Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands Reviews

Overall
3.7

View details

  • Guest room3.6
  • Services4.0
  • Value3.8
  • Cleanliness3.7
  • Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
27 Reviews

Write A Review

a value stay

2.8 on January 03, 2014

Great location!


Ok but issues

3.0 on July 09, 2013

The view from our suite was stupendous. The value of this room is very good compared to anything else you can get in St. Johns. Phyllis was a wonderful innkeeper. The issues are lack of real cleanliness in room and loud music from town during some nights when there is entertainment in Cruz Bay. The breakfast was packaged muffins and other packaged goods from the grocery store. On the plus side, frig equipped with complimentary rum and wine.

Innkeeper Response
St. John has Carnival from the end of June to July 4th. It includes music, food, parade and finally fireworks. I remind all who book around this time about the event. If the suite was not up to the guest standard, I apologize and will let the head housekeeper know of your displeasure. Upon arrival, I do a walk thru with all my guest,but I may have missed something. I will try to be more through.


First St John Visit

4.0 on April 11, 2013

Room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The frig was very well stocked. Great location. Owner is very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.


Great stay at Hillcrest Guest House!

4.0 on October 28, 2011

We spent four days with Phyillis at her Guest house. She was terrific and our room was stocked with wine, rum, bacon, eggs, sodas, drinks, bagels, muffins, coffee, popcorn, ice cream, etc. She had snorkel gear available for us to use, along with beach chairs. There was also a large selection of DVDs and books for us to use, all free of charge. There was also wi-fi, although we didn't use it since we were busy hiking and snorkeling the amazing St. John trails and beaches. We had a wonderful view from the balcony and ate most of our meals sitting outside on the covered patio. Our suite was not the most modern or luxurious, but it was clean and quiet and located close to Cruz Bay up a steep hill. We had a rental car and spent most of our time exploring the island. A great stay for sure and we would definitely stay there again and recommend to any of our friends.


Great St John Vacation

4.0 on October 07, 2011

We spent our 28th wedding anniversary at Hillcrest Guest House in late September. Phyllis Hall is a lovely lady and always available for your every need. The location is perfect. We enjoyed all food and beverage that stocked our suite. This is a very economical B & B that is a true St John experience. We loved the Orchid Suite. We'll be back. Marie and Joe Westfield,MA


Hillcrest Guest House in St. John, US Virgin islands

4.8 on July 18, 2011

We were in St. John for our son's wedding in June for 5 nights/6 days. It was truely a very special occassion and Hillcrest Guest House definitely ADDED to it!!! We absolutely LOVED our stay here!!! Everything was so special and we were treated like VIPs the entire time. Phyllis personally greeted us and gave us a tour of the complex as well as our suite. She stocked it with lots of goodies for us in the cupboards, the frig, and even a basket full of delicious treats. She also left us a personal welcome note! Phyllis made herself available to us 24/7 and gave us her personal cell number if we needed it to get a ho;d of her quickly. She really is a very special lady and I feel we also made a friend too!! She made us feel so special too! One day, our ride fell through and we were going to have to get a cab to take us to the marina to join our group for a day sail on a catamaran that was leaving promtly at 9am. We tried all the listed cabs and no one would answer their phones. We made a frantic call to Phyllis to see if she knew of any cabs we could call as time was running down very quickly. Without any hestitation, Phyllis just said to meet her at the gate ASAP and she would drive us to the marina! She just dropped everything to personally take us and we made it on time. She really goes beyond being the owner of a bed and breakfast!!! We are already looking ahead to our next vacation in St. John and getting to spend our time at Hillcrest and seeing Phyllis again! Thank you Phyllis for making our stay so memorable!!! Don & Andi Q


A nice place to stay, but in need of an upgrade

3.4 on June 17, 2011

The owner is quite friendly, and even gave us a ride to the ferry at the end of our stay. Although no formal breakfast was provided, we did receive a sizeable amount of breakfast food in a basket and in the refrigerator in our room that included breakfast meat to cook in our room. We were also provided with a sizeable amount of alcohol for free. The location is just outside of the downtown up a fairly steep hill. The rooms are in need of an upgrade however, and had a dated feel. They were clean, although daily housecleaning was not provided.

Innkeeper Response
Complimentary menu includes, bacon, eggs, fruits, juice, sodas, water, snacks, rum & pina colada mix, vodka & bloody mary mix and tequila & margarita mix. Items are placed in your suite prior to arrival, as indicated on website, http://www.hillcreststjohn.com/menu.html. St. John and St. Thomas are both hilly. Hillcrest Guest House was built in 1966 by my parents and is constantly updated. I enjoy meeting and greeting my guest. It usually starts with a tour of the Cruz Bay area. And if guest need to pick up items along the way, I do wait for them. Phyllis


Great stay at Hillcrest

4.0 on May 17, 2011

We stayed here for our babymoon. We spent the the first few days on St. John at a resort and we much preferred Hillcrest. You are located right in town, just up a steep hill, but it is a a fun walk and helps you get in shape. The owner is a lovely lady and is very accommodating.


