Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
265 Reviews

Write A Review

Top notch B&B

5 on November 05, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Franklin Street Inn and its sister Inn the Franklin Inn on Durkee (the properties are back to back) four times and we plan to stay there many more times in the future. The rooms are immaculately maintained, clean, and well decorated. Both Inns are beautifully restored 19th century homes. Judy is very welcoming and prepares wonderful breakfasts - great coffee and scrumptious entrees. We have always enjoyed our breakfast conversations with the other guests. It is a very pleasant place to stay. The location for is a perfect staging point for Lawrence University and College Avenue. We often walk from there to concerts and art exhibitions at Lawrence (as a conservatory they always have lots of performances going on), and it is only a couple blocks from the History Museum at the Castle, the Trout Museum of Art and the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center (all on College Avenue). Room Tip: There are several rooms set up for couples - our favorites are the Rhodes room and the Shangri-La... See more room tips


A pleasant surprise in Appleton WI.

5 on October 30, 2014

Beautiful Inn, beautiful town. Judy was amazing and made us feel very welcome at the Franklin Inn on Durkee. She was super responsive to any request and even served us breakfast in our room! The whirlpool claw-foot tub is amazing and I felt like a queen while staying in the Petit Chateau Suite. I highly recommend this sweet B&B to anyone staying in Appleton!


Victorian treat in Wisconsin

4.8 on October 11, 2014

Our stay at the Franklin Street Inn in Appleton was a Victorian treat! The attention to detail and the the artistic flair made this a a very special location. The inn keeper was congenial and prepared one of the best breakfasts, mindful of some special dietary requests. Conveniently located and charming, definitely a destination.


Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on October 02, 2014

The Inn was located in Downtown Appleton, which was very convenient. The rooms were comfortable and the service excellent.


A night's stay

4.6 on September 28, 2014

Appleton, Wisconsin is really a beautiful town. The Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast is located in the downtown area of Appleton. The area is really beautiful with older homes, a beautiful park in which to walk, and easily accessible from the highway. My daughter and I enjoyed our night at the Inn, the hostess was truly wonderful. The breakfast was beyond our expectations.


Knowledge and style

4.0 on September 15, 2014

The Franklin Inn's location makes it ideal for any of the attractions of Appleton. The innkeepers' knowledge of the area makes it easy to discover new things to explore.


So welcoming and convenient to central Appleton

5 on July 25, 2014

Wonderful B&B with welcoming innkeepers who have created a superior overnight experience. Easy to relax in the public areas. Delicious breakfast. If you like to "buy local" think about "sleeping local" since the owners are vested in the Appleton area. Easy walk to downtown, Fox River walks, and Lawrence University.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on July 20, 2014

We were just looking for a place to stay that was close to College Ave and the Franklin Street Inn was a perfect fit. Judy was very accommodating and the rooms were very beautifully decorated and themed. The breakfast was delicious and was the perfect amount of food. If we need to stay close to Lawrence or College Ave again, we will definitely choose Franklin Street Inn!


Evening in Paris

4.2 on July 19, 2014

Celebrating our anniversary, we stayed in Paris room around the corner on Durkey St. Decor outstanding. Thoroughly enjoyed round table for 2 with evening dessert of cherry cheesecake & a fun board game. Private bath with air jet tub. Wonderful. Thank you!


Loved it!!

5 on June 30, 2014

Gorgeous old house, personal attention to our needs, great food.


Relaxing and enjoyable

5 on June 03, 2014

Relaxing and enjoyable


Anniversary bliss

5 on June 02, 2014

Wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary with a beautiful room, delicious breakfast and friendly host, and a perfect location for walks to shops and restaurants! Can't wait to come back!!


For hardwood floor and woodwork lovers, Franklin Street Inn is a beauty!

5 on May 02, 2014

Judy, the owner, is extremely warm and gracious! The proximity to Lawrence University is wonderful. I will definitely stay at Franklin Street Inn again!


Lovely relaxing stay

4.8 on April 25, 2014

The Franklin Inn on Main is a gorgeous home in a beautiful neighborhood. Very comfortable bed, kind and attentive hostess and a marvelous breakfast. Highly recommended!


Highly Recommended

5 on April 18, 2014

We needed a getaway, and the Franklin Street Inn was just the ticket. We have been wonderfully pampered and fed. Beautiful rooms, excellent service. Looking forward to staying here again soon!


Nice time away

4.6 on March 13, 2014

The 2 story room was large, spacious and welcoming. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were a little too plush (blanket sheets). Our only complaint was that, as they are very "green", the hot water heater was kept low and the shower was luke-warm at best

Innkeeper Response
Choices, choices, do we put the cozy velour plush sheets on from Dec.-Feb. or our 1000 count microfiber sheets on the beds during the whole year. Gift shop sales for both types were high this past year. We are always open to your requests like other guests have mentioned, "Put the same sheets on that we had on last time, that's why we are coming back." We are very sorry that your shower was not hot enough for you. The only idea that comes to mind is that if someone just fills the whirlpool and then showers, then you could have used up the 75 gallon water heater in that suite. Being green to us would never mean compromising our goal of fulfilling all of our guest's comforts. We look forward to paying close attention to any important details to meet all of our guest's needs.


Great Getaway!

5 on March 03, 2014

A birthday gift for my wife turned out fantastic. Very nice, very very clean place, and the friendliest of hosts.

Innkeeper Response
We are honored that you selected our inn! It is definitely flattering to offer a service that becomes a birthday gift. Now we call that living in the "present".


Amazing Experience

5 on February 27, 2014

Our experience in Franklin Street Inn was wonderful! The best night during our trip through USA. Warm welcoming, delicious and original food, beautiful and comfortable rooms. Especially I liked the super soft bedding and the fireplace, which created even cozier atmosphere. Actually I have to admit, it is hard to dream of or expect such perfectionism! You can see that every detail in the house has a meaning, a style....Judy takes very much care of the inn as well as for her guests. Moreover, the cook book "Frankly the Best" let me take her recipes and house-holding secrets with me! I would definitely recommend this place for everyone who appears to be around Appleton! I would love to come again some time!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for these very kind words! We found it a pleasure to serve you. We do hope that you can return, but also understand that Canada is a long ways away from Appleton.


Appleton FUN

4.2 on February 26, 2014

Wonderful tours, sites & food. Friendly community & Innkeeper Judy very helpful & has lots of info.


Excellent Value

4.8 on February 24, 2014

Our hostess welcomed as even when we arrived much earlier than expected. She gave us just the right suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Our breakfast even consisted of fresh tomatoes from her garden. Fewer signs instructing us what to do would help.

Innkeeper Response
We are happy that you were pleased with our customer service. Our guest's needs are our #1 priority. Thank you for your very interesting point of view on my two helpful notes. Reading directions is optional for: how to run the ultra-ban whirlpool or light the gas fireplace. I’m smiling because my husband is like you. He always tosses the build-it-yourself kit instructions, too.


Great for a mini vacation

5 on February 22, 2014

Excellent guest service...... Outstanding breakfasts... Very quiet and pleasant..


A wonderful experience

5 on February 02, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on feb. 1st. I wanted to surprise my wife for our 37th. anniversary. I chose The Franklin Street Inn and it was better than I could have asked for. They knew it was our anniversary and upgraded our room. Judy and Ron made sure we had more than we expected. The room was very romantic and the decorations were fantastic. The breakfast was great. I also planned for a couples massage while we were there and it added to our experience. Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. The only thing I regret is we could not stay longer. I will make sure when we return we will stay longer. I will recommend this to all my friends. Russ Williams


Franklin Street Inn

5 on December 20, 2013

Our stay at Franklin St Inn was very enjoyable. It was clean and quiet. Our breakfasts were wonderful. Judy and Ron were friendly hosts-and helpful. It was a most enjoyable stay for us. God Bless.


Franklin Street Inn

4.4 on December 18, 2013

Our hostess and all staff were very welcoming and friendly. The facility was full of charm with each room having it's own personality. All was spotless. The Inn is known for it's wonderful breakfast and, indeed, They are great!


Repeat Customers

4.8 on December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon six years ago. We recently stayed again for our 6 year anniversary. We reserved the same room, and it was just as wonderful as the first time! We won't wait six years to go back again!


Quiet Relaxation

4.2 on December 13, 2013

Franklin Street Inn was very nice. We stayed during the week. Take any restaurant recommendations Judy gives! We went to 2 restaurants and they were fabulous.


Packer Getaway

4.4 on December 12, 2013

Perfect getaway for my wife's 40th Birthday and a packer game in Green Bay! Breakfast was great & other guests were easy, cool & friendly.


Attended the Packer/Vickings game in Green Bay, WI

5 on December 12, 2013

Total refurbishing of the home was tastefully and accurately done with many enticing accessories (pictures, artifacts, etc.). Very comfortable and hostess fully accommodating. Excellent experience.


Great Anniversary Stay

5 on October 27, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a stay in the Turret Suite and thoroughly enjoyed the experience including the luxury of having breakfast delivered to our room in the morning. It allowed us to enjoy more time together as anyone who has children knows, your time together is often limited. We would recommend this room and inn to anyone wishing to get away for a night or two for a special occasion or just....because.


Wonderful stay in an inviting house!

4.4 on October 08, 2013

We arrived on a Thursday, a perfect time to avoid lots of busy crowds and activity. Judy welcomed us to the house and recommended the Appollon restaurant for a delicious dinner, and later we relaxed in our room and had tea on the balcony. We felt the best of the midwest in our stay, a true Wisconsin welcome that will bring us back again.


First Visit to Appleton

4.2 on September 11, 2013

We came out to visit Lawrence University and were glad we happened upon the FSI. Judy gave us a nice introduction to the town and our accommodations were lovely. If my daughter chooses Lawrence, we will be back. Bruce and Eileen


Relaxing stay!

5 on September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at this historic inn. The amentities were modern, including everything a guest would expect including private bathrooms and shower. The homecooked breakfast was excellent. The service was personal and of very high quality. The furnishings and decor of the rooms were delightful; we enjoyed both the historical accuracy and the comfort provided at the inn by the owners. The spa addition was wonderful. All of the guests seated at the generous dining room table delighted in the good food and good conversation stimulated by the gracious hosts, great food and fine surroundings.


"Breakfast to die for"

4.8 on August 30, 2013

Within easy walking distance of downtown Appleton,WI. we found the charming Franklin Street Inn. We spent 3 nights there and were served a different and delicious breakfast each morning.


