Rockwood Manor Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

A Wonderful Place to Stay!

5 on August 05, 2014

Miss Sarah, Frank, and their staff were wonderful. The room was gorgeous and immaculate. Oh, and the breakfast - scrumptious. We will definitely return here again. Jim and Tina


Truly a historic GEM!!!!

5 on June 27, 2014

As a traveling nurse, I get to stay in some very nice B&B's, but I do believe this one is the best, not only is the home magnificent, it is served by members of the orginial family who bulit this beautiful mansion on the hill. You can feel the love they share about their ancesters and their guests. They make you feel so welcome. There are some great restaurants in the around the area on the "New River" with beautiful scenery. You will not be disappointed.


A beautiful and restful country manor house.

5 on May 14, 2014

What a gorgeous home and property! Sarah was the perfect hostess and historian, providing just the right touch of Southern hospitality and fascinating details about this wonderful house. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and restful. Breakfast was delicious, served in the stunning dining room. I did not want to leave and will certainly return to stay another day.


Wonderland

4.6 on October 17, 2013

Such a beautiful place, nestled in the VA mountains not far from the New River and Appalacian trail. The hosts were 'old world', gracious and very knowledgeable about surroundings.


Gracious, Elegant, Charming, Delightful

5 on October 08, 2013

I was fortunate to spend a night at Rockwood Manor. I wish I could have stayed longer. The Manor is beautiful and well appointed, the grounds are lovely and expansive. Mrs. Drummond's exquisite taste is evident everywhere you look. I had a wonderful breakfast including fruit from the farm, everything was fresh and flavorful. My room and en suite were gorgeous and comfortable with all the comforts of home, and the extra touches of Sarah. It was my privilege to spend a few hours with Sarah in the evening learning about the history of the house and getting to know Sarah. I enjoyed an interesting and delightful evening that I will always remember fondly. If you have an opportunity to stay at Rockwood Manor, I recommend that you don't hesitate, it's a beautiful experience.


Welcome Home

5 on August 23, 2013

"Welcome home" was the first thing that Sarah greeted us with at the front door, and she, along with her children, Frank and Rochelle did just that our entire stay! You could not want for a single thing more in a B&B: beautifully decorated and spacious rooms, warm hospitality, good food, and a lovely setting steeped in family history. We will come back! Neil and Lisa


Excellent B&B

4.8 on August 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rockwood Manor. The warm welcome, the beautiful mansion, room and surroundings made it a joy to be there!


Beautiful B&B!

5 on August 06, 2013

We arrived late and our hostess was so gracious! The house is breathtaking! You feel as though you are stepping back in time. We enjoyed breakfast so much and loved hearing the history of the house and their family. Thank you so much for having us!


Wonderful Home and Wonderful People

3.8 on July 19, 2013

The family that owns and runs Rockwood Manor are very sweet and accommodating. The grounds and home is beautiful!


Beautiful and Historical

5 on September 24, 2012

Such a beautiful home. Sarah greeted us with warm southern hospitality. Our room was lovely & the family history was extremely interesting!


Historic splendor, elegant décor, gracious hosts

5 on August 04, 2012

We were so impressed with our stay at lovely Rockwood Manor. The beautiful guest rooms (all rooms with fireplace!) are extra large, professionally decorated, quality southern 19th century décor with every modern convenience and comfort. The wonderful hosts are descendents of the wealthy cattle baron who built the mansion, and they will charm you with their southern hospitality and thoughtfulness. Matchless attention to detail is seen throughout the restored manor that was built with only the finest of materials (crown moldings like you have never seen!). Scenic, rural location and an easy drive from I-77 or I-81. Will definitely recommend to our many friends who travel to and from the south!


Hooked on B&Bs

4.4 on March 23, 2012

I had only stayed in a B&B one other time and it was awkward. Rockwood Manor was wonderful! We will be back as often as we can.


What a Treasure

5 on January 24, 2012

The Rockwood Manor is an amazing structure with so much family history. The rooms are spectacular, warm and feel like "home."


Amazing!

5 on October 30, 2011

Beautiful, spacious, peaceful.


