Laurel Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
114 Reviews

Write A Review

A gem in Harper's Ferry

5 on November 11, 2012

I only hesitate to recommend the Laurel Lodge because I don't want too many people to find out about it. The house is special and unique. The views are breathtaking. Ed and Chris truely make you feel like valued guests in their home. The lodge is spotless and tastefully decorated. The only problem with rating the food you're served for breakfast is that there are not nearly enough stars. We can't wait to go again. Sue and Garry


Our third stay.

4.0 on November 02, 2012

Always a high point of our vacations---warm hospitality, great food and one of the most peaceful and beautiful views you'll find anywhere.


It lived up to its reputation

5 on October 28, 2012

My fiance, Scott, and I stayed at Laurel Lodge last weekend. My son, Keith, and his wife, Caitlin, spent the weekend there as well, so that we all could celebrate their 2nd wedding anniversary together. I had read 58 five star reviews prior to booking our rooms and the skeptic in me could not believe that every single person gave it such a glowing review. It sounded too good to be true. In fact, we all agreed after our stay that it was all of that and more. The breakfasts, prepared by Ed with loving care with locally sourced ingredients were outstanding, the view of the forest from the back porch was spectacular, the fall colors of the leaves were gorgeous, and Chris was the perfect host. He pays attention to every detail to insure that every guest feels welcome and comfortable. The extra touches, like the delicious homemade cookies that were always available with unlimited coffee and tea were the icing on the cake. In addition, Harper's Ferry is a wonderful weekend getaway with much to offer: history, nature, shopping. It truly has something for everyone. We had such a wonderful time that our family plans to come back in the future. We even talked about making it an annual event. We have all stayed in other b & b's in the past and this one far surpasses any of the others in so many ways. I highly recommend Laurel Lodge. It will be well worth your time to travel there and we look forward to returning in the future.


We should have planned to stay longer

4.2 on July 29, 2012

We stayed only one night at Laurel Lodge while attended the five plays at the Contemporary American Theater Festival in Shepherdstown WV. Chris was an excellent host. He gave us a tour of the house, inviting us to enjoy the porch overlooking the Potomac River or make ourselves comfortable in the living or dining rooms. Complementary water, tea, and coffee all day with cookie often available. Our room. Cedar View, provided a beautiful view of the river and hills beyond, it was clean and tasteful with a comfortable queen bed and lovely down pillows. Breakfast was generous and delicious. We may book again to enjoy hiking and the river before next July - but certainly then.


Laurel Lodge - Harpers Ferry, WV

5 on July 08, 2012

We have stayed at Laurel Lodge a number of times now. We come back for the friendly people (Chris and Ed) and the fabulous breakfasts. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B in Harpers Ferry.


True 5 star service!

5 on July 06, 2012

Before booking i was a bit skeptical of all the 5 star reviews, but two nights and breakfasts made me a believer!


A great place to stay in Harpers Ferry

5 on June 20, 2012

A fantastic place to stay. Chris was very friendly and gave us a full history of the house. Our room was spotless and beyond comfy with an unbelievable view out the back of the house. Breakfast to say the least...totally Y-U-M-M-Y. It is clear how much work and effort Chris and Ed have put in to this place. I highly recommend that if you see yourself traveling to Harpers Ferry, to consider staying at Laurel Lodge. You will love your stay!


Excellent B&B

5 on June 19, 2012

Total relaxation, excellent food and beautiful surroundings. I couldn't be more satisfied and I will definitely be back for another stay!


wonderful B&B

5 on June 17, 2012

we stayed at this truly beautiful historic home . Chris and Ed just made us feel so welcome. this was a first stay at an American B&B, the standard was very high for everything!. Breakfasts were superb with details given of the local source of everything on your plate ,delicious! the house has magnificent views from the back porch, with coffee and tea available at anytime ,relaxing was not a problem. Plenty of information is available for guests and Chris and Ed are always ready to help. this was the start of a three week stay in America we couldn't have chosen a more welcoming, beautiful place to stay .Thank you again Chris and Ed Pat & Jane UK June 2012


5 Star Experience

5 on June 13, 2012

It was truly a pleasure to stay at Laurel Lodge. Our room with private bath faced the gorge. The bathrooms were clean, the linens fresh, and the towels fluffy. Breakfast far exceeded our expectations.


the royal treatment

4.6 on May 31, 2012

Everything about this stay was amazing- Laurel Lodge really spoils the guests with nice touches like robes, a sideboard with tea and goodies you can help yourself to throughout the day, and a generous breakfast. Chris was really outstanding in adjusting for a food allergy in our group. He also had great suggestions for extra things to do if we had time in our schedule. Located on a quiet, dead end road. The shops, restaurants, and historic parts of Harpers Ferry are a (rigorous) walk away. Our room had a beautiful view, and the bed and furniture were handsome antiques that didn't sacrifice on comfort. The house has lots of hidden gems in the architecture.


Relaxing Getaway in any Weather

5 on May 09, 2012

I have stayed at Laurel Lodge two times. I love the wrap around porch and the great view! This time the weather was rainy, but we were able to sit in the relaxing living area and still enjoy the view while sipping a delightful cup of hot tea. Of course, the accommodations are first class and the food is 5 star. Chris and Ed are the ultimate hosts!


Totally delightful!

5 on May 06, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Laurel Lodge. It's a beautiful Arts and Craft house with intriguing "extras" built in nearly everywhere, reflecting its original owner. Chris is a fabulous host and chef, with the uncanny ability to understand your needs before you do. His recommendations for things to see and do and places to eat in Harpers Ferry were 100% on target for us. Our room and the common rooms were spotless and set up for relaxation and enjoyment. We will definitely be back, and we recommend it as a great getaway and place to decompress and relax.


