Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

Heaven on Earth!

4.8 on February 20, 2014

I loved my stay at Glimmerstone Mansion. The service was impeccable. The food delicious. The snacks and wine delivered to my door? Amazing! I hope I can head back up this relaxing, romantic inn again soon.


Valentine's weekend at Glimmerstone Mansion; nothing more romantic!!

4.8 on February 20, 2014

The building itself is beautiful - architecturally and tastefully decorated for the period it was built. Mary Jane and her daughters were SO wonderful and accommodating to anything we needed or asked for, which wasn't much because this Inn certainly has it all!


The most beautiful B&B I have ever stayed in. Mary Jane and her staff were great hosts! Food is out of this world!

5 on January 31, 2014

We were 3 couples from NJ going snowboarding for the weekend and liked the idea of a pub/bar in the Inn. The rooms, food and serves was amazing. We really enjoyed the outside hot tub after a long day at Okemo! Great weekend!


The Best and most beautiful B&B!

5 on January 07, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights for our 5 year anniversary! The mansion is so gorgeous and it's is in a very convenient location in terms of Okemo mountain. The place is spotless and the rooms are so cozy. It's obvious that Mary Jane thought about every single detail when restoring Glimmerstone back to her original beauty! She and her crew treated us like family. Their food - both breakfast and meals off their fine dining and pub menu were delicious! We will definitely be returning to Glimmerstone when we can!


Fabulous IMansion

4.8 on January 05, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Mansion over the holidays. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Mary Jane prepared a fantastic and healthy breakfast and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We love this place and plan on coming back many more times.


Review of Glimmerstone Mansion

5 on January 04, 2014

We can't say enough good things about the Glimmerstone Mansion. Our Henry Fullerton room was spectacular, the food was amazing for breakfast and dinner, the ambience was romantic and the service was top notch.


Great Ski Weekend

5 on January 03, 2014

Glimmerstone is in the perfect location for skiing at Okemo. The inn itself is beautiful with impeccable finishes, trim and hardware. Enjoyed the spa-like shower with body spray jets and basketweave tile. Food and drink options are also ideal, with a choice between formal dining upstairs or casual in the basement pub. Good selection of beers on tap! Service was the best! Little touches like complimentary drinks, cheese platters and dessert was greatly appreciated. Excellent food, especially the full breakfast. Many thanks to Mary Jane, her family and staff for making us feel right at home. We WILL return. Thx, Andy K and family.


Beautiful place.

5 on October 14, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding, and were pleased with the entire experience. The mansion is beautiful. The rooms are wonderful and the family is warm and friendly. We will be staying here again!


Luxury at it's Finest!

5 on October 10, 2013

The Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion is as sparkling as it's name. The grounds are lovely with gardens, trellis and wonderful terrace. Our rooms were gorgeous luxury! Extremely clean bedrooms and showers. Superb antiques throughout but instead of intimidating encouraged you to make yourself at home. Mary Jane made us feel at home immediately. Her hospitality and culinary skills were amazing. She started a bonfire on the terrace for us and ordered a wonderful cheese and fruit tray along with wine. She spent time making us feel at home and let us have our space to enjoy the peace and beauty of her establishment. Having worked in travel for 6 years I am very picky and I could not find one thing to change!! I will definitely be back and send anyone I know to this fabulous inn! Thank you, Mary Jane for absolutely everything!!!


Great time at Glimmerstone

4.6 on October 09, 2013

Had a great time. Beautiful Inn, with owners who put a lot of pride and love into what they do, and it clearly shows. Would definitely recommend it and will return for sure.


Exceptional hospitality, food and comfort!

4.6 on October 07, 2013

Glimmerstone is a wonderful B & B and Mary Jane is a superlative hostess. We loved our room and Mary Jane made us feel right at home. We will stay at Glimmerstone the next time we visit Vermont..


Amazing

4.8 on October 07, 2013

Incredible experience. The attention to detail from the renovation and furnishings to the level of service and friendliness is testament to the love and care that the owners have for this Inn. Room was amazing and the food was perfect. A+++ experience


Truly Phenomenal

5 on October 07, 2013

The Glimmerstone is hands down the best Inn we've ever stayed out. The rooms are comfortable, incredibly decorated, warm, and a fantastic escape after a day of playing in Vermont. The Inn Keeper, Mary Jane is so personable and friendly, she always has wine and dessert out at night for the guests, oh and also a cheese plates out in the afternoon. Right downstairs is a cute little pub with great food, so you can spend the evenings eating and relaxing without having to drive all over the country side. We will absolutely visit again.


An amazing find!

