Get a free $75 gift card with a $300+ purchase

Recent Reviews in Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts

Wonderful 3 day visit! at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

The house itself is beautiful and impeccably kept up. It is located on a very quiet road, and has lovely lawns and gardens. The room itself was pristine, and very comfortable. Jilana, the innkeeper, attended to all of our needs, including setting us up with bikes, beach umbrellas and good tips for which beaches to go to.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful trip at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2014

The owner was so friendly and helpful. She had many good suggestions about what we should see and do. Breakfast was great. The homemade granola was my favorite. The house was charming and very quiet. The gardens were beautiful. Easy walk to Vineyard Haven.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on June 12, 2014

Great location and beautiful home. Limited time for breakfast - difficult to plan around. Coffee not available until late morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy, family friendly B&B at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Doctor's for two separate seasons. Each stay was comfortable, friendly, and included a gourmet breakfast. The property sits on a beautiful and spacious set of land with an expansive back yard for enjoying. It's a stone's throw away from Vineyard Haven center, which has a quaint downtown with dining, shops, and Ferry. We also brought our dog who has become fast friends with the resident dog of the residence :-) We look forward to returning to the Vineyard again and staying at the Doctor's B&B!!! -Dan & Raelee

View more reviews for this inn


Happy, Happier, Happiest! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on November 14, 2013

The 1720 House... Found it on TripAdvisor as we were looking for a quiet, pretty, place to stay while we attended a family reunion over Columbus Weekend. Upon arriving, it was late due to a flight-delay, we found a welcome note and our room key waiting for us in the foyer. We got to the room - Garden Room (definitely ask for it! - and even my husband approved of the decor! HAPPY! The next morning, we stumbled down to breakfast... Fresh bread (local!!), plenty of coffee, and a side yard with comfortable chairs in which to enjoy it in? HAPPIER! The reunion was really great. The Vineyard was such the perfect place to see everyone. We were so tired on Monday...A quick call by the owner, and a cab rolled up to the Inn and took us to the ferry. As we climbed into the cab, the owner said to make sure we called her directly to book our next stay and that she'd make sure we got the Garden Room: HAPPIEST!

View more reviews for this inn


A BEST BET at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2013

I have stayed in B&B's in many places and countries and was so pleased to have booked into The 1720 House. Its attractive, historic, comfortable and the owner and her staff were endlessly helpful in every way possible. They made our trip a great adventure,sending us to best restaurants, hiking trails, fine art gallerys and of the track places tourists might never find. Owner is a great conversationalist and other guests there were quite interesting/

View more reviews for this inn


A VERY FAVORITE PLACE TO STAY at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2013

we recently spent 5 days at The 1720 House. We had booked 3 days and loved it so much we extended our stay. Our room was lovely, immaculate and had a glorious mattress and real down comforter. The house smelled of gardenias and lavender, not overpowering but perfect. Breakfast ...continental was very good; homemade breads,fresh fruit, quality yogurts and 1st rate jams. The staff took excellent care or us. will return soon

View more reviews for this inn


a great stay at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2013

We had a great three nights at the Doctor's House, at the beginning of Fall. It was beautiful, well kept, and cozy. Jilliana is an excellent chef/baker, and we enjoyed conversing with her after breakfast. Would highly recommend this great B&B, a 2-minute bike ride to the center of town, to anyone. Tom and Sarah L.

View more reviews for this inn


A Quiet Pick Me Up at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2013

The convenience of the 1720 House just blocks away from the ferry. the atmosphere is excellent in the guest rooms and the homey in the shared areas. Variety of local guide books, cook books and daily newspapers. Great breakfasts (most importantly great coffee). An extraordinarily kind innkeeper with great ideas for day walks, trips and dinner. We loved our stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Clean, comfortable, great location, historic house at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2013

This is like coming home that is if you lived in a house built in 1720! The owner, Abby and the house manager, Lucinda are like family and go the extra mile to make your visit enjoyable. The house, including the common areas, living room, sitting room, screened in porch, and dining room are warm, inviting and clean as are the guest rooms and bathrooms. The sitting area under the large shade tree on the side of the house is most relaxing. The house set amongst flowers and green lawns is a picture of serenity. If you want to explore Vineyard Have you are just steps away from the old town with it's shops and other places to explore. Want something off the tourist trail just ask Abby or Lucinda who have lived on the island to know all those special spots and the activities of the season. What more could you ask for!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay on the Vineyard at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doctor's House B&B for a long weekend and were very pleased with our selection, particularly since there are limited dog-friendly accommodations on the island. The inn is far enough from the ferry and main street to be relaxing, but close enough for us to walk easily. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms but it was perfectly fine for us and our small pug. The breakfasts were delicious with a nice variety, and the inn was large enough that we rarely saw other guests other than at breakfast. We enjoyed spending time reading in the spacious yard and brought back lunch and wine one day to enjoy on the back patio. Vineyard Haven was a good choice for us because of its proximity to the ferry (which made bringing our pup easier!), and we were particularly glad we chose it over the Oak Bluffs area which had a less than upscale vibe. We did enjoy visiting Edgartown with its stunning views and beautifully maintained properties, and it was an easy bus ride away from VH. We didn't have the time (or bring a car) to explore the more isolated parts of the island but would love to return. And we would not hesitate to stay at the Doctor's House B&B again.