Close to Lawrence U

4.6 on August 30, 2013

The Franklin Street Inn was within easy walking distance of Lawrence U. It was charming Victorian house and the breakfasts were delicious!


Lovely stay!

4.8 on August 28, 2013

Lovely setting in a wonderful town. Met all my expectations. Our room was their smallest but was plenty roomy for us.


Beautiful B&B

4.0 on August 28, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and hospitable. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful themed rooms. Very well done.


Top notch Lodging

5 on August 26, 2013

The accommodations were very nice,clean, and the owners were gracious and helpful. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for top notch lodging.


Fairy-tale

5 on August 26, 2013

We stayed in the "Turret Suite" and it was completely like being in our own fairy-tale! Complete romance the entire way! Perfect hospitality. We will be back.


Great weekend

5 on August 26, 2013

A great weekend and at a great B&B. Room was well kept and with plenty of amenities to make us feel right at home.


Great hospitality

5 on August 22, 2013

Lovely Victorian B&B. Attentive hosts, wonderful food. We will come back and try a different room.


Wonderful!

5 on August 19, 2013

The Halma's are excellent hosts, the food is wonderful, rooms are cozy and easy to laze away the day in.


Great Relaxation!

5 on August 17, 2013

We loved having the option of a massages for each of us! The rooms had such nice touches and the house's history was so interesting. We loved the natural wood on the floors and trim.


DEFINITELY COME AGAIN!

4.6 on August 17, 2013

The hosts were very gracious. An interesting history of the renovation was given when checking in which was fun to listen to. A photo album was also provided to look at. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.


FAMILY VISIT IN APPLETON, WI

4.2 on August 15, 2013

We were graciously accommodated for 5 days. We needed only bed and breakfast. It freed more quality visit time with our daughter.


Warm atmosphere, friendly charming and located downtown

5 on August 14, 2013

Wonderful amenities with fun personal touches from our owners. Lovely and comfortable historic Queen Anne Victorian elegance. Turret Suite Royale suite includes hot tub with nearby fireplace. Fabulous breakfast in our turret each morning. Exemplary service. Pampered but not bothered.


GOING BACK IN TIME

4.4 on August 14, 2013

Quaint, charming, warm, inviting. Very much a treat - wonderful.


Excellent

5 on August 13, 2013

Accommodation and hospitality excellent.


Wonderful!

5 on August 13, 2013

Just wonderful.


Pampered!

5 on August 12, 2013

A lovely stay - excellent accommodations, wonderful gourmet breakfasts! The innkeepers went all out to offer anything extra desired by the traveler. Highly recommend this Inn.


Very enjoyable stay

4.6 on August 12, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay. It was a return visit. We were so pleased with the decor and comfort of our room. Judy's friendliness was exceptional. She saw to our every need. We would return again.


Great place to stay

5 on August 08, 2013

Great place to stay. Friendly hosts - very accommodation. Wonderful breakfast. Convenient location.


Enjoyed our second stay at Franklin Street Inn

4.8 on August 06, 2013

This was our second visit to the Franklin Street Inn and once again my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay. The Franklin Street Inn is in a beautiful Victorian home and the owners/innkeepers, Judy and Ron are wonderful hosts. The rooms are very nice, super clean with great pillows. Be aware that this is an old home and thus the rooms can be a bit quirky, but this lends the house much of its charm Judy puts our a great spread for breakfast each day and is quick to make changes for allergies or preferences, and once she knows what you want it is waiting for you when you wake up. The peach iced tea and home baked snacks in the evening make for a wonderful afternoon or evening lounging on the porch. When I swing by this way again I would not hesitate to stay at the Franklin Street Inn.


Charming B & B

5 on July 26, 2013

Every aspect described on their web site was exceeded. Judy has used her background as an art teacher to add interesting decorative touches to each room, as well as the garden. She is fastidious in her care of the property, and was also very helpful in recommending restaurants and area sights. Breakfast was a real treat and she was careful to cater to our individual tastes. Anyone traveling to this area should make a point to stay here.


Wonderful Experience

5 on July 24, 2013

Great host, most helpful. Lovely prepared and delicious breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Fancy bathroom with large walk-in shower. Exotic Kohler faucett fixtures and skylight. We had the Lawerence Room. Nice bathrobes included. The house is exceptionaly clean. Interesting garden in back. will definatly stay here again when in Wisconsin.


Stayed here while house-hunting

4.8 on June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while we were looking for a house to purchase. The room was great, comfortable bed, and very clean. Conveniently located off of College Ave. which made dinner and drink easy to access, we just walked two minutes and were downtown! The inn keeper was incredibly helpful, telling us the ins-and-outs of the area. She even hooked us up with a great realtor. The breakfasts were also prompt and super delicious! I forgot to mention the best part--most beautiful victorian house I have seen.


Great place to stay for Lawrence graduation

4.6 on June 20, 2013

We stayed here while in town for graduation at Lawrence University. The location was close enough to campus to walk to all the graduation events. relieving any traffic and parking concerns. Beyond the location being perfect for visiting Lawrence, the house is immaculate and the innkeeper is extraordinary gracious and welcoming. From the welcome snack to the breakfast, all the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Judy was willing to adapt her menu to accommodate special dietary requests. Her recommendations for places to eat and visit were spot on and allowed us to really enjoy the area.


Outstanding hospitality

4.6 on June 16, 2013

We stayed in the petit chateau room for our 27th wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was welcoming and informative of the buildings history which we are big fans of. The food was original and well balanced. The bathroom was elegant and impeccably clean which was also a plus for us. It was an enjoyable stay and wanted to move in:)


Franklin Street Inn

5 on June 16, 2013

Excellent food, mint brownies, breakfast casserole, coffee! We felt very at home. The bed was extremely comfortable.


Sweet Getaway

5 on June 15, 2013

We stayed in the castle suite and it was a joy. From the welcome, to the decadent bedtime snack, to the breakfast in the turret and the fairy garden in the beautiful yard, we left totally relaxed and refreshed. Thank you for a memorable stay.


Beautiful, peaceful place

4.6 on June 14, 2013

Always makes me feel right at home. Beautiful room. Soft luxury bedding! Perfect!


Best stay in Appleton, WI

5 on June 13, 2013

Judy's B&B inns are the best in the area. She caters to your needs in every way. The cleanliness of the inn are outstanding. She puts her heart and soul into making your stays the best ever. We treasure our stays at the Franklin Street Inn.


Excellent

4.8 on June 12, 2013

Enjoyed a simple, warm welcome to a beautiful and extremely clean room. Breakfast was delicious. Whirlpool tub was deluxe.


Wonderful

5 on June 10, 2013

The Franklin Inn was truly, and frankly speaking, historical and superb. Food and service the tops for accommodations!


Wonderful!

4.8 on June 05, 2013

My husband and I decided to see our son perform in a symphony orchestra concert at Lawrence University. We needed a place within walking distance of campus. We rode our motorcycles and needed a place to store them for the night. Franklin Street Inn was able to accommodate all of our needs. Our room was spotless. Breakfast was delicious! I can't wait to stay there again!


Homey

4.4 on June 03, 2013

Great!


A Royale Jewel in Appleton

4.8 on June 01, 2013

Franklin Street Inn was a true delight. The Turret Royale suite was amazing. A jewel i nthe city of Appleton. Fantastic hosts!


Excellant service!

5 on May 25, 2013

My husband and I had a really great time at the Franklin Street Inn B&B. We had really great service as the owner made sure we knew all of the great ammenities our room had to offer. The owner gave us a great recommendation for dinner and we had one of the best meals I've ever had! I'd highly recommend staying here. It's really close to downtown Appleton where your able to walk to all of the nightly/daily attractions. I thought the room was very neatly put together and kept in excellant shape. There were little notes and fun "games" to play while you where there. Breakfast was delivered to our room and tasted delicious! Definitely go here!


Better than going home again

4.4 on May 20, 2013

I used to ride my bike around this area when I was a teen, so coming back for a family memorial some forty years later, I'm amazed at what a restored Victorian jewel has been teased out of homes that back in the day were kind of past their prime, not very impressive, just on the way from here to there. It turns out these homes have quite a history, as well as beautifully restored wood work. Its tastefully and comfortably furnished, pleasant to the eye. I only have one caution: if you are someone who prefers common place breakfasts like link sausages with a pile of toast, let Judy and Ron know well in advance, because otherwise, you will be treated to a gourmet work of art. (They'll call and ask about what you like and dislike, can eat and can't eat anyway).


B&B

4.4 on April 25, 2013

We were in town to see a show at the performing arts center. The inn was within walking distance of the theater as well as a plethora or options for dinner. Judy was extremely friendly and accommodating from the moment we checked in until we left. I would recommend this B&B.


04/12/2013

4.8 on April 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Franklin Street Inn for our 15th anniversary and we both loved it! Very clean wonderfully decorated room. The breakfasts were fantastic and Judy was extremely helpful and nice. We will stay here again!


Our stay was amazing

5 on April 03, 2013

We truly enjoyed the inn. All of the details were perfect and the food was exceptional!


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

4.8 on March 06, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Franklin Street Inn! Judy was such a great hostess and made us feel right at home the minute we walked through the door. The Suite (Turret) was amazing, clean and relaxing! We felt so pampered! Breakfast was brought up every morning exactly when we wanted it. Judy was so gracious enough to make things with my Gluten Free bread and it was absolutely amazing! Thank you for a wonderful stay Ron and Judy! We will definitely be back!


Great place to relax.

5 on February 26, 2013

My husband and I went to the Franklin Street Inn of Durkee for a weekend getaway. It was our first time at a B & B and it exceeded our expectations. Judy, the owner, was very welcoming and was a fantastic cook. Breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and comfortable. We will hopefully be able to enjoy time there in the future.


Anniversary getaway

5 on February 24, 2013

Our children gifted us with this B&B. I recommend it to anyone. Hospitality was fantastic. Very clean and comfortable setting. The breakfast was great. My husband and I enjoyed the night only. We would like to get back again or gift our children a getaway.


Franklin Street Inn

5 on February 24, 2013

Awesome!


Franklin Street Inn

5 on February 24, 2013

Awesome!


