Villa Heidelberg Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
79 Reviews

Write A Review

Our First Bed and Breakfast Experience

4.6 on June 03, 2013

It was our first time in Seattle and our first time traveling together. It was perfect.


Final Guests

3.8 on May 26, 2013

Nice, clean, lovely place to stay. Unfortunately, the owner has sold her business and is moving to a condo. New owners plan to return the house to a private residence. As they have young children, this house seems to have come "full circle". Would love to return and see any improvements or renovations.


Great value, location and the BEST breakfasts in West Seattle!!

4.6 on May 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Villa Heidelberg in West Seattle. Judy is a warm & wonderful hostess whose culinary skills rate 5 stars! The location is great - quiet neighborhood, free parking and only blocks from The Junction and the very popular Husky Deli (make sure you read up on the great community history of this deli). But, all good things come to an end...this B&B has been sold and will soon become home to a wonderful family. Many thanks to Judy and her staff for making our stay a pleasant one.


Charming, friendly, delicious

5 on May 07, 2013

Judy is a very friendly host, that provides a charming atmosphere, and delicious breakfasts. I felt like I was waking up in my own bedroom, at home.


A Gem in West Seattle

4.8 on April 18, 2013

Lovely home from the turn of the (previous) century. Comfortable bedrooms. Judith serves a delicious family style breakfast for you and your fellow guests.


Seattle Stay

5 on March 05, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast was lovely. We had a great experience and it was incredible how clean everything was. It was a very peaceful experience and Judy and Guille were great!


A wonderful week!

3.8 on March 02, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at Villa Heidelberg. Judy is quite warm and friendly and a wonderful cook. I was there for 7 breakfasts and each one was different, delicious, and the servings were very generous. I miss the wonderful fresh fruit! My room was rather chilly, but after the first night I requested a space heater and that kept my room toasty the remainder of my visit. The location is wonderful and within easy walking distance of many interesting shops and restaurants. I have already recommended the Villa to one of my friends who visits Seattle several times annually. I hope I will be able to return there myself some day.


Quiet, a little removed, Great B &B, easy access to Downtown

5 on March 01, 2013

Judy is a personable accommodating hostess and fabulous cook. The B&B is a heritage home, with wonderful period furnishing and beautiful gardens. Yes, it is quieter than central Seattle but very accessible to public transportation, minutes from central and from the airport. Parking is easy and free. First stay in Seattle, first B&B, found a gem first try. Thank-you Judy. We had a great stay.


A stroll down memory lane.

4.4 on February 24, 2013

1. Take time and peruse the inside and outside of the Villa. 2. Look forward to great consversations, especially with Judy. 3. On a clear day the view is an eyefull . 4. Great accessibility to local shopping and exploring. Do yourself a favor and start walking in any direction. 5. What a treat waiting for you at breakfast. 6. Having stayed at B&B's in Europe, this is a similar experience.


McClelland

5 on February 19, 2013

This is a beautiful Home - Quaint, clean and friendly. There is no other place we will ever stay when we visit Seattle yearly. And the breakfastes were delicious.


good food and service

3.8 on January 09, 2013

All in all a great bargain. Upstairs room was very nice, but first floor suite had a bad cat smell.


Séjour vraiment très agréable

4.0 on September 26, 2012

Nous avons vraiment apprécié notre séjour de 3 nuits à la Villa Heidelberg -Accueil chaleureux -Chambre (2 lits simples) spacieuse, propre et lumineuse. -Petits déjeuners délicieux, raffinés et copieux -Secteur tranquille et facilement accessible par transports publics. Plusieurs petits commerces (restaurants, patisseries, boutiques, etc) à proximité. -Quelques minutes (auto, bus et taxis-bus) du centre ville de Seattle -Magnifique maison centenaire très bien préservée et entretenue. Merci à la très gentille Lydia pour son accueil, sa gentillesse, sa disponibilité, ses conseils (infos touristiques) ses savoureux déjeuners, ses délicieuses gâteries chocolatées et son magnifique sourire !


