Recent Reviews in Wanchese, North Carolina

Quaint and clean at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on September 20, 2016

Our Island House experience was very nice. Jean, the proprietor, was delightful. She made us feel completely welcome. Breakfast was excellent and the room very clean I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quaint and interesting place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


We had a wonderful time! at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2016

We visited Island House to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was our second visit here and we knew our stay would be wonderful. Jeanne is the perfect hostess and serves an amazing breakfast each morning. As an added bonus, she has beach towels, beach umbrellas and chairs for your use. The gardens are beautiful and were in full bloom. We will visit her again!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the B&B at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on August 22, 2016

We were in the area for a wedding and stayed 4 nights - the Bed & Breakfast was perfect for us and much cheaper than the local hotels. Breakfast was delicious - loved it all, but especially the grits & cooked apples. We enjoyed the morning conversations with Jeanne. We will visit again if in the area. I would have selected "Outstanding", but for some reason the review wouldn't let me. Thanks Roy & Jeanne!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2016

What a beautiful B&B! My wife and I had to go to OBX for a working getaway. All of the hotels were at peak season prices. What a wonderful find Island House of Wanchese was! We will definitely be back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very good value in an area of ballooned prices at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on June 17, 2016

This was our third stay at Island House. It's a bit out of the way, down in Wanchese, but actually that is not a downside. It isn't that far out of the way. Wanchese is a quiet, pleasant little burg. The Island House itself is a fine old house, one that the owners have nicely decorated, without the excess of feaux-feaux that marks so many Victorian/Victorian era B&B's. Breakfasts are nicely done, solid meals, rather than tryouts for a gourmet show on Food Channel. We have not been disappointed by any of the breakfasts, all of which have gotten us well past the usual lunch hour on our jaunts around the area. The place is exceptionally clean. The owners also breed dogs, but that enterprise is well-separated from the B&B. We'll stay here again, next trip up to Roanoke and the upper OB.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful! at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2016

Quintessential B&B. Loved it. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Great room at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 22, 2015

My wife and I love the Island House of Wanchese. The owner was very gracious and the staff was helpful. I would go back to this place in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Fun time on the island at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on August 08, 2015

This was our 2nd visit to the B&B. Rooms are great! Owner/staff are very helpful and gracious. Will go for 3rd one day.

View more reviews for this inn


Great retreat from the beach crowds. at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on June 04, 2015

Such a nice, affordable place to retreat to after the beach crowds. Helpful and friendly innkeeper, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, sweet dog!

View more reviews for this inn


Bill and Becky's excellent vacation at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2014

Everything was wonderful. We especially appreciated that we were allowed to bring our dog along.

View more reviews for this inn


OBX getaway at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on September 02, 2014

Decent place to stay. If you're looking for a place on or close to the beach, this isn't the place.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely experience at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on July 09, 2014

Loved the area, easy to get around, accommodations very nice, breakfast wonderful, inn keeper very personable

View more reviews for this inn


First Outer Banks Trip at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on July 05, 2014

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and we were not disappointed with the Island of Wanchese B & B. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were clean, and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B; great location and value! at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 04, 2014

My wife and I just returned from staying four nights at the Island House and we really enjoyed it! The house is lovely and well decorated and the gardens are stunning and well kept. Breakfasts were great, and Jeanne and her staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable (plus we enjoyed chatting with them at breakfast!). Jeanne upgraded our room at no extra charge when we arrived, and she provided beach chairs and accessories and several good recommendations for restaurants in the area. The location was perfect for us as we wanted a spot that was very close to the Outer Banks but not situated in a highly commercialized area. The rates were very reasonable, so overall this was an excellent value. We hope to return on a future trip, and we definitely recommend this B&B for others who are travelling to the area! - Dave & Patty

View more reviews for this inn


Very Nice Old Fashioned House. at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on June 30, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. It was very quiet. The house is very old with antiques throughout. It felt like being in the past. Jeanne was very nice, and she makes really excellent breakfast. She'll sit with you drinking coffee and chat. She suggested to us a beach we could visit that didn't have a lot of people, and the beach was great. I would certainly stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Manteo Weekend at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on May 14, 2014

Great stay this weekend for home and garden tour. House is prettier in person and great garden gazebo to sit in. House is lovely and owner was nice to talk to at breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location.Quiet location with beautiful gardens. at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 27, 2013

Location is on Roanoak Island which is a short drive to the beaches. The Island offers a non commercial vacation spot with an active fishing village on one end and a upscale town at the other. Beaches and restaurants are only a short drive. Located for close access to the National seashore south,or happening places north

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful getaway at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2013

The Island House was a wonderful choice for a weekend getaway. The hostess, Jeanne, was fantastic, the food was delicious and the room was fabulous! I would highly recommend booking it.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable & Pleasant at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on September 05, 2013

A bit far from the husttle and buzzle of the Outerbanks. The area is quiet, pleasant, and a perfect location to relax if not a bit boring. Overall we liked it.

