Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
169 Reviews

Write A Review

Looking forward to coming back!

5 on September 26, 2014

Bruce and Carol we're outstanding hosts and extremely accommodating to our schedule and other needs. We are looking forward to staying here again!


Great Labor Day weekend

5 on September 05, 2014

My wife and I had a great weekend at the Cape Charles House B &B. The house is lovely, the breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality impeccable. Can't wait to stay again.


Cape Charles House

5 on August 30, 2014

Had a great two night stay at the CCH. Very interesting historic area. The CCH was very comfortable, host and hostess were great, food was excellent. We will go back. Made some friends.


Serene, Peace and Comfort

5 on August 26, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cape Charles B&B a few years ago. Our room and stay was so delightful we made it a point to return. On August 23, 2014, we had the pleasure of returning to Cape Charles and stayed in the breath taking Julia Wilkins Room. The King accommodations were lush with stunning linens, decor and drapery, a quaint sitting area, double Jacuzzi tub with shower, and a gorgeous private balcony off the bath overlooking the lush green and colorful gardens. It was so relaxing to sit outside and listen to the breeze and birds during the morning hours. Carol and Bruce, the owners, are the kindest hosts and truly make everyone feel so welcome. Carol is a brilliant chef and our breakfast was very special, French pop overs, fresh jam, fresh fruits and a main gourmet dish, to name a few. The house is decorated with the most beautiful antiques, lovely to look at as well as lush and very comfortable to sit in. Highly recommended ~ the Malone's


The best B and B in the area!

5 on August 22, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at 3 other B & Bs in the area and this is definitely the best. The 100 year old house has been beautifully renovated with great attention to detail and Carol and Bruce are great hosts who make you feel comfortable immediately. It is super clean and Carol makes a delicious breakfast!


Cape Charles B&B, a real retreat

4.6 on August 20, 2014

If you are tired of the hustle and bustle of city life, of a nonstop schedule, this is the perfect getaway. The owners are a delight, the setting extremely comfortable, and we came away rested; almost forgot what that was like. Thank you Bruce and Carol


Best B & B Ever!!

5 on August 14, 2014

I cannot give this bed and breakfast a high enough rating! Carol and Bruce made us feel more like family than paying guests. The breakfasts were outstanding and the afternoon wine and home made cheese was such a lovely touch and delicious too! Fresh flowers from the garden were displayed so beautifully. There was so much attention paid to every little detail. Hated to leave! Donna and Jeff Sadowsky


Highly Recommend

4.6 on August 13, 2014

During our stay for two nights in July 2014, my husband and I enjoyed the pleasant home environment, hospitality of the innkeepers and friendly conversations with other guests. The breakfasts were very tasty and nourishing. We loved sitting on the front porch and sharing experiences with our new friends. The inn is centrally located for shopping, access to the beach, and dining. Ate dinner at the Aqua Restaurant where the sunsets are outstanding. Highly recommend staying at the Cape Charles House B & B.


2 night stay at Cape Charles House B&B Aug 1,2 2014

5 on August 06, 2014

Bruce & Carol Evans were the perfect hosts for our stay. Bruce picked us up at the Kings Creek Marina as we came by boat and took us back when we were ready to leave. He had great stories to tell us. The breakfasts were wonderful and presented beautifully. The house is outstanding and is full of interesting antiques. We were also given an agenda at breakfast of local attractions and events in which to participate and a little of the history of Cape Charles. We enjoyed meeting and talking to the other guests at breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable and furnished with everything we needed to make our stay perfect. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly for a great vacation. Ann Marie & John


A real Gem!

5 on July 24, 2014

This is a must go to place in a great little town. The hosts, Bruce and Carol are fabulous folks and really go the extra mile to make your stay very enjoyable. We arrived quite late on a Friday and Bruce waited up for us to make sure we were welcomed and comfortable in our room. Carol's breakfast is wonderful along with Bruce's wait service! You feel like leaving a tip on the table. We will be headed back in the future for sure. Great Home, clean, clean, clean. Mark and Karin


Evans' Heaven

5 on July 17, 2014

The hosts of this B&B are the standard bearers of their profession. For example, the attention given by Bruce and Carol to any of our questions and requests was immediate and helpful. And, of course, they were never "put-out." They were genuinely gracious, non-intrusive but always available, authentic and informative. They make a very lovely and personable couple! We have stayed in a number of B&B's but Cape Charles House felt more like home -- without any of the drama. Carol's breakfasts were extraordinary and filling. Bruce's help hoisting our heavy electric bikes off/on the rack was most appreciated. He has maintained an excellent flower and herb garden that Carol uses in her breakfasts. The house's furnishings were conveniently arranged with attractive antiques and all the rooms are decorated in good taste. We'd love to come back whenever we can.


Great Place to Celebrate July 4

5 on July 14, 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away for the July 4 Holiday. Little did we know that we would step back in time and into the heart of a delightful community made all the more welcoming by our hosts, Bruce and Carol. From tastefully presented and delicious breakfasts to afternoon wine and cheese, they were superb. They also suggested we take in the town parade. We are so glad we did. Decorated golf carts, kids on bicycles, fire engines, horses decked out in red, white and blue - it had it all, including the largest fork lift I've ever seen. The evening was capped by a surprisingly spectacular fireworks display over the water. The was no small town display but one that could compete with cities one hundred times the size of this town of 1,000.


Felt like home

5 on July 03, 2014

I felt as if we had just stayed with great friends/ family. Bruce and Carol were so wonderful and we also had a great time talking to the other guests. The room was so cozy and the breakfasts were delicious. I would love to go back again.


Wonderful B&B

4.6 on June 27, 2014

We spent a long weekend on the Eastern Shore and stayed at the Cape Charles House B & B. You can't go wrong. The house is stately and cozy. Bruce and Carol were the ultimate hosts and the food was superb. The area is quiet and beautiful. If you're planning on visiting that part of the world, I would highly recommend staying at the Cape Charles House. You won't be disappointed!


Anniversary Getaway

5 on June 01, 2014

Wonderful & Relaxing Stay! Breakfasts were delicious! Carol & Bruce made us feel very comfortable & pampered! Would love to visit again!


Wedding weekend

4.4 on June 01, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at Cape Charles Bed and Breakfast while attending a wedding. What a wonderful experience! The owners were so gracious and friendly and the breakfast was outstanding! We will definitely go back for a return visit!


Great Getaway!

5 on April 25, 2014

My husband and I took our three youngest kids (all teenagers) and whisked them off to Cape Charles. The rules--no electronics for three days! We had a great time with board games, jigsaw puzzles, and a stack of books!


Brandon and Karli

5 on April 17, 2014

Brandon and I had the most wonderful time here. Bruce and Carol were incredible hosts and we never felt more at home in a new place. We would recommend Cape Charles House to anyone entertaining the idea of staying in the area. The food was so tasty. This was our first Bed and Breakfast and it was the best decision we made in a long time. The house was so full of character. We dream of living in something similar one day down the road.