Oct 8 & 9, 2011

5 on October 09, 2011

We had a wonderful, quiet weekend celebrating our first anniversary at the Rockwood Manor. Sara, Frank and Rochelle were very kind and welcoming and made us feel at home. The house and the extra houses for lodging were very clean and tastfully decorated. We would highly recommend the Rockwood Manor to anyone for a rejuvenated time with a special someone. Jim and Kelly Gregory Midlothian, Va


Beautiful Rockwood Manor

5 on August 04, 2011

Great value, immaculate cleanliness. Wonderful Southern manor.


Serenity graduation weekend

4.4 on July 22, 2011

Stayed at this inn for Virginia Tech graduation, great Southern hospitality. Beautiful historic inn with a pretty dining room, floors, very friendly host, Frank, beautiful setting, great views.


Wonderful !!!

4.8 on May 03, 2011

Gorgeous home,beautifully appointed rooms, elegant and relaxing. Couldn't ask for a better place to get away from it all. Took my 4 year old grandaughter who at the end of the weekend did not want to go home. She thought she was a princess in a castle! Would encourage everyone to make the trip to Dublin to see beautiful Rockwood Manor.


Absolutely fabulous

5 on April 16, 2011

Recommend this B&B - you could not wish for anything more. You are made to feel so welcome and the rooms are superb. Thank you Frank for a most wonderful experience while we visited our son at Radford university. We will return, Anthony and Julia (Brighton, UK)


A wonderful time

5 on April 10, 2011

The proprietor made our stay a wonderful experience. His family history that was tied to the home, that was dated back to it's construction in 1870, was fascinating. We had a great time.


Rockwood Manor

5 on November 27, 2010

Sara & Frank all made you feel like you're home again. From walking the farm to picking & eating apples -- service excellent.


The best!

5 on October 05, 2010

Wonderful historic home -- gracious and kind hosts -- rooms larger than shown on web and beautifully decorated -- very comfortable -- delicious food & wonderful service!


Exceeded expecations and then some...

5 on March 03, 2010

We stopped overnight at the Rockwood Manor on our way south and were extremely pleased with everything. The house itself is beautiful and spacious. The innkeeper, Frank, made us feel like old friends instead of guests. We have stayed at many B&Bs but this one is one of the very best. We plan on going back when we have more time to enjoy the inn and the area.


Gorgeous Southern Mansion

4.6 on March 02, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Rockwood Manor B&B. To have the great-great-grandson of the home's original builder as the innkeeper made it a special treat - such hospitality - we will return for sure!


rockwood b & b

4.4 on January 29, 2010

Rockwood Manor is definitely one of the nicest b & bs I have ever had the pleasure of staying in...


Very nice

4.4 on January 24, 2010

We had a great time in VA this spring. My husband and I had just gotten engaged. Found this delightful BnB online and it was great. Clean, good linens, food. We will go back next year when on vacation.


Outstanding!

5 on January 11, 2010

What an awesome time we enjoyed in Rockwood Manor following a winter blizzard. We felt that we were in a Winter Wonderland. The hosts made us feel so welcome and totally at home! We were the only guests during our stay and even ate Christmas Eve dinner with our hosts. We are so thankful for Rockwood Manor!


Wonderful Stay!

5 on December 18, 2009

Beautiful place to stay or have a special event. Well taken care of! Great food. Very private. Will revisit I'm sure!


The most charming intersection of Old and New

5 on October 14, 2008

My family and I stayed here for my niece's wedding. The house is marvelous... it provides both privacy and a social atmosphere (whatever you want it to be). The rooms are very spacious and maintain that old Virginia charm but with modern conveniences such as wireless internet access and jacuzzi tubs to make sure you can really relax. The rooms are very quiet and private. The property is perfect for walking and enjoying nature. The hosts are hospitable and accomodating. They even found a special request for me before we arrived!! If you stay here once, you will return again as if to your family.


Rockwood Manor

Details

  • Nightly Rate $120 - $170
  • Reviews (29) 4.8
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5406741328

Visit Website »

View details

Top