The Inn at Hans Meadow Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
73 Reviews

Write A Review

Bed and Breakfast: The Ultimate Understatement

5 on April 09, 2014

With some initial apprehension from never staying at a B&B, we can say that after our stay, The Inn at Hans Meadow has set the standard. 1. Bed: The building is well kept and historically charming with loads of character rooted in tradition. 2. Breakfast: Phenomenal - from almond peach pancakes to gourmet breakfast sandwiches and there was always a sweet treat waiting for us in the evening from lemon bars to raspberry chocolate mousse tarts. 3. Hosts Family: The owners Pam and Lisa were very down to earth and they didn’t make us feel like guests, they made us feel like family. We stayed in the dining room talking to Lisa and Pam for hours on end about any and everything.


Beautiful! Quiet! Cozy!

5 on January 24, 2014

This place is great. It is clean, very quiet - you will feel like you're all alone, like in your own home. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Honeymoon Suite - it was beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was accommodating, cooked to perfection, even served with dessert. We also experienced very bad, snowy weather right before check-out, but the ladies at The Inn let us stay until roads cleared, literally staying all day! Recommending this place highly!


Excellent Service

4.2 on August 10, 2012

My wife and I rarely stay at bed and breakfast inns. We enjoyed oufr stay immensely. The owners were very attentive. Even when a glitch occurred with our reservation, they bent over backwards to make sure that we were happy and had a nice stay. Accommodations are only one part of a nice B&B stay. The owners make or break a stay, and the owners of the Inn at Hans Meadow provided outstanding service and made our stay very enjoyable.


WONDERFUL HOME AWAY FROM HOME BUT MUCH BETTER!!!

5 on July 15, 2012

You could not ask for a better stay. Our welcome was warm and friendly. The service was wonderful. The Innkeepers, John and Kathy were so gracious. They kindly shared their 'home' which was impeccably clean and warmly decorated. My husband I can not wait to return to The Inn at Hans Meadows...Our 'home away from home'. Thank you John and Kathy!


We love this place.

5 on December 31, 2011

My wife and I have been guests here several times and we are never disappointed. From the clean and beautiful rooms to the choice of delicious breakfast entrees, to the genuine warmth and hospitality and flexibility of Kathy and John - it has become our favorite B&B. This is high praise coming from us as we have been to some of the most beautiful B&Bs in the past, yet we always come back to the Inn at Hans Meadow. We have found it unsurpassed in every way. We will be back. Thank you Kathy and John.


Cozy B&B forVacationers and Business Travelers

4.0 on October 13, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at Kathy's Inn this week and was pleasantly surprised. I'm a business traveler and don't normally stay at B&Bs for business travel but Kathy has thought of all the right amenities. The rooms are very charming with period decor with modern comforts. The room had a microwave, mini fridge (with cold Pepsi and water) and super fast WiFi. The linens were lovely including the fluffy towels. I had a huge bathroom with a jet tub and separate shower both with very nice toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Overall, the Inn at Hans Meadow is a delightful stay for business travel or vacationers and I plan to stay there again when I have another business meeting in Christiansburg later this year.


COMFORTS OF HOME

4.0 on July 30, 2011

I was in an accident and needed a comfortable bed and place to from separate work. I booked the Craig Room during a conference and was more than pleasantly surprised. The gardens were lovely; the room clean and quiet, with all the amenities The owner and staff were helpful, preparing me "breakfast to go" and a corkscrew for my evening wine. Friendly, helpful relaxing describe my experience. I plan to return each year for my conference.


Beautiful Grounds - Very Pleasant Stay

5 on June 02, 2011

Beautiful Grounds - very interesting history - and lucked out there was a vacancy for 2 rooms for my parents/us for VT graduation weekend for my son's graduation. Wish I had known about this over past 4 years - would have certainly stayed here verses a hotel. Innkeepers John and Kathy were very pleasant and the breakfast was yummy - coffee was excellent and it was interesting talking with guests at breakfast as well - very friendly atmosphere.... Just sitting on front porch was very peaceful. It was so nice to come back to a comfortable place/room after all the graduation festivities - and enjoyed spending Saturday night watching the prom couples coming by to take photos too on the grounds. Thanks again - it was a very pleasant stay....