Excellent B&B

4.2 on April 06, 2014

Had a delightful stay here at the end of a business road trip as a change to all the chain hotels. Carol & Bruce are wonderful hosts. Will stay here again when we can; we highly recommend it!


One of the best B&B's anywhere

4.8 on March 29, 2014

We continue to return here several times a year. The owners are extremely personable , accomodating , and competant. Best breakfasts we have ever had. Wine and cheese hour. Beautiful old house/


Excellent time in Cape Charles

4.6 on March 25, 2014

Carol and Bruce are the quintessential hosts for this charming and gracious bed and breakfast. Loved staying there and hope to do so again in the future.


What a Wonderful Time!

5 on March 03, 2014

Staying at the Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful time from beginning to end! Bruce and Carol are extraordinary in their care of the facility and the care that they provide to their customers. They provided insights on where to dine and sights to see, offer some interesting history regarding Cape Charles, and this was all done with a friendly and professional sense of grace and service. The breakfasts were the best we have experienced at any Bed and Breakfast we have sampled in the past. In closing I would highly recommend the Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast in quaint and charming Cape Charles!!

Innkeeper Response
We so appreciate your very thoughtful coments and it was our pleasure to share the experience of "hidden treasures on Virginia's Eastern Shore".


Absolutely Fantastic

5 on March 03, 2014

I had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful. Carol and Bruce are simply two of the nicest, most welcoming people I have ever met. I felt like I was at home within minutes. And the breakfasts... Oh, man, the breakfasts. I am so spoiled now.

Innkeeper Response
WOW! We so appreciate your enthusiastic comments and would love to welcome your return to "spoil" you with breakfast again!


Anniversary Get-a-way

5 on December 29, 2013

We were looking for a quick overnight getaway and this was perfect! We had not been to a B&B in a while and this fit the bill perfectly from the 5 o'clock wine and cheese to the first-class breakfast!! We loved our stay and our hosts and would return in a heart beat!!


a special visit

5 on December 11, 2013

The hosts are so very hospitable and made us fl so comfortable. This was our third visit and was just great.


Two nights at the most beautiful and delightful B & B we have ever been to!

5 on December 06, 2013

Bruce and Carol create an incredibly hospitable, warm, comfortable, and luxurious environment, in the sweet, friendly town of Cape Charles.


First stay at a B and B

4.4 on November 07, 2013

Heard a lot about people going to B and B's, but never tried them until this our 1st stay at the Cape Charles House. Had feared that staying at a B and B would be an uncomfortable stay with a total lack of privacy. Pleasantly surprised by the experience. The owners gave a strong sense of respecting our privacy and we actually enjoyed meeting several nice people at breakfast. It was the warm, comfortable experience of being welcomed and sharing the experience with others that we actually liked the most. You don't get that at a motel! Wonderful hosts and service. Deb and Mike


Quick Get-a-Way

4.6 on October 28, 2013

Absolutely wonderful time.! It was so nice to meet Bruce and Carol, enjoy their hospitality, and wonderful home! We look forward to our next visit!


Cape Charles House

4.8 on October 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Cape Charles House. Our hosts were wonderful, and we enjoyed our fellow guests with whom we ate sumptuous breakfasts prepared by Carol and Bruce. We also enjoyed the guidance Carol and Bruce gave us about local restaurants, churches, and the history of the area.


Great Weekend

5 on October 16, 2013

My wife and I got s chance to get away for a weekend and Cape Charles B&B was a great getaway.


Quaint b&b in beautiful Cape Charles. Hope to come back soon!

4.2 on October 08, 2013

Carol and Bruce were so welcoming for our 1-night stay. Unfortunately, we did not get to take advantage of all the wonderful amenities including the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and wine/cheese in the evening. But the property was beautiful, a short walk to the downtown area, and very inviting. Carol and Bruce were very attentive during breakfast and whipped up a delicious homemade meal. If I find myself in Cape Charles again, I would definitely stay in this lovely b&b!


Great Place to Stay

4.0 on September 28, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary in Cape Charles and this B&B is wonderful. The owners are very hospitable, making us feel very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. We would both highly recommend staying here.


Wonderful Stay!

5 on September 23, 2013

I would highly recommend the Cape Charles House B&B. We picked the B&B based on reviews we had found on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed!! Bruce and Carol are wonderful hosts, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time with them and in Cape Charles. Breakfast was wonderful, we enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening, their dinner recommendations were great, and the room was lovely and clean.


Our vacation at Cape Charles House

5 on September 09, 2013

Our stay at Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast was most enjoyable. The hosts were delightful and eager to please. The breakfast meals were delicious and so appetizing. Also nice to have tea in the afternoon. Our room was beautiful and tastefully decorated. We look forward to another holiday with the Evans.


It was simply wonderful....

5 on September 08, 2013

We had only 2 nights in Cape Charles House B&B. Wish it could have been longer! The room was delightful and very comfortable. Carol and Bruce made sure we were welcomed and provided help in getting golf tee times as well as nourishing my need for very early coffee and internet time! The other guests were delightful and the 5pm wine w/cheese & crackers was a perfect way to meet them and make new friends. The breakfasts were by far the best of our trip and some of the best we have had anywhere. We loved Cape Charles and would definitely come back to the Cape Charles House. We recommended it the next day to people heading south on Route 13 who were looking for a great place to stay.


first time in a bed and breakfast

5 on September 06, 2013

wonderful place. food was excellent! wish we could have stayed longer!


Cape Charles House Stay

4.0 on September 03, 2013

Very personable hosts, house and room well appointed and breakfasts were very good.


wonderful stay. would recommend to anyone.

5 on August 28, 2013

The cape Charles house exceeded my expectations. wonderful food, wonderful hosts. a great stay, I will go back again.


Cape Charles House the perfect getaway

4.6 on August 28, 2013

The Cape Charles house was not only a beautiful B&B but the owners were very welcoming and friendly. We also enjoyed the quiet country roads in the area and took a long road bike trip. All the drivers were very respectful of us and shared the road. The restaurants in town were great as well. The B&B breakfasts was gourmet.


Capr Charles Inn

4.8 on August 28, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Cape Charles Inn. Very comfortable accomodations, superior breakfast and extremely congenial and accomodating hosts. I highly recommend Capr Charles Inn.


Great weekend getaway!

5 on August 28, 2013

My husband and I had a great weekend! Our room was comfortable and beautiful. The house was amazingly quiet even though all the rooms were full - no squeaks on the stairs or creaking doors. Breakfast was scrumptious! Outside the dining room window a fig tree was loaded with fruit, and the second morning of our stay we enjoyed figs for breakfast. Yum! Carol and Bruce were very friendly and hospitable - they helped with directions and were flexible when we were leaving early and needed breakfast to go. We will be returning soon . . .


Excellent B&B

4.0 on August 24, 2013

Excellent bed and breakfast with wonderful innkeepers. They made you feel welcome and were very helpful in planning activities. The B&B is within walking distance of restaurants and the beach. We had a great experience and hope to return one day!


