Arlington's West Mountain Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

We'll be back!

4.8 on September 06, 2016

The inn was comfortable and cozy and the grounds and gardens were just beautiful! We stayed 1 night on our way up to northern Vermont and ended up booking it for another night on our way back. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. Perfect location for visiting Mt Equinox and Manchester area.


Married here in 2002 - will come back every year!

4.8 on August 19, 2016

Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and always helps to make us feel at home!


Good value at a classic New England inn.

4.0 on July 30, 2016

We stayed two nights mid-week. The breakfasts were wonderful. The staff is very friendly and the spacious rooms are wonderful. This was our third trip to this property and it certainly will not be our last.


Trip through Vermont

3.0 on July 29, 2016

Recently traveling through Vermont on a genealogy quest we stayed one night in the West Mountain Inn. The Inn is beautifully set against the mountainside just outside of Arlington, VT. The grounds are lush and beautifully maintained. Our room was a bit rustic, but very clean and comfortable. Our meal in the restaurant was good and service was adequate. We had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good. Overall a pleasant stay that we would be happy to repeat.


West Mountain Inn

4.8 on July 15, 2016

We had a great stay, as always. This is our fourth visit to West Mountain Inn and it is always relaxing.


Amazing stay at the West Mountain Inn!

5 on July 08, 2016

The service, scenery and accommodations did not disappoint. They even gave us apples to coax the Alpacas out of their barn. We hope to return soon!


Beautiful inn, full of warm hospitality

4.8 on June 08, 2016

Every member of the inn's team was kind, personable, and friendly. The inn's furnishings and ambiance are so inviting! We enjoyed the local musical evening in the pub very much. Breakfasts are delicious and HUGE - suitable for all day mountain hikers! It would be a beautiful place for a small destination wedding, family reunion, etc...


We will definitely be back next year!

4.8 on June 07, 2016

Staff was welcoming, room charming, dining superb. What a great place for a wedding (one was going on) or just the getaway that we looking for. Can't wait to go back.


Great get away

4.4 on March 03, 2016

The Inn has a warm and homey atmosphere and the staff is very welcoming and accommodating. We have stayed here several times and it won't be our last.


Home Away From Home

4.8 on February 22, 2016

we recently stayed for a quick weekend get-a-way. We absolutely love the West Mountain Inn. The accommodations are very comfortable and private. The food and service is excellent. We can't wait to come back!


Incredable staff!

3.8 on February 17, 2016

Our car broke down in their parking lot. After some phone calls to AAA, we arranged for repairs. While we were carless, the staff offered their own vehicles for our use. Also provided a ride to the repair shop.


Very friendly and relaxing atmosphere, with a hint of sophistication

4.4 on January 11, 2016

Our breakfast and dinners here were amazing! We really enjoyed feeding the alpacas, hiking the on-site trails, sledding, and using this as the basecamp to explore southern Vermont. The staff were very friendly to our 6-year old too and he enjoyed learning to play checkers!


Weekend Getaway

3.6 on November 23, 2015

The ambiance was very nice and the staff were very friendly and made all 3 of us feel welcomed and comfortable during the full stay. We would both return as well as recommend the Inn to our friends and family. Our room was a bit dated and they are making renovations to the different rooms, thus the owners understand the same and are addressing that one minor issue.


A nice treat

5 on November 13, 2015

This was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast and were very impressed. We felt like family and enjoyed the company of the other guests as well as staff. The room was the perfect size with a private bath, fire place and even exterior door to the back room. We loved "Sarah's room". The scenery was surreal and it was a nice get away.


A Very Special Place

4.8 on October 26, 2015

Set up on a hill, the West Mountain Inn exudes charm and warmth. The grounds are beautiful! The staff is very attentive and welcoming, the food is outstanding!


Fall foliage

4.4 on October 12, 2015

My girlfriend and I just spent 3 days in Arlington and stayed at the West Mountain Inn. the staff was friendly and very accomondating. We hiked the grounds, (130 acres) and had a wonderful dinner, Breakfast was not only delicious, they had many entrees to choose from. The staff was first class. We will definatly re-visit. Chris Kappes


The BEST of VERMONT

5 on September 26, 2015

We stay here every year. Each room is special. The chef is out of this world. The labyrinth, the alpaca, and the hikes make this place very unique. Guests talk to one another in the common rooms and enjoy the people who work there....they are always gracious and kind. This is the most special place in Vermont. If you pick up a guest book you will notice that most of the writers return again and again and again. Go find out why.