Spectacular

5 on February 19, 2013

Very nice historically preserved home, well maintained, and very clean. A step back to the past. The turret room is very spacious - taking up the entire third floor. Breakfast in the turret in the morning sun is quite the experience and the food was well prepared and unique but customized menu (my wife has many food allergies which Judy was very very accommodating). Excellent service and location.


Magical Memory

5 on February 13, 2013

Our stay at the Franklin Street Inn was indeed magical. We stayed in the Turret Room that was decorated in the Royal Theme and we felt like royality in this enchanted room. It had several little relaxing nooks that we escaped to and disconnected from the outside world. It was very quiet and we were able to enjoy wonderful conversation without interruptions. Ron and Judy were very gracious hosts, explained directions thoroughly and had directions in the room for the spa, CD player and fireplace so we could reference them as needed. The breakfast was served in the turret which was spectacular. It was delicious, hot, and presented in a picture perfect way that you felt this strange guilt sticking your fork into it. But it was well worth destructing it with the fork. The taste sensation was definitely palate pleasing. We had no complaints about our magical stay. We were treated like royality from the time we stepped into the house and felt very refreshed as we departed.


Great Staying with Tremendous Hospitality

4.6 on January 21, 2013

We stayed at Franklin Street Inn for two nights ant the experiences were absolutely great! What I like the most was the breakfast Judy made. It delicious. Also, the host have good recommendation for restaurants. So definitely recommended.


Wonderful Romantic Place

4.8 on January 09, 2013

This visit was my 4th time at the inn. We were on our 11th Wedding Anniversary. It was wonderful. We stayed in the Turret room. It's a castle, Queen and King, themed room that will just take your breath away. Everything is taken care of. Whirlpool tub, wonderful comfortable bed, cute turret breakfast area. It's wonderful. The food was excellent. The innkeepers very friendly and informative. Great place to stay.


A tru gem

5 on December 13, 2012

Our visit to The Franklin Street Inn was truly a memorable experience, and one we hope to repeat. From the moment we entered the beautiful foyer we felt we were among friends. Our room was immaculate, the food delicious (and prepared perfectly for my special diet requirements), We slept well on the comfortable bed, and the decorations (for Christmas in this case), were elegant. The inkeepers were gracious hosts as well. All in all, a most satisfying getaway.


Wonderful place to stay in Appleton

5 on December 11, 2012

We had a great time staying with Ron and Judy. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.


Parents' Day Stay

4.4 on November 09, 2012

Judy fussed about us and everything we might need. She was so attentive to every detail during our stay that I almost felt a bit of guilt. First-class service!


Grand Stay at the Franklin Inn on Durkee

5 on November 08, 2012

The Inn is centrally located near all the interesting sites and restaurants in the city. Each room has a different theme (country) and every detail has been thought through well. We stayed with our friends from Chicago and both rooms were cozy, clean, bright, and very comfortable. We enjoyed using the parlor with the fireplace in the evening for some wine and cheese before dinner. A full breakfast is served by Judy and/or her husband and each day it was a special treat. We will be back.


Pleasant Stay

3.6 on October 29, 2012

While we missed a hairdryer and shampoo/conditioner in our room, the inn was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was particularly good and the innkeeper very accommodating.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying at our inn. We appreciate your compliment on the breakfast that we prepared especially for you. Our goal is also to provide a quiet and comfortable inn. How wonderful to have met your expectations. Our apology on not being able to locate the hair dryer and shampoo. The hair dryers are in the vanity drawers. The conditioning shampoo is in a mesh bag in the bathroom along with the bar of soap, lotion, and whirlpool aromatherapy. We encourage our guests to inform us of their needs during their stay so we can address any concerns. If any items get removed from the rooms without us being aware of this, hopefully we could be told during the guest stay to solve the concern. Please come again.


A real gem in Appleton

4.8 on October 27, 2012

We expected a lovely inn based on the website. And we were not disappointed. It was all "gussied up" for Halloween. And Judy had even left some home-made Halloween treats in our room. Everything was extremely clean and the sheets were super-soft. After breakfast, we didn't eat till dinnertime.


Welcome!

4.6 on October 07, 2012

The Inn was very clean, food was excellent! Very accommodating to diet restrictions too. The hospitality very, very warm & welcoming! Beautifully decorated rooms with themes!


Franklin Street Inn

4.4 on October 07, 2012

Beautifully maintained 2-house complex in downtown Appleton! Very nice guest rooms in both buildings. Sumptuous breakfasts; add dinned for a neat perfect experience. Adequate parking.


Victorian Comfort

4.6 on October 06, 2012

Beautiful rooms all decorated to fit a theme. Breakfasts so awesome we could skip lunch!


The Best B & B in Northeast Wisconsin!!!

5 on October 02, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Franklin Street Inn and Judy make each visit more special. She absolutely loves to make her guests feel special, pampered and truly relaxed. The breakfast is out of this world, homemade with her favorite recipes and all sprinkled with love. The Inns are decorated first class and with warmth feeling or relaxation. We love spending time here and so will you. Treat yourself and book a nite or two at the Franklin Street Inn and Judy will truly impress you.


What a great way to end our long weekend!

5 on October 01, 2012

We stayed at the Franklin Inn after a Packer game in Septemeber 2012. What a wonderful experience. Judy was fantastic. Very accommodating and helpful. You can tell she puts her heart and soul into this lovely place. The room was cozy and the hot tub was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious! I would definitely come back if in the area.


Toured Lawrence University

4.8 on September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Franklin Street Inn for two nights in August 2012. The rooms are all decorated individually by the hostess who has an art degree. We stayed in the penthouse suite in the second house, in a two-level room with a Jacuzzi, and were pampered beyond belief. The food was great and the houses were beautiful. Highly recommend this place.


Wonderful B&B

5 on September 28, 2012

Beautiful house, Judy is amazing with a great personality and a delish cook. Rooms very clean and house smells fresh. Love the decor and the way it is throughout the room, very consistent with the theme. My favorite thing about the room is the whirlpool; totally relaxing. The rooms have all sorts of amenities that you will never find at a hotel, from champagne glasses to bath robes the rooms are fully stocked for a romantic getaway (games, dice, chocolate, ect....). Awesome location to downtown Appleton, walking distance to many shops, bars and restaurants.


Great place to stay if you are in town for a Packers Game!

4.8 on September 17, 2012

We were in town for a Green Bay Packers game and had a wonderful experience at the Franklin Street Inn. Great value, wonderful hosts and fabulous food!


Awesome Spot

5 on August 26, 2012

Perfect B&B to either stay in and read, or take a whirlpool, or for romantic evenings.


Relaxed in Appleton. The rooms were very comfortable and relaxing. The host was very freindly and fun to talk to. The breakfast was tremendous. Look forward to returning.

5 on August 18, 2012

Jerry and Judy


Great B&B in a genuine american house

5 on August 17, 2012

One phrase is enough to describe this place: you feel like beeing at home! Even better, you don't have to do the housework. And the food is delicious (ask Judy to make muffins for you. They are unique!)


1st time B&B, Business Trip

4.4 on August 15, 2012

First time staying at a B&B. I stayed in the Shangrala Room and it was splendid. Judy was fabulous - from information to her splendid breakfasts. She goes out of her way to accommodate and it shows in every aspect of her B&B.


Outstanding

5 on August 14, 2012

We went to Appleton for a long birthday weekend. We stayed in the Hawaii themed room. It was very romantic! The food was fabulous! Judy was welcoming and always had a smile. She was very accomodating to our needs. We would definitely stay here again & again.


Wonderful Visit

5 on August 09, 2012

Staying at this B&B helped make our first visit to Appleton a really good experience. We stayed in the Primavera room, which had its own balcony and was wonderfully clean and comfortable. Our host, Judy, was excited to share information about the renovations they had done to this wonderful old home, and provided us with much appreciated referrals to local sites and restaurants. Breakfast was excellent as were the homemade cookies that greeted us at arrival. We felt well taken care of.


Business Trip

3.8 on July 30, 2012

Very nice and personal stay. Felt like I was home, not at home.


i couldnt have found a better place.

5 on July 29, 2012

Our stay and the franklin street inn on durkee was marvelous. The shangri-la room was beautiful. We were greeted by a very welcoming and personable host. Judy made sure we had wverything we needed and she was always making sure everything was to our liking. We were impressed with the dining as it was homemade and prompt. We found our stay to be very peaceful and relaxing. It would be my first choice in lodging when we make a trip back to appleton. What a wonderful place.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on July 22, 2012

Everything about our stay was great--we really enjoyed our overnight at the Franklin Street Inn. After a 95+ degree day, it was so nice to just stay in our air-conditioned room & watch a move we chose from the in-house library. Judy was a warm host & great cook. We would definitely stay at the Franklin Street Inn again & recommend it to our friends. Thanks Judy.


A great weekend get-a-way

5 on July 21, 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Appleton for the weekend as it was close to home, but far enough away for it to be a nice get away. After perusing the local hotels, we decided to try a bed and breakfast. We are sure glad we did! We stayed in the Franklin Inn on Durkee, which has themed rooms. We were welcomed with a late night snack of fresh, homemade cookies. So yummy... the amenities provided at the bed and and breakfast included our choice of sodas, teas, snacks, etc. The rooms were done very tastefully and were quite elegant. Breakfast was homemade and delicious! The inn was very handy being one block off the main street, which was right on the trolley line as well. We enjoyed our stay and would defnitely visit again.


First-time bed-n-breakfast couple

3.2 on July 02, 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. I don't think we will be staying at a bed and breakfast again. It's not that everything wasn't great, we just needed more privacy - the privacy that only a hotel can provide. From what I see of other reviews, I'm sure it's a great place for those who like b&b's.


Franklin Street Inn

5 on June 30, 2012

The Franklin Street Inn exceeds all expectations when it comes to service and cleanliness. The owners diligently work to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. The food is outstanding and the rooms have each there own unique style. There are museums, shops, and a beautiful park all within a short walk. I want to thank the owners for a tremendous stay and say, "Keep up the great work!"


Excellent Value in Appleton near Lawrence University

4.8 on June 24, 2012

Judy and Ron Halma have a beautiful pair of B & B's on Franklin and Durkee Streets in Appleton WI. Judy pays attention to every detail. Lovely stay in the Primavera Room. Excellent from scratch breakfast and walking distance to all downtown Appleton has to offer. Great location for any visit involving Lawrence University. Thanks.


