The Preston County Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room3.9
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Don't judge a book by its cover

4.8 on September 23, 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels. When I first pulled in I was thinking what did I do because I booked on line. Once I walked in I didn't want to leave.The staff is AWESOME..The rooms are dated but very clean and do not smell like smoke..The food is the best I have had in a long time..when I got my keys to my room they were real keys not cards..I will definitely stay again...


Nice place to stay, but...

3.6 on September 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. The inn is old and the room we stayed in could definitely use some renovation. It was clean but the carpet was dingy. The AC also did not keep the room very cool in the high humidity. The bed frame in the room was unstable and noisy. This said, the owner was very friendly and the restaurant is great. The food was very fresh and very well seasoned. We ate there both nights. We would stay there again when in the area.


Great Stay//Hard to Find

3.8 on June 05, 2013

Unfortunately the directions I had were not the best so I spent many hours on the backroads of WV before finally getting there. But it was a good night's rest and very friendly people. The coffee wasn't quite up to my standards, and it would be nice to have some more variety of cereal choices.


Great place to stay!

4.6 on March 25, 2013

A very nice place to get away to. Jean and staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice family feel Bed and Breakfast. The food is AMAZING!! Can't wait to visit again!


First Class Meal

4.2 on January 01, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful Buffet meal for New Years Eve ! Well worth the drive from Morgantown! Outstanding!


Like being home

4.4 on November 30, 2011

Lovely owner and family. They were busy with decorating for Christmas but always stopped to ask if we needed anything. Quests were friendly and accommodations warm and inviting.


Very cute

4.0 on November 10, 2011

Our room was just perfect to relax in after a fun filled day at WVU. The inkeeper was friendly. I would visit again.


A warm and wonderfully romantic getaway!

4.8 on November 08, 2011

The wife and I were just looking for a place to crash after attending a West Virginia football game! Boy, did this place exceed our expectations! We took the Sweetheart Special that included two nights of lodging, cocktails with appetizer, Dinner at the on site four star restuarant Maxime's, Saturday sack lunch, continental breakfast and Sunday breakfast buffet. We will definately stay again and often. Can't beat the price and experience!


Most enjoyable weekend

4.0 on October 09, 2011

Although the room could use some updating - not major concern for a building 150 years old - the food and hospitality more than compensated. The staff were great, the location was more than satisfactory, and the food was superb. Would highly recommend.


Better than the Heldreth (Bates) motel

4.0 on July 24, 2011

very quaint and accomodating/ The double bathrooms were a plus, but a new interior decorator is needed here. no wheelchair access, and there's a dangerous ramp at the top of the stairs. not too crazy about the frosted over windows, but i understood they were eye-level to the patio. however, attention to details is necessary, like dusting the old furniture. The furniture piece at the bottom of the bed, lower support beams were very dusty. the "continental" breakfast area needs a good scrub down, and the waffle maker was very confusing to use. there's a free-standing air-conditioner unit that's very messily duct-taped for ventiliation to the window. If this place can install a flat-screen tv in the room, they should be able to install one of the newer wall mounted non-instrusive air-conditioner. Plus side, the activities which take place here, like movie night.


Very Cozy and Quaint :)

5 on May 11, 2010

Very cozy and relaxing. Very friendly stay. Nice quaint little town. I would stay here again!


Nice visit!

3.4 on May 07, 2010

We recently stayed at the Inn. I was very impressed with cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. The rooms had a rather strange layout and the bathrooms were small, but I understand it is a very old and quaint place to stay. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening. However, they could use some new rocking chairs, some of them were falling apart and not safe to sit on. We have stayed at other places in this area and have had some bad experiences, this was much better than the others and we would stay here again.


A great place to stay!

5 on February 28, 2010

We have had the pleasure of being a guest at the Preston County Inn for the past two months and Jean-Manuel and Deborah could not have been more hospitable to myself and my co-workers! You feel like you are being welcomed into their home and everything is done to make you comfortable. Jean-Manuel has prepared special meals for us, made sure our rooms were "toasty" warm after a long two hour drive in the West Virginia snow, and even called us with weather conditions. It has been a pleasure to stay in such comfortable surroundings with such gracious hosts...all our needs were met. A beautiful inn in beautiful surroundings-a GREAT place to stay! Alisa Sanders, RN LHC Group


Much More than Expected

5 on September 03, 2009

I have been working in Preston County for about a month now and staying at the Preston County Inn throughout each week and I have come to think of it as my home away from home. The rooms are great. The owners make you feel like part of the family. The food is outstanding. And you can't beat the prices. I would recommend the Preston County Inn highly.


Feel at home

4.8 on August 27, 2009

This is a great place to stay. I have never felt more 'at home' anywhere. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are always clean, the food is great and the rates are very reasonable!


Great weekend!!!!

4.0 on June 05, 2009

Thank you for the beautiful rooms, and the welcoming feeling we recieved upon arrival. Our rooms were very nice and clean. The little kitchen was so cute and I truley enjoyed the weekend at place of business.GRADUATION WEEKEND..... My husband and I are looking forward to visiting again very soon. Great place to enjoy your family and special occasions. Thank you again, Gene and Betty Beautiful explains it all.......


May Day week-end

4.2 on May 03, 2009

We came and stayed while rafting and enjoyed it very much, rooms were clean, dining was a great bargain and we loved the bar.


The Preston County Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $70 - $115
  • Reviews (17) 4.3
  • Rooms 8

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3043292220

Visit Website »

View details

Top