Short Stay Lodgings - Franklin Street Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Services4.3
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Holidays in Oly

4.6 on January 14, 2013

What a great find this was! The whole experience was awesome.


Lovely, Clean, Comfortable

4.6 on August 31, 2012

This is a wonderful, convenient, clean, chemical-free, friendly space in which to spend one's visit. The first-floor unit is accessible for those with ambulatory difficulties. All cleaning products are free of synthetic scents and carcinogenic ingredients, which is distinctive among rental places. The kitchen is amazingly well-equipped for serious food preparation and enjoyment—and the living room space boasts three sofas and a comfortable chair, with small tables that can be rearranged as desired. There are many amenities, such as fully outfitted kitchen [large refrigerator, dishwasher, all equipage, dishware and cutlery, linens, etc.], full assortment of hair dryer, iron and ironing board, vacuum cleaner, wide-screen TV with DVD and VHS players, WiFi access, washer and dryer. The back door opens out into a magical and extensive permaculture garden space. The place was immaculately clean. I gave it three stars only for the rooms because they lacked easy clothes storage. Only a few hangers, no bureaus—a shelving unit in one room to organize clothes and a small hanging shelving unit in the other. We bought some hangers ourselves to use, but this lack would be easily remedied by the ownership. Each room did contain a nice stand on which to place opened suitcases. So for longer stays, this might be a factor for some visitors. The owners were extremely responsive to our needs and requests. All in all, a wonderful, safe, user-friendly spot for a visit to Olympia!


great stay!

4.4 on August 13, 2012

Came out for a week and a wedding. Worked wonderfully for 3 adults, could have easily had 4-5. Was very comfortable and homey. Owners were great as well, made sure we had everything we needed and then some. Great location to downtown Olympia, day trips outside of Oly and more. Would stay there again!


912 Franklin

5 on July 03, 2012

This is a very comfortable place to stay with a beautiful community garden right out the back. If you like to walk, this is an excellent choice. You can walk all over downtown, the Farmer's Market, wharf area, State Capitol, and the wonderful pedestrian walkway around Capital Lake. It is also within a few minutes of I-5. We love being able to shop at the Farmer's Market and make our own meals in the well-stocked kitchen. I would highly recommend this property!


"Clean, Convenient, Spacious Lodging"

4.6 on January 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our son and three grandchildren. Our visit was in January so it was nice to have space for the kids to play in the apartment. The bedrooms are comfortable and provided ample closet space. The bathroom is big and was spotless when we arrived and it was easy to keep clean. Having a washer and dryer in the apartment was extremely helpful, especially if you have children. The only downfall was that there just isn't enough dining space. The kitchen is very nice but there is only a table that seats three people, so we were never able to sit together and have a meal. In summary, we would definitely stay again. Debra is great and the apartment was so much better for us than staying in two hotel rooms.


a business visit to olympia

4.0 on November 12, 2011

lovely downtown apt. Full of essential amenities. Great free internet connection, cable including HBO. Kitchen perfect enough to invite a friend over for dinner. Owner helpful, knowledgeable about area activities and vitals. Walking distance to coffee houses, downtown. Lovely outdoor seating area for morning coffee and quiet time. Easy access to freeways. Especially appreciated how "clean" apt was on arrival, beds comfortable with nice linens. Quiet neighborhood, safe area, made business visit to Olympia effortless. Would definitely use this property for return business.


Comfortable stay....

4.6 on November 10, 2011

Excellent value for the price. Close to downtown. Very clean comfortable room, nice shower. Everything was provided like a hotel, but with a personal touch to make you feel at home. Would recommend to anyone wanting a recommend!


staying in Olympia

4.8 on November 09, 2011

Delightful downtown apt. Fully outfitted with everything you need for an easy stay including internet that worked all the time. In Olympia on business - needed quick access to the interstate, downtown area. Owner helpful with all logistics. Lovely sitting area just outside apt. Apt clean, well cared for, had W/D for personal laundry (with eco laundry soap and fabric softener sheets for the dryer). Coffee in the AM and goodies to munch on. Able to invite a friend over for dinner and cook a meal in the well stocked kitchen. Will book again for my next business visit.


Okay, but not stunning

1.8 on October 13, 2011

If you want something other than a hotel room, this will meet your needs. It is NOT your typical bed and breakfast as there is no meals provided nor do you ever meet your host. Parking can be a nightmare as most times the single parking space is taken. Basically it is hotel service as requests can't be met. So if you want a bed and breakfast and want to be pampered go somewhere else. If you just want a homey hotel room, then stay here.

