The White House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.1
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Despite an Average Review we WIll go Back

3.2 on July 04, 2014

Our room was upgraded and was nicer than the one we were to stay in but the decor was "tired". Service was not as good as our last stay 2 years ago. It was good value for what we paid. The room and Inn were clean. The food was good but not outstanding. The martinis were excellent. There is something about the house that appeals to me so we will go back. Also, we love Wilmington.


Great Time

3.4 on March 10, 2014

We enjoyed a nice, relaxing weekend. The Inn has amazing character and it was lovely to meet so many nice, warm and welcoming people inclusive of the Inn staff and guests.


Bed and Breakfast but made you feel like family

5 on May 21, 2013

First and foremost the inn has clean rooms with comfortable beds and some have new flat screen t.v's. I would like to point out that the entire staff (especially the innkeepers Kathleen and Aaron) were impeccable. Walking into the front door they made us feel like family with an approachable feel and very knowledgeable about the area. Aaron is the executive chef and the food quality was over and beyond all expectations. The dining at the inn is gourmet but more than gourmet portions. I have been traveling for over 30 years and the family atmosphere the innkeepers and the rest of the staff create is what will bring me back. There is no other inn within the entire state of Vermont that could compare to this. Most importantly is the relaxing serenity the inn offers (steam room, sauna, heated pool, etc.) makes the affordable prices worth it even more. The view from the inn is incredible since it is located on a hill you can view the surrounding mountains for miles. Having stayed at many B&B's the quality of price and atmosphere is what stands out over all the rest. There were many things to do at the inn and the surrounding area. Kathleen and Aaron (the innkeepers) were outstanding with their friendly personas and graciously attending to each and every guest and accommodating each request to the best of their extent. Their unofficial mascot Beasley is a beautiful puppy that is Kathleen and Aarons faithful companion and fearless leader who loves everyone and treats. Fellow Dog Lover, Beasley's Best Friend :o)


Quaint Bed and Breakfast (Worth every penny)

5 on May 21, 2013

Having been to Vermont many times this is the first time staying at the White House Inn. Originally attracted by a Groupon advertisement we stayed even longer and loved every moment. Kathleen is a fantastic host (and bartender) and Aaron is a phenomenal chef. Dining, drinking and relaxing made for a great stay with so many things to keep us entertained in the inn and the surrounding area. Thanks again for a memorable time, Angel and Dave.


Romantic weekend

3.8 on October 28, 2012

The White House in provided great accomadations. If I were to point out its faults I would say the pool sticks could use some repair and I was a little hesitant to jump in the pool. Despite this the room was great (I had the loft with fire place) the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very helpful. It made for a very romantic weekend.


Passing Through To View The Foilage

3.0 on October 08, 2012

My mother and I stayed at the White House Inn for one night while traveling through Vermont to view the colors of Fall. I read a lot of reviews before booking at this property. I remember many other guests saying it was beautiful and picturesque on the outside but the inside needed some work. Well, I hate to admit it but those reviews were right on the money. During our trip, we stayed at five different properties and for the price this was the disappointment. We were greeted upon check-in and escorted up to our room. The room we originally booked had a smell similar to mildew so they offered us another room that was much better. The room was nice enough but the linens, pillows and towels need an upgrade. Once we got settled we explored the property. We were curious about the pool and common area. All of these things are in the basement area. The carpets were very worn and it smelled like a musty old house. The indoor pool is an interesting addition but it matched the circa-1971 decor and feel of the rest of the basement. I tried to use the computer but the internet connection was having issues. It was really hard to spend anytime down there because of the dark lighting and mildew smell. On the main floor, we found the bar, restaurant, breakfast area and living room. The lighting and smell were much better. There was a small refrigerator available for guests however the only beverage provided for guests after 5:00 p.m. was tea. They stop serving coffee after then and do not provide sodas or water for guests. I suppose we could have visited the bar but for the price we were paying a complimentary water would have been lovely. I had such high hopes for the White House Inn. The only thing I can be super positive about was the breakfast. It was very good. I wish the rest of our stay had been that nice. The sad thing is that the property could be absolutely amazing but it needs some serious remodeling and TLC.


Fantastic 25th

4.8 on July 12, 2012

We just spent 2 nights here celebrating our 25th anniversary. Warmly greeted by Innkeeper Kathleen who gave us a tour of this unique mansion. Beautifully decorated, spacious Room 6-great balcony!! Breakfasts were scrumptious. Restaurant was closed for dinner on the nights we were there, but Kat recommended another Tavern for steak. Staff was very gracious in helping us with anything, also handled an obnoxious guest very tactfully. We will definitely be back.