Hot night in Paris

4.8 on May 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Franklin Inn on Durkee. The room was spacous, comfortable and lovely. Judy (the owner) has an eye for detail and is a gracious host. She recommended activites and a dinner restaurant which were both wonderful and then treated us to an amazing breakfast of omletes and fantastic pancakes with an orange compote sauce. What a treat! We highly recommend the Franklin Street Inn!


Honeymoon Stay

5 on May 19, 2012

Everything about the Inn exceeded my expectations. Judy made every effort to make sure our stay was relaxing and comfortable. The room was clean and organized, and the bed was nice and cozy. The painting on the wall is a nice touch, as well as the relaxing whirlpool. Will definitely stay there again when the need arises. Thanks Judy!


Definitely stay here!

5 on May 15, 2012

We had a quick trip up to Appleton and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place to stay. We stayed at the Inn on Durkee and the room (Petit Chateau) was very comfortable and had so much class! The hot tub in the bathroom was a special treat! The bed was very comfortable. The Innkeeper, Judy, was very nice and accommodating. She was even able to arrange for a last minute massage. The massage took place right in the Inn. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!


A weekend we will never forget!

5 on April 30, 2012

We felt like we were the only guests in the Inn. Judy's attention to every detail is amazing. You only have to tell her once and it is done. Each morning we enjoyed our breakfast brought up to us, by Judy, with a smile. Everything is made from scratch and you can tell from the very first bite. My husband and I will go back, no other B&B would ever compare. The robes are an excellect touch.


Lisa and Mike's weekend in Appleton

5 on April 16, 2012

This was our first visit to Appleton since our son started at Lawrence a year and a half ago. We picked Franklin Inn because of the price and proximity to campus (we were in town with no car). Judy Halma made us feel so very comfortable and welcome, we had a marvelous time in her cozy, quiet, beautifully decorated home. The room was exactly as we expected from the excellent description and photos on the Franklin Inn web pages. Thanks Judy! We'll be back!


Delightful Appleton Bed & Breakfast!

5 on March 05, 2012

I had a long weekend in Appleton, and staying here at the Franklin Inn on Durkee was the central feature of a very nice time. The room I chose (Shangri-La) was appointed with care, and wonderfully NOT in an 'over the top' way like others where I have stayed. The detail is delightful here. As proprietor, Judy's effort to provide comfort was palpable during my stay. It will be my pleasure to come here again!


Birthday Getaway

5 on March 01, 2012

The whole inn is absolutely gorgeously detailed and the Japanese bathtub was a nice touch in which I was able to meditate and truly relax.


Franklin Street Inn is a Treasure House

5 on February 28, 2012

We were impressed by the owners' attention to details. They truly strive for the best possible experience for their guests. We especially enjoyed the antiques and vintage clothing and needlework displayed throughout the inn.


Wonderfully Charming and Romantic

5 on February 21, 2012

We Stayed Here this last weekend actually we stayed at Franklin Inn on Durkee but I just have to leave my review on both pages and my pics because I can not say enough about the wonderful hospitality and the service we were given at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast- We stayed in the French themed suite - Petit Chateau Suite - and each one of the rooms are so beautifully hand decorated, you can tell by the little touches that Judy the owner picked out every one of the decorations for each and every room and she did this with love, the minute you walk in the door of this home you felt the love she has for not only the Inn but for each one of her guests, from the wonderful breakfast you receive in the morning to the most comfortable sheets I swear you will ever sleep in. If you are like me and have never been to a Bed and Breakfast your stay here will make you be Bed and Breakfast Inn Stayer for sure! I know this will be a frequent stop for us for many years to come ¿


Franklin Street Inn

5 on February 02, 2012

Excellent, very clean, good service, friendly, helpful & great breakfast. Many stairs, though.


Franklin Street Inn

4.0 on January 11, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful time on our stay. We would encourage any one to stay there. The hostess was friendly and helpful. The Inn was beautiful.


great place to stay

5 on December 20, 2011

comfortable room, Judy and Ron are so personable and accomodating. I travel fior business and they worked with me to fit breakfast into my schedule and to make sure I felt familiar enough with the town to walk and dine in the nicest restaurants in the area. I had a great stay there and would go back in a heartbeat! It's fun to be there when Judy is trying new recipes for her cookbooks! I was a complete stranger but feel like I would return as a friend.


Wonderful stay

3.4 on December 14, 2011

The Inn is a beautifully decorated & well-kept house. Judy was welcoming & warm. Our room was charming & cozy. Truly a wonderful stay.


Very nice

4.2 on December 07, 2011

We spent one night at the Franklin St. Inn. The rooms were very well decorated, fannel sheets, and nice themes. The spa was nice, but not your typical "hot tub". Our hosts very nice.


A wonderful place to stay in Appleton.

4.6 on December 04, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay overnight and because of the Packer game, most of the motels had raised their rates and were requiring a two night stay. So, not only was our stay cheaper, it was a very nice stay with very pleasant hosts and great food and very nice, clean rooms. We would definitely stay here again and even on a non-Packer home game weekend. : )


A little piece of Camelot

4.6 on November 24, 2011

Our stay Franklin Street Inn was beyond wonderful. The Turret Suite is beautiful, and I adored the "Camelot" theme to all of the decor. Judy is a great hostess, very friendly and accomodating. She made a great recommendation for dinner nearby. Speaking of food, breakfast was delicious, and being able to take breakfast in our suite's breakfast nook was a decadently relaxing experience. We will definitely be visiting again!


Don't miss this Appleton treat.

5 on November 19, 2011

The Franklin Street Inn is the finest B&B I have ever stayed in. It exceeded all my expectations. I can not speak highly enough of my four day stay at this wonderful B & B. Gib Young - Huntington, Indiana


A very pleasant visit

4.0 on November 18, 2011

A lovely converted victorian with many unique decor items every where you look. Very friendly and attentive staff. We stayed two nights and both breakfasts were delicious, good coffee too.


Wonderful Stay

5 on November 16, 2011

I stayed at the Franklin Street Inn, last weekend while attending a Packer/Viking game. The caretaker, Judy, was very hospitable, lovely and attentive. The rooms were decorated with the cozy feeling of countryside while still being modern with an updated, comfortable bed. My friend and I had good intentions of waking up early at 8:00 am for breakfast but we were both too exhausted and didn't wake until 10:00 Judy was nice enought to save the delicious breakfast of blueberry strudel and "egg surprise" for us and have it warmed when arriving to the dining area. Overall I would highly recommend the Franklin in a will be staying there from now on when staying in Appleton WI.


Escape to relaxation in your own backyard!

5 on November 08, 2011

Great place to celebrate our 25th anniversary! With only an overnight available, we had a fantastic relaxing escape without driving more than 15 minutes! Thanks for donating the overnight to Fox Valley Christian Academy auction!


Breathtaking!

4.8 on November 06, 2011

Beautiful "castle" themed rooms, very cozy and luxurious. Can't say enough good things! Hospitality was like none other. Can't wait to go back!


Very Relaxing

4.8 on November 03, 2011

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and the bar is set very high. I called 2 days before our arrival to book a room. Judy was very helpful and was able to book us 2 massages on very short notice right at the inn. She let us check in early so we could have our massages earlier to allow us time to enjoy the rest of our night. We stayed in the Turret Suite and it felt like a home away from home. Extremely relaxing and romantic. The bed was so comfortable and the room had lots of little details to make it special. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and served right in our room. The inn is very close to many restaurants and bars. We had a very nice time and hopefully will be able to return some day!


Great people, great food, great place!

5 on October 30, 2011

Absolutely stay at Franklin Street inn. Judy is the greatest host. let her give you the low down on all the places to go in Appleton. The farmers market and Stone Cellar brewery were great. Judy's food was superb.


Lawrence University Parents Dream

4.8 on October 24, 2011

We stayed at Franklin Street Inn for three nights. Judy went out of her way to ensure we had a fabulous stay. She welcomed us & took us on a tour of the house,letting us see all the rooms. After providing a welcome snack, she gave us very helpful suggestions for activities and dining. Although we have visited Appleton several times, she helped us find some wonderful new restaurants.


Wisconsin kindness personified

5 on October 23, 2011

Judy and Ron gave me a wonderful, genuinly kind and warm welcome and stay at their B&B. The service level and their flexibility was much appreciated by a frequent travelling Mom coming to Appleton for the first time. I will definitely come back!


Elegant Victorian Retreat

4.4 on October 23, 2011

What a lovely Bed and Breakfast. The owners, Judy and Ron, have two B & B's right around the corner from each other. We stayed at their newly restored B&B, The Franklin Inn on Durkee St. Judy, our host, was warm and friendly and attentive. She offered to bring breakfast to our room in the morning so we could eat in front of our fireplace, but we still chose to dine with our other inn...mates. (For me that's part of the attraction of B & B's, getting to meet nice folks from different places around the country.) Our suite, The Sea Breeze, was a beautifully decorated,with the bathroom and Jacuzzui on the first floor and bedroom/sitting area on the second floor. The bed was very comfortable as was the lush couch on the opposite wall. We had access to a small fridge and microwave down the hall and there was a coffee maker in the room as well. The entire home was lovingly restored, with originally wood work throughout. Appleton is a small college town with many cultural options to explore. On our first day we trekked off to the High Cliffs State Park which had easy walking trails with great views of Lake Winnebago. There are several fine coffee shops, cafes and little shops to explore and a weekly Farmers Market with tons of fresh produce, crafts and yummy treats. On our second day we drove out to a small cheese factory where we got a tour and bought enough cheese to last for the next 6 months! If you are looking for a beautiful B& B with a charming host that makes the best apple dumplings I've ever tasted... than Franklin Street Inn is a wonderful choice.


Exceptional Ambience

4.8 on October 23, 2011

Both the house and our room were decorated beautifully, with attention to detail. Even as a man I appreciated the tasteful decor which was not, for example, overly floral. Breakfast was good, Judy (our hostess) was attentive. In our case we had a special discount from NPR (radio), which made the value outstanding as well. We stayed in the Sea Breeze which was exceptionally large.


Our two night stay

3.8 on September 26, 2011

Upon arrival we received a warm welcome and a detailed tour of the house. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. Judy was very helpful in providing information to us about things to do and places to eat. We ate at the restaurants she recommended and loved them. She went above and beyond with thoughtful gestures (eg. bringing umbrellas to our door on the morning it rained, providing haircare products that I had left at home, a fun game to play, and yummy bread). Her hospitality was very friendly and willing to serve us in any way we asked. The bed was wonderful, we had great nights sleep. It is obvious that she takes pride and care in her home and her guests.


