Asa Cline House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Blue Ridge Treasure

5 on August 13, 2013

We stayed here in May and were treated to an all-around first-class experience....the house is beautifully and lovingly cared for by John and Merrie. The breakfasts were delicious, especially Merrie's pancakes featuring local Hardy County maple syrup. We're planning to be back again soon since we'll be in the area for a family reunion. It will feel like coming home!


Just what we needed

5 on August 04, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend. We took the motorcycle and had a blast riding in and out of the mountains. The house was beautiful and historic. The owners were so nice and accommodating. Wait till you meet their dog, Katie. Best dog ever. The room was so relaxing and peaceful. We spent some time in the hot tub to end the night. Waking up to fresh coffee and a great breakfast was a great start to the day. We are already talking about planning another weekend away. Just what we needed :)


Best B&B!

5 on October 30, 2011

met & exceeded our expectations. The food was amazing and the innkeepers wonderfully accommodating. We slept like babies in our comfy bed. The surrounding nature is amazing.


Wonderful getaway!

5 on August 26, 2011

We spent last weekend at Asa Cline and were so impressed with everything. John and Merrie were warm and wonderful, the food was fabulous, the home beautiful and the attention to detail was amazing. We would highly recommend Asa Cline House!!


Fantastic getaway!

5 on August 08, 2011

This B&B is located off the beaten path, offering a perfect blend of quiet solitude and access to wineries, antiques and potteries -- our favorite things -- Innkeepers were quite nice and suggested activities in nearby towns. We will definitely return!


It Doesn't Get Better Than This!

5 on October 08, 2010

Our very 1st B&B experience was exciting/interesting/rewarding. Merrie and John were both very knowledgeable and helpful in suggesting where to go and what to do. Fabulous food! Beautiful grounds! The entire stay was much more than we had hoped for! No complaints! Highly recommended!


Peaceful & patient

4.6 on October 03, 2010

We decided to pent a few together as a family in the beautiful mountains of West Virginia after I returned from a deployment with Coast Guard. Merrie & John at Asa Cline House were wonderful and very patient with our 2 year old daughter. it was a peaceful experience. Fabulous hosts.


The best kept secret in eastern West Virginia

5 on September 09, 2010

Merrie and John have created an oasis of calm. The home has incredible healing energy and a stroll around the property is grounding. If you stay here, you must lay out in the hot tub at night with the lights and bubbles off, stare into the sky and make wish after wish watching the stars fall through the sky.


A "Merrie" B&B!

5 on August 30, 2010

John & Merrie were the perfect hosts the weekend we stayed at their B&B. A welcoming note greeted us on a blackboard on the front porch, making us feel instantly at home. They have furnished the rooms in a beautiful, inviting manner. Our bedroom had not only a large bed, but a love seat and large armchair for reading and relaxing. There were also bookshelves full of books and magazines to enjoy. Guests are welcome to use the living room, dining room and sun room at any time. My husband and I enjoyed a light dinner (that we had brought with us) on the lovely stone patio and were entertained by hummingbirds flying to and from the feeder. The grounds are charming as well, with lovely flowers, trees, ponds and sheep to enjoy. As so many other reviews mention, the breakfasts were amazing. One morning we feasted on fresh melon & blueberries adorned with nasturtiams, cherry scones, Canadian bacon, scrambled eggs and broiled home-grown tomatoes, accompanied by delicious tea & coffee. The next morning we savored a fruit medley, lemon-almond muffins, pancakes w/homemade strawberry preserves and sausages. John & Merrie were discreet - happy to chat, give advice on what to do and see, but never intrusive. We hope to return many times!


First Anniversary Getaway

5 on August 15, 2010

My husband and I visited the Asa Cline House for our first anniversary. It was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was absolutely wonderful! Merrie and John were great, very knowledgable about the house and area, and prepared an excellent breakfast. Our room (room #1) was large and the private porch (shared with room #2) was very nice. Everything about our weekend was relaxing and we can't wait to go back for a longer stay!


The way breakfast was meant to be!

