Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Great experience

5 on August 14, 2012

I spent 4 nights at this B&B while attending a work training. I was happily suprised to hear they would honor the government rate. The place is charming and the staff exceptional.I especially enjoyed my visits with Cecil and Elizabeth. The room was amazing and even had a fireplace and jetted tub. What was especially wonderful was the gourmet breakfasts cooked by Cecil each morning. After showing pictures and describing my experience I was the envy of my co-workers who stayed in other hotels. If I should be back in Tacoma I will be staying at this B&B again for sure.


Inn with a View of Puget Sound

5 on June 28, 2012

We were lucky to be upgraded to the front room, with a great view of Puget Sound from every window. It was a glorious stay with delicious breakfasts created by Cecil. He is a wonderful host and conversationalist. We plan to come back to Tacoma and will be sure to stay at Chinaberry Hill again.


Simply beautiful

4.0 on March 28, 2012

My husband & I just celebrated our 1st anniversary with a two night stay (March 23 & 24) at Chinaberry Hill. This place was absolutely beautiful. The customer service was outstanding. Cecil's cooking was fabulous. Cherry Strata, blueberry pancakes, fruit cup with the most amazing toasted coconut on top, and the fluffiest scrambled eggs, yum. We were in the Wild Rose Room, jacuzzi and fire place, need I say more. The antiques were wonderful to look at. I cannot give a good enough recommendation for this establishment. We will be staying here again and I will continue to sing their praises to everyone.


Pure Heaven

5 on October 22, 2011

Upon arrival, my fiance and I were upgraded to a more exspensive room which has a great way to start our vacation. The room was elegant and spacious but the highlight of the stay was the phenomenal 3 course breakfast. The food was absolutely amazing. We now hold all other B&B's to this standard and unfortunately we have been disappointed when staying in other b&b's because the quality of the food at The Chinaberry was so exceptional. We would not only stay here again but have recommended it to freinds and family.


Great place to stay in Tacoma

4.2 on July 14, 2010

I booked this B&B because the 2 nicer hotels in downtown Tacoma were full. I was on a business trip. Next time I come, I will know to book with the B&B. Breakfast was outstanding, fit for a king! My room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The hosts were very pleasant and accomodating.


Absolutely in my top five!

5 on June 13, 2010

From the moment we arrived both the home and Cecil were inviting and unique! An ever full cookie jar and wireless internet are some of the details that all but guaranteed a perfect stay. What made this one of the best B&B's I have ever visited was Cecil. The unique stories for each diligently collected piece of furniture was enthusiastically told by Cecil upon request. The breakfast, which could be at first misunderstood as simple, was like the rest of our stay, expertly orchestrated to perfection. The hand selected syrup, the fruit pairings, all superb! One would be remiss to visit Tacoma and not spend at least one night at Chinaberry Hill. I know we'll be back!


Great Experience!

5 on April 13, 2010

From the beautiful, well prepared and stocked rooms to the fantastic customer service, our stay at Chinaberry Hill was perfect. Cecil was a charming gentleman, gracious host and five star chef! Yarrow was extremely helpful and patient with my questions prior to the stay. This was our first B&B experience. The neighborhood was beautiful and the proximity to local resources a plus. We will visit again soon!


F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S!!

4.0 on February 26, 2010

I have stayed here three times now when I have been in Tacoma for overnight stays. Each time, I have wished that my trip had required me to stay longer so I would have more time to enjoy the energy of this wonderful B&B and its owners, Cecil and Yarrow. The rooms are charming, cozy and comfortable, as are the common-area rooms like the living room and kitchen. The crowning glory is Cecil's breakfasts!! From the artistically arranged mango and strawberry starter course, all the way through the omlettes, garlic-butter fried potatoes and luscious blueberry pancakes, the breakfast itself would be a good enough reason to stay at Chinaberry Hill. For the price, this place runs circles around the average, boring hotel/motel, so, if given the choice, this is the place to choose.


A Wonderful Getaway!

5 on December 23, 2009

Our children surprised us with a bedandbreakfast.com gift card for my birthday, and we think it is one the best gifts we have ever received! Our daughter is a nurse at nearby Madigan Army Hospital, and this B&B was a short drive from there. Our suite had marvelous views of Puget Sound and was furnished with beautiful antiques. Cecil was a wonderful host, but the best part of our trip was the awesome gourmet breakfast he prepared for us the next morning! We will be repeat guests...


