Old Rittenhouse Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
41 Reviews

Write A Review

Celebrating My Birthday at the Rittenhouse

5 on March 22, 2014

This was the most romantic and exquisite bed and breakfast. The attention to detail and exceptional customer care was appreciated. The food was superb as well as our room. The view and tranquility was appreciated


Simply amazing!

4.8 on December 20, 2013

My wife & I were in Bayfield, WI recently for a birding event and had the good fortune to stay at the Rittenhouse Inn, between the wonderful accommodations, a staff that treated you like family and a five course dinner featuring champagne, free range chicken & lemon raspberry creme brulee, the day could not have been more perfect!


Bed and Breakfast at its best

4.8 on October 18, 2013

The mansion is clean, quite and comfortable. The food and service was great. This place is a gem. A great place.


30 Years too late!

5 on October 16, 2013

It has only taken us 30 years to figure out that a bed and breakfast can be "outstanding" experience!


Spring Break Getaway

5 on September 06, 2013

Offered great off-season prices with amazing accommodations. The rooms were luxurious, food was delicious and the staff helped make our stay fun and relaxing.


The best ever!

5 on August 30, 2013

This was the nicest bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at - both in the USA and in Europe. Friendly staff, gorgeous decor,delicious food. A very warm,welcoming atmosphere. A great stay.


Home away from home

5 on August 21, 2013

From the moment the Innkeeper showed us our room, I could feel my shoulders lower and relaxation set in. The room was spacious romantic and elegant.


The Best

5 on June 11, 2013

Lovely Victorian House. Well maintained, friendly atmosphere, comfortable with great view of lake and great breakfast.


Amazing staff, incredible food, a simply beautiful inn.

4.6 on May 11, 2013

The Old Rittenhouse Inn is absolutely beautiful and the kindness and responsiveness of the staff is unmatched. We stayed in Room VII. It was HUGE, comfortable, clean and the bathroom was gigantic, including a second tub with shower --- way more than I have ever seen in any room at a B&B. The only issue with our stay was a lack of hot water in the later evening (around 7pm) on Saturday night. It must have been a case of too many jacuzzi tubs at once because the problem did not reoccur the second night. Overall, we loved the Rittenhouse Inn and would gladly stay again.


Wassail

5 on April 18, 2013

Enchanting & renewing. Wonderful food, entertainment, and accommodations.


One Day Getaway

5 on November 21, 2012

We had a great time at the Inn. The people there are very friendly and attentive. We stayed in room #2 which has 4 windows that overlook the downtown and give a great view of the lake and Madeline Island. Breakfast was exceptional. Julie, our waitress, was a fountain of enthusiam and knowledge of the house, town, and area. You can't go wrong staying here.


Absolutely Perfect

5 on October 07, 2012

The personal service, physical amenities, and quality cuisine impressed me so favorably that I will make the long journey to experience it all again.


Deck Superior

5 on October 06, 2012

Although the rooms were awesome, it was the deck overlooking Lake Superior that got most of my attention. The 5-course dinner complimented the 5-star views.


Awesome

4.6 on October 06, 2012

We have stopped by this place before and always wanted to stay but it was pricey. We were on our way through town to go to Duluth and stopped to see what was available they offered us a price that we had to stay and change our plans just so we could stay at this B&B. It was "awesome." The breakfast & staff were outstanding!


Beautiful Wisconsin

5 on October 03, 2012

There are numerous wonderful places to see in the US. However, to me, Northern WI offers the most spectacular views with its lakes, forests, & seasonal beauty.


Perfect Wedding Weekend!

4.8 on October 03, 2012

We had an amazing, small wedding while using The Rittenhouse Inn rooms and their Cottage for our accommodations last weekend! All the rooms were very clean, wonderfully decorated, and comfortable with wonderful views and the Cottage worked perfectly for the 9 of us to gather. We especially enjoyed utilizing the whirlpools in the rooms we stayed and enjoyed the chair swing on the front porch of the Cottage. The Rittenhouse Events Coordinator, Wendy, was a great help ensuring everything went swimmingly! We had the perfect flowers delivered as well as professional and accommodating photographers for our event! Wendy also set up reservations at the Old Rittenhouse for our reception dinner with a 5 course, knock-your-socks-off, meal! Even our 4 year old had his own 5 course version and enjoyed the experience! Thank you Wendy and Rittenhouse staff! We truly could not have asked for anything better or more accommodating! We wouldn't have changed a thing!