Lovely

4.8 on August 19, 2013

Lovely house. Bruce and Carol were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was fabulous. Rooms were extremely nice and clean. Cape Charles itself was such a quaint, peaceful town. Great Eastern Shore weekend.


Happy to have have found Cape Charles house B&B

4.2 on August 17, 2013

We happened to go down to Cape Charles on the recommendation of a friend and found that it really is a hidden gem. We found Cape Charles B&B through bedandbreakfast.com and enjoyed our stay there. Carol and Bruce are wonderful people and they did everything they possibly could from preparing delicious breakfasts and their specialty wine & cheese evenings to providing a sort of concierge service to all guests which is nice especially in a new place. The B&B is very well maintained and the rooms are filled with collectables and very victorian but very clean and a nice size. The location of the B&B is important because it is just a 10 minute walk down to the bay which is nice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will possibly visit again!


Our New Favorite

5 on August 16, 2013

Our night at the Cape Charles House was the most pleasant night at a B and B. We will certainly revisit Cape Charles and Bruce and Carol again.


Great place to stay

4.6 on August 14, 2013

Great weekend getaway!


Cape Charles House

4.6 on August 07, 2013

We absolutely loved our weekend stay at the Cape Charles House. Carol and Bruce really have the whole B&B thing down to a science.


Beautiful House, Wonderful People, Fantastic Town

5 on August 04, 2013

Bruce and Carol have a lovely house, and the entire stay we felt like we were with family. I cannot wait to go back! Carol's breakfasts are to die for, and you will not start your day hungry!! Laura


Great stay

5 on July 31, 2013

One of the best B&B's I have stayed in. Bruce and Carol were wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were super.


Cape Charles House Is Excellent

4.8 on July 30, 2013

Our fourth stay, and all was excellent as usual. We will return.


CHARMING & PEACEFUL

4.6 on July 25, 2013

Outstanding Experience - Cozy and Elegant - Attention to Detail - Gracious Hospitality - Delicious Breakfast Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast is a great place to relax and enjoy the Eastern Shore.


July 4thh in Cape Charles

5 on July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Charles Inn over the fourth of July and couldn't have choosen a more perfect place for respite. Everything (everything) was so relaxing about our stay...from the room w/private bath, gourmet breakfast each morning, wine and cheese every evening to all of the spot-on recommendations for Capre Charles on up the shore. Carol and Bruce are the most accommodating hosts I've ever experienced in all of my B&B stays.


Excellent

4.4 on July 25, 2013

Wonderful hosts. They truly love the quaint, waterfront town and are helpful with recommendations for dining and touring and will make reservations for you. Carol makes a marvelous breakfast and Bruce can always be found working in the yard and garden. We frequent Cape Charles often and always stay at the Cape Charles House.


Perfect Stay

5 on July 23, 2013

Our rooms were perfectly dear, clean and accommodating. The innkeepers were lovely, helpful and fabulous hosts. Food was spectacular and the 5pm wine and cheese was a terrific bonus. Will stay again and again.


Wonderful B&B in Cape Charles

5 on July 23, 2013

Bruce & Carol are wonderful, welcoming hosts. Their home is beautiful and the rooms are lovely and perfectly kept. Gourmet breakfasts are a treat. Wine & cheese in the afternoons was much appreciated. Generous and friendly hosts in a charming home that is close to everything in town. Ample everything. Beach towels, umbrella, even chairs available if you don't have your own. They have thought of everything. Ed & Linda from Canada


Fantastic All Around

5 on July 17, 2013

Decided to spend a weekend out of the city and ventured down to historic Cape Charles, VA. We were lucky enough to spend 3 days/2 nights at the Cape Charles House B&B. Bruce & Carol were great hosts and provided a beautiful room & some of the best breakfasts I have had in awhile. Not only were they pleasant to talk to, they had great information and advice and really made you feel like you were welcome and at home. Made it very hard to leave! Will be back to visit and highly recommend staying here whenever possible. One of the best B&B's I have ever stayed at. Thank you Bruce & Carol! --Amanda


Lovely Accommodations in a Beautiful Small Town

3.2 on July 15, 2013

The Evans are a charming couple...very eager to assist their visitors regarding restaurants, directions things to do, history....you name it! It is obvious that they enjoy people and are definitely in the right business. We would recommend this B&B to others.


Don't miss out!!! This is where to stop on the Eastern Shore!!!

4.8 on July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an enjoyable weekend that won't easily be forgotten. Bruce and Carol are some of the best B&B hosts we have ever experienced. Even before we arrived, while making our reservations they were helpful and kind. We still had no idea what awaited us once we opened the front door! The house itself is wonderfully decorated, with personal touches everywhere. The yard has beautiful flower gardens, just meant for a morning stroll with a cup of coffee. The wrap around poach is set-up to enjoy your afternoon wine and cheese treat. The most relaxing area was of course our room. We stayed in the Julie Wilkins room and it was just perfect. It even had the special touch of an afternoon chocolate treat. I will have to say my favorite part was breakfast. It truly was the best B&B breakfast we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. Carol used herbs and flowers to adorn our plate, that truly made the meal more of a piece of artwork. The flavors were incredible, even enough so that I had to buy a cookbook that Carol and Bruce were featured in for other B&B's in Virginia. You will truly be blessed during your stay here at the Cape Charles house.


Nothing but outstanding!

5 on July 09, 2013

Carol and Bruce provided us with everything we needed to make our two day adventure on Cape Charles memorable, even including us in their family 4th of July celebration. We will most certainly be back!


Bruce and Carol are wonderful!

5 on July 07, 2013

Great hosts, lovely town, and beautiful home. Bruce and Carol go the extra mile to enhance your stay, respect your privacy, and provide little touches that mean a lot! Kate and Dave 20th wedding anniversary


DAVID AND CARMEN'S VACATION

5 on July 05, 2013

Wonderful and quiet, just the thing we needed after a whirlwind tour through the East Coast. Loved the food and the hosts. They were so warm and welcoming!


The best B&B experience we have had yet!

4.6 on July 03, 2013

We visited the Cape Charles House for our 10th anniversary and had a wonderful time. The house is a little walk from the beach but that made for an enjoyable walk. We love the little town of Cape Charles and I think we only used our car once. The Evans are great hosts and go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. We enjoyed our chats with them, the amazing breakfasts, wine and cheese every evening and all the other little personal touches. We would love to go back someday.


You will want to stay longer!

5 on June 24, 2013

Bruce & Carol are wonderful hosts and sources of information on this part of the Eastern Shore of Virginia. The breakfasts are not to be missed! We would return for the muffins alone!


Delicious breakfast, beautiful inn, and friendly hosts

5 on June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Charles House B&B in June 2013 and had a great time. The hosts made us feel at home immediately and provided us with a helpful overview of Cape Charles and the Eastern Shore. The inn was beautiful, and we enjoyed sitting out in the front porch. Also, the breakfast each morning was outstanding! Carol is a fantastic chef. We would be very glad to stay here again!


Very nice B&B, with friendly hosts!

