Sterling Ridge Resort Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
201 Reviews

Write A Review

Great rental will go back.

4.6 on January 16, 2014

Friendly very helpful staff from making the reservation till checking out. House had plenty of room and very clean. Fully equipped kitchen, meals were not provided. Great location near hiking/ski trails right out the door. Discount lift tickets available at front disk. The rental price was inline or better with other rentals in the area and overall a much better value than the motels. Highly recommended. Will return next year.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you visiting again and again!


Great Getaway!

5 on November 11, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away from our everyday demands. This was the perfect place to do so. We never had such a relaxing time. We are looking forward to visiting again!


A+ stay at Sterling Ridge Resort

4.4 on November 07, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon in a one-bedroom cabin at Sterling Ridge Resort. We stayed during the off-season, and it felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves. The cabins were in viewing distance of each other, but face away from each other, so it really seems as if you have the entire place to yourself. The pool and hottub for the resort were closed for the season, but we didn't mind - the cabin had a jacuzzi tub! Our cabin was extremely clean and well-stocked with linens & amenities, and had a lovely view of the pond. It also has a dishwasher - great for when you have to clean up! We checked into the cabin with Susan, and she gave us a free bundle of firewood to enjoy a romantic fire in the woodstove. We had a lovely welcome basket (part of the "romantic package") including local chocolates, wine, and cheese & crackers. Yum - that was delicious! The resort is perfectly situated to enjoy day trips to nearby towns (such as Stowe) and interesting sites (covered bridges, wineries, Trapp Lodge, Teddy Bear Factory, Ben & Jerry's, Champlain Chocolates, the Old Red Mill, etc). We will definately be back to enjoy the resort & area again!


Loved Sterling Ridge Resort

5 on October 19, 2013

Sterling Ridge Resort staff was very friendly and helpful. I loved the cabin and the grounds around the cabin were beautiful. I loved my staff at the resort.


Great Stay

5 on October 07, 2013

I am giving Sterling Ridge five stars across the board. They did a great job from start to finish - the cabin was ready when we arrived, clean, organized, and fully stocked. The staff was available when we had questions. The value was great, especially since we were able to prepare a lot of food right onsite. I would highly recommend this for people looking for peace and quiet but convenience to great food and attractions.


Very pleasant stay

3.8 on September 29, 2013

Very peaceful, quiet, comfortable stay. My husband and I came here for a quick get-away right after our wedding (not our official honeymoon) and were very happy, just what we were looking for.


Oustanding

5 on September 23, 2013

My family and I have been renting cabins at Sterling Ridge Resort for past 4 years and have had a wonderful experience everytime. The staff are courteous and helpful. The cabins have always been immaculate when we arrive. I have several dogs and bring two with me every year. It is so nice to have a place where you can feel welcome and comfortable bringing your furry family members.


Honeymoon stay

3.4 on September 19, 2013

Excellent location if you require a quiet holiday with no interference , which we were looking for ! We really enjoyed our week in Sterling Ridge... One thing to note the village is 2 miles away so u will need a car... There is no taxi service so that could be something that the resort could provide informally if a person wanted to go to the local tavern .. Other than that I would definetly go back again !! Dining is not applicable as this is self catering , but everything is on site to cook a meal ..


Worth every penny

5 on September 03, 2013

We rented the pond house and it was so well worth the money. As soon as we got there my 11 year old texted his older sister and said "This place is awesome". It was so quiet and peaceful. We loved the privacy and the kids had a great time fishing in the pond, walking the trails, and they enjoyed the use of the pool and hot tub. We will definitely be back next year. Thank you for the awesome experience. Ruth Russell


Sterling Ridge

4.2 on August 30, 2013

Very friendly owners. Clean and pleasant accommodations. Would reccomend.


Beautiful place to stay!

4.0 on August 30, 2013

I wanted to take my family to Vermont since we had never been. Sterling Ridge Resort was perfect for our first visit. The cabin was beautiful and clean. The staff was more than accomodating and friendly. We even got a visit from the resident dog "Max" every morning. :) I would highly recommend this place. We wished we could have stayed longer but we will definately be back!


Sterling Ridge - very pleasant holiday

3.4 on August 26, 2013

As a family of four we enjoyed our short stay at Sterling Ridge. The cabins are good sized, well-equipped, and generously spaced out. Ours overlooked the larger pond & was very peaceful. At the facility, we made use of the pedal boat & kayak on the lake within the resort (for boating & fishing only - no swimming), the pool, and the hot tub (which looked out over Mt. Mansfield - very picturesque). There were games & puzzles for quiet times & a good selection of DVDs for the evenings. Teenagers enjoyed the free wi-fi. Each night we had a bbq meal on the grills that are available to each cabin and roasting marshmallows over the fire pit.


Good Experience

4.0 on August 21, 2013

Sterling Ridge has lovely cabins laid out in an old Vermont apple orchard. The property is lovely, and offers walking and hiking trails on site. The cabins are cozy, and tastefully done. The owners, and their staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with.


Very relaxing

5 on August 20, 2013

Very nice,clean relaxing getaway


Beautiful cabins!

4.6 on August 16, 2013

Great location by the lake!


Amazing stay in an amazing setting!

4.6 on August 12, 2013

The grounds of Sterling Ridge are extremely well maintained and welcoming. The resort is pet-friendly, a key feature that made this the perfect vacation! The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The cabin needs a bit of TLC on the interior (sofa was warped from so much use - not comfy to sit on, and the carpets could use an upgrade as they are dark and initially smelled a bit musty but this dissipated with the windows being open) but the beds were comfy and linens fresh and of good quality. The full kitchen was great, spacious, and functional. The bathtub was quite small, not enough to soak in for any length of time, but the bathroom was clean and functional. The gorgeous, generous-sized front porch was where we spent most of our time ! We will absolutely return next year :)


Great relaxation stay

4.6 on August 06, 2013

As this review needed a dining score; I must tell you there is no restaurant and you do your own cooking. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Whole experience was outstanding and would do again. Very peaceful. Cabin was great. One suggestion was made to management and they are in process of doing something about it; railings for steps to some of the cabins. Also larger signs would help as this area is off the road and we almost missed it. Otherwise could not have asked for a better time.


Great for a family reunion

5 on August 01, 2013

The cabin was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed ourselves immensely! This was our second visit.


summer fun

4.4 on July 06, 2013

We have been here two years in a row, fun place to stay for families. Would absolutely come again and again.


Perfect getaway close to home!

4.2 on July 05, 2013

Our stay in the studio cabin was an ideal place to celebrate our 15th anniversary! We hope to be able to return in the future with friends and family to enjoy the fabulous Field and Stream cabin or one of the many other quaint cottages. The challenge is the two night minimum stay and the increased rates during the holiday season.


Wonderful get-a-way.

4.8 on June 19, 2013

Wonderful accommodations and scenery. And the hospitality and cheerfulness of the staff were just as great.


Home away from home

4.8 on June 09, 2013

If you want lush surroundings and a quiet place to be this is for you. The cabins are well equipped with everything you need and the management make it so easy if you forget something. I felt like the comfort of the cabin was beyond my expectations. So pleased we found this place and decided to stay. I will be back with family and friends.


Sterling Ridge Resort is a great place!!

5 on June 02, 2013

Sterling Ridge Resort is a great place to get away. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin and it was perfect for myself, the wife and our 2 dogs. Cabin had a full kitchen, good sized bedroom with a comfy king bed, big bathroom with jacuzzi, and a big living room with tv, dvd, and wood stove. The owners were super nice and their were 2 ponds on the property. One large multiple acre pond and a small pond for the kids. Great trails for hiking surrounded the resort and the maple syrup was awesome. We had a great time and I am sure anyone wanting to go stay in a cabin in beautiful Vermont would do the same. We will surely be back. Thanks for reading.


Will most certainly be returning!

4.2 on May 23, 2013

I stayed at Sterling Ridge with my girlfriend May 16-19 in one of the single bedroom cabins. They had other sized cabins as well but my review will focus only on the single bedroom one. For this trip I was looking for a place to have a stress free getaway where we could slow down, relax, and have fun. Sterling Ridge did not disappoint and we will most certainly be returning in the future. The rooms are a little different from the normal hotel or bed and breakfast scene as they are individual cabins spread out in a way that gives guests a good degree of privacy. The floor plan is a bedroom, a bathroom, and an open room that flows from kitchen to sitting area. It is very cozy but certainly is enough space for two people. Its a full kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker) that also has all the basic pots, pans, dishes, etc needed to prepare meals. The bathroom has both a shower and a large jacuzzi tub big enough for two (we are both tall and still could fit fairly comfortably) There is a wood burning stove (wood is not free, but can be purchased at the office) a decent TV and DVD player all in the sitting area. Outdoors there is a charcoal grill (you have to bring your own charcoal or buy some from the office) picnic table, fire pit, and a porch with Adirondack chairs. The room did have free wifi if that is something you are curious about. Another difference is that there is no traditional maid service. The room was very clean when we arrived and had everything we needed initially but to get more towels or other such things you went to the office and just helped yourself.