Nicest People We've Met

5 on September 24, 2011

We stayed at the inn for our 10th anniversary and everything was outstanding. We couldn't have asked for more!!! Ron and Judy took the time to make sure we had everything we needed and even included a complimentary bottle of wine! The food quality, location, and rooms were all more than we could have ask for! I plan on becoming a repeat guest, Thanks!


All rooms are inviting.

4.8 on September 24, 2011

We stayed here many years ago. Judy is a new owner and has done many updates on the decor. It is still Victorian, but tastefully done. We toured her more recently acquired house across the back yard. The themed (in style) rooms are beautifully done and very UN-Victorian. Next time I want to stay there. Breakfast was tasty and the fruit dish was delicious. Judy is an effervescent and attentive hostess. Enjoy our stay very much.


Many time visitor

4.6 on September 22, 2011

We have stayed at the Franklin Street Inn on many visits to Lawrence University where our daughter attends college. We love the convenience, charm and hospitality. The owners are very accommodating and as a vegetarian they have catered to my food needs as well. We plan to make the Franklin Inn our home away from home for the next 4 years...


Wonderful Hospitality

5 on September 17, 2011

When making our reservations, Judy was very informative with the pricing of the different rooms and providing information for our stay. Accommodations we excellent—very clean rooms and the breakfasts were exquisite! Our stay was very enjoyable. Judy helped us get connected with the bus to the game and encouraged us to visit the Farmer’s Market, which was wonderful! So glad we did not miss that opportunity. Judy and Ron made us feel like we were at home.


I REALLY enjoyed my stay here that I am back again this time for two weeks

5 on September 10, 2011

Hi Judy and Ron went all out for me the first night I called her up on the phone. It also was Ron's birthday! he took time out from his birthday to satisify me and my friend. We enjoyed that first night! That we came back and spent two more weks there. The rooms are gorgeous, the hospitality was outstanding, food was great! We had a fantastic time there and it was close to downtown, the public library, beautiful park especially City Park. Even after the storm hit appleton, the park is so beautiful. It is walking distance and it has been a beuatiful week or two!

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your 5 star review. As former teachers, then an A + means that we are aiming for the top & reached it. Please come many more times! We truly enjoyed your stay & getting to know you through the conversation that you shared.


Pleasant stay and very friendly and informative.

5 on September 06, 2011

Very nice location and friendly owner. She was very informative as to local events and places to eat.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us! We enjoyed chatting with you & touring you through the inn! Please come again!


Nice place, but watch out for the hostess!

3.2 on August 31, 2011

Our experience was mixed. On the plus side, the beds were terrific and the breakfast was very good. On the minus side, the hostess was very narcissistic. When we arrived, tired and hot after our August drive, she talked at us for at least 10 minutes, half of which she spent explaining her choices of themes in various rooms we were not using and the significance of each of the renovation-project mementos in the sitting room's wall display case(!). The performance resumed at breakfast. It was bizarre enough that we got some amusement from it, but if you have a low tolerance for self-praising yakkers, then stay away! P.S. to the bedandbreakfast.com folks: You're aware that your rating system is pretty tough, right? I usually think 3 out of 5 as a mediocre score, but on your scale, it might be just fine. For example, I'm giving this B&B a 3 for cleanliness because I expected it to be clean and it was.

Innkeeper Response
We are very pleased that you thought the breakfast was very good & the beds terrific. That is the goal for this bed & breakfast. We typically find that people appreciate friendliness, historical information on the restoration of the home, & advice on the city's tourist attractions. Guests are asked at check in if they would like to move up to their room for relaxing or what their needs may be. A tour of the inn is completely optional. If guests desire to learn more about this 1894 house, then it is our wish to answer their many questions by sharing samples of what was done here through photos or curios. In the name of our hospitality & friendliness,our hand reaches out to those who stay with us. A passion to restore historical property for others in future generations creates pride in what one has accomplished. We definitely understand that all may not feel that way. Please do not accept an optional inn tour if you are not interested. Our personal time offered in a guided tour is definitely a commitment that we willingly give only upon acceptance of the invitation. In 9 yrs. of inn keeping,we consider any feedback as constructive. Life is all about learning & this review is an eye-opener. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.


Get it in writing!

2.4 on August 31, 2011

Even though the owners are Christians, get the deal in writing! I was told since a room in the main house was taken, I would get the same room in the second house for a discounted rate. This DID NOT HAPPEN. I was also told that we would have breakfast on our balcony, but instead we had to cut through the back yard to the main house to eat. We were also greeted by a gentleman who was sitting on the couch, watching TV, with his wife snoring on the couch next to him. Not the owners of the inn. They were there for hours, so we really didn't get to use the house at all. Next time it will be the hotel, for sure.

Innkeeper Response
As innkeepers, we strive to give every single guest a quality stay at our inn at a fair cost. We do not want any of our guests to be disappointed in their accommodations or in our service. We know the importance of being very clear to each guest about what they can expect in terms of their accommodations, our service, and the cost. Our website room photos and specific price information clearly state what we offer. All details of this stay were reviewed with guest at the time of the booking. Even though there are important details being being left out of this review that would cast a much different light on the situation, we will learn from this experience and continue to work hard at ensuring each of our guests no surprises other than pleasant ones.


You have to stay here!!! AMAZING!!!

5 on August 28, 2011

My wife Sarah and I just spent our first anniversary at the Franklin Street Bed and Breakfast and it was BEYOND every expectation we could have possibly had! Judy, thank you! You have a beautiful bed and breakfast, amazing food, beautiful rooms, and quite frankly it topped our wedding night stay at an expensive hotel! Keep doing what you are doing so my family can give you a shot in the coming years! Thank you!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind words! I had fun planning for your special first anniversary! You were enjoyable to serve because of your appreciation for my efforts. I would gladly have you back for any future anniversaries!


Franklin Street Inn

5 on August 04, 2011

Very pleasant experience: clean, neat & delicious breakfast.


Franklin Street Inn

3.2 on August 02, 2011

Very clean accommodations. Cute Victorian. Great location for those visiting Lawrence University. Breakfast was very good. We would stay again for the friendly service & homey atmosphere.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying with us! We are so pleased to accomodate the Lawrence University families for their home away from home visits to Lawrence! Those 4 yrs. of back & forth visits to us/the university go by so quickly!


exactly what we imagined it would be

4.8 on July 25, 2011

This was our first expierence staying at a B&B. The inn was immaculate, beautiful and very comfortable. Judy the inn keeper was very bubbly and genuinely excitied to see us. She treated us like we were important and was very attentive. The snack she left for us was homemade and simply delectable. The breakfast was something you would be served at a 5 star hotel. Our stay was so great that we are already planning a return trip for our anniversary. It will be hard for another B&B to top our experience at the Franklin/Durke street Inn.

Innkeeper Response
Your kind words are the frosting on the cake. I'll keep baking cakes until you return!


Clean!

4.6 on July 24, 2011

Clean quiet very comfortable beds. Great breakfast! Judy was very accommodating to food allergies.

Innkeeper Response
I ask for special diet requests because agreeable food can make or break a trip. I am happy to serve always!


WOW! WOW! WOW!

5 on July 11, 2011

The owner takes personal pleasure in making sure all guests have individulized service. Every detail covered in the enviroment and flows from the owners. Would definitely stay again and again! Breakfast was awesome and delicious. With over 50+ B&B's in our history, this one is in the top 10!

Innkeeper Response
I am humbled by your review! My goal is to exceed your expectations. Thanks for ranking our service/inn!


Primavera Sweet!

3.6 on July 04, 2011

Very pleased with the room accommodations; especially the balcony for breakfast. The opportunity to see the restoration done on the property through the album in the parlor was enjoyable--you have done a lot of work!

Innkeeper Response
Yes, complimentary room service to the Primavera balcony is offered weather permitting. We aim to please & just are very thankful if the WI weather cooperates! Glad that all went so well during your stay!


Perfect Fit

4.8 on July 02, 2011

This is a perfect fit if you need to be close to Lawrence University and its activities (in my case, visiting my son attending LU during parents weekend in the fall and attending his spring graduation). The Inn is only a few blocks to the LU campus, so using the Inn as your home base, you can stroll to the campus frequently-breakfast at the Student Center, attend an afternoon sports events, watch an evening musical performance, and have a late night dessert and coffee again at the Student Center. You don't need a car to get you to and from campus (no parking/driving hassles)--and you can sneak a quick nap or change of clothes back at the Inn between activities. The proximity was especially convenient for the numerous graduation weekend activities. The Inn is also walking distance to the main commercial street in downtown Appleton, so you can dine out with a glass of wine, take in a performance at the Performing Arts Center, and not worry about the parking meters or driving home. This was my third stay at the Inn in the past 2 years. Judy and Ron consistently pay close attention to the details of inn-keeping and are constantly fine tuning their home. They are extremely accommodating hosts. I needed to bring a salad to the family potluck picnic my son and his dorm mates were arranging for their parents. Had I stayed at a hotel/motel, I'm sure how I could have stored the groceries, prepared the salad, and found serving utensils. Not a problem for Judy who let me use her refrigerator, kitchen knives, cutting board, and serving utensils--even going over a check list of items I might need. I thanked Judy for the help with the salad, but she demurred. As she put it--"that's why you stay at a bed and breakfast." With its unique decor, serendipitous collection of fellow quests, proximity to the LU campus, and graciousness of its hosts, that's why I stay at this bed and breakfast, Franklin Street Inn.

Innkeeper Response
My, my...I am sad to see you not needing to visit our area again after your son's graduation. You were such a delight! As you said on the good-bye, one never knows because our paths may cross again. Enter as strangers, leave as friends.......so long friend!


Home away from home

4.8 on July 01, 2011

This was one of the best away from home stays I have ever had! I'm very much a homebody, love my own bed, and am a pretty fair cook. I slept like a ROCK on the comfy bed, got up in the morning and had a lovely soak in the jacuzzi in my private, charming bathroom, and went down to an amazing breakfast waiting for me in the dining room! The other guests were friendly, and the staff was attentive, without being intrusive! Judy and Ron were away on vacation, so I was curious to see if the service would be just as good as if the owner was there, and it was absolutely stellar! The Inn is easy to find, and close to a main street with many shops. I can't wait to go back! Nancy


Better than expected local get away.

