Lietz's River Front B&B Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room3.8
  • Services4.5
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
22 Reviews

Write A Review

Country Home and Hospitality

4.6 on September 30, 2013

What a great 3 days we had staying at the Lietz family home - very homey place, nice view of river, lovely flowers, and quaint antique decorated rooms. Breakfast was delicious, homemade coffee cakes , etc. The front patio/deck are relaxing, the 2 dogs and cat are sweet, and the Leitz's are so nice to talk with - full of stories. This is an amazing value - very quiet if you don't mind sharing a bathroom. We will go back!


Simply Wonderful!

5 on September 16, 2013

I just returned home from a weekend at the Lietz's home. I do have to say that it was the loveliest home. Both Vern and Helen are exceptional hosts and very a tentative to their guests. The breakfast was amazing but I did not expect anything less after reading the reviews on line before I booked our weekend. The home is rite on the river and you can go explore the riverbank or just sit in the shade and enjoy the music the river makes as it passes. They have a bonfire ready at all times if you choose to sit there and have a glass of wine. It is just a few miles out of Leavenworth and well worth the short drive; you pass fruit stands and a bakery on your way there! I would recommend this B & B for couples or a family as it is both friendly and a large home. They have two small if not one of them very round dogs, one pug and one rat terrier, both VERY well behaved little animals and a cat as well that is just as round as it is tall. Very sweet well natured animals. The pets are not allowed in the rooms and the doors are closed at all times. The rooms themselves are wonderful! I did take pictures and was looking for a way to post them here but cannot find the link. They are rooms you would find at grandma’s house, with the pretty handmade quilts and beautiful windows with privacy shutters. There were both dressers and vanities in the rooms and the bathroom is quite large. There is also an air conditioner in the room; I was SO pleased to see this. Once I figured out how to use it (I don’t have one at home) it was a wonderful think indeed! My husband and I had a fabulous time and will return with happy hearts and empty bellies for Helens cooking!! ¿


August 2011

4.0 on August 21, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed with Mr. and Mrs. Lietz and we had a superb time. For those disinterested in the hubbub of Leavenworth and want a more local experience we suggest Peshastin as a quieter, quaint getaway. The Lietz B&B was a sweet home located on the river. We were greeted warmly by Mr. Lietz and were escorted into the guest quarters of the house. Now to be clear, this is their home as well as their place of business so it feels like a home. It is not your sterile, personality lacking hotel room. It has all the comforts of visiting relatives and a budget-friendly price point. Our bed and bedroom were just what we needed as we were only spending one night before hiking in the nearby Wenatchee Nat'l Forest. (Normally they require 2 nights stay, but b/c we were trying for a lottery into the park they made an exception. Very kind of them). The sheets were clean, clean towels, it was quiet and lots of light in the morning. Mr. Lietz kindly offered to loan us some inner-tubes to use in the river if we wanted, but the river was extremely cold so instead we visited The Silvara winery just across hwy 2 (another great find!) Mrs. Lietz spared no expense making an amazing breakfast of raspberry dutch babies, eggs, sausage, coffee, juice, etc. It was the highlight of our brief stay there - except for the two of them, of course! With prices sky rocketing in the area the Lietz B&B is a great choice. Keep in mind this is no hotel...this is a Peshastin fixture and the Lietzs' are locals through and through. Thanks for a great stay!


Beautiful views & wonderful price!

3.6 on May 24, 2011

Cozy B&B just outside of Leavenworth. Verne (the owner) was wonderful and very attentive to us (his wife Helen was visiting their son in Florida and Verne was left to tend to the guest's). He did a great job of making sure that we were happy and comfortable. The breakfast was hearty, the bed was comfortable, and the price was excellent!


At home with the Lietz's

3.0 on October 11, 2010

Comfortable, home style. No locks on the bedroom doors, clean. Did expect pets, not known. A little hard to find. Breakfast was great.


Love Lietz!

5 on September 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here almost 2 years ago, and we absolutely loved it! Helen and Verne (the owners) are the sweetest people you will ever meet, with lots of interesting stories to tell. Their place is very cozy, and located just mere minutes outside of Leavenworth. The particular night we were there, we happened to be the only ones staying in the house, so it was a really cool experience. It felt like staying at Grandma and Grandpa's house or something. They treated us like family, and in the morning, there was an incredible breakfast waiting for us on the table which overlooks the river. The food was ridiculously good! Everything was homemade from scratch from the muffins, to the canned peaches. My husband and I often talk about how much fun we had, and how much we would love to visit again! If you are considering staying here, don't even give it a second thought.


