Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Cottage With a View

5 on August 31, 2011

We cannot say enough good things about this cottage rental experience. The view of Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains is outstanding, especially when viewed from the private hot tub on the deck. Located in a very quiet and safe neighborhood, the cottage is a short walk from the beach. However, the hills are steep and steps to the cottage might make it a bit difficult for anyone with accessibility issues. This cottage is by far the cleanest and best maintained property we have ever rented directly from the owners. The owners are wonderful hosts with excellent suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants; they even made dinner reservations for us and provided directions. The B&B concept of stocking the kitchenette with breakfast supplies was an added bonus for us. It allowed us to prepare our own breakfast at our leisure. The kitchen space was sufficient and well stocked, so we could cook other meals when we wanted to eat in. A car is a must as there are no restaurants or shops within walking distance. We have already recommended the cottage to others and hope to return ourselves.


Comfortable Stop outside Seattle

4.0 on August 01, 2011

The Olympic View was just what we needed. After a long day seeing the sights in Seattle, we always looked forward to the quiet comfort of this great b & b. The self-contatined cottage is perfect for a couple - immaculate, airy, filled with light, and with a view of Puget sound that we never tired of seeing. Dave and Eileen got everything right; fresh breakfast supplies every day, a vase with beautiful flowers on our kitchen table, cooking tips for the fresh salmon we picked up, and a willingness to help that is above and beyond what one would expect. When we decided to rent a car (a must to really get out and see the area), they put us in touch with a local company that had great rates. We will recommend them to anyone going to Seattle and hope to have the pleasure of a return visit ourselves.


Pure Bliss

5 on May 23, 2011

I've just returned home from our stay at the Olympic View Bed & Breakfast and couldn't wait to write this review. The cottage itself is amazing, and has every amenity that you could possibly want for a romantic getaway. The surroundings are both beautiful and peaceful, you would never guess that you are technically in a city. As for the innkeepers, there is only one word to describe them, perfect. They run an absolute gem of a bed & breakfast. The only thing that made me sad about the entire trip was having to leave


Perfect romantic get-away

5 on May 12, 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend away here, and it was one of our best B&B experiences ever. The cabin decor is modern and relaxing. My husband's favorite parts were the leather lounge chairs, the private hot tub with a breath-taking view of the sound, and the magically-appearing pastries--every morning. I loved the fresh flower bouquet (what a great surprise), the cinnamon french toast (bread from the local bakery), and having plenty of space to relax and enjoy our time away. I enjoyed being able to make our own breakfast--my husband and I love cooking together. Dave and Eileen supplied us with beautiful fruit cups, and all the fixings that we needed for a gormet feast. I would highly recommend this fantastic little B&B.


Everything everyone says is true

5 on January 24, 2011

It's more like living than staying if you know what I mean. There's no room number on the door, no timetables for breakfast, just a quiet place with a great view and complete privacy. Make sure to go through the drawer to the left of the TV where all the site seeing books are (the Cascade Loop is fantastic). The bed is as wide as Guatemala. . . you're going to love it. All the pictures they show are accurate--no wacky wide angle lenses to make it look anything but what it is . . . modern, well equipped, spotless, relaxing with a full view of the water. It was the perfect place to base a great four-day stay in Seattle. Mike and Cherie


Great Cottage, Great Hosts, Great Location

4.6 on November 16, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights. We wavered between staying downtown or staying close enough to down town for its access but in a quieter more laid back location. Olympic View B&B won and we were not disappointed. With the rush hour traffic being so crazy and I'm saying this coming from Chicago, it was great to sneak into the city in 20min on the less traveled roads and avoid the commuting crunch. The cottage pictures and view are all very accurate. You cannot imagine though how quiet it is. We like making our own schedule whether its getting up a little later one day or returning late after a long day of siteseeing. The cottage is fully modernized and very comfortable whether enjoying a leisurely breakfast and cup of coffee while planning the day or kicking back and watching the sun set and a movie. We liked the options of either eating out or cooking a meal ourselves. We brought some guide books with us, but was overwhelmed by how much they have available whether its personal shopping tips, local eating tips, directions, maps, day trip suggestions, etc. If you need to stay "connected", the free internet worked flawlessley. The Olympic View is not about "roughing it". We would definitely stay again.