cozy and quaint

4.4 on August 21, 2012

I had never been to West Seattle before so i wanted to stay there while I visited, and i thought what better way than to stay in a bed and breakfast? This was the perfect 1st time experience for me. It was quaint, homey, comfortable, and the people that run the place are extremely personable. They make you fresh, gourmet breakfast every morning, and will even accommodate to dietary restrictions, such as Gluten Free or Vegan. The rooms and beds are super cozy, and although you have to share bathroom(s) they too are clean and comfortable. There is also an awesome wrap around porch and a pretty awesome view of Aliki Beach from the back of it. Its also pretty close to The Junction which is the shopping/food spot, and a quick drive over the bridge to Seattle proper. All in all i would say it was a very good experience, and would recommend it to anyone i know.


Seattle apartment hunt

4.8 on August 15, 2012

My daughter and I went to Seattle to find an apartment for her to move to in a month. We looked all over to find one that was reasonable for someone from the Midwest and in a neighborhood that was vibrant and safe. The Heidleberg Inn is located in just such a neighborhood, and is actually the area we liked best for her apartment. The home is historic and has a few creaks but the beds were comfortable and the shared bathrooms never lead to a traffic jam. The host was great and even went out of her way to get us the name of some realtors to speak with. Lydia was helping in the kitchen as additional hostess and her joyful disposition and excellent cooking skills made breakfast both pleasant and tasty.


Nice B& B with a View

5 on August 04, 2012

This B&B should continue to served guests. The area is accessable to a lot of points of interests in the Seattle area. The view of the Alkai Beach is fantastic. We enjoyed meeting guests from different places/states and enjoyed hearing their different places where they've vacation at and was able to share where we've been. Since it was our 36th Wedding Anniversary, it's one of the memorable one. Thanks for your hospitality. Carol is great and Remy cooks great breakfast. I learned a dish or two in which she showed me how to make. Thanks again. Good Luck to you Judy, and hope you're recovered and feels much better now.


Best of the Best

5 on August 03, 2012

Judy, Carol, and Eric are amazing. I have stayed at B & Bs throughout the world and rate our stay at Villa Heidelberg in the top 5 for service, dining, and friendly atmosphere. Convenient to downtown Seattle by the #54 bus or by water taxi, great neighborhood with a variety of restaurants and shops nearby. Amazing view of Puget Sound and close to Alki point and beach. I would definitely stay here again & hope I have the opportunity to do so. Thank you for your kindness and generosity.


Villa Heidelberg was great!

4.6 on July 25, 2012

Our experience at the Villa Heidelberg was great - clean, comfortable rooms and a very accommodating staff. Food was good; location was walking distance from restaurants, grocery stores and shopping. We'll go there again!


Wonderful place!!

4.6 on June 27, 2012

Love the old fountain in the garden. Breakfast was great. Room was large and comfortable. Only a couple of blocks from California Street. We will definitely stay again!!


Villa Heidelberg

4.0 on June 20, 2012

Good place to stay if you want to keep out of boring hotels and are looking for something interesting. This place gets a major plus for having gluten free options! I would stay there again. They need to do a better job cleaning the silverware though.


My 4th Stay at Villa Heidelberg

4.0 on December 03, 2011

As experienced on previous stays, we both thoroughly enjoyed the days spent at the Villa Heidelberg. Comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, reasonable rates and convenient location.


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on November 11, 2011

THANK YOU Judy for opening your home to Veterans. From the first contact on the phone until our departure, we couldn't be happier. Villa Heidelberg offers all the comforts and atmosphere one would expect in a Bed and Breakfast, from the unique flavor of each room (some with real fireplaces stock with wood to use) to the ability to go into the kitchen for a cup of coffee anytime you wish. Plenty of reading activity and games for the children, great location to walk to dinner, and great views of the Sound. Breakfast was not only healthy in nutrition, but in spirit as well. What a pleasure to enjoy more than just a meal, but conversation too!