Wonderful place, delightful people

5 on April 05, 2011

We have had the pleasure of catering many events at The Inn at Hans Meadow. Kathy and John truly make the Inn a warm and welcoming place to host an event, or stay for an evening (or more). I think of their B&B as an oasis - a calm place, with great access to Christiansburg and Blacksburg. Lynne - Professional Catering Inc.


Unexpected Pleasure

4.4 on January 23, 2011

My husband and I were traveling home from TN to MD and trying press on without stopping. At 9 p.m it had started to snow and sleet and we had another 5 hours to go. We quickly did a search on my phone and found the Inn at Hans Meadow. After making a call to be sure they had a room, we got there in about 5 minutes. Kathy came out to meet us on the porch. She led us inside and took us directly to our room. It was beautiful, warm, and inviting. In less than 15 minutes we were taken from traveling in the sleet and snow to relaxing in dim lights in an oversized tub. Breakfast was wonderful and made to order. We'll be back sometime, and it won't be by happenstance.


December 3rd 2010

5 on December 12, 2010

My mom and I stayed here on our way to Florida from NY. Neither of us had ever stayed at a B & B before and could not have been more pleased with the accommodations and service. Kathy had the place decorated so beautifully for Christmas. It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thanks Kathy!


Place to stay when attending a Hokie event

5 on October 21, 2010

Wonderful hidden gem off US 460. Well appointed historic rooms with the right detail touches to relax before hustling off to an event. The bed in the Montgomery room overwhelms with comfort. Delicous breakfast sprinkled with Hokie lore from Kathy and family. Book early for football weekends!


You won't believe it until you've tried it.

5 on September 20, 2010

Summary: This was a great stay. Loved meeting Kathy and Kelly – My experience there is all the evidence I would need to know they are truly fine and friendly people who WANT to make your stay as comfortable as possible. My wife and loved our stay, are looking forward to staying there again, and would comfortably recommend the Inn at Hans Meadow to a friend. Rooms: Very well appointed (among other things a king bed, TV/DVD, chest of drawers, nice closet, microwave, refrigerator, huge bathroom). Some of the furniture looked like it might have been authentic antiques. The bed was to die for – comfy and snugglie. My wife slept more soundly that weekend than she has for some time. After about 9:00PM, the house is quiet. On the last night of our stay, they were watching TV downstairs but we didn’t hear a thing in our room upstairs. It was great to wake up to the smell of breakfast the next morning! Service: You want it or need it? Just ask for it. We didn’t need for much beyond what was already supplied in the room – that’s how much thought Kathy puts into making her guest’s stay as comfortable as possible! Value: The price paid is on the low end of the scale for the value received. I do believe the Inn at Hans Meadow to be one of the better kept secrets of the region! Cleanliness: One sees the term “spotless” used a lot. OK, this time I really mean it. When Kathy showed us our room, it was like the room had never been used before. Dining: Breakfast each morning was something of note. Offered were fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon, eggs, and coffee, among other things. Oh, and if you wanted something else, just ask! Kathy seemed more than happy to go the extra distance to make one’s stay a perfect experience. My wife and I have an uncommon dietary restriction (no gluten allowed) and they Kathy made us a breakfast just for us. Wonderfully accommodating!


Excellence

5 on May 27, 2010

Excellent service, food and friendship. It's always great to meet innkeepers who share my faith in Jesus and don't mind saying they do.


Great Accommodations

5 on May 27, 2010

This inn is beautiful, comfortable and run by a delightful innkeeper, Kathy. The breakfast was delicious and we felt 'right at home'. The gardens are also really special - a great experience overall.


Wonderful Accomodations!

4.4 on March 03, 2010

We enjoyed a most relaxing evening. Elegantly and comfortably appointed room. Delightful company at our 5-star breakfast. We hope to stay again!


