Free gift card up to $150!

Recent Reviews in Wheeler, Oregon

Our favorite spot on the Oregon Coast at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on February 26, 2015

My husband and I have stayed at OWH several times over the years. It is located in the perfect spot, allowing quick trips to Rockaway, Nehalem, Cannon while always having the option to retreat to the quiet little town of Wheeler on the bay. The hotel is nice, and the website provides pictures and details for selecting a room. I can't recall our host's name this time, but he was kind and polite and very helpful, recommending restraints and giving us directions to a few of the hikes we were interested in doing. Breakfast isn't gourmet, but we found plenty to eat. The windows block out all outside noise, but the walls are old and thus tgin, which makes me appreciate the "no children under 12" policy -- plus, it's a great excuse to leave our son at home for a weekend away! We will continue visiting OWH for many years to come. Thank you for a wonderful stay every time!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place! at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2015

We've stayed here twice in the last year and each stay has been excellent. The room is always clean, Pat & Tracy are always awesome, and the view is great. Plus, you can't beat free kayaking! We'll definitely make this one of our go-to places for the beach from now on. I highly recommend staying at Wheeler on the Bay.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice! at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.4 reviewed on February 20, 2015

We stayed two nights in room four, it was perfect! Great views for beautiful sunsets, the staff were very helpful and super friendly. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast, just wanted to try local coffee shops and breakfast spots. This was our first trip to the Oregon coast, and Wheeler is close to everything from Cannon beach, Oswald state park (short sand beach), Manzanita, and down to Girabaldi and Tillamook.

View more reviews for this inn


wheeler hotel second year at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.0 reviewed on February 03, 2015

This is the second year we have stayed here for my birthday January 31st. The number one reason we stay here is for the crabbing. We can bring our boat and park it and docking is easy. Last year when we got there we had never crabbed in January. The older man that runs the place really shit on our parade by implying we wouldn't catch anything. But we went out and did awesome. We came back this year with more con fidence and experience but he did it again. But now we take him as our pessimist good luck charm because we came home with ten crabs. The rooms are nice and the premade breakfast seems kind of odd but honestly was awesome to have. Microwave and jump on the boat with food in our bellies. Also at night they have a lot of DVDs to borrow with free popcorn, candy and soda. Pretty nice. We will be back next year for sure. Probably sooner. Only negative things are pessimism and the guy comes in your room to show you around and teach you how to use the remote. Its weird. He kind of acts like if he doesn't show us everything we may burn the place down.

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon Suite at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

3.8 reviewed on February 03, 2015

Hosts were very friendly. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite, which was great. The tub was deep and had seats for two people, but was very narrow. I thought this was an excellent bargain.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful 47th Wedding Anniversary at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on January 24, 2015

From the moment we walked in to the time we left we were made to feel like we were important. Every aspect of the place was explained to us and shown. We were offered and upgrade to a bigger room but we elected to stay in our first choice. When it came time to take advantage of the Kayak they fitted us with our preservers and escorted to the dock and everything important was shown or explained. The room was well organized and clean, clean, clean. Our view was right out over the bay. I scared away accidentally two Great Blue Heron right out side the parking lot. I would highly recommend Wheeler on the Bay Lodge. Very nice folks.

View more reviews for this inn


A peaceful escape at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.4 reviewed on December 09, 2014

A charming spot with fabulous service.

View more reviews for this inn


Go Stay at the O.W.H.! at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.0 reviewed on December 03, 2014

I will stay at the O.W.H. any chance I get from now on. The place feels very comfortable and I love the location.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful view, people and location.We will be back at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.2 reviewed on November 14, 2014

Clean simple rooms in a great location. Helpful informative owner's, great value with the kayaking right out the door. Excellent eating across the street, hard to beat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great get-away on the Oregon Coast at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on November 09, 2014

Loved our stay at Wheeler. It was pleasantly relaxing and quite romantic. Wheeler is a quaint town filled with friendly people, good food and lots of antiques. While there we enjoyed the dinner train. Definitely a place we would go back to!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay! at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.2 reviewed on October 27, 2014

We rented the Honeymoon room (though not newlyweds, but we think it's the best room). It has a wonderful large deck right off the room that sits on the bay with a gorgeous view. It's beautiful and peaceful. The room was cozy and decorated well, it was very comfortable. The hosts are friendly and very accommodating, we had forgotten an item and they offered to lend us theirs; very kind. Wheeler is a small town but has some very nice antique shops and coffee/bakery shops as well. This has been our second stay here and we'll be back next year too! Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Always love it here at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2014

We stay every year once or twice. Love everything about it. Fishing, crabbing was excellent

View more reviews for this inn


Everything one needs is here. at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

3.8 reviewed on October 12, 2014

Love that they tell you what type of bed is in each room. Not everyone can sleep on one or another type of bed and being comfortable is my top priority.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful location on the Bay - but skip their breakfast at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

3.2 reviewed on October 10, 2014

The location is beautiful and the proprietors are very nice. The rooms are dated but clean. They provide a breakfast consisting of individually packaged and frozen sandwiches and pastries so skip their offering and walk across the street to the Roost for wonderful homemade pastries and sandwiches. Show your room rental receipt and get a 10% discount.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet Hideaway at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

What a great find! This is a small spot on the Oregon Coast and could be easily missed which would be a shame. Pat and Tracey, the owners, are fabulous, welcoming and have thought of just about everything... so many great details! Comfortable beds, great property, and a really beautiful location. Can't wait to book again!