Anniversary

4.2 on September 19, 2015

We spent our 30th anniversary there and were taken by the very friendly staff who bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. We wined and dined, the dinner and the breakfast were phenomenal. "Luna" the Golden Retriever walked with us during light rain to explore the yard and visit the Alpacas. A great and highly recommended place to stay at. We'll certainly return.


A Lovely Getaway

3.8 on August 27, 2015

The inn is perfectly situated off a main road and with a wonderful view. We enjoyed the large, comfortable, beautifully appointed rooms. It was nice to have dining on-site.


Another great stay at the West Mountain Inn

5 on August 19, 2015

We've been coming to the West Mountain Inn for 18 years and will continue to do so. Such a warm, inviting place with great food, can't be beat!


Wonderful Rooms, Spectacular Views and World-Class Dining

5 on August 17, 2015

My wife and I were married at the Inn and the experience was incredible. We just went back for our two year anniversary and it was wonderful again. The rooms are unique and immaculately clean. The thing that stands out to me the most though is the customer service. You really feel like a family member. The staff and Inn itself create the most welcoming atmosphere that you can just relax and enjoy yourself. The Dining at the Inn is amazing. Chef Jeff has taken such incredible ownership of the food that you will not have a bad meal. I'd recommend this Inn to anyone. Give it a shot, you will not regret it.


Will go back again!

4.4 on August 16, 2015

The inn is the best of both worlds -- sophistication and simplicity. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable, and the large common rooms are perfect for settling in with a good book, though you may be distracted by the mountain views. We enjoyed hiking the trails behind the inn after the hearty breakfast. A beautiful, quiet option outside of busy Manchester.


Nicce Time

4.8 on June 28, 2015

We loved the limas


Beyone Bed and Breakfast

4.8 on April 26, 2015

Our first visit to Arlington's West Mountain Inn was such a relaxing and romantic experience that we decided to return this year. The grounds are stunning and taking a short walk will lead you to some friendly alpacas. The breakfast served is dynamite—I recommend the Ooey Gooey—and the staff is friendly and readily available for dining recommendations and ideas for day trips. Less than four hours from New York City, Arlington's West Mountain Inn is worth the trip!


We love the West Mountain inn

5 on March 12, 2015

We have stayed at the West Mountain Inn 4 times & love it as a peaceful getaway. My son had his wedding there last Fall,. Everyone says it was the best wedding ever. The staff there is just amazing - really nice & will do anything for you. We go there also for the food. Everything is first rate & delicious. The breakfast is included with your room & is one of the best, heartiest breakfasts we have found anywhere. Since discovering the WMI, we have tried to go once or twice a year.


Another spectacular stay at WMI.

4.8 on January 23, 2015

We've been staying at WMI for almost 15 years and it is always a great time. Relaxing, comfortable, reasonably priced. And they have Harpoon and Magic Hat on tap! Doesn't get any better.


Beautiful setting!

3.0 on October 31, 2014

The place is beautifully kept and managed! We only stayed here one night so there is not much more we can say about it. Except that one must be reminded that places such as this do not have elevators, so pack light. You will have to drag your suitcase upstairs to the bedroom area! If you are not staying long, an overnight bag is a good idea.


a lovely relaxed fall weekend

3.6 on October 28, 2014

From the time we turned the corner at the top of the hill and the inn came into view until we said goodbye, the inn was a welcoming home base for our Vermont excursions. Staff is knowledgeable and helpful as well as friendly and the food was very tasty, both at breakfast and at the dinner we had upon arrival. Cozy but roomy, and situated in a very picturesque area of Vermont, would definitely consider a return visit to experience it at another season of the year.


October stay very enjoyable

4.2 on October 28, 2014

A great property, very hospitable staff and owner, and top notch dining. The breakfasts were plentiful, quite varied, and accompanied by hot breakfast breads, a real treat. And no need to go anywhere else for your evening meal. These were great too. Walking trails should be explored while staying there; we did. Only the lack of cell phone service hampered us.