I would come back and refer my friends

4.4 on August 31, 2011

This is a gorgeous house in West Seattle...it's not nearly as remote from Seattle as I was imagining....it's actually very convenient with a car to everything. Plus the house is walking distance to shopping, dining, and a great Farmer's Market. The breakfast meal was outstanding, and the room had such sweet touches.....we were in the Munich room, which had a nice clawfoot tub. The bed was very soft, but so comfortable. The "staff" help in the morning were two dear friends helping the owner out who'd had an accident...it all had a wonderful feel to it. The view of the Puget Sound was lovely, too.


Great Home, Location, and Food

5 on August 15, 2011

Villa Heidelberg was a great place for 3 generation to spend for part of our "2011 Brooks Family Vacation". GramE and Granpa arrived early for 2 nights on our own, and the other 6 joined us for a fun-filled 3 more days. We took over the 4 bedrooms on the second floor an shared 2 bathrooms. We enjoyed the deck off our bedroom to have a glass of wine and watch the sunset over Puget Sound. Eric cooked us gourmet breakfasts and gave us some good tourist information. We were within walking distance to West Seattle (a good choice because of the quiet neighborhood) with great restaurants, fun stores, and public transportation into Seattle.


Wundebar stay in West Seattle!

5 on July 24, 2011

Fabulous accomodation, and hospitality. Needed to leave early Saturday morning for the NW Classic Track and Field Championship at West Seattle Stadium, and thought we would have to forego breakfast, but thanks to Judy, it was prepared and served early to match our timetable. Every aspect of our stay was above expectation. We are definitely telling our friends about this gem!


Pleasant stay in West Seattle

3.2 on July 12, 2011

Pros: Beds were comfortable, hosts were very friendly. They cleaned the shared baths regularly, adding fresh towels, etc. Cons: Shared baths! Could hear people walking down hall, going in and out during the night. Had to wait sometimes. B&B decor could use refreshing. Food was average overall. Caveat: owner was on vacation, so she had friends subbing.


Garmisch room

4.4 on July 04, 2011

We stayed in the room with access to a deck through the window. The bed was extrememly comfortable, and we loved the view from the deck. They let us check in early as my husband had just run in the Seattle half-marathon and he wanted to shower and change. The breakfast's were wonderful and the people very nice.


first but not last!

4.4 on June 28, 2011

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and it was very personable compared to hotels. We felt safer leaving our stuff in the room when we were gone than we ever did at a hotel.


Our stay athe the Villa Heidelburg

4.4 on June 17, 2011

Villa Heidelburg B&B was far better than we expected. The owner, Judy, was willing to accommodate every guest. The rooms had that old world charm of warmth and care. The view of the Sound and mountain were a site to behold every morning. Breakfast was different each of the six mornings. The guests would share where they were from. It seemed like an extended family.


Excellent overall Bed and Breakfast!

4.0 on June 09, 2011

We felt welcome and were fed like royalty. Room was very clean, and comfortable. Meals were served family style around a round table which encouraged conversation. We loved our stay at Villa Heidelberg!


Seattle Visit

3.2 on May 23, 2011

Judy made every effort to accommodate our gluten free needs and served delicious gluten free meals.


What a View!

5 on April 19, 2011

The Villa Heidelberg backs to a sweeping vista of Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains. I found myself gaping from every western window - it is incredibly lovely! It was a litle chilly during my visit but there is a lush garden to enjoy on warmer days. The roundtable breakfast is both delicious and congenial. Innkeeper Judy is THE BEST cook and a warm and caring hostess.


Great place for a quiet Seattle getaway.

4.0 on February 20, 2011

Beautiful house in a quiet neighborhood. Walking distance to shops, restaraunts and theater. Rooms are more charming than in photos. Judy is friendly and helpful.


Highly recommend!

5 on January 06, 2011

Go with an appetite as your Innkeeper, Judy, will feed you most decadent breakfasts. We've stayed on multiple occasions and have always found hospitality and a warm welcome. A definite high point in West Seattle.


"To the Manor Born"

4.0 on December 20, 2010

Its easy to imagine being "gentlefolk" one hundred years ago, when one is sitting in a beautifully appointing drawing room, furnishings reminiscent of a period past, a fire burning on the hearth and sweet milky tea steaming in one's cup. Lovely. And when you reach YOUR room, you know it will be the same. Just Lovely.


