Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

What a find!

4.6 on November 02, 2013

This is an especially good find for the University District. It is within walking distance of the university, dozens of restaurants, shopping, and public transit. Despite the crowded neighborhood we were always able to park nearby with the visitor pass the inn provides. Yes, there are those 27 steps but the staff were quick to offer their assistance with luggage. The rooms were lovely and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and not too sweet. The staff graciously accommodated both our vegetarian and our gluten-free travelers. The microwave and small frig in the common area were a godsend for us. We were pleased to see fruit along with the usual sweets available for snacking. I look forward to returning some day.


A Nice Place To Stay

3.8 on September 23, 2013

The breakfast is excellent, the staff very helpful and friendly and the rooms very nice. The only downfall is the amount of steps you need to climb from the street to the front door of the main house (stopped counting at around forty) and if you are in one of the cottages two more sections of stairs. For anyone with leg or back problems this could become difficult, also think of the luggage, remember this is on a hill.

Innkeeper Response
and while you are remembering that the Inn is indeed on a hill, Remember also that our staff is always, willing and happy to assist you with bringing your luggage up to your room ( and back down too). To keep the record straight, there are exactly 27 steps from the sidewalk to the front door of our main house, trust us, my mother in law was the first to count them many years ago, and yes the Cascade Suite is just like we say on the website, at the top of the hill, and that is a few more stairs up. We love the seclusion and quiet that our wooded off street hillside location offers and are always happy to assist you with bringing your bags up to your room. I am delighted that the guest enjoyed the rest of their stay with us, we do strive to please.


Great B&B

5 on November 17, 2012

Nice and quiet place to stay. Took care of all my needs. The breakfasts were gourmet, even for this wheat free girl. They even put the lights on for me for when I got back at night. The bed was comfortable too. And for those cold wintery nights, taking a shower with the heat fan was a nice touch. Would recommend this place to stay to anyone in a heartbeat.


This is the Inn to stay in in Seattle

5 on November 06, 2012

This location was excellent for visiting our son at the University of Washington. The breakfasts were incredibly good and filling. The seating for eight at the breakfast table made for stimulating conversation in the mornings. The morning newspapers in the common room were a nice addition. The bedroom was quite and roomy.


Seattle Vacation 2012

5 on September 24, 2012

We had a good stay here for six nights and would do it again. It is a beautiful home that is well maintained and quiet. It sits in a great neighborhood that is only a few short blocks from a park great for walking. The old house has great charm but is very up to date. The food was terrific and just as it appears in the pictures. The rooms were just as pictured also so there were no surprises. Service was great and the innkeepers very welcoming. Don’t worry about booking this place you will have a great stay.


Would return in a heartbeat

5 on June 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B for one night while we were in Seattle and I fell in love with it. The Scallop Chamber was incredibly romantic and the service was outstanding. It is tucked in a neighborhood that is near the University and fun places to visit are close by, but it maintains an aura of being a countryside B&B. The breakfast was also delicious and we got the chance to talk with some other people who were visiting the area during our relaxing morning. When I return to this wonderful city, I will stay in no other place except this B&B.


Great place to stay

3.8 on June 28, 2011

Comfortable suite, healthy and delicious breakfasts, great location for getting downtown, to the university, to other neighbourhoods and parks. Warm and friendly staff. Would return if we visit Seattle in the future.


Competitive value, excellent service

4.0 on June 07, 2011

We spent five days at the Chambered Nautilus in May of 2011. We are a family of four, and stayed in the Ravenna suite (a small apartment). It was exceptionally clean and well serviced. But trolling for parking late at night with children aged 5 and 7 after a long day can be a hassle (yet, it is balanced by the fact that the parking is free w/the pass provided, unlike most lodging in Seattle). The breakfasts were amazing, and without asking when one morning the five year old did not want what was served, a scrambled egg appeared. The neighborhood is interesting, and only a few blocks away is a laundry-mat, groceries, and several upscale shops. Rapid, direct in-room cable internet was an absolute necessity and provided free. The inn keeper and staff were gracious, funny and kind. The trip into DT Seattle is a fast hop, and the zoo is nearby. My only suggestion-I would advise replacing the fold-out couch and have a few more pans for those of us that prep food on a trip. I would definitely stay again!


Home Away from Home

4.8 on May 14, 2011

This was my third stay at the Chambered Nautilus and it was a pleasure. I feel welcomed and comfortable. I felt like I was at home and not at a hotel. I slept well both nights. The breakfast was amazing. I have enjoyed Sunrise, Bird's Nest and this time, The Scallop Chamber. Each one was very comfortable and restful.


Hidden gem close to the University of Washington

4.6 on May 04, 2011

Love, love, love this B&B... it soothes my soul. I make it out to Seattle at least twice a year and always try to spend at least a night here despite the fact I have plenty of friends and families to stay with. The rooms are comfortable without being too "cute" and Victorian; the breakfast is always terrific. Cookies available all the time. Joyce, the owner, is always warm and welcoming. Beware the steps to get to the place...my older parents did not appreciate hauling their stuff up narrow steps.