The Perfect Romantic New England getaway!

5 on May 28, 2012

Can I give six stars? Beautiful victorian style boutique luxurious inn. Gorgeous views from every room and a very New England feeling to it. Service was top notch, amenities were great (except that the indoor pool wasn't heated as well as the sauna) everything else was perfection! Please, do yourself a favor and book a few night in here, anytime of the year and make sure to eat at their restaurant as the food is top notch! I told them I was a vegan and they gave me the best home fries with mushrooms I ever had in my life for breakfast! And an amazing vegetarian paella at dinner to die for! SUPERB! will definitely be back!


Very Warm, Welcomming Inn

4.6 on March 05, 2012

We stayed at the White House Inn this past weekend and found it both elegant and cozy. The furnishings were beautifully authentic. Even though it was snowing and cold outside, the Inn was warm and comfortable. Our dinner was delicious- courteous servers, loved the lamb! We had drinks at the bar in the evening and both the bartender and the other guests made it a relaxing and fun time. Some other guests returned to the inn well after the kitchen had closed but our hosts graciously offered to find them something for a late dinner snack. The cooked-to-order breakfast the next morning was also great. I thought that it might be noisy in our room because the old hallway floors squeaked and voices seemed to echo, but our room was blissfully quiet. From the website pictures, the grounds must be beautiful in the spring and summer. We will try to make it back for sure!


Wite House Stay

4.6 on February 02, 2012

We spent two weeks touring New England and our favorite stay was at the White House. Great food, genuine hospitality, and a spectacular historic home. On our next trip over, we will stay here again.


Great stay at the White House Inn

4.8 on January 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend in Vermont for Fall Foliage. We stayed in the inn and loved it. We have it on our short-list for places to get married in, we love it so much. Great food -- fabulous spa treatments & welcoming staff.


Mini Family Reunion

3.2 on November 14, 2011

We stayed at the White House on October 3, 2011, as part of a family reunion. My wife & I and our son/daughter-in-law and two grandchildren flew in from Arizona, and met our daughter/son-in-law/and grandson at the Inn. My wife's family (the Brown's) were the original owners of the house. We had a great time seeing the inn through my wife's eyes, and having her share her childhood memories of the place. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open while we were there, but we thoroughly enjoyed the accomodatins and the friendly staff.


Perfect Escape to Relaxation!

4.6 on March 22, 2011

My last minute escape to the White House Inn did everything it was supposed too! My boyfriend and I were able to relax and let everything just disappear for the night. The Inn keeper was very welcoming when we arrived and provided use with an amazing upgrade in our room choice. The Inn was delightfully silent at night and had a warm fireplace in the living room. The best part was waking up to a sunrise over the village of Wilmington and having the peaceful quiet to greet you. The breakfast was homemade and cooked to order. I can't wait to escape away to this magical inn on the hill!


August Adventure in Vermont-

2.8 on September 06, 2010

We stayed at this B&B for our last night in Vermont. The B&B was overwhelmingly elegant offering an outdoor pool, victorian cafe, sitting room and front porch to view the setting sun. We were offered a larger room, with hot tub and fireplace once checking in, however, the room were dated and did not fit the overall decor of the B&B. The service was satisfactory and value was o.k. for the price of our room. The B&B felt eerie at night due to its silence and lack of other individuals staying at the inn. An average stay overall, but we were left to wonder what else this B&B has to offer.


Loved everything about it!

5 on October 23, 2009

We truly enjoyed ourselves during our stay. The fireplace in our room made it perfect!


Beautiful, charming place to stay!!

5 on October 14, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at The White House Inn. The innkeepers couldn't have been any more gracious or hospitable. It was a lovely place--the room, the food, the added touches. We will definitely be back when we visit southern VT again!


The Height of Romance

5 on September 22, 2009

I can truly say that our stay at the White House Inn helped us to fall in love again after forty years of marriage! Surrounded by the brazing air of a Vermont winter, we slept and dined and relaxed in luxury, even listening to wonderful, romantic Broadway songs being played and sung on the majestic grand piano off the lobby. An exquisite experience!


The White House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $170 - $325
  • Reviews (17) 4.3
  • Rooms 16

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 001-8024642135
  • Toll free 1-8667742135
Top