5 on October 07, 2013

Having stayed at many different bed and breakfasts along the East Coast, I can say with certainty that this was my favorite by far. The owners are kind and thoughtful and accommodating, they really go out of their way to make sure that you are happy and entertained during your stay (great things to do at the Inn, great suggestions of local places to visit). The rooms are gorgeous and the beds and showers are luxurious. There is complimentary wine and cheese daily in the early evening, complimentary dessert in the evenings, and pre-breakfast fruit and coffee waiting outside the rooms when you wake up. The multi-course breakfast is delicious and there is both a fine dining room AND a separate, cozy pub in the Inn. They have cute rocking chairs out on the porch, a fire pit outside, a hot tub, a library with books and board games and quiet music -- Honestly, an entire weekend could be spent without ever leaving the place! It is fresh and clean and newly refurbished and a real treat to visit. We highly recommend it.


Wonderfull B&B

4.6 on August 31, 2013

Great service and tourist minded, Mary Jane took a good time telling about the area, and what would be lovely to see. Really great rooms not 2 are the same, and the food was great. Would love to come back, if we ever should come back to Cavendish.


Great Inn

4.6 on August 31, 2013

Glimmerstone is a fabulous inn. Mary Jane, the owner, is a gracious hostess and wonderful chef. The rooms are very comfortable and the food was some of the best I ever had. The grounds are beautiful. Great value for the money.


Stay Here

5 on August 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights and loved it. Clean, gorgeouos rooms. Tons of great food. Wine and cheese before dinner. Dessert later with coffee. Coffee before breakfast with fruit and granola bars. So much food at breakfast we did not eat lunch either day. Hot Tub is located in a slightly awkward place.


Exquisite

5 on August 06, 2013

We chose this B and B based on the interesting and unusual nature of the building and it lived up to our expectations in every way. The property is gorgeous and perfectly maintained. It looks like the renovations were just completed yesterday -- not a flaw anywhere. The Gothic Revival furniture is amazing. To complement the beauty of the property, the hosts were wonderfully friendly, informative and great company. And, last but certainly not least, the meals were incredible -- hard to choose but everything was perfect!!


Excellent escape

4.6 on April 13, 2013

We've stayed here twice and loved it both times. The hospitality is top notch, and there are lots of extra touches beyond just bed and breakfast. Every evening wine and cheese are put out, and fresh desserts appear later. The head inn keeper is also the chef for the attached restaurant and she ensures you are well fed and happy. We came once for skiing and once for leaf peeping and had excellent stays both times. Highly recommended, and we plan to go back again soon.


Inn at Glimmerstone

5 on February 28, 2013

We were very pleased with the friendly service from Mary Jane and the rest of the Staff at Glimmerstone. The rooms and bathrooms were gorgeous! The fruit and cheese, wine and dessert were pleasant surprises and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. We cannot wait for our next trip to Glimmerstone!


A lovely winter retreat!

5 on February 26, 2013

Every part of our stay was wonderful. Beautiful rooms, great food, and friendly staff. We felt very pampered!


Our visit to Glimmerstone

5 on February 19, 2013

We had a delightful time at the Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion - wonderful accomodations, delicious food, great service, close to Okemo an all around excellent experience!


A Rare Jewel

4.6 on February 18, 2013

We stayed at the inn at Glimmerstone Mansion Valentines weekend 2013. The inn exceeded our expectations in every way. The historic mansion is restored beautifully, is tastefully decorated and the rooms are appointed nicely. The Valentines dinner and music were both wonderful... The dinner was romantic and leisurely, and that was a good thing considering the number and size of each course. The food was prepared perfectly that evening as was the next morning's breakfast. Mary Jane and her staff made sure every aspect of our stay was perfect... They even went so far as to make reservations for us on our second night at a friend's restaurant, which was so very good! We will most assuredly be back for another stay. Thank you Glimmerstone for making our romantic weekend that much more special.


Weekend getaway with friends

5 on February 16, 2013

We had a great time at the Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion. The food was great, rooms were very comfortable. Mary Jane and John and staff were friendly and helpful.


Weekend Stay

5 on January 14, 2013

Everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for anything more.


Most Spectacular Inn!

5 on November 26, 2012

The Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion is superb. The rooms are all absolutely beautiful and extremely comfortable. The entire place has a terrific ambiance. Mary Jane and John are so warm and accommodating. The food is also top notch. They have a full restaurant on the first floor, and a real pub in the basement! You can stay in one location and get everything you need. This was our second stay and we will be staying again. If you don't stay here, you're missing out.