Fantastic stay

4.8 on August 04, 2010

We stayed one night in this lovely place. Helen and Verne gave us a terrific time. They are gorgeous! Had a very warm welcome and a delicious breakfast.


Weekend getaway

4.8 on June 06, 2010

Helen and Verne (and their four legged friends) were more than I could have asked for. They are the most welcoming and gracious people, between drawing out maps for areas of interest to offering me meatloaf when I returned home hungry because most restaurants were closed. I never felt like I was a 'visitor,' but more like a friend. The weather was so nice that after a day of activities, I returned to have a nice glass of wine and a lovely conversation instead of going out to discover the nightlife in town. And don't forget breakfast! Oh goodness, Helen is quite the cook. I only stayed two nights, but I left with two hugs and a warm heart. Cheesy of me, I know! But oh so good.


Warm hospitality!

4.2 on May 18, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay with the Lietz's very much and would stay with them again just for the opportunity to enjoy their company. The good food, quiet neighborhood, beautiful riverfront, and comfortable bed are just bonuses!


A Snowy Experience

4.0 on January 20, 2009

My wife and I were on our way to Winthrop for Xmas and decided to break the journey from SEATAC in a B&B rather than an hotel. Airport delays and bad weather over the pass made our arrival time or even arrival at all in doubt. Mr Leitz could not have been more helpful and accomodating and stayed up until we eventually arrived at 0130 in the morning, with our regular phone calls to update eagerly welcomed. There was adequate parking in the snow and a path had been cleared to the house, with all lights left on to help our arrival. In the morning the breakfast was superb, almost like home in Scotland, but by far the best we have had in the US. The whole experience was exactely as expected and the hosts could not have been any more helpful of friendly. Very many thanks for a supberb start to our Xmas Holiday.


2nd time

4.4 on October 24, 2008

always friendly, great home atmosphere, super breakfast, nice location, by far best value in area at festival time.


OK bed and AMAZING breakfast

3.6 on October 19, 2008

The bed was stiff, the bathroom shared, the decor 1970s. But the breakfast more than made up for any lack in the amenities: homemade cinnamon rolls, eggs, sausage, fruits, and everything cooked just the way we liked it. Yummy!


Lovely Stay with the Lietz's

4.2 on August 18, 2008

Helen and Verne are wonderful hosts. They were very welcoming and generous. This tranquil riverside B&B is Leavenworth's hidden gem.


Away from it all.

5 on August 12, 2008

We spent a much needed rest away from jobs, family, friends, household chores, and all the other time demanding facets of our lives. The room was lovely, breakfast was great, and our hosts were wonderful. We were delighted to just sit and visit with them. Our time in Leavenworth was short but very refreshing. We shopped, dined, and were lucky enough to catch a performance of Bavarian dancers. This was one of our most enjoyable stays anywhere. We look forward to staying with them again when we can. Drifting off to sleep with the sound of the river cannot be replicated by a machine. Natalia and Doyle Horton.


Very Pleasant Weekend

4.2 on May 28, 2008

Owner was friendly, wonderful breakfasts, shared living area and wifi, piano, etc. It was like being at home.


ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL !!!

5 on January 17, 2008

We are repeat guests at Lietz B&B. No one goes out of their way more than "Grandma" Helen to make sure you get a fantastic breakfast and often offers snacks at night not covered. The river sounds help put you to sleep at night in the tastefully decorated rooms. We will continue to stay there whenever we cross the mountains.


Once they had our $ . . . .

1.6 on January 07, 2008

My best friend and I wanted to spend a special holiday in Levenworth . . we had only requested to stay one night, but stayed an additional night per "house rules". Upon entering the home and within 10 minutes questioned "payment due"? With cash in hand of $200 and unable to make change of my $20's --made final exchange in the am. . . It was not comfortable for us—nothing in the town to do .. . .our rooms were shared with 4 rooms with one bathroom . . and after shoveling for 4 hours did not even offer a glass of water . ..or come inside where it is safe and snowblowers can clear for a safe return . This was my first time here and did not realize it was so rural and far out of town--no reasonable parking in the snow in front of mailbox checkout time at noon, yet "booted out" and whenever snow blowers arrive (resided there for years with no answers) as we shoveled for hours to get out of the "rural area", we left in unsafe conditions and shoveled in snow for hours to leave . . .it is rural, away from town. . .speaking for myself it was a horrible experience and will never visit again . . .

