Applewood Colonial B&B Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
49 Reviews

Write A Review

Birthday Getaway

5 on March 19, 2014

This B&B is in the perfect location to be able to walk to Colonial Williamsburg and Marketplace Square. It was easy to park the car and leave it while we enjoyed our weekend. Applewood is a wonderful place to stay. Our room, Mrs. Holland's Blue Room, was perfect. The refrigerator was an added plus for me to store our Farmer's Market purchases. The bed was very comfortable. I always worry about being cold during the cold winter months. That isn't the case here. Now for breakfast! Oh my. It was beyond wonderful. It is ample and they will accommodate any special dietary needs. Monty and Denise are lovely hosts. We will return.


Perfect Spot for a Weekend Getaway.

5 on January 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights this past weekend at the Applewood Colonial B&B for our first visit to Williamsburg. We were greeted by a warm smile and amazing Snickerdoodle cookies!! Denise and Monty were friendly and thoughtful, doing all they could to make us feel like this was our home away from home. We stayed in the Twin Elms room, which was lovely with plenty of space, a little fireplace, and great view of the street. Since we were the only guests this weekend, we were able to peek in the other rooms, which were equally amazing, and we felt like we couldn't have gone wrong with any of the rooms. The house itself was built in the 1920's, and Denise and Monty have done a wonderful job in maintaining the character while updating it at the same time. The location of the B&B was ideal, as we could walk to Merchants Square in less than 10 minutes. As for the breakfasts, I will let the pictures I attach speak for themselves. Denise was an amazing cook and baker, and I think we gained 5 pounds each in 2 days just on her delicious breakfasts. Other than a plate of bacon and fresh fruit every morning, we also had treats such as baked oatmeal, cheese & egg souffle, cinnamon pastries, and a cheese/egg/ham/hash brown frittata. If we were to return to Williamsburg, we wouldn't think twice about booking another room at Applewood, and I would definitely recommend that anybody looking for a similar getaway do the same.


Pre-Christmas Escape

4.6 on January 06, 2014

My fiance and I (mid-20s) stayed at the Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast as our Christmas gift to each other the weekend before Christmas. I highly recommed seeing Williamsburg decorated for Christmas. It was a wonderful escape from the bustle of Northern Virginia. We have stayed at a number of B&Bs before and this was by far our favorite. When booking, I had looked forward to a room with a fireplace, but the only room available was "Mrs. Holland's Blue Room." We loved the blue room and found it comfy, cozy, and charming. The owners are very warm and the service was fabulous. One of our favorite parts of our stay was chatting with the other guests at breakfast. My food allergy (gluten) was accommodated seamlessly, not pointed out to others, and my fiance was still able to enjoy all of Denise's delicious baking. Highly recommended. Additionally, the restaurant "Le Yaca" was a wonderful treat. "Food For Thought" was also very good experience with good service and excellent food allergy accommodation. We also ate at the Cheese Shop twice!!


wonderful stay!

5 on December 31, 2013

the room was spacious and comfy; location is perfect; denise and monty go out of their way to make your stay special; breakfasts were outstanding; great value for the price.


Applewood Colonial B&B

5 on December 29, 2013

Best innkeepers we've ever met. Denise & Monty could not have done more to make our stay perfect. Warm & cozy, neat & clean with the best breakfasts ever.


Wonderful hosts, food and lodging

5 on December 26, 2013

Applewood Colonial is a winner in every way--very welcoming hosts, fabulous breakfasts, exquisitely furnished rooms with antique furniture, elegant window coverings and rugs, a few blocks from Colonial Williamsburg. We loved Sal's Italian Restaurant nearby. We will be back to both!


Honeymoon Stay

5 on December 04, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Applewood Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon. It was short and sweet and Denise (the owner) made us feel right at home! She was kind and a great cook. Each breakfast was delicious. We had so much fun and the rooms were great -- so clean, so warm, definitely would stay there again.


Applewood Colonial B&B Review

5 on October 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Denise was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was very spacious, the service and cleanliness was also great. The food was fabulous - Denise did a fantastic job of presentation and taste. There was always something savory and something sweet - not just sweet like you get at many B&B's. There was always something freshly baked and set out for us when we returned in the evening. We would highly recommend this B&B and would consider it a place to return on another visit.