View more reviews for this inn


Oregon Coast Getaway at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on September 18, 2014

Wheeler On The Bay Lodge is indeed a B&B gem. The room was small, but very clean and well appointed.. Everything we could possibly want for a comfortable getaway was there or available for the asking. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with owner's Pat and Tracy, who made sure our needs were met. We stayed in the "Glory" room, and the vista from our private deck was amazing. Beautiful sunsets, fish jumping, wildlife and birds galore, Even the friendly resident kitty greeted us daily TIP - Regardless of the reviews, we found good dining choices to be limited in Wheeler. Based on ratings and reviews, we opted to dine at the "Rising Star Cafe." I do not recommend this eatery. Our food, as well as our overall experience, could not have been worse.. However, we certainly look forward to a return visit to Wheeler and will definitely stay at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge. Trip summation: Pros -- Everything Cons -- The Rising Star Cafe Ray and Becky Knox Morro Bay, California

View more reviews for this inn


Second Visit at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

3.0 reviewed on September 08, 2014

The hotel stay was as wonderful as expected, as we were there a year earlier. Staff was outstanding. Extras for the room were asked for and granted quickly. My only slight complaint was the outside light outside of the room on the sidewalk side. Though it did go off later in the evening, an early sleep time would not be easily accomplished. We will return again, and the small community is wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden gem at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.8 reviewed on September 06, 2014

Wheeler On The Bay Lodge goes above and beyond in Service, Value and Cleanliness. It is a great hidden gem.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Wheeler on the Bay at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on September 04, 2014

The ability to dock a boat right in front of the lodge was convenient for fishing and crabbing. The outdoor seating and picnic area was a great way to enjoy the coast setting and beautiful sunsets.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.8 reviewed on September 02, 2014

Great views, clean rooms, friendly service and reasonable rates all spell a great experience. Our room (#4) had a wonderful view of the bay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again, and soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Old Wheeler Hotel stay in summer at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

3.6 reviewed on September 02, 2014

I really enjoyed the welcome the staff does, each room had the name of the guests posted outside the room. Loved the furnishings, just perfect for the time period. Katie gave a recommendatinn for a local restaurant. She was spot on as it was excellant. Breakfast was skimpy. Management might want to advertise that it's a light breakfast or continentsl style. I had to get more food at the little coffee shop down stairs. Wonderful location as Wheeler is a great place to relax and unwind.

View more reviews for this inn


comfortable and convenient location at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.2 reviewed on August 29, 2014

pleasant surroundings and personable owners who made you feel at home

View more reviews for this inn


Nestled on the Nehalam at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on August 29, 2014

Wheeler on the Bay is a wonderful destination for fun and relaxation. My wife and I have stayed there 3-4 times now. We take our kayaks and paddle the Nehalam River. Don't have a kayak, no need to worry, Pat and Tracy will loan you theirs. Speaking of Pat and Tracy, they are one of the main reasons we like staying at Wheeler on the Bay. They both go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure guests are taken care of. When you check in, you will receive your little basket in which you will place your chosen breakfast items for the following morning. But wait, the fun doesn't stop there. You will also get your choice of snacks which will be used while watching a free movie. For what more can a vacationer ask?

View more reviews for this inn


Clean, quiet, and nice Inn at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.2 reviewed on August 27, 2014

The owners are very nice, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are clean and roomy. We would stay here again with no hesitation. Very close to the water front.

View more reviews for this inn


A unique place to stay at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.8 reviewed on August 26, 2014

Off the track, easily missed and understated, this gem of a hotel is a grand and sweet surprise. Friendly, very clean, it is a step back in time with tasteful decor. Once there , you find that there is fishing and boating right across the street. Only 2 restaurants in town but a nice coffee shop downstairs and Nehalem and Rockaway beach are close by for more restaurants. Two antique stores steps away where you will get lost in the endless rooms and certainly find some treasure to take home. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Terrific Stay- Far Better Than a Chain Motel at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2014

We recently reserved a room here for friends who would be in town for a visit. It was my first experience with the property, and I found everything to be oustanding. My friends found it even more so! They loved the interaction with the owners on multiple occasions. They felt their room was above and beyond, both in cleanliness and comfort. I have to agree that every base was covered in a very thoughtful manner. No detail was overlooked, and I feel very confident in having all future visitors stay at this property. Thank you Pat & Tracy for your hospitality! It really made a difference for my friends, and is very appreciated.

View more reviews for this inn


The Old Wheeler Hotel is a true gem. at Old Wheeler Hotel (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.8 reviewed on August 23, 2014

This was my second stay, just one night each time (while driving from Seattle to Sacramento), and I wish I could have stayed longer. The hotel, the rooms, the furnishings, the many amenities (computer, DVDs, books, common room, breakfast, piano), and the setting and view are first rate. The sunset (both times) was glorious. The owner/staff could not be more friendly and helpful. I hope I have an opportunity to stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and affordable getaway spot at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.2 reviewed on August 21, 2014

Great hosts, good value and a lovely spot. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


best place to stay when you are going to the coast! at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

4.6 reviewed on August 21, 2014

my adult kids, myself and my mom stayed here and were blown away! Everything was amazing! from the room, to the staff , and the whole bay dock area- it was all perfect. we had the best vacation in years. i will definately be back. thank you for making us feel so cared for! heid mally

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (Wheeler, Oregon)

3.6 reviewed on August 18, 2014

We arrived and found the owners to be incredibly friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and had everything you could want in them. This lodge is located on a lovely part of the bay and there were some good sunsets to watch from the dock. It also was conveniently located. I'd definitely come back if I was in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Wheeler On The Bay Lodge (4.45)
  2. Old Wheeler Hotel (4.40)
Top
}