Richard Johnston Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful service at historic gem

5 on August 21, 2016

We loved our stay at this cozy historic inn. Innkeeper Cheryl and other staff members gave us great tips for enjoying Fredericksburg, and the location right downtown made everything easy. Walk to historic sights and fun restaurants as well as excursions on the Rappahanock River. Breakfast was deliciousness and the dining room lovely. Highly recommended!


A winner

3.6 on August 18, 2016

The location is great, everything in the room was satisfactory, and everyone I interacted there was super nice, knowledgeable and helpful. I didn't have breakfast on site as I preferred to explore the town, but I did very much enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese. Unlike so many of those, both the wines and the cheeses were high quality. I would recommend this place without hesitation.


Wonderful place!!!

5 on August 12, 2016

Loved our room - celiling beams, huge fireplace, sitting area, comfortable beds. Everything in the room was just so lovely. And the innkeeper and staff too were just wonderful. We could not have asked for a nicer stay. Highly recommend this B&B!!


Exceeded our expectations

5 on August 05, 2016

We really liked the historical value and location of the inn. We stayed in July. Relaxing atmosphere and a wonderful innkeeper Cheryl. She was very accommodating and professional. We stayed for three nights and could not have been happier. The breakfasts each morning were delicious! There is so much history in and around the city, the inn made for a great starting point. Our stay really exceed our expectations! My wife and I thank The Richard Johnston Inn for the amazing staff and value!


July stay

4.6 on August 02, 2016

A beautiful B&B, with warm and welcoming staff.


Absolutely wonderful

5 on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful stay. Absolutely loved our room. So quaint and beautifully decorated. Loved the beams on the ceiling and the wonderful big fireplace. The innkeeper and staff were just wonderful. Friendly and engaging - made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was wonderful and my friend's dietary needs were accommodated. I just can't say enough nice about our stay. Will be back again - can't wait.


Short but sweet

4.0 on July 20, 2016

We spent only one night at the inn but we enjoyed it very much. The building, the antiques, the beautiful patio, and the breakfast, all make it the perfect pefect place to stay in that great little town. Very recommended.


Sawyer Scott Room, 1890 Caroline House, July 2016

4.0 on July 17, 2016

Lovely 2-night stay in this very beautiful and historic house. Excellent location.


A Trip Down Memory Lane

4.8 on July 15, 2016

We spent two nights with my in-laws as my mother in law frequented Fredericksburg, VA as a child. She is now 86 and was able to take us back to her childhood memories. The Inn was lovely, chocked full of history. The staff were extremely accommodating as mobility was an issue. FYI, if you are not up for stairs, steer clear off the third floor as it is 52 steps from ground to the the room. However, the former slaves quarters are beautifully appointed suites on the ground floor and offerings to deliver breakfast in the morning was a wonderful touch. Our only issues were the television reception in the lower level suite as the bedroom was in/out with reception. The Innkeeper was more than accommodating offering us a return visit for our inconvenience. The breakfast was delicious even asking if we had dietary restrictions. A lovely, thoughtful, "feel at home" step back in time. We would highly recommend your inn to friends and family.


Very Quaint B&B

5 on July 04, 2016

My sister and I felt right at home at the Richard Johnston Inn. We stayed in the Kitchen Room right off the patio. It is conveniently located to the Vistor's Center and to restaurants on Caroline Street. The house was beautifully decorated. Cheryl and Cynthia were more than gracious and accommodating. They made our vacation one to remember. We will definitely return! Highly recommended.


A perfect weekend

5 on June 20, 2016

We were so comfortable and relaxed at 1890 Caroline House. The house was beautifully decorated and Cheryl and Cynthia made us fee right at home. Everything was perfect. I couldn't ask for more.


A very wonderful stay

5 on June 16, 2016

The room was beautiful, the breakfast was outstanding and the people there were very friendly and pleasant. I highly recommend this place.


A quick anniversary getaway

4.6 on June 11, 2016

A quick anniversary getaway I wanted to do something special for my wife for our first anniversary and the Richard Johnston Inn more then fulfilled my wishes. The Manager is exceptionally attentive and caring and goes above and beyond to make sure everything is just right. The common areas are beautifully decorated and arranged and if you're coming here to absorb history it get you in the mood right away. I cannot more highly recommend a place to stay in Fredericksburg then the Richard Johnston Inn. Nick from Williamsburg


Perfect!