PLEASANTLY SURPRISED!

4.0 on April 27, 2011

After calling the wrong number and booking this B&B, I thought I'd stick with it and give it a chance when typically with a teenager we stay in a hotel. But this was perfect. The room was larger then any hotel. We stayed on the 3rd floor that has rooms with private full baths. It was very clean and they served hot breakfast in the a.m. I would not hesitate to stay again.


A delightful find!

5 on April 26, 2011

Want a change from the ordinary? Stay at the Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast where the accomodations are clean, quiet and beautiful. The food the next day was superior and dining with fellow travelers from around the world made the stay especially fun. We'd highly recommend this spot in Seattle in place of any hotel we've stayed in.


A true B & B!

4.6 on April 09, 2011

A very warm welcome, comfy/cozy rooms and AMAZING breakfasts. Truly special.


Quaint and charming place to stay

4.6 on March 20, 2011

This is such an adorable bed and breakfast! The house is full of charm and the rooms are spacious and well-maintained. The staff is so friendly and the breakfasts were amazing. Definitely a hidden gem worth exploring next time you're in Seattle!


Feels Like Home

5 on September 01, 2010

My wife and I have stayed here several times and have always felt refreshed upon leaving. Rooms are clean and comfortable and quiet at night. The staff is wonderful and the food is delicious. We've never had a bad meal here. Coffee and hot tea along with a treats like cookies are available all day and night. It really feels like coming home each night, even though you're on vacation. Highly recommended!


Outstanding

5 on August 16, 2010

My son's wedding in Seattle was the end of July. He recommended the Nautilus because it is dog friendly! Imagine that! A B and B that takes dogs! We reserved a Suite and even though at the last minute decided to leave our dogs behind, we enjoyed the additional space the Suite offered! All staff were very friendly and we loved the family atmosphere. The location can't be beat as we walked to shops, a park, the University, and restaurants and the public transportation to the water front. The Inn's beautiful gardens and overall atmosphere gave us the relaxing diversion from the pre-wedding activities and chaos! Thank you Joyce and Staff, we'll be back!


Great B&B!!

5 on April 13, 2010

My wife and I travel much of the year, nationally and internationally. We try to find "interesting" venues such as "special" B&Bs around the world. We really hit the jackpot with the Chambered Nautilus. Wonderful breakfasts, charming and efficient hostesses, interesting guests ...and great accomodations. Five stars!!


Our Seattle Oasis

5 on April 13, 2010

For our regular Seattle family visits, we divide them into those when we can stay at Chambered Nautilus (great!!), and those when we can't (less great). This is a most friendly and special B&B: wonderful rooms, fabulous (and healthy) breakfasts, and always available tea, fruit, and fresh baked cookies. Joyce and her staff are welcoming and do a fine job. Location is great for the University, walking distance to a number of nice restaurants, and a 5 minute drive to downtown. Royce & Alan, VA


Wow! What a Wonderful Vacation!!!

5 on April 12, 2010

My husband and I traveled from New Jersey to Seattle to visit our new grandson (3 weeks old!). This is our 4th stay at the Chambered Nautilus. We arrived to the smell of freshly made, yummy chocolate chip cookies and the beauty of a warm fire in the living room fireplace! Joyce, our personable in-keeper, is always avilable to meet your every need. Her staff has been with her for years, and create your breakfast to your specifications! The rooms are cozy, warm, and very comfortable. The Inn is within walking distamce to an amazing, very large shopping center. You will enjoy your stay at the Chambered Nautilus immensely!


Great value close to campus

4.2 on April 07, 2010

The Chambered Nautilus is a beautiful inn, the staff is very friendly, and the rooms and bathrooms were very well kept and clean. The B&B is in a great location, the University of Washington campus was an easy walk away. Our 2 night stay was great, and breakfast was delicious!


Fabulous B&B, beautiful house and location, excellent service.

5 on March 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chambered Nautilus for 2 nights and loved it. The house is gorgeous, sitting on the side of a hill in the University District, with it's lovely garden, beautiful rooms and cozy living room and dining hall. The staff made us feel very comfortable and welcomed and the breakfast was excellent and very filling. The rooms are very private and quiet and the views are superb when the sun is shining! We caught the bus into the city several times which is a 10 minute walk from the B&B. It was so much easier than having a car in the city and we enjoyed the scenic walk through the U District. I highly recommend the Chambered Nautilus.


Wonderful place to stay

4.4 on March 21, 2010

Recently stayed for 4 nights in the Northwest Chamber and was very impressed with the cleanliness and cozy feeling. The service during breakfast was exceptional and the location was in a great spot near the university. The only downside was the variety of breakfasts. Of the four breakfasts we had, two were pancakes (chocolate chip and pumpkin) and two were quiches (southwestern). They were both very good, but I was hoping to have some of the breakfasts that were shown on the website. That being said, I highly recommend staying at the Chambered Nautilus.


