Dian-Lee House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
61 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful B&B

5 on June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dian-Lee House while on our way home from a family wedding in Pennsylvania. Preston was a most gracious and helpful host to us! The furnishings and history of the B&B were beautiful and very interesting! We stayed in the Martha Washington room and had a private entrance via the big, beautiful deck adjacent to the home. The breakfast Preston served with the special honey pancakes with bacon and sausage was delicious, along with the fruit cup, orange juice, and coffee! We would like to commend Preston on his warm welcome and wonderful job he did in making us feel at home!


Had a wonderful time

4.8 on May 23, 2013

Wife and I had a very relaxing stay . Preston , thank's for making us feel at home . Your breakfast was outstanding . We will be back soon . Thanks again .


Home Away from Home

5 on October 06, 2012

I have been staying at the Dian-Lee House at least once a month for the last year and a half for work. It has become my home away from home. The staff is outstanding and very accommodating to every one of my needs. They greet me with a hug and excited smiles. The Dian-Lee House is exquisite and ornate, while the rooms are also livable and comfortable. The baths in the rooms are beautiful and luxurious. I can always relax when I am here. The breakfast is AMAZING. It is always cooked with love and attention to details. The breakfast comes with different courses, complete with fresh fruit and the main dish. Coffee, tea, and orange juice are always available. Being able to visit this location as often as I have is an amazing treat for me. I love it here and would recommend it to everyone and anyone.


outstanding in everyway!

5 on August 27, 2012

Just spent two nights (20th & 21st August, 2012) Couldn't have asked for more! Preston goes all out to make sure guests are comfortable. Gives a wonderful tour and history of the house. Enjoyable breakfast, beautiful gardens, very tranquil and relaxing! Wonderful place to break a journey.


very relaxing and very friendly staff

5 on August 07, 2012

I stayed from fri -sun and it was so nice, very beautiful and well kept up I enjoyed my stay and will be back!!!!


Beautiful house!!

5 on July 08, 2012

This house was beautiful and the food was amazing. Homemade waffles and homemade pancakes along with sausage, eggs, fruit, and the list goes on. Preston took wonderful care of my family and made sure we had an amazing stay. He was also very knowledgable about the history of the house. The rooms were beautiful and very well kept. We were staying there during the horrible storm that caused thousands of power outages and somehow we kept our power (and air conditioning!), must be a lucky house! I couldn't think of a single thing wrong with this house if I tried!!


Loved this B&B

5 on July 07, 2012

This was my first time at a bed & breakfast, and it was more than amazing! We came up from Florida for a wedding in Bluefield, and stayed at the Dian-Lee House. The wedding rehersal dinner was held here also and the staff was more than accomidating. Preston and his wife were amazing and provided excellent service. Some of the breakfast items included homemade waffles and pancakes and they were AMAZING! Beatifully decorated and friendly people is what made my stay at the Dian-Lee house memorable!


a step back in time

5 on February 23, 2012

This has to be one of the greatest places to step back in time....The house is like something transportedfromanother era in time. It is such a relaxing place that you hate to leave when your stay is over. We stayed for three nights and sleep in the abe room. we woke refreshed and relaxed. the host was preston, he made sure we kepted fresh coffe and cooked us the greatest breakfast eah day it was grand... He is such a carring and sweet person, he takes the time to make you feel at home. i cant wait for our next trip it will definatly include a stay at this charming place called dianlee...thanks preston for all you did for us. you made the stay wonderfull. hope to see you again in the summer.Julie & Brian


we enjoyed every moment

5 on February 06, 2012

It was one of the most relaxing time we spend there. Preston was a great host and cook. He gaves us a tour of the house. Each room was decorated differently . The paintings , furnitures, chandeliers were antique and unique. The place was quiet , clean and we enjoyed every moments. hope to come back again.


Worth the trip!!

5 on January 31, 2012

We stayed at the Diane Lee House on 9/21 on our way home to Buffalo, NY from visiting the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC. I was so pleased by the beautiful, lovingly restored home with period furnishings. We took pictures in every room. The service was exceptional. We were greated by hour host who provided decidant choices for breakfast made himself and played the paino. We loved relaxing with tea on the front porch which was so serene. We reviwed the photo album of the renovation and were very impressed as we have recently renovated our 1854 Victorian ourselves and understand the effort required. Thank you Diane Lee, we will be backa again!