The Best!

5 on October 14, 2013

Hosts Denise and Monty are wonderful! We spent four nights and came away from the Williamsburg / Jamestown / Yorktown experience with the Applewood B&B as the most pleasant and positive memory of the entire trip. Every Bed and Breakfast is unique and memorable, but these hosts are The Best!


Where to stay in Williamsburg

4.8 on September 29, 2013

Denise is a perfect hostess, helpful, non-intrusive and a better than average cook. Her B&B is furnished in period style and very comfortable. The B&B is a ten minute drive from the Colonial Williamsburg site, but located near several restaurants and some night-time entertainment opportunities.


wonderful B&B in Williamsburg

4.2 on September 27, 2013

Denise is the best! This is a comfortable and relaxing place to stay... near Colonial Williamsburg. The house has an interesting history, be sure to ask Denise about it. Bed was super comfy, breakfast delicious, and cookies every afternoon.


Lovely B&B

5 on September 24, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful stay! The room was exactly what we expected and the food was wonderful.


Outstanding Experience

5 on July 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a four night stay at this outstanding B&B which is ideally located close to the restored area of Williamsburg. We looked forward to the lively and informative conversations with the host and hostess. This is a beautiful property and the breakfasts are superb. We definitely recommend Applewood Colonial and look forward to a return visit. Verla & Don Toronto Canada


Applewood Colonial B&B was a perfect place to stay in Williamsburg

5 on July 09, 2013

We stayed in the upstairs suite with our 11 and 14 year old children. It really made our Williamsburg experience perfect and welcoming. We all felt spoiled by wonderful breakfasts, evening cookies, and a meticulous room, we really didn't want to leave. We were so glad to have easy parking in front of a beautiful historic home and a short walk to colonial Williamsburg. Great restaurants a couple of blocks away. This is much better than staying in a hotel!


FIRST RATE

5 on June 29, 2013

This B&B is at the top of our list for places to stay in Williamsburg. The house is beautiful and well maintained, the breakfasts are delicious but the hostess is superb. Denise is friendly, engaging and accommodating and will make you feel right at home. Monty was working a lot during our stay so we didn't see much of him. You won't regret staying here. We've stayed at many B&B's through the years and this one is one of the very best. B & D Campbell


The best bed and breakfast!!

4.6 on June 26, 2013

Our stay at applewood colonial definitely exceeded our expectations! We had a great stay and the owner was very welcoming! The food was amazing and the rooms were really nice and clean. Thank you for a great 3 days!


Everything a B&B should B

4.4 on June 20, 2013

Wonderful location. Welcoming hosts. Fabulous food. Lotsa extras and clean, comfortable room. They have handled parking nicely and although on a quiet street, restaurants are close at hand. Exceptional! Steve from Maryland


A wonderful Bed & Breakfast

4.8 on June 18, 2013

My wife, Susan, and I had a delightful stay at Applewood Colonial this past week. Innkeeper Denise was not nnly friendly and professional, but also a provider of simply delicious breakfasts - really outstanding. And Denise was very helpful in giving solid advice regarding attractions and dining in the Williamsburg area. A great experience overall. Larry


Everything a B&B should be..........

5 on June 09, 2013

Everything a B&B should be..........convienient and quiet location. Great host & hostess. Delicious food. Comfortable room and safe parking. What else is there? Steve from Maryland


Loved this place!

5 on May 31, 2013

Location was great, food was too. Very outgoing and accommodating inn-keeper! Our room was large and comfortable. We will return next time we come south!!!


williamsburg weekend

4.6 on May 17, 2013

very fine room / denise treated us like family / walked to williamsburg sites would stay ther again for sure


Great B&B

4.8 on May 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a grown up weekend getaway and decided to try Applewood Colonial B&B upon a recommendation of a coworker. Couldn't have been better for us! The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was great, but the best thing about Applewood is the innkeepers. Monty and Denise were amazing and gave wonderful advise for things to do around the area. The location is near historic Williamsburg (within half a mile). I would recommend this B&B to my friends and family.


Anniversary Weekend

4.2 on May 05, 2013

Anna & I were pleased with the quaint room and the excellent morning home made breakfast. We would gladly stay at Applewood again if we decide to visit Colonial Williamsburg.