Great B&B in Seattle

4.8 on August 28, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent three days at The Chambered Nautilus. Stayed in the Scallop Chamber...the largest room on the 3rd floor (but still felt cozy). This room has its own open porch/deck. WiFi throughout the Inn is important to me. All staff members were friendly, polite and responsive. All three breakfasts were different and delicious. First floor living room is comfortable ... great place to read the morning papers (New York Times & Seattle Times). We will stay here on future trips to visit our family in Seattle.


Excellent B&B in Seattle!

4.2 on July 07, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Chambered Nautilus B&B in Seattle. We stayed in the Rose Room which was very comfortable and spacious. It has a balcony attached which was great for morning coffee and afternoon wine. Joyce (owner/innkeeper) was very friendly and accommodating. The B&B is located very close to the Univ. of WA, shopping, and many delicious restaurants. The food was very good and the staff was very attentive. I would stay there again and would recommend this B&B to family and friends.


Superb in Seattle!

5 on June 04, 2009

This 1915 mansion tucked in a wooded residential area adjacent to UW is within walking distance to University Village (upscale shopping mall) and several nice restaurants. Downtown Seattle is 10 minutes away by car or transit. The superb location is matched by the accommodations of this lovely B&B. Joyce (owner/proprietor) is welcoming, warmly hospitable, and efficiently informative. The rooms (we have stayed in 2) are clean, comfortable, and absolutely charming. The modern conveniences mesh delightfully with the splendid antique furnishings. The coffee is excellent, the cookies abundant, and the breakfasts exceptional. Having stayed in numerous B&B's for more than 20 years, this one is nothing less than outstanding. What a delightful discovery! We will be back (again) :)


Highly Recommended

5 on June 03, 2009

I would highly recommend staying at Chambered Nautilus B&B. What a hidden jewel nestled in Seattle. Friendly, attentive staff, marvelous breakfasts, amazing oatmeal cookies served all day long, and the most splendid rooms I have had the pleasure to stay in. You will not be disappointed. We stayed 3 nights in May 2008 in the Scalloped Room which is filled with charming romantic appeal. Comfortable bed, bedding, towels, and styled with adorable charm. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend spending your stay here and would come back often.


Nothing Better!

5 on May 08, 2009

My experience here was phenomenal! Our room was spotless, gorgeously quaint, full of character and romantic! We loved dormer seat, a fire place, and a really, really comfortable bed! Value was amazing! Price includes a superb breakfast, water in the room, chocolates, and coffee/tea, fruits and cookies available 24hours! The entire inn is beautifully decorated from top to toe. The garden is gorgeous! I am allergic to wheat and milk and the staff still came up with a series of amazing breakfasts and had all the substitutes I needed, with great taste too! I can't imagine that any other inn will ever live up to this one! Thank you Chambered Nautilus!


Staying with friends

4.4 on May 05, 2009

I am 55, traveling alone to visit my kids at UW. I was VERY comfortable here, felt secure, welcomed. This was better than any other place I had stayed in the UW area.


Exceptional Bed and Breakfast!

5 on April 27, 2009

The warm, caring staff at the Chambered Nautilus combines with the comfort and charm of the rooms to make our every stay a delight. For over 10 years we have stayed at least once a year while visiting Seattle. It is the standard by which we measure all other B&B's. Delicious breakfasts, warm chocolate chip cookies, hot coffee, tea, and good conversation are part of every day. The rooms are immaculate and quiet. This is a don't miss treasure in the U District.


We felt comfortable and cared for.

4.2 on April 23, 2009

We felt comfortable and at home. The staff was friendly and responded to all our requests promptly and graciously. The decor is charming with two fireplaces making it very cozy. Location very close to the University and to excellent shopping. We had everything we needed - tea and coffee and snacks always available, computer and printer, etc. We will return to this inn whenever we visit our son at UW,


Great place to stay

4.8 on April 17, 2009

This is a charming and very friendly B&B in a great location for the university and easy to get to downtown. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, and an interesting group of guests -- I look forward to returning!


very beautiful B&B

4.8 on February 04, 2009

we loved our stay at the Chambered Nautilus, and we recommend it to all of our friends and family.


Great B&B

4.2 on January 05, 2009

This is right in the University District, close to shopping, food and other activities. If you are familiar with navigating Seattle, you can easily get around the backways, but the location is close to main streets that will take you to freeway access. The suite we stayed in was warm and cozy and we were able to settle in right away. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast superb.


Delightful B&B

5 on May 18, 2007

Delightful B&B, convenient to the University and all area sights and activities. Set on a hill, surrounded by flowering gardens. Inside are welcoming common areas, with fireplaced living room (where tempting tea and cookies await), sunporch, and dining room where delicious breakfasts are served. We enjoyed fresh fruit, granola (homemade), and French toast, with lots of good coffee. My room was handsome in deep red and white decor, with a great shower and a convenient desk (with wi-fi) for working. Also loved the third floor room with wainscotted walls and corner fireplace. Gracious helpful innkeeper and staff. Highly recommend.


Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2065222536
  • Fax 1-2065280898
  • Toll free 1-8005458459

Visit Website »

View details

Top