Quick Getaway

4.0 on May 22, 2013

We visited Sterling Ridge from May 17 - 19, 2013. We could not have been happier with the resort itself. I had read that some of the cabins weren't as private as people thought they were going to be but ours was perfectly situated in what felt like its own world. (we were in cabin #6) The cabin itself was just what we'd hoped for, a mix of rustic and modern amenities. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the pots, pans and dishes we needed and the rooms were clean and spacious. The "fire pit" wasn't so much a pit as a small circle of rocks and the grill had definitely seen its share of abuse (needs to be recommended into the ground). Disappointingly the game room was closed for what looked like renovations so we were unable to see that building. There are two ponds on the resort, a small one at the front entrance and then the much larger more serene one toward the back of the resort. The pathways/hiking trails around the resort were very nice to walk and get a lay of the land. We brought our two dogs with us and they had a blast getting to know Max (one of the resident dogs). The two women that helped us at the front desk were knowledgeable about the area (Stowe/Smuggs) and were able to give us directions to the off-site locations we wanted to visit. We stayed at the resort during the last "off-season" weekend until fall and while the price was decent I was surprised to find out that the "deal" we got through Groupon was the same price we could have gotten going through the resort's website. Despite a few minor disappointments we are very much looking forward to another stay at Sterling Ridge for a longer period of time. I highly recommend it here if you are looking for a quiet Vermont getaway. Keep in mind there is nothing "fancy" about this place so if you are looking for a high class spa-like retreat this is not for you.


Quiet getaway

4.2 on May 15, 2013

The cabin was exceptionally well designed with everything anyone would need. We love the coziness and privacy. It was a perfect couple's getaway.


Peaceful Getaway

4.6 on May 13, 2013

This beautiful setting was just what the doctor ordered. I stayed alone for 5 days during an off-season week in the spring. Truly an escape. The only reason the dining wasn't oustanding was because I did my own cooking! There are several charming restaurants in the area, nothing on site. A full kitchen with a dishwasher made cooking and cleaning a piece of cake. Comfy, clean, and relaxing. I have already recommended it to family and friends.


No dining on site so dining category does not apply.

4.0 on May 13, 2013

This is a beautiful and peaceful spot. We stayed in a studio cabin and it was charming. The kitchen is fully equipped. One of the perks of a secluded cabin is that there are no late night doors banging and voices coming through walls like you experience in a hotel.


A Weekend in the country :)

5 on May 09, 2013

We visited Vermont to attend a family wedding. Our stay at Sterling Ridge Resort was a delight. The cabin was beautiful; more than we expected. The grounds were being upgraded while we were there, so the noise of the "construction" at 8am was a rude wake-up call. But, all in all, it's a lovely place and the owners couldn't have been nicer! We will definitely be back!


Excellent Get away

4.4 on May 08, 2013

This was my second stay at Sterling Ridge. The one bedroom cabins are excellent , private , clean and a great value. The proprietors are excellent and extremely friendly and helpful. I will be staying again.


Spectacular Cabins

5 on May 08, 2013

This is the best place I have ever stayed and I can't wait to go back!


Home away from home!!!

5 on April 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the sterling ridge resort for our anniversary. From the second we got there we fell in love with the place and it was really hard to leave. The first thing we noticed was how incredibly clean and tidy the cabin was. The kitchen was fully stocked with every possible utensil we could need. Forks, plates, knives, plates, glasses, casserole dishes, and even a cookie sheet! After getting out of the shower I noticed how great the towels smelled! There wasn't a single stain on the carpets and the bed was so comfy! We truly could not have asked for a better experience. Susan and Scott were wonderful! The property is beautiful and we felt that the level of privacy was great!!! We even had 3 deer cross our front yard! Amazing!!! If we could live there we would! Can't wait to go back!!


Heaven!!!

5 on April 11, 2013

The cabin was exactly as described, extremely clean, and the staff was very helpful. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for peaceful relaxation!


We wished for more time!

4.4 on April 08, 2013

The stay at Sterling Lodge and Resort was A1 as it always is! Although the Jacuzzi blew the circuit breaker and we couldn't reset it. the staff were great and friendly as always, we did need the night staff to come in and reset the circuit breaker so that the heater would work. So if you use the Jacuzzi do not use the exhaust fan and timer in the bathroom as that probably over loaded the circuit breaker. The stay was a lot of fun and we look forward to visiting again.


Cabin in the woods

5 on April 02, 2013

My girlfriend I went here for a weekend getaway, We were looking for a quiet cabin in the woods. This is exactly what we got. It was very private and quiet. There were tons of trails for hiking cross-country skiing through pristine farmlands and mountains. But close enough to a local pub and great beers. If you're an outdoor enthusiasts and don't want to stay in a hotel or resort this is your place. The owners were really friendly and make sure our stay was enjoyable. We are going back again and have a recommend Sterling Ridge Jared


Great Vermont Getaway

4.6 on March 12, 2013

This is our second time staying at Sterling Ridge. The first time we were here for our wedding and stayed in the Field and Stream Dream Cabin. Many of our guests had to travel from far away for our wedding so we decided we wanted to find a place for them to stay that would be worth coming to Vermont for and Sterling Ridge was it. It was great having all of our friends and family staying in little cabins down the street from us and gave everybody a great opportunity to get together and enjoy the outdoors during their trip. We had nothing but extremely positive reviews from our guests. We just returned this year to celebrate our anniversary. We only had a few nights and decided to stay in a Studio cabin which turned out to be perfect for a short trip. The cabin is fairly large and clean with a nice gas stove and kitchenette so you can make a quick breakfast before hitting the slopes. The proximity to good local restaurants and skiing is perfect.. In addition, the staff here have always treated us extremely well in addition to giving us very accurate local ski reports! We would recommend Sterling Ridge looking for a nice authentic Vermont getaway. It is truly a unique experience.


Always a pleasure

5 on March 01, 2013

Whether we are skiing, snow-shoeing or just hanging out in the cabin, our time at Sterling Ridge is always just perfect. We love the ability to share breakfast at the table and cook healthy dinners. And our dog, Lucky, gets to have the time of his life in the snow. It is our "go to" winter getaway and we intend to return for years to come.


Great week long visit

4.6 on February 26, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Sterling Ridge and we ill definitely come back. The cabins are clean and perfect for families. It is only a 5 minute drive from Smuggs.


Wonderfull Stay

3.8 on February 21, 2013

Beautifull area and lovely clean cabins. My wife and I stayed in a studio cabin and it was big and very comfortable. I would like to see them add a heater in the bathroom as it was cold during our stay in February.


Excellent stay all round

4.8 on February 20, 2013

Our family enjoyed a fabulous stay at Sterling Ridge Resort. Friendly owners. Impeccably clean units. Kitchen well stocked with needed utensils. We would absolutely stay there again.


Ken & Patti Tavares

4.8 on February 19, 2013

We had such a great time we can't wait to go back. We are trying to come up with a plan for earley summer. The resort was fantastic, clean , and more than we expected. Love The pups give them a big hug from us. We hope Max is feeling better. Hope to see you soon, Patti & Ken


Great place!

4.4 on February 14, 2013

Sterling Ridge was a wonderful place to stay. The log cabins were really cute and cozy. Great location, wonderful staff, clean and well kept operation. I will definitely be back!


We recommned Sterling to all of our friends and family!

5 on February 07, 2013

We like the proximity to Smugglers Notch for the winter and other activities during the summer.


Sterling ridge

5 on January 23, 2013

Very cozy!


Nice place, good value, might go back again!

3.8 on January 20, 2013

We rented a one bedroom deluxe cabin for the weekend. It was very nice- very clean, pleasantly decorated, warm when we got in, full kitchen. I wish the hot tub was a little bigger, but it was still a nice addition to the room. Inn keeper was very welcoming and helpful - they even have DVDs that you can borrow for free. Cabin was fairly private - each lot is decently sized. Also, the rates were more reasonable than a lot of other places that I had researched in the area.


Idyllic Vermont Getaway

4.0 on January 17, 2013

My wife and I decided we wanted a peaceful retreat after the Christmas rush. I am a big fan of "White CHristmas", and had never been to Vermont, so we decided to go there. We chose the 1 bedroom cabin with wood stove and jacuzzi. We arrived late, and were cheerfuly greeted by the owners, whose local intel was very helpful. But, we went for the peace, and got it, with an incredible secluded view of a winter wonderland. Ahe cabin was spotless, and equipped with everything you need to jukt kick back and relax, make yourselves a romantic dinner, or hit Smuggler's Notch. We had an awesome time. We will be back.


A wonderful place to go with friends or family

4.6 on January 10, 2013

The cabin was located no more than 10 minutes from Smugglers Notch and they're definitely the place to stay in that area. The cabin was spacious and nice. You can't go to Vermont and stay in a hotel!


Amazing romantic weekend!

