Northern Lights Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Services4.2
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness3.8
  • Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

cosy B&B..

4.0 on July 06, 2014

We stayed at Northern Lights Lodge for a couple of nights.. were really happy with our experience.. Mike and Shannon are really friendly and helpful.. The breakfast is really nice and we really enjoyed pool and hot bath as well.. definitely recommend..


Friendly

3.6 on June 25, 2014

The owners are great, rooms were clean and they cook a mean breakfast!


Great value!

3.6 on June 13, 2014

We were very well attended to, the rooms were not very fancy but clean and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was also very good.


Great value - close to Stowe mtn

4.4 on March 31, 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 night stay during an event at Stowe. The room was clean. Service was fantastic. Hot breakfast served every morning was great. They even accommodated for the group of us staying for the event by serving breakfast 15 minutes earlier than usually to allow us plenty of time in the morning to get to the mtn on time. I did not use the pool, hot tub or sauna during my stay but would have if I had more time. Would definitely book here again if my travels bring me back to the area.


Beautiful stay

3.8 on March 21, 2014

Great place to stay in Stowe! The room was beautiful and comfortable. It's nice and close to the mountain and conveniently located to the shopping center in Stowe. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing. Breakfast was a tasty buffet style with good variety. I would recommend this place and visit again!


Memorable Stay at Northern Lights Lodge, Stowe VT

4.6 on January 28, 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10th anniversary at Northern Lights Lodge. It was Jan 23-26. Lots of snow. Inn was very cozy and friendly. Can't say enough about the innkeepers. They did everything possible to help make our stay memorable. The room and bath were basic - but exceptionally clean. Hot tub and indoor heated pool - which were also very clean were great after a cold day outside. Hot breakfast was great each morning. We wanted a place that was comfortable, a little rustic but not pretentious. This is it. This inn offers great value. Great for romantic weekend or family vacation. Inn was far enough out of town to feel isolated, but a short drive to most everything we wanted to do. I would have preferred to not have a light right outside the room at night, but everything else was so nice - not worth worrying about.


Great Amenities, Motel Rooms just alright

3.4 on March 23, 2012

The pool, sauna, and Jacuzzi were great amenities that helped make the price worth it! The breakfast buffet was great as well. I stayed in the "motel" building (something I wasn't aware of when I booked my room), and the rooms are merely okay. I assume the rooms in the main building are nicer. The room was my least favorite part of my stay, but luckily Stowe had so much to offer that I only returned to the room sleep.


ski weekend

4.2 on February 25, 2012

The room was a great deal for the money. People were extremely nice and helpful. Awesome place!


Autumn in the mountains.

4.0 on October 11, 2011

A great place to spend some time, whether it be autumn or winter. Friendly and helpful hosts provided a hearty breakfast to start the day. The pool was a bonus on our stay. The nearby rec trail made for good, safe and easy walking.


Stowe 2011

3.2 on September 06, 2011

The new owners are making improvements but our room was quite comfortable and the river side location was so relaxing. I'm glad I brought my travel hair dryer as there was not one in the room. Also would have liked a small coffee/hot water pot in the room as we like an evening cup of tea. The breakfast was very nice, but essentially the same every day. I'm borderline diabetic and would have liked more protein variety - yogurt and/or cottage cheese, peanut butter.


Decent, but nothing more

2.8 on September 05, 2011

I will start with the good comments. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. They are working very hard to keep the place. The inside pool is clean and new, the sauna is a good feature (although it smells weird). The location is good and the price decent. However, the rooms and the place are very old. It smells old and you see spiders everywhere. The breakfast was very disapointing for us. I was surprised to read the other reviews. it was very basic and the choices were limited. We might have higher standard about food in bed and breakfast because we experienced much better. It was closer to a a standard hotel breakfast buffet.


enjoyed my little get away

4.0 on July 06, 2011

I was looking for a very affordable but nice/clean place for a 3 day get-away in Vermont. The Northern Lights Lodge was just perfect for what I was looking for. As others on your site have described it, it was an older place, newly renovated, nice furnishings, and CLEAN...an important criterion for me!!! The inside pool was very clean, but the hot tub was not available for use. Since it was during the off-season, breakfast was not served as a buffet, but as a made-to-order meal. The inn keepers, Michael and Shannon were very nice. The only down side--they were not always as accessible as I (and others) would have liked. They were off doing other jobs at the inn, but an intercom button usually summoned them quickly. Again, I suspect it was because I was there during the off-season. It is nestled in beautiful surroundings with the spectacular mountain views all around. It is conveniently located to both Stowe and Waterbury. I would definitely stay there again.


