The Essex Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Love The Essex Inn

5 on July 11, 2014

I have stayed at the Essex Inn twice within a few years and both times the experience was wonderful. The innkeepers are so nice and hospitable and give you plenty of space and privacy. The accommodations are cozy and the beds so comfortable - I could have stayed forever. The food at breakfast is always a special treat - delicious and not something you'd make at home. I wish I had the recipes. The town is quaint - there's not much to do and very few decent places for dinner, but there are winery tours nearby and a mediocre public golf course close by. I go to relax and unwind so I'm happy sitting outside with a good book, taking walks and enjoying the waterfront.


The Essex Inn

5 on October 13, 2012

This is a lovely inn with gracious hosts. Breakfast was excellent, our suite was beautiful and clean. We would definitely stay here again.


Southern Charm

5 on September 06, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable, clean, cozy, quiet, private. Walk to downtown, or to river's edge. A perfect spot for a retreat & attend local fairs.


Great Visit!

5 on August 02, 2012

Innkeeper Bob and Janice McGee have helped to make The Essex Inn visit as gracious as the inn is beautiful!


Can't wait to return!

5 on December 16, 2011

Have another review on TripAdvisor so I'll make this one brief...this was the best experience in lodging I have ever had, bar none. The room (Upstairs Quarters) was spacious and secluded, gorgeous, clean, cozy, with the most comfortable bed EVER. The innkeepers and the housekeeper were amazing, polite, gracious and helpful. The Inn was beautiful and Tappahannock is a perfect place to unwind. Just amazing. I would recommend the Essex Inn to anyone.


Great location for touring Northern Neck region

4.0 on September 29, 2011

We stayed at the Essex in while on a historical tour road trip in Virginia. It's the perfect spot for touring some of the historical sites in the Northern Neck region of VA, and for touring the Chesapeake Bay wine trail. We stayed in the main house in the Green Room. Their website described this room as having a partial view of the river from one of the windows (you could not see the river at all over the rooftops of the neighboring homes). However, the room was nice and spacious. Bob and Janice, the innkeepers, were very gracious and accommodating when we unexpectedly needed to do some work while on our vacation and print some documents. The innkeepers serve a sweet snack in the afternoons and spring water, beer, wine, pretzels, and mixed nuts are available for the enjoyment of guests. The breakfast both days was delightful!


A river idyll

5 on August 01, 2011

Sparkling clean, light-filled rooms with beautiful colors & furnishings. Interesting antiques in house, but not an "old house" feel. Very gracious innkeepers & delicious food. Comfortable, quiet garden, views of river & old town.


A must stay

5 on April 14, 2011

We just enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Essex Inn. We felt like we were visiting family. Bob and Janice are attentive and gracious hosts. The breakfast was amazing. We definietly plan to return!! M & JL Sciancalepore


This Inn needs to be on TOP of your list!

4.6 on March 01, 2011

I have stayed at many B&B's and this one tops my list because of its charm and friendly Inn keepers, cleanliness and charm plus the food. They offer wine, beer, sodas and home made goodies in the evening as part of your stay but the best part is the breakfast. The selection and variety the chef chooses will totally please you. I have stayed with them many, many times and am a customer for life! Do not miss this gem!


A wonderful find in Virginia

4.0 on February 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Essex Inn this past October. This was not our first experience staying at a B & B; however, this was by far the best one. The Inn and the gardens are beautiful, very charming, and impeccably maintained. Although the weather was a little dreary, we felt very warm and cozy sitting by the fireside, enjoying a nice glass of wine. A very delicious and elegant breakfast was waiting for us each morning and the menu is changed daily. The Innkeepers are warm and friendly and happy to share their knowledge and history of the area. They helped us plan short day trips for our entire visit. We feel fortunate to have found this wonderful place and definitely plan on returning soon.


Friendly, discreet atmosphere

4.0 on December 01, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Essex Inn for a week in July and found it to be delightful, both for the quality of its service and the comfort and charm of the inn itself. It’s convenient for visiting major tourist sights such as Jamestown and Williamsburg, as well as exploring the many beautiful and lesser-known back roads around the area. The breakfast, which varied from morning to morning, was truly exceptional, and the “Butler’s Pantry” was a wonderful addition, offering snacks throughout the day. Our hosts were personable and friendly, but discreet, and proposed day-trips and offered tips for good restaurants and interesting local sights. Our only disappointment was that we couldn’t stay longer…


Lovely colors

4.2 on October 16, 2010

A pale blue dining room & light green bedroom -- charming. Nice breakfasts, helpful host & hostess.


