Recent Reviews in West Jefferson, North Carolina

Fishing trip with my daughter at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My daughter and I came up for a weekend fishing trip and really enjoyed our stay there, however it was brief only staying 1 night. We would like to come back and have more time to enjoy the tavern and surroundings - we left too early for fishing to enjoy breakfast. We were hoping that breakfast was available earlier. Linda was there and she was great, and told us a little about the tavern's history. Hope to come back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Night at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

Doc was amazing. Couldn't recommend it more.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing getaway at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

My husband and I stayed here while we were in town for a wedding. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. Quiet, comfortable and amazing breakfast. You can't go wrong staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at its Finest at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 24, 2016

My fiancé and I stayed here in May and our whole experience was incredibly lovely, The inn itself and the grounds are absolutely stunning with a kind of casual grace that makes it feel at the same time just like home and a magical refuge miles from any stress or worries. It's so beautiful that my (now) fiancé decided to propose to me right there on the stepping stones that cross through the lawn. We stayed in Cousin Sarah's room which had the softest linens either of us had ever slept in. The room also featured a giant claw foot rub and a beautiful view of the grounds. The people at the Mast Farm Inn really go above and beyond to make guests feel special and comfortable. We were greeted on our first night with a personalized card in our rooms welcoming us to the inn. In the morning there was a basket outside the door waiting for us with coffee and tea. Everyone at the Inn was so friendly and welcoming. You also can't beat their breakfast. Oh my god they're rediculously yummy. Overall, this place is amazing. We loved it so much we're hoping to get married there next fall. I can't recommend it highly enough.

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely time at Buffalo Tavern Bed and Breakfast at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 16, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Buffalo Tavern in West Jefferson. The host, Doc Adams, met us on the porch and we had chocolate cake and soft drinks. The breakfast was outstanding the next morning. Very homey and comfortable. We loved both porches. We went twice in two months.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Getaway at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 21, 2016

We often come to Ashe County for business purposes and were tired of the cookie cutter motel stays. We had never stayed at a B & B and checked the ones in the area. We settled on the Buffalo Inn, first of all, well, look at it. It's beautiful. When we arrived Doc, the innkeeper was waiting for us. So hospitable and genuinely a nice guy. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. The next morning we enjoyed what I would call a gourmet breakfast prepared by Doc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have stayed at the Buffalo Inn for 2 more visits to West Jefferson. Great place.

View more reviews for this inn


A great escape at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

I have the fondest memories of time spent at Mast Farm Inn as a child and couldn't wait to share this beautiful, historic and quiet respite with my husband. Having not visited the area in well over 25 years, I found the staff to be overwhelmingly accommodating as I planned our trip. Every detail was attended for us - our tailored welcome experience and menus, the cabin where we stayed and our picnic. It was as I remembered and more, and sharing time away from the chaos of life in this charming and quite community was exactly what we needed. Now, just to figure out a way to do it more often....

View more reviews for this inn


Great, relaxing stay! at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on April 12, 2016

The Buffalo Tavern Bed and Breakfast was a great get-a-way for a weekend. Doc was an amazing inn keeper. He was relaxed, kind and I was impressed that he made homemade cookies upon our arrival. The inn is located close enough to town and there are plenty of beautiful winding roads to drive. Some of our favorites; hwy 88, Bill hill road, Green valley. I would recommend this inn anytime to friends. Laura Gibson

View more reviews for this inn


"Just Like Home." at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2016

The Inn was beautiful, well kept, and still historic. The rooms were comfortable and just like home, again still historic. We stayed in the President's Suite but walked through the other rooms. Views were breathtaking. Breakfasts were delicious and comfortable as "Doc" along with other guests sat down and conversed. "Doc" was amazing and makes the Inn what it is which is just like home. He treated us as friends. We will certainly be back soon. Thanks for a great 21st wedding anniversary. We stayed from 3/31/16-4/3/16. Sincerely, Dwight and Angie Weller.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay in West Jefferson NC at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely home, the peace & quiet, and the delicious breakfast. Innkeeper, Doc, made our stay even better.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Escape! at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous, relaxing two-night stay at the Mast Farm Inn! Everything was so clean, comfortable, and welcoming! The service was excellent, and it's clear that the innkeepers put such thought and care into each guest's visit! We awoke each morning to the heavenly aroma of an amazing breakfast cooking! All the personalized notes made our stay seem so special! We will treasure our first visit to the Mast Farm Inn and look forward to our next stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at Doc's place at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on March 26, 2016

This was our second time staying in a bed and breakfast. The room was well-decorated, and we were made to feel very welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll go back at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2016

Big old house overlooking valley and surrounding mountains. Doc Adams is a delightful host with lots of stories. Breakfast was delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Getaway for two at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on March 08, 2016

Our second stay at the Buffalo Tavern and we received a repeat customer discount, woohoo! Doc greeted us on the porch when we arrived and we enjoyed talking with him(he wasn't here during our first stay). We had some enlightening coffee-fueled conversations at breakfast with Doc and the other guests. Of course, we love the romantic atmosphere in the rooms and the character of the old house. Yummy home-made cookies were available during our stay and breakfast was delicious and filling for the day's activities that awaited us. We love staying here and will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2016

We loved our stay at Mast Farm Inn! It was so relaxing and the attention to detail by the staff to make it an extra special stay did not go unnoticed. But, the highlight for us was the food! Oh my, dinner was delicious and both breakfasts were wonderful! We're ready to go back for the foodie experience!