Exceeds expectations

4.6 on January 23, 2012

this 1904 historical home B&B offers comfort, elegance & privacy. The owner has created the ambience of bygone days with lovely antiques, , an excellent breakfast & concern for the comfort of guests. After a tour, he settled us in, made himself available for any assistance, but did not hover over us, allowing us complete freedom. Our room was gorgeous, immaculate & had a gas log fireplace, which we thoroughly enjoyed on a winter evening.


A dream come true

5 on October 02, 2011

From the moment Daniel greeted us to after our first night and a breakfast created with a dose of TLC, we knew this was a very special place. The detail of the individualized rooms was exquisite!


Couldn't have loved it more

5 on September 30, 2011

What a wonderful house. The Host, Daniel, was very attentive with every attention to detail (and we must say VERY TALENTED, too). The home is clean, bed comfortable, breakfast delicious and the neighborhood was just that...a neighborhood. Thank you for restoring this lovely home, and allowing us all to enjoy it.


Best B&B experience

5 on August 06, 2011

We stayed at the Dian-Lee House on May 11, 2011 on our trip home from The Great Smokey Mnts. Daniel was away, and Preston took great care of us! The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We enjoyed relaxing on the large peaceful porch on a warm afternoon. Preston offered us lemonade, and when he made a trip into town asked we needed anything. And he was the breakfast chef: wow! The beauty of the house with its antiques, spacious rooms and common areas, and the gardens made this the best B&B experience ever. (And that includes many stays in Vermont, Maine, and Nova Scotia). Rick and Rosemary, Massachusetts


A Charming Retreat

5 on June 02, 2011

What a refreshing get-a-way! Wine on the gorgeous porch in the evening with Daniel's piano music coming through the front door. Strolling through the gardens in the morning with a mug of coffee. It was like living in a story book. We left feeling refreshed and renewed! This is a must for anyone!


Great experience -- we strongly recommend!

5 on May 31, 2011

Daniel did an outstanding job at making us feel welcome and at home.


First Stay at a B & B

5 on November 12, 2010

Dian-Lee met all our expectations and then more. It was a perfect place to stay for our first time. Daniel was an excellent host. Breakfast was delicious. Dian-Lee is a beautiful house. Would recommend and would stay again.


EXCEPTIONAL IN EVERY WAY!

5 on September 09, 2010

My husband and I both agreed that the Dian-Lee House is the nicest B&B we've every stayed at. The house, rooms & gardens are all beautiful. Daniel is a very gracious host. The breakfast was excellent, as well. Would definitely stay there again! 9/2/2010


Best kept secret in Bluefield, WV

4.6 on July 13, 2010

My family stayed 7 days at the Dian-Lee House over the July 4th weekend. We were very impressed with the Innkeeper's knowledge of the house and history of the restoration. His true love for the "House" showed through in his care of the grounds as well as the guests. Daniel made us feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious every day; and after returning home I asked him to email me the recipe for the Blueberry French Toast - it was truely that tasty...and he did! The Dian-Lee House is certainly the best kept secret in Bluefield, WV.


Great Stay

4.8 on April 20, 2010

Due to a change in plans, we tried to call to let Daniel know we'd be arriving a day early. He was out and didn't get our message. However, when we arrived, he was just getting in himself. He greeted us and said our early arrival would be no problem. The home was extremely nice and our stay was comfortable. We enjoyed a couple evenings on the front porch kicking back and reading the paper. Breakfasts were memorable, especially the blueberry waffles. Should have just asked for juice, toast and a little sausage and I wouldn't feel so guilty. Location is great on a quiet street, but convienient to restaurants and shopping.


Wonderful find along Rt 77!

4.0 on March 09, 2010

Dian Lee is a beautiful, comfortable period home with an exceptional manager. Host Daniel is a rare find - host, chef, and pianist. I traveled with my small dog and was delighted to find a room with a private entrance. With both dinner and breakfast included, (a winter special) the value was excellent.


WOW

4.6 on January 11, 2010

Loved the Dian Lee House. We stayed January 8 & 9. Beautiful house. Daniel was wonderful and took such good care of us. You must try the breakfast lasagna, heavenly! It snowed the entire time we were there and the snow added to the beauty of the house and grounds. I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Bluefield area. This was a girls weekend trip but I want to come back with my husband. I will definately be back! Thanks Daniel.


Amazing Weekend!!!

