Bed & Breakfast Inn Seattle Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Great, but not for awkward newlyweds

3.4 on July 18, 2014

This was the second stop for my husband and me during our honeymoon. As my sister had booked a place for us for two nights, we went in as awkward newlyweds not quite knowing what to expect. We stayed in a lower level bedroom with a full bed. These small rooms do not come with breakfast nor a private bathroom. The atmosphere of the place, though charming and cute, reminded me more of a family reunion extravaganza rather than a romantic getaway. Had I personally booked the place, I would have chosen a higher level, more spacious room with a private bath and full breakfast, and um...thicker walls. When we met the innkeeper, in talking to her, I am sure she might have accommodated us and worked with us had we not have been so... embarrassed to express concern. As newlyweds, we did spend more time in the room than probably a solo traveler or a family would spend and for the most part we were comfortable. It was very clean, after our first night our sheets were changed, the bed was okay (if a bit small for 6 foot tall hubby), robes were provided, the bathrooms were very clean, and the wifi was fine. The walls are thin and the rooms hot (July) like an old home, but they do provide fans at our convenience. If I had not been on my honeymoon I don't think I would have minded hearing the conversations in the next room over (maybe we would have heard a short story by my hilarious uncle) because the price I'm sure is great for friends or families staying together for a weekend trip to Seattle who want a little more than a hotel chain. Overall, as a poor newly married couple (emphasis: poor), we will probably not return too soon -- but we recommend the place to other families who are looking for something different than a Best Western for their buck.


A Beautiful Surprise! The Rooms Are Completely Different, And Actually Much Nicer Than What The Photos Show!

5 on April 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed here twice, the second time came after staying the first time and seeing that they had completely renovated the rooms- quite beautifully too! The rooms are clean, comfortable, and classically styled; again, different furnishings and look than what is reflected in the photos! The breakfasts were fantastic, and our hostesses went above and beyond. Great accommodations in such a great location!


Extremely helpful!

5 on March 26, 2014

Called about a potential reservation and none were available but she gave me very good suggestions of other options. Very much appreciated!


Home Away from Home

5 on June 06, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. Rooms are comfy with great views of Seattle. Will use often as we come 2x a year to see our grandkids.


Nice hospitality

3.6 on February 12, 2013

Seleima was very nice and friendly. It'd have been better if we chose a room with a bathroom, though.


Stay Here!

5 on October 01, 2012

This was our first time staying in a B&B and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The staff was amazing. So welcoming it felt like you were staying with family. It was close to restaurants, coffee houses, and pubs. We walked to the fish market in the morning and it was a great way to see Seattle. The staff and other tenants make great suggestion of must sees in Seattle and not one of those experiences let us down. We were passing through Seattle to visit San Francisco and Seattle ended up being one of our favourite parts of the trip!


Definitely enjoyed the stay:)

4.4 on October 03, 2011

Very clean, and cozy to stay at. Shannon, the owner, and Seleima, the innkeeper are very friendly. We had a wonderful stay at the accomodation. The price was fantastic!


Loved hanging around this hospitable and comfortable home

5 on September 09, 2011

Although we traveled from NY to bond with our two-year old granddaughter and her parents who live around the corner, we thoroughly enjoyed our down time at this cozy home away from home. When we weren't meeting family or friends, we relaxed in lounge chairs on the lovely front porch with tea or wine, and tourist information books and flyers found in the kitchen and living room. It was easy to walk to restaurants, and Volunteer Park's Conservatory, Asian Art Museum, and Water Tower with views of mountains in all three of Washington's National Parks. Nearby bus stops made it easy to visit downtown tourist areas and reach the LINK train to the airport. My favorite perks were the pot of early morning coffee in the living room (ready with the push of a button) and fast internet. The delicious breakfast was served between 7-9 AM by our cordial host, Susan. Susan, and Shannon, the proprietor were gracious and helpful, and even had our room ready before check-in. Our quiet, first-floor room had a really comfortable bed, windows that opened easily for fresh air, large desk area, and great shower in the claw-foot tub. We will return to this special place whenever we are in Seattle.


