The Bluff on Whidbey Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Room With a Spectacular View

4.4 on October 29, 2014

This was, by far, the best B&B at which we've stayed. The owners were extremely accommodating without being intrusive, and the hot breakfast each morning (which could be delivered to your room, if you chose) was delicious. Each room had a private entrance with its own parking spot as well as an outdoor seating area (either a covered porch or balcony). The room did not have air conditioning, but the ceiling fan was more than sufficient to keep us cool during our summer visit. There was also a transitional area between the innkeepers' house and the two guest rooms, so it felt more like having your own private apartment. The room would only be cleaned and refreshed during your stay if requested, so if you didn't mind reusing towels and making your own bed, you could have complete privacy. However the star of the show at The Bluff on Whidbey was the incredible back garden with many different varieties of trees and vines, lovely wildflowers of every color, a tree swing, a hot tub, a hammock, and several chairs and benches nestled along the cliff overlooking the water. This B&B was also located very close to Deception Pass State Park, which allowed us to enjoy the beach and lake activities. Our family definitely plans to return here on future visits to Whidbey Island.


Never really was able to relax

3.2 on October 23, 2014

The homeowners had an extra door to our room through the garage and entered on more than one occasion as they saw fit. Now it was at the bottom of stairs and the room couldn't be seen directly on entry but we were never able to fully relax thinking we could be interrupted at any time. So, we slept with one eye open for sure. Beautiful view and excellent breakfasts. Recommend you get breakfast served in your room as the homeowners like to chat. I was expecting more of a private experience.


Beautiful

5 on September 18, 2014

This is a wonderful secluded b&b on whidbey. The room was clean and well kept. The breakfast was amazing (French toast). And, the views were incredible from the backyard and the room. A great place for a romantic couple of days on the island!


A Beautiful B&B With a Beautiful View

4.6 on September 03, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. Our room was on the upper floor, very spacious with a wonderful view from the deck past the gardens to the water. Our hosts were very gracious and helpful in all ways. Peaceful and quiet location (its located far enough away from the naval air station so the noise from the jet flyovers is not an issue). An excellent B&B for a vacation to Whidbey Island.


One of our best B&B's

4.4 on August 26, 2014

We loved staying at the Bluff on Whidbey, it's a beautiful B&B in a lovely place. Our room and bathroom were spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. The view from our room was incredible. There were so many personal touches, like the letter addressed to us, the cookies and chocolates and the robes and shoes for the hot tub. Larry is a great host and a very interesting man, Rocky the cat is a sweetie too, although I suspect he's never going to give Larry his credit card details. Our only regret is that we weren't able to stay longer. Highly recommended - if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area you really couldn't do better than the Bluff on Whidbey. We've stayed in a lot of B&Bs in America and all over the world, this was one of the best.


Relaxing on an Island

4.6 on August 18, 2014

Great breakfasts and gorgeous scenery. A winning combo in the Pacific Northwest.


Great View & Super Hosts

3.6 on July 26, 2014

A very nice location on Whidbey with exceptional quiet views over Puget Sound with Mt. Baker in the distance. Hosts were very nice, accommodating and professional. Overall a super experience.


Great B'fast and the Most Friendly Host

5 on May 20, 2014

This place was great. Great location close to deception pass, great view from the room as well as a great yard with seating to sit outside and enjoy the view. When we arrived we were greeted with warm cookies and recommendations for dinner. With a brief tutorial on the hot tub and the room, the host got out of our hair which I thought was very considerate and respectful. Very clean and comfortable with a nice gas stove to heat the room and a personalized note with our names at the top to welcome us. Thoughtful and a nice touch. Breakfast was delivered at an agreed upon time and consisted of spinach fritata, 2 warm blueberry muffins, sausage, warm fruit compote, coffee and your choice of juice. Delish! We stayed one night, but will definitely be back to stay for an extended time. Well worth what I thought was a reasonable price. Thanks Bluff on Whidbey!


Fantastic view, lovely breakfast

4.6 on May 09, 2014

The owners are personable, friendly, & helpful; they encourage full use of the property inc. hammock, garden, hot tub. Amazing view & excellent accommodations I wish the back window had a screen to open for fresh air.

Innkeeper Response
We greatly appreciate the time you took to give us this nice review and we also apologize re: the screen....... you caught us in the in-between time.... it was getting warm and we did not have the screens up, but they are now up and the windows can be safely opened without letting in bugs.


Exceeds Expectations!

5 on May 01, 2014

Larry and Kathy run a fantastic B&B. Everything about the stay was amazing - the room, location, view, food, proprietors. The online pictures and descriptions do not do this place justice. We hope to return in the future to experience it all again and get away from our regular hustle and bustle.