SO SO NICE

3.6 on February 22, 2010

Mother daughter trip - College shopping - VA Tech - Perfect location - Close to road - but you'd never know it. Room adorable! Will return and recommend.


Just like home

5 on February 20, 2010

Kathy and John have a created a warm, inviting stay for each of our visits! We were lucky to stumble across this B&B when our daughter first moved to VT and continue to stay there whenever we visit. It is one of VTs best kept secrets


Lovely B&B

5 on February 14, 2010

The Inn at Hans Meadow, is a great B&B. The innkeepers, Kathy and John, are great, and really make you feel welcome, and wanted. I go to VT, and its only a short ride away, so it is great when my parents come down to visit. They've stayed there a few times now, and every time they stay there I spend at least one evening with them. Kathy is a great chef, and is such a positive person. She also goes out of her way to help my parents and I with move-in and move-out. It is nice to get off campus and go there for an evening or two. The pets are well behaved, and the new puppy is adorable :) I really enjoy staying over at the Inn at Hans Meadow.


Above and beyond expectatons...

5 on November 08, 2009

and that is the reason I keep coming back. My daughter and I found this amazing B&B just prior to her first year at VA TECH...The rooms are beautiful and the most comfortable beds(we have tried almost all of them!) I've ever slept in...The absolute best breakfasts and most gracious host(s). I only stay at B&B's and this one is far superior! I hated to leave and am already planning my next stay!


Best bed & breakfast ever!

5 on November 06, 2009

When I was younger before I went into the Marines, I had two friends whose parents ran a bed & breakfast, so I was able to see first-hand that The Inn at Hans Meadow bed & breakfast exceeded any I have ever seen before. They were all professional and courteous. They were great!


Amazing!

5 on November 03, 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The rooms & the bathrooms were huge. Huge tub, huge bed & a great breakfast!


Home away from Home

4.8 on October 20, 2009

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and we enjoyed it tremendously. We will definitly do it again. The room was charming. We felt we were stay with family.


The Inn at Hans Meadow

5 on October 05, 2009

I would recommend this place to anyone. I was completely impressed from the moment I walked in the door. The innkeepers were excellent!


The Inn at Hans Meadow

5 on September 25, 2009

Superior hospitaliy in an historic building with well maintained and modern amenities. Excellent gardens and location complimented by knowledgeable and personable hosts.


Beautiful Wedding

3.2 on September 23, 2009

The grounds were beautiful with plenty of space. Address a little confusing as entrance was not on the same street. The help with the wedding was excellent and it was a beautiful wedding. Breakfast offerings could have been a broader choice of items. As a whole it was a very good experience.


wonderful

5 on July 15, 2009

Stayed here several years ago but it was out first B&B, now after having been to three others I've realized how excellent this B&B is. My then boyfriend and now husband and I throughly enjoyed the room, the grounds and the hosts.


Beautiful Wedding

4.0 on June 29, 2009

We stayed in the B&B while attending a wedding on the premises. The owers were so friendly and accomidating, not to mention the delicious breakfasts prepared. The dogs, cat, and chickens added to the entertainment. Loved it!


"It's wonderful! It's Marvelous"

5 on June 08, 2009

I wish these words were original because they describe my B&B experience! I would add "It's where I want to be!"


Virginia hospitality at its best

4.8 on May 27, 2009

If we had no other reason to go to Christiansburg, we'd go back just to stay with Kathy and John! A reasonable price gets spacious, well furnished rooms, gracious hospitality, delicious food, lovely gardens and attention to every detail.


fabulous romantic getaway

5 on May 20, 2009

My husband and I spent a wonderful romantic weekend at the inn. Kathy is a very gracious hostess and her breakfasts are delicious. The linens were as nice as any I've had in the finest hotels. I had arranged for wine, cheese, fruit, and flowers on arrival and all were lovely. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough!


nice stay

5 on May 19, 2009

nice stay


Great place to stay

4.2 on May 13, 2009

The inn at Han's Meadow is a wonderful place to stay. It was immaculately clean, very comfortable bed, great breakfast. My daughter and I were welcomed like family and made to feel at home. I highly recommend it!