5 on January 09, 2013

My boyfriend and I rented the studio cabin for two nights in January and it was truly amazing. First of all, service was top notch. We arrived late at night, almost two hours after the latest check-in time and the staff stayed up to greet us with a smile. Not only that, but we had trouble pulling up into the uphill driveway since it had just snowed and we didn't have 4WD, and the guy from the front desk came out to help us without us even reaching out to him. Once inside, the cabin was spotless and already heated (with an additionally space heater available for our use.) The staff had set a few maps and printouts of local events for that week for us to peruse. The cabin was so cozy and welcoming, nicely lit and adorned, on a small hill overlooking a small frozen pond. It was fully stocked with all sorts of pans, silverware, a teapot, paper towels, and we even got some complimentary local coffee to try! The bed was also very comfortable. The cabins are not as far apart from one another as I had imagined, but we still got a feeling of total privacy since there's woods everywhere. Overall, we absolutely loved staying here and will certainly do so again if we plan another trip to the area. Amazing!


2012-13 New Years stay

4.8 on January 08, 2013

Great place for families


Amazing

4.4 on January 08, 2013

Sterling Ridge Resort is absolutely beautiful! The cabins are so welcoming and comfortable and the grounds are beautiful. This was the perfect winter getaway!


Definitely worth the money!

4.4 on January 04, 2013

We stayed in the 2-bedroom cabin. There were six of us (two of us slept on the sleeper sofa), but it did not feel cramped, probably because we were out playing most of the time. The property is gorgeous, and despite being part of a "resort" our cabin felt secluded. We took advantage of the beautiful trails around the property (we were lucky enough to have lots of fresh snow), and relaxed by the fire in the evening. Front office staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back next year!


Cozy Picturesque Cabin

5 on January 02, 2013

We stayed at Sterling Ridge December 23rd - December 26th 2012. The trip was everything we could have imagined and more. The cabin itself was beautiful and equipped with everything we could have possibly needed. We in fact over packed as we were cooking Christmas dinner there, but did not need many of the things we brought. The cabin itself is picture perfect, as were the views. We went on a number of walks around the property, and took advantage of a winter horse trail at a nearby stables, which was absolutely amazing, and highly recommended. We were sad to leave the one bed room deluxe cabin, and are definitely looking to return, and perhaps look into one of the larger cabins for a group trip. I would say that it is more than worth the money to pay for the deluxe cabin, as the hot tub was so relaxing after being outside in the cold.


The best Christmas getaway !

4.8 on December 28, 2012

It was 4 of us, who had an amazing white Christmas at Sterling ridge resort this year. We stayed at the cabin 14 and it was very clean and cozy. We loved the activities that Smugglers mountain center had to offer , we loved the dinning out as much as dinning in. Overall it was just amazing!! We be definitely coming back! Thank you so much !


love these cabins!

5 on November 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the November 2012 in a studio cabin. So spacious and cozy.


We keep coming back here!

3.8 on November 15, 2012

We love this place. We come at least twice a year- they allow pets and we like taking our dogs on vacation with us. This time we splurged on the deluxe cabin and enjoyed the jacuzzi and the wood stove. The fully equipped kitchen allowed us to just stay in and relax and walk the trails on the property. A perfectly relaxing getaway!


our first visit to Sterling Ridge

3.4 on November 06, 2012

we just loved the place quiet and clean. plan on going back a week in May if we decide not to go back to our regular place at Lake St Catherine


Had a great time - hope to be able to return (again and again)!

5 on November 04, 2012

We found the cabin to be spacious and, after firing up the heater, cozy. The facilities were just what we needed to enjoy our time away. We found local dining (Hearth and Candle) that was great and we look forward to returning.


A wonderful retreat!

4.6 on November 03, 2012

The cabin was absolutely beautiful and clean. It was a wonderful romantic getaway and we will definitely return next year.


Quiet, comfortable getaway

5 on October 31, 2012

We are so happy to have found Sterling Ridge for our long weekend with old friends. Loved the cabins, all well appointed with comfy furniture and beds. We used the outdoor grill for dinner and the fire pit was great on those full moon nights. Each day we walked the trails surrounding the cabins. A good location from which to explore the local sights. We are planning a return next spring!


Fantastic log cabin resort that we'll be returning to!

5 on October 25, 2012

We checked into Sterling Ridge on a Friday afternoon to start our vacation celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary. We paid the $650 flat rate for the "Romance Package" which consisted of a three night stay in a one-bedroom deluxe cabin with a basket of Vermont goodies: wine chocolates, cheese, etc. The nightly rate for the room was $225, so getting the package actually saved us a little money. My wife and I have been coming up to VT for years, but usually we stay in Burlingon so this was a nice change of scenery for us. Sterling Ridge is 15 minutes or so from the Smuggler's Notch resort and scenic highway, and about 40 minutes from Burlington. You're also within 5 minutes of the Smuggler's Notch distillery, and within 10 minutes of a half a dozen small restaurants in the area (The Mix is awesome for breakfast). There are 3 winery's in the immediate area, as well as maple farms and cider mills and the Cabot cheese annex. Upon checking into the resort, the attendant have me a map of the area with just about very local business marked down and made some restaurant recommendations, as well as mentioned the closest grocery store and their hours. Since these cabins are fully functional little "homes" with a kitchen etc., being able to grab some food to keep and cook on our own was nice. The cabins are all separated by small patches of trees at the least, and all have a picnic table, covered porch, chairs, charcoal grill an fire pit. Wood and supplies for the cabins are on sale or otherwise available 24/7 in the main office. All the cabins also have an indoor fireplace or wood burning stove to augment the gas heat, which was an excellent touch and we used ours extensively. All in all this was an excellent experience for us, the cabin and resort grounds in general were far better than I'd even expected, and the opportunity to discover a new area of Vermont is one we won't soon forget. We'll definitely be back soon!


Cozy stay in Vermont

4.6 on October 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Sterling Ridge Resort and had a wonderful time. It fulfilled all of our expectations to be in a location off the main drag, near a lot of outdoor activities and within driving distance of attractions (Waterbury Center, Burlington, etc.). I would definitely recommend this resort to my friend (I already have!) and expect to be back again in the future.


Sterling Ridge Resort

3.6 on October 15, 2012

Cabins are well situated for privacy and very comfortable. The property is beautiful. We look forward to another visit next year.


This place is TOP NOTCH!

5 on October 11, 2012

My wife and I spent Columbus Day weekend here. It was our second visit and we plan to make it a annual event. This place is WONDERFUL! Everything about it is just perfect. Location, cleanliness, staff, value, everything! If you are looking for a true "getaway" location, this is the place for you. Quiet, serene and clean, Sterling Ridge can not be beat. Love this place!


Lovely place to stay

4.2 on October 09, 2012

Sterling Ridge Resort was a wonderful place to stay. Overall I was very happy with my stay. It is the one place that appears as shown on their web site.


We will be back

4.6 on October 06, 2012

Not often are the picture on the Internet a true representation of rental cabins. However in this case they were extremely accurate and we were thrilled. We rented a one bedroom deluxe cabin which was clean and well appointed. The cabins are spaced out nicely and the porches are facing the woods and away from other cabins for privacy. This was our first Tay at Sterling Ridge and we will definitely be back


Sterling Ridge Resort review

4.6 on September 25, 2012

Sterling Ridge is a very nice place to stay. What prompted us to check it out was the fact that they have pet friendly cabins. We were impressed with the cabin and grounds, and the friendliness of the staff. It was nice to meet the owner's pets Max and Rocky and a few other dogs that were staying there. I would highly recommend this place.


Great location!

4.0 on September 23, 2012

Great place away from civilization and a beautiful area. My only complaint is the food I had in Jeffersonville which is near this place.


We plan to return!

3.6 on September 20, 2012

Extremely clean property, friendly staff. Needed a bit more light in the kitchen but overall the cabin was immaculate with fresh linens and well lit. A pleasant getaway.


Very well run resort

4.8 on September 19, 2012

Very clean, freindly, quiet and well maintained. All the items needed were included and then some. Really a top-notch operation. Bob & Tammy Lutz


It was our one year anniversary

4.4 on September 18, 2012

We had the best time as did our 2 dogs.. It was so peaceful and tranquil .. we have got a third dog now so we can't go back they have a 2 dog policy but would love to go back!


Great vacation spot!!

4.6 on September 18, 2012

Sterling Ridge Resort is a great place for a serene, quiet and rejuvenating vacation. We stayed in one of the one-bedroom cabins and it was very comfortable and clean. Wonderful setting with a couple of miles of walking trails, a pond where you can take out a paddle boat or rowboat. Very, very quiet and serene. Highly recommended.


2nd Time Was a Charm

4.0 on September 06, 2012

Took the teens back to "the cabin in vermont" as we all like to refer to Sterling Ridge. Had a wonderful time. If you are looking for peace, charm, solitude, nature, calm, quiet, and very well maintained, clean and high quality rooms then this is the place. The staff was great and the local area is perfect for those of us southerners (read: New Jersey) who crave stores with yellow arches, red bullseyes or smiley faces touting always low prices! You need to come here (but don't tell too many people...our secret). I scored mediocre for value only because you're not getting some "deal". It's a bit pricey but you get high quality for the price just don't expect a steal. Enjoy.


Perfect Labor Day weekend!

