Museum District Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

AMAZING!!!

5 on April 30, 2012

I recently stayed in the Carriage House with my boyfriend for a three day trip to Richmond. This B&B made our trip a wonderful experience! The house is beautiful, clean and in a great location! The breakfast served is delicious, fresh and made-to-order. The wine and cheese served at 5 PM each day is a perfect touch that allows this B&B to stand out among the rest. Anna is an amazing innkeeper who really takes care of her guests! I definitely plan on returning...Thank you for a great stay Museum B&B!


A fantastic place!

5 on February 09, 2012

My wife and I rented the Carriage House for one night and had the most lovely time there. The house is within walking distance of the VMFA, several interesting shops and some wonderful restaurants. The house is beautifully furnished and guests are welcome to read the many books on the shelves and to come and go as they please. The food was wonderful starting with the wine and cheese served at 5:00. The wines were great and the cheese was far beyond great! Breakfast is served at convenient times and the food is fresh, local and great. For dinner we walked to a very nice restaurant recommended by Anna- AMORE and it was fantastic!


Perfect Location

5 on September 05, 2011

The proprietor Anna is a wonderfully gracious lady. The house exudes culture and hospitality. Two separate libraries are filled with an array of literature and history. The evening welcoming reception offered a nice selection of wine, cheeses, and conversation with other guests. Imagine a breakfast of French pastry, Greek yogurt, accompanied by Ol' South home cooking and you begin to grasp this very special place.


Home for Home in Virginia

5 on August 12, 2011

My partner and I are from the U.K and had travelled to Virginia for a 10 day trip to celebrate my 40th birthday(he had booked me tickets to a Huey Lewis concert in Newport News). We spent two fantastic nights in Richmond at the Museum District B & B, greeted by Anna on the first night we were invited to partake in some wine and cheese around the table with her family who were visiting. They then told us of a great little pub near by where we whiled away the evening. The next day was fabulous, great weather and more helpful hints about where to get food and go for a picnic. That evening we had our cocktail hour with some of Anna's neighbours and other guests, fabulous company and we ended up going out for dinner with them. Add this amazing hospitality to the fabulous suite we stayed in, loved having our own steam room; not to mention the great location, right next door to the fine arts museum and you get a place well worth staying in if you're off to Richmond.


You"ll find a reason to return!

5 on June 01, 2011

This was our 1st B&B experience in US prior visit was Quebec. We were very pleased in all aspects of our stay as indicated by the remarks above. There was a genuine demonstration of hospitality along with great dining, excellent service and pleasant conversations with friendly delightful guests. Final word, we booked return visit dates before leaving. Thanks Anna


Perfect in every way!

5 on April 25, 2011

Too much praise can conceivably sound false or hollow but to do less in this case would be a disservice to this wonderful B&B. It is, in a word, perfect. The location is unsurpassed, in the heart of historic Richmond's museum district. But that is just the tip of the iceburg! The Inn is a Museum itself, originally built as the home of Judge Rhea, and Anna is its expert curator (as well as host, tour guide, gourmet chef, etc). Our room was as comfortable as it was interesting and was stocked with every amenity. In the evening, don't miss the opportunity to enjoy chatting with Anna and other guests while enjoying a buffet of gourmet cheeses and wine. And Breakfast!?! Only a capital "B" can be used to describe Anna's Breakfast! Other adjectives that come to mind are generous, organic, local, yummy, and satisfying. Hint: You can skip lunch...you won't need it! Anna, thanks for a perfect stay!


We will be back!

5 on January 17, 2011

Anna knows how to run a B&B. It was our very first stay and we will be back (hopefully soon). Our expectations were exceeded on every level.


Ive always dreamed of richmond and staying here made everything perfect!

5 on January 11, 2011

We stayed here about a yr ago. It was our first long distance trip and I had always dreamed of going to richmond. We stayed in the most gorgeous of rooms! the innkeeper was extremely sweet! So nice that I left behind an article of clothing and she was so kind as to ship it back to me in PA! I would go here on a monthly baises if i could! the price was amazing and she was so helpful! this is the only place to stay and the location is great with amazing shops nearby to walk too!