Nice stay

4.0 on July 01, 2011

The lodge is located between Stowe and mountain view trail, very quiet, room is ok, more than we expected with such low price. New owner Mich is nice, he was busy trying to renew the place, and we enjoyed very much the breakfast. Thank you Mich


Great 1 Night Stay

4.6 on April 10, 2011

We stayed at Northern Lights Lodge for one night while skiing at Stowe. This was perfect in the morning as we were very close to the downtown area along with the mountain. When we arrived, they had apple cider and cookies in the lobby. The owners are very friendly and super helpful. We did not have a DVD player in our room, so they went out of there way to find one for us. Breakfast was very well prepared and everything was hot and fresh! Would def stay here again!


Got more then I paid for or expected

4.8 on March 08, 2011

I visited Stowe for a PSIA Professional Skiing Instructors of America skiing event. Mainly picked the Northern Lights based on cost, as I was only looking for a place to rest my head for one night. I got more then I paid for! Inn keeper Michael meet me at the registration desk, he was very friendly and knowledgeable with the area. They upgrade my room to the main building which had a King size bed and plenty of room. The main building also housed the pool and spa, if I was still traveling with little ones they would have found the pool entertaining and fun as it is split by the hallway/walkway to the lobby and breakfast area by a bridge. My room included breakfast, which was served fast and hot. The breakfast chef Brian made me a combo breakfast of eggs bacon and waffles which helped me get through a day of skiing. Also available was fresh fruit and homemade muffins! Michael also shared with me his views on the environment and their plans for upgrading the lighting to low energy fluorescents and LED bulbs. I would recommend to anyone to stay at Northern Lights for 1 night or 7.


BASIC, but friendly

3.2 on March 04, 2011

I spoke to someone on the phone there before arriving, and they did emphasize that the annex rooms were 'cozy', so I expected what we got in terms of size. Let me lead by saying that the people there are delightful, and the breakfast was big and delicious. Just be aware that the annex building is old-ish, you can hear your neighbor's plumbing through the walls, and the amenities are basic.


excellant value.short distance to stowe mountain resort. brand new indoor pool

5 on February 23, 2011

The food was excellant.(complementry full hot breakfast) The innkeepers (husband & wife) personally made sure that every request that i made was addressed. (actually they handled all the requests themselfs) Indoor swimming pool was brand new. Room i stayed in was just completely remodeled. 26 direct tv stations on flat screen tv was great just to relax after day of skiing. Offered a late check out to 4:00pm for $20.00. (my stay was midweek) Was able to come back from skiing at 2:30pm day of departure on the stowe shuttle bus (also picks up from lodge 5 minute ride to spruce peak) use hot tub & take shower for the 4 & 1/2 hour ride home to Torrington ct. one down fall is room did not have a phone in it (which was fine with me. Although cell phone service inside the rooms is very week. I use at&t. Need to stand near window in room to keep call from dropping. Cell service is better in dining,pool & common area's.


Owners are working hard and updating Lodge

4.2 on January 07, 2011

This Lodge had really nice new owners / management who recently initiated a program to update the entire facility. Place was very clean, family oriented, breakfeast in morning was good. Atmosphere was like throw-back from the 1950s when people went to such lodges with thier families on driving vacations sat in the lounge, played card, etc.; The re-update program makes the place a really great value and the are on the way to moving throughout the facility for a full update. I would defintely recommend the place and go again, and you can tell the owners / management really care. About 2-3 miles down the road from Stowe entrance, really close.


My stay at Northern Lights Lodge in Stowe VT

3.2 on October 20, 2010

Having never been to Stowe VT I found the Manager very knowledgeable of the interesting sites to see. The customer service was great. Breakfast was good especially the waffles and muffins. I would stay at Northern Lights Lodge again and recommend it to others.


Great Stay

4.8 on September 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Northern Lights for British Invasion Weekend. We had a great stay. The rooms were impeccably clean, albeit a bit dated, but the innkeepers hospitality more than made up for that, and the breakfast was out of this world. We will defiitely return.


Northern Lights Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $68 - $218
  • Reviews (20) 4.0
  • Rooms 49
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 802-2538541

Visit Website »

View details

Top