Innkeeper Response
The woman knew when she made the reservation that we had a two-night minimum stay and that this is a ranch style home with three bedrooms (not 4) sharing one bathroom. A plowed space was provided in front of the garage for both customer vehicles. Due to wet snow plugging the snow blower, 10 inches of snow was hand shoveled by me to get her car out to the road. We did not "boot them out," and they could have stayed for several more hours, as we had no incoming guests. I suggested that they delay departure as the county snow plow would be along. However,we have no way of knowing what time the plows will come because it depends on how much work they have to do with higher priority. In addition,one of them had to leave for Arizona from Seattle at 6:00 P.M. The two women and I started shoveling snow but two young neighbors came out and took over their shovels and later installed their tire chains. It took about an hour to get get their car out to the main street where a snow plow met us, not four hours. The women then drove off without returning to our house. My wife would have made tea or coffee if they had wanted it. During the shoveling, my wife came out to check on me because I'm 84 years old and found that a pair of her fairly expensive gloves were in the car. The woman said, "Oh, I didn't know who they belonged to." She surely knew they didn't belong to her. As they started to drive away, I mentioned that the two young men should be offered something for the shoveling and chain installation, but the driver just looked at me and drove off. As she says, they "won't be coming back," even if they were to ask. This is the first really bad experience we've have in 25 years and four months of B&B operation. This woman is not only a thief, she's a liar.


A Refreshing Hideaway

5 on September 04, 2007

My husband and I spent our first-ever night at the Lietz B&B. We were more than delighted with the warm, homey atmosphere of Helen and Verne's home. Both Helen and Verne were such gracious hosts that we felt like we were visiting the home of old friends. Thank you both for making our overnight stay so relaxing. Double thanks, Helen, for the yummy blueberry french toast breakfast!


Great Stay with the Lietzs

4.4 on September 03, 2007

While by no means a house of grandure the Lietz B&B is full of homey charm. Set above the Wenatchee river where it can be overheard at night in cozy little rooms you feel more like visiting your grandparents than a bed and breakfast. This family like feel continues onto breakfast where you are offered anything and everything in their kitchen. They even gave us a bag of recently purchased local pears to take with us on our trip home. Nothing grand here, just simple down home love.


Just like going to Gandma and Grandpa's house.

4.8 on August 25, 2007

What a delightful B & B, its just like going to Grandma and Grandpa's, Verne and Helen Lietz are wonderful people and made our stay very relaxing. The rooms are not fancy but they are clean and very homey, breakfast was outstanding and more than worth the price of a bed, if you stay at the Lietz's B & B be sure to ask Helen to make her wonderful Lemon Muffins.


Lovely Weekend at Lietz's B&B

4.6 on June 04, 2007

We made a reservation to stay here because the room rate met our needs. Upon arriving though we found that the little B&B was far beyond our expectations. The room was nice and even though we had to share a main bathroom with other guests, we had a wonderful time. The Lietz's are wonderful people and a real pleasure to spend time with. Our stay was relaxing and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay there again.


Beautiful ski trails, delicious food, and great people

4.8 on January 15, 2007

A true B&B experience, staying with the Lietzes is like a home stay with your favorite grandparents. Verne and Helen are welcoming, friendly, and extremely knowledgable about the area, having lived here for more than 20 years. The rooms are cozy, and two of them overlook the river. For my money, the cutest one is the small bedroom that doesn't, though! The food is OUTSTANDING, I can't say enough about it. We ate enough each day to skip lunch, and we were skiing most days. Every day we had eggs, bacon or sausage, orange juice, fruit salad, and a main entree that was delicious - cinnamon buns, a potato souffle dish, and french toast. Note: I have some significant food allergies, and Helen went out of her way to make sure that I had plenty of delicious food to eat, every day. A great place to stay if you're allergic to wheat or dairy!


Lietz's River Front B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $75 - $85
  • Reviews (22) 4.3
  • Rooms 3

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5095487504
  • Mobile 1-9802541691
Top