5 on June 22, 2013

Kris and Lisa were the ultimate hosts. Lisa's breakfast and appetizers (during wine down hour) were superb. Definitely, enjoyed and hope to go back soon!


Wonderful Stay at Cape Charles House B&B

5 on June 16, 2013

Our stay at the Cape Charles House B&B was delightful. Bruce and Carol could not have been more welcoming. The overall house and our room was clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.


Weekend Get-away

5 on June 05, 2013

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Cape Charles. Bruce and Carol are wonderful hosts with extensive knowledge of the area and all it has to offer. The home is just beautiful with a lot of charm and history. The breakfasts were delicious and the service exceptional! Mr. Kitty, the house mascot, is also very welcoming and extremely relaxed, which personifies the whole experience! I will most definitely return for future visits. TYO


superb experience at Cape Charles House B&B

5 on May 31, 2013

superb stay and experience at Cape Charles House B&B...excellent hosts, friendly, helpful, outstanding service at all times...definitely a place to visit for a restful and relaxing experience while you have the option to explore the areas plenteous attractions...kmcw


Marcia & Bill

5 on May 15, 2013

Carol and Bruce were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. The room was great and so was the tub!. We loved wine and cheese on the porch and the breakfast was delicious too. We felt at home with new friends. Will definately go back.


Our 32nd Anniversary

5 on May 01, 2013

We were celebrating our anniversary and Bruce and Carol made our trip very memorable. Carol's cooking is to die for.... and her attention to detail makes every meal perfection! They made feel very comfortable and welcome in their home. They gave us all the neat little places to see in the area plus the great dining opportunities.... We had a wonderful and look forward to return again very soon... Brian and Judy Neeld Virginia Beach, Va.

Innkeeper Response
We do hope you will return again so that we may share some more of the hidden treasures here on the Eastern Shore. It was our pleasure to welcome you and provide a setting for your Anniversary Celebration.


excellent b&b

4.4 on May 01, 2013

We had a great time visiting Cape Charles. Carol and Bruce were wonderful. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others visiting the area.

Innkeeper Response
We are so pleased to receive your thoughtful comments and appreciate your recommendation. Please know we would love to welcome your return.


Fantastic Getaway Weekend

5 on April 17, 2013

Bruce and Carol are wonderful hosts and their home is impecable. We will definatly be staying with them again in the near future.


Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else

5 on April 10, 2013

My wife and I just had our third stay at Cape Charles House and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we visit the Eastern Shore. Bruce and Carol are the nicest folks and make us feel like family. The rooms are great and breakfast couldn't be better. We've had something different every time and have never been disappointed. And sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch with the wine (or non-alcoholic Bay Breeze) and crackers in the afternoons or coffee in the mornings it is the ultimate relaxation. We will definitely be back for a fourth time and more to come.


much needed respite was wonderful!

5 on April 03, 2013

What a beautiful inn - and friendly staff and innkeepers who made our stay much better with providing great information about the area and exceeding our expectations!

Innkeeper Response
We so appreciate your thoughtful comments! Thank You! It is always a pleasure to share the hidden treasures of the Eastern Shore with our guests, and there's still more to see! We hope that you will return for another getaway soon.


March 9th Stay at The Cape Charles House

4.0 on March 13, 2013

This is a wonderful old house in Cape Charles. The Evans are wonderfully hospitable and full of information about the history of the Eastern Shore. They were very helpful in advising us on places of interest and restaraunt choices during our brief stay in Cape Charles. The room was lovely and quite comfortable. It was a bit too warm and it was difficult to control the temperature in the room but this was the only negative of our stay. We are planning to return for a longer visit!


Great Find

5 on January 08, 2013

Quiet, Quaint and Quality all wrapped up in a delightful package. Breakfast was fantastic... bottomless wine glass was cool too!


Fantastic B&B!

5 on November 01, 2012

This was probably the very best B&B that my wife and I have ever visted. Great room, and Carol and Bob are two of the nicest people I have met. A great experience!


Great Anniversary Weekend

5 on October 30, 2012

My husband surprised me with a three-day anniversary weekend at the Cape Charles House B&B--and what a wonderful weekend it was, in spite of the outskirting rain from Hurricane Sandy! We place this B&B at the top for hospitality, food, the endless bottle of wine and homemade Boursin cheese and crackers every afternoon. Our hosts invited us into their kitchen to watch the news while they busily prepared our breakfast--so warm and homey. Definitely a return visit is coming--there is too much to see and do in just an oh-too-short weekend!


Best B&B

5 on October 09, 2012

This was the best B&B ever in terms of Food, Cleanliness, Quiet, solitude, friendliness but not overbearing staff. Plus, it is on the Eastern Shore.


Lovely Weekend

5 on October 09, 2012

We stayed at Cape Charles House to celebrate a birthday. Bruce and Carol are the most warm and charming hosts. We had a superb weekend....just wish we could have stayed a little longer. Oh and the breakfast was a decadent, delicious affair!


Anniversary

5 on October 09, 2012

This is my new favorite B&B!! The place was amazing. Quiet, wonderful hosts, delicious breakfast and perfect weather. We will definitely come back. Ken & Katherine


Return stay just as wonderful!

3.6 on September 30, 2012

We stayed recently for our 6 year wedding anniversary (we spent our wedding night there as well) and it was just as lovely as before. Bruce and Carol haven't aged a bit and the familiar wine and homemade boursain cheese at the end of the night is a simple pleasure. Love you guys! :)


Absolutely the Place to stay in Cape Charles

4.4 on September 26, 2012

Bob and Carol are great hosts. The breakfasts are terrific and the front porch is a wonderful place to enjoy your wine and cheese, but you might have to take advantage of their bug spray.


Cape Charles

5 on September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay, wish it could have been longer. The hosts were very accomodating to dietary needs (gluten free) and our early Sunday departure.


Great Place to Stay

4.0 on September 03, 2012

Very Nice owners. Very informative and creative especially with breakfast. Nice set up and the bottomless glass of wine is a nice touch. Enjoyed our stay and is close to beach and main markets for shopping. Good location.


a great place

4.6 on August 27, 2012

Our two day stay was wonderful. Our host and hostess made us feel so welcome and answered all questions that we had. This was our second visit and hopefully it will not be our last.


Romantic Beach Getaway

4.4 on August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast. I chose to stay at Bruce and Carol's house after reading such great reviews about how friendly they were and about how amazing Carol's breakfast was. And I will say I was not disappointed. It was even better than I had imagined. They just opened up their house to us like we were family and we felt so welcomed. The wine and cheese at night was a nice treat and the breakfasts in the morning were amazing. They really are gourmet! Even the coffee was great!! The room was very clean and was cleaned each day that we stayed there. We were in the Cassatt room. I must say, the room was not large, and the bathroom was tiny. It was just my wife and me and we were on a romantic weekend away from our four young children; so, we couldn't have cared less how big the bathroom was. Everything was very comfortable. We stayed with very nice guests who were all so friendly and eager to share their stories of what they had seen on The Shore and to hear our stories. Cape Charles was much smaller than I had imagined. The "downtown" area is only 2-3 short blocks long and is only one side of the street; but that was enough. My wife picked out a seaglass ring at one of the local shops that makes jewelry by hand. Her finger is so small that the rings were all too big. Carol offered to contact the store owner to see if she would make a ring for us, but as we were leaving the town we decided to stop in one more time to see if she was there; and she was! She let my wife pick out a piece of seaglass and all of the parts of the ring will be custom-made for her. It was so nice, and everyone there was so friendly. The best part really was getting to stay at Bruce and Carol's house and getting to know them. We are telling all of our friends about them, and look forward to going back!! Highly Recommended!!!