4.4 on June 28, 2011

Friendly and clean. The building was beautiful and the atmosphere so comfortable and relaxed. Thanks for the tour.


Last Minute Solution

4.0 on June 12, 2011

With a late last minute arrival we were treated like we were royalty. All other reviews apply!!


Unique and Convenient to Everything!

3.4 on June 08, 2011

With a theme for each room, this Inn is a unique offering in Appleton. I've stayed there for both graduations, and each time has been a lovely experience, with the warmth and generosity of hosts Ron and Judy adding to the experience. Breakfast is a wonder, and the family dining setup makes new friends and memories.


A Wonderful Stay!

5 on May 22, 2011

Staying in the heart of Appleton, WI, would be wonderful in a hotel, but staying at the Franklin Street Inn made our stay just perfect! From the moment we walked into the front door, we felt awed by the beautiful environment. We chose to stay in the Franklin Room and were extremely happy and comfortable there. The bathroom was huge and so well-done! Judy gave us a tour of the whole house and each room looked beautiful and inviting. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious - after eating them, I knew I had to buy Judy's cookbook! Several of our Appleton relatives came to visit us and we enjoyed sitting with them in the comfortable furniture on the front porch. Our hosts made us so comfortable with their friendliness and attention to detail. We hope to stay at the Franklin Street Inn again when we return to Appleton!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks to you both because you remind me of why I love inn keeping & want to continue to joyfully serve now even in our 8th yr. of offering hospitality to guests. Please hurry back!


Appleton Visit

4.0 on May 18, 2011

My husband and I were visiting Appleton for an evening to celebrate our daughter's new job with her. We wanted to stay in a relaxing and inviting environment. Frankling Stree Inn met our expectations and more.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you both! Consider yourselves invited to come back many more times! Yes, we are glad that you found our inn to be a quiet & peaceful atmosphere.


Appleton Gem

4.0 on May 13, 2011

Judy and Ron were welcoming from taking our reservation to saying goodbye. We had our home away from home while visiting Appleton:good central location, delicious breakfast and elegant decor.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for selecting our inn. We were delighted to serve you both! The historical atmosphere of our inn is gladly shared so many can experience this time in history. It was our pleasure to have an opportunity to restore a Queen Anne Victorian house.


WHEN THE OWNER IS AWAY, MAYBE YOU SHOULD STAY AWAY TOO

2.2 on April 18, 2011

Stayed here when owner was away and that was mistake on the part of owner. Staff owner hired to run B&B was completely out of their league. Food was terrible & not what was promised. Man hired to cook/serve food had a bad attitude. When a couple asked if they should sit in any particular seat at breakfast, the man grumbled "whatever", shrugged his shoulders and walked off. They couldn't find toaster, couldn't work coffee pot, didn't know what "eggs over easy" was, etc. "How does anyone cook in such a small kitchen" could be heard. When I went to help, dirty pots, pans, dishes were piled everywhere. Were these dishes from the day before? Only decaf was served, had to WAIT for reg coffee. Had to ask for silverware. Hairdryer ate and burned our hair. "Do not disturb" sign was ignored. When man PROMISED my daughter scrambled eggs, he changed it to baked eggs w/cheese. Got 1 small pancake each w/our eggs and it was raw dough inside. Next day French toast was dry toast w/an egg stuck to the bottom or just dry toast. I e-mailed owner w/my comments but I never heard back. Also, owner left us pamphlets on Antique stores but 5 places we drove to (one was all the way in Osh Kosh), had been closed for 3 yrs. We drove to lots of laces that didn't exist. If you plan to stay when the owner isn't there, opt out of the breakfast and take the minor discount offered. When booking my stay, I clicked on a promotion called March Madness but it disappeared. So I called owner and inquired about promotion. Instead of offering it to me since it was on her website, she told me that it was a promotion from last year, that she hadn't raised her rates in 8 years, and that she wasn't getting rich off this business. She went on and on and made me feel as though I was asking for something for nothing. Why offer a promotion if you don't want to follow through with it? Owner did offer slight discount but I didn't like the way it was offered-after a long and unnecessary guilt infused story.

Innkeeper Response
It is our desire that all of our guests receive a quality stay at the Franklin Street Inn. We work hard and pay attention to the small details in order to assure each guest that quality. We feel bad that this guests expectations were not met. There were mitigating circumstances that caused this situation to be challenging. We have corrected the items that are within our control to do so. We look forward to being hospitable to all of our future guests.


An elegant romantic getaway

4.8 on March 14, 2011

Judy and Ron are very welcoming hosts. I especially appreciated Judy's attention to my food allergies. She was so accomodating to the point where she did research special foods for me and provided wonderfully delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the Turret suite which was extremely romantic- very private- and made to treat guests like kings and queens.

Innkeeper Response
I am pleased that you enjoyed the magical romantic experience of our Turret! I appreciated it that you were kind enough to alert me to your dietary needs at the time of reservation so I could plan ahead. I love to cook, bake, & try new recipes. I delight in seeing the guest's pleasure in tasting our breakfast treats.


"Wicked" Weekend Getaway

4.2 on March 06, 2011

My sister and I were going to the show Wicked in Appleton and decided to bring our husbands and make a Bed and Breakfast getaway weekend at Franklin Street Inn. It is a beautiful B&B. The bed was so comfortable. Judy was a wonderful hostess beginning at check in until checkout. Judy brought the breakfast to our room. Delicious breakfast both days. Thanks for the relaxing weekend.


Absolutely Fantastic!!!

5 on February 07, 2011

We stayed at the Franklin Street Inn for the first time on 2/5/2011 for a birthday/romantic getaway. Our stay could not have been better. I had never stayed at a B&B before so I was a little leary, but it was great. Breakfast was delicious and the hostess was delightful. We would highly recommend the Franklin Street Inn to anyone. Plus the Packers won the Super Bowl. Go Pack Go!!!


Wisconsin Hospitality & Romantic Hideaway

5 on January 11, 2011

The Franklin Street Inn is a perfect hideaway for couples to find some alone time with romantic & themed-based ambiance or for the weary traveler to enjoy some Wisconsin hospitality and a gourmet home-cooked breakfast. My husband and I highly recommend the Franklin Street Inn.


Great location Very Nice Rooms

4.8 on January 04, 2011

I had never stayed in a B&B before so I had no idea what to expect. The Franklin Street Inn far exceeded my expectations. The room we stayed in was emaculate, the bed was very comfortable, the lighting and fireplace made it very cozy/warm, the room also included a 2 person whirlpool tub. I kept thinking while we driving to the Inn that I wished I had brought along a CD player so that we could listen to soft music. When we got there. and when I saw the CD player I said to myself this place thinks of everything so needless to say I was extremely pleased.


Cozy & relaxing stay at Franklin St. Inn

5 on December 11, 2010

I stayed for one night while doing business in Appleton. The comfy bed, delicious & ample breakfast and friendly hosts, Judy & Ron, made it a comfortable, relaxing visit.


Packer game weekend

5 on December 10, 2010

We loved the Franklin Street Inn! We were there for a romantic getaway after coming home from Afghanistan. The turret suite was quaint and romantic. Judy is an amazing hostess! Close to Green Bay for the game. You will be happy to stay here.


Great location, wonderful innkeeper

4.4 on December 06, 2010

Short stay at this inn, but I was warmly welcomed and treated to an amazing breakfast before scooting off to the meeting which brought me to Appleton. Beautiful attention to detail here! Close to college, downtown, courthouse.


Franklin Street Inn, LLC

5 on November 27, 2010

Greatly enjoyed our stay. Loved all the themed rooms. Clean, comfortable beds and excellent breakfast.


What a Pleasure!

4.8 on November 22, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Franklin Street Inn in November 2010. Judy greeted us like family. The Inn is quite charming. It is beautifully decorated with period artwork and furniture. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. We slept like babies in the plush bedding. The individual bathroom with a soaking tub with jets was a treat. Breakfast was just delicious! I wish I would have gotten the carmel apple french toast recipe! Judy and Ron, thank you for a wonderful weekend. We look forward to another stay in the near future.


North Country Hospitality

4.8 on November 14, 2010

Our innkeeper Judy Halma couldn't be more hospitable! She's friendly, eager, efficient and passionate about running a successful, comfortable B&B. The house (1 of 2 she owns) is immaculate, decorated for the late 19th century, and cozy. The food is unique and filling; the bed is strong and restful. We're going back!


Hospitality Plus

5 on November 13, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed the warm hospitality of the Franklin Street Inn. Rooms were large, comfortable bed, and tastefully decorated. Location is walking distance to fine restaurants, cultural events, and Appleton's downtown. We would highly recommend this experience.


Franklin Street Inn, LLC

4.6 on November 11, 2010

Excellent breakfasts and very clean. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Good location.


A Time Well Spent

3.2 on November 03, 2010

From the moment I spoke with Judy I knew we would be taken care of. Upon arriving at the inn we noticed the wonderful welcome board wishing us a happy anniversary along with other well wishes for other guests, a nice touch. The inn is beautiful and our room (turret suite) was peaceful and relaxing. Everything was great. The only sour note we would add is that due to the very busy weekend Judy seemed very rushed and not herself. She was completely booked and obviously needed to tend to her other guests. This was a double edge sword since while we understood why, it still left us feeling sorry for her situation and made us careful to try and not add on more to her responsibilities. Also, other inn's we have stayed at featured a very elegant multi course breakfast; again possibly due to Judy's busy schedule we feel that while the food was delicious, it was average compared to other inn's. But dont let that cool you off from staying here. Overall, you will enjoy Judy's enthusiasm, passion and hospitality and of course the beautiful rooms at the Franklin Street Inn.


Turret Room Recommendation

4.8 on November 01, 2010

We had a nice relaxing evening after a nice dinner at a local restaurant. The breakfast the next morning was very delicious and I am looking forward to making those same dishes at home.


Great experience for my parents 50th wedding anniversary

4.2 on October 26, 2010

My parents had great things to say about their stay on Oct 22nd. Judy was great in giving them ideas for things to do and where to dine in the area. They loved the decor and breakfast that was prepared. I had requested a bouquet of flowers to be placed in their room and Judy walked to the florist and selected a beautiful arrangement. My parents had a wonderful time and Judy made it very special for them. Many Thanks!