Started our Honeymoon Perfectly

5 on November 29, 2010

The Innkeeper was so nice! She gave us extra croissant to we had food for our train trip. She really knew the area and made us want to come back again. The food was amazing and local (which we love) and she went OUT OF HER WAY to make us happy. I fell in love with this place and would recommend it everyone.


Don't miss this B & B!!

5 on October 16, 2010

A friend and I stayed 4 nights at this absolutely delightful B&B Anna helped us find the sights we wanted to visit, fed us breakfasts that were enough to last us all day, and had such comfortable rooms for us to stay in that it was hard to get up in the morning. Her wine and cheese get-togethers for the guests held in the late afternoon were a wonderful way to unwind, share funny stories with all the guests, and find out more about other sights we wanted to visit. This has to be the best B&B I've ever stayed in. You'll love it!


The best in it's class

4.0 on October 16, 2010

We also went to Richmond to do some genealogy and stayed with Anna at her B&B. She suggested we eat supper at a very eclectic Italian restaurant, Mama Zoos and it was great. Her breakfast was made up of the best ingredients she could find in Richmond. We will be back!


Bonus Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 11, 2010

I went to Richmond to do some genealogy so the location was my reason for choosing Anna's B&B but I never expected all the bonuses I received. The rooms were wonderful, the hospitality was incredible, the breakfast was excellent and the wine and cheese in the evening was incredibly fun! We met some incredible people that were also guests and felt like we were almost family when our stay was over. I will definitely be staying there again!


A delightful place to stay in a wonderful location

5 on August 09, 2010

This was the only B&B I could find in this general area that would except a one-night reservation. Thank you, Anna! We came to Richmond to see the Tiffany exhibit at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art, which just happens to be right across the street!! The house is beautiful Anna is a wonderful hostess. We highly recommend this establishment!


A wonderful stay in Richmond!

5 on July 06, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfast accomodations during our travels. The Museum District B & B was outstanding in all aspects. The location is excellent. It was easy to walk to nearby attractions-especially the Art Museum. The owner is absolutely wonderful and makes you feel at home. The evening wine and cheese was a very pleasant time visiting with other guests, the owner and her friends and neighbors. We so enjoyed our stay that it is the only place we will stay in Richmond when we visit our daughter.


Best breakfast on our 8 day trip

4.4 on April 21, 2010

Great experience here. Clean, quiet, and great breakfast.


Perfect In Every Way!

5 on March 10, 2010

My partner and I have stayed here twice, once on our own and once as a large group of people traveling together. Both times Anna made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and her attention to detail surprised us at every turn. She is the best host we've ever had, hands down. I've stayed in many B&B's, but none of them can hold a candle to this one. We're always on the lookout for an excuse to stay with her again!


An Outstanding Getway

5 on June 29, 2009

As a single visitor from out of town my stay at the Museum District Bed & Breakfast was fantastic. I felt completely at home in this darling house. Anna was an extraordinary resource for information about Richmond and ideas. The room and the food were wonderful! What a great vacation! I'd do it all again in a heartbeat!


An incredible place

4.8 on May 26, 2009

This is the best B&B I have ever visited. The breakfast was a delight, accommodations were spotless and well appointed. The service was amazing and supremely helpful in deciding where to eat and where to visit. This is money well spent on a delightful stay.


The Best Expiernence

5 on February 17, 2009

I have to say.. this was my first time going to a B&B and this had to be the best one i could ever have. My fiance and i are a fairly young couple, i thought these type of places were for older couples but i pick this over any fancy hotel.. This is the most relaxed romantic place you can go to. The service is awesome.. You are to yourself and their not lying when they say its your home away from home. The suite has a huge bathroom.. walk in shower and huge tub.. We used it all.. And breakfast..Anne is awesome. we definatly be back.. Carytown in walking distance.. You have to try this..


THE BEST IN A DECADE !