5 on August 11, 2010

I had an absolutely wonderful time at the Asa Cline House. Merrie and John provided the same level of impeccable guest care from the moment I arrived until the moment I left - and I was there for 14 days! The food was divine; I woke up every morning excited to find out what Merrie was cooking. It really is a great place to stay. Merrie and John emit genuine warmth and their rapt attention to each guest means a stay filled with personal touches. You will not be disappointed!


Wonderful!

5 on August 10, 2010

We can't say enough about John and Merrie at Asa Cline B&B. The food was wonderful and they were great to talk to. We would definitely stay again!


first b&b experience

4.6 on June 17, 2010

The location was serene. The accommodations were relaxing. The food was excellent, and the hosts were very nice, friendly, and knowledgeable of the area. I highly recommend staying at the Asa Cline House.


snowy weekend getaway

5 on February 01, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend getaway at Asa Cline House in the beautiful WVa. snow. The house was beautiful and very comfortable. The hosts John and Merrie were very nice and fun to talk with. The food was outstanding, I would highly recommend the Saturday night dinner. We will definitely be coming back.


A little slice of paradise

5 on October 13, 2009

We stayed here for my birthday, and the hosts were incredibly gracious and personable. They went out of their way to make this weekend special for me and that is something I will always remember. The food was magnificent, the room was very comfortable and inviting, and the price for both of these things was very reasonable. To say we felt like honored guests is an understatement. The highlight of the trip for me was being able to safely stroll the grounds and look at the stars in the crisp mountain sky. My son enjoyed feeding the sheep. Thank you for this experience. I start the new work week more relaxed than I've ever been. I strongly recommend this bed and breakfast if you are in the area. Beats a hotel, even five star ones, hands down!


the best way to stay

5 on October 12, 2009

This b&b was super. The innkeepers are so warm and you will never find a better atmosphere both inside and out. Great place to rest and get a new start on life


Stopped overnight once; came back again for our anniversary

5 on August 29, 2009

The first night we stayed here was just for a good night's sleep and a good breakfast before we continued our trip from Massachusetts to North Carolina. We found the Asa Cline House to be charming, welcoming, and very comfortable. Our room was in the part of the house built in 1865 but updated to the 21st century with a very modern bath, WI-Fi, and a small radio with big sound to which an iPod or computer could be attached. The common area of the house, including the breakfast area, was built in 1790 and is warm and inviting. Our hosts were charming and informative about local history and things to do in the area, and our breakfast was delicious, As a result, we came back two weeks or so later for two nights to celebrate our 51st wedding anniversary. Our hosts, in addition to wonderful breakfasts, were able to provide us with a sumptuous anniversary dinner. We had relaxing and quiet walks on the beautifully landscaped part of the property, visited a local artisan cooperative, took drives on tree-covered, winding back roads, and more. Our gracious hosts made us feel at home and welcomed. The endless supply of cookies and chocolate candies available 24/7 was an added attraction for those of us with a bit of a sweet tooth.


Perfection

5 on August 24, 2009

Our short stay at the Asa Cline House was absolutely perfect. Our room was just what we had hoped for, with a comfortable sitting area and luxurious touches like Frette bathrobes and plush towels. At night, all we heard were crickets outside, a perfect respite from the city. The food (dinner on Saturday and breakfast on Sunday) was delicious and plentiful, and Merrie kindly catered to my dietary restrictions. Hosts John and Merrie were two of the most delightful people I've met, and they truly made us feel like family. The hot tub under the stars was a wonderful treat at the end of a long day of driving and hiking. We can't wait to return!


This is how B&B has got to be

4.8 on August 10, 2009

The Asa Cline House is a very charming, personal B&B, led by very nice, friendly and warm-hearted hosts. The breakfast is perfect and changing every day. The Dinner was the best we had on our 4 week roundtrip through the north eastern USA. The rooms are nice and clean, but very different, so use the photos to decide. We've enjoyed our stay very much!! This B&B is away from the large cities, so price is absolutely fair. The location is good for trips to Shenandoah Valley or the George Washington National Park.