As we say in Ireland "Just beautiful"

5 on September 17, 2010

I have just returned from a weeks holidays in Seattle. I stayed at the Olympic View B&B with my boyfriend. We had such an amazing time. Seattle is such a nice spot to visit. We are from Ireland and have heard that Seattle appears to be a lot like Ireland. In a lot of ways it is but it also has a lot of its own unique beauty spots and stunning coastal views. This B&B made our holiday truly perfect. We are used to travelling around Ireland and staying in B&B's solely for the personal touch. This is exactly what Olympic View is all about. Eileen and Dave were so welcoming and accommodating. Every morning Dave brought us fresh pastries and anything he could help us with he did. The hot tub is extremely relaxing and on a nice Summer's evening it was so romantic to sit there and watch the sun go down.We used look forward to coming back there in the evenings!! Location was perfect, it was only 10 minutes from the airport and about the same to down town. I would highly recommend this B&B to anybody whether it's for a wk end away, an anniversary or a honeymoon, Olympic View has got it all covered.


Cozy, Romantic, Quiet, Private, Spotless Get Away!!!!

4.6 on August 05, 2010

We stayed for two nights in July, for our 30th Anniversary, and couldn't have been happier! The self contained cottage is so well maintained, the the view from the hot tub on the deck, is a great place to watch the sunset and sip a bottle of wine! Eileen and Dave were attentive, but sensitive to privacy! The king sized, comfortable bed was another great feature that we look for! It's easy to get to downtown Seattle! Fabulous Place to stay! Highly recommend it!


Million Dollar view in a Relaxing, Cozy Cottage

5 on July 27, 2010

We are so glad we found this place when we decided to plan our trip to Seattle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Olympic View Cottage B&B. The views were absolutely breathtaking and the hot tub in the evenings was so relaxing. It is truly a secluded retreat in which to relax after spending you days discovering all the wonderful things that Seattle and Washington State have to offer. We will definitely recommend this place to anyone and will definitely be back ourselves. Absolutely wonderful!!!!!!!


Wonderfully Secluded in Seattle

5 on June 06, 2010

Highly recommended!! We spent 4 nights at Dave & Eileen's bed & breakfast. We thouroughly enjoyed or stay. This is extremely convienient to downtown Seattle, while staying right on Pugent Sound. We could be at Pikes Market in 15 minutes, yet the house is in a wonderfully quiet neighborhood overlooking Puget Sound. Every day we would return to see what was left for our breakfast the next morning. We had many breakfast choices, though we always had fresh cut fruit. The hosts made great recommendations for dinner, we ate every evening in Burien The Tin Room & Angelos were very good. The private hot tub was great, along with comfy robes to use while relaxing. The TV swivles so you can watch from the living area or the bedroom. We travel often and this is a great place to stay. Very accomodating hosts. We would stay again, in a heartbeat. Hopefully we wil make our way back to Seattle and stay again at Olympic View Bed & Breakfast Cottage.


Excellent Stay in Seattle

5 on June 04, 2010

We stayed at the Olympic View Inn and it was everything we wanted in a Seattle vacation! The view of the Olympic mountains and the Puget Sound were unbelievable! Our hosts had healthy foods for our mornings and we were sure to return from touring the city early each night to watch the 9:00 sunset. We watched movies that were provided and enjoyed the hot tub on the deck outside. It was a memorable stay as a native Seattle-er. Highly Recommended Experience


Adorable Seattle getaway!

4.0 on February 18, 2010

Our stay was perfect! The views from the deck were great. The privacy from the hot tub helped us to relax and enjoy the serene setting. We really enjoyed the homey feel of the cottage and our hosts definitely helped. Everything that we could need was provided.


The perfect romantic getaway!

5 on January 29, 2010

The Olympic View B&B was the ideal spot for our romantic weekend. We spent 3 nights nestled among the trees with an unsurpassed view. Breakfast was on our own time and provided lots of choices! It was fun to make it ourselves each morning with the fully stocked fridge and pantry. The cottage was very clean and the hot tub was very private with an amazing view! We loved the hummingbird that came to visit us whenever we were in the tub. The inn keepers were very hospitable but also gave us our privacy. We hope to make this an annual tradition!


romantic runaway

5 on January 01, 2010

What a wonderful escape!! We decided to spend a little "alone time" before the hectic Holidays and what a treat we found. Olympic View Bed and Breakfast was perfect!! Clean, comfy, cozy and sharply decorated! There is a nice kitchen set up, so you can do your own cooking. The view from the deck was breathtaking -- we sat in the hot tub and enjoyed the beauty of the Olympic mountains. The nearby town of Burien had unique restaurants, wine shop, and the friendliest people!! It's also has good access to public transportation to downtown Seattle. Our host, Dave and Eileen were perfect! Friendly, warm and informative! We have already recommended this get away to friends and family! Come experience this delightful experience!!