Franklin St. Inn Review,Appleton, WI

4.2 on October 24, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the sister Inn to the Franklin St. Inn. Our Parisian themed room was bright, cheery,nice ambiance, with wonderful linens. Judy was most hospitable, and engaging hostess. We would definately return. Enjoyed our breakfast as well.


Warm and Wonderful

5 on October 22, 2010

Franklin Street Inn is perfect for parents of Lawrence University students or even if you're just visiting Appleton. It's close to downtown and the campus. The hosts are wonderful and helpful. They take such pride in their inns and do their very best to accomodate. We've stayed twice now and will be regular visitors.


Comfy Weekend

4.6 on October 19, 2010

My stay at the Franklin St. Inn was perfect! Luxurious bed & pillows, quiet, and lovely decor. The owner was very accommodating to my needs.


Parents' Weekend Stay in Appleton

4.0 on October 17, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms were imaginatively decorated and very comfortable. The hospitality was top-notch. Proximity to the Lawrence campus and downtown Appleton made it all the more relaxing and convenient as I was able to walk to most places.


We felt at home.

4.0 on October 07, 2010

The room was very comfortable and the service was fantastic. The breakfast was so much better than we ever expected.. Overall an excellent experience and we would go back again.


Franklin Street Inn, LLC

3.8 on October 05, 2010

Innkeepers are very kind to inform us some local event which we did not know. That was best thing we did this trip.


Franklin Street Inn and the Theatre

5 on September 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Franklin Street Inn during an overnight stay in Appleton to see South Pacific at the Performing Arts Center. The Inn itself was fantastic. Our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The Inn's owner Judy was a great help from the first phone call to confirm our reservation, she even took care of our dinner reservations. Sunday morning breakfast was excellent, and worth the trip to Appleton.


Turret Suite - Great Stay, awesome service!

4.6 on September 16, 2010

Background- Due to my frequent travels I've had the pleasure of staying at numerous Bed and breakfasts (B&B's) in several states and even internationally throughout the last 5 years. First Impression- The first day I stayed at the Franklin Street Inn B&B was a great experience. At first impression, the house is cozy without feeling crowded; the structure itself is exceeding 100 years old and extremely well kept. The staff (Ron and Judy) keeps the house very secure with locks that the U.S. Government also uses due to their difficulty in being bypassed; as a bonus, their doors also have no keys to lose as they are a combination. Convenience - The location is very convenient. There are restaurants (nice and quick) within walking distance. The river-water front is a short 5 minute drive, and there is a park nearby for those that want to have picnic midday. The hosts provide the guests with an assortment of very good suggestions and recommendations. During my stay their recommendations were key in making the experience a great one. They effectively ensured that the guest’s happiness was always paramount including tailoring their meals to the individuals tastes which works well for those avoiding particular foods. Value- The value is on par with most B&B's of this type (inter-state), but rated as "Exceeding my expectations" as the other B&B's I’ve looked at have nothing like the professionalism and appearance that Franklin Street Inn provided. They have an on-site masseuse which I thought was quite good, the ambiance was only slightly degraded by the noise next door due to construction, but nothing that can be attributed to the owners. The overall rating of this is excellent due to the area in which it is located, and, more significantly, the kind generosity of the hosts. Anyone who is thinking of taking a trip to La Crosse, Appleton, and even Milwaukee would be glad to have this place as a retreat from the daily activities.


Wedding in Wisconsin

5 on August 17, 2010

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The attention to detail was excellent. We would stay again.


Franklin Street Inn

5 on August 10, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay. Judy was such a great hostess. She really made you feel right at home. She let us check in early. We will stay again.


Lovely visit to the Franklin Street Inn

4.8 on August 06, 2010

Our Innkeeper, Judy, was charming, helpful and gracious. The house and furnishings were beautiful. I especially loved the colors in the dining room. Our room was gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious and Judy told us about a nearby Greek restaurant within walking distance that was outstanding. We would love to stay at this Inn again someday!


Quick Appleton Visit

4.2 on August 06, 2010

We stayed at the Franklin Inn 4 nights and were very impressed with the beautiful house. The room was creatively decorated and spotless. We enjoyed everything about our stay and would recommend this B & B to all my friends


Franklin Street Inn

4.8 on August 04, 2010

Great owner and food. The bed was super comfortable. The other guests were a surprise - very friendly and interesting. A fantastic experience all around.


Perfect Weekend Getaway!!

5 on July 19, 2010

It was a girlfriend getaway, and we had an awesome place to stay! The breakfasts were incredible and more than sufficient. The room we stayed in was more than satisfactory for us. Nice to be so close to town to where we could walk to pretty much anything. We would definitely stay here again. Ron and Judy made our weekend most enjoyable. Very friendly and fun to be around. THANK YOU for a wonderful stay at your establishment.


Franklin Street Inn

3.6 on July 13, 2010

I slept poorly for 3 nights on a bed that jiggled and was too soft. Location was perfect walking distance to Lawrence University. Antique decor in room left no space to unpack comfortably - too much clutter trying to be cute. Very friendly hosts.

Innkeeper Response
Our goal has been and will continue to be providing guests with a quality stay! We make it a practice to ask guests if they slept well. We invite feedback by requesting, "Is everything ok in your room and can we help make you more comfortable?" Had we known that this guest had a concern, we would have worked to resolve this.


Very comfortable stay!

5 on July 04, 2010

We enjoyed a warm welcome and interesting history of the home with the innkeeper. Made us much more appreciative of the Victorian era!


Charming and Welcoming

4.8 on June 29, 2010

Excellent B&B wih period charm and a very welcoming host. Will stay there again.


Franklin Street Inn

4.6 on June 14, 2010

Excellent breakfast and treats. We will definitely return.


A wonderful weekend!

4.8 on June 01, 2010

Our family of four had a busy weekend planned visiting nearby Lawrence University, and staying at this B & B made everything so easy. The accommodations were superb, with tasteful decorating and lots of "nice touches" from our hostess, Judy. The breakfast was 5-star, served in a stunning Victorian setting. Plus, Judy even helped us find accommodations for our dog who was travelling with us! We recommend this B&B! Taylor Rockwell and Martha Wolf, Freeport, IL


Perfection!

5 on May 28, 2010

Every detail was just wonderful. Our hosts were the most hospitable we ever met!


Well Cared For in Appleton

5 on May 28, 2010

Our hosts at the Franklin Street Inn took care of us way beyond our expectations!! Immaculately clean throughout, our room was comfortable and felt like home... our breakfast was delicious, served piping hot... thank you Ron and Judy... you are the best!


Bed and Breakfast Review

4.2 on May 27, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a restful one night's stay at the Franklin Street Inn. Our hostess was very insightful on historical events in the area and it was reflected in the decor and ambiance of the inn; charming and comfortable, with attention to detail.


Weekend Away

4.6 on April 30, 2010

It was an awesome weekend of relaxing. Beautiful rooms with all the appropriate amenities. A wonderful hostess who was wanting to please her guests.


Franklin St

3.8 on April 30, 2010

Perfect for visiting Lawrence. A short block from campus. Lovely Victorian appointments. Breakfast worth ruining your diet for!


Franklin Street Inn

4.2 on April 14, 2010

Franklin St Inn is a cute place located walking distance from both downtown Appleton and Lawrence University. The hosts are helpful and friendly. Its a great place.


Franklin St

5 on March 30, 2010

This B&B is a gem in Appleton - walking distance to all the 'action' on College Avenue. Very comfortable and a model of detail.


Franklin St Inn

5 on March 26, 2010

Exceptional breakfasts, unparalleled hospitality. Comfy and cozy accomodations. Near Lawrence University and College Avenue food and dining.


The ideal Wisconsin getaway

5 on March 15, 2010

The perfect weekend getaway. The Franklin Inn on Durkee (as well as the adjoining Franklin Street Inn) are award-winning inns. I can certainly see why this place won a "Best B&B in the Great Lakes" award by the bedandbreakfast.com site. There are 4 themed rooms in each inn--we stayed at the "paris" themed room and it was incredibly pampering ..and a great rate. We will definitely be back soon!


Birthday Getaway

5 on December 06, 2009

Our stay at the Franklin Street Inn was exceptional. We found Judy to be a very gracious host. We’ve stayed at other bed and breakfasts before and this by far was the most inviting. The breakfast was exquisitely prepared. We also very much enjoyed the fresh ground coffee. Judy was very accommodating in making dinner reservations at a local Mediterranean cuisine restaurant for us. The rooms were very clean, beautiful, and the themes were wonderful. We can’t wait to go back.


First time B&B stay

4.4 on November 24, 2009

The hosts were very nice. All rooms we saw were clean and well decorated. Excellent stay!


Franklin Street Inn, LLC

5 on November 03, 2009

Lovingly restored and well-managed Victorian home with personable innkeepers -- must see. A great location in a nice Wisconsin town.


Franklin Street Inn, LLC

5 on November 03, 2009

This inn is beautiful and welcoming in every detail. It is a two block walk from Lawrence University -- perfect for visiting parents.


Franklin Street Inn, LLC

4.8 on November 03, 2009

The franklin St Inn made us feel relaxed, important, special, And made our anniversary very romantic and unforgettable. It's a great place to visit.


Great getaway!

5 on October 19, 2009

The great ratings on this inn made it our choice to visit as well as visiting a city we haven't explored before. The location is excellent, so close to everything that we walked much of the time to our destinations. We stayed in the Franklin Inn on Durkee. The 2 inns are a few houses away from each other. Our room was spacious—just wonderful. Great decor (Parisian), HUGE whirlpool which is a luxury for us. The bed was wonderful and we slept like logs. Everything was extremely clean throughout the inn. Judy and Ron are delightful and really are into hospitality and making sure their guests have everything they need. Breakfast was delivered to our room and we loved all the dishes that were served. Appleton is a great city too; much to do. We enjoyed many area attractions and restaurants. This is certainly an inn that we would return to.


Franklin Street Inn

5 on September 30, 2009

Franklin Street Inn experience was exquisite. Room was beautiful, fabulous service and breakfast. Very friendly innkeepers! Loved it!


The perfect place!

5 on August 26, 2009

The Franklin Street Inn offers the best acoommodations, meal. Their attention to detail is impeccable! We highly recommend staying here!


