with the property and all of the environmentally friendly features. I wish we had chosen to take advantage of the on-site spa- it remains a regret but we will get it in on our next visit. Steve and Nancy are both warm, cordial and awesome hosts! We will definitely be returning for a future visit:-)


The Perfect Escape

5 on March 31, 2010

I cant even begin to tell you how great this place is! We stayed in the Garden House for 2 nights and it was beautiful! And the smell, I just couldnt get over how great it smelled. I love the smell of sweet grass so staying in a room that smelt just like that was wonderful. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable, best night of sleep I have had in quite some time. The fire place and the hot tub were the best part for my husband and I. We were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary so this made for a very romantic escape from the city life of Chicago and our 3 children. The InnKeepers are great, the rooms are great, and the breakfast was great!!! Especially that blueberry french toast and sausage that Steave made!!! My husband and I will be returning for our anniversary next year. If you are between a few different places, this is the one!!!!!


A Wonderful Get-Away

5 on February 28, 2010

Pinehurst is a beautiful bed and breakfast with wonderful hosts, tasty food, and relaxing atmosphere. Nancy and Steve will have my business every time I vacation in Bayfield.


We are returning!

4.0 on February 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Pinehurst in the fall and it was more than we could have expected! Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The hot tub is self draining and very clean! All the little extras were there-soft robes and towels, beautiful photography in the room-and a very comfortable mattress. The grounds were very beautiful, and relaxing. The inn has an amazing spa in the garden house-what a treat! We have already made plans to return in the summer! Perfect for a getaway or a honeymoon. The Big Top is right up the road, and can make for a great weekend away-good music, into town for dinner, and then a soak in the tub....


Love the Pinehurst Inn

4.8 on February 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Pinehurst Inn 3 nights last week and absolutely loved it! The room was very spacious with a huge fireplace and jet tub. The bed was so comfortable and the scenery from the many windows in the room was lovely. The home is just outside of the main city of Bayfield so it's close to restaurants, pubs and ferry, but still gives you the feeling that you are out in the middle of nowhere. The innkeepers are very eco-friendly and recycle as well as use solar panels to heat the B&B. Breakfast was delicious - as an example, we had pan fried apples and yogurt, plus homemade cranberry bread, plus quiche on our final day. Coffee and milk and local ciders are provided too. ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION: If you end up staying here, consider doing what we did during the day, which was "mushing" with about 40 exceptionally well trained Siberian Huskies at Wolfsong Adventures. It's about 20 miles from the B&B. The owners, John and Mary Thiel, will make sure you have a great time and stay warm. My husband and I went for Valentine's Day and have never, ever had more fun!


Memorable Winter Getaway

4.0 on February 09, 2010

Staying with Nancy and Steve is a wonderful experience. Being active members of the community they are very knowledgable about what to do and where to do it. They are very cordial and accommodating hosts. I am looking forward to my next stay at Pinehurst Inn at Pikes Creek. Glen


We'll be back for more!

5 on February 08, 2010

Great massages for aching muscles, beautiful quiet setting, sweet people and very welcoming. The breakfasts were a wonderful time for all of us guests to share our adventures and trade ideas...Steve and Nacy also are great Bayfield resources. The spa is fabulous.


Eco-friendly and Outstanding

4.8 on January 25, 2010

As a first time experience at a bed and breakfast, the Pinehurst Inn see an amazingly high standard with exceptional food, lovingly detailed rooms, and friendly owners all set in a beautiful location. We really appreciated the small things with the environment in mind, real plants in the rooms, organic soaps and lotions, and CFL lighting.


Awesome B&B!!

4.6 on January 25, 2010

We were greeted immediately, with a warm friendly smile, and made to feel at home. It was an awesome weekend that will be implanted in our memories for many years to come. We absolutely loved the Brownstone room.


Wonderful B & B

5 on January 25, 2010

We stayed at Pinehurst for our honeymoon and had a memorable and fantastic time. The breakfasts were always flavorful and fresh. The rooms were cozy and kept exceptionally well. One of our biggest appreciations was for the innkeepers. They were hospitable and gave great recommendations for places to eat and things to do. We hope to vist again!


Relaxing Retreat

4.6 on January 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pinehurst for our first anniversary. We found the Inn to be a relaxing place to escape our everyday lives.


First B&B stay

5 on November 04, 2009

This was my husband's first time to the Apple Festival and out first stay at a bed & breakfast. We couldn't have asked for more. The innkeepers were very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Next stay we will take advantage of the Enso Spa!


Don't go during Fly season!

3.8 on October 01, 2009

We have been to the Pinehurst inn twice allready and this second time (late september) we had an awfull experience with the flies. I thought it was unacceptable the the innkeepers didn't get rid of the flies before our arrival ( there were about 20-30 in the room when we arrived ). Result, I spent basically all my weekend killing flies and didn't get to enjoy my weekend. Since other old buildings around the Bayfield area didn't seem to have a Fly problem during the same time, there is no reason that this shouldn't have been take care of. Other than that, the rest is great. Wonderful breakfast, a relaxing atmosphere and nice innkeepers. Will try somewhere else next time though.