View more reviews for this inn


Adequate, Victorian, lovely gardens at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

2.0 reviewed on August 15, 2013

Breakfast was very ordinary, bathroom overly accessorized and dirty underneath all the baskets. Beautiful setting and gardens.

View more reviews for this inn


We had a good time. Perfect at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on June 30, 2013

We just wanted a place to stay that was handy and comfortable. Loved it. Good time and the folks there are very nice.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on June 28, 2013

Everything was wonderful. Jeanne was a very nice and pleasant host. She also had good suggestions of where to go and where to dine. This was our first time at a B&B and this was a very good experience. The breakfast was always very delicious and it was nice to sit and talk with Jeanne. One suggestion we have is to maybe put a Keurig in the "snack area". This way guests could have a cup of coffee anythime. The coffee with breakfast was great, but it would have been nice to have coffee available before breakfast (also in the afternoon/evening). Overall this was a great experience for my husband and I and would definitely stay at a B&B again.

View more reviews for this inn


Island house Roanoke, NC at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

3.2 reviewed on June 15, 2013

We had a delightful and relaxing stay at the Island House B&B. Jeanne the owner was a sweet lady and very knowledgable About the Outer Banks. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms Were comfortable and nicely decorated. The house was nicely decorated with Memorabilia and collectables. Outside grounds had nice gardens and a gazebo for relaxing in. Everything you need and could want was there. Will recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay away from the crowds at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on June 09, 2013

Quiet, secluded, far from the crowds yet only a five minute drive to the beaches. Great value, good food and will definitely come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice little B&B at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on May 21, 2013

We had a good experience. Our room was nice and comfortable, and spotless, cleaner than I expected after reading other reviews. The food was good, there was a nice spread - meat, potatoes, grits, fruit, yogurt, etc. Jeanne is very sweet and nice to talk to.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet,comfortable B&B with interesting surroundings. at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 04, 2012

Breakfasts are great and plentiful.Nice garden area with screened structure.Very good area resturants any many things to do.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic time! at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 03, 2012

My husband and I went for my birthday and we had a lovely time. Jeanne was very sweet and a great cook! She even upgraded our room when we got there. The beds were Number Comfort Select beds which made us feel like we were in a luxurious hotel, and we got to wake up to the smell of bacon and pancakes. The house is cozy and comfortable, and it wasn't to far from anything near Nags Head. My only complaint was the shower in our room (Zoe's I think) was uncomfortable because it was so small, but I looked at the shower in the adjacent room and it was much better. Next time!

View more reviews for this inn


Fall Get-Away to OBX at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 24, 2012

Jeanne was a great hostess! The gardens and house are beautiful! Jeanne and Roy have collected many interesting finds and antiques over the years. The room we stayed in was very nice and quaint. We decided to try a B&B this time, since we are often unhappy with the beds at the local hotels. We were pleased that the bed was so comfortable. The only reason I did not rate the cleanliness Five Stars, was little things I noticed - mainly spider webs in the outside sitting area and one in our room. Also, she has lots of albums, books, etc - so, I noticed some of them could use a cleaning. However, it is a huge house and takes a lot of upkeep. Our bathroom was spotless. We were there several days and they changed our sheets! So, overall the house was very clean! We love going to the OBX in what is considered the "off season." However, there was lots going on to see and do! We will definetly go back to the Island House of Wanchese!

View more reviews for this inn


A Jewel in Wanchese at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2012

A lovely, charming B & B. Quiet and welcoming. Delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable at Island House of Wanchese (Wanchese, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on August 12, 2012

The owner breeds Westies and she brought them out for us to see. They were adorable! In general, this B&B is a lower cost way to stay near (but not on) the beach. You can drive straight to Coquina Beach and avoid the commercialism of Nags Head. Plus, enjoy the sites on Roanoke Island itself.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Island House of Wanchese (4.33)
Top
}