Pleasant Days in Virginia

5 on May 08, 2009

I have seldom felt so much at home at a B&B in the States. Great beds, breakfast, gardens, and hosts!!


Enchanting surprise

5 on May 07, 2009

After a very long drive from NJ we were unexpectedlly surprised by this inn. The innkeeper and the Inn were just wonderful. The gardens were enchanting!


Looking for Lodging

5 on April 24, 2009

We were caught in a bind and needed a place to stay near Virginia Tech. After many phone calls to booked hotels, Hans Meadow was recommended. It was 9:30 p.m. and we blindly decided to take a room there. I had never considered staying at a bed and breakfast for a college visit. It was welcoming, comfortable and safe. I would do it again.


2nd best to being at home!

4.6 on April 21, 2009

I was traveling with some family and we had a reservation at a nearby hotel. Upon check in we had a bad experience with the room and were desperate to find another place to stay. We were referred to Hans Meadow and it was such a blessing! and well worth the few extra dollars. Kathy was very welcoming and her place was beautiful and clean. We felt at home immediately. I would recommend this to any one!


Warm and friendly

4.8 on April 13, 2009

Like visiting family, Kathy at the Hans Meadow was all about comfort. The home was well appointed and centrally located. We noticed people (guests) returned there.


very nice

3.4 on April 09, 2009

pleasant owner, good breakfast


Just what we needed

5 on April 09, 2009

The inn was just what we needed for a night away. Everything was clean and comfortable- Kathy was an excellent host. We plan on coming back again and again!


Hans Meadow

5 on April 07, 2009

My girlfriend made the reservations for this B&B. I had never stayed at one before. I did not feel uncomfortable staying at someone else's house. Private, clean, comfortable, good breakfast!


It was lovely!

5 on April 07, 2009

This was my 1st stay at a B&B. The house and rooms were large and extremely well-appointed. I won't stay anywhere else when I go to VA Tech. And I am anxious to stay at other B&B's now!


Happy Bsiness traveler

4.8 on March 11, 2009

I stay at the Inn at Hans Meadows every time I work in the mountains. i will drive an extra 2 hours to stay here, vs staying at a hotel. Rooms are great, bed is awesome- After a long hard day at work, I look forward to staying here!


Better than home!

5 on February 20, 2009

The inn is adorable. We love the Carriage House. Wonderful, spacious, relaxing jacuzzi. Your treated like family and breakfasts are incredible. When you leave, you will be already starting to plan your next visit. Kathy and John out-do their selves as hosts!


Inn at Hnas Meadow

5 on December 11, 2008

Kathy was so welcoming and warm, even when I arrived late, due to bad traffic. Comfortable, homey room- I'll definitely be back!


Fabulous B&B

5 on November 20, 2008

The best B&B we've ever stayed in. Clean, luxurious accommodations with everything possible to make you feel at home. No skimping- candy, snacks everywhere; coffee served all morning, huge breakfast, gorgeous decor!


secret getaway

5 on November 11, 2008

I planned a celebration of our 41 years of marriage. My spouse had no idea where we were going. We both were served with great room, cook to order breakfast.


Friendly opulance

4.8 on October 31, 2008

Gorgeous rooms, beautiful grounds, friendly hosts, and delicious breakfast- this inn has it all! A gem of a find in an off-the-track area. Try the Summit Restaurant nearby, too.


A first experience

5 on October 30, 2008

inviting, cozy, historical home with wonderful period furnishings and beautiful ground.The innkeeper was personable and knowledgeable about the area. We were very impressed, and would definitely return!


wonderful hospitality

4.4 on October 29, 2008

good food, great people, lovely, beautiful place


it worked out well

3.8 on October 28, 2008

For a short notice reservation, it worked out well


Wish we could stay longer

4.8 on August 25, 2008

Beautiful, comfortable inn. Well situated for loical attractions and highways. Charming, helpful host. Attractive surroundings. We hope to be able to visit again.