Villa Heidelberg Bed and Breakfast Visit

3.8 on October 29, 2010

Had a wonderful visit. Enjoyed the whole weekend. Beautiful view, nice room and great food. Only a short walk to the Junction where there is many food and small shops to eat at and visit. Easy transportation options to vist the area. Thank you Judy and staff for a perfect weekend. Hope to visit again.


Best Kept Secret in West Seattle

5 on September 23, 2010

Fabulous Hostess Judy


villa heidelberg in w seattle

4.4 on September 07, 2010

stayed at the end of august w/ my 6 yo. delightful, well-appointed old house close to the junction w/ it's many coffee shops, book and music stores, toy train store among others. loved the huge bathroom on the 2nd floor. we were pretty much the only ones on a floor w/ 4 rooms, so i can't speak to how it might have worked sharing the 2 bathrooms. judy (the warm and friendly owner) says it usually works out. no doilies or laura ashley, thank goodness.


Warm and inviting atmosphere with a beautiful view

5 on July 24, 2010

Villa Heidelberg has such a warm and inviting charm to it from the moment that you walk up to the front gate all the way to the bedrooms. I felt like I was walking into a familiar place, even though I had never been there before. In this hectic world, with everything moving with speed and little meaning; I felt like I stepped into a moment of time that allowed me to relax. Judy and her staff were all very warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were outstanding!!!! Thank you, Judy for the effort that you have put into your place. It will be a very fond memory in our trip. Kitty S. Cincinnati, OH


Our home away from home

5 on June 15, 2010

Villa Heidelberg is our go-to B&B whenever we've come to Seattle. We've stayed in almost all of the rooms, all of which are clean, comfortable and have killer views of the sound. Judy is just a joy and makes a mean breakfast. I still dream about those scones. West Seattle is charming and an easy drive into downtown Seattle.


Puget Sound Getaway

4.0 on March 30, 2010

Proprietor was very friendly, informative and we met several people. House itself was full of character. Food was "out of this world" good! Would love to return. Puget is super!


Home Away From Home

4.4 on February 17, 2010

Wonderfully pleasant - We will do it again! Lovely grounds, excellent food and charming proprietor.


See Mountains and Ocean While In Jazzy Seattle

3.0 on December 09, 2009

Our B&B has a fantastic view from the deck off our bedroom. We felt so pampered; loved the old, lovely home and were excited by Seattle energy.


Comfortable & hospitable

3.0 on November 09, 2009

We enjoyed the Munich Room. Breakfast was very good. The decor felt too cluttered: too many knick-knacks. No door separated the room from our bathroom. We would like it better with a door for privacy in the bathroom.


Anniversary (best so far)

5 on November 06, 2009

We spent the most wonderful 6 nights in the most cozy B&B. The Villa Heidelberg was beautiful and in a very nice part of Seattle. Looking out of the windows from any part of the B&B, you never had a bad view; loved our stay.


Charming B&B with a breathtaking view.

4.8 on August 27, 2009

Judy's inn affords fabulous food, relaxing atmosphere and outstanding service. I would highly recommend this home away from home to anyone.


Guest

4.6 on August 26, 2009

Great service, wonderful food; Judy is definitely a people person. Beautiful facilities, great location.


Villa Heidelberg Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 26, 2009

Great food. Great room. Innkeeper was wonderful. Highly recommend it to everyone.


Nice B&B in Seattle!