Lovely town, lovely lodging, fantabulous breakfast!

4.2 on August 22, 2012

We would recommend this B&B to anyone ... and even better, the hidden gem of a town and great bayside beach.


Delightful and charming!

4.4 on August 21, 2012

Enjoyed the hosts, Carol & Bruce Evans, very friendly and accommodating. Townspeople we met were also very nice. Gourmet breakfasts Carol prepared were superb. Atmosphere at B&B was warm and welcoming!


Too Short a Stay

4.6 on August 21, 2012

Wonderful, friendly people, and a beautiful house in a beautiful little town. Wish we could have stayed longer but it was just a stop on the way to somewhere else. Hope we'll be able to go back some day and take in the sights and enjoy some more of Bruce and Carol's hospitality.


Great expierence

3.8 on August 13, 2012

It was a wonderful place with great owners. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and in a real great location. One of the best B&B expierences I have had in sometime.


Wedding Weekend At Cape Charles House

5 on August 08, 2012

We were in Cape Charles Va. for my niece's wedding weekend. We chose The Cape Charles House Bed and Breakfast from a list provided by the family. I chose it for my husband and myself and for my Mother. We got the last two rooms and they were just perfect! We were treated like old friends and were made very comfortable as Carol and Bruce waited on us and made our wedding weekend very enjoyable!


Perfect Visit

5 on August 08, 2012

It was our first visit to Cape Charles for a wedding, and we had a wonderful stay at the Cape Charles House. Perfect really! A beautifully decorated room that was roomy and comfortable, with a great bed and bedding. Amazing breakfast in the morning, and excellent suggestions about the area from both Carol and Bruce, who clearly love Cape Charles.


Loved it

4.8 on July 31, 2012

It was a wonderful place to stay. The breakfasts were to die for and the company outstanding. The best vacation.


The Best of the Best

5 on July 31, 2012

Carol & Charles were very hospitable. This B&B was very clean and wonderful service along with a gourmet home-cooked breakfast. You are missing out if you don't stay here!


Cape Charles House Perfect B&B

5 on July 14, 2012

Accomidations superb. Bruce and Carol are extremely knowledgable and help about the surrounding area The food is fantastic and we loved the wine and cheese happy hour.


Wonderful Stay!!

5 on July 02, 2012

My Aunt, mom and myself made a trip down to Cape Charles for a girls weekend. I searched BnB's online and came across Cape Charles House BnB. There were many BnB's in the area but the price was right at CCHouse and they had a room for three! The house was BEAUTIFUL! It was fun to look around the house, Bruce and Carol have many collections and displays, if you are into antiques you would enjoy this aspect of the house. Bruce and Carol were SO helpful with suggestions for restaurants. They have lots of menus is house to review before you go out. The rooms were clean and stocked, the housekeepers were so friendly! The wrap around porch was awesome and the mornings were so quite! It felt like home. Breakfast was AMAZING! The walk to the beach and Mason Ave were very simple, which was nice. I told my mom and Aunt that Cape Charles House was my favorite BnB out of all my stays at BnB's! We are talking about another trip next year!

Innkeeper Response
So pleased to know that your girl's weekend was so enjoied! We loved welcoming you and will hope you are able to return to create some more memories!


The owners were very freindly and welcoming, food was out of this world

5 on June 28, 2012

the owners were very freindly and welcoming. the food was out of this world

Innkeeper Response
We so appreciate your thoughtful comments.......It was our pleasure to welcome you!


Quaint and homey!

4.8 on June 26, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend visit to Cape Charles. Staying at Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast added to the memorable experience! Bruce and Carol were warm and inviting. The house was quaint, homey, and clean. The breakfasts Carol made were lovely, gourmet dishes (worth staying there in itself!). Truly the best food we had our entire stay! We will definitely come back!!

Innkeeper Response
WOW! Thank you for your compliments on breakfast! Good food and great guests! It was our pleasure.


a great get awwy - with southern charm

4.4 on June 23, 2012

the hosts were wonderfully gracious and very helpful. gave us good ideas for exploring the area.

Innkeeper Response
Loved sharing the "hidden treasures" of Virginia's Eastern Shore with you. Would love to welcome you back!


Cape Charles House makes for a fantastic stay!

4.0 on June 19, 2012

Flew into VA for a wedding, not knowing what to expect with most of the lodging options being b&bs. We selected Cape Charles House, and Bruce & Carol made us feel welcome as soon as we walked up on the porch. The house is a beautiful, large late 1800s home which has been decorated to provide a historic and very charming experience. It was fantastic to sit on the porch chatting with other guests over coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. The location left nothing to be desired as the community was walkable from going to the beach, walking the historic neighborhoods, or strolling downtown for some lunch or dinner (you can even walk to the easter egg patch if you are headed out there). Carol prooved to be amazing in the kitchen, providing breakfasts with fresh fruit, amazing muffins, and delectable main dishes that left you full even though you wanted more. Both Bruce and Carol were always willing to provide their suggestions and knowledge about the area to help guide the way. The short of it - a great stay i will repeat if i go back to Cape Charles!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for sharng your comments. We would love to welcome your return. Our town now has an amazing ice cream shoppe too!


THE B&B in Cape Charles

4.4 on June 14, 2012

We had never been to Cape Charles and came just to see the OpSail 2012 boats. The hosts were more than friendly, capable, over-the-top hand-cooked breakfasts each day, quiet room, ample street parking and a close walk to the docks. They offered much advice about the town and the area's points of interest, which were surprisingly good. Interesting guests at breakfast to share thoughts with. Highly recommended.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your thoughtful and kind recommendation. It was a gala weekend. So pleased that you stayed with us!


Excellent venue!

4.6 on June 12, 2012

From accommodating our abnormal late arrival to early departure needs everything was just super. Breakfast was beyond our wildest expectation. Will highly recommend the Cape Charles House to any and all, regardless of special needs or situations! Roy and Kay

Innkeeper Response
Roy and Kay, Thank you so much for your thoughful comments. We would love to welcome your return. So pleased you enjoyed your stay!


Mary's Visit

5 on June 09, 2012

I was raised on the Eastern Shore and had not been back in while. What a great place to stay. Everything was lovely. I have stayed in B&Bs before. Honestly, this one is at the top of my list.


Recent stay.

