Killahevlin Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Weekend Getaway

4.2 on October 07, 2013

First experience with this B&B, exceeded my expectations. This place was very cute and quaint. Rooms were clean, good privacy. Tom and Kathy were welcoming and helpful. The in house pub was a great plus! Grounds were well kept and pretty, breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a unique experience. Would come back again.


Oustanding!!!!!!

5 on May 28, 2013

My wife and I celebrated her 30th Birthday at Killahevlin last weekend. What a wonderful experience ranging from the atmosphere to the quality customer service provided by Tom and Kathy. Oh, I need to mention the fabulous breakfast for both mornings too. One of the notable experiences that we had is that we were not treated like customers, but like family instead. Again, can't say enough good things about this place, will certainly pass on our recommendations to our friends, and we will be back. Thanks again, Tom and Kathy!!! Take care, Sam and Sara


Fabulous Weekend!

5 on April 02, 2013

My Wife and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary this past weekend at Killahevlin and had an absolutely wonderful experience. This was our first trip since being married to a Bed & Breakfast. We were struck by the hospitality, the cleanliness of the entire home, the beauty and history of the home, the beauty of the surrounding area, and the pure relaxation and peace we found. The breakfasts were to die for, and Tom and Kathy were very gracious hosts. We plan to make Killahevlin a regular stop for us in the future! Thanks Kathy and Tom for a wonderful weekend!


Our honeymoon in 02

5 on March 25, 2013

It has been almost 11 years since we stayed here. I still tell everyone I know that is looking for a b&b to consider staying as well. We were married in 02', May 4th. We were gifted this as a wedding present from a group of friends. AWESOME GIFT!!!!!!!! We stayed in the raspberry room. Everything was stellar. We will come back one day. We have two children now, and are raising them. One day we hope to celebrate and re-join Tom and Kathy for a stay! 5 stars across the board!


Experience history at the B & B

5 on March 16, 2011

A beautiful historical home, exquisitiely decorated with much Irish charm down to the smallest detail. Tom and Kathy are wonderful hosts attentive to every detail. Located in one of the most beautiful settings with excellent views of the Shenandoah Mountains. Tom's knowledge of the history of the home and the region was very educational and enlightening. Words cannot describe experiencing an early morning stroll around the property and enjoying the crisp morning air. A true gem of Virginia!


Great stay at Irish B&B

5 on February 22, 2011

Innkeepers Tom and Kathy were more than accommodating, friendly and helpful. The Raspberry Room was beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice. The entire property, especially pub, was just amazing. Breakfast was delicious as well. My fiancee and I are already looking forward to our next visit!


Why we love B&Bs

5 on November 19, 2010

Killahevlin is a marvelous find in Front Royal, Virginia. We were upgraded to the Raspberry room with a fireplace, whirlpool bathtub, very comfy bed and all the amenities. Our host Tom was a wonderful guide for the area, pointing out a great gourmet restaurant, "Js", and giving us a short history and tour of the home and grounds. It was quiet, tranquil and restful, just what we needed after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast was great and the always-available espresso maker is a wonderful idea. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! C&C


A Little Piece of Honeymoon Heaven

4.6 on June 30, 2010

Upon our arrival, we were met by our gracious hosts Tom & Kathy...and warmly welcomed! The "Blue Room" was spacious and extremely comfortable, with beautiful antique furniture, and an adjoining porch that provided breathtaking views of the nearby mountains and allowed us to take in the country fresh air! :o) The morning breakfasts were most delectable...absolutely fantastic! We were in heaven! We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone regardless of taste or age. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you Tom & Kathy for a wonderful stay!!! Mark & Karen


So many reasons why we keep coming back!

5 on February 01, 2010

Although this was our sixth visit to Killahevlin, it was the first in the winter. When more snow than predicted arrived, we settled in for an entirely relaxing day of lingering over the fabulous breakfast that included the best baked apples we've ever tasted, reading by the fire, watching the snow from our enclosed porch, and visiting with Tom and Kathy. From checking on open restaurants Saturday night to brushing snow off our car the morning of our departure, the Conkeys could not have been more helpful and gracious. There are many options in this beautiful part of Virginia, but we will always come back here for the unparalleled breakfasts, the lovely rooms, the camraderie in the Irish pub, and the spectacular grounds.


Checked in as guests, left as friends

5 on December 06, 2009

Staying at the Killahevlin was our first Bed and Breakfast experience. Wow! We were considering buying a house in the area, and wanted to stay someplace where we could ask LOTS of questions of local people. Tom and Kathy could not have been more helpful, or more patient. I used to think that I didn't like breakfast, but... Each morning we enjoyed the most delicious breakfasts I've ever had, while watching the local wildlife wander through the yard. (I felt a little bit like a character from a Disney movie.) I used to think that I didn't like beer, but... We spent pleasant evenings on the porch, sipping Harp Lager, watching the sun set, and discussing the homes our realtor had shown us. We stayed again at the Killahevlin when we came back to town to close escrow on the house we had decided to buy. We love the house, but wish we still had an excuse to stay at the Killahevlin! We really did check in as guests, and hugged friends goodbye when we left. Thank you Tom and Kathy!