Great place to stay!

5 on May 02, 2013

Monty and Denise are excellent hosts, we would definitely stay here again. The food was delicious and they do a great job of catering to your dietary needs.


Bountiful breakfasts and freshly made beds each day.

5 on April 06, 2013

Waking up to the smell of bacon each day, and fresh baked goodies every evening... A very pleasant stay. The kids enjoyed their own area and tv. The Treetops suite worked out great for our family of four. Denise couldn't be nicer and the inn was a quick drive ( under 15 min.) from Busch Gardens. A resident Corgi was around for those missing their four legged friends. All around nice experience.


Excellent Place to Stay

5 on March 26, 2013

We planned a week long vacation to Williamsburg and wanted it to be romantic and fun. We had decided that the key to our vacation would be to find the right place to lodge. We chose Applewood Colonial B&B based on the reviews it had received on a few different website. We were not disappointed. The Applewood Colonial B&B was absolutely wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the B&B and would highly recommend it to all. Our room was nice and the owners were very welcoming. The location is great as it is walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary. When we go back to Williamsburg, we will be booking rooms here again.


A Merry Christmas

5 on January 09, 2013

Great room, great food, great service. Walking distance to all the Christmas events.


Review of Applewood Colonial B&B

5 on December 29, 2012

Out of all the B&B's we have stayed at, this by far was the most welcoming one we have experienced. Denise & Monty make you feel like family. We felt right "at home". The B&B and rooms were nicely appointed with antique furniture & decorated lovely. Upon entering the living room/parlor, Denise always has some type of baked goodies waiting to be sampled. We were there in the wintertime (12/21 - 12/24/12) and they always had a fire going in the fireplace, creating a very "homey" feeling. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and not over-done. Denise's breakfasts were DELICIOUS and the portions were "just right"!! Every day was a surprise and you never walked away hungry! Denise happily shared her recipes upon request. The table setting was elegant! They are very accommodating to special dietary needs and any special requests in general. Having lost our dog in April, it was a nice "surprise" for us to meet their dogs, Rosie & Buddy. Denise & Monty are very respectful of all their guests, and with respect to the dogs, they are kept in a "gated off" area. This was our first time to Colonial Williamsburg, VA and to Applewood. In our opinion, Denise & Monty epitomize "southern hospitality". We had such a positive, wonderful experience that we can't wait to go back to both!! Denny & Lynn from Upstate New York


Great Stay

5 on December 13, 2012

Applewood Colonial B&B was only a few minute walk from Historical Williamsburg. The rooms were clean and breakfast was fantastic. Denise and Monty were great innkeepers. I would highly recommend Applewood Colonial B&B.


Thanksgiving visit.

5 on December 07, 2012

The Fleck's provided us with a warm, comforting, and peaceful stay at the Applewood B&B. A wonderful Thanksgiving retreat!


First Bed and Breakfast vacation

5 on November 21, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I stayed in a Bed and Breakfast and we had a wonderful time here. Walking distance to historic Williamsburg and a selection of wonderful restaurants. Breakfast each morning was fantastic, and Denise was wonderful to talk with each morning.


Wonderful B & B with Awesome Hosts

5 on October 18, 2012

We stayed over the July 4th week when the weather was miserably Hot and yet when we returned from our outings, the B & B was so nice and cool, even upstairs in the bedroom! The hosts catered to our needs and made us feel like royalty!!! We would go back again in a heart beat!!


First time and will be back!!!

5 on October 17, 2012

This was the first time for my husband and I at a bed and breakfast and it was amazing! The innkeeper was very nice, she was very warm and friendly! The room was very pretty, great location and the breakfast was great! We are planning when we can go back :)


Awesome Hostess

5 on June 14, 2012

Great historic B&B convenient to historic areas, outlets, etc. Hostess treated us like we were family, made excellent fresh breakfasts, baked homemade afternoon desserts, and provided guidance for attractions and restaurants. Bottled water and sodas provided in room mini-fridge. Tree top suite was great with lots of room.


Great B&B!

5 on January 06, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Applewood! Denise and Monty make you feel right at home. The room was very nice and comfortable. Denise is a great cook! breakfast was very good!