Just what the doctor ordered...

5 on August 10, 2009

Judy, The Turret Suite was even better than we expected! The Night on the Town package and the Romantic Picnic package were magnificent. This weekend could not have been more perfect. You are an amazing woman and your hospitality was greatly appreciated. Thank you!


Untitled

4.4 on July 28, 2009

Warm, friendly atmosphere. Clean, cute decorated rooms. Terriffic breakfasts.


excellent innkeepers!

5 on July 20, 2009

They make you feel so welcomed and like they're waiting just for your arrival. The inn is exceptionally well kept from the inside our, and the breakfasts are wonderful! Love Judy's cookbook!


delightful

4.6 on July 17, 2009

Everything we expected and them some! Breakfast is ample and absolutely delicious- Judy even wore this beautiful dress just to serve it. Excellent location, beautiful neighborhood for relaxing walks. Definitely a place to come back to!


A Wonderful Stay!

4.8 on June 23, 2009

Franklin Street B&B was charming and delightful. Out hostess was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and just the right degree of privacy and social interacting.


My first B&B, just the place to relax!

4.6 on May 26, 2009

This was my first B&B, just looking to get away and relax. When I arrived, the place was absolutely gorgeous and so inviting. Rooms were just enchanting, service was great, and food was delicious.


food was wonderful!

5 on May 20, 2009

Judy, the owner, was very helpful with recommendations for local attractions and restaurants. She also made reservations for us if we needed. They definitely went the extra mile to make the stay special!


great place to stay

5 on May 13, 2009

Wonderful time, beautiful place, friendly innkeepers, delicious breakfast!


Dream the Caribbean

5 on May 13, 2009

While staying in the Sea Breeze Suite we could easily imagine ourselves being in the tropics. The decore was perfect, the food delicious and we were able to watch the stars through the skylight. Our whirlpool tub for 2 completed the tranquil setting. We highly recommend the entire package.


wonderful people!

4.8 on April 15, 2009

Probably the best omelet we ever had! The European pancake with strawberries and bananas were great, also! Would highly recommend this place!!


lovely accommodatinos

5 on March 27, 2009

A comfortable retreat, delicious breakfast!


Franklin Street

4.6 on March 27, 2009

The stay was a delightful experience.


Franklin Street

3.0 on March 23, 2009

Good location, very nice innkeeper, delicious breakfast.


Franklin Street

5 on March 23, 2009

wonderful and romantic.


Caring innkeepers

5 on March 23, 2009

The inn was everything their ad said and more. Lovely old house, but each room or suite modernized for convenience. Some very luxurious, but always keeping the feeling of style and warmth. The location is perfect: close to Lawrence Univer., downtown with its farmer's market and restaurants. The hosts couldn't have been more concerned with making my stay enjoyable in spite of having a full house of guests. Thanks for a wonderful 1st stay in Appleton!


weekend "winging it'

4.8 on March 19, 2009

Our visit to the inn was absolutely wonderful. Judy has thought of everything. you will truly feel like a king and queen in the Turret Royale Suite. Breakfast was amazing. An absolute must visit. Will definitely be back.


Our stay was most pleasant

4.8 on March 11, 2009

At a very unique, clean, intersting B&B that was very close to fine eating establishments. Our breakfast was great! We felt like we were staying with old friends who were pleased to serve and were concerned with our needs.


Grand weekend!

5 on March 03, 2009

Our stay was wonderful...from the beautiful room to their food and hospitality! We also received massages that was to die for! Most definitely will be coming back here again!


Franklin Street Inn

5 on March 03, 2009

Judy and Ron are very special people. They are most helpful in directing us while in unfamiliar places. The B&B was a marvelous place to stay- especially close to our event. Everything was superb!


Franklin Street Inn

5 on March 03, 2009

Great way to spend our anniversary!


Great time

5 on March 03, 2009

Very pleasant time spent at your B&B. Meals were very nice, hospitality great. Will recommend to family and friends!


weekend winging it

4.8 on March 02, 2009

We started our weekend out at the spur of the moment because between the two of us we have 7 children! ( blended family fits the description very well) Anyways......... we had no set plans just packed a few essentials and left. We ended up in Appleton, Wi. and what a slice of heaven we found with Franklin Street Inn! Judy and Ron have thought of EVERYTHING! We trully felt like a King and Queen in the Turret Royale Suite. We have stayed at many B&B's and this was one of the best. There is no stone left unturned here on the level of service you will receive here. We will definetly be back! Thanks to Judy our weekend getaway was perfect.


Loved the room, food was wonderful

4.6 on February 20, 2009

The best part of our stay was the hospitality. Judy made us feel like we were part of their family.


Franklin Street Inn

5 on February 20, 2009

Perfect in all ways


awesome!

5 on February 18, 2009

Judy was wonderful and the B&B was beautifully furnished. Our room, Rhodes Room, was very cozy and comfortable and the food was amazing. We would highly recommend staying here!


a Christmas gift from my children

5 on February 04, 2009

A mid-week getaway from a stress-filled job and hectic life. B&B's 'fill the bill', Ron and Judy's didn't disappoint!


Franklin Street Inn

5 on January 09, 2009

A beautiful and cozy place to stay. Gracious host willing to accommodate. An amazing breakfast was the perfect way to wake up!


Life Begins at 50

5 on January 09, 2009

We had a wonderful time celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. Everything was perfect-food, cozy atmosphere, absolutely loved it! Thank you!


First anniversary

4.8 on January 09, 2009

When we were married last December in Menasha,WI, my husband and I had 3 nights together before he had to return back to work in Detroit. Not wanting to spend our short time together traveling, we found Franklin Street Inn convenient, affordable, and a wonderful place to stay- we came back for our 1st anniversary and plan to return for many more!


Where to go to be pampered

4.6 on January 04, 2009

The house was amazing! Very elegant. We were given a full tour upon arrival. We did have to remove our shoes when we arrived to stop the spread of road salt on the hard-wood floors. We had a lovely room and a wonderful breakfast (included!!!) of eggs, french toast, fruit, coffee and juice delivered to our room the next morning.


beautiful B&B!

5 on December 18, 2008

This was our first B&B experience and it was amazing! We loved our room, the fantastic breakfast, and the hospitality or Ron and Judy! We will be back!


Can't wait to return!

5 on December 10, 2008

Beautiful inn. the 3rd floor Turret Suite was very private with romantic setting. Whirlpool bath in front of fireplace is amazing! My husband and I left relaxed and rejuvenated!!


Fanklin Street Inn

5 on December 09, 2008

Beautiful rooms and our hosts were wonderfully accommodating.


Nice news

4.6 on November 17, 2008

We were the only guests this night, so got the total attention of our hosts, who were so gracious! They knew a lot of history about the house, and shared wonderful stories about pieces of furniture, pictures, and decorations. Delightful experience!


Great comfy Inn

4.6 on October 28, 2008

Lovely themed rooms, very comfy beds, and awesome service. Romantic and elegant. Food was five-star!!


fantastic

5 on October 24, 2008

couldn't have been nicer. Every small detail attended too. Beautifully renovated treasure from years past.


Franklin Street Inn

5 on October 24, 2008

very clean, very friendly hosts, and great breakfast and amenities.


A sweet time

3.2 on October 14, 2008

Good hospitality, warm and helpful hostess, delicious breakfast.


Great stay

5 on October 13, 2008

Judy and Ron always provide personal service. We have stayed here numerous times and always enjoy our return visits. Food is outstanding. Judy and Ron are great hosts. Would highly recommend w/o reservation.


Nice and Overstuffed

3.4 on October 03, 2008

The innkeeper was exceptionally helpful. Like so many B&B's, this was overcluttered with no place to put your own things.

Innkeeper Response
Per this guest suggestion, we have removed the second chair from this smaller room(2 for a couple typically). We completely understand that when a couple is on a long trip that extra luggage requires more space. We try to look at each room from the guest's point of view when the room is set up, "Where would we set our personal items, etc." Our #1 concern is the comfort of our guests! We look forward to serving many more!


Superb, Beautiful, Relaxing, and Delicious

5 on October 02, 2008

Everything was perfect. The owners Judy & Ron have 2 (two) beautiful Inns - they are both great hosts and are very accommodating.


Franklin Street Inn

4.6 on October 01, 2008

Judy was incredibly helpful and accommodating. We felt welcomed and cared for. She went out of her way to accommodate specialized dietary needs.


Peace and Comfort

4.2 on September 09, 2008

Charming rooms and a comfortable setting made for a peaceful and relaxing getaway!


30 yr anniversary

4.4 on August 18, 2008

A beautifull in with wonderful hosts and the best breakfast weve ever had! Excellent food! Very relaxing and peaceful!


A beautiful B&B

4.2 on August 04, 2008

A beautiful B&B. The "turret suite" in the whole third floor with private dining area, comfy couch/tv area, whirlpool and fireplace area and extra bedroom. A very private and romantic escape.


Bed & Breakfast (s) Best Buy for your Buck

4.8 on July 31, 2008

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Franklin Sr. Inn, Appleton, WI. The hospitality, the breakfsts, the accessibility to downtown, the antiques, and the people were great


Franklin Street was very nice

3.4 on July 29, 2008

Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Quaint.


Great Breakfast

3.4 on July 25, 2008

Hostess Judy is an excellent cook and a very thoughtful host.


Delightful

5 on July 24, 2008

We had a delightful stay in this wonderful inn. Exceptionally clean. Judy was fun to talk with.


Home full of Heart

5 on July 21, 2008

Excellent service, warm surroundings, great food. Loved it.


Hospitality Gem

4.8 on May 30, 2008

Judy has put incredible thought into the gorgeous and whimsical rooms at these inns. And she's a talented cook and super thoughtful hostess.


May 2008

5 on May 29, 2008

Artist hostess Judy has done wonders with these unique theme rooms. Ours was Italy. Breakfasts are to die for! (Judy accommodated my husband who cannot eat eggs).


Appleton Gem

4.6 on May 21, 2008

A delightful stay in downtown Appleton. Judy is not just a cook-she is a CHEF. Great stay, great ambiance. She is a perfect ambassador for Appleton.


Wonderful!

4.2 on May 21, 2008

Perfect! Very good food! They spoiled me!


Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $220
  • Reviews (265) 4.7
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9202099711
  • Toll free 1-8889931711

Visit Website »

View details

Top