4.0 on June 07, 2012

Wonderful historic house in a historic town setting. Great getaway.


Relaxing Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 06, 2012

Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast was very enjoyable! The innkeepers were very personable and made everyone feel relaxed and comfortable.


Great little getaway

5 on June 05, 2012

We wanted a couple of days to get away from it all.Cape Charles was that place.Like going back in time.Cape Charles House was perfectly charming and completely fitting for the era of its neighborhood.Our hosts Bruce and Carol Evans made us feel completely at home.Delicious and creative breakfasts and the delightful company of the other guests made this a place w'ed go back to again! Thanks Carol and Bruce for preserving and sharing a bit of history with us. Sarah G.


Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast

4.6 on May 30, 2012

Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast is excellent. Our hosts, Bruce and Carol made us feel like we'd come home to our own family.


Home Sweet Home

5 on May 28, 2012

My family and I came to Cape Charles for my brother's wedding in May. He recommended the CC B&B because he and fiance had a wonderful experience there. I would agree that the CC B&B was a wonderful! Carol and Bruce welcomed us with open arms. It felt like we had known them all our lives. With their wonderful hospitality and Carol's amazing cooking, my family will definitely go back. I highly recommend the CC B&B!!!!!


Excellent choice for our 30th anniversary!

4.0 on May 28, 2012

Bruce and Carol are in the right profession! They go out of their way to make your stay wonderful and fun. The food is great and so is the B&B itself. Very historic. We will definately return!


Heinold Wedding. Spectacular !!!

5 on May 27, 2012

First time at a B&B. We've stayed at some the nicest hotels in world and the Cape Charles House with Bruce and Carol did not disappoint ! The home is magnificent. The town marvelous and the company was the best. We'll be back soon to see our new found friends !


We Loved It!

4.4 on December 04, 2011

This is our second visit to the Cape Charles House and from the moment we stepped in the doors we remembered why we loved it so much for the first time. The rooms are nicely decorated. The breakfast is delicious. And Bruce and Carol are so inviting. It was truely a home away from home. We think you will agree.


Make this your choice for B & B in Cape Charles

5 on December 02, 2011

You will be overwhelmed with the kindness and attention to detail that Carol and Bruce provide. Her gourmet breakfast are to die for and wine and cheese in the evening just adds to the delicious stay. You will feel so welcome to share their beautiful home and the accomodations provide a restful retreat. You can walk from their B & B to most anything in town and there are coffee houses, pubs and several choices for meals. Don't miss this if you are anywhere near the area!!


Carol kept us "Cozy" in Cape Charles

4.6 on November 13, 2011

We had a fantastic weekend in Cape Charles, and it had a lot to do with our accommodations. Carol Evans was a fantastic host and an amazing chef. We were very comfortable and specifically liked the reading material they had available on the history of Cape Charles. We will recommend staying at the Cape Charles house to everyone.


Quick trip

5 on October 30, 2011

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. We stay at BnB's every opportunity...we'll make this one a repeat whenwhenever we're in the area.


Wonderful People

5 on October 23, 2011

We were in town for a couple of days for a wedding and had a wonderful time at the Cape Charles House. The room was well-appointed, the bed comfortable, and the hospitality terrific. Wine and cheese in the evening and a great breakfast in the morning. Bruce and Carol are a great couple, and Carol's cooking alone is worth the trip.


Gourmet all the way

4.6 on October 15, 2011

If you like a different gourmet breakfast everyday, then this is your kind of B & B. Carol & Bruce take care of everything, from dinner resrv. to golf tee times at a great golf venue at Bay Creek, only minutes away.


CCH stay

4.4 on October 14, 2011

Very nice accomodations, service excellent, and food outstanding. Very worthwhile the trip, and another one in the future


Weedend Wedding Stay

4.8 on September 25, 2011

We both had a great time at the B&b, plus the town is so close you can walk everywere.


The Cassatt Room

4.4 on September 23, 2011

A splendid house; room was a bit smaller than we had hoped but we settled in...lots of comfy, spread out room in the first floor of the Inn and simply terrific, gracious hosts in Bruce and Carol Evans.


Great Weekend Getaway

4.4 on September 21, 2011

Food and Service was excellent given by a very heart-warming, caring couple! We'll be sure to spread the word about the Cape Charles House B&B and hope to visit or stay in the near future! -The Lairds


First Impressions are Everything

4.6 on September 13, 2011

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience. We arrived late in the evening and were so concerned, but our fears were immediately alleviated as a note on the door was left for me directing me to where my room was. The room was so gorgeous that I took pictures before even using the bathroom after the long trip. Coming down to breakfast with the other gusts was a true delight, as I immediately felt at peace and comfortable. One night I even fell asleep on the living room couch watching tv, that is how comfortable my stay was. Bruce and Carol could not have done me a greater service then they did Labor Day weekend. From the bottom of our hearts, Alejaibra and I thank you immensely.


Awesome B & B

5 on September 07, 2011

Best breakfast we have ever eaten. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Home was comfortable and inviting!


Lovely stay in Cape Charles

5 on September 06, 2011

Words can not describe the wonderful experience we had at the Cape Charles House B&B. Carol and Bruce are an amazing couple that went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful and soothing home away from home.


Cape Charles Jewel

5 on August 29, 2011

Loved Cape Charles and loved the CC B&B! Will return! Can't wait!


Wonderful!!

4.8 on August 19, 2011

Bruce and Carol could not have been more accommodating. The decor (especially the dining room) was enchanting. The room was comfortable (albeit the bathroom was quite small) and tastefully furnished. The breakfast was absolutely sublime. We highly recommend this B&B.


Looking forward to our next visit

5 on August 18, 2011

Felt so welcome the minute we spoke on the phone and even more welcome the minute we stepped inside this magnificent home. The gourmet breakfast was well worth our trip to this B&B not to mention the wine and cheese served at 5pm everyday. The other guests we talked with also agreed it is one of the best B&B they stayed at as well.


Outstanding!

5 on August 14, 2011

My stay in Cape Charles was superb thanks to Bruce and Carol and their charming house, beautiful rooms, gourmet breakfast, and down home friendly attitudes and service! I can't say enough good about them.


Great Get Away

5 on August 10, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast. It was our first time staying at a B&B and will not be our last. The owners were very nice and made us feel very welcome. I have a lot of food allergies and they were very accommodating. Actually, the food was excellent. We will definitely try to stay there again.


A quiet slow down vacation!

3.8 on August 10, 2011

Great waterfront town for a quiet slow down vacation! The town is definitely improving and developing, it is in a great location with the waterfront. Although the B&B is on the back side of town, it was easy to walk or bike around, to main street, and waterfront. I recommend bringing bikes. We were there during the Oyster Buy Boat Reunion festival, so there was some entertainment each night. For a local flare, check out Kelly's Pub on Mason Ave!