4.6 on September 05, 2012

Our cabin was beautiful cozy and immaculately kept. The resort provided everything we needed (and then some) for our two night stay. I would come back in a heartbeat!


Very nice place

3.4 on September 04, 2012

Stayed for a couple of days in a one bedroom cabin. Nice furniture, comfortable bed and the cabin itself was in great shape....a few spider webs here and there, but it is a cabin. Don't expect water pressure in the shower :). Only real problem we experienced was a couple of other guests further down the access road were speeding up and down in the middle of the night, but not the fault of the resort or its owners. Dining met my expectations because we cooked all our meals ourselves....all cooking utensils are there except for a broiler pan. I would very much recommend Sterling Ridge Resort for someone who is looking for a remote, peaceful place to stay over the Summer.


Wonderful spot

4.2 on September 04, 2012

We came here for our honeymoon eight years ago, and loved these wooded cabins that allowed us walking access to a pond (and canoes), mountains, moose tracks, and a pool. We take the most gorgeous bikerides and there are dozens of mountains to climb all within a short drive away. It was perfect for us when it was just us, then when we brought a toddler who napped a lot, and this summer we couldn't have picked a better spot to bring our 6-week-old and 3-year-old. We want them to explore the natural world of their own volition, not be passively entertained by structured activities, so for us it is perfect - it was a delight to see our daughter roaming in the fields catching moths and frogs, and eating blackberries off the bushes all around the property, and learning to swim in the pool. We also hiked our babies up 3 mountains in 6 days - it was so fun. We were all sad to return, even though our lives at home are pretty wonderful, too. I think we're Sterling Ridge lifers!


Excellent stay!

4.8 on September 03, 2012

I stayed at Sterling Ridge for my honeymoon for three nights. It was absolutely perfect. Quiet, laid back, Max the resort dog would come visit and you could have a campfire every night. Town is extremely close with a few different restaurants. I would highly suggest Sterling Ridge if you want a truly relaxing holiday! I would go back in a heartbeat.


Quiet retreat in Vermont

3.0 on September 01, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in a 2 bedroom cabin. Warm welcome and beautiful scenery.


Peaceful location fantastic cabin

4.4 on September 01, 2012

Had an excellent stay enjoyed the great outdoors. Peaceful spot but plenty to do with lovely lake and swimming pool. Amazing log cabin and campfire experience. Due to wooden construction sound installation between rooms is limited but all part of the log cabin experience. Would highly recommend


Great little get-away

3.4 on August 30, 2012

Cute, spacious, clean, private cabins in a beautiful setting. We had a great stay at the Sterling Ridge.


A great relaxing stay at this lovely lodge!

4.2 on August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long deserved vacation, for three nights. It was well worth every penny we paid for it. The dining rating is low since we did not dine there. The property was as nice and kept up as we had anticipated, the rooms were VERY clean, and I tend to take issue with that (OCD or what not..), particularly when it comes to the bathroom. Can't say a word - clean. Our cabin was lovely, very secluded and private, so peaceful :) Overall, that whole area was fantastic. Sterling Ridge delivered on any expectation we had, we would recommend it and would defiantly love to come back!


Oustanding vacation accomodations

5 on August 24, 2012

Everything about about Steriling Ridge is as advertised if not better. They pay attention to the small details. Very clean and attractive. Recommend it strongly.


A wonderful Family Vacation

5 on August 23, 2012

My wife and three kids spent a week at Sterling Ridge, and couldn't have been happier! Scott and Susan were very gracious and accommodating. The cabin we spent the week (#15) was right on the pond. The view from our porch was beautiful and soothing. The service was outstanding, anything we needed was quickly and effeiciently taken care of. The cleanliness was impeccable. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and manicured. We spent a good amount of time relaxing at the pool, which was clean and very well maintained. The dining part was not applicable since we cooked all our own dinners. My 4 yr old daughter and 6 yr old son loved seeing "Maxxie" (the innkeepers family dog)every morning walking around the grounds. At the Ridge we enjoyed the pool and game room, shot a couple games of pool.We went on a few of the nature walks around the property and really enjoyed taking the canoe out at dusk on the pond. If your looking for a great Vermont family vacation without all the crowds, Sterling Ridge is the place!! With Burlington and Stowe short car rides away, it really makes it the perfect summer vacation. Thanks you Scott and Susan for your hospitality!! Happy 20 yrs!! The Hartjen Family Paul,Cassie,Andrew,Luke,and Alana


Wonderful as always.

5 on August 23, 2012

This was our third time at Sterling Ridge and everything was again perfect.


Peaceful and restfull

4.6 on August 20, 2012

This is a very quiet location. It is my second stay at this resort, and it is very nice. I'll be back; I like Vermont. David


Cozy, clean cabin in a beautiful naturalistic surronding - loved the stay!

5 on August 16, 2012

We stayed three nights in August in a single bedroom cabin. The cabin combined the right amount of rustic with comfort and functionality. The cabin overlooked a lake - it was peaceful and beautiful. There were fun things for families in the community center an surrounding grounds. Highly recommend this resort - great value! Look forward to staying at this resort again!


The Ideal Get Away!

5 on August 15, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sterling Ridge Resort in Jeffersonville, VT. It was by far the best get away we have had in Vermont. It affords privacy or you can find numerous things to do at the recreational center by the pool. It is definitely a place we will stay at again. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed and more. I already recommended it to my Facebook friends who are looking forward to joining us when we return.


Pond House

3.8 on August 15, 2012

The Pond house is nestled away in the woods and provided seclusion and comfort. Definitely recomend it, and hope to return soon.


Great hide away weekend!

3.6 on August 12, 2012

Adorable little cabin tucked into the woods! All was clean and simple. The cabin had just what one would need and nothing more. Perfect for an intimate weekend. Great walking trails. Very quiet and rustic.


Log Cabin Days and Nights

5 on August 03, 2012

What a fantastic place! We enjoyed the cabins, the ponds, the swimming pool, the game room, fishing at any time, and all the boats available to use at the spur of the moment. We thoroughly enjoyed our week! Thank you!


Cabin resort

3.2 on August 02, 2012

It was real pretty, real nice. At first appearance it looked amazing. It was really quiet and relaxing. Places to go were a little drive but not that bad. At night you could ear mice squeaking and scratching around but never saw them or droppings. Would stay there again.


Great place to stay

4.6 on August 01, 2012

We stayed in a 2-bedroom cabin on the big pond with another couple. It was wonderful! Quiet, clean, friendly, and lots of things to (row boat, kayak, canoe, paddleboat, pool, hot tub, fishing, club house, trails, etc.) right on the premises.


Stayed here for my sister's wedding, she recommended it

4.4 on July 25, 2012

Our daughter and family stayed with us. All of us were amazed with the beauty, roomy cabin, the walking trails and the POND. Our two grandchildren had never been to VT; they loved it! Especially the pond with rowboats and paddle boat and frogs. Everything was so well kept we didn't want to leave.


A Vacation to Remember

5 on July 21, 2012

Truly a a gem to relax at and plenty to do to keep the wanderer satisfied


Highly Recommend

4.2 on July 21, 2012

Our family immensely enjoyed our stay. The cabin was clean and well-maintained, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We loved the beautiful gardens and trails on the property, particularly the loop around the pond. Our teenagers especially appreciated the pool and the access to Wi-Fi in the common room. While we were in the area, we enjoyed hiking around Mt. Mansfield, exploring Smugglers' Notch, and canoeing on the Lamoille River.


Relaxing and Comfortable

4.2 on July 21, 2012

Great stay; I have nothing but positive things to say about the resort! The surrounding area is pretty desolate and we seemed to always have trouble finding somewhere to eat that was open. On Tuesday for lunch at 2pm, we stopped at six places before the seventh one we found was open. But again, that's not a reflection on the resort, Sterling Ride was quiet and lovely and a great getaway. The office staff was helpful and friendly and we loved that they were able to accommodate our pet on such short notice.


Perfect for a family reunion

4.6 on July 21, 2012

We chose Sterling Ridge because we where having a family reunion following my daughters wedding. It was a perfect choice. The fact that we could rent for a minimum of 2 days (we stayed 3 days) was a huge factor. We all loved the place the fact that it was well situated to do day trips for kayaking, Smugglers and so much more. Being able to go hang at your own cabin and have down time was great as well. Even our dog was in heaven he had free reign and loved the freedom. I would and will return to Sterling Ridge, Fully equiped kitchen allowed us to make our own meals or go out some where.


Enjoyed cabin in the woods!

3.4 on July 17, 2012

The cabin had a nice view, even though it was pet friendly it didn't smell like animals had been there. The bed was made up with sheets; clean bed spread and was very comfortable. We did have a little problem with water pressure and the temperature of the water in the bathroom. The pool was refreshing, just the right temperature on a hot day. We enjoyed the camp fire area and the picnic table was close by the cabin. We enjoyed the trails and use of the canoe and paddle boat. I'm interested in going back with the extended family and using a bigger cabin.


Love it here!

