The Country Inn at High View, LLC Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Services5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

Relaxing, Refreshing, Comfortable, & Cozy Country Inn

5 on June 20, 2014

My husband and I had the BEST weekend at this B&B! Gail and Grant are the warmest of hosts, doing everything with such ease and beauty! We went to this B&B for our babymoon and were hoping to have some quiet time alone before the birth of our first child. Gail and Grant were so helpful and approachable and they also gave us lots of space to enjoy some time together. The grounds couldn't be more beautiful. On one side you have the rolling hills/mountains to take in while rocking on the very spacious front porch, on the other side was a lovely swimming pool where you could take in all the sun you'd like to or sit under the patio umbrellas. The pool was beautiful and refreshing! The food and hospitality were wonderful, as are the delicious aromas around the house. The bedrooms and sitting rooms are beautiful with lots of books and games if you didn't bring your own. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, this is definitely your place! It's situated on 90 acres of land, much of which is woods. It's close to Winchester if you want to take in some history, farmlands, or shopping. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We hope to come back again soon!


Best Weekend Ever

5 on October 22, 2013

I was looking to take a trip to Virginia/West Virginia to enjoy the autumn season. With the reviews I read on this site, I decided to give The Country Inn a try. Boy, am I glad I did!!! This place was even better than advertised, if that is possible. Excellent southern hospitality from Gail and Grant, like spending time with family. Both are knowledgeable on the area, where to eat, where to shop, where the scenic drives are. The entire home is immaculate, and decorated for the Autumn season; would love to see the home during Christmas! Gails breakfasts are to die for; best waffles I have ever eaten, practically melted in my mouth. If you are in the Winchester area, don't miss out on this place, I am glad I didn't!


Best B & B in VA for peace, quiet and exceptional service

5 on October 07, 2013

Gail and Grant provide an outstanding bed and breakfast experience for those who want to get away from everything. There are ample places inside and outside to enjoy peace and quiet and the beautiful scenery. The inn is exceptionally clean and kept up and Gail and Grant are outstanding hosts. We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs around the country and this one rates as one of the best in terms of scenery, cleanliness and service. Steve and Ellen


Clean, Serene, Charming and Romantic B&B

5 on May 08, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed this beautiful B&B. From the drive up the gravel road through the woods to the home to meet Gail and Grant, we were in awe. Gail and Grant are such wonderful hosts. We felt right at home as soon as we arrived. Gail gave us a tour and asked us about dinner plans and set up a reservation for us at the Lost River and Brewery, which was just perfect for us. This B&B is very clean and absolutely gorgeous. There was so much to look at as we walked throughout this well decorated home. The views are just breathtaking from any side of the home! We enjoyed staying in the Harvest room which had a jacuzzi tub, a nice fireplace, a cozy sitting area and a very soft comfy bed. We did not want to leave! We felt very comfortable staying here. Gail made us a three-course breakfast. It was fantastic! Anything we needed, was available to us. Loved loved loved this place. We definitely would love to return if we were ever back in WV! Thanks Gail and Grant for being such wonderful Hosts and sharing your home with us! Tyann and Jared


Spectacular!

5 on September 09, 2012

Good news and bad news. Good news that my work enabled us to discover this spectacular gem tucked in the hills. The bad news is we only had one night to enjoy it. Everything about this serene facility was spectacular ... from the impeccable decorations, to the immaculate cleanliness of every room, right down to each nook and cranny. And whoever heard of a 3 course breakfast? Well, I am a believer. Gail loves to cook, and it shows. Grant takes pride in the grounds, and it shows. Combined, they are the consummate hosts! Don't miss this place if you are any where in the vicinity!


Beautiful B&B

5 on July 24, 2012

The hosts were knowledgeable about restaurants & tourist sites in the area. The accommodations were so beautiful & our hosts thought of everything one could possibly need!


A Gem With Sparkling Beauty

5 on July 16, 2012

Staying at the Country Inn was one of the highlights of our vacation. Everything is done to perfection... the breakfasts were not only delicious but met our dietary restrictions and yet were moist, fresh and varied. The aesthetics of the rooms, dining area, everyplace you went there was not a think out of place. The attention to detail, the balance of color and comfort, the high quality of linens, towels were beyond expectations. I walked around the house looking at all the beautiful artifacts which took me to another place and time. Gail and Grant are gracious hosts who want to fulfill their guests needs. They suggested places to eat and where to go and were always available to insure our comfort. I would give the whole experience 6 stars if I could.


A perfect vacation retreat

5 on June 14, 2012

My wive and I spent two nights at Gail and Grants B&B. It is lovely, inviting, warm, cozy, friendly, with spectacular views and the best breakfasts possible. Gail and Grant are wonderful and engaging hosts and recommended the best local places for dinner each night. Thank you Gail and Grant for one of the best B&B's and mini vacations ever !!!! Lloyd and Judy


Romantic and tranquil setting, excellent innkeepers, sumptuous breakfast

5 on May 21, 2012

We celebrated 36th anniversary here within minutes drive to a family reunion. Extraordinary room, amenities, and hosts. Breakfast was amazing, porch view was idyllic.


You can take the girl out of the country ...

5 on November 05, 2011

... our stay with Innkeepers Gail and Grant Johnson was quintessential country comfort for we two. Attention to detail, homemade fare, atmosphere inside and out. A black velvet sky filled with stars and only natural night sounds. Playful deer on the rim of the forest and freshly harvested apples on the vast porch. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Inviting sitting rooms with plush seating. We will no doubt, go out of our way to spend another refreshing stay at Country Inn at High View. Five star Virginia absolutely ... October 2011 ... Hawkins


Best get away!

4.8 on October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Gail and Grant for a weekend get away this fall. We were floored with the genuine care our hosts took for our stay, and could not believe how perfect the views are from the porch (photos don't do it justice)!!! Gail really knows how to treat her guests, from the soothing music played in the evenings to the softest sheets I have ever touched! The house even smells like apple pie is baking in the oven! The breakfast is also out of this world, and all homemade from scratch. The best description of our experience would be that we stepped into an issue of southern living! Thank you Grant and Gail for the best bed and breakfast experience!


The Country Inn at High View

5 on July 06, 2011

We have stayed at many B&B's and never one as excellent as The Country Inn at High View. From the moment we arrived until our departure the Innkeepers were wonderful. We have never stayed in a more immulate inn. The breaskfast was the best ever. The coffee breads, scones, pancakes, and waffles were all homemade by the innkeepers. Will stay there again when we are in that area.


Stayed for anniversary

5 on June 07, 2011

Gail and Grant Johnson are wonderful innkeepers! Their bed and breakfast is super clean, comfortable and private. My husband and I stayed for our 3rd anniversary and are highly recommending it to our friends and family. The front porch is a great place to relax as well as the pool. Breakfast was amazing and Gail and Grant respected privacy while being charming hosts. The surrounding area is hilly and provides a calming effect for "town folks". :) We can't wait to stay again! Bob and Tabatha Miller Lancaster PA


Wonderful B&B Experience

5 on February 15, 2008

We spent the weekend at this B&B and had a wonderful time! The Inn itself was immaculate and beautifully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere. No detail adding to our comfort was overlooked! Even the sheets were unbelievably soft and the towels and robes thick and fluffy. Breakfast was delectable, everything made from scratch. Muffins...mmm! mmm! We enjoyed the Johnsons and the other guests. The scenery around the Inn is breathtaking. We plan to return again and again.


The Country Inn at High View, LLC

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $190
  • Reviews (14) 5.0
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3048561415

Visit Website »

View details

Top