5 on May 30, 2016

We celebrated our Anniversary here and it was perfect! The inn is beautiful and located right downtown within walking distance to quaint little shops and restaurants. The staff was so sweet and breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend this inn for your Fredericksburg visit!


Perfect

5 on April 10, 2016

In addition to the perfect location, beautiful room, and wonderful breakfast, as a woman traveling alone, I felt absolutely welcome and safe in this lovely inn.


Great Stay!

4.4 on April 02, 2016

Convenient location near shops, restaurants, and the train station, the Inn has lovely rooms, a friendly and helpful staff, good amenities, a pretty patio, and plenty of off-street parking. They serve a tasty breakfast.


A Lovely Weekend!

5 on March 16, 2016

I recently stayed at the Richard Johnston Inn. My only regret, is that I could not stay longer than one night. The room that we stayed in (The Virginian) was well-kept, inviting, and cozy. The staff was incredible, welcoming us as family and helping us feel at home during our stay. In the morning, a wonderful spread of food had been prepared and we enjoyed the company of another couple staying at the Inn. Despite never staying at a bed and breakfast before, I think my husband and I will never step foot in another conventional hotel again! A huge thank you to the staff at the Richard Johnston for giving us a wonderful weekend experience.


Anniversary Celebration

5 on December 31, 2015

The Richard Johnson Inn has been our favorite B&B for years. The location in Old Town Fredericksburg, couldn’t be better. The beautiful courtyard in the back is private yet spacious and open, and all the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed with upscale country charm. The home is rich with colonial style architecture, woodwork and furnishings. The breakfast meals were customized to our preferences and excellently prepared. But most of all, the best thing was the very, friendly warmth of the entire staff. They were very accommodating and professional in caring for their guests. Innkeeper Cheryl set the standard high for the rest of the staff in the way she went “above and beyond” seeing to not only the needs but also the desires of the guests in a very professional, yet personable, warm, laid back sort of way. We felt relaxed and at home almost immediately. We will definitely be going back for our next vacation. Smokey & Linda Winstead Manassas VA


Richard Johnston Inn

5 on March 20, 2014

The Inn is very conveniently located in downtown Fredericksburg. The inn personnel were very helpful and friendly. It appears that there has been a change of on-site management as some of the amenities normally expected at this inn on check-in were not available. No one was able to show us to our room, there was no explanation of if, or where, coffee, sodas, etc. were available after hours, no explanation of any of the common rooms, etc.. There was a problem with the temperature control in the inn during our stay (rooms on one side of the facility were too cold while ours was too warm). There was no local, in room temperature control (the thermostat was locked) so it became quite uncomfortable overnight. This was tolerated well, however and I would still stay here again (perhaps in a different room location). A delicious breakfast was served in the dining room in the morning and again, the staff was great, service was superb and the interaction with the other guests was terrific.


Look no further!

4.2 on May 11, 2013

My wife wanted to go to Fredericksburg for our 37th anniversary. I found the Richard Johnston Inn and the Caroline House (where we stayed) online. They are both centrally located in Old Town Fredericksburg with easy parking---we parked right in front of the Caroline House both nights. They are operated by the same people. Our room was great--roomy, clean, and lots of automation. Only complaint was the street noise from Caroline Street at night...sounded like our windows were open and could hear conversations of people walking down the street, plus every car that passed. This is the ONLY thing I can think of that wasn't superb. The breakfast at the Richard Johnston Inn was fabulous. Lindi was very friendly and warmly welcomed us each day. We enjoyed talking with the other guests each morning at breakfast. I'm a cheapskate, so I always wince when I get the bill (high or low), but my wife was VERY PLEASED, and in the end, that's all that matters. When we return to Fredericksburg in the future, there's a very high probablility that we'll stay at one of these places. I cannot recommend and endorse it highly enough.


Wonderful Last Minute Stay

4.8 on August 15, 2012

This was a last minute 8/13/12 by chance stay at a lovely pet friendly B&B. We were very happy with our spotless large comfortable room and yummy breakfast in the morning. Wish we had more time to stay. A definite place I would stay again.........Staff and inn keeper were very friendly and welcoming to us and our pet. Great location for walking and checking out all the local history and shops.


