1848 Island Manor House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service5
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
9 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Experience

4.2 on February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last summer. It was our first time at a B and B and we absolutely loved it. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast. The owner was super friendly and helpful. We were the only couple staying there that weekend and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Since there isn't much to do in Chincoteauge other than go to the beach and go out to eat, we ended up spending the evenings at the inn. We were able to truly relax. There is a sitting room with a nice tv that we took advantage of, and a beautiful courtyard/garden area to sit in. If you want to go to the beach, this place has plenty of towels and beach equipment to take with you. They also let you borrow bikes, which I loved. We took bikes down to the trail and even biked on the beach. The rooms were wonderful, super cozy and not too overdecorated. The only con here was that the bathroom was a little small. Lastly, the breakfast was decent. It definitely wasn't the best I've had but still enjoyable. They even put out cookies and lemonade in the afternoon for us to enjoy. If I come to Chincoteauge, I'd be very happy to come back to this bed and breakfast.


The Perfect Romantic B&B near the beach.

5 on May 03, 2012

This was one of the most wonderful B&B's we have ever stayed at. The Island Manor was beautiful and the room we stayed in was both very comfortable and extremely well appointed. Breakfast was absolutley delicious!!! Lin was the nicest, most helpful hostess anyone could ever want. We can't wait to return to this oasis on the shore!!! What a hidden treasure!!


Wedding Reception

5 on July 01, 2011

Everything for our wedding and reception fell in to place after I spoke with Karen, the Innkeeper, at the Island Manor House. She is so kind, helpful, and gracious, I could not have asked for someone better to help me with the planning of our special day. She understood exactly what I was looking for, and ultimately provided us with an intimate and beautiful wedding reception in their lovely courtyard, paying attention to every small detail so we could just relax and enjoy our moment. The chef, Steve, treated us with an amazing dinner. From the first course, shrimp coctail, to our dinner cooked fresh and served right off the grill, that included steak, crab cakes, chicken stuffed with prosciutto and topped with mozarella, baked potatoes, and mixed grilled vegetables... well to say the least, it was out of this world, and by far, the best dinner we shared on the Island. We spent our first night as husband and wife in the Nantucket room, charming and quite lovely, where Karen had left us a beautiful card, champagne and truffles. Everything was so perfect. Our breakfast was fabulous, and almost looked too pretty to eat! We are so happy with how wonderfully perfect everything turned out. We were treated so beautifully, and we will forever be grateful to Karen, Steve, and the many others that helped us with our wedding day.


Best B&B

4.4 on July 22, 2008

I will not soon forget the delicious breakfasts and friendly service I received at 1848. I absolutely loved the decor and the staff's dedication to impeccable service. Every day we were provided with weather updates and information about local restaurants and events. One of my fondest memories was coming home each night and finding a jar full of freshly-baked cookies at the dinner table. What a nice touch! I highly recommend the 1848 Manor House to anyone spending time in charming Chincoteague.


Island Manor House

5 on June 24, 2008

We stayed just one night at the Island Manor House. It was one of the nicest nights of our trip. The inn was beautiful, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. We stayed in a room called "Misty Mare". In the morning, we had a delicious breakfast outside on the terrace. The food was well presented and wonderful. The host arranged a boat trip for us which was one a wonderful way to end our trip to the East Coast. The boat trip was arranged when we arrived in the afternoon and by 6:00 we were on the boat having a great tour of the waterfront. We learned quite a bit about the geography, culture, ponies, and changes in the local area from our boat guide. We highly recommend the Island Manor House. We had a wonderful stay.


Unplug for a weekend

4.2 on June 23, 2008

Our quaint room, The Coastal Breeze, was perfect for a weekend journey without the kids and all the noise. There is not a television to be found but Wi-Fi is slow but available if you need to check a pressing e-mail or two. Everything is in walking distance including Assateague National Seashore. I am a frequent business traveler and have stayed at many high end hotels and resorts and have not received the same level of hospitality that Jerry and Andrew gave my wife and me. The food prepared is outstanding, and if the weather is nice try eating your breakfast in their beautiful courtyard. A great place to leave the fast lane, unplug and take time to listen to the calm of nature. Enjoy! Randy H. - Maryland


Excellent

5 on May 22, 2008

It was wonderful!


A lovely B&B

4.8 on May 04, 2008

A relaxing weekend when you want to get away from it all.


A wonderful place to stay.

5 on April 04, 2008

This was my first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. You feel welcomed the minute you walk in the door. The best night's sleep I have had in a long time. Everything was wonderful and beyond what I expected.


1848 Island Manor House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $225
  • Reviews (9) 4.7
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7573365436
  • Toll free 1-8008521505

Visit Website »

View details

Top