Hillcrest Guest House met our needs

3.4 on May 12, 2011

Our family spent a week on St. John, and our stay at Hillcrest Guest House worked out very well for us. We rented two units, and had plenty of room for eating and hanging out. The location is convenient; you can walk to anything in Cruz Bay, as well as connect easily with transportation. The view of the harbor is gorgeous, even though being at an elevation where you can easily see out over the harbor means you've climbed a hill(!) to get there. We like to walk, so we definitely got our exercise! Phyllis had a nice assortment of food to welcome us, and the kitchen facilities were adequate for us as well. This was our third visit to St. John, we've stayed at the same place each time, and can see that Phyllis continues to make improvements to the property. We'll stay there again if we ever find ourselves on St. John. The beds are comfortable, and the price is right!


Comfort in St. John

3.4 on May 03, 2011

Our stay at Hillcrest Guest House was great. Phyllis is very friendly, the rooms have everything you need, including food and drink! There are wonderful chairs for the beach along with snorkel stuff if needed. The views are great, a little noisy on Friday evenings, music from downtown if you have the front room. We have absolutely no complaints from our stay at Hillcrest, we would for sure stay there again.


hillcrest stay

4.4 on April 26, 2011

i stayed at hillcrest for two weeks. and it was awesome. Phylis picked me up at the ferry dock and was very helpful. She showed me to my room and i was very pleased. Room was stocked with everything you could ask for. I slept with the windows open and did not run my ac the entire time because i always had a nice breeze I think the hillcrest is a good value. I your familiar with stj nothing is cheap. I look forward to returning to stj, esp hillcrest david...


Does not live up to potential

1.0 on April 12, 2011

This guest house did not come close to expectations. The best I can say is that the floors, the kitchen sink and counter and the bathroom were all clean. The list of problems is way too long to cover in this brief space so I'll just list the most obvious. First, the exterior area: weeds and trash were everywhere--empty plastic bottles and paint cans thrown under the steps, mop hanging over a balcony (the whole week we were there), a broken table in the outdoor lounge area was proped up by paperback books. In addition, the "private" balcony, was not private at all, it was open to anyone who wanted to check out the view. The inside was another story. At first I just thought it was well worn and a little tacky. After looking around I found it was uncared for and dirty. The windows and screens were dirty; the drapes had a thick layer of dust along the top that was clearly evident, and they were hung upside down and three of the four panels were pulled back by rope. There were bugs in the light fixture and on the kitchen counter, the refrigerator was dusty, and had mold around the doors. Had no idea how old the food in the fridge was. The spices in the cupboard were rock solid--all of them. Hospitality was essentially a supply of rum in the fridge and cupboard. We saw the owner/manager only twice all week--once to ask for snorkel equipment that wasn't broken. All in all a disappointment. We may visit St. John V.I again, but certainly not the Hillcrest Guest House.

Innkeeper Response
I'm sorry if Hillcrest did not meet your expectations. I wish you had told me of your disappointments, since I live right downstairs, in one of the suites. Suites are checked prior to arrival and departure by me. I may have missed somethings that week, since my youngest brother Victor Hall, had just died. Fresh food is placed in the refrigerator. There is no charge for snorkel equipment and guest do not always tell you when they break something. Again, thank you for coming and sharing your experience.


Hillcrest Guest House is a great place to stay

3.4 on April 03, 2011

The owner picked us up at the dock, showed us around town, and took us to the guest house. Lots of amenities were there, including all the makings for Pina Coladas, wine, snacks and breakfast, along with modern TVs and beach towels. We only stayed one night, as we had a house reserved for the week, but would have been content to stay a few days.


A great getaway

4.4 on March 02, 2011

We were so happy to find an opening at practically the last minute, and greatly enjoyed our first trip to St. John; discovered lots we'd like to explore next time. The accommodations were comfortable, the suite tastefully furnished, and the people friendly. Phyllis omitted nothing! It was a treat to escape the snow and ice even if for a short time. As other reviewers noted, this house sits atop a very steep hill--but the walk helps to cancel out some of the calories taken in during the trip!


Good housekeeper and amenities

3.8 on February 24, 2011

Innkeeper met us and returned us to ferry dock.frig was well stocked,snacks and drinks well stocked. Snorkel, beach equipment furnished, She gve us nice tour of village upon arrival. Porch,breezeway NIce for hot afternoon relaxation. Short walk to village aNd view from window looks out to bay.


well stocked fridge

3.2 on January 20, 2011

ST John USVI is extremely expensive, making the Hillcrest Guest House reasonable in this context. The proprietor welcomes guest with a well stocked fridge and coolers available for use, as well as beach chairs, sunscreen, nice shampoos and soaps and even snorkle gear.