Bravo - Planning to Return

5 on December 22, 2009

This cottage is tucked away in a quiet, secluded neighborhood overlooking Puget Sound just a few miles west of Burien. The view from the cottage is beautiful and one can enjoy it while soaking in the hot tub, which makes for a perfect winter get away. The two room cottage is cozy and private with a kitchen that not only contains the makings for several different kinds of breakfasts but a few extra treats as well. This was one of the best B&B experiences we have had and it was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. We can hardly wait to return.


Honeymoon Heaven!

5 on September 28, 2009

My wife and I spent a couple weeks going over our options for where to spend our honeymoon. She found Olympic View B&B online and said, "I want this one!" All I can say is that I had a very happy bride the minute we walked out on the deck after Dave gave us the tour. After 4 nights there, we were in no rush to leave. The 15 minute drive to Seattle was just enough. We spent the days and evenings enjoying all that the big city had to offer followed by relaxing on the deck discussing the next days activities. Waking up to the great view and wonderful breakfast my wife made can't be beat. The cottage was perfect for two people to enjoy whether we were in the hot tub, sitting on the deck or watching TV from the bed. Dave and Eileen definitely earned their awards with this place. We were discussing when we're going back our first morning there. I can't wait!


Romantic, relaxing, and inspiring views

4.0 on September 13, 2009

The winding, scenic short drive from downtown Burien only serves to heighten the anticipation. We were immediately greeted upon arrival by the host, who was welcoming, friendly and helped us carry our items up a short way to our lodging. Though adjacent to the home of our host, our privacy was respected and while using the deck/hot tub, we felt very comfortable. We appreciated the sound of the little waterfall just below our lodging. There are so many things to like about this wonderful getaway. We even decided not to go into Seattle, and instead the only drive we took was to visit the community of Burien, with its charming downtown and friendly residents. The variety of breakfast goodies provided were delicious, and the cozy and comfortable lodging were just what we needed to forget about the "outside world." This trip was a necessary "getaway" for my wife and myself as in-home preschool teachers. We love what we do in our school, but this quiet R & R was just what we needed to recharge us for the next school year. Our lodging contained everything we needed to make our stay "just like home." Of course, we have no hot tub and stunning views from a deck back at home. But the inside of the cottage had all the usual home-like amenities such as a well stocked kitchen, television and music options, wi-fi, comfortable chairs, sofa and bed, and lots of good reading material by way of books, magazines and travel literature. But back to the hot tub and view. You may have your own hot tub, but you do not have this view from your hot tub. We spent considerable time on the deck, in the hot tub, at the table eating or reading, or just standing at the railing admiring the view. We enjoyed the deck throughout the day, and the sunsets, twilight and night were astonishing in their beauty and peacefulness. On our next visit we look forward to exploring the beach and hiking path on Puget Sound just a short way down the hill from the B & B.


Perfect getaway

4.4 on August 24, 2009

My wife and I travelled to Seattle to see the opera. This is like having your own little house on the side of a mountain with a perfect view. Owners live next door and do everything to make you feel right at home. Privacy no problem. They leave little snacks for you also. Very caring and thoughtful. Perfect for a romantic getaway and hot tub on deck with beautiful view. Only 15 minutes from Downtown and 5 minutes from airport ( though you would never know it). Highly recommend!


Wonderful Place to Stay for Honeymoon

5 on August 21, 2009

My new husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in early August and it was truly a wonderful experience. After a terrible and delayed flight, we arrived around midnight. Even though it was a week day, Dave stayed up late and made sure we found the cottage ok plus he made sure we had something to eat when we got there. That's hospitality you won't find at a hotel. The cottage itself is perfect for two people. The amenities are wonderful- especially the private hotub! Sure Seattle has plenty to do, but we found ourselves wanting to go back to cottage to enjoy the beautiful sunset and a soak. I highly recomend staying here and we plan on returning many times.


Million Dollar View!