Rest and Relaxation on a Hectic Weekend

4.8 on August 09, 2011

We spent a long weekend in Cape Charles for a wedding. My husband was the Best Man making it a busy time. Cape Charles House was the perfect place to come back to every evening. Bruce and Carol couldn't have been any nicer or more accommodating to our busy schedule, and even though we were only able to enjoy one of their fantastic breakfasts, it was delicious. The wine and cheese and conversation was also delightful. Our room was very comfortable and beautiful. If we ever get back to Cape Charles we would love to stay here again!


Just Passing Through

4.6 on August 06, 2011

Great hosts! Nice location for quiet, introspective visit. A great place to unwind in good comfort. Look forward to returning sometime soon.


A beautiful little town

3.2 on July 24, 2011

Cape Charles is a beautiful little town and a wonderful place for a relaxing weekend. Breakfasts were great and our room was comfortable.


Quiet Get-away weekend!

4.2 on July 20, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend get-away for our 14th anniversary! Perfect place to spend our weekend! Our room was richly decorated with interesting artifacts, as was the rest of the house. The breakfast was out of this world!! We felt very welcomed and had some very nice conversations with the other guests and the owners! We hope to return in the future and would recommend to friends! :)


Beautiful home in lovely town of beautiful homes.

3.8 on July 10, 2011

A beautiful old home, well restored, well maintained. Wine or other beverage and cheese delightful. Dinner options in town are limited. Breakfast delicious. Do need to remind host at check in if special requests for breakfast were emailed in advance.


Great Getaway

4.6 on July 07, 2011

We absolutely LOVED our weekend getaway at Cape Charles House!! The house and rooms were historic yet very comfortable and with modern amenities like WiFi. The food was phenomenal! Carol and Bruce were also very gracious hosts and gave excellent advice on local restaurants and activities.


Perfect night away

4.8 on July 06, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quiet evening away to celebrate our anniversary and Cape Charles House was exactly what we'd hoped for. Carol met us at the door and directed us to our lovely room while she arranged the "bottom-less glasses" of wine and tray of homemade herbed cheese and crackers for us on the porch. She had information and advice about local restaurant options, which we made full use of, and she chilled a bottle of champagne for us while we were at dinner. Our room was comfortable and elegant, with thoughtful additions like bottled water and chocolate on the dresser. Carol's breakfast (served early at our request) was delightful - fruit, yogurt and granola followed by Spanish eggs, sausage, and spiced hash browned potatoes, with fruit juice and fresh coffee. Altogether the perfect 24-hour getaway for my husband and I. Highly recommend to anyone traveling on the Eastern Shore.


Cape Charles House B&B

4.4 on June 29, 2011

We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay! WONDERFUL breakfasts, super innkeepers, great little beach town!


Two lovely nights at Cape Charles B & B

5 on June 27, 2011

This was our first visit to Cape Charles, and it did not disappoint. Bruce and Carol were wonderful hosts and gave us plenty of information about the area and their fabulous house. Our room was beautifully restored and extremely comfortable, with a terrific view to a tree lined street, a great neighborhood with a great B & B. Should we ever to to the area again, we would most definately visit with Bruce and Carol again.


Anniversary weekend at Cape Charles House

4.6 on June 23, 2011

Cape Charles is a lovely quiet, slow-paced town which is exactly what we wanted for a long anniversary weekend. Carol and Bruce of Cape Charles House are so very welcoming, we felt like we were at home as soon as we stepped in the door. Breakfast always started with freshly baked out-of-the-oven muffins then fresh fruit, followed by a delicious main dish. We enjoyed our 3 nights stay and are already planning our return trip.


Eat, sleep, drink and be merry with wonderful people

5 on June 13, 2011

My Mom came to visit from Michigan and I wanted to treat her to a special Memorial Day weekend. Bruce and Carol did not let us down. Wonderful food, company, Happy Hour and accommodations. If you want to be treated like special family members, enjoy great food, quiet beaches and quaint little towns, this is the place. You will leave planning your next trip back!!


1st Bed & Breakfast Experience

4.8 on June 10, 2011

Extremely attentive host and hostess, excellent food, friendly cat "Mr. Kitty", very comfortable atmosphere for socializing with other guests. We felt very welcomed and relaxed on the Eastern Shore with this quaint town and warm welcome into the Cape Charles House. Thank you Bruce and Carol for a great first experience!


Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

4.4 on June 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay - such a beautiful home. Breakfast was outstanding and the wine & cheese each day was such a treat. We highly recommend this B&B - everything you expect from a B&B and more!


6th Anniversary wed in Cape Charles

5 on June 04, 2011

Carol always welcomed us coffee drinkers early in the morning and then we would go to her wonderful wrap around porch where the breezes blowing w fragrant magnolias in bloom. She knew everything going on in the town to see. Going back there to stay was like coming home. Deb Byrd


Awesome!

4.8 on June 02, 2011

Carol and Bruce are extremely friendly and the food was delicious. The Thomas Dixon Room has a wonderful bathroom with a big jacuzzi bath tub that was great. The rooms are clean, uniquely decorated, and elegant. All in all, we had a great time and look forward to the chance to return!


Golf Get Away

4.4 on June 01, 2011

We stayed here for a golf get away. Nice room, excellent breakfast, friendly people.


A good time.

3.4 on June 01, 2011

Our stay was pleasant, and the food was good, though the selection was limited. The house itself was beautiful, though it seemed in need of some updates, such as painting, wood care, and plaster/drywall repair at places. The owners were absolutely fabulous, very engaging and welcoming. The other guests were a little awkward when we sat down together for breakfast, but that was outside the control of the proprietors. All in all, it was a good experience.


Exceptional Opportunity in Cape Charles

4.8 on May 31, 2011

We could not have asked for a more wonderful visit. Our hosts were experienced, gracious, exceptionally attuned to our needs. The home was wonderful, rooms were quite comfortable and full of the rich heritage for the area. The breakfasts were marvelous. All in all, we truly enjoyed our visit and will not hesitate to re-visit in the future.


Relaxed Atmosphere

3.6 on May 28, 2011

Cape Charles is located on the Chesapeake Bay, there are two golf course both private, 2 good restaurants, so not a whole lot to do. If you are into relaing, long walks, and good conversation The Cape Charles House is for you. Breakfast was excellent and the other people, as well as, the host and hostee were extremely friendly and accomodating.


Great Escape on the Cape

5 on May 20, 2011

Carol and Bruce are wonderful hosts. They were completely accommodating and did everything possible to make our stay a great escape. The Cape Charles House is a large, lovely house which has been carefully modernized to preserve its charm while adding private baths to each of the five guest bedrooms. The breakfasts were outstanding - great groceries beautifully presented. The coffee is very, very good - a custom blend made by a local vendor just for the Cape Charles House. The house and wrap around porch provided plenty of places to read, talk, or just relax. Carol gave us recommendations for dinner and made the reservations for our group of 10. You will enjoy meeting Carol and Bruce and come to the same conclusion we all did - Bruce married up:-).


Charming

4.2 on May 16, 2011

This was a pleasant and quaint town. We enjoyed our visit and were especially pleased with the hospitality of Bruce & Carol, the Innkeepers.