Overall very nice stay.

3.4 on May 10, 2011

The room was very comfortable and very clean. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was good and is near public transport and cafes, food and entertainment. However if intend to sleep later than about 700am this is not the place for you as the owners have a small child who was up, running and very vocal in the early mornings.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate all feedback and use reviews to help us improve the experiences of our guests. Although we do have a son who is two years old, he does not live at the B&B. We do know it is impossible to keep a small child quiet when guests are sleeping, and keep guests quiet at night when he is sleeping. Because we take the peace and quiet of our guests seriously, we live off-site and leave the house in the hands of our overnight Innkeeper. I arrive in the mornings to prepare breakfasts and leave our son with our Nanny. I cannot argue that this guest's sleep was not interrupted by another guest's child. We do allow people of all ages to stay at our B&B and this occasionally means that parents have a little one they cannot keep quiet in the morning. We would like to emphasize that this is not the norm here. As far as our son Zachary goes, he does occasionally visit in the late mornings/afternoons after the breakfast service concludes if our nanny or my husband brings him by. We hope that guests can embrace the fact that we have a child and not feel their experience at our B&B is ruined by a child's presence.


Always a great stay!!

5 on February 22, 2011

Feb. 2-5, 2011. Also vacationed here previous three summers.


Friendly, companionable for an extended stay

5 on February 09, 2011

When I visit my adult son in Seattle, I've found the Bed and Breakfast Inn on Capitol Hill to be ideal lodging. The central location allows me to avoid Seattle traffic hassles, there's plenty of off-street parking, and the staff are responsive and accommodating. Breakfast is excellent, and the kitchen is open until 9 pm for guests who want to make their own lunches and dinners; I found two guests cooking fresh salmon and vegetables one night! The best feature are the people you meet. On my last visit in the first week of February 2011, there were guests from Canada on a museum weekend, a couple staying with a relative in one of the local hospitals (it's very convenient to UW and Pill Hill), and other parents visiting adult children; many seemed to be regular visitors. There are basement rooms at a great value that are ideal for people coming to attend a class or conference. Highly recommend!


Warm Comfy and Accessible location

5 on September 02, 2010

THe minute you walk through the front door the friendly home atmosphere hits you yet you are within 15-20 minutes of bustling and fun Seattle. Homebaked brownies or cookies on a table in the hall and a comfy sitting room immediately to your right where you can either log on quickly if on business and you need to do emails, or relax with a magazine in the peace and quiet and relax. A large kitchen at the back has a fridge to allow you to put things in if you are staying a few days, or make a cup of tea or coffee in your own time. Breakfast served inteh morning is peaceful and sumptuous. All fresh, good for you ingredients and well prepared. The rooms are clean, cozy and each have their own character and size. Whether on business or pleasure this B&B is my favorite. Try it!


Comfortable home away from home

4.6 on August 13, 2010

Removing your shoes is a must; but after seeing how clean this property is, guests will understand the value of the rule. We came in July and the weather proved to be an asset. Our room included a balcony. Although it seemed worn down and in need of new furniture and a coat of paint, at night, we were able to keep the balcony door open for the lovely Seattle breeze. Our beds were comfortable and the room was spacious. We had three people in our party and did not feel cramped. In the mornings, breakfast was made by Mary. Her tasty meals were made to order, as were her musings and stories. Shared bathrooms made it a bit difficult for morning rituals, especially on the weekend. Since we were from out of town, we would've appreciated a bit more advice on places to visit. But there were brochures that were offered, so not all was lost. Our only confusion was why our room wasn't cleaned on a daily basis. Everyone was very friendly. The decor was bright and welcoming. We would stay again.


Great Location, Comfort and Value

4.8 on July 22, 2010

Found the perfect place for regular visits to family and friends all over Seattle area!


Stay far away!