Disappointing Service

2.2 on June 21, 2010

This is an expensive but beautifully restored inn. I had really looked forward to staying here. Unfortunately, there was exactly no room service. The bed was never made, the trash cans were never emptied. On the first day when we returned to the room and took this in, I asked the new inn keeper if we could have fresh towels. She asked if I had not read the sign about being a green hotel. Well, there was a small sign in the bathroom, stating that one should leave towels on the rack if you want to reuse them, or leave them on the floor if you want clean ones. Since there was no real space to hang wet ones, I left them on the floor. No one even entered the room the three days we were there. There was another sign from the room attendant saying that she started work at 8 am and if we did not wish to be disturbed, put the sign out. That indicated to me that the room would be freshened up. It was not ever. I would not stay here again.

Innkeeper Response
To our “Disappointed” guests we extend our sincere and heartfelt apologies. Indeed on that weekend there was a breakdown in our room “make-up” and our guests did not receive the standard of service we strive for. You can be assured that we have corrected any lapses in our housekeeping routine and put into place a “double-check” policy to avoid any future problems. We do appreciate guest input about the inn and do take those comments very seriously. We realize there are times when all is not peaches and cream and reminders from our guests about areas of improvement are always welcome We are very proud to report that we have just had our annual AAA Inspection and continue to maintain a 3 Diamond rating with them. That, along with our membership in Select Registry places us among the very best inns and B and B’s in the nation.. To our “Disappointed” guests we would like to extend a free 2 night stay, at their convenience, to allow us the opportunity to show them the kind of service we are proud of and that all our guest deserve. Sincerely, He Innkeepers


Long Term Stay

5 on January 20, 2010

I was a guest at the Inn for three months, while working in the area on assignment. What a delight to feel 'at home' in my own minature townhouse (LR,Kit,BR,Bath,2 floors). Coming home at the end of the day and sitting by the warm burning fireplace. Simply relaxing and reading my own books, or perusing the shelves for something different. Taking nice long walks in the neighborhood, right along the River: beautiful views. Within walking distance to just about anything. I elected to fix my own meals in the full kitchen. But, the best part was knowing that the innkeepers were there if i needed anything; the cleaning service was fantastic. I guess that everyone doesn't get home-made cookies, warm from the plantation style enormous brick-floored kitchen in the main house, though. Guess i just timed it right!


Outstanding

4.4 on December 16, 2009

A wonderful, comfortable and restfull inn. Very clean and beautiful.


Exquisite Accomodations

5 on November 16, 2009

My stay at The Essex Inn was unequivocally the most wonderful experience I've ever had at a bed and breakfast. The lovely bedroom with gas/electric logs was meticulously decorated and I rested comfortably in the high four poster bed. The gourmet meals were intricate presentations of finest recipes. Hosts, Melodie and Reeves, were gracious, personable, and thoughtful. Don't miss an opportunity to stay at this lovely inn.


2PreppyGirls loves The Essex Inn!

5 on October 18, 2009

Recently, 2PreppyGirls sponsored a 5K run for St. Margaret's Girls School in Tappahannock, VA. I was fortunate enough to have found The Essex Inn months ago and have been looking forward to being able to stay there - I was NOT disappointed!! I was in awe of this magnificently preserved and updated 150 year old house. It had wonderful 20 foot ceilings and beautiful hardwood floors but was not drafty; instead, it was warm and inviting with beautiful rugs, rich furniture and roaring fires going in both front rooms as well as my own beautifully appointed bedroom. The owner, Melodie, was friendly but not overtly so in case you just wanted to be alone. She was a marvelous hostess and chef as well! The china and crystal was all paired beautifully with polished silver - ahhh, it was all so lovely! I must tell you that breakfast was really special - Melodie's very own recipe for Crab & Grits with Poached Egg and Old Bay. WOW!! Or maybe it was the sliced melon with fresh Pomogranite (a first for me!)and cream...Oh it was all just sooo wonderful! I encourage you to check out the website and take a look at the pictures, they truly represent what you will experience. I loved my quiet, elegant weekend at the "Rivah" and look forward to going back again and again! Thank you Melodie! And I wish you continued success! Sincerely, Margaret Asbell Owner, 2PreppyGirls


The Essex Inn

4.6 on August 26, 2009

Beautifully renovated & very well kept bed & breakfast inn. Possibly the nicest we have ever visited. Highly recommended. Location is in the center of Tappahannock very convenient to the historic district & St. Margaret's school.