Such a Beautiful Place

4.2 on October 24, 2014

We stayed here for the second leg of our first trip to Vermont. When we drove up the driveway to W.M.I my wife and I were beside ourselves with the beauty of the very well kept grounds. When we arrived at the front desk we were greeted by Linda who made us feel very welcome and was very helpful with all of our questions. She then gave us a tour of Wes' Apartment where we would be staying for three nights. It was very nice and had all of the amenities we could want. Although, The bedroom carpets could use a good shampooing. The first night there we decided to eat dinner in the restaurant at the Inn. I had what I can honestly say was the best lamb shank I have ever tasted. The service in the restaurant was also very good that night. We only ate dinner there once because we wanted to try some of the other local restaurants. Breakfasts were always very good quality as well. If ever We decide to stay in the Arlington area again, We will most likely book at least part of our stay at W.M.I.


Wonderful stay!

5 on May 14, 2014

Booked our stay through bedandbreakfast.com, love that service. Beautiful inn, beautiful grounds. Our room was the Daniel Webster Suite. Spacious and immaculate, loved the canopy bed! My husband and I took advantage of their 5 course dinner. Again wonderful and even luxurious. We made friends with a couple from the Netherlands during. The staff was attentive and engaging, no complaints! My husband and I were on a car trip touring New England and am writing reviews of our 3 favorite inns. The Arlington West Inn was a favorite!


Love It!

4.6 on October 27, 2013

We've been coming to the Inn for many years with large groups, just another couple and by ourselves. We always have the best time. Quiet, comfortable and the staff are all wonderful! Food is always delicious too! Looking for a place relax and unwind? West Mountain Inn is it!


Hidden Gem

4.2 on July 01, 2013

This was a return to the area where I lived 20 years ago. I was friends with the owners of the West Mtn Inn and knew of their high standards. I was not disappointed. The Inn was as charming as ever, fantastic staff, wonderful food. We are already planning a trip back.


Love this Inn

4.4 on February 26, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to WMI for over last 20 years. Every season and every visit is unique and refreshing. The views are magnificent, the food delicious, the rooms well-appointed and charming and the staff friendly and accommodating. There is something for everyone. From sitting in front of the fire on a cold winter day to local skiing, hiking the trails, fishing in the Battenkill, cycling and walking the back roads and trails. I could just go on and on---------------.


great getaway

4.8 on February 25, 2013

The West Mt. Inn provides a great place to unwind. The hiking trails, exceptional dining and great staff really provide a welcoming atmosphere. We enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the fireplace rooms. A real taste of Vermont!


Hospitality, View, Ambiance, & Food #1!

5 on August 27, 2012

What a find! Stayed here to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Just a gem & close to Bennington!


Kachuba Wedding

5 on August 13, 2012

Huge filling portions at meal times, beautiful views from all rooms, lots to do around area (Lincoln's son's home, Norman Rockwell's home), rooms roomy.


A Perfect Wedding

3.8 on July 31, 2012

We were attending a dear friend's wedding and it was lovely even the weather cooperated. The inn is quaint and the grounds are lovely. Service is caring and attentive.


West Mountain Inn

5 on July 31, 2012

Absolutely beautiful experience in all things! Food, accommodations, views, everything superb!


Wonderful!

4.6 on July 24, 2012

Amazing, amazing place! Beautiful views and wonderful staff. We'll be back for another special weekend!


Bing Crosby's White Christmas

3.4 on May 02, 2012

We enjoy this inn every time we visit. We usually visit in the winter, when the snow is falling, and the tree is trimmed. I honestly feel like I'm in the movie "White Christmas". The Inn is pitched high on the hill with all the lights beaming and the fire is crackling. Our experience has always been great and the dining exceptional. However, I have to say the dining our last visit was definitely not up to the Inn's standard. The appetizer and soup were great, but the main course was very "blah"....no character and to be honest not a lot of thought put into it. We were really surprised and to remain "exceptional"...you really can't have one bad meal becasue that's the last thing people remember. You always have to be at the top of your game. This won't deter us from visiting next winter for our seasonal visit, but does always put doubt in your mind....will we have the same experience.