Northwest at its Best!

5 on March 25, 2014

Second visit; we'll be back! Breath-taking propery, friendly hosts, perfect get-away!


CHRISTMAS VACATION

5 on January 03, 2014

EXCELLENT ACCOMADATIONS IN ALL FACETS. WONDERFUL PEOPLE.


Charming, very friendly, lovely location

4.2 on October 02, 2013

-


Our stay at The Bluff!!

5 on September 18, 2013

This was the best place I have ever stayed...Larry and Kathy are very nice and helpful. The food is just wonderful!!...Treat yourselve call The Bluff on beautiful Whidbey Is.


Couldn't have asked for more!

4.4 on September 03, 2013

This is truly an amazing B&B, especially considering the price. Great location, great amenities, and terrific service. I would be hard pressed to go anywhere else then Larry and Kathy's. Highly recommend TWO things - get the room on top (great private deck that looks over the bluff), and if you are interested in some adventure and wanna get down to the beach in style (should go around low tide) ask them about the trail to mordor :)


Great B&B

4.6 on August 28, 2013

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. We were very happy with the experience. Larry and Kathy are so friendly and welcoming. The grounds are beautiful, and the attention to detail on the property is quite apparent. We stayed in the Lynden room and it was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. Great place to stay when on Whidbey.


Incredible stay in the most beautiful home

5 on August 23, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful stay! The home was very well maintained and the inn keepers were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The views, the breakfasts, and the cute cat that made our stay even better, all contributed greatly to our experience. We will be back!


Lynden Room

4.4 on August 16, 2013

Warm welcome, as private as we wanted, great bed, fabulous setting and incredible breakfasts.


It could not be better

5 on August 13, 2013

The perfect getaway!


Best stay ever

5 on July 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the Cierco Room, OMG it was the nicest room ever you could lay in bed and look out the double doors at the bay. Very spacious, very imaculant. Breakfast was outragous and the Inn Keepers were the nicest people. If you like a out of the way place with tons of privacy this is the place to stay. Plan on going back next year.


Gracious hosts and delightful accomodations!

5 on July 14, 2013

We would go back in a heartbeat. Very peaceful and calm. The decadent french toast with strawberries was a perfect way to start our day. Thank you!


Short Stay

4.4 on May 28, 2013

We spent one night at the B&B, but we should have stayed two. Very comfortable lodging, just like home. The nearby beach was great to explore and one could spend hours by the water. It was a great place to unwind and enjoy the fresh air!


perfect getaway

5 on May 10, 2013

lovely, secluded property. hosts we so kind and inviting.


Outstand B&B on Whidbey Island

5 on April 29, 2013

This place was delightful from the moment we drove into the driveway. Larry was working out front and walked right up to us and called us by name. He brought us inside to common area to go over all he things offered at the B&B. Larry then showed us to our room and how to use the hot tub, which we used later that night. The next morning Kathy brough breakfast to our room.


Wonderful stay

4.4 on April 04, 2013

The Bluff on Whidbey is located on a beautiful property. The host was wonderful and friendly but left us alone so we can enjoy our stay as a family. My daughter asked when we can go back again already.


A cozy and beautiful getaway

4.6 on January 07, 2013

We arrived on New Years Eve and spent it watching the moon rise, in the hot tub, listening to owls, and feeling cozy next to the gas woodstove in our room. Our window looked over the backyard to the water and the sunrise was outstanding. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat-


"We liked everything"

5 on June 06, 2011

"We liked everything! Great location, beautiful peaceful garden and view, gracious hosts, helpful recommendations, 5 star breakfasts, fluffy towels, comfy bed, guidebook in room. Thanks for making a great setting for our vacation."


Spactacular view and hospitality

4.4 on August 05, 2008

This B&B was wonderful! the room was comfortable with a spactacular view, the hot tub was relazing, the hospitality was perfect. Breakfast was amazing and the owners were very friendly/welcoming to our children! Great place!


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 30, 2008

The Bluff on Whidbey is a beautiful bed and breakfast, in a most idyllic location with spectacular views over the water to Mount Baker and the Cascades. The rooms are lovely and very private, looking out onto a garden filled with wildflowers on top of a cliff. Larry and Kathy are wonderful hosts, and cooked a most delicious breakfast we were able to enjoy in our room. Truly a bed and breakfast worth visiting, we are enjoyed our stay there very much, and there are not many places you can wake up to a view like that!


The Bluff on Whidbey Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3602409332
  • Mobile 1-3603202350
  • Toll free 1-8008680636

Visit Website »

View details

Top