5 on July 16, 2012

My family has been coming up here for years and it's one of our favorites places ever. My kids, 15 and 11, can't wait to go back. Ideal vacation for relaxation with the family.


anniversary getaway

4.4 on July 07, 2012

we enjoyed every minute of our time at sterling! we are already making plans to revisit, perhaps with a group of friends. individual cabins allow for privacy, but it'd be fun to have others we know to share the experience with. enough activities available at the resort that you'd never have to leave...provided you bring enough food. lots of tourist things to do in the surrounding areas off the resort too. ~tammi & jesse


Pond House - Sterling Ridge Resort

4.4 on July 06, 2012

We stayed at the Pond House for three nights. There were eight family members in our group and the accommodations exceeded our expectations. The kitchen was the best equipped of any kitchen we had ever seen during our stay in rental units. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was very relaxing and we enjoyed everything about our stay. We would recommend the Pond House to any family who is looking for a tranquil retreat.


Great place to get away

4.0 on July 05, 2012

I went to Sterling Ridge with a few of my friends just to get away, and had a great time. I would recommend Sterling Ridge to anyone who wants to be in a rustic area without roughing it.


Excellent stay at Sterling lodge

4.6 on July 05, 2012

We had a very good time staying at Sterling and surely will enjoy coming back. The Lodge was well decorated and very clean. All we needed during our stay was already in the lodge (cooking ware, iron, hair dryer etc...) The swimming pool was great and we enjoyed the free access to the canoes to enjoy the lake. Definitely a place to recommend.


sterling ridge resort

3.4 on June 25, 2012

the property was well maintained and our rooms were very clean. The kitchen was well supplied. The common pool was fantastic: clean and heated. We had an issue with the remote control for the t.v. and dvd player and wished there had been a manual or a working remote. We would return!


love this place

4.8 on June 17, 2012

We stayed here 2x and my mom has also stayed here. Its ab amazing place to stay, very clean,very quiet, nice place to relax. I would recommend this place to family friends


All around great trip!

5 on June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our Anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised, you know it is a nice place when you are already planning your next return trip before you have even checked out.


May 2012 review

3.6 on June 04, 2012

Beautiful location, second time staying at Sterling Ridge. Only issue was mattresses in cabin were either in need of replacing or very poor quality. Hard to get a good night's sleep. Despite this issue would recommend staying there and will likely book again in the future.


Great Place!!

4.8 on May 31, 2012

We stayed at The Sterling Ridge Resort over Memorial Day and had an amazing time. The hosts were very accommodating-- answered any questions we had, were always available, and very gracious. We loved that we could have a cabin that was fully equipped--we didn't have to think of anything but meals. Our cabin was SPOTLESS, so you didn't feel like you had to clean anything, etc. It was like being in a hotel (without the housekeeping daily, of course)--even providing extra towels in the bathroom, a complimentary bag of coffee, etc. And, unlike other cabins we have been to, they have dishwashers in the cabins (bonus to a rustic setting)! They have a great game room and pool (they even provide towels here too), hot tub, and little pond to swim in. We brought our dogs (there are specific cabins that they are allowed in), so the atmosphere was terrific. Hiking from the resort and around the area is spectacular. We enjoyed the gorge that is within 2 miles of the resort--and the trails are well marked and maintained. GREAT PLACE! We will be back!!!!


A lovely weekend away

4.2 on May 27, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe cabin for two days. The place was perfectly clean and convenient. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but they were very helpful at check in and check out. Amenities were very nice and all in all it was a great weekend. Perfect for getting out of the city and spending some time getting back to nature.


Relaxing, peaceful getaway

5 on May 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay before the Memorial Weekend rush. The cabins are nestled in the quiet countryside and are very peaceful and serene. All the comforts of home with an outstanding and friendly staff to offer assistance. When you come and go, Max (the wonderdog) always comes up to your care to greet you. They are working on getting the internet to the cabins but this is the one thing I enjoyed being away from...the embelical cord to work was cut!!! Making the plans now for the return trip next year, inviting more family and moving up to bigger digs. A most pleasing saty!


Quiet weekend!

4.0 on May 23, 2012

I was looking for someplace to take my husband for his birthday, while searching the internet Sterling Ridge Resort was one of the first sites to pop up. When we arrived we were greeted by Max (Beautiful, friendly Golden Retriever), and Susan, the very nice, informative lady at the desk. The cabins are clean & spacious with well stocked kitchen. The best part .... it was very quiet!!! The cabin next door had small children and we never heard them, even when they were outside playing. We liked the Resort and the area and are planning to return for a "Family" trip before our Son's deployment this Summer. If you like being outdoors and quiet surroundings then I recommend Sterling Ridge Resort !!


First Visit

2.8 on May 21, 2012

Should have spent more time deciding which cabin would meet my wants. The studio was just too small.


A very pleasant stay

3.8 on May 18, 2012

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the resort. The rooms were very nice and clean with a fireplace inside the cabin and a grill just outside the cabin. The staff was very nice and friendly. Food was not included, but we found some outstanding restaurants in Jeffersonville. The environment in which the resort is was beautiful; we walked around on the trails, did some kayaking on the lake, and made frequent visits to Smugglers Notch, Jeffersonville, and Waterbury. Our only complaint is that sometimes there were more bugs outside in the area (not so much in the cabin) than we are used to, and I think we might have seen a mouse at one point. But in general, it was a very pleasant stay that exceeded our expectations, and we hope to come back again in the future.


Looking forward to our NEXT stay with Sterling!

5 on May 15, 2012

I cannot say enough about how nice our stay was!! What a beautiful place, and SO SO SO clean! We are excited to be going back soon!!


April Retreat at Sterling Ridge

4.8 on May 03, 2012

Another wonderful quilting retreat at Sterling Ridge. As always the Lodge was the perfect location with full kitchens, bedrooms with private baths and a fantastic view of Mt Mansfield. The owners and staff couldn't be nicer, they accommodate special requests without a problem.


Very wonderful stay

4.8 on April 18, 2012

We has a wonderful stay and will deffinatly be going back


a pleasant surprise

4.2 on April 13, 2012

we recently stayed at Sterling Ridge Resort for a ski trip and we were pleasantly surprised. check in was easy, the person at the front desk was warm and welcoming, taking a few minutes to point out local points of interest (grocery stores, restaurants) and amenities of the resort. once we arrived at our cabin, we were happy to find it in immaculate condition. very clean and cozy. the photos on the website do not do the cabins justice, they look much better in person! small touches made our stay enjoyable: a towel to wipe off our dog's feet after a walk outside, a can of air freshener in the bathroom, a tray for boots next to the door, towel exchange and extra supplies at the office, dvd's and games to borrow at no charge. we had such a nice relaxing stay. fond memories of our trip and the woodsy smell of our cabin lingering on our clothes will have to tide us over until we return!


Field and Stream 2012

4.0 on March 15, 2012

The Staff and accommodations at Sterling Ridge were fantastic!! We had a wonderful experience and cannot wait to return!


Studio stay

4.2 on March 14, 2012

We stayed at a studio at Sterling Ridge & had a blast! Very cute cabins, with a kitchen equipped with the tools needed to prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lots of privacy so it was very romantic. The proprietors were very sweet & helpful with suggestions for things to do around town- the snowmobiling was especially fun! All in all I would definitely recommend, and look forward to going back.


Lovely weekend getaway

4.0 on February 26, 2012

The cabin was delightful, with thoughtful and well-chosen appointments (e.g., kindling and newspaper, delicious coffee, plenty of fresh towels). The location had great trails for hiking, and is convenient to Burlington.


Memorable Getaway

4.2 on February 19, 2012

What a wonderful romantic getaway my husband and I just had at the Sterling Ridge Resort. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe cabin which exceeded our expectations. The pictures cannot do justice to the simplistic charm the cabins have to offer. They are very spacious, warm, cozy and tastefully decorated. The cabin offered a lovely comfortable king bed with soft warm bedding, a comfortable hot jacuzzi and wood burning stove. The area each cabin rests on gives plenty of privacy and serenity, yet offers all the comforts of home. The staff was friendly and professional providing information about what they had to offer as well as what the town did. This is definitely the place to go to get away from it all and have a really enjoyable stay. We will be back!.


Delightful Vermont Hideaway

4.0 on February 09, 2012

Warm and welcoming staff, clean comfortable, spacious accomodations, lovely private view overlooking classic Vermont scenery. We would highly recommend Sterling Ridge and plan to return.


Nice Place

3.4 on February 01, 2012

The dining rating is not relevant since we did not eat there. The cabins are nice, clean and warm. A nice place to stay, just a little pricey, otherwise a A+


AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!

4.0 on January 04, 2012

We have stayed at Sterling Ridge twice now & have absolutley loved it both times (once in the summer and once in the winter). It felt like our own home. The cabins are set up with everything you need for cooking, etc. We were looking to just get away and relax and that is exactly what we were able to do. You can have as little or as much interaction with other people as you want. :) There are groceries, restaurants, and plenty of attractions all within decent driving distance. I have become a big fan of Vermont & this resort, in particular. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, peaceful, and beautiful place to stay.


Sterling Ridge Resort

4.8 on December 29, 2011

Sterling Ridge Resort was a fantastic winter honeymoon decision for me and my new husband. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, rooms were very clean and well-kept. It is the perfect place for a cozy, secluded escape. I would highly recommend it. We are planning on returning again.