A delightful time

5 on May 03, 2012

A warm welcome, delicious (really delicious) food, and a beautiful setting made our stay a delightful experience. The lodge itself is a fascinating place to be - a graciously proportioned building that is perfectly furnished and full of light. Chris made us feel so welcome that we felt instantly at home. The location is perfect, too, with a quiet setting and a beautiful view while still being close to the center of things. And yes, the black cat that lives across the street is the friendliest cat in the world. It seems to me that people go to Harpers Ferry for history, beauty, and relaxation. We found all of those at Laurel Lodge.


One of the Best!

5 on April 16, 2012

This was one of our favorite b&bs of all time. We loved the history of the house, the kindness and welcoming nature of our hosts and our accomodations. Our room was spotless, the bed was so comfortable, and our breakfast was superb! One of the most memorable parts of our stay with Chris and Ed included watching a bald eagle on the island below the house from the spectacular porch. We plan to return and bring friends!


Thrilled with Laurel Lodge

5 on April 09, 2012

We were looking for a last-minute hiking get-away weekend. We hiked AND enjoyed a fabulous stay at Laurel Lodge. Chris and Ed have done an outstanding job with the renovations, the lodge is historical and beautiful, very clean, close enough to everything (but far enough from the traffic and bustle), and finally, our breakfast was extraordinary. We are spoiled!


Amazing bed and breakfast

5 on March 25, 2012

We had an amazing time on our anniversary! We recommend this place to anyone who wants some peace and quiet. The service was great and the rooms were very clean!


Best food in Harper's Ferry!

5 on March 13, 2012

Chris and Ed were wonderful hosts and prepared the most delicious meals we had while in Harper's Ferry. The moist bannana nut cookies and scrumptuous chocolate-pecan pie alone could have been enough to give them five stars in my book! Would definitely go back again.


Fantastic place for a quiet getaway

5 on March 05, 2012

I chose to stay here based on the excellent reviews posted on this website, and the reviews did not let me down. We were welcomed warmly by Chris, who made us feel quite at home by giving us a small tour, information about the area, and meal options. (We opted for pizza and one of the many guest-accessible board games.) Breakfast was superb -- warm fruit and toasted oats, eggs over easy with Gruyere, mushrooms, and Parmesan-crusted polenta, and delicious little biscuits. I am sure the menu varies with the seasons, but it was really a treat. After breakfast we and another couple were enjoyed a tour of the house, which has a curious and interesting history. We stayed in the Maple View room, which is larger than the website photos would suggest. The bed and all the furnishings in the room were exceedingly well cared for and comfortable; we truly felt at home. All in all our time at Laurel Lodge was a wonderful experience that I hope to enjoy again if we make it back to Harpers Ferry. Thank you, Chris and Ed!


Wonderful stay at Laurel Lodge in Harpers Ferry, WV

4.8 on January 18, 2012

Very beautiful house, delicious breakfast and kind service at Laurel Lodge. Chris and Ed were the perfect hosts. Chris even picked us up and dropped us off the train station which was very helpful considering how cold it was.


Jon and Sharon's 39th Anniversary

5 on January 11, 2012

Chris was very accomadating when we explained we couldn't make the normalcheck in time because of late dinner reservations in Frederick. When we arrived at Laurel Lodge an hour past our estimated time, Chris was most cheerful and took us on a quick tour and showed us to our room. The breakfasts were to die for and the view of the Potomac was extraordinary. We will difinitely return and recommend Laurel Lodge to our friends.


Amazing Experience

5 on January 05, 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel with such wonderful view of Potomac river and mountains. We are glad that we decided to spend the first day of new year at Laurel lodge. Chris' excellent service and healthy and delicious breakfast added more value to it. I would definitely like to come back again.


Our favorite B&B in Harper's Ferry

4.6 on December 08, 2011

Super, duper! Chris and Ed treat us well and the Laurel Lodge is within walking distance of downtown Harper's Ferry. We highly recommend it.


Dec 2011

5 on December 08, 2011

Every aspect of this wonderful lodge rates highest praise.


A wonderful night away

5 on November 24, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt truly welcomed. A wonderful property and even better location for a getaway. I would highly recommend the Laurel Lounge to anyone taking in the sights in Harper's Ferry.


The Laurel Lodge is a gem!!

5 on November 17, 2011

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Harpers Ferry, WV. As much as we enjoyed just about every aspect of the trip, our stay at the Laurel Lodge may have been the highlight. The hosts, Chris & Ed, are very friendly and welcoming. Their home is beautiful, clean and whimsical (the original owner used tons of interesting objects which he built right into the home). It is located within walking distance of the historic downtown area (and the walk is beautiful). The breakfast can only be described as gourmet. If you are planning a trip to Harpers Ferry, do yourself a favor and stay at the Laurel Lodge. You will not be disappointed!


Beautiful house!

5 on November 13, 2011

The food and lodgings were both excellent. What a wonderful old building. Lovely view too!


Made Our Vacation Great

5 on November 05, 2011

The rooms were very comfortable, the house beautifully decorated, and it was in a wonderful location overlooking the Potomac River. It was at the end of a quiet street, complete with a friendly black cat who came for a pet each time we went in and out to our car. All three breakfasts were incredible! We started with juice and a homemade bread (scones, biscuits, coffee cake), a fruit (stewed apple crumble, fresh fruit, broiled grapefruit), and a main dish (omelets, pumpkin waffles one day). It was the highlight of the day.