4.8 on December 25, 2009

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. I was a bit apprehensive. The moment I walked in I knew I had made the right choice! The place is absolutely beautiful! Our stay here was more than I could have imagined! Having a fireplace in our room added such charm! We needed a weekend away for rest and relaxation. It was like going back into time. We had such a peaceful weekend, and it snowed!! I had secretly hoped for snow during our holiday stay and we got plenty. :) Daniel...your wonderful!!! We had lost our car keys in the snow and everyone pitched in to help us look for them in the cold weather. Loved hearing you serenade us on the piano Daniel! So romantic.!! Your playing is beautiful, as were the pieces of music! Such a wonderful Christmas Holiday...I cant say enough about this place. We will be back! I'd love to make it an annual get away! I could go on and on! I wont hesitate to book again when I am feeling a need to get away! You all are wonderful! Merry Christmas to all of you at Dian-Lee house!! Thanks for the beautiful memories!!


What a Wonerful Find

5 on December 08, 2009

We stayed for two nights in November. Daniel is a great innkeeper and the food (breakfast and dinner) was so good. If anyone goes you must try their breakfast lasagne and wrap; they are the best, but the waffles were good too! The house could not have been any more well kept. All in all this was a wonderful find. I would recommend to anyone.


What a Jewel!

4.8 on November 24, 2009

The Dian-lee House surpassed our expectations! Meeting the innkeeper Daniel was an added bonus! What a thoughtful and very talented guy - great cook and even played the piano while we ate dinner. Can't wait to go back there.


Impressed

4.0 on October 21, 2009

I was so impressed with the inn and management. It was a beautiful old home complete with antiques of the period, but made for a comfortable stay.


Nostalgic girls' weekend

5 on October 20, 2009

My mother, two sisters and I took our mother to Bluefield where she was from. The Dian-Lee House was wonderfully relaxing yet elegant. We stayed in the upstairs suite which was cozy and private. Daniel is an excellent innkeeper & attended to our every need.


Spoiled Rotten!

5 on October 13, 2009

The Host and Chef of the Dian-Lee absolutely spoiled us rotten! From the moment of our arrival, they did absolutely everything they could to make our stay wonderful. We have a 6 year old and 8 year old daughter who thought for certain we were staying in a castle. The Chef went out of his way to make the children comfortable, and the girls felt very "grown up" with all of the adult attention. We stayed in the Hylton Suite for 2 nights and had a lovely experience. The Suite was enormous, and all four of us had plenty of room to spread out. I was able to sit on the deck with my wireless laptop, while one daughter played in the "master" room with the dollhouse, while my other daughter read in one of the bay window nooks and my husband watched football in the sitting area. The meals were scrumptious and the Host was gracious. We didn't want to leave!


Very Good

4.0 on October 09, 2009

We stay as a family 16 people The service was great and Daniel did a great job. The house was clean and the service great.


Field of Dreams in Bluefield

5 on September 25, 2009

A great old house now an inn in a small town with a rookie level baseball club. Fantastic motorcycling opportunities.


Business Trip 2009

5 on September 22, 2009

I recently stayed at the Dian-Lee house in Bluefield, WV. This was my first time at a bed & breakfast and I was only staying here because it was close to the trade show I was attending. I have to be completely honest; my stay was an A+++ rating. I don’t have anything negative to say about this place. If I truly wrote about all the things that I enjoyed about this place, my review would be 5 pages long!!!My room was very spacious and decorated wonderfully and the bed was excellent! I even had my own entrance and deck area with a surrounding of beautiful flowers!! I felt welcome the minute I check in and left feeling like a valued customer. The morning breakfast was wonderful and offers all the special touches of a high end establishment. The best features of this place are Daniel and Preston. They are truly two of the most wonderful people I have ever met. They were very concern about my stay and were willing to do whatever it took to make me feel like I was at home. Daniel even offered me some of his sinus personal medicine when he found out I was suffering from a terrible sinus headache. I mean really, he could have told me where the nearest store was so I could go buy my own but that’s just not Daniel! Preston and I spoke about the history of the house and all the wonderful flowers that surrounded the place. I was even allowed to take some seeds home to plant the flowers around my home. To add the cherry on my perfect stay was the price! It was cheaper to stay here than in the dumpy plane chain hotels nearby. I am a customer for life and have told everyone I know about this special place that hides in Bluefield, West Virginia!!


Great Stay

5 on September 02, 2009

The Dian-Lee is a great B&B. It is comfortable, friendly, well located, well managed and it serves a very nice breakfast.