1890 Caroline House, like getting the remarkable experience of staying in a fabulous Victorian dollhouse!

4.4 on April 27, 2012

What a great Victorian home! This house is so incredibly detailed in decor! Absolutely stunning! No attention to detail has been missed, from the original hardwood floors, persian rugs, lead glass chandeliers, fantastic Victorian furniture, mirrors, all the way down to the detailed hardware on the doors and fixtures. We stayed in the Wiley Suite, not "Victorian", more masculine, with a tropical flair, zebra prints here and there, but not overdone. Extremely comfortable, with double-sided fireplace, one opening into the large sitting room, comfy chairs, with tv's back to back over double sided fireplace, other side opening into the king size bed bedroom. Comfy bed, supersoft blanket and comforter, fabulous double bathroom with 2 separate his/hers vanities and jacuzzi in 1 room, 2nd room commode,bidet, large tiled glass shower with great showerheads. blue ray DVD player, CD's that are able to be stereo systemed throughout the suite and into the courtyard. Private entrance from this suite to the courtyard and private exit to side street. House is located on Caroline street, so can step right out into Old Town Fredericksburg, everything within easy and wonderfully "old time" walking distance.Check out SimplyFredericksburg.com for all the sites, history, and shopping!


Lovely Surprise

5 on March 06, 2011

My husband and I came down for a friend's wedding in another B&B. Fortunately the Richard Johnson Inn had space on very short notice. Lindsay, the inn keeper, could not have been sweeter. She gave us a tour of the property and we chose the third floor room. It was beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. I was so grateful for the non-stop excellent coffee the next morning. The breakfast was enormous and delicious. My husband was well fed and happy. This inn has lots of parking in the rear which is another plus. I'm running out of superlatives to describe this property -- We will remember our stay for a long, long time.


Great lodging in historic place

4.4 on November 19, 2010

The inn is beautiful and comfortable. Located in the middle of history it is a great place to visit the surrounding battlefield sites. You live in history while visiting history.


Inn Keeper to the rescue

3.0 on May 08, 2010

The Richard Johnston Inn is a lovely historic building very conveniently located for sightseeing in Historic Fredericksburg. It is right across from the visitors center and close to shops and restaurants and a mere three block walk from the railway station. The Inn Keeper, Bonnie Lelys and her staff were both friendly and helpful. Bonnie went above and beyond when we discovered our train home was hours late. She invited us to sit in the parlor where we finally decided to rent a car and drive home. When the rental company was too busy to pick us up immediately, Bonnie drove us to their site. We really appreciated her extra effort.


Sigh

3.0 on August 19, 2009

What an attractive location with beautiful appointments in the heart of Fredericksburg. While the rooms were great, the reception and dining fell well short of expectations. The Innkeeper is an Inn Sitter who is reputed to be a great cook, but breakfast consisted of a continental offering. When asked about local battlefields, the hostess explained that didn't interest her so she couldn't help. Not on our return list.

Innkeeper Response
I am dissappointed that this guest did not enjoy their visit. My license plate does say Innsitter and that was my previous business - I am now an Innkeeper. It is on our website that we serve an extended continental breakfast during the week but for an extra charge they may order a full breakfast. I try to direct guests to historic locations and the Visitors Center is across the street. Individual interests vary - again I am sorry they did not enjoy their visit


Very Nice B&B

4.2 on June 20, 2009

The Johnston Inn is very nice and is a very good value. The location is excellent with many dining and shopping opportunities in walking distance. For example, the Capital Ale House, a very good resaurant, is a very short walk. The breakfast was delicious and very generous in a great setting. I would enthusiatically recommend this B&B.


SATISFIED AND HAPPY VACATIONERS

5 on April 12, 2009

We were on the last part of our two week retirement vacation. We stopped in Fredricksburg because we had visited the town a few years before, and had loved the quaint shops and the atmosphere of the area. We were told of the Richard Johnston Inn at the Welcome Center along with other Inns and hotels. We had picked this Inn because it was in the center of town, and had parking for our car. Little did we realize that we were to also enjoy the comforts and warmth of such a beautiful old and well maintained Inn. Our room was on the third flood. It was large with a king-sized bed and a mural painted on the wall showing Fredricksburg the way it looked during the years before the Civil War. There were old beamed ceiling through out the room even into the bath room. Our breakfast's were not large, but were enough to fill you up. There was lots of coffee (hot water for tea) and different juices. Our host Bonnie is an excellent cook and each morning we had a tasty treat of a coffee cake that was so very good, some went back for more than one serving...We are looking forward to another visit in the very near future!