Magical Get Away

3.8 on September 24, 2012

What a wonderful place to have the world melt away, relax, and regenerate. One night wasn't enough but our stay was magical. Well worth the expense.


Best B&B Up North

5 on September 23, 2012

At the last minute we found ourselves in Bayfield and were lucky enough to get a gorgeous room at the Rittenhouse and the next morning we had the best breakfast ever. I hope we can plan to return.


Victorian Charm in the North Woods

5 on September 23, 2012

The perfect place to stay when visiting the Apostle Islands and the lovely town of Bayfield. Charming rooms with fireplaces include great breakfast.


Memories

4.2 on September 04, 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor at the Chateau Boutin. Beautiful view. Had breakfast at the Old Rittenhouse Inn. Loved it.


Wonderful Holiday Weekend!

3.0 on August 04, 2012

I was impressed with the promptness and courtesy of the maintenance staff. The waitress we had brought newness and life into the historic and beautiful home.


Outstanding dining and service

4.2 on July 31, 2012

The dining experience at the Rittenhouse Inn was outstanding! The service was excellent and we enjoyed the spoken menus.


Amazing!!!!

4.8 on July 04, 2011

We spent the fourth of July weekend at the Rittenhouse Inn. We had an outstanding experience. Our room was exquisite and the food was perfection in its taste and presentation. The entire staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful. We were very entertained by the views from the grand wrap-around porch... especially Lake Superior. We also appreciated the short walk to the shops and festivities in downtown Bayfield. We are anxiously awaiting our next stay at the Old Rittenhouse Inn.


Better than my Honeymoon

5 on August 13, 2010

The house itself, and the turret room that we stayed in, was storybook. The food was delicious. The raspberries were mouthwatering. Please, honey, if you're reading this, I want to go back.


Yesteryear today!

5 on August 03, 2009

If you love fine antiques, good views of Lake Superior and gourmet food -- plus outstanding, fun, friendly service, find Old Rittenhouse Inn!


Always a treat!

4.8 on May 25, 2009

This was the fourth time we've stayed at the Old Rittenhouse Inn and every visit has been divine. The Suite XI is magical with its large whirlpool, fireplace, steam shower, balcony, window seat overlooking Lake Superior and a comfy king size bed. The food and service is always outstanding. A real gem on Lake Superior.


Old Rittenhouse

4.6 on March 03, 2009

It was very charming. The food was excellent, and the service was fantastic.


Rittenhouse

3.2 on March 03, 2009

nice stay


warm adn cozy

3.6 on February 20, 2009

We had a great stay. The whirlpool and real fireplace were a great treat after all of our outdoor winter activities!


Transported to another place and time

5 on December 18, 2008

The Rittenhouse Inn transports you to another place and time- a place of Victorian elegance where the worries of today melt away in a 'customer comes first' time capsule. Guests experience.Beautiful surroundings and gourmet dining- all in a most welcoming atmosphere- the total package!


Best time/ best inn/ best lake!

4.2 on November 25, 2008

Bayfield is the best little town in the mid-west. It is so special and so unchanged by time and the Rittenhouse over-looking beautiful Lake Superior is the most perfect place to stay! I always cry when we leave!


Great stay

5 on November 17, 2008

We loved staying in the inn. We love old furnishings and good food. The fireplace was wonderful!


Best anniversary ever!

4.8 on November 12, 2008

We stayed at the Le Chateau Boutin (Rittenhouse) this summer for our anniversary, and it was absolutely the most perfect weekend we could have had. The weather was terrible, but coming in from the lake to an amazing dinner and a wood fire in our room was just what we needed to unwind. The service was impeccable and the rooms were gorgeous. Food: Amazing. I wish I could recreate the breakfasts we had while we were there. We definitely plan on coming back for another special occasion sometime down the road.


must stay!

4.4 on November 11, 2008

Great place, awesome food!! Clean room, unique experience!


The best getaway for relaxation

5 on November 03, 2008

We never get a chance to get away and we finally made ourselves! This was an amazing get away. It was so cozy. In the restaurant t hey managed to walk the fine line of elegent and expensive feeling while still letting you feel at home being yourself. Our waiter Ray was great, the food was amazing and we can't wait to go back! We decided to make this a yearly trip. I am already telling all my friends about it!