Wonderful stay at Laurel Lodge

5 on November 04, 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful night at Laurel Lodge. Our hosts we gracious and kind. The breakfast was amazing. Every detail was taken into careful consideration. The views were stunning . The home was beautiful a beautiful arts and crafts style. It was perfectly decorated as well as being warm and inviting. A haven of beauty and rest.


Couldn't Ask For More

4.8 on November 02, 2011

Beautiful rooms. Amazing hosts. Delicious food. Laurel Lodge is a gem!


A real gem.

5 on October 21, 2011

We cannot fault this B&B. It was absolutely first class with everything you could possibly need including a fascinating guided tour of the house by Chris which made the house come alive.The breakfast was delicious and very filling which made us just want to go and relax rather than sight-seeing but this is not a problem because there is a wonderful verandah which provides an excellent view of the Potomac river and the hills beyond. We certainly recommend this B&B and wish that we could have stayed longer.


Great Place to Stay

5 on October 19, 2011

Highly recommend. Nicely restored Arts and Craft house. Very clean, very neat. Food was excellent and extemely well prepared. Professional level. Owners friendly and helpful.


Wonderful bed and breakfast

5 on October 16, 2011

It was one of the cleanest B&B's that we have ever stayed in. The breakfasts were three courses and were prepared with great care. I ordered a special cake as a birthday surprise for my husband and it was waiting in our room with cold milk when we returned from dinner. A short stroll into the historic Harpers Ferry. A wonderful weekend getaway.


Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting

4.0 on October 16, 2011

Laurel Lodge is beautiful with many interesting architectural details and a lovely view. My room was spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was a highlight featuring locally sourced ingredients and an imaginative menu. I would stay there again and recommend it to others. The only drawback was the difficulty of getting from the C&O canal path up the steep hill to the lodge with a loaded bicycle.


Loved Laurel Lodge

5 on October 12, 2011

Laurel Lodge was beautiful, an unusual building, and super clean. My husband and I visit a lot of B&B's and it's the first place I ever even considered going barefoot in. I didn't, but it was that clean. Chris was a great host, the view was lovely, the breakfasts were so delicious (we were there two mornings), and Ed's cookies were a special treat. I recommend Laurel Lodge highly.


Wanted to stay longer!

5 on October 09, 2011

Laurel Lodge is an absolutely beautiful place with stunning views and great service. The bike storage is good and safe, and Chris's own biking experience makes him an excellent resource and sympathetic host (while upholding the lodge's high standards of cleanliness, he was nevertheless tolerant of our muddy persons and belongings and proactive about identifying dinner locations). Ed's breakfast alone would provide reason enough to stay at the lodge--filling for the hungry bicyclist but also superbly executed with many local ingredients. Our stay was far too short to take full advantage of all of the lodge's amenities, but we thoroughly enjoyed our time there and really appreciated the innkeepers' thorough hospitality. We'll be sure to come back!


Anniversary Stay

5 on October 03, 2011

Our stay was quite lovely! In this beautiful natural setting, we also received topnotch service. The view from our bedroom (Cedar View) was grand and the truffles which were part of the Romance Package were to-die-for! The accompanying champagne was tasty too. Service was excellent and both innkeepers are very friendly and helpful from the first contact through the farewell. Accomodations were comfortable and sparkling clean. The gourmet breakfast is yummy! Be sure to ask Chris for the "historical tour" of the Lodge. We will definitely return and recommend to others!


The river view alone is worth the price

4.6 on September 12, 2011

Rooms overlooking a forested river, eagles soaring, great breadkfast personally prepared by the innkeeper, Harpers Ferry history embedded in the walls, close to the historical site and then a visit by the local black cat. What more could you ask for? ...we will be back


Brief stay would have stayed longer

4.8 on September 10, 2011

The view is beyond wonderful. Sitting on the porch was like sitting on the beach with the sound of the roaring river. Food was scrumptious. The house is very interesting. Loved Harper's Ferry. Would come back for longer stay.


What a gem???

4.8 on September 08, 2011

Did not expect this to be a "Curio House" - this house was packed with built in curiousities and an amazingly interesting history. Such a unique house full of charm and character! The rooms were decorated beautifully and furnishings complimented the style of the house. We were pleased with how immaculate it was, and no luxury was spared. Chris & Ed were wonderful and gracious hosts. We enjoyed our house and grounds tour, the phenomenal view from the back porch, and the "out of this world" food that was prepared and served with style each morning. We would recommend this lovely place to anyone and everyone. We cannot wait to go back!


Unreal Breakfasts

4.6 on September 07, 2011

This is exactly what a bed and breakfast should be! Friendly innkeeper, delicious breakfast and a wonderful getaway! Kudos, Chris!


What a wonderful place!

5 on September 04, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Laurel Lodge. The innkeepers are fabulous, the food was fantastic and the place itself is beautiful. We'd happily recommend Laurel Lodge to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.


lovely weekend getaway

4.0 on September 03, 2011

My boyfriend and I live in DC and had wanted to visit Harpers Ferry for quite some time. We saw the pictures of Laurel Lodge on BedandBreakfast.com, were swayed by the look of the house, the view from the back porch, and all the other reviews about the fantastic breakfasts. Let me say, NOTHING disappointed. Chris and Ed were personable and accommodating. We rented a car and drove to Harpers Ferry after work, arriving a little late around 7:30. Despite their website's request to arrive before 7, we had let them know this late arrival was a possibility, and Chris did not seem at all put out. The rooms were comfortable, very clean, and the bathrooms all seem to have been recently updated. The view from the porch was phenomenal (other local B&B's don't seem to have the view of the Potomac like Laurel Lodge does - and I woke up early every morning JUST to sip coffee on the porch while reading the newspaper and watching the sun rise over the mountains). Breakfast was as good or better than many of the brunches we've had in DC (Chris & Ed thankfully focus on locally grown items, having great coffee, and providing three courses). Laurel Lodge also keeps homemade sweet treats out near the service station all day long (along with teas, hot chocolate, coffees, etc.) Chris & Ed made themselves available to guests while not being imposing. We will DEFINITELY be back...