Nice place to stay

3.4 on January 15, 2011

Nice play to stay....economical....very accommodating owner. Would definitely go there again. Great location to town.


Wonderful service!!

4.0 on January 05, 2011

My husband and I stayed only one night before moving on to Tortola. I wished we could have stayed longer. Phylis was wonderful and so helpful and generous. We had food in the fridge and cocktails! The room was clean and well appointed. We were close to Cruz Bay which was important for us. We walked to dinner and the hill up later in the evening was really not bad. Phylis met us at the ferry with our bags as we were leaving. Very accommodating. We will be back!


Nov. 2010

4.2 on November 18, 2010

The rooms were large, clean, neat, comfortable and spacious. I was expecting one room, but it was really a 1 bedroom apartment - with bedroom, living room (couch made into a queen fouton bed)with eating area, kitchen and bathroom. There was window a/c and ceiling fans. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast food, and beach & snorkel gear were in the closet. It was a convenient location to town, with a short walk down the hill to Cruz Bay. The roosters were active in the morning, but you soon tune them out. We especially appreciated Phyllis picking us up at the Ferry Dock and giving us a tour of town, pointing out shops & markets, even though we got in at 7 P.M.


Clean and comfortable outstanding innkeeper

4.2 on November 16, 2010

Hillcrest House is really worth considering- the rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. This is not fancy living, but having Phyllis Hall as an innkeeper makes up for anything you could wish for. She stocks the kitchen with wine and fruit, goes out of her way to be accommodating, and addresses any concerns immediately. Our kitchen was fully stocked with cookware, dishes, and utensils. Phyllis Hall is a very special lady.


Charming

3.8 on September 23, 2010

The room where I stayed was charming, and Phyllis was wonderful. I should point out that when the ferry drops you in St. John, there is not a lot of help to be had so be sure you have called ahead to arrange for Phyllis to meet you at the dock. The view of Cruz Bay was phenomenal from my room. Shopping and restaurants are an easy walk from Hillcrest - the uphill walk back is challenging but not impossible.


Exceeded my expectations

4.0 on July 22, 2010

Phyllis was the hostess with the most-est! The view was tranquil. The "apartment" was comfortable and cozy. I loved the Rotties whom were well behaved and sweet. I would definitely recommend this guest house. It is close to the heart of the city and makes access to the entertainment easy. We truly enjoyed the accommodations and would encourage others to share in the experience. Thanks Phyllis. Love Donnie & Mark.


Great Place to Stay

5 on July 10, 2010

We had a wonderful visit to St. John and Phyllis at Hillcrest Guest House made that possible. She was very accommodating and even gave us a ride to the ferry on our last day. The rooms were very clean and nice. There were even bottles of liquor/wine and some food provided...it was not a typical B&B. Very short walk to the heart of Cruz Bay and the ferry dock. Would definitely stay there if we ever make it back!


Good budget place to stay

3.2 on June 14, 2010

Inn Keeper was really nice and addressed any concerns we had immediately. Good budget place to say. No frills. Included complimentary wine, sodas muffins and a few other things. Biggest drawback is the fact that it sits atop a HUGE hill that is a nightmare to walk up. It's almost worth it to pay a taxi to take you from the bottom of the hill up to the inn at the top. Tons of things to do at the bottom of the hill which is right downtown.


Our Haven in St. John's

4.0 on March 24, 2010

We have been going to Hillcrest Guest House for 18 years and since we are now retired we stay for six weeks. Our Northern Suite has a beautiful view and is nicely furnished and comfortable. Our hostess, Phyllis, has become like family to us and is always available to assist us. As we stay for six weeks, we rent a car and enjoy exploring St. John's. We are beachgoers and St. John's beaches are the best!


Wonderful place to stay.

4.8 on March 24, 2010

I absolutely loved staying here. The place was so beautiful and the owner was so nice. She was extremely helpful in every aspect. We arrived kind of late in hte evening and were starving but everything was already closed. The owner picked us up from the dock to take us to the guest house. When we got there she informed us that there was already food in the room for us (no extra charge)! I was so greatful, after a long trip and arriving late the last thing you want to think about is trying to find something to eat. As far as the hill, it wasn't that bad but there was a more scenic route that we took and it was beautiful and relaxing to walk. I've already booked for next year with Phyllis, I'm so excited!


Our first stay

3.0 on March 21, 2010

Our room was adequate for the price. The innkeeper was very cordial and available to assist. The only surprise (and downside) for us was that the guest house was situated at the top of a very high hill. We are seniors and just could not navigate this location on a daily basis. Our solution was to hire taxis for transportation.


Hillcrest Guest House, St. John US Virgin Islands

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $245
  • Reviews (27) 3.7
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3407766774
  • Mobile 1-3409988388

Visit Website »

View details

Top