Perfect Wedding Day

5 on April 22, 2012

We had our wedding and stay at the inn. It was the most perfect weekend of my life. The staff was unbelievable.


Great Getaway

4.6 on April 18, 2012

Loved the place, amazing breakfast, great service. We'll be back!


Spectacular Inn

5 on November 06, 2011

Perfect spot, beautifully furnished & appointed yet comfortable & homey, gorgeous 150 acres to hike, ski, trail run, lovely gardens adjacent to Battenkil River, food is outstanding. All new mattress, rugs, floors, bar.


Best Country Inn

5 on November 06, 2011

Beautiful setting, mountain views, fabulous food, recently renovated & refurbished (spring 201), delightful staff.


A must stay

4.8 on October 02, 2011

The inn is located just out of town up on a hill with great views. Very clean and comfortable beds. A great dirt road along the river for runners!


A beautiful site;exceptional food

3.6 on June 29, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at the West Mountain Inn. We arrived after a long road trip and were able to relax by a stroll around the beautiful grounds with spectacular views of the Green Mountains. The five course dinner was delectable and a very good value. The breakfast was also tremendous. The room was very comfortable. It had nice extra features such as a journal containing comments from guests who had stayed in our room (the Robert Frost room). It was the perfect place for my wife and I to enjoy our 10th wedding anniversary!


Brilliant romantic get-away locale

4.6 on February 08, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Rockwell Kent suite (the pictures don't lie - it's huge!). The room was very comfortable and spacious with a wood-burning fireplace that worked perfectly. Given it was a corner room, we also had a terrific view of the back lawn, down to the Alpaca paddock. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the candelit dining room, in a corner by ourselves. The food was wonderful - fresh and prepared perfectly. Breakfast was similar - very tasty choices and plenty of food, all prepared to order. We enjoyed the property - hiking through the woods for several hours (relying on the trail map provided) as well as feeding the alpacas (watch out! they do spit!). I wish there had been more snow - would have loved to sled or snowshoe (both provided by the Inn). We also poked around the village of Arlington and nearby Manchester. The service and furnishings of the Inn were perfect. I wouldn't look at another Inn in the area...I want to come back here.


Wonderful stay

5 on December 17, 2008

Absolutely wonderful time. The room was lovely, the people were very courteous, and the food was amazing. It had the appeal of a bed and breakfast, with the ammenities of a luxery hotel.


Our "home" in Vermont

5 on November 23, 2008

We have been coming to the West Mountain Inn for the last 24 years. We have never had a bad experience - the staff is wonderful, the setting can't be beat, the rooms are large and comfortable, the food delicious!


Perfect Vermont Country Inn

4.0 on January 23, 2008

I stumbled across West Mountain Inn by accident and decided to spend the night. It is close to Manchester but still removed and very quiet. The historic inn is secluded on the side of a hill surrounded by tall trees, beautiful fields and never ending vistas. Very friendly staff. Great dinner. Beautiful and unique rooms filled with antiques. It's a peaceful retreat in a gorgeous setting.


West Mountain Inn

5 on May 10, 2007

We had a good experience at the West Mountain Inn! Rooms were newly decorated and clean. Staff was very friendly and the food was outstanding. Will return again and again!


Wonderful hospitality!

5 on April 30, 2007

I stayed at the Inn during a recent business meeting. The rooms were very spacious & comfortable. No TV's and no cell phone service, but then again you typically go on a mountain retreat to avoid the modern technology & conveniences. Although high-speed wi-fi service was excellent. The food was outstanding. MaryBeth and Amie were gracious hosts & helpful with our meeting needs. Breathtaking mountain views make this a very peaceful place to stay.


Wonderful Family Atmosphere

4.0 on January 08, 2007

4 couples meet each year for some good times with good friends and we've selected West Mountain as a "meeting place". It has a warm, cozy feel to it, the staff and guests are wonderful, rooms are large and airy, meals (which are included) are delicious and overall this is a wonderful place to stay for any type of event.


Arlington's West Mountain Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $335
  • Reviews (54) 4.5
  • Rooms 19
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8023756516

Visit Website »

View details

Top