Not a bed and breakfast in the traditional sense.

3.2 on April 06, 2009

While the ratings may seem low, all 3's, we have high expectations for our stays and the Richard Johston certainly met them. We very much enojyed the frunishings, and it was very clean. Our breakfast as blueberry French toast was excellent. Our bed, a queen was not very comfortable, and we both awoke with some back discomfort. The owner of the property is not on the premises, and in fact, the innkeeper once referred to the 'corporation' which is fine, but one aspect of the B&B that we have always thoroughly enjoyed is meeting the owners who live in the home. We learn of their investment in the home and the love they have for all within. Richard Johnston Inn is a very good B&B, but as a small inn of 8 rooms or so, it does not have the intimacy of a home.


Yahoo

4.0 on March 13, 2009

Even though we had no prior resevations we were treated convivially and fairly; a big plus in todays fast paced society. We hope to return again and again...mbsaunders


january 2009 stay

5 on January 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Olivia room. It had a canopy bed, lots of towels and even soft robes. The surprise was the brandy in the room. We do not usually drink alcohol, but we had to try a sip. It warmed me up clear to my toes. The food is to die for. Ask for the recepies! The furniture is "period", the place was immaculate and the food was fantastic. What more could one ask for?


Warm & Elegant

5 on January 19, 2009

The Richard Johnston Inn surrounds you in an atmosphere that is warm and elegant. Today melts away as soon as you enter the front door and is replaced by the splendor of the 18th century. High ceilings, richly decorated common rooms, and a very elegant dining room are treats for the eyes. All of the guest rooms are finely appointed; all are theme decorated; none disappoint. We were treated to the most delicious, relaxing breaksfasts. The manager, Bonnie, could not be a more gracious host - warm, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the history of both the house & the area. Plan a trip to Fredericksburg, book the Richard Johnston Inn, stay a few days extra! The area is rich with history that goes back to the 1600s. Take the trolley tour. Kudos!


5+ Stars All The Way!!!

4.0 on January 19, 2009

Patricia Eldridge & Leslie Miller


A home away from home

4.4 on November 03, 2008

A brilliant place to stay. Lovely comfy rooms with massive beds and TV as well as private bathrooms. Breakfast was great and the owners are wonderful people that make you feel very welcome. I definitely recommend this place (you should come here even if you are not interested in seeing the battlefield or any of the historic sites nearby) :)


Charming

5 on August 11, 2008

Our stay at this Inn was short, but oh so sweet. Located right in the middle of the historic district - it was within walking distance to everything. The Irish Pub next door is wonderful too! The Inn is decorated to perfection and the breakfast was outstanding. We look forward to visiting again! Chip & Kris Chula, GA


An enjoyable experience

5 on February 17, 2008

My stay this week at the Richard Johnston inn exceeded my expectations. The inn is beautifully decorated with revolutionary and civil war antiques, so has a wonderful patriotic feeling in the heart of old Fredericksburg. The breakfast was wonderful and very clean--A+. The service was outstanding; Bonnie went beyond my expectations by aiding me in my trip back to Washington, calling VRE to determine delays and driving me to the train station! A+


Best Location Ever!!!

5 on April 16, 2007

This Inn is right in the middle of the historic district of Fredericksburg. You can literally walk to everything and Caroline St is a shoppers delight especially if you love antiques. Our room was the least expensive in the house and it was gorgeous. The canopy bed was so comfortable and there were many small welcoming touches not only in the room but throughout the entire Inn. Bonnie is a perfect hostess and add her own charm to that of this historic house.


What a Gem!

5 on January 18, 2007

Charm, Charm, Charm. It's definitely like a little bit of the old world in Virgina. Rooms were large and accomodating. Inn keeper also very helpful. Delightful relaxing room with many up-to-date DVD's to watch. Also, take a little nip of the port provided before bed.


Richard Johnston Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $250
  • Reviews (38) 4.6
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5408997606

Visit Website »

View details

Top