Delightful getaway

5 on August 30, 2011

Nice to revisit Harper's Ferry at this wonderful place ~ room was large and so comfortable - played scrabble in the great room and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast before leaving. I would recommend highly and can't wait to go back!


Laurel Lodge

5 on August 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here at the Laurel Lodge. Chris was quite accommodating and the lightening show at night from the porch was spectacular.


Fastidious

5 on August 21, 2011

We were only able to stay one night here, but would have liked to have lingered longer. If we get back to the area, it will definitely be our first choice.


Wish we could have stayed longer...

5 on August 19, 2011

Laurel Lodge is West Virginia's best-kept secret. The house has so much character, about which Chris is very knowledgeable. Our room was immaculately clean and the view from the back porch is breathtaking. But the best part of the stay was Chris' imaginatively delicious gourmet breakfasts. We felt very comfortable and welcome and can't wait to return!


Fabulous stay at Laurel Lodge

5 on August 19, 2011

Lovely accomodations with a great view. Breakfast was amazing! Ed was very helpful in suggesting places to eat for dinner, and Chris gave a wonderful history of the house and area. Hope to visit again!


Definitely a good choice

4.0 on August 17, 2011

The house is about 100 years old, with all the advantages of a period house and none of the drawbacks as everything is in perfect order. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, with an unforgettable view over the Potomac valley below, as well as Maryland Heights above. Sitting in the porch on a rocking chair is itself worth the trip. The breakfasts are cooked to perfection and feature local ingredients, and Chris will explain with justified pride where did he get them. Finally, a very well deserved full marks on cleanliness: it is not easy to keep an old house clean, yet Laurel Lodge seems totally dust-proof. Everything is absolutely super-clean. If you want to stay in Harpers Ferry, this is the place for you.


A Beautiful, Quiet Retreat

4.0 on August 16, 2011

We only stayed one night at the Laurel Lodge on our way to Greensboro, NC to visit family, but the warmth, hospitality and beauty of the Laurel Lodge had me wishing we had planned for a longer stay. Aside from the beauty of the surroundings and the spectacular views from the back porch, the Lodge itself is truly as warm and inviting as any B&B we have stayed at. (My husband and I stay at B&Bs almost exclusively when we travel.) I would highly recommend the Laurel Lodge to anyone -- and be sure to plan on a longer stay. Harpers Ferry has a lot to offer, and so does the Laurel Lodge!


A Harpers Ferry find

5 on August 12, 2011

Beautiful building and grounds, friendly hosts and excellent breakfast. We will definitely return!


This is a gem!

4.6 on July 31, 2011

Beautiful setting. Lovely home with gracious innkeepers. We enjoyed our visit very much... the german chocolate cake was to die for!!


Impressive-house, history, hospitality

4.2 on July 28, 2011

We enjoyed a most interesting night at the Laurel Lodge. We appreciated the hospitality especially since we were traveling by bicycle and were caught in a major downpour. We were given good advice for a dinner recommendation. The host washed and dried our drenched clothes. We were told the history of this amazing structure. The view was of nature at its best with the lust green vegetation all around. A delicious breakfast and gourmet coffee helped us back on our way the next morning.


The first of multiple get-aways to Laurel Lodge

4.6 on July 27, 2011

The staff members (Chris, Ed, and Ben) were very polite and helpful. Chris was very knowledgeable on the history of the lodge. The house was unique and quite comfortable. Chris respected our food restrictions and provided us with appropriate breakfast selections that were top quality. We are looking forward to making another get-away to Harpers Ferry and the Laurel Lodge.


The Perfect Place to Experience Harpers Ferry

5 on July 22, 2011

We had a delightful time at Laurel Lodge in Harpers Ferry. Chris is the perfect host, and his attention to detail was amazing from the moment we arrived until we (reluctactly) left. The view is spectacular, as is breakfast each morning. The lodge, which is immaculately kept, is just rustic enough to be relaxed and inviting yet beautifully appointed. We are already making plans to return.


Two nights at Laurel Lodge

4.6 on July 19, 2011

Just spent two nights at Laurel Lodge and it was a very nice stay. I had the twin bed room as I was travelling with a friend. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped for sitting and relaxing. The back porch of the Lodge has a grand view of the Potomac and the Maryland Ridge. I spent both mornings and evenings on the porch looking for the pair of bald eagles that nest on the island below. Breakfast was a treat each morning - some of the best I have ever had. The house itself is very nice with some interesting history and quirky artifacts built into the structure. I highly recommend a stay at Laurel Lodge.


WOW!

5 on July 16, 2011

This place is outstanding! Great house, great location, and the breakfasts are unbelievable! If you are going to Harper's Ferry stay here!


Nice but won't return

3.8 on July 13, 2011

Found that this B&B was very beautiful, clean, and views were awesome. However, it was not very relaxing. Because it is small, you needed to let the innkeeper know what time you would be having breakfast. Breakfasts were awesome but I would have preferred a more flexible option, such as having muffins and coffee available anytime if you didn't feel like a full-course breakfast. Also, because the place was so well kept it seemed like the atmosphere was a little too much like staying at a museum vs. a relaxing laid back environment. Also, not much to do in Harpers Ferry in the evenings; needed to drive several miles to find a restaurant open during the weekdays. In general, if you want the ultimate B&B experience, come to Laurel Lodge. If you just want to relax and come and go as you please, go to nice hotel.