View more reviews for this inn


Our very favorite Inn at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2013

We love The 1720 House for its beautiful look, fantastic service and location/ The staff is first rate, informative and friendly and have great ideas on where to go. We recently had a small wedding party booked in and the owner made certain that everything went smoothly, even helping us find a great caterer to do the rehearsal dinner. Wish they had been our event planners

View more reviews for this inn


A REAL TREASURE at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2013

This was our second stay at The 1720 House. We love everything about the Inn: the location is a block from a lovely calm harbor beach great swimming and beach walking with views of boats and mansions along the water, a few blocks from the town which has really good restaurants and classy stores and the best independent book store I have been to. Its a walk from the ferry. The 1720 House is beautifully furnished, feels spaacious and airy and the rooms are comfortable...esp the beds. Organic fruits, home baked breads and many other treats for breakfast. The staff is outstanding and always willing to do anything to make staying there a great pleasure. They help plan my daughts 2014 wedding and put flowers and a card in our room for a birthday we were celebrating

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent home away from home! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2013

The 1720 House is an excellent home away from home. Abby, the owner, and Lucinda, the house manager are exceptionally friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The 1720 house is in an excellent location and has beautiful rooms. They provide a delightful breakfast that includes coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and the most delightful bread you will ever taste. Our 11 days spent here were nothing short of fantastic. Thanks so much to both of you!

View more reviews for this inn


First B&B experience at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2013

Wonderful hospitality and service. Warm and homelike. Fitting of the Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Colonial, intimate feel: The ultimate B&B at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 25, 2013

The kids and I had never stayed in a B&B, and we weren't sure we'd like it. We loved it. Well, I loved it. The kids are teenagers. They grudgingly admitted they didn't totally hate it. The 1720 House is the ultimate B&B: beautiful early 18th century architecture, but with all the modern conveniences my kids require. Intimate enough that I made several new friends, but private enough that the kids did not. On a quiet, tree-lined street, but within walking distance of Vineyard Haven's "downtown." Abby, the owner, turned out to be one of the most fascinating people I've met in a long time. If you ever go to the 1720 House, you want to ask her to tell her Groucho Marx story. And Lucinda, the manager, was endlessly kind and patient. She spent a great deal of time helping me figure out how best to entertain my hard-to-please kids and loaning us the supplies we needed for our days trips around the island: beach towels and umbrella, water bottles, picnic plates, etc. The kids and I now plan to pay the 1720 House the ultimate compliment: We plan to return in the fall. If Abby and Lucinda will have us.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely setting and staff at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on July 12, 2013

We had a very nice two-night stay at the Doctor's House B&B. The house is gorgeous, as are the gardens around it. It's a five minute walk from the shops and restaurants on Main Street in Vineyard Haven, which is close enough to be convenient but far enough that it's quiet. The staff is very courteous and breakfast was copious and tasty. The room we stayed in is quite large and also has an adjacent sitting room. However, for a room that is named the "Romantic Suite", it did have one major drawback and that is that the bed is extremely creaky. The tiniest shift makes the whole thing squeak very loudly. Also, the mattress sags in the center, causing both occupants to sink towards the middle. My suggestion would be to get rid of the poster bed frame and replace the queen mattress with a king size one, for which there is ample space. In summary, I would recommend this B&B to anyone, but I would suggest inquiring about the bed before booking.

View more reviews for this inn


Tree full of wild turkeys at The Doctors House. at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on July 06, 2013

The Doctors House is a very comfortable B&B in Vineyard Haven and, with its location just up from the town, makes a very good base for exploring the island. Our room was relatively small but nicely decorated and very comfortable. It's a rambling old house with a number of available common areas including a refrigerator. There were three house cats and one dog while we were there so, if you don't want animals around, this is not the place for you. There were also a "tribe" of wild turkeys who roosted in the huge old oak tree in the evening. Jilana and Ben offer five good options for breakfast each morning. David Smith

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Convenient - great visit! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on June 30, 2013

Arrived on a gray, stormy evening and Abby, the owner, could not have been more gracious. The guest room was very cozy and the shared bathroom was spotless! The 1720 House is in walking distance to the ferry and to the jitney - great for seeing all parts of the Vineyard.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet & Peaceful B&B at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on May 27, 2013