A nice little place in the middle of nowhere

3.6 on December 07, 2011

We stayed in a 1 bedroom "honeymoon" cabin. It was a nice cozy little place with a bedroom with a comfortable king size bed, a bathroom with a very large jacuzzi tub, a living room with a rather tiny (18"?) tv and dvd player and a kitchen stocked with dishes. One thing we didn't find in the kitchen was a pitcher, so bring your own if you think you'll need it. There is hiking on the property which was nice. The cabin also has a fireplace and they supply a bundle of kindling and a bundle of firewood with your stay. Additional bundles can be purchased at the main office for $5 a bundle. There was no dining on site, but Jeffersonville is about 5 minutes away and has a few small but decent restaurants. I would have to say the best part about our stay was our trip to the Essence Spa in Jeffersonville. They are a small establishment so call for reservations in advance.


Just awesome!

4.0 on December 01, 2011

The cabin, surroundings and people all exceeded any experience we've had with other lodging. The cabin was perfect. The scenery of the complex is stunning and what I know Vermont to be. And the staff including the beautiful dogs, were warm and welcoming. Before we left, we had already decided we would return to the same cabin next year. Thank you for a wonderful vacation. I travel for a living, for the last 26 years; Sterling Ridge Resort tops my list of lodging anywhere. By the way, I have spent the last 26 years traveling worldwide. I have stayed in hotels too numerous to count, most 5 star. They all pale in comparison to


Amazing place!

5 on November 16, 2011

We stayed in the 1 bedroom cabin and it was just perfect for a weekend away with that someone special! We are definitely going to return in the spring or summer!


Cabin 10

4.6 on November 11, 2011

Everything was just as I imagined and it was just what I needed. I will be returning at some point. Thank you.


Amazing!

4.8 on November 09, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay at Sterling Ridge. Our Cabin was beautiful, the view was amazing, and the overall time was so relaxing. This place was really wonderful!!!!


Sterling Ridge Resort and Log Cabins

4.8 on November 07, 2011

I couldn't ask for a better, cleanier cabin in the woods to relax in. It was so perfect! The kitchen was equipped with a stove, mircowave and fridge so we could cook instead of eating out each night. The bathroom not only had a shower but bathtub as well. The living room had a small gas stove which heated the cabin making it feel cozy. My first trip to Vermont was awesome and a lot of it had to do with Sterling Ridge Resort and Log Cabins!!!!


Delivered on everything promised

4.6 on November 02, 2011

The cabin was exactly as promised - cozy, well-built, and extremely comfortable. Although we arrived late and weren't sure about check-in, they left a note with our name and easy directions to our cabin. Private and quiet, but anything we needed easily available.


Sterling Ridge Resort

4.4 on October 26, 2011

What a wonderful little gem, tucked away in the mountains of northern VT! We were hiking Mt Mansfield, decided not to camp out, but instead found SRR, and were treated to our OWN private log cabin, overlooking Sterling Lake. Wish we could have sat on the porch in our own Adirondack chairs, but the rainy weather precluded that. The beds were VERY comfortable, the woodstove a treat (1st bundle of wood was free!), and the staff was warm & welcoming.The cabin was comfortably appointed, the kitch well stocked with everything we need to prepare meals. And Max, the really gorgeous golden retriever, was a gentle and sweet boy- very well behaved! Although way above the cost of our "usual" annual camping trips, we were all very glad we found Sterling Ridge!


visitors from Europe

3.8 on October 22, 2011

Having stayed at Sterling Ridge before we new we'd love it. And we did. We asked to be able to stay in the same cabin, and we were happy to realize that this was made possible. From Europe it's a long way, but it was surely worth it. So, given the opportunity we'd certainly love to come again, preferably for a longer stay. Let's hope and see.


Great stay

4.4 on October 22, 2011

A nice little place to stay and to visit Jeffersonville, Stowe and the Queen Mountains and just to enjoy the fall with all its colors.


Fantastic family getaway!

4.2 on October 19, 2011

Fantastic stay with the whole family. Stayed in the Dream cabin just perfect! Can't wait to go back next year.


another great getaway

4.4 on October 17, 2011

we've been staying at sterling ridge for the past 10+ years now as part of our rejuvenation regime from work and never have we been disappointed. the cabins are everything anyone could want, the scenery so wonderful and the Petersons just wonderful people.....we highly recommend this wonderful resort to anyone wishing to experience the great state of Vermont.....ray & carol


Must be added to the "TO-DO LIST"!!!

4.0 on October 16, 2011

Beautiful setting, great cottages, comfortable, clean and highly functional!


Great to be back

4.6 on October 13, 2011

We used to come there (last time about 15 years ago) when it operated as a B&B and were pleasantly surprised at the major changes in their operation. This time, we came with our two kids, ages 8 and 13 and stayed in cabin 16, The cabin had a great view of the pond and was very private. It was also very clean and had basically everything you would need (we bought food and ate in all of the time). The only thing it didn't have were bbq tools but we managed. Also loved the layout of the cabin, very cozy. Staff was very helpful and my kids enjoyed playing with the resort dogs (Max and Rocky). The kids also enjoyed the kayak (lifevests in the office) and we liked walking the pond loop. We also used the game room one night and would have enjoyed the hottub had I not forgotten swimsuits. The pool was closed (obviously) but must be great in the summer. We did go to Stowe but frankly enjoyed our time at the cabin even more. The only irritant is the fact that they now charge for firewood ($5 a bundle) and hopefully they can maybe look into that. All in all it was great to be back and we will be back sooner (perhaps for a ski vacation since they offer discounted tickets to a couple of the resorts).


Dream cabin visit

4.0 on October 05, 2011

We loved the house and the outside view. I would definitely recommend it to friends n family


Very nice but could be better

3.2 on October 02, 2011

Lovely place to get away, nice view on the pond. With such a price you would expect free wood.


Sterling ridge log cabins

3.0 on September 25, 2011

I stayed at the Field and Stream Dream cabin in late September 2011. The cabin is very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The grounds are beautiful. This cabin is somewhat secluded yet the whole place is only a short drive to Stowe. The inside of the cabins is exactly like the pictures, but the surroundings are more beautiful. The pictures don't do the view justice. I went with my elderly parents and two other family members and the space was sufficient and we were all comfortable and everyone enjoyed there stay. There are two bedroom with queen beds (one on each floor) and two living areas (one on each floor). Two of the chairs in first floor living area can be converted to twin bed sleepers. The second floor living area has a sleeper sofa that converts to a queen bed. There is another area off of the second floor living area (partly separated by a divider). This area has a day bed. We called the office for service (the handle of one of the bathrooms toilet tank came off) and the owner was there in about 20 minutes and he replaced it with a new handle. The only cons are: when I booked the website was saying that they provide fire wood for free, but when I got there they told me that they now charge for it ($5/bundle). The pond that is very close to our cabin is not easily accessible (there is a short and narrow path, but it was blocked by falling trees) and I didn't see any canoe there (the website says that there is a canoe that can be used). Even though the cabin was for the most part spotless, I think they forgot to clean the stairs (there were shoe marks and they looked like they needed to be mopped). Overall we had great time. It was very relaxing and I would go back.


Home away from home

4.6 on September 21, 2011

Very quiet get away.....Loved the views and the kids loved being out in nature! Lots of walking trails, fishing and paddle boating. Would definately go again!


Great Vacation!

4.2 on September 16, 2011

I've stayed here twice and I love it. The people who work here are great, they allow dogs (our dog loved running around). The pool is nice and relaxing... there is a ton of hiking and activities nearby. I plan to make this a yearly destination to get away from the city.


Retreat in a Storm

4.4 on September 14, 2011

We spent 4 wonderful nights in our deluxe cabin at Sterling Ridge. What a great way to sit out 2 days of Irenes rains and winds. Totally a place to relax and unwind -- even in the wake of Irenes final days.


Second Time Visiting

4.4 on September 08, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for the second year in a row and couldn't have asked for more. The location is great, we really enjoyed the dining recommendation we were given at check-in, and we'll definitely be back next year!


Amazing stay and we will return soon

4.0 on September 04, 2011

We stayed at Sterling Ridge 4 nights. The Cabins are exactly the way you see them on the website, so nice, clean and well kept. There is a nice pond where you can fish and a small pool to relax. There are canoes avaliable at the big pond to use free of charge. Everyone at the Inn was very friendly and helpful with giving us directions to diffrent areas. There are many hiking trails near the resort. The Gondola at Stowe Resort is great it takes you to base of Mountain and you can then hike up to peak of Mt. Mansfield. The hike up the Cliff Trail is extremly challenging but once you get to the top the view is breathtaking. Bike rentals are also near by at the Nordic Barn where you can ride on the recreational path all the way into the town of Stowe (VT108) and back. Along the path are wonderful views of water and mountains etc. There is also a corn Maze along the path which was fun. There is canoing and kayaking renatls near by but due to the after effect of the huricane we were unable to do these water activities. The Town of Stowe is very nice with many places to eat. If you like burgers and shakes check out the Malt Shop. There are so many things to do which are a short drive from Sterling Ridge Resort. We had a great time and will be back again but this time for a longer stay.