Innkeeper Response
We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We are so sorry that your experience during this visit was less than expected. We have indeed had a fall season with a worse than usual problem with cluster flies - a common fall occurrance. This is mainly an issue in old houses located in wooded areas. While we do make every effort to check rooms a few times every day, we clearly failed in this case. For this we are very sorry. In future years we will be doing an exterior spraying to minimize this problem - this needs to be done in August, however we didn't do it since the past 5-6 years haven't been bad fly seasons. Hindsight - not a good decision. We do hope that you will indeed return to Pinehurst. If you choose to do so, please contact us and we'd be happy to provide a voucher for a complimentary night stay. Again, thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to post this review. Nancy & Steve Innkeepers, Pinehurst Inn, Bayfield


Great Experience, Friendly Hosts, Great Food

5 on September 11, 2009

This being my first Bed and Breakfast stay, I had no basis for comparison, but it was excellent. So relaxing. My girlfirend and I took a sauna and relaxed in the whirlpool tub in our room. We had a delicious breakfast the next morning of a fratata with organic vegetables from their garden. Can't say enough about how nice it was!


Still congratulating ourselves...and Pinehurst

4.6 on August 30, 2009

Beautifully located, landscaped, renovated circa 1900 mansion B&B a few miles south of bustling Bayfield. Innkeepers Nancy and Steve proved to be gracious, uniquely knowledgeable hosts. Their commitment to sustainability is quietly self-evident everywhere -- on the grounds, in the rooms and at the breakfast table. While embraced by the past, this historic B&B manages to plant itself seamlessly into a 'green,' comforting future. We'e still congratulating ourselves for our choice of a four-night stay at Pinehurst. We hope to return soon.


Pinehurst Inn...THE perfect place to stay...

5 on August 27, 2009

Not only was Pinehurst Inn one of the most gorgeous homes I have seen in my travels, the owners Nancy and Steve have transformed it into a Green business model. Organic breakfast, solar water heating, gardens, a sauna. You feel at home while also feeling inspired to change your own home lifestyle.....This is the perfect place to stay if you want to be well-fed, well taken care of, and inspired to change the world...


Wonderful Inn!

4.4 on August 26, 2009

We loved this Inn. Wonderful room, gracious hosts, and delicious breakfast. We cannot wait to go back!


Relaxing Getaway

4.2 on August 26, 2009

The historic inn is beautiful inside and out. My room was very comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was delicious and was much more than I was expecting. Overall my expectations were greatly exceeded.


tremendous evening

5 on August 07, 2009

This was our first visit to the Bayfield area. Nancy was a great hostess, very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely visit Pinehurst again.


Perfect place to rest your soul.

4.0 on August 06, 2009

Approaching the Pinehurst Inn only increased our anticipation to be staying in such an assuming but comfortable old home. My husband loved exploring the home's architecture, I enjoyed the perennial gardens, water fountains and cozy front porch. Steve Sandstrom welcomed questions and provided local history. The bed pillows were perfect and window views breathtaking.


Wild and free and back to relax by 3

5 on August 06, 2009

We had been traveling for 8 days when we got to Pinehurst. Being able to talk to someone who was not behind a motel counter was great. Enjoying the great outdoors and knowing that you have a lovely spot to retreat to after the sun goes down was special. Having a chance to share a wonder breakfast and have a conversation with the other guests was definitely a high point.


We'll be back soon!

4.2 on July 13, 2009

Perfectly wonderful and relaxing, we will definitely come back! Nancy and Steve made us feel at home and gave excellent and thoughtful recommendations for exploring the area. M & K, Madison, WI.


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on July 02, 2009

We recently vacationed in Bayfield for the first time. We were attracted to Pinehurst because it was just out of town and we were looking for total peace and quiet. The only disappointment was this B&B advertised as being a place where children 12 & over were allowed. However, there was a young (maybe age 2 or 3) staying there with a family and the child woke us early each morning we were there.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your review. We fully understand and acknowledge the concern about the young child here during your stay. We opted to make an exception to our policy and later determined this was not a good decision. Your comments have reinforced that. The peace and quiet of Pinehurst Inn will be a high priority. Thank you again for your comments - and please do return.


A Wonderful Getaway!

4.6 on June 01, 2009

We absolutely loved our anniversary trip to the Pinehurst Inn. Our room was gorgeous, the house was immaculate, the common areas were welcoming, and the food was delicious. The innkeepers were very friendly and always willing to give advice on what to do or see in the area, which was helpful, seeing as it was our first time in the area. Plus, the fact that it prides itself on being environmentally friendly is just another bonus in our book. If we're ever up in the area again, we'll definitely be staying here.


Two Nights in Bayfield

2.6 on October 01, 2008

Lovely house with interesting history. First-class amenities and bed linens. Innkeepers may want to pay closer attention to details of house cleaning.


Fantastic Northern Getaway

3.6 on August 27, 2008

Beautiful location in Northern , WI. Nice, clean, private rooms, beautifully decorated and maintained home with great gardens to lounge around.


Great Stay

4.2 on August 20, 2008

Loved the B&B! Great Garden house, friendly owners, beautiful grounds! great places for a honeymoon, anniversary, whatever !


Charming Home

4.6 on July 23, 2008

The Pinehurst is a beatiful turn of the century home out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Bayfield, WI. The value is very good for a hearty and well cooked meal. The rooms are well decorated in the turn of the centry atmosphere, the wood work in the gathering rooms make you believe your back a century. Innkeepers are treat you like their family instead of a customer. A home you would not hesitate to visit again.


Perfect place for us.

4.6 on June 10, 2008

Lovely and peaceful grounds include towering pines, delicious herband flower gardents, bubbling water, clear creek....The beautifully restored 1880's home had every comfort and the food was great. The innkeeprs are accomodating and enthusiastic.


wonderfull

5 on December 29, 2007

My mother and I decided to stay at Pinehurst at the last minute in June of 2007. The service and our room was lovely. It was our first time at a B&B. I am hoping to go again this year. We loved it!!


Pinehurst Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $244
  • Reviews (102) 4.5
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7157793676

Visit Website »

View details

Top