Lovely home - beautiful grounds - quiet and peaceful. Nice to enjoy the busy towns and go back to the inn for peace & quiet. Various rooms to sit in with nice views of the grounds. We were lucky with weather and enjoyed sitting outside for breakfast and relaxing in lawn chairs in the afternoon. There were 2 cats, a dog, birds galore and lots of turkeys around. We loved the social visits from the very friendly cats and dog but those who don't prefer animals should be aware. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated but mattress wasn't too comfortable. However it's tough to compare to our home mattress which is high end. Everything was clean and tidy. Coffee & tea available at all times. There were 4 options for breakfast each day that remained the same for 4 days - and one additional item on our 4th day. Food was good - great homemade granola! Jilana and Ben (resident summer help) were friendly and eager to please. Would definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on May 17, 2013

I always stay at the 1720 House on Martha's Vineyard. The owner, Abby Hirsch keeps a well run place with a friendly staff that assists her in the general comforts, but especially in helping to find our way to fun/interesting/unusual things to do. It's really close to the ferry, Vineyard Haven, public transport, has parking and bikes. Great prices, trouble free, charming.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleased to recommend at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2013

Everything is lovely about the property and staff. What a well taken care of Inn. Happy to come back soon. They made my stay very enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT FIND at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2013

THE 1720 HOUSE IS AN APLUS PROPERTY ON marthas vineyard. Lovely and comfortable, nice rooms, friendly atmosphere and the staff is quite good at suggesting places to go what to see and where to eat.They attract an affluent , upscale and attractive group of guests. I went as a single person and felt really at home

View more reviews for this inn


Quite A Treat at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2013

We spent 4 days at the really lovely 1720 House very near a beach and town and enjoyed every minute of the visit. Property is so attractive,casual and elegant. The owner and her associates are helpful,friendly and arranged a number of tours for us. We were impressed by how well kept this property is and we also thought the other guests were interesting and friendly. One was a well known composer and the other an economist who had written a best selling book. We will be back in the summer

View more reviews for this inn


WHAT A WONDERFUL PLACE at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2013

the 1720 House is one of the most welcoming places I have stayed at. It's authentic and comfortable and charming with great beds. Everyone who woks there makes a big effort to make the guests satisfied. Spend at least 3 days to get to know the island. Winter is a great time for a visit. Ask Abby the really interesting owner about her service"Creative Cultural Service" She can arrange private tours of artist studios, painting lessons guided tours to anywhere. A fee is charged for this extra but well worth the money

View more reviews for this inn


It's not wht it used to be at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

2.2 reviewed on October 03, 2012

Instead of being greeted by people we were greeted by an envelope tacked to a board near the front door. We didn't meet anyone until the next morning when a charming lad from Texas took our breakfast orders. The breakfast was less than abundant and no seconds were allowed. The online price for our room was $45. less per night than the price we paid, so I suggest you clarify what room you are getting before signing up. Not the usual level of gracious B&B one has come to expect.

View more reviews for this inn


Joyous to stay at The 1720 House at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2012

The 1720 House is the most interesting B&B stay I've had in a long time. Everyone is happy and helpful who works there. Breakfast...continental is delicious.....beds high end comfortable...fall foliage impressive......short walk to town and ferry and beach....informed tips about places to go and good food. Other guests who were there when I stayed were so intelligent and all had something to say about books and politics and even farming. If you get to the Vineyard stay there

View more reviews for this inn


Great Little Inn to Stay In at The 1720 House (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on September 15, 2012

The on site manager, Cheryle, was absolutley a delight and very helpful. The housekeeping staff was great as well. The location to town is perfect offering a short and pleasant stroll down mainstreet. Located in a tree lined neighborhood with lovely gardens. Yummy Breakfast and comfortable rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


Review of the Doctor's House B&B at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on September 13, 2012

The place was clean and larger than other B&B's I've stayed in. The location is great and we ended up walking to town a couple days. The room was well decorated and had every amenity you could need but the bed was a little uncomfortable. Breakfast was delicious but we didnt like that you had to eat between 8am-9am. We would have preferred a two hour window. Overall, we would return.

View more reviews for this inn


ok at The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard (Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on September 04, 2012

The owner was obviously not happy we brought our dogs - although it is listed as "pet friendly." Perhaps they should clarify to say "some pets welcome, please call to discuss before coming"....or take all the BS out, and simply don't advertise as "pet friendly." We were told (no less than 3 times while checking in) that "you cannot leave the dogs unattended in the room for any amount of time." When we pleasantly agreed to obey the rules, we were asked "well, how are you going to go to dinner?" As if we were't going to respect the rules. Had to go to breakfast one at a time downstairs, because of conflicting rules: dogs can't stay in rooms unattended, but can't bring food up to the room - have to eat breakfast at a table downstairs - for 2 days, my husband and I ate breakfast separately. We would have happily stayed somewhere else, that truly was "pet friendly."

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}