1.6 on October 02, 2009

The stay was completely unpleasant. It is quite obvious the owner does not live on the property. There are three individuals who live on the property and "run" the place. We stayed for four days, and the room was never tended to, no clean towels offered! The bathrooms had broken hooks, one shower had soap and shampoo, the other did not. Breakfast was like a "Frat House". Giant bags of bread near the toaster, the other side of the kitchen were containers of cereal, in another section of the kitchen was the coffee maker. Good luck finding a spoon, mug, plate or bowl. A girl sitting at the table curled up with her coffee and morning paper told us, "just open the cabinets and find what you need!". As it turned out, she was the Innkeeper of the day! So there we were opening all the drawers looking for basic items to eat with! When I was tossing out the trash, the Innkeeper told me I needed to rinse out my container then put it into the recycle bin. After all that, I rinsed my dishes and put them in the dishwasher as instructed!! This is not my idea of a Bed and Breakfast. I am very familiar with Bed and Breakfast accommodations in the US and overseas. On a positive note, the bed was comfortable and the robes a nice touch.

Innkeeper Response
After the birth of our first child, we left our home to a team of 3 very competent Innkeepers. Just as our name states, we operated as a "Guest House" during this reviewers visit. We offered guests impeccably clean accommodations, friendly hospitality, a self-serve continental breakfast and we allow guests access to our kitchen for preparing and storing meals with the requirement that they must tidy up after themselves. Our rates were almost half of other B&B's in our area, which was a great value for a savvy traveler looking for an alternative to pricey hotels and full service B&B's. This guest is an experienced B&B guest and had expectations of being serviced like the other full service B&B's they had stayed with. Unfortunately they did not read our website to find out what was included in the rate or why the significant price difference. We failed to meet their expectations and this set up an uncomfortable stay for the guest and a hostile environment for our staff. I'd like to address their specific concerns: In regards to towels, we will always provide fresh towels upon request. During these environmentally conscious times even the finest lodging establishments may not replace towels every day. Also, Seattle has a mandatory recycling law. If one of our innkeepers spotted a recyclable item on its way to the trash, she may of given a gentle reminder not to throw it in the trash. The toiletries should be supplied in all bathrooms and asking one of the three innkeepers should have gotten you a quick response in refilling/replacing. They can help you with a solution only if they know about a problem. As of April 1st of 2010, we have completed our renovations, reopened and are operating as a traditional "Bed & Breakfast" offering a full gourmet breakfast. We have a staff of five who are more than capable of meeting your needs. Come and meet Zachary who is walking now and keeping us very busy and entertained! We look forward to your visit.


Capitol Hill Guest House in Seattle

4.4 on June 08, 2009

Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Capitol Hill Guest House. Good location and our host wnt extra miles to provide services.


Wonderful Stay

5 on November 12, 2008

I was welcomed by friendly and hospitable Michael and shown to my lovely room with a beautiful view of Mt. Rainier. Breakfast with Kate in the morning was a perfect start to my day. Highly recommended. A great home away from home.


Great Location

4.6 on November 08, 2008

I decided to stay in Seattle, but not rent a car. The Capitol Hill Guest House turned out to be a perfect location - right off the bus lines, and in decent walking distance of Volunteer Hill. The Guest House is extremely neat, clean, and comfortable. I felt at ease in the shared spaces (no need to hide in my room), and the innkeepers were friendly and helpful.


Great visit over Labor Day weekend

4.8 on September 04, 2008

I stayed for 5 nights at the Guest House over Labor Day weekend. I didn't plan to be at the house much as I was in town to site see and attend a wedding. However the accomodations were wonderful to come home to after a long day. I stayed on the basement level so I didn't have a nice view (which was fine with me) but the room was plenty big with a queen size bed, desk, closet, TV, and ipod charger/clock radio. The bathrooms were very clean as was the rest of the house. The inn keepers were very pleasant and helpful. The shared kitchen and living room was also roomy and clean and you felt comfortable being in those areas with other guests. Overall I had a great experience at the Guest House and would recommend it to others. The value of the Guest House outweighs any local hotel in the area. I would stay there again if I ever find myself back in the Seattle area.


Bed & Breakfast Inn Seattle

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2064127378

Visit Website »

View details

Top