Classic Gentility

5 on August 20, 2009

Daniel Clark is the perfect extension of the classic gentility of the Dian-Lee House. I don't know how a 26 year old does it, but Daniel provides guests with personal attention and flexibility without making it seem like a chore. Every morning, guests can pick one of three breakfast entrees to arrive anytime within a two-hour period. Daniel manages this while stopping for a chat about the decor of the house, providing a history of Bluefield, or offering the services of a local therapeutic masseuse. The late-great actor, Spencer Tracy once said, "The secret to acting is remembering your lines and not bumping into the furniture." That's what the best do. They make their assigned task, no matter how difficult, seem easy. Daniel Clark makes it seem easy. My wife, Mina came with me to Bluefield as an act of charity. Since I was a kid, I wanted to see the Bluefield Orioles; the team that was the first professional baseball experience to such greats as Cal Ripken Jr. and Boog Powell, in action. Basically, I was asking her to travel 350 miles, so I could watch a bunch of 19 year old boys play baseball. It was a hard-sell, yet the Dian-Lee House made it easy. Not only did the exquisite furnishings, peaceful neighborhood and gourmet meals make the trip worthwhile for her, a comment about Mina's strained ankle, led to a fortuitous suggestion from Daniel. While I marched off to Pipestem State Park for an afternoon of intense hiking, Daniel arranged for Kathleen, an expert therapeutic masseuse to visit Mina. Kathleen worked her magic, and Mina was relaxed and quite happy upon my return. What have I learned from this? Daniel is able to meet the diverse needs of his guests, even if that diversity exists within the relationship of a married couple. Russ Letra Baltmore, Maryland


Outstanding stay

5 on August 19, 2009

This B&B is a real find. beautifully decorated, spacious, excellent meal, very clean. Very friendly & gracious management as well. Did I mention how clean and spacious? The is one of the best done B&Bs I've visited in the US or Britain. A gem!


Best stay ever

5 on August 19, 2009

My sisters and i were nervous about staying in a B&B for the first time. We are now true belivers! It felt like we were welcomed guests in their home. We are planning our next trip already!


Outstanding!

5 on August 04, 2009

I was amazed at how beautiful and elegant the house is! The service was excellent -- warm & welcoming. Food delicious!


A Reunion Weekend to Remember

5 on July 21, 2009

Daniel and the staff at the Dian-Lee were VERY focused on the customer! Awesome setting, hospitality, food, and service!! Highly recommend the Dian-Lee! Thanks, Daniel!


My Engagement Weekend

4.8 on June 14, 2009

Well, This was my first bed and breakfast experience and it was a wonderful one. The rooms and the atmosphere throughout the house were marvelous. At $95 a night, it's cheaper than any hotel in town. The price tells me that the owner is clearly passionate about the B&B and not so much worried about the income. When we stayed, they had just put in 2 new paintings from the 18th century, so it's constantly being updated. Of course, it's a 6000 sqft house, so there are a few things that need tidying up. But the manager, Daniel, is a superb host. He makes you feel very welcomed and even grew up next door. I would definitely recommend staying at the Dian-Lee if you are in the area. It is only 10 minutes off 77 and it's a wonderful stopping point on any route up or down 77. Be sure to check out the hiking trails and the coal mine tour nearby. Also, I got engaged that weekend, and my fiance could not have been happier to come back and relax at the Dian-Lee house. We snuggled up on the couch and read that night, she played the piano, and we helped ourselves to champagne glasses to celebrate! We are planning to return in the winter to go skiing at the nearby mountains.


what a gem!

5 on May 27, 2009

Our night in the Martha Washington Room was relaxing and restful. Daniel, the innkeeper, was most helpful and an excellent host!


One of the best!

4.8 on May 20, 2009

What a wonderful B&B! The furnishings were lovely and exceptional. The host was friendly and extraordinarily nice. We will go back next year!


Perfect in every way

5 on May 19, 2009

My husband & I genuinely loved our 1 night stay at the Dian-Lee House. We were very warmly greeted by Daniel who made us feel very welcome & comfortable. Our room was lovely and our breakfast was wonderful. It was a great place to rest and go back in time in such beautiful surroundings! Hope to return soon.


Bluefield, WV hometown

5 on May 13, 2009

We have stayed at the Dian-Lee a number of times going home to visit. Daniel, as a Bluefield "homeboy" made this trip special.