LOVELY GETAWAY

4.8 on July 04, 2011

The room was spotless and as comfortable as could be. The breakfast was superb, almost too much to eat. The host was wonderful and gave us a tour of his very special B&B.


Fabulous First-time Stay!

5 on July 03, 2011

We had the most amazing stay at Laurel Lodge! This was our first time traveling to Harper's Ferry from Baltimore and we couldn't have asked for more; the view is breathtaking, the hosts are beyond friendly, the breakfast was to die for, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. We will always come back to Laurel Lodge I can't see it getting any better than this!


A little bit of heaven

4.6 on June 27, 2011

Our wonderful daughter Katie who is internet savvy found us this beautiful lodge from whose balcony we were almost tree top and overlooking the Potomac and hearing the Shenandoah with bald eagles soaring (binoculars seated on the porch). We walked part of the Appalachian Trail and admired John Brown and his mens heroism in this lovely little town of Harpers Ferry (unique shops for the shoppers).Wide-eyed we viewed the famous railroad and still on it rides into the future -what history! Chris and Ed thank you for your warm welcome and attention to any need we had the snacks in the afternoon, the white bathrobes, central air, genuine lodge decor. The gourmet breakfasts and the balcony made it five star ,to sit on the balcony and hear the songbirds and the rushing of the rivers made it a little bit of heaven. Thank you so much. Mary and Dennis Kennedy, Massachusetts


Absolute perfection

4.8 on June 12, 2011

Not enough superlatives to describe our stay at Laurel Lodge-- Beautiful accomodations and views, amazing food, knowledgeable and gracious hosts, attention to every detail-- Fascinating and unique history to this home-- Truly outstanding-- Would recommend highly to anyone looking for a quiet getaway that is both unique and lovely--


Highly Recommend

4.6 on June 09, 2011

The cedar view room was fantastic and breakfast was exceptional.


More than we'd hoped for

4.8 on May 29, 2011

We stayed at Laurel Lodge in the Spring, and had a wonderful time. We'd read reviews that said the best meal in Harper's Ferry was the breakfast at Laurel Lodge, and they didn't disappoint. The breakfasts are simply amazing and not something you'd ever expect from a bed and breakfast. The morning after we got there, Chris led us on a tour of the home. Dating back around 100 years the home is filled with oddities and interesting tidbits, and they're all lovingly pointed out by the host. We love that they include herbs from the garden in the meals, and that they are so giving of time and attention to tell you anything you'd want to know about Harper's Ferry. We absolutely would go there again!


Wonderful getaway in Harper's Ferry

5 on May 24, 2011

Fascinating house with very interesting history. Wonderful, welcoming hosts. Gorgeous scenery. What more could you ask for.


Another delightful stay

5 on May 23, 2011

Second time staying at Laurel Lodge. Very restful and quiet, but also fun because of our fellow guests and, of course, Chris and Ed. Chris gave us a tour of the house and explained its history, which is fascinating. Also enjoyed seeing the beautiful flowers in the shade garden. After a delicious breakfast, we took a walk down the street in the early morning before the fog lifted, and because we were so high up, we got some amazing photos of the river valley and the hills beyond. Will definitely be back!!


simple, elegant ambience with fabulous service

4.6 on May 22, 2011

I took my husband to Laurel Lodge to celebrate his 50th birthday. We were so pleased with everything. Our room (Cedar View) looked out to river, which we enjoyed listening to as we drifted off to sleep. The bed was comfortable, the innkeepers were courteous, helpful with recommendations for what to do and where to eat and were always available if we needed them, but they never hovered, and the breakfasts were hearty and delicious. The house has an interesting history. Be sure to read Ed's article about it in one of the magazines in the living room and ask him for a little tour one morning after breakfast. We loved our stay at Laurel Lodge and hope to return before too long!


Single night stay

4.0 on May 22, 2011

Such a beautiful house with a lovely view. Those who like interesting architecture and interiors will love this house. There is attention to detail In every room and the wrap around porch has stunning view of the Potomac river and Maryland bluffs. The hosts were charming and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended for a stay in the Harpers Ferry area.


5 star all around

5 on May 18, 2011

Our visit to Laurel Lodge was exceptional! We were amazed at the attention to detail given by our hosts. They thought of everything! This made for a wonderful, comfortable stay with a feeling of luxury. I have never had breakfast food that could compare! If in the area again and I couldn't stay there, I just wouldn't go.


Best breakfast in town

4.8 on May 11, 2011

Great place to stay for a wonderful atmosphere and great breakfast.


Laurel Lodge Great For All Seasons

5 on April 24, 2011

Our first getaway in a long time proved to be a most delightful several days. Visiting Harpers Ferry and near by historic sites is always interesting but returning to our "home" at Laurel Lodge was the best experience of all. The breakfasts were a celebration of morning!


laurel lodge is a find!

4.8 on April 21, 2011

Laurel Lodge was a great B and B. Wonderful 2 course breakfast, with special consideration for dietary needs. Goodies every afternoon, and very clean rooms. Living room and dining room are available for guest use. The view from the back porch is not to be missed. We recommend Laurel Lodge highly.


great views (+ eagles!); awesome breakfasts

4.4 on March 29, 2011

My son and I stayed for two nights during a cold snap in late March. The 3 course breakfasts were terrific; the view was beyond lovely and we saw bald eagles flying around over the canyon. Our room was spacious; the host was friendly (as were the other guests). The house is a curio all by itself, and there's all the touring just down the hill in the historic area. Highly recommended.