My favorite bed and breakfast

5 on October 28, 2009

The breakfast Tom and Kathy made for us was out of this world. They were the perfect hosts. I've not had such a pleasant dining out experience anywhere else, ever. Tom and Kathy included all the guests in conversation as they served us and we were all laughing and talking during the meal which felt just like home. Upon our arrival I was not feeling well, and Tom's concern and thoughtfullness toward me was very touching. We're going back.


Laid back and relaxing.

5 on October 28, 2009

This was just the place we were looking for to begin our relaxing week away from the real world. Tom and Kathy were great hosts and we really enjoyed meeting the other guests in the "pub". The breakfast was outstanding and the grounds are beautiful. Our room (White Room) was very comfortable and the sunset was perfect. We highly recommend Killahevlin. Allen & Brenda


Lovely Bed and Breakfast

4.0 on October 09, 2009

Pleasantly surprised at the warmth and friendliness; we felt like we were family! Absolutely delicious breakfasts - every effort made to see to our needs.


Great Getaway Spot

4.8 on September 30, 2009

We stayed in the Blue Room, which had a huge whirlpool tub and a semi-private porch with a beautiful view of the front yard and mountains. We felt right at home from the moment we walked in and enjoyed a quiet restful weekend. Food was phenomenal and the pub was a great amenity. Inn was close to Shenandoah Park and other area attractions. We will definitely go back!


Our Stay at Killahevlin - July 2009

5 on August 27, 2009

We recently visited Killahevlin in July 2009. Tom and Kathy were most gracious hosts and looked after our every need - from our stay to helping us with plans in the Front Royal vicinity. The rooms are excellently maintained. The Breakfast was the best I've ever had with nicely presented fruits, juices, coffee, and a delicious main course of whatever breakfast food you may choose. RDW Alexandria, VA


Great get away!

4.4 on August 22, 2009

My husband and I just spent two nights in the Green Room and loved it. Tom was a great host and the house and lands are beautiful. We loved the pub and complimentary drinks. We can't wait to back again.


Great weekend getaway

5 on August 19, 2009

Tom 7 kathy were extremely helpful with maps, restaurant menus and suggestions. B&B was cozy and intimate. A wonderful, relaxing stay in superior accommodations.


The Best

5 on July 31, 2009

Don't be shy to stay at this bed and breakfast. The grounds, wildlife, food, presentation, and hospitality were really something to marvel at. My husband and I will definitely be back. History buffs and antique lovers enjoy.


The best

5 on May 26, 2009

After 30-some years doing B&B's, this is probably the best I've stayed at; Rooms charming and immaculate, the gardens and valley views soothing, food extraordinary. Worth going back even at 1,000 miles away! Tom and Kathy go out of their way to make stay enjoyable.


Spring at Killahevlin

5 on May 26, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Killahevlin. The Irish pub was very relaxing after a full day of driving. The hospitality was wonderful, the room comfortable and clean and the breakfast was outstanding. It was a great start to our trip and we would certainly visit again and recommend it to any of our friends visiting the area.


Recent Visit to Killahevlin

5 on April 14, 2009

Our two night stay was great and the food was excellent. We will come back again often.


Beautiful home and property

3.8 on November 04, 2008

We loved the en suite whirlpool and the private bar.


Happy Camper

5 on September 01, 2008

Our 3rd visit but 1st with current owners. Absolutely outstanding. Warm hospitality, excellent breakfast, delightful room and bath and met all our wishes. Owners go out of their way to be helpful in service, locality advice and friendliness. Expensive but worth it.


Intimate and cozy, picture perfect get away

4.6 on August 27, 2008

Inn keepers Tom and Kathy are two of the warmest and open people who you could have host your stay at a B &B and they rally go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Jade Tree Suite, which is adjacent to the main house and offers unrivaled ambiance that was intimate and cozy. It included all of the creature comforts and was rounded out with all the extras you could ask for: a jacuzzi tub to help recover from a day hike and a private balcony overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains and the George Washington National Forest where we sipped champagne and enjoyed chocolate covered strawberries watching the sun set on a cool summer night. Tom and Kathy also happen to be two of the best cooks you are likely to meet (anywhere). Upon walking into our room we were greeted with plate of the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever had…still warm. Breakfast was also a delightful, with fresh scones and a hearty breakfast made with farm fresh seasonal ingredients reflecting the local agriculture. If you’re a night owl or would enjoy a drink with guests after dinner the pub the pub is a unique feature that I have never seen, with complementary beer on tap (and wine to boot). I promise you that you will go away happy, well fed, and with two new friends and as you drive away you will start thinking about booking your return trip.


Historic Beauty and more

4.8 on June 10, 2008

Being our first B&B, this establishment certainly exceeded any expectation that we had. Tom and Kathy were absolutely great, willing to make our stay better and better all the while.The property was beautifully maintained, the room was warm and welcoming, and even Henrie, Murphy, and Tigger welcomed us daily. Neither of us realized that the room would have a Jacuzzi tub, which was a great addition. Tom and Kathy's cooking was spectacular, and exactly what we were looking for. The traditional Irish decor was very tasteful, and the pub certaintly a grand addition. We cannot praise this B&B enough, and will certainly being staying again soon, as well as telling our friends!


Killahevlin

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $255
  • Reviews (25) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5406367335
  • Fax 1-5406368694
  • Toll free 1-8008476132

Visit Website »

View details

Top