The Best in the Nation

5 on January 06, 2012

Monty and Denise put the “P” in “P"ampered. We fear that no other bed & breakfast will ever be able to match the stay we had with them. Denise is an excellent cook, and Monty is a great guide. Both are excellent hosts. When in Williamsburg the Applewood Colonial Bed & Breakfast is the place to stay. We loved our stay with them over the New Year's Eve Weekend.


Perfect for historical Williamsburg

4.2 on January 03, 2012

We enjoyed Applewood greatly for our Christmas trip. Denise and Monty were so personable and friendly, and the meals were just wonderful. We felt "at home" the entire time. We will commend Applewood to anyone we know who is making a trip to Williamsburg.


Applewood is Awesome

5 on December 29, 2011

This was our second stay at Applewood Colonial. Being return customers I think speaks for itself. The moment we step in this house, the weight of the daily grind just drops off our shoulders. Its very clear that Denise and Monty consider this more than a business and really treated us as guests in their home and friends. What a wonderful vacation, beautiful house, and lovely people!!


Thanks, Denis, for this wonderful stay with you

4.0 on October 29, 2011

A party of 3, we all really enjoyed our time at this B&B, so peaceful and beatuful and confortable. Many acts of kindness by the hostess (advices, help with driving us back and forth to the train station); great conversations with the hostess; sweet dogs. Just a lovely experience.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you!!!


Historic B & B

5 on October 19, 2011

This was a HIGHLIGHT on our first trip to Williamsburg! Excellent location, warm hospitality, comfortable accomendations and scrumptious breakfast! You will not be disappointed!! She makes the BEST pumpkin sticky buns and baked oatmeal !!!


wonderful getaway!!

4.4 on April 18, 2011

Wonderful hospitality! Great location. Breakfast was delicious!! I will tell all my friends heading to Williamsburg that the must stay at the Applewood Colonial! A wonderfully memorable vacation. Thanks Denise!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you!!! I enjoyed getting to know the two of you... Thanks again Denise


Family of 5

3.6 on January 17, 2011

Good location, wonderful greeting, beautiful house. A memorable stay close to historic triangle.


Applewood Review

3.6 on January 12, 2011

Great place, great people, great location...will probably visit again.


Wonderful Christmas Present!

5 on December 31, 2010

The Applewood B&B is in a really good location to Colonial Williamsburg. Very convenient to the market shops and also very close to the College of William and Mary. Our room was very comfortable and lovely. The wonderful breakfasts that Denise prepared were out of this world delicious. Denise and Monty were very accommodating and helpful in every way. If we are ever back in the Williamsburg area we will try again to stay at Applewood.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Monty and I enjoyed your visit.


Honeymoon at Applewood

5 on December 27, 2010

Neither my husband nor I have ever been to a bed and breakfast, so we didn't know what to expect. Our stay was wonderful - better than anything we expected. We stayed in the attic room of Applewood and were very happily surprised to find out that, instead of one room, we were getting two rooms and a bathroom and a fireplace! Denise and Monty were so welcoming and friendly, made the most amazing breakfasts (we didn't need to eat another meal until dinner everyday), kept a beautiful sitting room with wood-fire, and gave us our complete privacy too. We loved our honeymoon, thanks in large part to Monty and Denise and their Applewood. We already plan to schedule another visit and have a second honeymoon as soon as we can.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Congratulations again on your marriage. Monty and I look forward to future visits.


The best B&B in Williamsburg

5 on December 12, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Applewood several times in the past few years. It is consistently excellent.


Perfect!

5 on October 13, 2010

Applewood B & B was a wonderful girls' weekend getaway. The tree top suite was roomy enough for 3 women to share, but cozy enough to sit around and chat. Our innkeeper was gracious, friendly, and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious, well planned, and hearty. We highly recommend this B & B.


Applewood Colonial B&B

4.0 on September 22, 2010

Very accomodating and pleasant to work with. The breakfast was exceptional, and the room was lovely.


Wonderful stay

5 on September 08, 2010

Everything about our stay at the Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. Denise is a fantastic hostess, and her breakfasts are amazing. I would highly recommend it to everyone planning a visit to Williamsburg.


Applewood Colonial B&B

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $165
  • Reviews (49) 4.8
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7579034306

Visit Website »

View details

Top