Beautiful retreat

4.8 on March 27, 2011

The elegant simplicity of the furnishings makes the architecture of the house and the views shine. It is on a dead end street, within walking distance of many attractions. The hosts were kind and helpful. The house itself is worth a visit. The breakfasts were absolutely outstanding. I highly recommend this place for a visit or a retreat.


Relaxation and hospitality

5 on March 21, 2011

Laurel Lodge was a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. Chris created marvelous breakfasts with local ingrediants. He was knowledgeable about the area -- suggested restaurants and gave good directions. Sitting in the living room reading in the evening provided quiet time after a busy day. The view from the porch is spectacular. The history of the house was also very interesting, and added to the atmosphere. I imagine autumn would be a great time to visit with the views of the mountains and the river.


absolutely perfect!

5 on March 16, 2011

amazing bed and breakfast! Couldn't have asked for better :)


Laurel Lodge: do not miss the opportunity to stay here!

5 on March 08, 2011

Beautiful arts and crafts home, exceptionally clean, with a view of the Potomac River and the park beyond. Delicious breakfasts. Hosts are welcoming and helpful with restaurant and touring suggestions. Be sure to get a tour of the home.


Cedar View Room has killer view!

5 on February 24, 2011

Great restoration of really neat early 1900s house. Beautifully re-done with great furniture. Complete attention to detail in every aspect of the house, breakfast and service. Cedar view room overlooks the Potomac from high on the ridge. Enjoy the eagles down below. And, very pleasant innkeepers and really great breakfast. Its a gourmet treat, elegantly presented. Excellent stay - highly recommend!


First class B&B in Harper's Ferry

5 on February 23, 2011

This B&B has it all. The facilities are so well-kept that we felt like we were the first to stay there. Chris & Ed have done a fantastic job renovating this beautiful stone house from the early 1900s. The breakfasts were exceptional--it was a great treat to have fresh fruit in February, and the food was expertly prepared. It's obvious that the innkeepers genuinely love what they do. We loved our stay so much that we extended for a day, and we hope to return again in the future.


Laurel Lodge is the best B&B in Harper's Ferry!

4.8 on January 11, 2011

I would highly recommend Laurel Lodge if you are going to stay in Harper's Ferry, especially if you are into history! This house has as much history as the town it is in.


pre-New Year's eve

5 on January 05, 2011

Chris and Ed's welcome was warm; the location was superb; the breakfasts were sumptuous and creative; and the baked goodies that appeared in the afternoons spoiled us completely. We intend to spread the word to friends near and far. Bob and Jean Charlottesville, VA


what's not to like?

4.8 on December 03, 2010

The historic home has been beautifully restored, Chris and Ed are engaging and knowledgeable innkeepers, breakfasts are to die for (no need for lunch) and Harpers Ferry is well worth visiting.


Wonderful experience and a great deal

4.8 on November 30, 2010

The stay was fantastic - the beds were comfortable and the food was delicious! Sitting by the fire at night was completely delightful and being able to spend time on the wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac was absolutely amazing. I definitely plan on returning and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Harpers Ferry!


Weaver's fantastic stay

5 on November 17, 2010

Chris was an exceptional host, gave us info on the sights to see, retaurants, etc. The inn was beautiful, all the hardwood floors were immaculate. You could not have found a better breakfast anywhere. If you are anywhere near this area, you must stay here. If not from the area, make a special trip. It is so worth it. The Weavers


Lovely Laurel Lodge

4.4 on November 08, 2010

Chris, the co-owner was very helpful and pleased to show off the features of this unique home. The breakfast was extraordinary and made with emphasis on locally-grown/raised products. Laurel Lodge is a true one-off, a very spacious home built in the Craftsman tradition but influenced by the very personal tastes of its builder (I believe that it was completed around 1913-14), including Civil War and other relics that are incorporated into exterior walls. The view are also terrific and certainly Harper's Ferry is as scenic as it is historic, and close by to other important sites, such as the Antietam battlefield. Suffice to say that we very much enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone with an interest in the area


Lovely hilltop B&B

5 on November 02, 2010

We stayed at the Laurel Lodge during our bike trip on the C&O trail in October 2010. Chris picked us up in his truck at the bottom of the very steep hill and helped us store the bikes overnight. The house and our room were so clean that they shined. The house has a wonderful history, a stunning view from the back porch, a short (but steep) walk to the historical section of Harpers Ferry and a lovely sitting room. Breakfast of pumpkin waffles, bacon and fresh fruit was wonderful - and we got to pick the time. I would love to go back some time and really relax there.


Wonderful Place!

5 on October 28, 2010

Fantastic B&B. Chris, one of the owners, greeted me when I arrived and cooked a wonderful breakfast in the morning (waffles & bacon from a local farm). It's quiet, well-appointed and a great walk to historic Harpers Ferry. A wonderful place.


Loved the view and rooms

4.2 on October 21, 2010

Laurel Lodge provides an incredibly beautiful view of the Potomac River. The lodge is kept immaculate and has soothing effect on guests. Slept very well! Friendly innkeepers. The food was delicious, but best for the adventurous palate and not for persons wanting simple, traditional fare.


The view! Amazing breakfast!

5 on October 19, 2010

Great little town with beautiful mountain and river views, history, very walkable. Comfy rooms well furnished, amazing breakfast, great little artifacts literally embedded in the walls.