Innkeeper Response
Since 2007 I have had so many satisfied guests and wonderful reviews, so I was quite surprised when I read this one. My property is a vacation rental and not a traditional Bed and Breakfast. I went back and studied my listing and I noticed that a guest may have misunderstand that we are a self-catering property with a fully loaded kitchen including dishwasher, full stove and fridge, microwave, stainless steel cookware, organic herbs, and organic olive oil. I try to respond to any requests in well less than 24 hours when possible and usually with in a few hours as I have a manger who lives near the property. I noticed I could get better at leaving more supplies such as light bulbs and an extra battery for the smoke alarm. For this guest I went out and also purchased a nice adjustable lamp with three bendable directional arms as she seemed to want a lot of light to put on make-up for a wedding. Yes I only have one parking space which you can book prior to your stay and then it will be available for you. See my website for other parking options. The other parking space is right in front of the property and is Free most of the time. As to just being another hotel room, well then Hotels rarely have 900 TV channels and HBO, board games and leggos, and Free working internet. As to the homey hotel room, I advertise as "Your Home Away From Home" with ecologically friendly cleaning products. So what I have that hotels do not offer is organic shampoo and soaps,( hand made by local artisans), Free eco friendly laundry detergent,dish-soap, and bio-degradable cleaning products. I try to be a green facility in as many ways as possible. Anyway, I really try my best to make my guests happy but I will keep trying to take care of every detail. Different people have different needs and appreciate different things and I do respect that!


Short Stay Lodgings for our conference stay

4.4 on October 09, 2011

We recently used both the upper and lower units at Short Stay Lodgings to house our managers coming from aound the country for a conference. it worked out great. Each manager had their own bedroom and the location was close to our conference and close to downtown Olympia so our managers could explore on their time off. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Everyone was happy with their stay. Vince Schwent Statewide Storage


Outstanding stay at Short Stay Lodgings

4.8 on October 06, 2011

Very centrally located, by beautiful capital in Olympia. Within walking distance of restaurant, shops, german bakery(yum). Very nice place to stay. Loved the quiet area for sleeping at night. Rooms were exactly as advertised and the special things they did was great. (Chocolates, sparkling wine). Would recommend this to all my business friends and also my family. Can't wait to revisit. Judith Abel Three Rivers Storage.


A Great Stay

3.8 on August 30, 2011

We booked for a week at the end of July. There were 3 adults and 2 small children. The place is roomy and bedrooms are a decent size. We were able to have our 5 year old sleep on the floor beside the bed plus have a travel crib set up in the room as well. Both bedrooms seemed to be about the same size so they are roomy. The place is decorated nicely and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay. Having a full kitchen allowed us to prepare our own meals. The fridge has an ice dispenser as well which was nice. All appliances and utensils were good quality. The bathroom is very large which was nice, the mirror was big enough that 2 people could use the vanity at the same time. Shower worked great as well. The back yard is amazing. The garden is beautiful and a nice place to sit and have your coffee. It's behind the building and enclosed, so feels very private. Location wise, it's close to everything downtown. Less than 10 minute walk to the farmers market which is a must see. The only complaints I would have is that there isn't much for a dining area as it sits right by the hall to the kitchen, but if you don't mind eating in the sitting area it's not much of an issue. We did come back one night to the fire alarm going off, not sure what had happened, most likely a battery. Glad it didn't happen while we were sleeping though. Minor issues with the internet connection as well, but it was quickly remedied. The barbeque was also inconveniently placed. You had to leave the apartment and walk around the build to get to it. All in all the stay was great. When it was time to leave it almost felt like leaving home.


Loved it!

4.6 on July 29, 2011

Stood there for a minute when I walked in the door--wasn't sure if it was my room or someone's house! Absolutely gorgeous and comfortable, fully stocked in the kitchen and bedroom/bathrooms, walking distance to cool shops and theaters in downtown Olympia and a really nice staff (even after I slept in past my checkout time)!


Short Stay Lodging

3.6 on July 27, 2011

It was clean and well cared for. You can tell the owners put thought into it. The location was great. Walking distance to all shops and restaraunts in downtown Olympia. The house is nestled into a spot next door to a bed and breakfast and they seem to share a very sweet backyard. With covered seating areas, a swing for kids and a porch style swing for grown-ups. The yard is also connected to a community garden which is so sweet and beautiful. When we were there it was bursting with ripe berries! There is also a chicken coop in the garden which my son loved.


short stay a-ok

3.0 on July 14, 2011

The location is great. Easy access to downtown. The price was not clear on the website and confirmations so be sure to know what you have agreed to pay. There is a $75 cleaning fee. There is a twin sleeper in the living room and two bedrooms. They make an effort to use natural cleaning products. It was well-supplied with towels and kitchen items.


Shortstaylodgings

4.0 on July 09, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay and loved having a kitchen to use! Debra was also incredibly helpful.


Just what we wanted

4.4 on June 27, 2011

Despite some potential mix-ups, our stay at Franklin St was lovely. Debra met us and toured us around her place. It was the right size for the three of us and we appreciated the little homey touches. My son loved the chickens at the B&B next door!


912 Franklin

4.0 on June 26, 2011

This is a lovely house. We love the location-you can walk all over town from here. All our needs were met and we had a wonderful visit.