Our little piece of heaven

5 on September 15, 2008

We have been guests many times over the years at Le Chateau Boutin. We drive 8 hours and just the mere sight of this grand inn makes us take a deep breath and sigh as we know what awaits us. The beauty of these charming inns embrace the slower pace and I think of the Chateau as home. Many times I have sat on the porch reading a book and someone passes by and comments on my lovely home. I thank them and smile. The food is absolutley fantastic. The staff is so warm and friendly and makes your stay so pleasant it is hard to leave. Summer isn't summer without a trip to Bayfield and a retreat at the Chateau Boutin.


Awesome visit!

4.6 on July 13, 2008

Comfort, quiet, very peaceful. We had a fantastic weekend where we we're treated like we were the only people on earth. Thanks


We find our solace there...

5 on July 11, 2008

We have been going back to the Rittenhouse for eight years now. We have very busy lives in the building and real estate industry... we look forward every year to our escape from the rush of life to relax and recharge on the porch of the Rittenhouse where Jerry, Mary and staff greet you like family and roll out the carpet. The rooms are beautiful,clean and restful. The food is often made with fresh local ingredients and prepared in the gourmet kitchen. If you are looking for an encredible get away, steal away to the Rittenhouse. Bayfield and the area is a beautiful tranquil area to explore and the Rittenhouse is in our opinion a 5 star B&B. Evie and Mark Bookey Grand Rapids, MN


An oasis for renewal

5 on November 25, 2007

I have stayed at this establishment during several key times in my life. Once I was there as a honeymooner. Once I brought my soon to be ex wife and children there to spend our last Christmas as a family together. And I have returned many times since alone or with friends to renew my spirits. On each occasion the ambiance has been spectacular, the service more than superb, and the food has always been up to my standard for fine dining formed by visiting the great restaurants and hotels of the world. Thank you Rittenhouse for so many years of perfection, for giving this old bird now a place to come home to throughout the year.


A Luxury Inn in a small town

4.8 on October 11, 2007

Rittenhouse Inn has been the mainstay that my wife and I have gone to for 20 years. The food is not good, it's out of this world!! The rooms are finely decorated with antiques all over the house. Staff is not only friendly but very accomadating. I've never had to worry about a cancellation policy that the other reviewer had because it would take my wife and I an act of God to cancel! This is a top notch 5 star B&B. The location is superb and the rooms are huge. Check out the 3rd floor rooms. Also, if you have dinner, see if the Steak Bercy (spelling??) is on the menu. Wow...that is a great steak. John & Karen Adams


Beware of cancellation policy

4.0 on September 18, 2007

Make sure and ask ab out the puntive cancellatiob policy before booking.

Innkeeper Response
We're happy this reviewer enjoyed their visit with us overall. As a point of clarification, our cancellation policy is posted on our web site. It is also mentioned verbally on the phone when reservations are made. Finally, it is included in all our confirmations, both email and regular mail. This policy is not intended to be punitive. Because our season is short and our inventory is limited, this policy has been developed as a way to protect both our customers and our business. The policy ensures the customer we have reserved a very unique and special accommodation for them. For the record, here is our cancellation policy: Deposits A non-refundable deposit equal to the first night's lodging is required to secure a reservation. We accept Visa, Master Card, and Personal Checks. Cancellations Cancellations at least 10-days prior to arrival are subject to a $25 fee. The fee is deducted from the deposit and the balance refunded in the form of a Rittenhouse gift card. Deposits for cancellations less than 10-days prior to arrival are non-refundable, unless the room is re-rented, in which case the lesser $25 fee applies and a Rittenhouse gift card will be issued for the remaining balance of the deposit. Early check-outs are considered cancellations and are charged at full rate, unless the room is re-rented. Please double-check your dates and plan accordingly. Please note: 1.) A 2-night minimum stay is required for most special event weekends and some holidays. Sat-ONLY stays incur an additional $25 charge. 2.) Cancellation policy differs for special event weekends.


Old Rittenhouse Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $399
  • Reviews (41) 4.7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (715) 779-5111

Visit Website »

View details

Top