Wonderful Weekend: S&G

4.8 on September 26, 2010

In many instances pictures don't give the true appearance of a place. This is definitely not the case for Laurel Lodge. It is warm and welcoming, has such character you need to spend time wondering around. The hosts are wonderful. They make you feel at home and are available to help make your stay enjoyable. The highlight of highlights is the gormet breakfast that will keep you fortified for much of the day. Gormet cooking isn't always that tasty, but this is not the case for the spread Chris & Ed put on. The personal touch is Chris' explanation of what you'll be getting and how they incorporate local items. Worth a stay if you're in the Harpers Ferry, WV area.


A truly outstanding B&B

4.6 on September 25, 2010

Chris and Ed have created a truly unique B&B. Located within walking distance of the Harper's Ferry National Park, Laurel Lodge has its own interesting and eccentric history, which we learned as Chris provided a detailed and interest tour of the grounds. Indeed, the personal touches are what make the Laurel Lodge truly special. Chris and Ed are both chefs, and every breakfast is a delicious 3-course home-cooked meal. The house overlooks a plush tree-filled mountain with a railroad track across the bottom. The occasional train whistle in the distance only adds to the ambience. This is one of the best B&Bs at which we've stayed, and we highly recommend it.


Great Stay

5 on September 24, 2010

My wife and I just visited for a brief honeymoon and loved it. The setting was positively serene, a mountain overlook with views of the Potomac River and Maryland's Blue Ridge mountains. It was all quiet except the flowing river, rustling trees, and occasional rhythmic click-clack of trains moving through the valley below. The house itself is a cozy arts-and-crafts treasure, carefully restored and meticulously kept by Chris and Ed. We were pleasantly surprised by the discovery of countless eccentric touches in the construction and the house's unique connections to town history. Definitely accept the offer of a house tour during your stay. Oh - and the food. We were treated to three hearty and delicious three-course gourmet breakfasts made with farm-fresh local ingredients. All were served in the great room in front of large windows that looked out over the mountain view. Can't think of a better way to start the day. All told, Chris and Ed are wonderfully gracious hosts with a real gem of a spot. We'll be back.


A Beautiful, Historic Place to Stay

4.6 on September 10, 2010

A beautiful, historic place to stay. Chris is a very knowledgeable and helpful innkeeper. Will recommend it to all friends. Thumbs up. Mutlu


A masterpiece

4.0 on August 16, 2010

I stayed in Laurel Lodge for two nights with my son. The location is incredible, overlooking the river on a quiet street, close to the National Park and "downtown." The house is amazing -- meticulously restored -- gorgeous architecture and furnityre -- every comfort you could need. Chris and Ed made us breakfast on both mornings that knocked our socks off! French toast souffle with a warm praline crust! Need I say more! My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Our stay could not have been better.


My Stay

5 on July 05, 2010

This was a great B & B, which I would gladly stay at again. My husband and I went there following my son's wedding, and were received very warmly by Chris. Chris prepared a fantastic and innovative breakfast. He was so cordial to us. The B & B is filled with history and is really so interesting to learn about. The room was clean and wonderful. We had a beautiful view. You could tell the owners took great pride in the place. We'd definately stay there again.


Beautiful, calm, welcoming, and romantic

5 on March 08, 2010

Laurel Lodge is amazing on all counts. A beautiful Arts & Crafts home, simply decorated in a way that takes your breath away. The hosts, Chris and Ed, are welcoming and give great advice, tailored to your particular interests (thanks to their restaurant advice, we enjoyed great dining!). The guest rooms are clean and roomy (and beautiful!), and the living and dining rooms are perfect for an evening's reading or chatting. Within short walking distance of the historic downtown and the Appalachian Trail. We stayed in the Cedar View Room, with its eyeful of river and hillside scenery through the windows. Breakfasts were great! We would make a special trip to Harper's Ferry, just to stay here again.


Absolutely Charmed

4.8 on February 16, 2010

I normally don't write reviews for anything, really, but Laurel Lodge impressed me so much that I felt compelled to spread the goodness. just My boyfriend and I recently visited Laurel Lodge for Valentine's Day and it was a perfect setting for a short but sweet getaway. The lodge itself is beautiful and cozy, clean and modern while still retaining much of what I can imagine was its original character. Chris is a friendly and knowledgeable host that provides a lively and interesting narrative for the house, while Ed cooks absolutely delicious breakfasts. Definitely stay here if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing time!


Wonderful and Special Escape

5 on January 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Laurel Lodge for much needed, overdue getaway. Great place for escaping to a slower, more quiet pace. It is walking distance to downtown Harper's Ferry, yet ideally placed with a fantastic view of the surrounding landscape. The home was painstakingly restored, is tastefully decorated (historically fitting), very warm and inviting and is pink/doily free. We enjoyed decompressing in the living room or out on the back porch where there is a great view of the valley and river below. The breakfasts were large and incredible - all food fresh and from local farmers! Our hosts were happy to suggest restaurants, hikes and sites, and equally happy to give us a tour of the historically unique home that has a long and colorful history as part of the Harpers Ferry community. All and all, we whole-heartedly loved our stay at Laurel Lodge and recommend it without reservation. We almost want to keep it as a secret for ourselves!!! We will certainly return and continue to recommend it to our friends.


Incredible!

5 on August 06, 2009

I sincerely hope that this place never changes. My boyfriend and I spent one night at Laurel Lodge and it was unforgettable. Clean, cozy (yet spacious!) and very welcoming. Chris, the owner, was very gracious and accomodating. The room was clean and very comfortable, and the views from the inn and its porch were AMAZING. So close to town and restaurants, they have plenty of information on the surrounding area as well. Breakfast was delicious - and Chris and Ed met my somewhat odd dietary needs with no problem. I felt completely relaxed here, and will definitely come again!