5 on August 12, 2009

We came here on our honeymoon looking for rest and relaxation, which is exactly what we got! The view from the deck is worth a million dollars, as well as watching the eagle that hung out in the trees! Every night we would grab a glass of wine and watch the beautiful sun set from either the hot tub or patio chairs. You have to see the view to believe it! Dave and Eileen anticipated all our needs and had the cottage readily stocked with everything, from kitchen stuff and leisure stuff. They include lots of information about the area and surrounding areas with things to do and see, which were very helpful. We would recommend this place in a heart beat and only hope that we will make it back there sometime. Maybe an anniversary trip!!


Don't miss this treasure

5 on July 20, 2009

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days at this wonderful hide away. You can only imagine the view, the wonderful cottage with every amenity imaginable, the hospitality, Dave's expert concierge service, and the flexibility of making breakfast on your own schedule, with the best ingredients, or just have a fresh fruit cup and wonderful pasty every morning. Dave and Eileen get the award from us, Best Innkeepers. Kudos to you guys. WE WILL BE BACK, Duncan and Paula


Hidden Gem

5 on July 07, 2009

Olympic View B&B is a wonderful hidden gem in a quiet neighborhood south of Seattle. With only the one cottage, you are guaranteed absolute peace and quiet. The cottage itself is perfect. Clean, bright and spacious with high ceilings and comfortable furniture. There are thoughtful little touches like books and DVDs on the shelves. And if you have to work, the wireless internet works flawlessly. But the highlight, of course, is the wonderful deck with hot tub and spectacular views. Sitting in the hot tub with a glass of wine watching the sunset is not to be missed. The well-equipped kitchen is stocked every day with everything you need to make fantastic breakfasts. We loved the flexibility to have breakfast whenever we wanted. Every morning started with a pot of their special blend of coffee. We sat on the deck sipping coffee in the cool air debating what to make that morning. One day it was buttermilk pancakes with fresh strawberries -- the family pancake recipe is already mixed in a canister on the counter, all you have to do is add buttermilk and an egg! Another morning we made cheese omelets. And there was always fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, various cereals and orange juice as well. And the owners, Eileen and Dave, insist that you leave all the breakfast dishes for them to clean! The location was perfect. Even though you are in a quiet little hidden neighborhood, there is easy access to highways that make getting to the city or the surrounding sites quick and simple. We went kayaking at Alki beach, hiking at Mt. Rainier, shopping at Pike Place, swimming in Lake Washington, had lunch at Ray's and dinner at the Dahlia Lounge. All easily accessible from the cottage. But our favorite part of every day was coming "home" to our cottage and the hot tub.


A truly spectacular B&B

5 on June 09, 2009

Our stay at the Olympic View Bed and Breakfast was one for the ages. Our hosts, Dave and Eileen, saw to it that our stay there was comfortable and relaxing and were quick to provide recommendations for fun and excitement. It is very convenient to all that Seattle has to offer without the headaches of staying overnight in the downtown area. But that cottage of theirs! While the photos on their website depict how nice the place is, the view from the deck is truly spectacular. After a full day of sightseeing, what better way to unwind than a soak in the hot tub while the sun sets behind the Olympic Mountains. If you plan to visit the Seattle area, you owe it to yourself to book a few days at this place. We know we'll be back!


Romantic get-away, with breathtaking view!

4.8 on June 09, 2009

This was a mini-vacation, get-away, which we do from time to time. This was a real treat and our only regret was that we hadn't booked more nights. Everything was great and we discovered a "gem" in our backyard. We live in Kent, just a few miles away, and this was convenient as well as "far away". Close to everything, we enjoyed Burien, Seattle and the hot tub! Great place!


"A wonderful place with an awesome view"

4.2 on June 09, 2009

The Pacific Northwest is one of our favorite places in the world and Olympic View Cottage is a wonderful place to stay. The weather was great while we were there; every night we enjoyed a magnificent sunset. The cottage is spacious, very comfortable and private. Our hosts have thought of just about everything you need to have a relaxing, enjoyable and comfortable stay. There are many things to do in the area. We particularly enjoy the beach and the Indian Trail. Visitors from Ontario, Canada


Quiet Hillside Among Evergreens Overlooking the Water

5 on May 15, 2009

Beautiful, peaceful, quiet and relaxing. How often do you get the chance to grill and hot tub in the same evening on vacation? Olympic View Cottage has forest, mountains, water, all at once! A block from the beach, close to Old Burien, wonderful private accommodations, friendly and wonderful innkeepers- what more an one ask in vacation lodging?


Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2062008801

Visit Website »

View details

Top