Unfortunate experience

2.0 on May 11, 2011

I booked online for a wedding we were attending. The room was an average room, clean, bright and sunny, as shown in the online photo. We returned from the church and there was another couple from the wedding also staying there, who asked if we were going to have wine and cheese. I was a bit taken aback by the boxed Franzia wine, barely chilled. Rather than ask his guests about themselves, Bruce went on about his family, his inn. I asked what time breakfast was the next morning and Carol said 9, but coffee will be served at 8. I mentioned that I usually have coffee first thing, 6 a.m., but because of the wedding I didn't know how late I would sleep. Carol was trying to pin me down on a time. Next morning, because the other couple was leaving on an early flight, we got to talk to them and find out more about them, on our own! I saw a pineapple on the counter and mentioned that I do eat fruit early in the a.m. Carol said she was going to cut the pineapple. That was at 8. I went upstairs to pack at 8:30 and still didn't have any pineapple; it was not yet cut. My husband and I decided to leave early, and I asked if we could have two croissants to eat on the trip. Carol said she needed 5 for her recipe (which she had) so she could then give us two! The muffins and croissants were store bought (I guess that would be acceptable, knowing she was using them for a more "grand" recipe, but with 4 people leaving, surely she could spare 2 croissants since we paid for them! Needless to say, we will never go back and I would not give a favorable recommendation.


Cape Charles House

4.6 on April 30, 2011

Bruce & Carol are absolutely incredible innkeepers! They were more than accommodating when I realized we would be coming in later than expected and the Carol's breakfast was absolutely amazing! The rooms were all beautiful and I can not say but wonderful things about staying there!


Bay Creek Golf Tournament

5 on April 24, 2011

Innkeepers Bruce and Carol are fabulous; warm, friendly, and make all guests feel completely comfortable. Breakfasts are outstanding.


Cape Charles House

4.6 on April 01, 2011

Beautiful inn, unbelievably delicious breakfasts, great service!


Eastern Shore Weekend

4.4 on March 23, 2011

Bruce and Carol are fun, easy going, wonderful people. We'll definitely be back to stay with them again.


Our Stay

4.6 on January 20, 2011

We were traveling south and this was a great place for a one night stop. The Innkeepers were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed our stay along with wine and drinks in the evening.


Great Thanksgiving Getaway

4.6 on December 02, 2010

We drove over to spend the Weekend after Thanksgiving with my son and his wife. There were just a few accommodations to choose from on the island and this looked like our best bet. We weren't disappointed. Our rooms were charming, the bed was very comfortable, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch. Our breakfasts both days were really nice. One included a baked apple, fresh baked muffins, a breakfast burrito with eggs, cheese, black beans and corn inside, accompanied by sausage and some fried red potatoes. It was garnished with a pansy. Bruce and Carole are charming hosts; a very warm and welcoming couple. We couldn't have been more pleased and would gladly stay again if we're ever in the area. The only tiny complaint we had was the lack of shampoo & conditioner. Other than that, everything was pretty perfect. Cape Charles itself is a rustic getaway. Several nice restaurants though, be warned, everything shuts down very early...by 9 or 10 at the latest. We also drove up to Chincoteague and saw some horses, thousands of snow geese, lots of ducks, etc. A beautiful natural wonderland. I would happily recommend this island and this B&B to anyone.


Wonderful time!

4.8 on December 01, 2010

This was the second we stay at Cape Charles B&B. It has been a beautiful experience each time. The food is spectacular. Thanks for a great weekend!


Thanksgiving in Cape Charles

5 on November 30, 2010

We stayed Thanksgiving evening and the night after. It was wonderful. We were unable to find any restaurants open in the vicinity of the B&B so Carol and Bruce offered to cook dinner for us that night!!! Carol is a wonderful cook, so not only did we enjoy the wonderful evening dinner, but the breakfasts were outstanding. Our room was beautiful, the bed comfortable, and the whole house is very comfortably and tastefully decorated. Carol and Bruce are warm, friendly hosts and made us feel, not just welcome, but like good friends. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to everyone.


Cape Charles House

4.4 on November 30, 2010

We were there a short time but the accomodations were excellent.


Hope to return!

5 on September 23, 2010

The innkeepers were gracious and welcoming to me and my 87 yr old father. We had a wonderful visit; I hope to take my wife and family.


Birthday Getaway

4.6 on August 26, 2010

I surprised my wife with a stay at the Cape Charles House for her birthday and we were very pleased with the experience. Bruce and Carol were extremely accomodating and pleasant; Carol is a superb chef! This is a great place for a quick get-away from the Norfol-VB-Chesapeake area; seems like a world away. J&L


Weekend at the Eastern Shore

4.2 on August 12, 2010

Bruce and Carol were wonderful hosts. Very helpful with local information. Food was very good - gourmet. Very relaxing inn. Wine and homemade cheese in the afternoon - great touch. Would come back again.


Great for R&R

5 on August 12, 2010

Fantastic place, people and food. Love the figs off the tree, wine and cheese at 5. Gourmet breakfast, well paced. Great golf and food nearby. All arranged by owners. Need we say more?


What a delightful stay we had here!

4.0 on August 06, 2009

I highly recommend staying here to anyone who wants a truly warm, welcoming, relaxing and elegant stay in this home away from home! Bruce and Carol were so attentive and caring to all our needs and were a pure delight. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, breakfast was superb, everyone was so gracious and friendly and sitting on the porch with its wicker chairs and rockers on a quiet, warm and breezy evening smelling the sweet gardens was simply magical. We would go back here in a heart beat! :-)


Fantastic Start to Honeymoon

4.8 on October 21, 2008

We stayed with Bruce and Carol for the first night of our honeymoon. After the hectic activities of the wedding weekend, Cape Charles House was a peaceful and comfortable spot to relax and start enjoying our trip. The breakfast was delicious, and our hosts were welcoming and enjoyable. We gladly recommend Cape Charles House to anyone.


Long awaited Honeymoon

4.0 on April 06, 2008

We have just returned from Cape Charles House B&B. Upon our arrival, we encountered a small issue with a leaky sink in our room. This was quickly taken care of by an upgrade to a larger room. My husband and I were thrilled by the new accomodation as we were on our belated honeymoon and our budget was lean. Bruce and Carol were not only gracious hosts for our weekend, but very helpful. Breakfasts were scrumcious and beautifully presented. Amy, their daughter and Inn Manager, was friendly and also helped to make our stay comfortable. The house is a treasure trove of interesting books and collections. Our only drawback to returning was a lack of interesting things to do to fill our day. We were hoping for more cute little shops and maybe something to bring back as a rembrance of our time on VA's Eastern Shore. No fault of the Evans'. Again, they were delightful and their Bed and Breakfast was welcoming and comfortable. Thank you both!


Will return

5 on October 23, 2007

Immediately at home from the phone call to the parting mug of coffee, I felt welcomed. We will return


Cape Charles House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $210
  • Reviews (169) 4.7
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7573314920
  • Fax 1-7573314960

Visit Website »

View details

Top