Dream Cabin

3.2 on August 24, 2011

We stayed for 5 days in the Field and Stream Dream Cabin. The cabin was beautifully set in a private setting over looking a pond. The view from the font porch was serene. The large stone fireplace was a treat. The cabin was very spacious and although we stayed with our 3 kids, it would be a great place to return to with multiple friends or families. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you needed to cook and enjoy lovely meals and the dishwasher and laundry machines on the main floor made the clean up easy! We will return to Sterling Ridge with our family.


Summer weekend at Sterling Ridge

4.6 on August 23, 2011

There were comfortable beds in an attractive 2 bedroom cabin with a bath, living room and kitchen. It was simple to prepare and serve ourselves breakfast and lunch. We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, and swam in the pool. The approach to the resort is on a dirt road, which was fine for us, but might pose a problem in bad weather.


Sterling Ridge

4.6 on August 19, 2011

Sterling Ridge is awesome!! Quiet and remote, and the rooms were great!


the Real Deal

4.0 on August 17, 2011

This place is everything we hoped it would be and then some ..Great staff , cool old dog and perfect accomodations. A very quaint and picturesque place to vacation . We brought 4 girls under 11 and a dog ..there was plenty of room and everything was just right in the kitchen. Hikes around the grounds are really peaceful and quiet . The loop around the pond offers sweet views of Mansfield , which we drove up and hiked around the top . Vermont's best kept secret , we are certainly coming back # 17 looked great . Pricing is actually reasonable for the area . You definitely get your money's worth , it's all class at this place , just the way we like it . Tough place to leave..


I love s ridge

5 on August 05, 2011

from the minute we got there to the time we left outstanding the Petersons do it right,thank you


Just Perfect

5 on August 03, 2011

This was the best place that I have ever stayed. I will be back there again!


Review Summer 2011

3.4 on August 02, 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Thouroughly enjoyed exploring the property with my dog. Definitely recommend to those who enjoy hiking.


A lovely stay.

3.6 on August 02, 2011

Cabin was very clean and comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped. Bathroom had clean towels and were allowed to change them when needed. Staff was polite and helpful.


Great place to stay!!!

4.6 on July 21, 2011

My family and I spent 3 nights in the Dream Cabin and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The cabin is as beautiful as the pictures suggest. It was at the end of the road and extremely private. My children had a wonderful time at the pool and in the game room. The staff was great and we took a bunch of pictures with their dog Max, who was just as friendly. I would highly recommend Sterling Ridge to anyone looking for a quiet retreat from city life. We look forward to returning in the future.


VACATION 2011

4.2 on July 05, 2011

CABIN WAS WELL MAINTAINED AND COULD NOT HAVE BEEN NICER. WISH THERE WAS MORE GOING ON IN TOWN BUT WE LEFT BEFORE THE JULY 4TH EVENTS BEGAN.


Very Nice Place!

4.6 on July 05, 2011

Sterling Ridge was a wonderful little getaway hidden up near Vermont's highest mountain, Mt. Mansfield. They have a number of different types of cabins to stay in, from family-sized ones to smaller two-person ones, like the deluxe single my wife and I stayed in. The cabin we stayed in was homey and very welcoming, with comfortable furniture and nice amenities. The fully-equipped kitchen was very nice for those nights where we just wanted to stay in and relax. The bathroom also had a nice two-person jacuzzi tub, which was extremely nice, especially after a day of hiking or mountain climbing. The bed was large and comfortable, and my wife and I definitely slept very well throughout the week we stayed. The staff there at Sterling Ridge were very nice and helpful, and were always available to help us out. They had a good selection of movies to borrow, at no extra cost, as well as firewood and kindling for the fireplace, if you so desired. There were also a few trails that were easily accessible which explored the forests around the resort. Scenic rt. 108 was just around the corner, and is definitely worth exploring, as there are waterfall trails and the like less than a mile off the road. The whole place was relaxed and was exactly what we were looking for. We'd definitely stay again if we ever find ourselves heading back out to Vermont. A wonderful gem in a sea of overpriced ski resorts and lodges.


Great vacation spot

4.4 on June 26, 2011

Excellent vacation getaway! Very private cabins surrounded by beautiful outdoor settings and had a great service staff. We extended our stay because we enjoyed it so much!


Great for people w/ children

4.4 on June 17, 2011

This was a great place to stay. It allowed us to not only be close the mountains, and friends that we were visiting, but despite rain during one the days, it allowed out 2 1/2 year old to remain entertained indoors!


Weekend in Paradise

4.6 on May 31, 2011

Everything i had hoped it would be. Staff was very friendly, cabin was clean and well maintained. Beautiful property. Cant wait to go back!!


Great weekend get-away!

4.0 on May 30, 2011

We wanted to get-away for a weekend since our jobs are really stressful. This is exactly what we needed - a peaceful, quiet and cozy cabin. Our cabin had everything we could possibly need and it was nice to cook a few meals in the full kitchen. The scenery was amazing and the drive through Mt. Mansfield to get to Sterling Ridge was a great experience - make sure to have your camera ready while driving through! The only complaint I had is the bed was too soft and we woke up a little sore the next day. I will definitely be visiting again!


very clean

3.6 on May 28, 2011

very clean cabins, no food on site ,no working wi fi on site.rec room sparse big holes in the wall where someone was pushed into it we went a week before mem. day weekend hot tub had no water and pool still not open the kids swings were just a wood 2 swing set with a slide We loved the cabin and relise it was off season but with all the great reviews expected more


Weekend getaway

4.8 on May 26, 2011

We stayed in the cabin that was featured in the Field and Dreams magazine. This was breathtaking. We enjoyed the piece and quiet of the area. The geese did gives us a wake up call in the morning which gave us a chance to get started early. This was our second visit to this area and plan on returning during the off season. This is within a half hour from some local tourist attractions like Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream. If you want some piece and quiet with some relaxing from the daily life this is a very nice place. I would recommend this resort. Dining was not included we found area restaurants and brought our own food.


Awesome

5 on May 18, 2011

family run and very well done!!! Friendly arrival and accomidating. I was staying in a studio but a part of a larger group celebrating several events. Susan was nice enough to give me keys to the pond house where the majority of my party was staying, so I could unload some things there. The studio was awesome and even though I got a great deal off season, it is well worth the higher seasonal price. I have already recommended it to many of my skiing friends.


Great getaway!

3.8 on May 11, 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom King-size bed cabin, which was very clean, nicely-appointed, and had sufficient cookware, fridge, utensils, etc. Pretty much all the amenities of home, which was good, because the local restaurants thrilled us so little that we decided to cook most of our meals (though to be fair, we only tried one of the more "upscale" ones and gave up after that). The staff was unobtrusive, but helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful, and the view of the mountains from the far shore of the larger pond is truly picturesque. We didn't take a serious hiking trail, but we wish we had. The trails looked to be clearly marked. The local area is gorgeous, with creeks and rivers with waterfalls within walking distance. This place is impressive.


April 2011 5-night Stay

3.6 on April 25, 2011

Loved the resort and our cabin (#19) which appeared to be almost brand new. Be prepared for the road which is unpaved from the highway to the resort. We never had serious problems but it was unexpected and would have been easier to navigate in an SUV due to a couple of soft areas that always caused a little anxiety. We never got stuck but plan ahead. My only suggestion for improvement would be for the bed in cabin #19. I think it needs to be replaced since it seems to have a significant depression in the center of the bed which was slightly uncomfortable.


Amazing as always!

4.8 on April 10, 2011

It's been our second time at Sterling Ridge. My wife and I always find the cabins in fantastic condition, and the staff is always willing to help answer any questions. We have decided to make this our family vacation spot for years to come.


sterling ridge resort stay

4.4 on March 31, 2011

My husband and I wanted a nice winter getaway, found sterling ridge resort online. We were wowed with how wonderful this place was. Can't wait to return!


Beautiful Log Cabin

3.6 on March 31, 2011

The resort itself is very nice and quiet. The log cabin we were in was beautiful and had a nice tub and fireplace. It was quiet and set back from the road. About 11.5 miles from the town center where the restaurants are that have excellent food. Main places to go site seeing and shopping are Waterbury and Burlington which are about 40 minute rides from here. Only down fall was the room was not the cleanest when we got there. The kitchen was in ok condition and we had to wash the silver ware and coffee pot before we could use it. The fire place had not been cleaned in a while and was disgusting and made fires hard to keep going. Towels in the bathroom were wet when we walked in the door.


Very comfortable, very nice rooms

4.8 on March 30, 2011

Beautiful setting in the woods, plus super close to Smuggler's Notch ski area. New interior, everything worked perfected, nice warm gas fire place, very clean. Could not have asked for a nicer place to stay for the weekend and ski.