Short Stay, good stay

4.2 on June 16, 2011

Four of us really enjoyed our 3 nights in the upper unit at Short Stay: very clean, updated facility and decore, lots of nice natural light, kitchen well stocked, we entertained with penty of space for 8 of us, cable TV included music channels to choose from. It sits on the edge of a great garden space, but has to be accessed from around the front of the house, so if eating there you would have a lot of carring to do (trays provided). The BBQ is in a different area, so either way not convienant, but worth the effort. The kitchen table sat 6 of us. The location is great for walking downtown and to Capital Lake Park and easy access to freeway to get to West Olympia and Evergreen College. We loved this place!


Clean, comfortable, convenient location

3.6 on June 04, 2011

We loved how conveniently located this apartment is to downtown Olympia and enjoyed the garden and BBQ. The beds are very comfortable and the fully-equipped kitchen has high quality pans (a rarity among rentals). It was also spotlessly clean. We would recommend Short Stay Lodgings to anyone.


Awesome place to spend a weekend (or longer)

4.0 on April 10, 2011

Everything was excellent! The beds were comfortable, the location is quiet and the apartment is stocked with everything you need minus the food. Within easy walking distance to downtown Olympia and the Port of Olympia. Would highly recommend staying here over staying at a hotel.


What a great place to stay!

5 on April 04, 2011

We live in Olympia and had family visiting for a week. Instead of sending them to a hotel, we found Short Stay Lodgings. For the price of a hotel room, we had a clean, conveniently located 2 bedroom apartment with internet, phone, kitchen (treats included) and a very hospitable and friendly innkeeper. The apartment is blocks away from downtown and the Capitol and right across the street from the outstanding public library. There is a beautiful garden right behind it, an urban homestead type garden complete with chickens that you are free to wander around in or sit and have your coffee. The garden is home to a vibrant community involved in all things green. Great vibes! I highly recommend it.


FAMILY GET-TOGETHER

5 on March 27, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at the Franklin St. Lodging. The place was absolutely spotless and the rooms were nice and big. We had averything we needed to make breakfast and dinner. It was like having a home away from home to visit with the kids and grandchild. Very short walk to downtown. We will definetly stay again.


Great family accommodations

4.0 on February 26, 2011

Very comfortable and clean. Debra was very helpful, providing us with a crib and high chair for our granddaughter, and extending our stay when we requested. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals. The washer and dryer were very handy and appreciated. The location was perfect for visiting our kids in Olympia. It was the perfect alternative to staying in a hotel.


Professional Meeting Space.

4.4 on January 10, 2011

Our business owners needed a quiet place to meet off-site for a day, which is difficult to find in this area. Short Stay Lodgings has just the right amount of space at a great price. Debra was helpful, informative, and welcoming. We certainly recommend this venue and plan to return in the future.


The Sonics stay for NYE

4.6 on January 05, 2011

I was so pleased with the accommodations, the place was perfect to entertain guests and still gave the performers privacy. Location was just a short walk from the theater and the restaurant, perfect for those who did not want to risk drinking and driving! I wanted to make full use of the kitchen, but we opted for eating out. ALthough it was great for setting up snacks and having drinks to entertain guests after the concert! They loved it, better then a 5 star hotel! Thank you for doing what you go! Happy New Year, Audrey/Olympia Film Society


Immaculate 912 Franklin

5 on January 01, 2011

This is an immaculate property in every sense. Free of chemical cleaners. Renovated just a few years ago, but done with green materials I believe, and has no construction off-gassing. As a family we are highly sensitive to mold, dust and chemicals and 912 Franklin was perfect for us. We were delighted to find this lovely, healthy apartment to make our home while we were helping welcome our son and daughter-in-law's new baby. We enjoyed quite a bit of cooking in the well-equipped kitchen, and had more of the relatives in for dinner twice. One wish - a large spaghetti pot added to the otherwise complete collection. The location was fun - just a few blocks walk to the shops of Olympia, and the library next door. Great garden for better weather. Highly recommend the owners - we became friends by the time we left.


A Very Nice Place To Stay!

3.8 on December 13, 2010

We just loved this place! It's perfect for a short stay in your own place. It was very clean and comfortable, and very close to everything in downtown Olympia. We walked everywhere. Debra was very helpful, even when I had trouble working the TV, or finding the DVDs and bikes. Turns out, the bikes were put away for the season and the DVDs are for loan at the library. The kitchen is well stocked, and we had a good time cooking and drinking tea. Overall, a nice place to stay and worth the money.


Cute and Clean

5 on November 28, 2010

Debra was most wonderful to make sure we had a great stay and our apartment was decorated very tastefully. It was also extremely clean. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Did I also mention the location was close to some great shopping and restaurants.


Wonderful visit

4.2 on November 23, 2010

Our family of three just spent three nights in the upper unit. It was sooo clean, cozy, homey and comfortable. Even our 10 year old son commented more than once about it; we all agreed that we could have stayed longer. Location was great, kitchen well enough stocked to make a nice meal, friendly neighbors. Debra, who felt like an old friend, made the booking and stay all so easy. We felt taken care of and welcome every step along the way. Thank you for helping us have a warm stay in Olympia!


Short Stay Lodgings - Franklin Street Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $189
  • Reviews (30) 4.3
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3609706826
Top