5 on December 28, 2008

I'VE STAYED IN OVER 200 B&B'S IN AMERICA AND OVERSEAS, AND ANNA CURRENCE & HER LOVELY PLACE ARE THE "TOP OF THE TOP" ! SHE HAS THAT RARE BALANCE OF SUPER HOSPITALITY, COMBINED WITH NON-INVASION OF YOUR SPACE...THE MOST KNOWLEDGEABLE AND HELPFUL AND LOVELY PERSON IN THE DOMINION ! ...AS STONEWALL JACKSON SAID " I SHALL RETURN ASAP". CLEANLINESS AND FOOD QUALITY ARE THE VERY BEST. CHEERS !!!


Fantastic place!

5 on December 05, 2008

Everything was wonderful. Hope to stay there again.


Wonderful hospitality to inn and town

5 on November 21, 2008

Anna was very informative about the sights of Richmond that were well worth visiting. She was also personable to each of the guests. She welcomed me with a cup of green tea and was accommodating in every way. I will plan to return with my family.


We Definitely Will Return

5 on November 12, 2008

Anna has an incredible talent of balancing privacy and inclusiveness: we felt at once at home and also a part of her B&B. The high quality of the ingredients in all she prepares is evident in both appearance and taste. This respect for quality is also seen in the stately furnishings, finishes, and decor. We plan to stay here on all subsequent visits to Richmond. --D&M, Brooklyn


Excellent local getaway

5 on August 09, 2008

My husband and I live in Richmond and were looking for a local B&B to getaway for the night. We had such a wonderful experience. Anna was a pleasure-she knew the perfect balance of being available and giving us space. We loved staying in the carriage house and it gave us the option to come and go as we pleased. We were delighted to come back at night and find a tray with the rest of the bottle of wine we enjoyed on it. Even though we stayed there in March 2008 and I am writing a review in August, I wanted to give credit where credit was due. Highly recommended for a stay-cation. We went back home feeling refreshed, even though we were about 10 minutes from our house, it was a place of relaxation and pampering.


The Best B&B!

5 on June 26, 2008

My note to the innkeeper says it all... Hi Anna, This morning while having coffee, I was thinking about the wonderful time Leslie and I had in Richmond. Staying at your B&B, the magnificent breakfast each morning, wine with cheese in the evening and visiting with you & your guests made our stay especially nice. You definitely spoiled us! Both of us have shared with our friends the great time that we had at your B&B. Thank you for your gracious hospitality. Take care, Laurie


The best we've experienced

5 on June 24, 2008

This was the best of the scores of B&Bs where we have stayed in the UK and USA! Anna is the perfect hostess, knowledgeable about the city and willing to go the extra mile to make us comfortable. We felt like welcome guests in a grand home. It is located in a safe and pleasant neighborhood close to attractive restaurants. Each morning we were treated to fresh-squeezed orange juice and freshly baked goods. The other guests were so interesting that on several days we lingered over breakfast. We recommend Museum District B&B to all our friends.


better than home

5 on June 18, 2008

The worst thing about staying at the Museum District B and B is leaving. Anna took great care of all of us -- the rooms are clean and comfortable, and there are plenty of spaces to hang out and read or play games. The porch swing was a hit. But Anna especially went out of her way to do things for the kids -- getting them a soccer ball to kick around in the yard, treats were set out during the day, and there was a watermelon and ice cream in the evening. Breakfast was consistently fresh and well prepared and Anna took care to notice what we liked, always having more for later. When we left she loaded us up with our favorite goodies for the road. I highly recommend the Museum District B and B -- I just hope it doesn't become so popular that it's full the next time we're in Richmond. Thank you Anna!


The best place to stay in Richmond

5 on June 09, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Museum District Bed and Breakfast for three nights in mid-May when we were in Richmond for our daughter's graduation from VCU. We have stayed in many B&Bs while traveling over the years, and we have definitely added this to our list of favorites. This beautiful genteel house sits in a lovely area that is convenient to great restaurants, shops, and historic sites. Our room was large and comfortably appointed, and we loved having a private balcony that looked over the tree lined street across from the Virginia Museum of Fine Art. But the most appreciated part of our stay was the gracious hospitality of the innkeeper, Anna. From the wonderful afternoon wine and cheese gatherings, to the delicious breakfast feasts, to the many special details that make a visitor feel so at home, Anna goes way beyond the call of duty to make her guests feel welcome. She even invited our daughter to join us for the afternoon refreshment times and breakfasts, which allowed us to share the experience with her. We loved our stay here and recommend the Museum District Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Richmond.