A pleasant change for overnighting

4.2 on April 10, 2009

Charming home and room. Friendly, helpful service.


Excellent B&B experience

4.6 on March 23, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the inn. Daniel made our stay extremely comfortable and cooked 2 excellent and delicious breakfasts. The common rooms and bedrooms are gorgeous and an amazing value. You should definitely consider a stay here if you're in the area!


Delightful!

5 on February 23, 2009

The B&B can be counted on for comfort and excellence in hospitality and expertise. Daniel, the innkeeper, provides a perfect balance to the stay.


Best B&B Ever!

5 on January 15, 2009

Our stay at the Dian-Lee B&B was most enjoyable and relaxing. Our room, the Rhett Butler was clean comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was a culinary delight and very satisfying. Daniel was always helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay tremendously.


Dian-Lee

4.0 on December 10, 2008

nice stay


I'll Stay Longer Next Time

4.6 on December 01, 2008

I immediately felt at home in Dian Lee. And from what I heard from other guests, this seems to be a common experience. There's no staged comfort here. The mansion is filled with an eclectic collection of antiques, giving each room, whether public or private, a character of its own. It's easy to find a place to settle in. And the innkeeper, Daniel, is accommodating and helpful...even delivered homemade peach cobbler one night when he received an unexpected gift of fresh peaches. For those who'd rather have breakfast without conversation with other guests, you have the option of being served in several dining areas, including a table in front of the fireplace or my favorite, a light filled glassed-in porch. I'll be back.


Enchanting B&B

4.6 on November 25, 2008

Gorgeous house, well maintained and very clean. Our host, Daniel, was very friendly and helpful. A pleasure to stay here. Simply one of the nicest B&B's I've ever stayed at!


Delightful getaway

3.6 on November 21, 2008

What an accommodating staff at a step-back-in-time inn! I've stayed at many. This is a returnable favorite. Food was over the top. Daniel was a great host among many hats.


Peaceful and Elegant

4.8 on October 29, 2008

This large, older home is well-maintained, the rooms and public areas are elegant; the beds especially are beautifully made up, comfortable and warm. Daniel, the young, soft-spoken innkeeper is unfailingly gracious and welcoming. The rates are very reasonable. Would definitely stay again.


Great Stay

3.6 on October 03, 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Inn while we were visiting family. The service was great and the house was beautiful!


Always a Terrific Experience

5 on October 02, 2008

This is our second staying here, and both times have been excellent, the attention to detail and great staff are what really make staying at the Dian-Lee House a comfortable and interesting experience, time and again.


Wonderful Experience

5 on September 27, 2008

We've stayed at the Dian-Lee House twice. One in September 2006 and again last week. Both times we've reserved the Rhett Butler room, which is roomy and has a four poster queen bed and a fireplace. The common areas of the Inn are beautifully appointed in period antiques. We love to grab an early morning cup of coffee and read on the expansive front porch.


Outstanding Service

5 on September 02, 2008

While traveling to Bluefield I injured my ankle (severe sprain) and after several hours in the ER I arrived at the Dian Lee House. Daniel was awesome and moved me to a room so I would not have to climb stairs! Made me very comfortable during a bad situation.


Charming W.V. B&B

4.0 on August 05, 2008

Charming 104 year old house with beautiful antiques - a grand piano and upright piano. We stay in the Martha Washinton room which had a private entrance and parking. The top floor room has been redone - sleeps uo to 5 (The Loft Suite). Next time I want to stay there - it has it's own sitting area. Breakfast was awesome.


Beautiful B&B

4.8 on July 01, 2008

The Dian-Lee was excellently renovated to the carm of the turn of the century. Service was impecible and rooms well done.


Nice Nite

5 on July 01, 2008

Top notch accommodations, lovely home, lite and filling breakfast. Hope to return!


great

4.0 on June 11, 2008

great staff!


Bed and Breakfast at Its Best

5 on June 10, 2008

I have stayed here twice and I have never had a bad experience. They go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.


Had a wonderful stay

4.6 on May 31, 2008

I had an occasion to stay at this inn for 2 nights. It was a beautiful house and the rooms are very cozy and very clean. Daniel was very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent both mornings. I would for sure stay there again and highly recommend it!


Dian-Lee House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $90 - $115
  • Reviews (61) 4.8
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3043276370
  • Toll free 1-800CALLWVA
Top