Essex Inn

5 on August 13, 2009

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. It was more than we expected. The accommodations were great, the food was outstanding. We had a fantastic 2-day get-away. We would recommend this inn to anyone wanting to be pampered.


Sibling getaway at the Essex B&B

5 on June 30, 2009

Very elegant and beautiful bedrooms- this B&B graciously presented the 'butlers pantry'-full of snacks and drinks. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.


The Essex Inn

4.8 on May 13, 2009

It was quiet, friendly, convenient, and a delightful place to stay. Wonderful host and hostess – food excellent.


Great weekend getaway

4.4 on May 11, 2009

Great stay with wonderful hospitality. The innkeepers didn't intrude but were very helpful. We had the Rose Room, a large corner room overlooking the garden. It was very quiet, being in the back, but there isn't a lot of traffic in Tappahannock! The breakfasts were more than ample, delicious and very creative - highlighting the fact that they had studied cooking in France.


Great stay

5 on April 22, 2009

This was our 2nd stay and we found the inn to be as wonderful as the first time we were there. Outstanding service and attention. Breakfast couldn't be better.


The Essex Inn

5 on April 07, 2009

Fabulous, cozy, comfy, warm - Loved it!


Nice stay

3.6 on February 27, 2009

nice stay


Walking Through History

4.8 on December 01, 2008

This was a return visit to the Essex Inn, a beautiful, comfortable bed and breakfast in the historic town of Tappahannock, Virginia. The Inn was very quiet, and, because of the drizzly, chill weather, we spend much of our stay relaxing by the fireplace in the living room, putting together a jigsaw puzzle, playing with a very friendly cat, and generally relaxing. The Inn is an easy stroll from lots of interesting buildings dating back to pre-Revolutionary time, and there is a wonderful little museum just a few blocks away. We loved our room, we loved breakfast, and the Innkeepers were terrific hosts. We are planning to return.


Th Essex Inn

3.4 on November 18, 2008

nice stay. good food, clean rooms.


Historic gem

4.0 on November 17, 2008

In the 10-12 years of visiting B&B's, this had the most historic feel than any other in which we have had the pleasure of staying. The restoration and the upkeep are outstanding in the Main house. The innkeeper was helpful, but not obtrusive.


The Essex Inn

4.0 on November 12, 2008

What a wonderful and relaxing weekend we had! Definitely on our return list of B&B's.


Beautiful furniture, nice grounds

5 on November 11, 2008

Bed was huge and cozy. quaint fire place, plenty of reading material, TV with DVD/VCR, plenty of storage, nice bath amenities.


An Autumn Getaway

5 on November 05, 2008

This inn is beautiful, comfortable, and restful. The breakfast is a delight. We also enjoyed the company of Porter, the greet-cat!


A wonderful B & B

4.8 on November 02, 2008

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Essex Inn to just relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. We couldn't have been happier with the reception we received when we arrived and our suite was comfortable and set up perfectly. The breakfasts were out of this world and to start the day with the delicious food, perfect coffee and conversation with Melodie was just what we needed. We would not hesitate to return to the Essex Inn and to recommend it to our friends. Reeves and Melodie exemplify what the word "service" means and cater to their guests every whim.


The Essex

5 on October 22, 2008

Beautiful home to stay in. The sun park was my favorite, and the cats.


The Essex Inn

4.4 on September 24, 2008

Very comfortable, good breakfast. Great amenities.


Beautiful Home

4.2 on August 04, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Essex Inn. What a beautiflul home - great breakfast and added refreshments in the butler's pantry a plus!


The Essex Inn

4.8 on July 09, 2008

Was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weekend getaways. Everything was wonderful! Beautiful place


The Essex Inn

4.8 on July 08, 2008

The inn is comfortable, impeccable, tastefully decorated, relaxing. Breakfast was fabulous. The Innkeepers are friendly folks. their cats are fun. The setting wonderfully relaxing - Highest recommendation.


A Great Place to Stay

5 on December 17, 2007

An excellent experience! Beautiful home with great amennities and great hospitality! We are definitely coming back.


Great Inn in the middle of nowhere

4.0 on October 26, 2007

The amenities at the Inn are first class in every aspect : The furnishings in every room are of the highest quality and the extras include almost anything you can ask for, including beer on tap. It was a very pleasant surprise in an area that offers few accomodations and a good value.


The Essex Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $175 - $205
  • Reviews (39) 4.6
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8044439900
  • Toll free 1-8663773982

Visit Website »

View details

Top