Outstanding

5 on September 19, 2012

My husband and I could not have asked for better hosts, than Mary Jane and John, between their warm welcoming and friendliness. We felt like royalty with the afternoon wine,fruit and cheese platter, set out for us and then our sweet desserts at the end of the day. Also Mary Jane goes above and beyond with her 5 course breakfasts. We are counting down until our next stay at Glimmerstone, cannot wait!


Amazing!

5 on August 15, 2012

My stay at the Glimmerstone Inn was absolutely amazing! The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast is delicious! It's more than you could ask for in a B&B. I highly recommend this place. I would return to it any day!


An Absolute Dream Stay!

5 on August 14, 2012

From the moment we walked through the front door at the Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion until the time we had to hug Mary Jane and sadly say goodbye, our stay could not have been more perfect. The Inn overflows with charm, class and sophistication. We instantly felt incredibly welcomed and literally everywhere we turned, our every need imaginable was not only met, but taken care of in exceeding fashion. All the amenities were beyond clean, comfortable and enjoyable. We were simply spoiled with delicious snacks, fresh fruit, beverages, homemade desserts and more delivered daily to our room level. Each morning we started our day off in the pure bliss of a masterfully prepared 5 course breakfast that was to die for. The pub in the downstairs of the Inn provided the perfect setting to end the day and we regret not being able to enjoy a meal there due to scheduling only. We literally would change nothing about our stay, with the only exception maybe being that we had more time to actually spend at the Inn itself. Mary Jane has done a fabulous job and is the picture perfect owner and hostess. We live on the opposite side of the country in Oregon, but can't wait to come back in the future with the sole purpose of the trip being to stay at the Inn at the Glimmerstone Mansion. I could not grade this review any possibly higher! Bennett and Rylee


Had a wonderful time

5 on June 19, 2012

Had a wonderful time at this great B&B. The food was amazing. I enjoyed our nightly desserts the best. Mary Jane and her staff do a great job at making you feel like you are at home. I will be coming back.


Lovely stay

5 on February 29, 2012

My wife and I were so thrilled with our stay with Chef Mary Jane. The house and recent renovations are incredible. The rooms are immaculate. Breakfast was marvelous, everything was tasty and we were pleasantly stuffed. We will definitely return in a heart beat. This was our best New England Bed & Breakfast experience.


Wonderful Getaway

5 on January 30, 2012

What a wonderful weekend there are not enough words to explain what a wonderful place this is just telling you if you don't experience it for yourself you will have definitly missed out on something truely amazing. mary jane and john are such warm and kind people. The food is incredible the atmosphere stellar ! vermont is such a friendly beautiful state do yourself a favor and GO!!!!!!


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast

5 on January 23, 2012

What a wonderful job the Abbattes have done of turning this property into a a truly wonderful bed and breakfast filled with New England heritage, charm and subtle luxury. In my mind the Glimmerstone Mansion captures the true essence of what a charming bed and breakfast should offer - great value for money, very warm , friendly and welcoming owners/staff that will happily chat or leave you to be, incredible decor with very subtle attention to detail, excellent service, very clean, fresh and comfortable rooms with gas fireplaces, wonderful furniture, cable TV/DVD and top of the line bathroom fixtures. The common areas are bright, clean, open and welcoming with very nice wooden floors. Unfortunately I didn't get to eat at the Inn but if the smell of cooking and everything else is anything to go by I would say it would be very good. I enjoyed my stay so much that I'm already planning my return trip with friends in a few weeks. Great job Mary Jane, it's clear that a lot of careful thought and planning went into your incredible Inn and I'm sure that many others will walk away with the same feeling that I have....this is a true gem! Can't wait for the pub to open which will add the final perfect touch!


A perfect stay

4.0 on January 03, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Glimmerstone and loved it. It is located in a very cute little village, Cavendish, VT. a short distance from the Okemo Mountain complex. The Abbates have done a marvelous job of converting the historic mansion into a roomy, comfortable and tastefully decorated inn. Our bedroom had a working fireplace and an unbelievably comfortable queen-sized mattress. In the morning we were treated to a breakfast prepared by Mrs Abate and pleasantly served by one of her daughters. Both days the breakfasts were outstanding- thank goodness it was the week before my New Year resolutions started. I had a chance to look at the kitchen- it was efficient, immaculate and well equipped. The Owners and their family were friendly, enthusiastic, and welcoming- but gave us the feeling of privacy that is sometimes missing in small family venues. We hope to go back many times and certainly feel comfortable recommending Glimmerstone to our friends- or actually insisting they should experience what we so enjoyed. Robert and Sandra Aldrich , Westport. CT


Inn at Glimmerstone Mansion

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $289
  • Reviews (34) 4.9
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (802) 554-0045
Top