View more reviews for this inn


In Love with this Getaway at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2016

I would never have discovered this gem without a random internet search! Our flight was not the best - we had spent the day dealing with modern inconveniences and stressed people - and we were pretty tired and cranky ourselves when we finally arrived in Valle Crucis - but when we entered our room (we were housed in the "Granary"), we were instantly transported into a more simple, quiet and gentle realm. Our gracious host Danielle had graced the room with a beautiful bouquet of fresh flowers and a lovely note, there was a warm fire crackling, and a quiet radio playing. The "Granary" was more beautiful than the website suggested - the house was beautifully decorated and so cozy and romantic! Every detail of our elopement package was PERFECT. The rooms are modernized and incredibly comfortable (that whirlpool! those towels!) but still retain a rustic and charming quality. I was blown away by the incredible food - the incredible graciousness and warm generosity of everyone at the Inn...oh, and those surrounding mountains are pretty amazing! I can not say enough about the details that went into making our day incredibly special - from the flowers, to the ceremony, to the photographers, the gourmet food! (I am sort of embarrassed at how I probably gulped down my dinner - but it was SO good!)...and again our incredibly hospitable hostess. I do have one complaint: It did not last long enough. I highly recommend the Mast Farm Inn to anyone. I hope we can go back one day.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little getaway! at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 15, 2016

Went to the mountains for a weekend getaway. We stayed at the Mast Farm Inn and had amazing time! Great staff and food plus the room was perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Getaway at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 24, 2016

Our 4th year in a row staying at the Buffalo Tavern. This time in the presidential suite. It is a quaint older home. The rooms are cozy. Breakfast is hardy. Doc and his helper add a personal touch to the place. And West Jefferson Main Street has lots shopping and dining to choose from. Vibrant little town.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing way to bring in the new year at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on January 04, 2016

We had an amazing time we stayed on new years eve night and stayed up with the other guest and we had a blast and laugh till my ribs hurt and we woke uo to an amazing breakfast will be back thanks Doc for the wonderful time

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Bed and Breakfast at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 15, 2015

The inn was very enjoyable.. The bed was especially comfortable...Will look to use this B&B again...

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks Doc!! at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2015

Doc was the perfect host. He was so friendly and welcoming while allowing us plenty of privacy. Clean room, comfy bed, and beautifully prepared breakfast. The fresh baked blueberry scones with clotted cream were fabulous. Perfect location to relax and explore picturesque Ashe County. We had a great time and look forward to returning. Bob & Lu Anne

View more reviews for this inn


Charming mountain inn at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2015

We enjoyed our stay. Tracy went above and beyond to make us feel right at "Home". We will definitely stay at the inn again!

View more reviews for this inn


A pleasant, comfortable place to stay. at The Cabins at Healing Springs (Crumpler, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on November 09, 2015

Nice cabins in a pretty rustic setting. Owners aim to please.

View more reviews for this inn


Presidential Suite at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on October 17, 2015

We truly enjoyed our one night stay. The Buffalo Tavern is a lovely B& B. We wish we were able to have had more nights to stay as Doc is a fine Innkeeper. It is a bit out of the way, but with more time we would have found many nearby ventures.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful B&B at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2015

JULY 2015. A great experience. The room, food & service was exceptional. Terrific coffee. Plenty of food at breakfast. Lots of attention to details such as offering variety & choices on creamers, sweeteners, hot tea flavors, bottled water & soft drinks. Doc & staff are very friendly without invading your space & privacy. We were in the President's Suite--worth the price. This B&B offers comfortable space to read, visit, etc--inside & outside. This is Doc's home & it feels like a home & not just a business. The town of West Jefferson is quaint with interesting shops & good food. We drove from N.E. Texas & were not disappointed. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing! at The Cabins at Healing Springs (Crumpler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2015

This is our 3rd time staying here. The cabins have been restored beautifully. There are lots of things to do in the area. Very peaceful place.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2015

This was last minute trip, buffalo Tavern had a room available so I booked it. This place is a gem. It's located on a back road off the beaten path. It was so quiet and relaxing to sit out on the porch. The owner Doc was great too, very accommodating and a very good cook. I really can say enough about this place except that it was awesome.

View more reviews for this inn


Too Short! at Mast Farm Inn (Valle Crucis, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2015

We only wish we could have stayed longer, but know we will be back! Appreciated the special attention to my food allergy, and the personal attention to us all. Truly a unique and beautiful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Doc is really great! at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2015

Doc was on top of everything! A beautiful inn with unique appointments and gorgeous yard, far enough off of the main highway to not have to listen to the traffic. A truly serene environment! We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Frozen in a Beautiful Time at Buffalo Tavern Bed & Breakfast (West Jefferson, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 04, 2015

Awesome stay throughout and sitting on that beautiful porch listening to one of many creeks in the area that feed into the New River just takes you back to a simpler time . Doc ? A great host and the food was delicious ! Breakfast started at 9 but coupled with the great conversation with Doc and other guests at the table , it was almost 11:30 and no one minded at all . Home ? Yeah , that's what comes to mind . We'll be back and soon , Don & Pearl

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}