Calm and Beauty at The Laurel Lodge

4.6 on July 01, 2009

There is almost too much good to say about our lodging experience at The Laurel Lodge. This is a charming home run by innkeepers who care about the house and the lodgers. Harpers Ferry is a bustling place, but The Laurel Lodge is a calming respite while still being within walking distance of the historic lower town. The only "noises" is the wonderful sound of the Potomac River rapids below and the welcoming sound of an occasional freight train. It is also maybe the cleanest inn at which we have ever stayed. After our first visit in late June of 2009, we immediately booked another visit in October. Barry Gebler


beautifully Restored Lodge

5 on June 08, 2009

We stayed 2 nights after biking the C&O Canal. The home is warm and inviting and Chris was very helpful. We loved the view, the food and the ambience! Very relaxing stay and Harpers Ferry is a great spot to visit.


Very impressive

4.8 on February 25, 2009

We celebrated my 30th birthday here. The innkeeper, Chris, was the most gracious host and amazing chef. The rooms are very comfortable, linens were high count, bathrooms very modern and clean, and the view was beautiful. We looked forward to breakfast each morning. The ingredients were usually local and organic, and the coffee was perfect. Ask for a tour of the house.


Wonderful Winter Getaway

4.8 on December 14, 2008

Absolutely wonderful! Beautiful home, gracious hosts, delicious breakfast. My husband and I visited the Laurel Lodge and have nothing but great things to say about our stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by Chris and welcomed to Laurel Lodge. Our room was beautifully decorated as was the entire home. The bed in our room was a dream to sleep in. Yummy pillows and linens. To wake in the morning to such a beautiful view and wonderful breakfast was such a treat. My only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer!!! Laurel Lodge A+++++! You won't be disappointed.


Magical

5 on November 11, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend at the Laurel Lodge last April and we are still talking about it and recommending it to everyone we know. The innkeepers are wonderful, the food was fabulous and the views were unforgettable. We can't wait to go back!


Perfection

5 on August 26, 2008

My daughter and I just spent our annual mother/daughter weekend at the Laurel Lodge, and what a treat it was. I happened upon this establishment when searching for an Inn that offers a room with twin beds. Our room was huge and comfortable. The view from the deck is as beautiful as it is on their website, and we spotted an eagle soaring above the river. Chris and Ed are wonderful hosts, and fabulous cooks. The french toast casserole is unbelievably yummy. This is an historic home and the house tour that Chris gives is really interesting. The location is great. You can easily walk into town. I highly recommend Laurel Lodge.


Best Bed and Breakfast Around!

5 on July 29, 2008

I just spent my one year anniversary with my husband at Laurel Lodge and could not have been more pleased. The service was excellent, the breakfast was to die for, and the rooms were wonderful. We felt right at home the whole weekend and can't wait to go back. Harper's Ferry is a fabulous little town with lots to do. I highly recommend it!


A Delightful Experience!

5 on July 21, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my two nights at Laurel Lodge. Beautiful house with an amazing view, immaculately clean, congenial hosts, and food to die for! My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer.


More than just a beautiful view

4.0 on July 10, 2008

The great location and view are givens; after that it is the hosting that makes the difference. We stayed for four days ,so we became acquainted with Chris and Ed. They made us feel very comfortable and welcome. Great Things: gourmet breakfast served with view of mountains and Potomac River; coffee and food from local natural farms and sources; peaceful setting; history of house as part of Harpers Ferry history; comfy room decorated very charmingly but not overdone. We will return on our next visit to the area.


A Must!

5 on May 27, 2008

I can't say enough great things about Laurel Lodge. It's a fantastic place. The view, innkeepers, breakfast, location...they're all fantastic!


Romantic and Historical Mountain Retreat!

4.8 on December 13, 2007

Beautifull decorated and immaculately kept rooms make this historical house with gorgeous views a gem! Warm and friendly hosts with tons of knowledge about what to see and do, as well as where to eat, add to the experience. The breakfasts are delicious and hearty!


Authentic!

4.0 on November 13, 2007

Great views, friendly innkeeper…this place is fantastic!


Aussie invasion

5 on October 19, 2007

Stayed two nights for the best accommodation value and service we experienced in America.


An excellent place to stay

4.8 on October 08, 2007

The Laurel Lodge is excellent! The building is a lovely Craftsman lodge, with beautiful period perfect decor and quirky but fun architecture. The Lodge also has amazing views from the deck--we just missed the fall leaf season, but I imagine that the views will be spectacular when the colors start turning. The Maple View that we stayed in was very spacious, pleasantly decorated, and scrupulously clean. The details (linens, furniture, etc) were top notch. The breakfasts were memorable -- among the best meals I've eaten this year. There's nothing like a gourmet three-course breakfast to start the day off right. Our hosts Chris and Ed were always gracious and were wonderful in helping out with maps, directions, and suggestions. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.


A must stop if staying in Harpers Ferry

4.6 on September 11, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was clean and spacious and the view was fantastic. We only spent two days, but it felt like a week it was so restful. Ed and Chris are great hosts and did everything they could to make us feel welcome, it was almost like staying with family. The lodge is located on a quiet deadend street so traffic is not an issue. Prepare to be spoiled for breakfast, we were not disappointed either morning and they set a table that makes you want to linger. We wish them great success with the B and B and look forward to returning. JT from New Jersey


Laurel Lodge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3045352886

Visit Website »

View details

Top