Cute, Cozy and Great Value

4.0 on March 27, 2011

You really can't go wrong vacationing at these cabins. I stayed in a cute and cozy studio lodge for a couple of days and my experience was great. I arrived later than the usual check-in hours, and a note was left for me at the front desk with the keys and directions for locating my cabin along the road - easy as pie. When I located the cabin, the lights were on, and inside, it looked warm and inviting. The studio was clean and the gas stove gave it a nice romantic touch! Just a two minute drive to Smuggler's Notch, this is definitely a more economical choice for skiers. The resort also offers snowmobiling; though, the trails were closed when we were there because of too much snow (ironically). There is a hot tub and a game room as well. We had a great stay and are thinking of returning again - perhaps during the summer this time!


Our weekend getaway

3.8 on March 23, 2011

The place was absolutely beautiful, my wife and I enjoyed our time there so much we almost didn't want to come home :)


Best cabin deal!

4.8 on March 18, 2011

Perfect location for skiing at Smuggs. Hot tub, game room, big cabin. Everything was perfect! The owner is incredibly nice. Wonderful vacation, I would definitely come back!


Great stay at Sterling Ridge

4.2 on March 01, 2011

We recently rented a two bedroom Sterling Ridge Cabin and had a wonderful stay. The Innkeepers were friendly and had DVD's and games for us to use free of charge! We found the resort to be 100% pet friendly and the trails through the woods were perfect for a winter walk! The location is close to skiing and to dining and we will definitely return again!


Gorgeous

4.0 on February 21, 2011

It was beautiful. Please do go. Everything was. 100% beautiful. Every room is as pictured. Great. Looking forward to a return trip to see it in summer. You don't want to leave.


I couldn't ask for more

4.8 on February 13, 2011

Went up for a nice relaxing weekend with my girlfriend and rented a one bedroom deluxe cabin that was more than I could have ever expected. The cabin was immaculate and the staff was beyond helpful and polite. The grounds were very well kept and the different things in town kept the weekend moving without any lulls or boredom. I didn't have a single negative thing to say about the place and will definitely stay there again for sure!!


Sterling Ridge highly recommended

3.8 on February 05, 2011

Very enjoyable stay. The cabins are very nicely decorated to blend with the country setting. The ownership of the resort are very friendly and willing to accomodate any needs. Definitely recommend Sterling Ridge for a nice and relaxing stay in Vermont.


Clean and cozy....Sterling Ridge

4.8 on January 27, 2011

Our stay at Sterling Ridge was wonderful. Our cabin was clean and comfortable. Susan and Scott were very helpful with any information we needed. We loved it so much we plan on another trip in the summer.


Very cute and cozy

4.4 on January 20, 2011

We stayed in a two-bedroom cabin (one level) which was great. Very quaint but also very comfortable. The wood-burning stove worked great. The outdoor hot tub was great (but be careful - it was so hot that we were dizzy for 20 minutes after we got out!) The kitchen is well equipped, we made chili for dinner one night. Overall, a great place!


My Stay at Sterling

3.4 on January 19, 2011

I was especially happy with the cabin. I also appreciated that there was someone continuously plowing the driveway during the snowy days. The fact that there were DVDs available for free to borrow at the front desk was a very personal touch that I loved.


Outstanding experience and facilities

5 on January 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. We went snowshoeing, snowmobiling, skiing. Everyone bent over backwards to ensure that we had a wonderful stay. Very relaxing.


Winter romantic stay

4.0 on January 15, 2011

The romantic suite was very nice and cozy. The rooms were very neatly cleaned and the location felt very private yet easily accessible. We really liked the jacuzzi bathroom and wood stove for making marshmallows in the open fire. It's a bit pricey but the money was very well spent.


Xmas in Vermont

3.4 on January 12, 2011

There is no dining facility at the lodge so I cannot rate this service. Claudio


Sterling Ridge Resort Winter Getaway

4.6 on January 12, 2011

This was a spacious and well appointed lodge that had more than enough room to accommodate all of the family and gave us room to have a very enjoyable weekend. We had all of the possible features and more than we expected. I would reserve here again in the future for a group this size. The outside grounds were outstanding for a winter get away.


5th year in a row - always great!

4.2 on January 05, 2011

We have spent New Year's Eve at Sterling Ridge for five years in a row, and stayed in four different cabins. Each one has been clean, comfortable and felt very private. We find the place to be the best of both worlds - our own cabin and total privacy, but wonderful and helpful hosts who are available for anything you might need. We've spent a lot of time skiing, snowshoeing and walking right from the resort, but also taken advantage of nearby attractions. We just wish it was closer to Boston so we could get there more easily! This is the only place we know we will continue to return to, year after year.


A true vermont get away

4.0 on January 04, 2011

the cabin was very comfortable with many rustic qualities we were looking for. Full amenities and access to many activities made this a wonderful stay for our family. My only concerns were with the directions to and from the cabins. Not well marked and we got lost a few times but that was probably my fault. Overall an excellent visit.


Anniversary Weekend 10/16-10/18/10

4.2 on December 08, 2010

Since the traditional gift for a 5 yr aniversay is wood, I booked this log cabin for my husband and If or the weekend. We didn't know what to expect since we had never been to Vermont and also never stayed in a log cabin. We enjoyed the place so much and the family running it is great. They are very friendly and helpful!! I definitely recommend Sterling Ridge Resort to anyone interested in staying there! I can't wait to go back myself!!


Fabulous romantic getaway!

4.4 on December 06, 2010

Beautiful cabin, sparkling clean, amazing jacuzzi, everything you need at your fingertips. Warm and cozy, beautiful setting. They have everything you need right there. Just bring your clothes, a toothbrush and some food and your good! Can't wait to go back. Tammy & Alex


Sterling Ridge in November

4.4 on December 01, 2010

Very few situations warrant the use of the word perfect- but this experience is one of them. The cabin was clean, and cozy- and the service was wonderful. It snowed all day Saturday, making the weekend completely relaxing with the fire and peace and quiet. We will be back.


A perfect and affordable pet friendly stay

5 on November 24, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at Sterling Ridge and is hopefully the second of many. Not only is it affordable, especially off-season, even for graduate students like myself, it's also pet friendly, which is perfect for our two dogs. The accommodations are pleasant- we loved coming with friends and having a large sitting area and fireplace to enjoy with them. And I love to cook, so having a fully equipped kitchen was definitely a bonus. It's hard to find something that fulfills all my expectations, and Sterling Ridge definitely exceeded them.


Perfect in every way

5 on November 18, 2010

I could not say enough good things about these log cabins. Clean, serene and perfection best describes it. Can't wait to go back. www.travelisrequired.com


great rooms not so friendly staff

4.2 on November 11, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for our three year anniversary. The setting was wonderful and the view was fantastic. The only downside for us was that the staff was not overly friendly with us. I wasnt sure if it was because of our younger age or if it was just the general atmosphere. Other then that our stay here was wonderful and memorable.


We are going back for a family vacaton

4.8 on November 10, 2010

We went just for 2 nights for our anniversary but loved it so much, we are going back during the summer with the kids for our family vacation. The cabins are so nice and so great for the price! The owners are always present and are so friendly and helpful!


Sterling Ridge Resort

4.8 on November 02, 2010

We recently spent 5 wonderful days at Sterling Ridge. It far exceeded our expectations. The two bedroom cabin was both clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We loved being greeted by Max the Golden Retriever whenever we visited the office. What a great place, we will recomend it to family and friends and will definitely be back for another visit.


everything was amazing

5 on November 01, 2010

I was very suprise by the way everything was working. The emplacement was amazing and Susan is so kind. If you whanted to be a relaxe spot , that the place you whanted. Thank`s to the owner for this beautiful place


Nice getaway

3.6 on October 16, 2010

Great place to stay for accessing the hiking trails around some of the most beautiful vistas in Vermont


Great location - lovely weekend

4.0 on October 14, 2010

We stayed in one of the 2-bedroom log cabins overlooking the pond for the Columbus day weekend. The cabin was perfect for what we wanted - lovely views of the foliage, a log fire to keep cosy in the evenings and a well equipped kitchen. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!


Love this place

4.4 on October 09, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Sterling Ridge and once again, we had an amazing time! Thanks!


Quiet, peaceful and a beautiful countryside setting

4.0 on September 22, 2010

We liked the cabin layout, the studio was perfect for a romantic get away and we did not feel the need to go out for dinner. We used the outdoor BBQ and enjoyed reading on the porch with a glass of wine... Cabins well situated, very private. Near Mandsfield to go hiking. We will be renting again and maybe the next time during summer with the children.


Perfect Getaway

5 on August 01, 2010

We stayed this past June in cabin 4 and it was by far the best vacation. The cabin was clean and up to date. Had everything needed for a fun and relaxing stay. Also had a great pool. The owners were very nice and helpful.


THE place to stay!!!

5 on April 10, 2010

Me and my fiance spent 4 wonderful days there!!!...The cabin was VERY clean and the innkeepers are adorable. If you are planning a trip to Vermont, that is THE place to stay. Jo-Anne and Ken


Sterling Ridge Resort

Details

  • Nightly Rate $140 - $756
  • Reviews (201) 4.4
  • Rooms 26
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8026448265
  • Fax 1-8026445153
  • Toll free 1-8003478266

Visit Website »

View details

Top