Old World Charm with New World Extras

5 on November 29, 2008

I stayed upstairs in the carriage house for a week, while in Tacoma on government business. The fact that the owners acknowledge the government room rate was a big plus. After arriving, I was charmed by the property and the decor. I did not find the cleanliness to be wanting. It is an old property, and it was kept very clean. The rustic features were a plus for me, and I will return there for sure. The food was exquisite, and if it is too much for you, you can have the leftovers wrapped up for lunch!


Outstanding Breakfast

4.2 on November 13, 2008

We enjoyed the old house and the beauty of the location in Tacoma. The breakfast was outstanding and the conversations with the "cook" were great!


sweet!!!

5 on November 11, 2008

My daughter and I so loved Chinaberry as it was my first stay and my daughters second stay. We felt so at home. We loved the history of Chinaberry and the decorde. You felt like you were back in time! Our room was on the 3rd floor and the veiw of Commencement Bay was so incrediable, and we had a full kitchen thouh we chose to enjoy the resturants on the water front. Breakfast everyday was incrediable and in the historic dinning room. The breakfast was elagent to say the least! And I got a secert rescipe from Rick. You feel so comfortable at Chinaberry, infact we are friends and plan to return soon. Also while your there ,take a stroll of the other historic home and imagine looking out to sea waiting for your sailor to come home. Everything and resturants and historic sites are so close by. Nice to get out of Sedona Az. to be at Chinaberry and the back in time experience. We rate the Bed & Breakfast as a must see and feel experience. See you their , dont miss out on such personal and warm experience . The rooms are more than great, the beds wonderful, clean and they have internet. Leave your stay on a personal journal in your room. Thank You Chinaberry! Sandee Sedona Az. see you soon!


Great Vacation

5 on November 11, 2008

Our visit to the Tacoma / Seattle area was probably one of the best vacations for my husband and myself. Chinaberry Hill is a beautiful place, and the service, food and room were all fantastic!


Remarkable bed/bath/& breakfast

4.0 on November 09, 2008

Quite a charming environment! The bedroom we were given was decorated in Victorian period furnishings...including the bathtub with a unique plumbing feature I had never seen before. We were able to connect to the internet with no problems. The breakfast chef/host was a marvelous addition to the experience...as he provided great food and great conversation. The location was pretty good...and we were able to walk to various sites and restaurants. Great place to visit for an authentic Victorian experience!


Truly relaxing stay

4.8 on November 07, 2008

Very welcoming, great food, A+ beds.


A Remarkable Find

5 on November 06, 2008

My husband and I found Chinaberry Hill four years ago and we can’t imagine staying anywhere else when we’re in the Seattle area. Wonderfully appointed rooms from the least expensive/smallest up to the grandest – I think we’ve tried them all (our current favorite is the Wild Rose). Fun hosts, incredible breakfasts – they make it all seem effortless. Great attention to detail in the décor/layout of the place. There’s a review listed on their website that says if they could put Chinaberry Hill on wheels they’d take it everywhere with them. We understand completely.


Love love love loved it!

4.6 on November 06, 2008

What a wonderful little gem in the middle of Tacoma.. who knew? My room was comfy, the tub was decadent and the innkeepers where just delightful. Walking around the neighborhood, watching the boats from the room window, sitting in the garden or on the front porch it is all good.


"One room to avoid"

4.0 on July 05, 2008

This charming B&B, had great breakfasts and the helper Rick was great. It is very obvious that once upon a time this building was gorgeous, but the current owners seem to be letting it go a bit. We stayed in the building in back on the second floor. This room has little if any charm, hence no pictures of it on their site. If you like a rustic room with a quirky shower, then you might like it. I think we will move on to other B&B's in the area until the owners do some renovations.


Wonderful Breakfasts!!!

4.6 on May 19, 2008

I joined my husband on a business trip to the Seattle area. We found Chinaberry Hill on the Bed and Breakfast website, and lucked into a cancellation on a busy weekend (graduation). The inn is so charming and warm, and so are the innkeepers, Cecil and Yarrow. The best part is the breakfast ... strong, fresh-ground coffee, eggs seasoned with fresh peppers, onions and cheese, bacon, blueberry pancakes, orange-infused French toast, fresh fruit, juice, and that wonderful chili quiche! I couldn't eat again until dinner after having breakfast! My husband really loved the breakfasts, but he enjoyed visiting with Cecil, Yarrow and their helper, Ricky. They made us feel so welcome in a town we had never visited before, but you can bet we'll be visiting again!


Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience

Details

  • Nightly Rate $113 - $245
  • Reviews (19) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2532721282
  • Mobile 1-4105309133

Visit Website »

View details

Top