A wonderful home, extraordinary hosts.

5 on September 22, 2008

Our stay was perfect. When we arrived we were greeted with genuine warmth by both John and Merrie. We were so appreciative of the home's history and it's beauty. John entertained all of our questions regarding the history of the house and the area, and all of his restoration work. Our room and sitting area and bathroom were very clean and very comfortable. The grounds were as lovely as could be and we so enjoyed the sheep and deer. We had unfettered access to the main areas of the home to enjoy as we wished. Breakfast was simply outstanding. We hope we will return again soon.


Beautiful!

5 on September 20, 2008

We love very old homes--and this one is perfect--spacious rooms, beautifully done; great outside spaces--porches, chairs by the pond, and benches in the woods; loved the hot tub; welcome to use inside rooms in the main house; and I can't say enough about John and Merrie--so friendly and helpful. This will be one of our favorites! Sue and Tom (And good food, too!)


One of the best gifts we've ever received!

5 on June 16, 2008

We had a wonderful weekend! John and Merrie's home is absolutly fabulous, a genuine country gem with the added bonus of a state of the art entertainment system. Sitting on the upstairs porch overlooking the beautiful grounds was very therapeutic. The quality of the food was outstanding. I highly recomend "Alice's Crabcakes". There is nowhere near enough room here to discribe how delightful Merrie and John are, as hosts and company!


An Anniversary to remember

5 on June 11, 2008

Our visit here was given as a Christmas present, and it was couldn't have been better. WE stayed there for our Anniversary in June of 2006? At that time I did not write an review, but everytime we go that place in Yellow SPrings, we remember that night. THe hosts were simply wonderful, knowing we were celebrating our anniversary, we were met with compliments of a wonderful bottle of champagne, cheese tray with crackers . The room was so nice, with so many books or magazine, a porch right off of the bedroom. We were given so much privacy, the use of a very comfortable living room or sun room. Then to taste that next morning, one of the delicious breakfasts with scones, homemade jam, the food was simply excellent. The hosts were so welcoming, the grounds were beautiful, and I will definitely would recommend this beautiful B&B.


A lovely retreat!

4.8 on October 22, 2007

We had a lovely stay at the Asa Cline House. The room we stayed in was beautiful. Breakfast was outstanding! John and Merrie are very gracious hosts. We highly recommend!


Great Place to Relax.

4.0 on October 08, 2007

This b&b has a very comfortable and pleasant atmosphere. The innkeepers are very pleasant and helpful.


Always exceeding expectations

5 on September 20, 2007

We spent yet another retreat at Asa Cline for a mid-week getaway this time and we had beautiful weather, wonderful company with Merrie and John and also a lovely couple from PA. Usually, we come in the Spring, but this pre-Fall time was just delightful. We loved the hot tub and the aches and pains were gone when we left. Cannot wait to go again in the Spring.


Wonderful Stay

3.8 on September 10, 2007

We stayed 3 nights with John and Merrie and felt so welcome and at ease. Their home is awesome and so welcoming. The food was wonderful and so well presented, she is a great cook! The grounds are wonderful and we enjoyed watching the deer and turkeys and sheep. Wine and cheese and apples on the patio were great each evening, not part of the package but they provided dishes and cutlery for us. We purchased our wine from them but did not feel pressured to do so. They were very helpful with info on the area and enjoyable to visit with. John was real interesting to talk with. The linens smelled so good and she even irons the sheets! I wish they were not so far from our home and we could get away to their home on week-ends! Thanks John and Merrie, a real pleasure...


Calm and Cozy

5 on May 06, 2007

From the moment we arrived, John and Merrie made us feel like family. The home is full of beautiul furnishings, books and magazines. The aromas that come from the kitchen are incredible, Merrie's breakfast is the best!!!! I am missing the homemade preserves and muffins. The beauty of the area makes one thank God for all He has created for us to enjoy. Fantastic! Thanks Merrie and John!! We will be back.


Asa Cline House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $150
  • Reviews (28) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3048744115
  • Toll free 1-8666654115

Visit Website »

View details

Top