Winterham Plantation Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Fantastic weekend!

5 on March 17, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our stay at Winterham Plantation. The historic significance of the house was so interesting and we so enjoyed the beautiful artwork throughout the house. The room was lovely, the grounds breathtaking and the breakfast was simply delicious! We will certain return to Winterham!


Wonderful History

4.0 on February 27, 2012

Not only was this a beautifully restored plantation home, but the breakfasts were tastefully presented. We loved all this history associated with the house!


Great B&B

5 on December 05, 2011

Simply the best B&B we have stayed in with nearly 40 years of B&B experience!


Southern Hospitality

4.6 on December 04, 2011

Beautiful room, common areas & grounds. Close to many Civil War sites.


What a breakfast!

5 on August 12, 2011

My partner and I are from the U.K and had travelled to Virginia for a 10 day trip to celebrate my 40th birthday (he had booked me tickets to a Huey Lewis concert in Newport News). Our night at Winterham was amazing. The owners were not there but the lady in charge was superb. We arrived just before the start of wedding season and had the astonishing good luck of being the guinea pigs for some of the recepies that were being trialled - I've never had a 7 course breakfast before. Wow! We were given a tour of the rooms and had all the history explained to us which was great. They also have a lovely separate guest cabin if you fancy a bit more privacy. Personally I loved having to climb in to and out of our 4 poster and hearing the storm rain on the roof! Well worth a visit.


Wonderful place to stay in Amelia

4.8 on September 18, 2010

Was back in Amelia for a class reunion and family did not have room that weekend so we made it a vacation and stayed at the Winterham Plantation. Very accommodating as we were out late and the room was very comfortable - huge room with a mini-fridge and snacks and coffee machine. Nice bathroom. Antiques everywhere but still very comfortable. Owners shared information about their restoration work on the house and were knowledgeable about the area which would be very nice if you were not a native! Breakfast was wonderful and the view across the small valley in the morning was spectacular. Very peaceful and lovely. It was a great weekend and I would certainly recommend this location to anyone visiting Amelia. Much better than the Econolodge next to the MacDonalds!


An anniversary to remember

5 on August 02, 2010

While searching for a quiet, out of the way spot for my husband & I to celebrate our wedding anniversary, I stumbled upon this gem. Situated in the mid point between Appomattox, Richmond & Petersburg and a short drive from Pocahontas State Park, we had our choice of activities. The house is beautifully restored & furnished. We stayed in the Princess Amelia Room & enjoyed the sound of rain on the roof over night. Dr. & Mrs Hadfield were welcoming, sweet and a wealth of knowledge about the history of the area. After dinner at a local restaurant, we had the run of the grounds. For an hour, we sat undisturbed drinking wine on the veranda, enjoying the peace & conversation. Breakfast was in a class by itself: homemade granola with yogurt & fresh fruit, stone ground grits from a local mill, poached eggs, ham, cobbler, etc. While the innkeepers didn't dine with us, they did join us as we finished up for a great conversation about life, family, Winterham and all sorts of other things.


Excellent stay

5 on November 06, 2009

Everything was wonderful! Perfect for us. Thank you!


Fun for the Whole Family

5 on July 07, 2009

We stayed in the Garden Terrace Suite and had a wonderful time. There were eight of us and plenty of room for all. We loved all the furniture and art. Breakfast was amazing. I especially hope you get to try the French Toast, but it was all delicious. The home is beautiful. The grounds are emaculate. You can just feel the history. Our kids really enjoyed playing on the grass and chasing fireflies at night. Thanks for providing such a wonderful experience for our whole family! Maybe next time we'll leave the kids at home and stay in the Jefferson Suite or the Lake Cottage.


Return to the past

4.8 on November 11, 2008

We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast that our hosts prepared, served and shared with us. They were more than hospitable and we look forward to a return trip!


Magnificent Restoration of an 18th Century Plantation Home

4.4 on June 28, 2008

Situated in a beautiful pastoral setting in Virginia, Winterham Plantation B&B is an exemplary example of historic preservation at its best. The setting and grounds of the inn provides a wonderful setting for a wedding. The B&B also serves as a fine art gallery housing a collection of hundreds of paintings hung throughout the inn, including the guest rooms. Winterham Plantation is an art lover's paradise, where the paintings may also be purchased. One can also learn more about the Mormon Church; literature is readily available. Breakfast at Winterham Plantation is a mini-feast, and the well-educated innkeepers enjoy visiting with their guests during the morning repast. I enjoyed my visit in this treasure trove of history.


A treasure!

5 on October 28, 2007

Winterham is an exceptional B&B. Settled in the country, but only miles from the city, the home has been lovingly restored, with great attention to historical details. The innkeepers, Gary and Kathleen, are a delight. The rooms are a plethora of history - from the furnishings to the art, books, etc. Kathleen prepared the most wondeful breakfast - I could have eaten all morning! The grounds are beautiful, including a grassy hill in the back leading to a lake surrounded by mature trees. The home also contains a virtual art gallery, with pieces of all types. I would encourage anyone to visit Winterham. It is only a short half hour drive from Richmond and well worth the trip! It would also be a delightful place for an outdoor wedding!


09/07

5 on October 15, 2007

This property was oustanding!


An excellent stay!

5 on August 30, 2007

I had stayed in a B and B before and know what a great experience it is but at Winterham it was so much more than I thought it would be. Our hosts, Gary and Kathleen, were so gracious and warm I really wanted to stay another night! My mother, sister, neice and I had booked the Garden Terrace Room and the beds were so cozy and comfy. We slept like rocks! The breakfasts were out of this world too. We have family in the area and we do plan on staying there again!!


A wonderful first for us!

4.6 on August 02, 2007

My husband & I had never been to a bed and breakfast before and we were very pleasantly surprised!! The hosts were wonderful and fascinating to talk to. The home was not only clean and cozy, but held so much history that it was a true work of art in itself. Kathy made breakfasts to die for, and Gary gave us a tour (including history) of every square inch. The views were spectacular.


Winterham Plantation Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $249
  • Reviews (15) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8045614519
  • Fax 1-8045614519
  • Toll free 1-8665614519

Visit Website »

View details

Top