True R & R for Hokie parents!

5 on August 04, 2008

My husband & I are parents of a VA Tech student and have truly enjoyed staying in The Inn at Hans Meadow. What we like about the Inn is that it's like a "hidden secret." Kathy & John are the owners. Not only are they incredibly inviting and warm, but they also keep the place in excellent condition. Each morning, you can count on Kathy working in the kitchen on a fantastic breakfast which includes, fresh OJ, delicious coffee, fresh fruit, fantastic eggs, french toast and more. The best part of the stay is when Kathy and John visit at the breakfast table and talk about Hokie Spirit and the latest happenings in Christiansburg and Harrisonburg, VA. Southern hospitality, beautiful rooms, and a garden walk that will take away every ounce of stress you brought with you from Northern, VA or traffic laden city. I only wish we lived here! Call in advance, we were lucky to get an opening in time for our most recent visit last weekend (08/01).


"My stay was lovely"

5 on August 04, 2008

My stay was lovely - the Carriage House Inn was spacious, My breakfast was fabulous, and it was so peaceful.


Home Away From Home-Only Better

5 on July 18, 2008

Kathy, owner, is a warm, friendly hostess who made a superb homemade breakfast & kept the coffee coming! My room was fabulous - Antiques in the bedroom with the most modern of bathrooms - jetted tub, etc. Wi-fi was a plus! Grounds are gorgeous!


Nice Change of Pace

4.6 on July 14, 2008

The rooms are fantastic. It is a nice change from the corporate hotels that I normally stay at. The beds are so comfortable. The Jacuzzi tubs are relaxing and the gardens are beautiful. I stay here every time I come to town.


Amazing wedding

5 on July 10, 2008

My husband and I had our wedding at this inn. It was incredible, to say the least. The grounds are beautiful and the innkeepers were so easy to work with and helped in any way they could. People had an amazing time at our wedding and we can attribute much of that to the hard work of the innkeepers. I felt at home the entire weekend and so did all of our guests. Simply amazing!


Alan & Penny's adventure

5 on July 09, 2008

We came to Va. for a family wedding. We had never been to Va. before, but had wonderful experiences at B&B's. We came from a terribly hectic schedule terribly tired and we searched on-line to find The Inn at Hans Meadow. It was a WONDERFUL experience. We felt as if we were at a dear friends beautiful home. The accomodations were just terrific. We found a quiet nest with beautiful grounds and plantings. A immaculate room with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. Home cooked goods with fresh eggs, bacon, pancakes, french toast etc. and great coffee, anytime we wanted. The Inn was the best part of our stay in Va. Kathy even has a piano in the living room. The dinning room was gorgeous. This is a very special place and Kathy and John made it a little bit of heaven for us busy New Englanders and they were very helpful with finding restaurants and places we needed to go. They just let us use the house as our own. We want to return very much! This is the best B&B ever!


Christiansburg B&B

4.4 on June 10, 2008

My husband & I stayed overnight at the Inn at Hans Meadow on our way home from a business trip. The facility is convenient to I81 and about 10-15 minutes from Virginia Tech in Blacksburg. Although located next to a busy road, the B&B is very quiet and serene and road noise is not audible--we both slept soundly all night! The Inn has lovely gardens and frequently hosts weddings. Since we are early risers and like to eat early, we were pleasantly surpirsed that the owner will cook breakfast to order and when you want it. It wasn't a gourmet breakfast like some we've experience, but it was hot, nutritious and filling (sliced strawberries, eggs, bacon, OJ, coffee/tea). We had our choice of pancakes, waffles, eggs, cereal, etc. Cathy, the owner, is an experienced hotelier and very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recomment the facility.


great weekend

5 on June 05, 2008

wonderful place to stay Kathy makes you feel right at home. would highly recommend to stay here.


loved it

5 on June 05, 2008

have stayed here twice and would recommend it to anyone


whish i knew about this place 6 years ago!