Wonderful Richmond B & B

5 on June 02, 2008

I spent two nights in late May 2008 at this B & B which had been recommended to me by Richmond relatives. Anna Currence was extremely helpful to me in many ways. I initially thought I could only reserve a room for one night, but after Anna checked and discovered someone had made a booking error, I was able to spend two nights. I really appreciated her checking on the reservations. The B & B is located in an architecturally lovely section of Richmond. Across the street is the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. Restaurants and shops are about three blocks from the B & B. The area is walkable and safe. Anna actually walked me to the restaurants/shops area so that I could locate it and confirm the safety. I stayed in the Carriage House, which is detached from the main house. In the Carriage House, I could control the temperature and could watch television without feeling as if I disturbed anyone else. Additionally, no one else disturbed me. The room rate is extremely reasonable. Both evenings featured delicious wines and cheeses. Sitting on the patio in comfortable, spring temperatures sipping wine and eating cheese/crackers was delightful. The breakfast is superb. Various granola, pastries of all types, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon (don't miss this!), juice, coffee, and tea more than satisfy. The New York Times and the Richmond paper are provided for perusal. Anna provided city maps and discussed areas of interest. Her advice assisted me in planning my time in Richmond. As I told Anna when I left, I feel as if I have made a new friend!


Wonderful B&B in Historic District

4.8 on May 06, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on our way down South. Too bad we couldn't stay longer because the place was magnificent and the prices are so reasonable! We arrived later than expected, but the innkeeper, Anna, was waiting for us with a lovely selection of cheeses and wine. We sat on the porch swing and ate as the sun set. Anna was very friendly and gracious. She gave us a great restaurant recommendation for dinner which we were able to walk to. We stayed in the carriage house which is it's own little building behind the main house. It has everything you could want: a front porch with a table and chairs, flat-screen TV with cable, Wi-Fi, A/C, coffee maker, refrigerator, desk, couch, closet and a beautiful bathroom. It was clean and very inviting. My only complaint is the full size bed was a little small for two. But a larger bed probably wouldn't fit. Still, it's a great little room and it's so private. Definitely worth staying in. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast with 4 other guests who were great company. And Anna's food was to die for! Bagels, lox, fresh fruit, the best bacon and scrambled eggs I've ever had! We will definitely being going back to this B&B. Hopefully we can stay for a week!


First rate in Richmond

4.0 on March 07, 2008

My husband and I chose this B&B for it's location and ended up feeling incredibly spoiled...Anna is the consumate hostess. We stayed in the coach house for a week. Every request was met with her immediate atttention...no request too large or small. The wine and cheese selections were wonderful and we could even have our breakfast on a tray to take back to our room (if we felt lazy). She even catered to my husband's special diet! Her library contains a wide range of book which reflects Anna herself...interesting and thoughtful. I don't think you'll find anything better for your money. As for the cat, it stays outside and is quite friendly (if you feel so inclined).


Great Richmond BB

4.8 on February 12, 2008

The house has great character, Anna is a great host, and the neighboorhood has everything you could want within walking distance. Highly recommended!


Fabulous B&B in downtown Richmond

4.8 on January 30, 2008

Every detail is first class at the Museum District B&B. Anna has spoiled us for staying at other B&B's now. The Judge Rhea suite was perfect for our early valentine's celebration - the comfortable sitting room with couch, gas fireplace and flat screen TV with surround sound was great to hang out and relax in, the bedroom was very comfortable with fine linens and a great Bose wave CD player and very cool windows with room darkening blinds, and the bathroom was incredible - from the long deep clawfoot tub to the 2 person steam shower and the thick towels and robes. Lots of extra touches such as in room coffee pod maker, lovely wine and cheese spread in the evening, and a delicious hearty breakfast in the morning with the best bacon I have ever tasted. Anna is a charming hostess and thinks of every detail to make it a wonderful stay.


Museum District Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $195
  • Reviews (33) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8043592332

Visit Website »

View details

Top