The Halcyon Suite Du Jour Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful memories at the Halcyon Suite

5 on August 26, 2014

The Halcyon Suite was our home away from home. Gretchen, our bed and breakfast hostess was so friendly and kind. She told us how to get there from the airport and told us what restaurants to eat at. The suite had a beautiful view of Elliott Bay and pier 91 so we saw our cruise ship in the morning. We loved having breakfast on the enchanting patio with flowers and vines. The suite was decorated with unique art work and was clean and tidy! We would love to go there again!


A treasure to experience

4.8 on August 14, 2014

This was our 1st time visiting the Seattle area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Halcyon. We took a chance staying outside of the city center, at a 1 room B&B, and are very glad we did! It is a large very private room on a secluded lush landscaped hillside, north of the city. It opens on to a covered deck surrounded by flowers and trees, with a nice distant view of a small cruise ship harbor and the Olympic Mts. West facing, we were treated to beautiful sunsets each night. The room has all the usual amenities, including a small fridge and microwave. Gretchen is a delightful hostess; also very helpful with any questions, and respectful of your privacy. Her breakfasts were healthy, very tasty, always different, and more than enough. Having them delivered to our room the day before, to eat in the privacy of our room/deck, made for a very romantic atmosphere. The only caution is that it is not handicapped accessible. You need to walk down a fairly steep outdoor walkway to access the room because of its hillside location. And the neighborhood streets are quite hilly and cobblestone, with very narrow sidewalks. Once we got the hang of its location, we walked (30 minutes) to the Space Needle, a whole foods market, and good restaurants. We also navigated with city buses and cabs. At the end of busy tourist days this was a wonderful room to come “home” to. Joe & Alison, Albany NY


A gem in a great location

5 on November 07, 2012

We had a great weeklong stay at Halcyon Suite. The location is ideal, with easy access to downtown and a surprisingly quick commute to the UW and other north Seattle neighborhoods such as Fremont and Ballard. We really enjoyed exploring the wonderful historic Queen Anne neighborhood on foot -- beautiful old homes with lovely gardens, and a couple of the city's best viewpoints are within walking distance. Furnished with a keen eye for quality and detail, the suite is very comfortable and thoughtfully done and has a private deck with amazing views. We stayed here while our own Seattle house was having floors refinished, but would certainly recommend it for vacationers or visitors. The owner is helpful, knowledgeable and charming. It's a hidden gem kind of place, and an excellent value.


Quiet little get away just far enough away from the city to get the best of both worlds.

3.8 on September 16, 2012

Nice studio sized room with lush greenery surrounding a very cozy balcony that we thoroughly enjoyed. Innkeeper provided tasty breakfast that we enjoyed at our leisure. The view from the balcony was a hit for us!


Magnificent view from a delightful apartment

4.6 on September 27, 2011

Great hospitality to match just about the best view in Seattle. Staying at this delightful lady's suite was a memorable experience of the very nicest kind.


Wonderful place!

5 on January 14, 2011

We have been renting the Halcyon Suite for the past 3-years for our in-laws when they come to visit us from Germany. They like this place so much that they will ONLY stay here when they come to Seattle. The location is phenomenal being just 10 minutes from Downtown Seattle, the local bus is just a few steps away allowing you to be able to easily visit Seattle without a car and the hospitality that Gretchen has shown is far above our expectations. Plus, it has one of the best views of the Olympic Mountains across Puget Sound.


halcycon Suite

4.8 on May 29, 2009

Great place to stay. Close to downtown and great views. Local people that visited were very impressed and will recomend to their friends.


LOVERLY STAY AT THE HALCYON SUITE

5 on May 12, 2009

My husband was having an art show at Fountainhead Gallery atop Queen Anne Hill! We stayed at The Halcyon Suite last weekend and we had the best time! The room, bathroom, view, patio, breakfast, privacy, landscaping and more were perfect! Gretchen-The Innkeeper was very friendly and gracious and so helpful too! We look forward to our next visit to The Suite and Queen Anne Hill and another art show! Nancy & Mitch Portland, Oregon


Oh What a view

4.8 on October 13, 2008

I was very pleased with our stay at this B & B. The room was bright and clean and there was a beautiful view of the harbor from the deck. I found Gretchen to be very friendly and helpful when questioned on attractions in the area. I liked the fact that there were printed instructions on the table as to where to find things and the B & B is located close to downtown. I would definitely recommend this B & B to a friend.


excellent veiw

4.4 on October 12, 2008

veiw from balcony was awesome. Gretchen very friendly and knowledgeable of the city, very helpful.


Halcyon du Jour

3.6 on September 10, 2008

Lovely simple accomodation with a view from the lovely private deck of the Sound and far shore. Two fabulous evenings of sunsets and wine. Some noise from the RR tracks


TERRIBLE BED & PRIVACY INVADED!

1.6 on August 28, 2008

Reservation for 8/25-29/08 Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised with outside large patio deck & view of Elliott Bay. Inside the room was pleasant looking, clean & nicely furnished. Sleeping in the Queen bed proved to be a very uncomfortable nights sleep. The bed dips in the middle & the head of bed is lower than the foot of bed. Wednesday night 8/27, I couldn't take it anymore & slept at foot of bed. Gretchen the owner lives in above apt and has enclosed stairway leading down to service door that opens right into suite,allowing Gretchen access at any time. We returned on Wednesday evening to our room only to have Gretchen knocking on the door wanting to give us fresh towels & empty trash. There were already fresh towels under sink in bathroom. In advertisement for suite it stated self serve continental breakfast. What that relly means is Gretchen continually comes into the room moving our/your things around while she puts next mornings breakfast into the refrigerator. This type of service was very invasive to us. My husband had put his diet pepsi in the frig & couldn't find them only to discover Gretchen had moved them into the sliding bin instead. We left our unfinished drinks on counter only to find them gone when we returned. The large wooden balcony is quite lovely with plenty of seating area for eating or just taking in the view. The shrubbery however is very over grown & once you sit down you have no more view. You do a have a large picture window & lovely view of Elliott Bay while relaxing on the bed. However, the Queen bed really needs replacing. I had read another review regarding the Queen bed having a dip & she was right. We departed a day early, I just couldn't take another frustrating night on that uncomfortable bed & having our privacy invaded. Peg Pasadena,Ca


Terrific Value

3.6 on June 15, 2008

Lovely hide-a-way in a nice neighborhood just a few minutes drive from downtown Seattle. Kizmet the cat made us feel right at home...and Gretchen, the owner, also was very welcoming and helpful. Excellent value.


Queen Anne's Secret Hide-a-Way!!

5 on March 11, 2008

I have enjoyed staying at this wonderful B & B on several occassions. It is so close to downtown yet you feel far-away. The sunrises, sunsets, and views are AMAZING!! I recommend this place to everyone! The Innkeeper is great too!


The Halcyon Suite Du Jour

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $195
  • Reviews (14) 4.4
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2062827841
  • Mobile 1-2063996911

View details

Top