5 on June 05, 2008

i have been coming to this area for 6 years and have stayed at numerous places. unfortunately i did not find hans meadow 6 years ago


Mountain Charm

4.0 on June 02, 2008

The Inn at Harris Meadown is a charming historic structure on beautiful grounds. Bed was comfortable, bath plush and deluxe breakfast. Hostess was delightful, informative - This is top choice!


A lovely inn!

4.8 on June 02, 2008

We recently spent the night at the Inn at Hans Meadow. I was immediately impressed by the lovely grounds of the inn. Although they are not far from the interstate highway and a well-traveled road, the inn itself is surrounded by trees and gardens in a peaceful setting. When we arrived at the inn we discovered that the room we reserved (the Montague) was not made up, but innkeeper Kathy offered us an upgrade to another suite at no additional charge. We were happy to stay in the Mary Flagg suite, which was luxuriously decorated and featured a jacuzzi tub! The Inn at Hans Meadow has also started offering a "gas discount" to offset the increasing price of travel for its guests. Overall I found this inn to be an exceptional value -- lovely accommodations and a full included breakfast for about the same price as staying at a large chain hotel. The inn is a short drive (10-15 minutes) from downtown Blacksburg and Virginia Tech, where we had dinner and walked around the university campus. After dinner we enjoyed a soak in the tub, free wireless internet in our room, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was a generous helping of eggs, bacon, pastry, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. I would definitely return to this inn in the future.


Best.

5 on May 30, 2008

The best bed and breakfast.


Awesome!

5 on May 30, 2008

We celebrated our anniversary by spending it in the Inn. when we arrived the inn-keeper had gone the extra mile (without us asking) and spread rose petals all around. She set candles by the tub and provided a basket full of wonderful snacks. Our stay was awesome and so are the inn-keepers!


A lovely experience

5 on April 27, 2008

It was a lovely surprise to find such a wonderful B & B right off route 81. The room was beautiful and cozy, the bath was fabulous and modern, and the breakfast was delicious. I would return to the Inn at Hans Meadow in a heartbeat.


great for corporate or pleasure

4.8 on April 01, 2008

This is a fantastic place to stay on business. It's such a nice change from the standard hotels. There are a variety of room choices, and Kathy negotiates corporate rates based on length of stay. It is well worth the money! Breakfast is wonderful and made to order...fresh fruit, eggs, french toast, etc. The Inn is clean, quiet, and equipped with free wireless access. There is an excellent recreation center nearby that offers great guest rates. Womderful place to stay for the value, for both business and pleasure!


Couldn't have been any better

4.8 on January 04, 2008

I couldn't have been happier with my choice of place for getting married. I called and talked to Kathy on our plans for getting married at her inn (we were eloping). Not only was the inn beautiful, but perfect for the ceremony. She did everything for me, flowers, cake, arranged for the gentleman to do the ceremony. All we had to do is show up. This is the first time that we visited a bed and breakfast, but it left a wonderful impression.


true Southern hospitality

5 on August 16, 2007

This is like heaven on earth after traveling on busy I81-----gracious hosts and comforting amenities. Exceptional!!


Home Away from Home

5 on February 16, 2007

This place is a home away from home. Everytime I visit, I am welcomed with open arms. Not only is the property itself an amazing site to see, but each room in the house has it's own special touch. It isn't just a place to sleep, and a warm meal, it promises to be a wonderful memory that you will want to revisit every time you are in the area.


Five Star

5 on February 16, 2007

Best home made breakfast in all my extinsive travels. The Inn keepers are second to none. They are friendly, hospitable, and very accomidating.


Top of the Line!

5 on February 16, 2007

I was treated like royalty! My husband and I have stayed at this beautiful Inn on several occassions and each time we were welcomed warmly and truly enjoyed the gorgeous accommodations. The made-to-order breakfast was outstanding (particularly the pancakes!) and the rooms were very clean and well-appointed. Highly recommended for business or pleasure trips! Outstanding!


The Inn at Hans Meadow

Details

  • Nightly Rate $89 - $189
  • Reviews (73) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8886432103
  • Phone 1-5403822060

Visit Website »

View details

Top