5 on July 20, 2009

My wife and I were vacationing in Seattle in July and decided to stay a couple of extra days. We found the Villa Heidelberg at the last minute and we were not disappointed. The Inn itself is a 100 year old Craftsman style home in a nice West Seattle neighborhood. It's close to West Seattle Junction which is the intersection of California and Alaska streets. A safe, thriving neighborhood with plenty of restaurants, bars and shopping. Public transportation is also very convenient from this area. The Innkeeper, Judy, was very accommodating and prepared delicious breakfasts. Our room was clean and comfortable and we both had two solid nights of sleep. On the first floor there is plenty of lounging area including a large wrap around porch with a great water view. Perfect for relaxing with your favorite drink on a cool Seattle evening. While the Inn does not have a guest computer, Judy allowed us to print our boarding passes from her own computer and also allowed us to store our luggage at the Inn after we checked out as our flight was not until late in the afternoon. This allowed us to spend several extra hours visiting Seattle without luggage as we did not rent a car. All in all a very nice stay and highly recommended


Villa

5 on July 15, 2009

I am a hotel concierge and the mattress and pillows felt like a cloud! I dreamed I was in Heaven! Breakfast is to your request and lots of it! Highly recommend staying here!


Villa Heidelberg

4.4 on June 30, 2009

This is a quiet, nicely decorated B&B in west Seattle- a real find given there aren't many nice places to stay here! There are large clean bedrooms and baths, tasty breakfasts, and a very helpful and accommodating hostess. Would definitely return- and will do so next year!


A Fun, Relaxing Visit

4.6 on June 23, 2009

We found Villa Heidelberg delightful. Judy the innkeeper was wonderful, helpful, accommodating, fun in conversation and made a delicious big breakfast. Our room was a lovely, comfortable space and truly relaxing.


Great place!

5 on May 17, 2009

Judy´s Villa Heidelberg is great. Her service is personal and she is flexible in the extreme. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys old houses and the personal touch. Susan Catherine


Villa Heidelberg

4.4 on January 12, 2009

A clean, cozy, quiet stay for one night, that we enjoyed at Villa Heidelberg. Good view of Puget Sound from our room on third floor. Good breakfast!


very nice

5 on December 09, 2008

we truly enjoyed the whole experience from beginning to end


very nice

4.8 on December 09, 2008

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. We were well taken care of. We had two wonderful breakfasts and the rooms were very comfortable!


much needed RR

5 on November 17, 2008

My husband and I need to get away for my birthday. We have four lovely children and two who are special needs so it take alot of our time and energy.Judy make us feel right at home sortof like staying at mom house A much needed Rest and relaxation


Perfect location near airport

4.8 on October 29, 2008

Judy is a great host. Pumpkin-pecan pancakes were incredible! We enjoyed a nice walk through the neighborhood and caught a bus downtown.


Incredible Breakfasts in Heidelberg

5 on October 03, 2008

This early 19th century home gets a perfect frame for a weekend in Seattle or the start of a vacation in the beautiful Northwest. But what really hits the button is Judy's incredible breakfast setups. The china and silver change every day as does the hot dish. Try the spicy breakfast burritos - worth a visit.


Hospitality Plus!!

5 on October 01, 2008

Our hostess, Judy, was very very pleasant & accommodating. We always hesitate to stay at B&B's bvecause I feel like "social" situation is contrived & forced. Not so with Judy. The stay was relaxing & we hope to stay there again!


Heidelberg B&B

3.0 on October 01, 2008

A truly restored Victorian home of 1900's. Beautiful views of the sound; comfortable bed; good food; charming hostess


Excellent view and food

3.8 on September 29, 2008

A pleasant individual - owned B&B with beautiful view of the Puget Sound. Only ten minutes to Pioneer Square. Note shared showers for all rooms.


Splendid Labor Day Weekend!

5 on September 24, 2008

Our 3 night, 4 day stay at the Heidelberg was the perfect touch to our Seattle get-a-way! We fell in love all over again...our stay was charming, comfortable and by far relaxing. We will refer this bed and breakfast to everyone we know.


Great home and location

4.4 on September 14, 2008

Great home and DELICIOUS meals. Great location in West Seattle. Would definitely stay there again.


Excellent

4.0 on September 10, 2008

Our experience was great. Wonderful place.


Fantastic home

5 on August 19, 2008

Rooms are fantastic. Each with something speacial to offer. View of piget sound from the porch and some rooms are unbelievable.


Villa Heidelberg Bed and Breakfast

3.2 on August 12, 2008

Wonderful stay


Villa Heidelberg B&B

4.2 on July 23, 2008

My son picked this B&B out for me. I was pleasantly surprised. It was lovely, clean & Judy was a great cook. Thanks


A pleasant, quiet stay in Seattle

5 on July 17, 2008

Villa Heidelberg is one of the most comfortable, welcoming B&B's we have used. Responsive staff, superb breakfasts and good restaurants within walking distance.


Villa Heidelberg B&B

3.6 on July 16, 2008

Lovely view, charming home, good food, comfortable, accommodating.


Pleasant Stay

5 on July 03, 2008

Take a rest, We were greeted warmly. the rooms were charming and breakfast was delicious.


Great Place to Stay in West Seattle

3.8 on June 14, 2008

This was our first B&B experience and we found it to be a very pleasant and enjoyable alternative to a hotel. The West Seattle location is great - just a short 1 block walk to the main strip of California Avenue. Judy was very polite and accommodating, making delicious special vegetarian breakfasts and giving solicited suggestions of what to do while we were in town. The inn was very clean and welcoming. We even spent one very cold and rainy afternoon playing board games in the parlor, devouring the gummy bears Judy had set out. We will definitely come back next time we're in town. Thanks, Judy!


will Judy adopt us?

4.8 on June 13, 2008

after many flying hours, we were welcomed with the warm smile and special ambiance of the picturesque west seattle hospitality. Judy puts the gourmet into breakfast. why did we want to stay anywhere else? hats off to Judy!


lovely

4.4 on June 06, 2008

gracious,serene, and beautiful views.


Fabulous Viaa Heidelberg Experience

5 on June 02, 2008

Absolutely the most wonderful experience, not to mention the comfort and hospitality! Innovative, delicious breakfasts with everything made from scratch and fun conversations with the owner and guests. Clean, spacious rooms, living rooms and views.


A Great Getaway

4.6 on May 20, 2008

Judy is a perpetual optomist with plenty of good travel info about the Seattle area, Restaurants,Sights,Shows and Transportation. Her Villa has a view of Puget Sound with nice gardens and sitting areas in warm weather. Her biggest asset is her culinary skills. Breakfast is a treat with eggs, two meats, pastry or pancakes and a generous bowl of fresh fruit


Our "best place" in Seattle

5 on May 14, 2008

We regularly stay at Villa Heidelberg when visiting aging parents in West Seattle. Judy is a truly gracious hostess full of laughter and fun. Her breakfasts are delicious--croissant French Toast is our favorite. The housing is charming--the dark woods of the interior warm and homey, the rooms inviting and comfortable. We especially enjoy relaxing on the large porch (in good weather!) with a view of Puget Sound and the Olympics to the west. Our "best place" to say in West Seattle.


What a wonderful place!

4.4 on May 13, 2008

My husband was totally against B&B's-UNTIL our stay at Villa Heidelberg. Judy totally changed his view. And what a view it was. The Seattle scenery is spectacular, but the warm hospitality and exquisite food and accomodations at Villa Heidelberg rivals any mountain range or Puget Sound. This B&B is an authentic, 1st class, not to be missed pampering and gracious experience. You will love it.


Lovely Experience

4.4 on May 13, 2008

The Bed and Breakfast is beautifully decorated and so warm and inviting. From our room, while soaking in the claw foot tub in our private bath, you could look out over Puget Sound, how nice! Judy is such a delightful hostess and her culinary skills are superb. We looked forward to breakfast each morning for the atmosphere/ conversations and also the ever changing menu items which were such a treat. Thanks Judy for such a lovely experience. We'll be back!


Very Special Place and Person

5 on May 13, 2008

In my wanderings I have had the opportunity of staying in many special places and met with some equally special people. None are more worthy of the title "special" than Judy Burbrink and her B and B Villa Heidelberg. The views from her historic home and beautiful rooms are breathtaking! Not only is she a gourmet cook, she is also incredibly personable, knowledgeable and anticipatory of your needs. For that reason, most highly I encourage you to consider Villa Heidelberg when you are in her area.


Villa Heidelberg Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $169
  • Reviews (79) 4.5
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2069383658
  • Fax 1-2069357077
  • Toll free 1-8006712942
Top